Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart

Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(349.12 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Dive into an epic journey as a museum owner in pursuit of an undead pirate who has kidnapped your daughter in Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart! You quickly realize that the undead pirate is entangled in a tragic, centuries-old love story, and wants to resurrect his mistress with the youth’s life force. You must act quickly to save the young girl's life before it is too late. Travel through haunting seas, ruined fortresses, and bone covered catacombs as you uncover secrets from the past!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1058 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(349.12 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 160.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepy crypt keeper This game was excellent in so many ways. The hidden objects were pretty easy to locate. If you have problems to find any, you have two options. One, you can use the hint or play mahjong and it will eliminate all the hidden objects. I only played the mahjong game once, but it was because I love mahjong. The hint replenishes pretty fast, so you don't have to wait forever. The storyline and cutscenes were great. The crypt keeper that collects the coins, was very creepy. The graphics on him was excellent. The puzzles were are pretty straight forward and not that complicated to figure out. The game does have a map that allows you to know where the next area is to work. It would had been better if it allowed you to jump to that area, but I'm not complaining. The game was a fast game for me. It didn't take me too long to complete it all. In all, it was a excellent game.
Date published: 2013-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What casual adventure gaming should be I enjoyed this game from the opening scene. It has all of the elements of a great gaming experience - nice visuals, quality voice-overs, good animation, an endearing story, and characters you care about. The story unfolds, over time, with a mix of past and present. The puzzles are fairly easy and the HOS screens can be bypassed with a round of mahjong. I was sorry to see this game end. I played the standard edition because I tend not to replay games and do not want to invest in the CE version. I am sorry to see that the next installement by this developer is only available in CD.
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clever game This game is just perfect. It got it all in my opinion. It´s a pleasure to play. High quality - regards from Denmark.
Date published: 2013-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Better than the sequel I tried the demo about a year ago, and said "eh". Tried the sequel demo and got intrigued again. Glad i stayed with it. Just the right amount of fantasy and reality. Not too hard, and intriguing story line. Not all ghouls and goblins. Actually has linear logic you can follow, unlike some other games. Definitely glad I came back.
Date published: 2013-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good SE version I really enjoyed this game. I would have liked a more complete ending - perhaps the release of all of the dead souls, not just the Captain and Mary. That might be in the CE. But the SE is really good. Lots of different puzzles to solve. Lots of tasks to complete. The only drawback was the animation of the talking (and a few poor grammatical choices). The mouths didn't line up with the words. The music is beautiful and it doesn't take much to get around (don't get lost). There are maps to help you anyway. And although there are a lot of HOS, you can choose to play mahjong instead! A definite buy!!
Date published: 2013-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I kept wanting to know more! This is my first review so bare with me. After playing the game I just had to tell everyone what a fun game this is, since I always check out the reviews before I buy any game. I lost track of time while playing the game which is very unusual for me. I wanted to find the doubloons to learn more about the pirate and the countess. This wanting to know the whole story reminded me of Ravenhearst. I also liked the choice of mahjong in the HOS. I would do both , find all the objects but not click on the last one then do the mahjong so I got to enjoy both worlds. With that and trying to never use hints I played for about 7 hrs. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mahjong alternative to HO scenes Not sure if any of the other reviews mention this, but I'm really liking that I can play a fairly easy Mahjong game instead of finding all the items in the HO scenes. I've had enough of the HO part of these games, but I still like the puzzles and the adventure part of it. I wish more developers would offer an alternative like this. It'd be good even (or maybe better) if the Mahjong was more difficult.
Date published: 2013-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Stunning- You HAVE to Try This! This game is the most brilliant game I have ever played in my entire life. Right from the beginning I was compelled to save the daughter, and as I progressed, the true tale of this game began to unfold. The story was brilliant, and brought to justice with an amazing ending. CE is not needed as the ending is conclusive. At first, I thought I was dealing with an evil pirate who wanted nothing more than to kill the daughter, but as the game progressed, Remington’s true intentions unfold and we are brought in to a brilliant tragic love story. Remington’s story and beginnings are taught through 20 collectable doubloons. Don’t think that this is something you find out halfway through the game, because I found my last doubloon right near the end. Speaking of the end, I was near crying at the final cutscene. Remington’s story is so tragic, and we found out his heart has always been in the right place. As stated before, the ending is absolutely brilliant. This game is 100% worth playing. There were a couple of things wrong with the gameplay: Firstly, there was a LOT of backtracking, and I mean a lot. There is a map included, and it’s helpful, but it is not interactive, meaning that all backtracking must be done manually, much to my frustration. Secondly, I was beginning to like the HOS, but right at the end of the game (beginning close to it) there are multiple HOS, and I began running in to them in every scene, which really annoyed me. There are HOS and then there’s too many. Granted Artifex Mundi are not the only developer to have done this, but it really, really annoys me when developers pile on the HOS towards the end. On a minor note, I did notice a few small mistakes in the subtitles and dialogue. Sometimes the dialogue would be different to what appeared on the subtitles, and one major mistake I found in the dialogue was: “Somebody has took my daughter” towards the end. Had Artifex taken some time to go over the completed version of this game, this mistake would have been taken out. Also one more minor thing: I did get lost/stuck multiple times in the game and was forced to use the hint a lot. This didn’t really bug me too much as I focused more on the game itself. On the subject of HOS, I really did enjoy them. In a first, Artifex gave us the option of playing either the HOS or Mahjong. Mahjong followed the classic rules, with each match of the brown tiles erasing an item from the list. At the beginning, I tended to play the Mahjong game a little more, but as the game progressed, the Mahjong got harder and harder, so I stuck to the HOS. The puzzles were a different story, in a good way. Some were easy and I had no troubles solving them, but others were much harder. The ship puzzle got me as it looked deceivingly easy! When I did have troubles on the puzzles, I was aided by a fast recharging skip, so it wasn’t really much trouble. The graphics and voice-overs are superb. The artwork and animations are brilliantly done, and not once were the graphics unclear or hazy, not even in the HOS as happens to some games. The voice-overs were portrayed brilliantly, and really brought that extra sense of excitement to the game. In particular, the daughter and Captain Remington were done brilliantly. FEATURES - Hint and Skip- recharge fast. Skip takes slightly longer, hint is very useful if you get lost (which happened to me a few times) - Diary to keep track of events. Diary also holds a task section, which keeps track of all the tasks you need to complete. - There is a map. It is helpful, but not interactive, which added extra time to backtracking. - 20 Collectable Doubloons to delve deeper in to Remington’s story. - The HOS include a Sonar that shows you the pictures of the items you need to find. WHAT DO I MISS OUT ON IF I BUY THE SE? If you buy the SE, as I did, you miss out on the following: - Bonus Chapter- said to be very good by CE Reviewers, but not needed as the game finishes conclusively - Built in Strategy Guide (I also found I did not need this) - HD Wallpapers - Concept Art - Soundtrack This is a brilliant, compelling game that will have you hooked right until the end. Completing this has rekindled my love affair with this game and this is now my new favourite. For those worried about a short game- don’t be. The main game is long, I personally did not keep track, but I estimate between 4 and 5 hours. I personally recommend the SE, but either way you will have a brilliant game. I can see why this game was included in the top five best of 2012- I 100% recommend you try this game- you will NOT regret it!!
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely loved it! Couldn't stop from the beginning..had to finish. Was sad to end it - wanted to keep playing.
Date published: 2013-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of Replay Value with Kids I play most games with my pre-k son (if they're not too scary), and this is by far his favorite. He learned how to navigate hidden object games with this one, as not much reading is needed, even for hints, and he now will play it all by himself sometimes. We often make popcorn and play "The Skeleton Game" together, and it never gets old for him. For me, yeah, I'm sick of it, but it was fantastic the first couple of plays! One of my (our) favs!
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from brilliant game one of the best games, i have ever played, it's brilliant, i would like to have given it more stars, maybe ten...........
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! What a fabulous game thoroughly enjoyed the whole game. Great scenes and graphics. Loved the story as well. 5 stars here.
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! This is the most fun I have had playing a game in awhile. Normally, I shut off the music and sounds, but the voice overs, music and sounds were excellent! I looked forward to finding the goid coins and placing them in the pirate's chest. The storyline was enjoyable, not at all boring. Thanks BigFish for having this game on your website!
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Believe I Was Wrong! Okay, I admit I tried this game as the CE, and the first 10 minutes did not wow me. As a matter of fact, I deleted it after 20 minutes and thought, "what a boring game". So I was hanging around the top game area, and this game kept coming up as a must have. Everyone twisted my arm and I tried it again. Oh, man. After I got through 21 minutes, it just took off. Beautiful graphics, challenging games, and what a storyline! I agree - one of the top games to play and own. This is definitely a buy, and I can see where I would play it more than once.
Date published: 2012-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Pirate Story ! Custscene at beginning already holds you: divers found a shipwreck and the skeleton of a famous pirate of the past. Starting at the museum, going to the ship and then to the island, this excellent game takes you on an incredible pirate story, very well developed and attractive, with outstanding scenes, sound and VO. A great adventure... and even some scares! Interactive HOS, with good visibility, but if you want you can play mahjong instead. Several and varied mini games, and even the popular bring news - a lot of fun. Both HOS and mini games are not very challenging, but are nice and entertaining. During the game objects in the inventory are quickly used and not stored too long, but still have enough coming and going. Be sure to watch the cutscenes, really unmissable!
Date published: 2012-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game This is one of the better BF games I've played. The production is excellent - good artwork, pleasing musical background, and both live and animated characters. The game design couldn't be better. There is an informative map, the HINT button works well during gameplay and it recharges fast. The running back and forth is minimal. The HOS are very well done with some IA, and there is an option to play a game instead of the HOS. The puzzles aren't too difficult. The story was well thought out, too. This is a very enjoyable game!
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AHOY! MATES...THIS IS A FIVE STAR PRIATE VENTURE! I am a admitted 'addict' to Pirate adventures...and this is the best yet to 'shiver me timbers'! The storyline grabs your attention...well yes its mom to the rescue but it has been well executed in every step of the story...the dialogue with the 'deceased' pirate's is sometimes true to what your would hear from a shipmate on such a ship...the graphics are clear and makes u feel u are totally in that scene...if playing on 'casual' the hint system is renewed quickly and then u can use also to find out where to go...like the sonar effect for finding what objects appear to look like...also has a map to show where to naviagate to/from....a checklist which marks off when u have succeeded and the fun part is the choice of H0 or Mahjong! I was upset it ended so soon!...this review is from demo but in hindsight that usually tells me if its a 'buy'...and I am going to do so! Gotta try it!
Date published: 2012-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart This was one that is for sure one of my new favourites, the picture and sound excellent. The Story is so sweet but of course starts out dangerous. I enjoyed this very much and I will reccomend this highly, There is a lot of areas to cover but it is so interesting all the way threw. I really enjoyed the Hidden Object finds they were easy and bright and colourful. This is a deffinate great game and I would love to see another one like this, Maybe you could have a stroy on the ghosts and how they had some troubles with the other ship mates as ghosts and wanting there share of the fortune and they make a deal with the sea devil. Just a thought anyway it was fun thank you .
Date published: 2012-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ahoy Matey! ye be goin' to love tis one! It be an excellent HO/puzzle game! everythin' in it captured me eyes from th' moment I started till I finished th' demo. Th' graphics be amazing, me fellow players. Th' story that be told 'o band 'o pirates, 'n their cap'n that kidnapped ye girly offsprin' ye be th' mom that suppose to set her free while searchin' fer hidden objects 'n solvin' puzzles. Hidden objects be well made 'n some need extra action taken to find them, I lust more challenge in a game 'o 'tis genre! I gave it five stars because i didn't find any flaws in th' game. th' music ads to th' atmosphere 'n hint button loads fast 'n helps in directin' ye when ye be stuck. So why don't ye give a go' th' demo 'n spy wit' ye eye fer yourself, adventures wit' them band 'o pirates be a ruckas in 'tis game!
Date published: 2012-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing pirate adventure (SE) - A guy's review *review based on completing the full CE version of the game in expert mode, re-posted here (slightly modified) in the interest of the release of the SE* The shortest and most sensible thing I can say about this game is: "BUY IT!" Though if that is not enough to convince you, I will give you a bit more in depth views on this game. You play as a museum curator about to put on a pirate themed exhibition, and while reassembling the main attraction something paranormal happens and your daughter is caught in the wake. It is now up to you to save her and uncover a legend about the most fearsome pirate on the high seas. The story is very well made, though a bit on the romantic side. But it does not fail to engage and excite. It is a highly enjoyable trip to some magical places that will burn itself to the memory of the player. I think this is one of those games you will compare future games to. It is that good. The graphics are astounding. Vivid and colorful and dark when it needs to be. It all seems almost magical.The level of detail is beyond belief. I salute the artistic/graphical department of this developer. Job well done. Animations and cut-scenes are also very nice. Though a tiny tiny bit grainy at times, it is better than most casual games I've come across so far. The scenes themselves are very crisp and characters you come across are very well detailed. There are no live actors, everything is animated, and that suits this game the best. Music is also good, but a bit on the boring side. I feel it could be a bit more dramatic. Sound-effects are top notch though, and so is the voice-overs. And every character is voiced, even yourself. The game play is brilliant for someone like me. I grew up with the old point-and-click adventures, and this game bares similarities. There is a lot of adventuring going on and tasks to solve. Next to that there are many clever puzzles/mini-games, most of witch I found very original and creatively executed. And of course you have the HO scenes. It is the typical clutter scenes, but they are done so well that it is pure enjoyment. The graphics and level of detail in these scenes are euphoric. I caught myself just gazing at the beautiful scenes and the level of detail involved. They are also interactive with some clever twists, and even though revisiting most of them, items picked up before will not return to the scene. Also, there is a function that let you see the shape (shadow) of the item you are looking for if you struggle. Not only that, but if you really do not like HO scenes, you have an option to solve mahjong puzzles instead to retrieve the necessary item. A developer that thinks about everybody is commendable. Also, I really appreciated the "construct something useful" mini-games. Hope that is something we see more of in the future. There are 2 levels of difficulty that you can play: Regular: No misclick penalty in the HO scenes, sparkles on active zones, hint/skip function recharges quickly and locations with available action are indicated on the map Expert: Misclick penalty, hint/skip function recharges slower, only the HO scenes, Construct-something-useful scenes and I believe some puzzles sparkles, locations with available actions not indicated on the map. I really liked the map function in this game too. It is not fast-travel able, so expect a bit running back and forth. It wasn't the hardest game, so if you want a challenge, be sure to play in expert mode. For the guys: You play a mother trying to save her daughter, and the whole story was kinda romantic, but so are the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. If you liked those, you should like this. I really hope with get sequels to this one, and am looking forward to whatever this developer puts out there. TJ
Date published: 2012-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game and fun to play I went to the top games and saw this one. I downloaded it after reading the reviews and was not disappointed. Great story line and fun to play.
Date published: 2012-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ARRRGH Shiver me Timbers!!! In my opinion, one of the best games of 2012. I actually bought the CE and had one of the best gaming experiences. I'm not a great fan of Pirate stories but this had everything in it; Kidnapped daughter, dead Pirate, a curse and a love story. The best thing about this game were the graphics and art work; far superior to what we have seen in a long time. I especially loved the animation work with elaborate cut scenes that were outstanding, especially when the Ship arrives to the museum. I really recommend that you take note of the minute details in every scene, kudos to the devlopers. Voice overs were excellant, well acted and true to form. Storyline was very good and did not waiver at all throughout the game. You start off at the museum and after your daughter is kidnapped by an infamous dead Pirate, you find yourself onboard a ghost ship where the adventure begins. Game features include a journal with a list of tasks and a map. Game mechanics involve the usual HOPA, heavy on the adventure. HO scenes were interactive and you have a choice of playing mahjong instead of finding the itmes on the list. My only one complaint was that the mahjongs were too easy. I loved the puzzles and minigames which were uniquely done. Not too challenging but cleverly created. You also need to collect hidden coins, each coin outlines a part of the story. This part was very well done and when you play, you will understand what I mean. For those who did not buy the CE, I highly recommend that you buy the SE of this game, it is worth every penny. In my initial review I did mention that I found the game a bit on the easy side but it really did not matter, I had a blast playing it and will no doubt replay it often. Enjoy the high seas and save your daughter as you battle wits with the undead pirate. ARRRRGHHH!
Date published: 2012-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SHIVER ME TIMBERS AND BATTON DOWN THE HATCHES This is one of the best games I have played as of yet. The story was very captivating The graphics were very real and spooky and look like they just jump out at you. Mini games were good and not too hard to solve as was the hidden objects. Back ground sounds were good and spooky Hope to see a another one like it soon.
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mesmerizing graphics! Wow! The storyline has been done...but not quite this imaginatively! Kudos to the developers! There's a lot to do, but it's all pretty linear and coherent, and there's a map, which helps a lot and the hint button is direct and charges pretty quickly. There's a new twist on the HO...that gives you the option of playing Mahjong instead of looking for the items, and you can even toggle back and forth if you like. I only played the demo but from what I can gather this is going to make for quite lengthy game play based on everything that needs to be done. This is a definite buy for me!
Date published: 2012-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game BY FAR that I have played in a LONG time!! I LOVED this game right from the beginning!! I think that this is an AWESOME game for the young and even the oldest at heart who love a good game on the computer!! Not a lot of Hidden Object in the game which is my, "cup of tea"!! I promise no let downs in this one!! Great graphics, storyline is awesome, I have nothing at all bad to say about this game!! I promise you will not regret purchasing this game!! Great one for the Library Collection!! I give it 5 Stars, and then some if I could!!
Date published: 2012-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pirate Perfection! This is my new favorite game. I loved it so much and wish I'd bought the CE for the bonus. The story is fantastic, it reels you in and the graphics are intensely perfect. Great minis, fun HOGs. My favorite part was the excellent storyline and the music. It just blew me away. It was cleverly written and the tunes were perfectly matched to the theme. There was a fair amount of going back and forth between locations, moreso near the end, but it was enjoyable. Not to give too much away but this game made me root for the bad guy, near the end. I can see how they could make a sequel since there are reasons he could return. Plus, his mates in different parts of the ship could also return. Please tell me these gamemakers have a sequel. This one is just too good a story to be left at the bottom of the ocean in Davy Jones' locker.
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Gem Of A Game Nightmares From The Deep is in my books a real classic and certainly one of the most fun game to play.. It has an excellent storyline and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Great Graphics, HOGs are not to hard to frustrate you and yet they are a challenge. Also when playing the puzzles it does not freeze when you click to fast. A must play game and a great ending. I recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! All i have to say is this is a 10 star game... BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVING THIS GAME!!! I bought this game before I finished the demo and so glad I did! I am LOVING this game right now - music is awesome, movie quality, illustrations are creative, awesome and really fun to discover scene to scene. The story is cool, if you love pirates which I do :) The animation parts are really good too, very creepy. Not too hard, you have the option of doing a Mahjong game instead if a hidden picture scene, which I like. Very fun game, hard to put down. I highly recommend!
Date published: 2013-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not Without Heart First thing I noticed about this game was the amount of different areas or scenes available to play. Several different areas/rooms on the ship to explore at one given time. Although it lacked challenge in the mini games some of the H.O. scenes were difficult for at least one item in the list. This was a very fun game to play and the story line was creative.
Date published: 2012-09-04
  • y_2020, m_2, d_22, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_160
  • loc_en_US, sid_14872, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart

Dive into an epic journey as a museum owner in pursuit of an undead pirate who has kidnapped your daughter in Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.