Whispered Stories: Sandman

Whispered Stories: Sandman

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(274.23 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Help the young orphan James locate his missing girlfriend, Mary, in Whispered Stories: Sandman. While searching for her, he falls under the spell of the sinister Sandman. To save his girlfriend he must find a cure against the evil spell of the Sandman. But where can he find it? Join James on his journey and help him to withstand the Sandman and save Mary in this mysterious Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure.

  • Non-linear gameplay
  • 19th century London setting
  • Defeat the Sandman!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 370 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Whispered Stories: Sandman

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(274.23 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Whispered Stories: Sandman is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 54.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great hidden object and puzzle game i loved it, so fun and kept my mind going on puzzles
Date published: 2012-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another good one! First of all, I'm excited to see more non-CE great games! That said: the artwork is reminiscent of Rockwell paintings which means gorgeous and lifelike, a pleasure to look at. The tasks are definitely not the easiest, the cat-finding is a bit annoying. The hints charge fairly quickly and as there is no guide, you may need them to at least guide you in the right direction. The storyline was also good, making this an all-around good deal. I don't know how long/short this game is, but I'm about to find out.
Date published: 2012-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from whispered stories: sandman This game is excellent - great game play with a challenge in all areas - This game will keep you intrigue - This is my first time rating a game just to let you know how special this game is as a three year member.
Date published: 2012-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally Although I would like a little more color in the games, this one is better than most. It's crisp, clean play. Just bought it.
Date published: 2012-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yet Another Amazing Hidden Object Game! This game is simply amazing. I loved everthing about it. Here are my thoughts on the game: Good Parts: Objects were pretty easy to find Very quickly re-charging hint- it was almost as if I never used it Gripping storyline The interactive parts of the hidden object scenes The ghost thing was like a second world OK Parts: If anything, it finished a little quickly Bad Parts: The puzzles were frustuarating The part where you had to find the sorcerers cats. They were pesky and just DID NOT want to be found!! This game was very good, I simply must buy it and find out what happens next!
Date published: 2012-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This "Sandman" will keep you awake tonight! What is there not to love about this simply wonderful story of the Sandman and our little hero James, who tries to defeat him and save his friend Mary. Caught in a spirit world, James has alot to do to in order to find Mary and escape the nefarious Sandman. I loved the artwork, beatifully drawn and graphics are relatively crisp. Althought the cutscenes are a bit blurry, they involve real actors along with Voice overs. There are three modes of game play: Sleepy Head, Dreamer and (my personal favorite) Insomniac. Trust me, there will be no hand holding and absolutley no sparkles. The HOS are crowded but I loved the artwork and there is interaction involved (some a bit tricky). This game not only offers a good story, but also challenging puzzles and mini-games. There is alot of fun to be had as you collect items, use them and work your way towards freedom. A journal will help you as well as a hint system (unless you are playing the insomaniac level). Finally a chance to work those little gray cells. It took me 10 minutes to decide to buy this gem and because I too am a insomaniac, I will save this game for tonight and try to beat the Sandman and help James and Mary find their way back home.
Date published: 2012-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A nice game! This game has good graphics and it's fun to play too. I played the easiest mode, cause I'm not patient enough to wait forever til hints reload and I hate playing hidden object games with time limits or something. Not sure how the other modes are, I didn't try them (yet). It has a lot of riddles which remind me of the old point and click games - and not only the same hidden scenes like other games have. I can't really rate the sounds, cause I always turn them off. Overall the playtime in easiest mode was like 4-5 hours, for more experienced players probably much less, which in my opinion is really short. If you search a nice amusement for an evening, give it a go.
Date published: 2015-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT ADVENTURE BUT MAYBE SHORT FOR SOME Completed game in 3 hours. If you're a fast player, you may complete most of it during the demo. It’s the 19th century. Your friend Mary was taken by the Sandman. He will drain her of her energy and soul unless you save her in time. Voice overs – very good HOS – easy, mildly crowded, detailed Puzzles – very unique, interesting and varying degrees of challenge. Last puzzle I found rather hard. Good ratio of HOS to puzzles Adventure – lots of it Music – nonintrusive Sense of humor – the cat in the hat was very amusing; the sick raccoon was amusing and he sure was demanding Monsters – appear after Mary was taken a second time Graphics – very good, colorful where appropriate Animation - excellent
Date published: 2013-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but way too short! This game is interesting. It's on the easy side. The HOS are easy, as well as the mini-games. There is a journal, and no map, but you don't need one since there aren't many locations. The problem is that, without skipping, I only needed 1 1/2 hours to finish.... This is really too short! So I would recommend the game for beginners, as a DD or with a coupon.
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A fun little game for your weekend entertainment I was glad i finally got this little gem of a game, acquired more out of curiosity than anything else. Yes, it's rather short compared to the norm, but it's fun, engaging, & pretty well done, tho' not intense with special fx like we're seeing more often these days. Graphix in most places are quite nice, while the few cutscenes are not spectacular. Voice overs & narration are pretty good. This HOPA is heavier on the adventure end, & there's no walkthru & little help via hints, so you're engaging the little gray cells to get you through, which makes it more fun & challenging than i thought it would be. HOscenes are easy to do & to see, & the game isn't overloaded with them. The story is nice, barely stepping over the boundary into spooky, with no witches, demons, or occult influence - just the Sandman gone bad, & you're the little boy who will save your friend & save the day. It's a fun little game to while away a bit of time, relaxing to play, & worth a buy if that's what you're in the mood for. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2012-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but a bit short Would have given this a better rating if the game had been a bit longer.
Date published: 2012-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from INTERESTING LITTLE GAME Just when I was getting into this, the demo. ended. I wanted to play more!!! It was very hard getting into this game at first, as there is no direction,really, of what to do---only where to go. It was so frustrating that I had to leave it, and continue the next day. But then I got it, and it started to be quite fun. I will put it on my list.
Date published: 2012-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This Story had Great Potential but ... ... fell a little below the mark. Not that it wasn't good, it was, but it could have been so much better! There were a lot of things to do which really didn't make sense. The Voice overs were very good. The artwork was beautiful and fairytale like. The best part of the Game for me was to heal the sick little Raccoon which was so cute! A Nice Game which could have been longer, and the final ending was a little disappointing and should have been much more Dramatic.
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sandman - Advanced Players Review I played on the advanced level, no hints or help at all. It was quite challenging and the mini-games were pretty good. I really only disliked one mini-game, which was the knight game. I would only purchase on a special price though, like a daily deal for $2.99 because I have no idea how long it is or whether the intensity stays the same. It just wasn't gripping enough of a story line for me. There are plenty of other HOAG out there I would purchase first.
Date published: 2012-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from too short this was about one of the shortest games i have ever played from big fish,,very disappointed.
Date published: 2012-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting little game Having played the demo, I bought the game with a bonus credit as I wanted to see how it progressed. It appears quite simplistic when you start playing but the level of challenge in figuring out what to do next and some of the puzzles was surprisingly good. I played on 'dreamer' level so no sparkles but still have the hint button. The HOS are standard but some good interactive stuff which is not immediately obvious. I found the game quite short overall, but entertaining nonetheless if you want something a little different from the games we usually play.
Date published: 2012-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Could have been better The game was entertaining but not as much fun as i thought it would be. Hints are not always clear and the game was too short..
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from TO ME, MORE OF A CHILD'S GAME Review based on about 1 hour gameplay because it did not hold my interest. Haven't done a good job of choosing games lately. Caveat emptor. Can't remember much of it because I did not record notes as I was playing. Not much of a review here. Would be best to demo before you buy. That being said, I should follow my own advice, eh? :-) I always watch the short demo video and read reviews before buying. I rarely download the 1 hour trial version.
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Maybe for beginners, but not for me I bought this game on the buy one/get one weekend, so can't complain about the price. But definitely not worth full price. Very simplistic game, vague storyline, that didn't really make a lot of sense. I like a game that keeps me intrigued, and yet gives me some idea what I'm trying to do. This game held your hand through the search missions, but gave no direction on the mini-games. At the end, I had no clue what I was supposed to do to save the girl until I used the hint. Several of the missions were so clumsy, I wasn't sure if I was using a wrong item or just wasn't hitting the exact spot the game wanted me to hit in order to accept the inventory item. Even using the correct item, it would say "you can't use that item here" because I wasn't placing it in the exact miniscule spot. Short game, lovely graphics, light weight game play, and persistence helps! #It's 2am, so sorry if this isn't completely linear in thought!#
Date published: 2012-06-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's an "Okay" game - I've played better... I was a "Beta Tester" on this game. I really didn't get the connection of the town, then having to go to the spooky boat - where it had to do with the sandman. Some of the items were hard to find and I had to use the "hint' button one too many times to find things. I am glad I was a "Beta Tester" because I wouldn't spend $$ on it if it was $1.00.
Date published: 2012-05-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Well... Not a bad game, but not extremely challenging either. I do like this type of game play..a little bit of everything. I liked the fact that you could skip or a quick click through the dialogue. Liked the "ghost," but felt she should have been a voice over. Music was annoying after a while, graphics okay but a bit grainy, did not care for this type of hint system. When I want a hint, give me one, don't tell me there is nothing left to do here...I already figured that out. HOGs good. Game seems a bit short, but overall, it was a nice game and I may purchase later. Am putting this one in the puddle for later. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2012-05-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from it was ok nice storyline.. but otherwise nothing special... quite boring... may buy it if there is 2.99 deal...
Date published: 2012-05-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute game.. This game was alright, but as Darrelle would say on Storage Wars, it just wasn't a WOW factor for me. lol. I thought it was a little to short. But I'm used to the Collector Editions, so that could have something to do with that. The Graphics were very good. The HO's were challenging which I really enjoy. I didn't like all the running around that i had to do though. The voice over and the story line were a bit boring. I Don't really think this game was for me but I bought it for something to do. Hopefully they will do better on there next one. But I will always be a big fan of Big Fish.
Date published: 2012-05-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Eh, it's okay. I had no patience to get through the first part of the game. It's kind of slow and hard to figure out what you are supposed to do. I always skip the tutorial, I guess I should have opted to go through that part. According to other reviewers once you figure out what you are doing the game picks up and becomes interesting, I just didn't have the patience to keep on going.
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok, if you like short games The games was short and fairly easy to play though the story was a bit choppy but it did have fast hints and larger graphics in the HO portions. Not a challenging game for experienced Big Fish gamers. However, with all that being said I can recommend adding this game to your game collection.
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I was so confused! I was looking forward to a great story, but I couldn't follow it, nor understand where it was going. I'm so sleepy.
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cumbersome Maybe it's just me but this game just did not 'flow'. The interactive indicators #boot for moving to another area and spyglass for zoom-in# seemed cumbersome and imprecise. The game did not follow a discernable line of logic to me and I spent a lot of time figuring out where to go next. Many times, after I found out, I thought, "now how was I supposed to know that?" So I began to use the hint button more and more which kind of ruins the experience. Guessing at random doesn't reward skill and for me, it's not really fun either. Lastly, all that was so distracting that I couldn't tell you what the story was about...Mini-games seemed either very easy or had inadequate instructions. Sorry..I just didn't get it..so I guess just try it out and see...viva la demo!
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If only... Decent game - good combo of many likeable features, good story + graphics + clear HO scenes. Don't know about voice-overs. No map, hints point/flash to the next step + recharge quickly. The low rating is for all the sand thrown in my eyes for no rhyme or reason! A can opener to cut a rainwater pipe....huh?? A pipe dream, indeed! Try that in reality and you'll need a visit to the ER. Being vague when accuracy is reqd. - how many pieces of wood need to be found? Using the hint button too often to just make sense of the next step takes the fun + challenge out and makes me lose interest. Not nitpicking - it's a game, yeah, I get artistic freedom. But, by doing this, the Devs ended up actually reducing what could have been an excellent and refreshingly different game to a below-the-par one. I truly wanted to like it and buy it but am quite discouraged with what I've played (6 mins left on trial). As always - do try it for yourself to decide & hope this helps.
Date published: 2012-05-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth a credit I liked everything except it could have been more of a challenge and much longer. It was way too short for me. It's a good beginner's game. Pretty simple.
Date published: 2012-05-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was okay Judging by the 2 reviews of this game, I expected a much better game. It was slow to get going at first, as there was not a lot of *direction* as to what to do next, but once I got the hang of it, it wasn't too bad. There are 3 levels of play, and I played on the easiest level, which still had a decent amount of challenge. One thing I found to be annoying was that when you were picking up pieces of an item, it didn't tell you how many pieces were needed, so you would start to put something together only to find that it wouldn't work because you didn't have all the pieces. Also, and this is a personal preference, when I play HOG I like my HOS to remain accurate to the time period in which the game is set - this game does not do that. One scene has you looking for a pin - which to me would be a pin used either in dressmaking, or a pin for a pin board, but no, it was a bowling pin! The graphics were reasonable, but I've seen much better. The music and sound effects were okay, and you have the option of muting all. You also have the option of a system cursor, which does take a little away from the game, but was necessary on my computer, as some games can cause my mouse to be sluggish. I played the demo right to the end, but this isn't an immediate purchase for me - possibly for a Daily Deal sometime.
Date published: 2012-05-21
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_14612, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Whispered Stories: Sandman

Help James defeat the sinister Sandman!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.