Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope

Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(255.23 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Professor Gordon Child was your favorite college professor and now he's summoned you, his star student, to the island of Cannon Rock. You arrive to find that Child has vanished and a madman has destroyed the island and murdered many of the residents! The few who are left think you're the only one who can save them… It's your destiny. But, uncovering the madman's true identity will challenge your skills and your assumptions. Solve mind-bending puzzles and search challenging hidden object scenes in Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 767 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(255.23 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 49.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great HOG! I love a good HOG and this one is a good one! I read the reviews and tried it out and then I bought it without hesitation! I would highly recommend this game, I have played them all and this one is good!! Play the trial and be prepared to be hooked, that's all I can say. Let the game speak for itself.
Date published: 2012-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth it! This is a truly enjoyable game. Lasts a good long while. Although there is no map, it is easy to get around in. The hints can sometimes be useless, sending you to places where you don't have all you need. I really enjoyed the background music and the voiceovers are pretty good as well. Liked the transition from live action to animated, thought that was done very nicely. Not as dark and gloomy a story as usual and that was a nice change, although don't get me wrong...it isn't a nice little fairy tale either. The hidden object scenes were nicely done and well lighted (I see that as a common thread through these reviews), and the mini-games are well varied--a few ones that everyone has and a few new ones. Overall--I liked it quite a bit!
Date published: 2012-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and great value HOG Really enjoyed seeing human beings talking and pics. Quite a large game, good HO scenes, music good too. A game you will finish, once you start. Graphics great! Enjoyed this game completely Thanks BFG.
Date published: 2012-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is great What a wonderful HOG. The graphics are awesome. Everything is so clear. Lots of different places to go. Really am impressed with this one.
Date published: 2012-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun is Back! I'm not much on 'human' characters but this is well done and not loaded with interaction with people infused into an animated scene. There is some searching and clicking bordering on frustration but what you need is quickly found. The hint button is a good assist. The mini-games are different and manageable. The HOGs are clear. The reason for the "loved it" ? It's just plain fun to travel through the great graphics and it wasn't so dark and sinister as we've seen a lot of lately. The raven even looks nice. The story line seems light but I'm anxious to follow to the end. I only played the trial so the review is based on 60 minutes of play.
Date published: 2012-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Searching for the Philosopher's Stone! Great Game! The cutscene at the beginning is really appealing, and features an outstanding movie, with real people, excellent VO, and an always interesting topic - the philosopher's stone! The story is well developed, great calm sound and crisp graphics, which provides a very good look. Cutscenes are quite interesting, and some even cause a shiver, especially when the character's eyes are closer. The game holds you till the end! Interactive HOS, average challenge, but hint fills very quickly. Hint helps throughout the game too, not just in the HOS. Some mini games already very familiar and easy, as "light all the fuses" .. but also has new ones - a bit more difficult. There's some back and forth, but the locations are close. It has a journal, and helps in having to go back to see "tips", etc.. Enjoy! You wont regret !
Date published: 2012-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME! Loved this game. Your mission is to rescue the Professor and find the Philosopher's Stone and while doing this, you are transported to different locations. The graphics are gorgeous, the storyline is great and the voice-overs are done very well. The opening scene was teriffic and used real actors, which really drew me into this game. I played in "expert" mode and found it to be just challenging enough. HO scenes were interactive and not muddy. Hats off to the developers. I certainly will buy this CE.
Date published: 2012-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WELL DONE HOPA A lot went into this game and it shows I enjoyed playing it for the most part Except during a portion there were far too many HOS..
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thoughtful Story Based on the completed game. This game is the classic story of the hero's quest, but the main character is a woman, which is a little different. There are lovely and complex settings, lots of locations. Most of the puzzles and HOs are easy to solve - a plus for me. The graphics are beautiful, and the music haunting. Sometimes I just sat there staring at the screen and listening to the music. Each part of the story is complete in itself, so I could go away and come back without losing my mind. The game is not perfect, however. The lack of a map was frustrating on oh, so many levels. There are many locations that a revisited late in the game that had not been visited in a l-o-n-g time. Remembering what was where for those was tough. There is also a lot of back and forth for which a jump would have been nice. There is also a rather fair amount of "unfinished business." Early in the game the main character jumps to a kind of dream world "nexus" at which there are four doors. Only one of them is visited in the game and we never go back there. Although complete in every rational sense, I had a feeling of incompleteness when I finished the game. These issues might be dealt with in the CE, but I didn't buy it. But overall the game is enjoyable and moves right along.
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope SE Dr. Gordon Child's research has lead him to the discovery of 17th century manuscripts of the Order of Cannon Rock. These manuscripts prove the Arthur rosen, the founder of the Order, created the Philosopher's Stone! He hid the stone because Arthur knew that the stone would be dangerous if it fell into the wrong hands. Now Gordon is in great danger, pleading for your help, his best student, "the key to the Philosopher's Stone is in the Medallion" The next thing you know is that you have been magically transported to the island of Cannon Rock but everything seems a bit hazy. You're not alone on this island, a madman responsible for the deaths of hundreds of people, seems to be stalking you, is he after the Stone as well? You will eventually find 9 ancient prophecy scrolls which will tell you how only the chosen one will be able to find the stone after passing the tests of morality given by the Guardians of the stone. The Hidden Object Scenes are interactive list finds and the mini games range from simple, such as moving stones one at a time until you find the special stone. There are more complicated games as well such as clicking on the red buttons to move three large discs with 3 smaller discs each with 3 different colored tiles until each colored tile is in the correct slot. The Collectors Edition has a built in Strategy Guide and a bonus game, but in my opinion this Standard Edition is the better value because there isn't anything above and beyond in the CE, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Long and Fun I really enjoyed this game and give it a 4.5 for sure. A bit old style but it had good puzzles which were not too hard, great HOS with NO tiny objects, a hint button that led you where you needed to go, an interesting story with an unexpected twist, and a satisfactory ending. It had varied locations and good graphics. All told, it was a solid game altgether, and I think most will enjoy it.
Date published: 2013-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from COMPELLING AND CHALLENGING Compelling story about the Philosopher's Stone. Gameplay is rather challenging as you don't just walk into scenes where you will find what you need at the moment. Lots of things to do. Interesting how it seems that you end up going in circles whenever you go through the mountains, no matter which direction you take. The graphics are great, the locations artistically done, the voice overs and cutscenes very nice. Your journal has extra information no evident from just the gameplay. Don't know how I missed this gem. I like that you aren't led by the nose to know what you have to do next. Hint recharges rapidly. I'd rate it a 4 1/2 stars if I could.
Date published: 2013-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Surprise Picked this up on today's Daily Deal and am pleasantly surprised. Intriguing style. Would look for more titles from this developer: World Loom. Blended 3d and 2D well. Location off north UK different from usual. Am pleased with purchase and having fun with it.
Date published: 2013-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not great but good Graphics was ok, Has voice over. Music will put you to sleep. Not a bad story. The HOS can be a job to find them all but the puzzles are ok. The hint button works well and is fast. The skip button is a little slower but ok. You do a lot of going all over the place to find items to use. It is a little slow of a game but is ok.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD HOPA You are asked by your college professor to save an island. No easy task. Live actors were great but the VOs did not match the mouth movements of the actors. A minor detail to me. Still enjoyable just the same. There was an equal amount of HOS and puzzles, plus other items you pick up along the way in each scene outside the HOS. The hint button refills quickly and also acts as a guide from scene to scene. There is a lot of travelling to do in this game. Many places to search so make sure you have a good pair of shoes. The HOS were the norm, some objects easier to find than others. Ditto on the puzzles, some easier than others. I did skip a few. An interesting adventure.
Date published: 2012-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game, Good Story I love a bit of adventure and especially a good story backing up a hidden object game. Just what you get here.
Date published: 2012-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game -no map -journal isn't useful -HO's are interactive and not too cluttered -mini games are usual -hint system is good -this game uses real actors and thats a nice change -graphics are well done -turn music down when you start
Date published: 2012-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Real Gem I really enjoyed this one. The artwork is outstanding. The Hidden Object Scenes were fun and easy to get through. Puzzles were challenging but do-able. The length is excellent. Hints refill quickly in easy mode and Skips are fairly fast, too. Everything just works. I didn't want it to end. I hope we'll get more from these developers.
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from dark heritage The graphics are super good. It was a challenge but a little strange in content.
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Long Game, I liked this game it`s visual and sound is very good, and the game last longer then other games.the ending to the story was a bit of a let down and I found myself getting fed up with the HOS, towards the end, I dont mind HOS but this was to many it could of been much better if the HOS were a mix of little puzzles and put back the objects. But overall. worth the price.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope A game not to miss - ranks with the best: Loved the music and using Actors was a real inspiration, the graphics I found outstanding, this is the sort of game you go back to after a time - it really is that good
Date published: 2012-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game! I enjoyed this one. The storyline was a little different, the graphics were okay and I wanted to find the stone and see what happened next...lol! The HOS were straightforward and although a few too many for me, I didn't mind as was enjoying the adventure. The puzzles were not too stretching either. There is no map so you do have to try and remember where you need to go back to as not all the puzzles are solvable right away. All in all a good game which is fun to play without being frustratingly difficult or too easy.
Date published: 2012-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really decent HOAG, not perfect I thought this was a pretty good HOAG. The level of challenge wasn't too challenging for me, but it still made me think. I always play in advanced/expert mode, so you can get an idea of the level of game play. An intermediate player would probably really enjoy it. HOS were good, some items hidden pretty well! There wasn't too much back and forth with items to use, but I actually like wild goose hunts. Storyline.....was okay. Graphics were good!
Date published: 2012-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a good game I really enjoyed playing this one. I am not in for lots of HOS and for me, this game just had the right amount of those. Moreover, the HOS were not junk piles in which you have to look for a needle in a haystack. So, I didn't feel annoyed when I had to tackle a HOS... and in case of need, the hint button recharges quite rapidly, even in expert mode. The puzzles were rather on the easy side; I would have liked them a bit more challenging. The graphics are very good and travelling around the island is easy, especially with the very handy hint button which is quite helpful to point you in the right direction. I also liked the storyline, especially with the esoteric and masonic references thrown in. The length of the game is OK... playing relaxed in the expert mode, I took me about one day to complete, which is quite a pleasant way to spend a windy, rainy day. :-) I don't give it 5 stars, because it didn't give me that WOW feeling, but all in all it is a very good buy.
Date published: 2012-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed I really enjoyed this game. I didn't think I would at first. I'm not crazy about "human characters" (as someone else also said) but I found all of it fun.
Date published: 2012-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You Wont Be Dissapointed With This One! I actually bought the CE version despite the fact that it really wasn't an outstanding game but this game had one of the best visuals I have seen in a long time. Hats off to the developers for the opening scene. They went all out by using real film and actors which really is the most outstanding thing about this game. I loved the cut scenes, sharp graphics, artwork, visuals and sound effects. All superbly done. Also I have to praise the storyline, being a fan of one of the great conspiracies that involve the mystery of the Philospher Stone, I was totally captivated. Dark Heritage is your basic Adventure/HOG with game features that include two play modes. Game features include a journal and a hint system that does refill quickly. Throughout the game, it is your basic seek and find inventory items, play HO scenes that are slightly interactive and collect some scrolls along the way to get the back story. It was a long game and I did enjoy the mini-games. Not overly challenging but well worth the SE price tag. Be warned, as there is no map, you have your journal/diary to help you and there is alot of back-tracking involved. As I said, really very basic gameplay which was a bit of a letdown for me but nevertheless, the visuals and the story make up for this. With all the work that was put into the visuals, I had high expectations but instead I found the gameplay too be a little predictable. However it is an excellent SE game which I do recommend for those who passed on the CE version.
Date published: 2012-06-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Was an ok game but could have used some help You are summoned by your mentor, Professor Gordon Child, to come to the island of Cannon Rock as he is in danger and needs your help. He has been researching the old manuscripts and believes he has found where the legendary Philosopher's Stone is hidden. You are magically transported to the island of Cannon Rock but you are not alone on this island. When you arrive, you discover the professor missing and a madman destroying the island killing many of the residents. You need to find the professor, who the madman is, and the parts of the medallion sent to you by the professor. The key to the Philosopher's Stone is in the medallion. During the game, You find 9 ancient prophecy scrolls about the Chosen One will find the stone and you are apparently that person. The graphics were ok and used cutscenes with real people. The use of real people in the beginning was well done but other scenes later in the game were bizarre with extreme closeups of people's faces and eyes. It provided nothing to the story as far as I could see. Music was ok. There is a journal and a hint system that does refill quickly. This is your basic seek and find inventory items, play HOS that are interactive, and complete puzzles. There is no map and there is a lot of back tracking so a map would have been nice. Most of the time it was pretty clear what you were supposed to do but, unless you kept notes, trying to remember the places where you might use the object could be a problem. I also thought some objects needed to collect other items were not logical such as a shovel handle to retrieve a valve from the water or pliers to cut rope. Also a painting of children in the school house that showed the colors to use to paint a picture did not match. The ending was not a surprise but was ok. I was glad when it did finally end.
Date published: 2015-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good concept, mediocre execution (Standard Edition) The developers of this game clearly spent a ton of time on story and plot. Cutscenes (with real voice actors/faces!) were excellent, the plot was compelling, items were used in creative ways that also made sense. Where the game fell apart a bit was, unfortunately, the actual gameplay. I found the music repetitive and annoying, there were several "act-upon" items within hidden object scenes that came up with naming errors, and the spelling of subtitles and clues was often just downright wrong. Even the last voice acting scene was poorly synchronized. Did I still have fun? Absolutely--but a last beta test would've brought it from 3 to 5 stars.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I’m Just Not Sure GAME COMPLETED A COUPLE OF TIMES Somewhat disappointed in this game, it was not at all as interesting as it originally seemed. It didn’t follow through on a dramatic and vivid opening with same calibre game play. Visually, it was unattractive, grainy and dull, although the enigmatic talking blackbird was very well done, I thought. The story was nothing new – save significant other, in this case favourite prof, and in the process save the inhabitants of an afflicted island to lift the curse put on it by an evil mage. It’s an ever popular story, and I’m happy to play any of its variants. But this one didn’t seem to flow. There was rarely any clear way forward, so finding the next task became tiresome. One thing I did like was the way the predictions of the future were presented in parchment scrolls showing sketches of it. But they only gave a very broad strokes. Another good thing were some of the puzzles. Very absorbing and clever. Take the time to work out the clock one, for example, very satisfying to see the results of your efforts. One final potential point in favour of this game for others (alas not for me) who are interested in encoding and deciphering puzzles. There were several of these, and no amount of effort made it possible for me to understand how they aligned the cipher rings or how the alleged clues helped. *Sigh* Have fun those of you who can. With all these pluses and minuses it’s hard to decide whether to recommend it or not. This really is a try before you buy game, but ultimately...
Date published: 2013-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok game Good arts and sounds. But not mine type of game I think. So I mark it 3 stars. Not sure to recommend it or not.
Date published: 2012-08-13
  • y_2019, m_3, d_21, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_14999, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope

Your favorite professor summons you to the island of Castle Rock. He wants you to find the philosopher's stone and save the world!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.