The Promised Land

The Promised Land

PC

Also available on

Strategy

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(166.50 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Take charge of a small group of settlers and build a thriving colony in The Promised Land, a casual strategy game for the adventurous at heart. Gather resources, erect buildings and establish trade as you explore a vast wilderness teeming with surprises! Can you tame the New World before it tames you?

  • Huge world to explore
  • Complete freedom of play
  • Build a thriving colony!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 327 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Promised Land

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(166.50 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Promised Land is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 205.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fun .Will play again now I know the ropes yes,I loved it too. It did stall several times but at least I could get it going again easily. Thoroughly recommend it.
Date published: 2014-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Promise Land 2??? Hurry already!! Hopefully this will get to someone that can do something about making a #2!
Date published: 2014-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fabulous game! This is my favorite Big Fish Game. I have played it many times since I purchased it. The graphics and animation are great and the game itself is fun and entertaining. I have played it for hours at a time and not realized how much time was passing.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic in every way!!!! I highly recommend this game, and in fact, am looking for others just like it! A sim game to an extent, but one with an end in sight. I also like that when exiting and re-entering the game, you pick up where you left off - no time continuation, leaving crops to rot, etc.
Date published: 2014-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When Will You Give Us ANOTHER!! Of all the games I've purchased at BF ... this is the game I love the most. Please make more like this game!!
Date published: 2014-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Type of Game - Can't Wait for Another! I loved this game. I've played it all the way through 2 times now and started my 3rd go round a few weeks ago. Between college and work - I don't get much time to play games and this one fits the bill for me. I love that I can pick it back up if I don't play for a few weeks. The story is cute and I like the graphics. The mini game with the pirates is like angry birds and I replayed those more than I needed to just cause. I like the logic game of building the hut rooms. It stalled a little in the middle while I waited for knowledge points the first time around because I didn't manage my people very well. I didn't realize until I was halfway through it that the people actually had likes and dislikes and it affected their production. whoops. I was sad when it ended and would love to see a sequel!
Date published: 2014-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mesmerizing I really enjoyed this game. I became mesmerized watching my little people going off to do their jobs. I kept telling myself to stop playing and take a break. But I couldn't! What would happen to my little people? So I played the game straight through. It took me over 12 hours and I was up all night. But it is that type of game that keeps you interested.
Date published: 2014-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game great game, shame when finished
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Addictive and Fun This is a great world-building game much like Virtual villagers. The concept of raising crops and building schools, digging up treasure, and doing research are all familiar, but the developers have added a few new ideas. I loved the trade; you raise crops and sell them for crowns and money. Different crops get more money during the game, and you have to pay attention to what will make you the most. Also, new challenges pop up throughout; some are timed, but if you run out you can still finish the challenge for a reward. I also liked the Angry Birds-styled pirates challenges. At first I thought, I'm not into it but later it became one of my favorite parts of the game. Graphics are colorful and really well-done; the island is easy to navigate, and you reach new parts as you go through the challenges. My only criticism is the islanders don't really interact with each other beyond chatting when they get lonely. There's no marriage or childbearing, and no one becomes a chief. But that's being really picky. I played this game off and on for about five days and really enjoyed it.
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game There need to be MORE like this! Pleasepleaseplease get some new games, BigFish!!!!
Date published: 2014-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thoroughly enjoyed this game! I must say the first 15 - 30 minutes that I played, I wasn't sure how I felt about "The Promised Land", but it quickly became one of my favorites. Unfortunately, many things didn't get done because I was "lost" playing this game. The animation was great, the challenges were were a challenge, but achievable. I simply enjoyed it and am sad that I completed it.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An engrossing game without time pressures I usually get stressed out by these sorts of games because everything seems to be urgent and you end up running around as if you're being whipped, which is not my idea of fun. This game's different, though. Yes, there are some time-sensitive tasks, and there are always things to do and you have to prioritise, but you don't have to panic about getting everything done in double-quick time. Overall, this is a truly excellent game. The graphics are lovely, the storyline is great, the tasks are challenging and fulfilling, and it's got a satisfying ending. I particularly liked the way the characters come with work preferences and dislikes, which affect their morale. It added another dimension to the allocation of tasks. And I liked that they could undergo training to make them more efficient. My other favourites were the little side-games blasting pirates out of the water. That was a lot of fun. Be warned, though, the game is so engrossing you won't notice the time passing. You could be up all night building this little paradise.
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun for all ages My five-year-old son and I played this together and loved it. His favorite part is defeating the pirates (like Angry Birds) and I enjoy the strategy of completing the tasks and keeping the colonists happy. The only downside is that the story line is the same on repeat plays and that there is no Promised Land 2!
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my Favorites from Big Fish ...and I've bought a LOT of PC games. This is one I can pick up and play over and over again. Even though I already know the story line well, I like the character graphics very much, and enjoy the challenge of building up the colony bit by bit. I try doing things a little differently each time. Because the colonists have different preferred tasks, it can be quite a challenge to get everyone assigned to something. If most of the colonists want to mine gold, someone still has to grow food and someone still has to make tools. If assigned to a task that isn't their favorite, they'll tire more quickly and have to stop and eat. If you're not careful, you can run out of food. And a colonist can't work if they don't have a room in one of the houses, so you need to make sure and add rooms before you bring more colonists in. As a colonist's skill level (experience) increases, they work faster and more efficiently. Lots of variety in the tasks, goals to reach, bonus points to get, awards to achieve. I've played it many times, and never get tired of it. I'd sure like to see Promised Land 2. Highly Recommended.
Date published: 2013-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game!! The only thing wrong with this game is that it's too short. Please make a second game!!! :D
Date published: 2013-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmed to it The game started a little slowly for me, but once I got into it I was hooked. I wound up playing through a second time immediately after finishing. The game was not a difficult one, the setup is very forgiving of mistakes (at worst you will take a little longer) but I enjoyed it a lot. The game play was well paced, the graphics were good and the fun factor was high.
Date published: 2013-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't stop. A lot of fun. Have to push myself away. Looking for more like this one.
Date published: 2013-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game!!! It's one of the best games ever! I'm hoping that would be a sequel! I played it over and over again and I'm still playing it! Amazing! Lot of fun!!!!
Date published: 2013-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome i love these kind of games!!!!
Date published: 2013-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Promised Land promises much - is it worth buying? Yes! I bought this game based on the overwhelmingly positive reviews and game information. It piqued my interest, so I bought it without playing the trial. I've only played about 15 minutes of the game and absolutely love it! It is well worth purchasing. The music is lovely and soothing. The little people are cute and I like the noises they make when you pick them up, as well as their behaviour when they get hungry. The graphics are top notch, colourful, and inviting. I feel like jumping into the water! As well as the gardening/farming games I think more games around creativity, nature, and positive, uplifting storylines would be most welcome (and not the dark, evil stuff). Well done with this game. I would like to see more like it please!
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The pirate mini game is fun too The entire game is a fun game but the mini game to fight the pirates is a real hoot if you have the sound on. If you or your kids giggle at the minions from Despicable Me for example then you and your kids will get a real kick out of the grumbling of the pirates. The rest of the game is fairly standard village management type stuff, a little pressure to complete a few tasks quickly but not too stressful. Myself and my son both enjoyed the game to play it more than once all the way through.
Date published: 2013-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it still! I absolutely love this game. I have played it over and over and it is one of my favorite Big Fish Games purchases. I love building the little colony, seeing which workers I get each time and what their favorite tasks are as well as their dislikes. If you liked Artist Colony, you should get this game. Those are two of my favorite purchases here. My nephew loves playing the little pirate minigame when he visits.
Date published: 2013-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ths Promise Land Great game!! Loved the Colony people, they were a good size for my old eye's to see without squinting. ( I'm 76). Enjoyed making food, building houses. Is their another game like this one that someone can recomend??
Date published: 2013-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Strategy Adventure Game It's like Virtual Villages only you can achieve things quicker, also has that strategy edge which I like.
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Strategy Game This is really a good game when I started I couldn't stop. Whish there were more games like this, and its not a short game at all. Loved it. More Please?
Date published: 2013-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from There are not enough games like this! Utterly charming and engaging from the off. The games starts slowly and gets more frantic as the challenges build up. You choose where to place your workers to have the greatest impact. I've played it twice and it was different both times. If you like Virtual Villagers, Artists Colony etc you will love this. There are just not enough games of this type on Big Fish...at the risk of sounding like Oliver Twist...Please could we have some more?
Date published: 2013-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Sim/TM The reviews are right, this is a great sim game. Reminds me of Artist Colony, in so much as you have to assign people to perform certain tasks, educate them, engage in money making (trade, in this case) and complete assignments. The graphics are great. There is a lot of stuff to do. Decent story line and good sound effects. I've played through twice now. Finished much faster the second time around since the tutorial (is there one?) is seriously lacking. The first time around, I did not figure out that having the right type of person working in the right place really speeds up production. (Farmers in fields, workers cutting wood, etc.) I also didn't figure out that there is a stand of wild healing herbs to supplement the ones you grow. Etc. There is a Angry Birds aspect, which you can access, (when the time is right) by opening the ship/trade page and clicking on Hunting at the top of the page. While it is challenging to get five stars on each of the 12 levels, you can proceed with only one. You just don't get the full reward. Be warned though, it is slow going, especially getting enough education points to 'learn' new things. Train four or five scientists and leave them to study. Unlike some other games of this genre, no one dies, no kids are born, no one starves if you forget about them. The game does not continue when you shut it down. The houses are puzzles. To add more people (hire them from the port), you have to build new houses or add rooms to the existing houses. You have to pay for the new rooms and fitting them together can be tricky! The maximum number of people is 50! There are a lot of interruptions. Your trade advisor pops up to tell you what is selling for a high price at port. The other advisor pops up to tell you to build a new building (or several). And, the natives periodically ask for stuff in trade. Trying to meet all these tasks takes some skill and some tasks have a time limit, but the game is untimed and if you miss a deadline, you only forfeit the time bonus. If you enjoy sims, like Artist Colony, you will probably love this game. I did.
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome build and control game! Love the real moving objects and characters. The gentle colours are nice to look at. So far I have only tried the trial so I haven't experienced if it had any sort of story line that's why I rated it low, but if you purchase the game our right and it does have a good or better story line please post it and let everyone know! It's not fast paced so you won't get very far once your trial is over so you may consider buying the game if it's this cheap! I guarntee that you will LOVE this game! Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PLEASE! More Games Like This! I love the Virtual Villagers games, and this is an improvement over that series. Your little people don't die, and you get to have them work throughout the game. You choose when to upgrade buildings and when to use technology points. If you like the Virtual Villagers series you will love this game. I've played it over a dozen times and it is different everytime I play it!
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Broke my cardinal rules on PC games There are a few things I never do in regard to my pc game habit: I never post a review, I never play the game more than once, and I never play with the sound on. One can save up to five salvos in this game and it is worth it to do. The colonists are ship wrecked. Each colonist has a different skill set and this varies from salvo to salvo. So while one play through can go smooth as silk because every colonist has the right skill at the right time it is needed, other times one doesn't have enough farmers to get the crops growing or enough workers to get building started or enough scientists for research, etc. Each salvo is a new game. The Promisedland can be challenging at first in terms of figuring out how to feed the colonists and provide housing, but BFG has a good information blog spot for when folks get stuck. The graphics are clear, neat, and fun. The music waxes celtic, but I like it! The challenge is high at the beginning in trying to figure things out, but stays entertaining throughout the game as there are logistics to think of and some timed tasks to take care of. This has got to be the best building/time managment game thus far. If you liked Royal Envoy 2, Northern Tale, A Gnomes Home, and last but not least any of the Roads to Rome, you must try this one! I highly recommend it (this may be my first and only review)!
Date published: 2013-01-28
  • y_2022, m_7, d_5, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_205
  • loc_en_US, sid_15102, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Promised Land

Build a thriving colony in a vast wilderness teeming with surprises!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.