Theatre of the Absurd

Theatre of the Absurd

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(94.20 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Scarlett Frost, specialist in the dark arts, has been summoned to a luxurious and remote theatre in the snowy Italian Alps. Could it be that the infamous and diabolical Hapsburg Cube has been found and purchased by the sinister theatre proprietor, Dr. Corvis? The cube is said to imprison a powerful and ancient Babylonian demon that would wreak hellish destruction if the cube should break. In a moment of desperate confusion the cube breaks and the demon bursts forth into the souls of the Dr. Corvis and his young Daughter Bethany. The ancient theatre in the lonely winter mountains becomes an arena of spiritual war, between the darkest forces of the underworld and the cunning and esoteric mind of Scarlett Frost. But Scarlett soon finds out that the only way to fight a demon this powerful is to become possessed by one herself. Only then can she acquire a ticket to the Theatre of the Absurd.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 470 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Theatre of the Absurd

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(94.20 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Theatre of the Absurd is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 72.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a new twist on a hog Fun game! It had some new and different twists compared to other games, loved the power up and hint system, what a great idea!!! This was not scary, so don't be daunted by other reviews...had a good creepy factor that a good SciFi game should! How anyone can say this was terrible or really scary idk?? It was no more graphic than any of the other SciFi games on here, maybe they were under 12?? May be a little much for a young child but teens and up would enjoy this game. The story line was fun, the graphics were good, ran smoothly, vo's were good and I had NO difficulty with the hos scenes. They were a little challenging but not to hard to find if your looking as you should be. The few times I had to use a hint for the hos scene it was obvious and easy to see. I think this is a game with a lot of cool new ideas and it goes right to the top of my fav list. If you like the spooky stuff, buy this, you will enjoy it.I wish it would of lasted longer I would of enjoyed playing it for awhile longer! Great job, sequel please!!
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liked the creative twists I have a lot of HOGS and love it when something is a little different. The story line flows, hints are right on & hidden object scenes use different lighting techniques. I liked the way you had to distinguish between plural and singular such as "mushroom" versus "mushrooms" to find objects. The puzzles were pretty easy in the casual mode but if you like to relax while playing this is a plus. I played in the casual mode liked it enough to purchase the game and will switch to the harder mode. I usually skip the voice overs because I read faster but the sound was good overall.
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought it, Played it , Loved it! I actually bought the CE edition for this game and wrote a review which was entitled "Not for the Faint Hearted" After having completed it, this game now ranks high amongst my favorites . One of my guilty pleasures besides the odd cigerette and chocolaits, are dark stories that have supernatural themes to them. This game is not for everyone, storyline deals with demonic possesion of a child; but I am sure there are those who will not only enjoy this genre but also appreciate the game mechanics that are involved here. The graphics are not outstanding, but don't be misled by the opening scene. As you dwell deeper into the game, visuals and sounds bring on a chilling effect. Considering that the entire game deals with the black art, dont expect too much light and bright colors. If you are not a great fan of horror fiction, then I do not recommend you play it alone in the dark with headphones on like I did. I actually loved the art work and special effects, all beautifully composed to create atmosphere, especially the constant whispers in the background. The voice-overs were very well done as was the music. Game features include a journal and a unique hint system that I really liked. Your character does speak to you and directs you throughout the game, at times, she does too much talking and some may find this feature annoying. There are two gameplay modes and game mechanics involve HOS, puzzles and mini-games. HO scenes are junk-piled and at times, blurry graphics made some objects difficult to find. The game wasn't very challenging or difficult to play, mostly finding and collecting inventory items and using them. There is no map but as I said, a very unique hint system. I give this game top marks because of the artwork and the fun factor. However, be warned, Theatre of the Absurd is not for the faint hearted.
Date published: 2012-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My New Number 1 I was so excited about this game I stopped 30 minutes into it to see how others had reviewed it. I was shocked that it wasn't higher than a 4. I understand that people may find it "creepy" or scary but protestations that it's demonic or satanic are ridiculous. It is not. Perhaps it's baroque? But NO, it's not pure evil. It's a game. And it is pure...pure brilliance. That's one man's opinion. I notice that others who think it's satanic also like nothing else about the game. I think their moral concerns have colored their objective reviews of the game. Enough "preaching." While some complain that the HOGs are too difficult, too grainy, impossible to see, I say this: Yes, they are difficult. And I think that some of the graininess is what makes it difficult. And I LOVE IT. It's great to have an HOS which presents a challenge. It took me much longer than normal to complete HOG but I really enjoyed them. They were brilliantly hidden. The background music was a perfect match for the content of the game. The voice overs both from cut scenes and from the regular progression of the game were wonderful. The woman who's the main narrator and protagonist has a very effective tonality. It reminded me a bit of an emotion-filled, determined actor delivering lines in a way that the script demanded: unemotionally yet effectively. That is acting. The course of the game was always pushing North...always moving forward. It was not an East-West game. I felt progress to an important conclusion was always being made. Despite what people have written, I think they know not of which they write. Go to any dramatic, beautiful, old Christian cathedral and you'll see gargoyles. There are a lot of gargoyles in this game. And they add to the ambience. There's fire...it adds to the ambience. There are demons. It's what the story is about. I heartily recommend this game. It is not just good. It is the best I've ever played. My only regret is that I didn't get the CE. One man's opinion.
Date published: 2013-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More like this, please! This is a game inspired with originality! No constant searching for keys to doors and chests. Entertaining fun mini-games. I wanted it to go on and on. Absolutely loved it and the stunning artwork. Can't praise it enough!
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you very much! When I saw where the game was from I knew it had to be 1st Class! I was gripped from the start - this is my type of game. It makes the player stretch the thinking power - I used the 'Hint' as little as possible. I don't mind running hither & thither to pick up a lost strand in the puzzle. I made myself complete the trial game although I knew it was going to be mine anyway. I cannot comment on the sound/voiceover because I never use the sound. The visual effects are excellent and I couldn't wait for what the next move brought. Thank you devs this is great. I was beginning to lose heart, having had to not recommend quite a few games just recently. My faith in you clever people is restored. It's a BIG thumbs up ansd a BIG Well Done!!
Date published: 2012-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sinister and spooky As others have said...this is not for the faint at heart. Very creepy...but as a horror movie buff - that is what I enjoy. The only annoying particular of the game was the constant voice over of the main character on key areas - every time you clicked on the highlighted area...she would keep repeating the same line.
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!!!! very different from others I have played. I just purchased and am mid way through(i'm guessing#. The story line is really interesting. The VO is not horrible#not a big fan of VO).The little girl is pretty creepy..lol. I really like this one. It is so uniqueand the hint button upgrades... very cool game. I am not disappointed with this purchase, at all!!!!!
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular game Wow! this game was amazing, everything was so polished, from the graphics, to the puzzles, to the voice overs. I wished it had have been longer, I was so engrossed. For the lovers of the unusual, and ones who don't mind a dark and scary tale. I highly recommend you purchase this one, you wont be disappointed.
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! I actually submitted a review already for this but don't see it so I am doing it again. This is an innovative and creative game that has elements never seen or done before (as far as my experience the past few years). The artwork is always what will put me 'over the top' and this game is beautiful. I have played it through twice now and it was just as good the second time.
Date published: 2012-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winner! I love the dark games and this one delivers. I bought sight unseen so was delighted that it gave so much. I totally recommend it. Different but worth it.
Date published: 2020-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I love the creep level and the fact that there was a mini game before you even began the actual game. I wish I had the chance to play the full game through. Bonus: the Hidden Object scenes were challenging but in a good way.
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Theatre of the Absurd is Absurdly good fun! I enjoyed the graphics in this game and found the story line fascinating! The rooms and overall imagery during this game was consistent in theme and very believable. My only improvement would be to provide more puzzle varieties as opposed to strictly hidden objects. Overall, a very enjoyable game!
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Who Made this Gome???? I love it, was wondering who made it, so that I can get more by them!
Date published: 2015-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this game, kept me going! Great game, really kept me on my toes and engaged the entire time. I really hope another game is made with similar story lines, maybe a part II?? Very impressed, my favorite of all BF games!!!!
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting! Bought this game as it was a daily deal... LOVED it, played it through twice already. Has an interesting story that made me want to continue. I didn't find it boring at all.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I was unsure about getting this, so I used my freebie. I was not disappointed. Very fun game. Just wish I would have gotten the collectors edition so I could play longer!
Date published: 2013-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strange but Fun Definitely different. HOs were not too easy but doable. There was also a variety of games besides HOs. The storyline kept my interest. No map which made it difficult to remember where the rooms were. Overall alot of fun.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rich Experience! I loved this game! It's fun and the art, scary sound, and special effects are amazing! The puzzles were quite challenging for me, a novice player, but the "richness" of the experience kept me going.
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! One of the best! I really enjoyed this game, right to the end! Just the right balance of 'Hidden Object Scenes' and 'Puzzles'. Good 'Voice-overs', good 'story'.
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love This Game!! Spooky and Fun! I didn't know what to expect when I started playing this game. I bought it on a whim and I'm glad I did. The graphics are amazing and contribute to the overall atmosphere of spookiness. The music likewise is perfect, appropriately eerie without being annoying or intrusive. The plot is great, especially if you love a good supernatural thriller. The cut scenes are good too. My only real complaint is that the HO scenes are a little dark and murky and a little too indistinct. There is a lot to do in each scene and lots to explore. I should add that the plot involves demons, possession and the occult; if these topics bother you then I wouldn't recommend this for you, but on the other hand, if you love a good supernatural tale with plot twists and lots of gothic atmosphere, by all means buy and enjoy!!
Date published: 2012-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my five top favorite Hidden Object games This game was fun and exciting and gave good hints and clues along the way. It was rewarding and not frustrating in that each level was challenging but I didn't get hung up and unable to continue.
Date published: 2012-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Always be wary of the innocent moppet Had to redeem my game coupon, so I picked this game. I'm glad I did. Started 3 hours ago and I have to stop because my eyes are shriveling. Love the graphics, the moody tone of the game, and the surprises. Innovative. Some new games, but not too hard or annoying. Hope they make more of this type of game.
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoyed the dark theme It may not be for everyone - because it has a demonic/satanic theme, like demon posession and HOs that involves creepy cursing items, eg. voodoo, skulls etc. But I don't particularly mind about these themes, and I enjoyed much on the music and sound where at certain parts it's not just repetitive looping music, but has some shrieks or whispers which really adds to the dark atmosphere.
Date published: 2013-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not too absurd Based on the demo First I have to say I am not a big fan of spoken dialogue. There is a lot of voice-over that you have to listen to, you can't skip it. That said, this is an interesting game. The HOS have glowing light sources in them, sometimes making the objects hard to find. I enjoyed the tasks, and the journal really helps by letting you know when tasks are complete, and you can see when you've missed a step.You have to travel to different locations to completes tasks-lots of fun. I have no idea how long the game is, but I would like to play the full game.
Date published: 2012-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A SOLID 4 STARS Your goal is to exorcise a demon to save a little girl, helped by some supernatural abilities. There are a lot of rooms to explore in the father’s mansion, but it’s not too difficult getting around. There are some spooky aspects (try overclicking in a HOS for a sample). Gameplay wasn't too easy but neither was it mind-numbing. HOS are crisp, clear and not too crowded. Visual effects are well detailed and lovely. The heroine’s voice is pleasant to listen to, which is good since you spend a lot of time listening to her. Nicely polished game. The ending was a complete surprise – never saw that coming. About 5 hours.
Date published: 2012-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Strange Game I don't even know where to begin with this one. I played in expert mode. 1. Very demonic 2. Voice-overs were alright 3. At times it was strange/odd/creepy 4. HOS were decent 5 Mini games were easy 6. Hint recharged rather quickly 7. Very unique game play I'm still shaking my head at this one......I don't even know if I recommend it! ...shaking head
Date published: 2012-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like the game, hate the monologue I love the graphics in this game. Colorful but not childish or cartoony. I bought it even before the trial was up. Only two things really bothered me. The little girl has freaky blue eyes that made her look possessed even when she was supposed to be normal. The monologue was very annoying. I don't need to be read to. Other than that, I am enjoying this one.
Date published: 2013-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Creepy game! So many hidden object games! The music was creepy, yet intriguing. There were pop-ups in this game, so warning to those who gets scared of horror games. I was scared too, so I had to play in lower volume. The game was very good. Although there were a lot of hidden object games, I don't really like when hidden objects maps are repetitive. I went to same hidden object maps twice, I think three times too. Because of its repetitive in the same map, I got bored of it so I just pressed random objects that looks like it's part of the items I need to find. I played in expert mode, I didn't need to skip a lot of the puzzles, so that's good. I played this as part of the Game Club's Daily Deals, Spending this game for $2.99 was worth it!
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Spooky, Creative FUN! WOW! I absolutely LOVE the creativity of this remarkable game! You can tell the devs put a lot of time and care into it! This has to be the most interesting and integrated hint system I have ever seen! It's part of you, and the story! Superior voice acting, and cut scenes! The outstanding graphics, music and sound effects add to this game and are very appropriate! The spooky story line captured my interest right away! I'm a big fan of interactive movie type games, and this is a prime example. As you progress thru the game you earn powers to help you save Bethany. This game makes you think a bit as to what and/or how to do tasks, and as an intermediate casual gamer, is a perfect difficulty level for me. The puzzles are quite easy, which I enjoyed thoroughly! The notebook records all info needed to help you solve puzzles, and also includes your task list, and story. There doesn't seem to be a ton of back and forth, which is great! There is, however a ton to explore in each beautifully crafted scene! There are a few things that I found I didn't care for, but they are easily overlooked and outweighed by the positives! The HOS can be challenging, as some HO are very well hidden/blended, and the color palate is a bit monochromatic in some areas. The hints recharge quickly, but can be a bit vague. I didn't even finish the demo, and I know I'll be buying it! If you don't like dark, demonic games, this will not be for you. As always, Try Before You Buy!
Date published: 2012-06-18
  • y_2022, m_7, d_5, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_72
  • loc_en_US, sid_14755, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Theatre of the Absurd

Help Scarlet Frost outwit evil itself in a dark and mysterious theatre to save an innocent girl’s soul from the most sinister of perils.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.