Howlville: The Dark Past

Howlville: The Dark Past

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(318.02 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Discover the secret of Rachel's past in Howlville: The Dark Past! Many years ago an artifact was found in a mine near the small town of Howlville. The government asked Dr. Joseph and a group of scientists to examine it. Something went wrong and the experiments were halted and classified. The town closed off. Since then nobody knows what happened to Dr. Joseph. Fifteen years later his daughter Rachel is on the verge of solving the mystery, but somebody is doing everything possible to keep her from succeeding. Help find Rachel's father and save the world from the looming catastrophe!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1285 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Howlville: The Dark Past

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(318.02 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Howlville: The Dark Past is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 118.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I liked this game! The beginning is very ordinary, but it just seems. The game adventure is varied. Hidden object scenes contain mini-games, they alternate with puzzles. Puzzles and mini-games have much funny moments. If you want to relax – play on the casual mode, otherwise switch on expert mode (no sparkles, no hand-cursor). Graphics is gorgeous, HO scenes are highly detailed. Music is wonderful. Everything is elaborately and corresponds to the story line. My little daughter helped me to play HOS, she liked this game too :)
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for gameplay, not so much for plot. There are plenty of reviews talking about how great the gameplay is, and it lives up to the hype. I've given it 5 stars, afterall, and when I'm done griping you'll see how much of a testament that is to the playing. My main concern? Plot. There's simulateously too little and too much. The prologue left me paranoid because it sounds like a re-cap for a preceeding game (it's not) given how detailed it is. But by the end, you character is making leaps of logic and intuition, drawing conclusions despite her backstory not claiming she has any expertise in the matter. And the antagonist suffers similarly, being particularly juicy in the in-game cutscenes, with some great evil-genius-villain lines, and then nothing whatsoever of backstory when we reach the end. He barely gets a mention, and certainly we never find out why he went bad, or what his motives were. In fact, we get only a vague explanation - at the point when our friendly narrator goes from ex psych patient looking for her father to expert in advanced theoretical physics for a couple of sentences - of what the heck they were even doing. At teh same time, the final cutscene doesn't seem to give any idea that there'll be a sequel to fill us in. I can only hope they didn't fall into the trap of revealing everything in a CE bonus chapter, because that's one thing I can't stand, even when I've bought the CE - which I didn't this time. Besides that, the HOs, while tremendously inventive, do become seemingly more numorous and tedius as you get on, and the plot thins to nothing so that gameplay becomes item-based - that is, get this item so you can unlock that and search for such-and-such item to do the other. For the most part it makes sense, what you're using and where, but it does start to feel over-complicated. So, why did I give it 5 stars? Because I think that the gameplay, for once, over-rides the story or lack thereof, and the issue of wearisomeness could be solved by completing the game in two or more sittings, rather than one long sprint. With everything I thought could have been done better in this game, I still don't take back the fun I had with it, and I don't regret buying it, not one little bit. I don't think you will either.
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A High Quality Game! In spite of terrible picture in the title – the game is very nice. Remarkable graphics and clear story line. Backs are quite gloomy but stylish and vintage. Beautiful music and sounds create mysterious atmosphere. I can`t agree that game is boring, I really liked and bought. Adventure is filled by many interesting tasks. Some puzzles are difficult (especially in the end of the game), but get much pleasure to solve them. HOS are very original, contain funny mini-games like catch beetles under leaf.
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fun ! this is a great little game, incredible clarity on HO , complicated puzzles, stuff I had not seen before. Very clever. Also pretty landscape. It's a good game. much better than some of the large files that bore me to death !
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! I really enjoyed this challenging game. I liked the graphics and especially the challenge. I had so much fun. I recommend it. I would go into more detail but I've been up all night playing it and my brain hurts.
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game!! What a lovely game to spend an afternoon on, i love the HOPA games with interactive HOS too, there are a lot of HOS with puzzles thrown in with them, but they're crisp and clear and quite easy to find with the hint filling quite quickly if needed. It is a linear game so not a lot of back and forth everywhere which is refreshing. It's not very challenging but not frustrating either, a change to the dark stuff of late.....don't forget to collect lightbulbs throughout the game to gain extra hints, enjoy!!
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great HO game THis was one of those games I knew I'd end up buying after five minutes of the demo. The quality of the graphics was excellent for a non CE game, and the HO scenes were inventive, with mini puzzles inside HO scenes. Playing time totaled about three hours. Well worth the money
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relaxing game I dont make many reviews and though I am only half way through I am really enjoying this game. I like the way each scene is completed and then clear for the next one. I dont have to make notes or try to remember where I saw something. Being a 'senior citizen' my short term memory is a bit wonky, so playing a game over a couple of days I get frustrated because I have difficulty remembering what I did the day before! I am so glad I dont have stuff cluttering up the inventory that sits there for several chapters and I am constantly trying to use. So this game is relaxing and has extra gameplay in the hidden object scenes so they have a bit of a challenge.
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hidden Object Game yet OK, I like HOGs but get tired of the back and forth, back and forth, you would get one object here and then go to another location and get an object and then go back to the first scene to use it and then go to another location and get an object and then again back to the first scene to use it and so forth. Not this game, you do a lot of this in one scene,and maybe have to go to another scene, get something for the first scene and you finish these locations here, not a lot of back and forth. There are HO scenes, finding items to use in a scene and mini games, which I skipped, had a little trouble figuring out what to do(although it does tell you what needs to be done, I just had trouble). Object is for Rachel to find her father, I`ve made it as far as the Church, I started playing and loved it so much I couldn`t stop. I don`t normally play with sound so can`t comment on that, HO scenes cluttered, but well lit, hint button charges quickly, also collect lamps and get more hints. I usually try games before I buy them, but so many reviews were for it I had to just buy it and boy was I glad I did. There wasn`t as many HO scenes that I would have liked, mostly picking up items in the scene to use, but loved that there wasn`t so much back and forth in the scenes, I have deleted many of my games for that reason. Try this game, you will like it.
Date published: 2012-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Impressed I love this game. The devs were super creative with this one. Based on most of the 6.99 games that are coming out lately, this one blows them all away. There are many hidden object scenes and within each scene there are many interactive objects and also mini games. These devs were really thinking outside the box. Kudos to the devs on this one. I will recommend this game to everyone I know. Please, more like this one. I also love the sound effects. Very creepy.
Date published: 2012-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hope 'DARK PAST' developers have a BRIGHT FUTURE! :) YAY, based on their initial presentation, I would say this developer will be a shining star in the gaming industry and I, for one, will look forward to more from them! Other than the title, which I thought was a bit cheesy, the game itself is one super and original puzzle after another with vintage/dated scenes, interesting H0G's, all appropriate to game's theme and enveloped in a very 'different' and engaging storyline. Two thumbs up and a huge smile from this little fishy. Give it a go.... well worth the price tag (at least!).
Date published: 2012-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice! Very nice game. Not a lot of running back and forth, which is great for a change. HOGs not difficult and incorporate items needed within the game; music easy to listen to; games not difficult but do take some thought; clear graphics and good game play; good hint system. You find lightbulbs for extra hints, but it doesn't say if you can only have so many. I tried to get one in the hotel, but it wouldn't let me have it, so not sure if I had too many or what. Yes, the story is the same, but I play the game, not the story. The game is fun and I have already purchased it. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2012-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from bought this game right off Terrific game!!! mini puzzles within HOGs! Beauitfully done music , graphics and story. A must buy.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my! Neato! Now this was a game to get your sluething abilities going! Lots of HO, but with a twist! Puzzles within and lots of them. Only skipped a couple, so puzzles are manageable with a bit of perseverance. Couldn't stop playing until completion! Kudos!
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant puzzle game This is based on a couple of hours of play played in "expert" mode. A totally enjoyable and challenging puzzle game that never lets up whether within a HOS or in moving on to new locations. Congratulations to the devs ( N.Tri - newcomers?) on coming up with a game that has jumped ahead of the current trend in HOS/puzzle/adventure games.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CHALLENGING INNOVATIVE GAME Wow! I wanted to wait until I had actually played half of the game. The game has a combination of HOG scenes and puzzles. There are also puzzles within the HOG scenes. The HOG scenes are not the normal ones we have had in the past. They are challenging and you need to think about where items are located. You also need to move things around and do puzzles to get some items. Innovative as to how it approaches HOG scenes. They are definitely not those which require you to search for tiny objects. Objects are hidden and require logic to locate them. The graphics to me were good, but somewhat cartoonish. The music was not annoying. There are two modes to play, but be warned that the Hard mode is difficult! Love this game. A very nice SE.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! I'ts a very unusual game. One of those you have to think. Well, it's only my experience after 15 minutes testing it. For me it's a MUST HAVE game - that's why I'm going to buy it immediately after having submitted my review.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clever in many ways I love that they've eliminated running back and forth by concentrating many tasks in one scene. So much fun in HO scenes - lots of interactive components, just enough but not too much hidden factor. Music is non-intrusive, story has exciting moments but I thought a great balance of interruption rather than distraction. The best new game in ages AND not a CE! Thanks to developers and I think you've hit on a wonderful new formula!
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A definite buy This, to me, seems more like a CE game. The quality is awesome. It is fun and a bit challenging, but that makes it more appealing. A definite must (and did) buy for me!
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ANOTHER HIT 4 BIGFISH I only played 30 minutes and was very hooked , alot to do, for such little money , It's like playing a collector's edition ..
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refreshing Saturday Surprise! What a nice game this is, and it's a SE! Clear graphics, decent storyline, extras to look for, minigames in the hidden object scenes, plus interactive items in the HOS also! Played on casual, and that's just what it is- nice and relaxing. I bought it without even finishing the demol Give it a try!!
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A definite buy.... If you like HOGS, this game is for you. I love the graphics and I love story line. I love how you have to interact within the HOG scene. Throughout the whole game your doing something. Within the HOG scene, you are also playing puzzles then also figuring out where things go, plus searching the scene. Some scenes can be hard, but overall an A++ game for me. Don't think anybody will be disappointed with this game. Even the HOG scenes are bit tough for easy level. Thanks!
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a delight! there are so many things to like about this game, particularly that it can be had for one coupon redemption: it is not often, i have found, to get decent games for my free game credits. the story line is good--escaping from a monster and the graphics are above par, but what i really loved (in the demo) was the interactivity of the HOGs... this approach is highly interactive, with minigames within the HOS... i am not a huge fan of HOG - laced adventure games, but this one is fun! the other puzzles are fun too. not difficult enough to put you off but hard enough to keep you focussed. i just finished the demo, but had to continue. it's addictive :)
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from detailed art, thought-provoking puzzles, and compelling storyline ever since you were a young child, you've been living in the shadow of your father's mysterious disappearance. in this hidden object puzzle mystery, you are rachel, and you've been trying to find your lost father for years. he was a scientist who disappeared fifteen years ago whilst examining a strange object discovered in a mine near the small town with the crazy name, Howlville. but during his investigations, something strange happened. as a result, the town was evacuated, no one is allowed inside and even its existence was classified as top secret. but rachel is determined to find him and to solve the mystery of what happened so long ago. graphics: gorgeous, detailed artwork. most hidden object scenes had minigames or puzzles that must be solved to complete the hidden object scene. many of the hidden object scenes were cluttered, although most items had some at least some relevance to the story instead of being random junk included in the scene. i was especially pleased by the interactivity of the game -- for example, you can turn the ambulance radio on, although it doesn’t have anything to do with the storyline (as far as i could tell). such things made it fun to “click around” whilst exploring. there are plenty of puzzles, but nothing unique. however, they were well-done, and were part of the story progression, instead of just being a random puzzle embedded into the game. music: minimalistic. sound effects were appropriate. voiceovers were quite nice. storyline: somewhat far-fetched, but nonetheless, carefully developed so the story does make sense. gameplay: there are two modes, expert (no sparkles, no hand-cursor) and casual (sparkles, hand-cursor). clicking on small light bulbs hidden in the game provide extra hints, although the hint button does recharge after a period of time (several minutes?). puzzles can be skipped. scene transitions were smooth and relatively quick. no cursor stutters or freezes. a journal is provided. there is no map, but really, this game is so well designed that there is little back-and-forth; the tools provided help guide you through the story. my interaction: one hour demo, expert and casual modes. perhaps it's the scientist aspect, but i really enjoyed this game and purchased it as soon as my free demo ended. it is a bit dark for younger kids, but this game is smart, engaging, and well-designed and will appeal to most people. highly recommended!
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOWEEE!! what a beauty!! Can't tell you about any of the settings, I only know it fills my screen with crisp, clear graphics. Voice over is excellent. Gameplay is fantastic! I've only played for 40 minutes(past my bedtime, but couldn't resist it), but it's the most fun I've had in ages. LOADS of mini-puzzles, the HO scenes are clear and very interactive, even have puzzles within them. A definite buy for me. I've no idea of the length of the game, I hope it's a really long one, but whatever, I know that every minute is worth the money.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DOUBLE THE FUN I really liked this game from the start..espicially when you get a game in game..it make it double the fun...the visuals were crisp and clear..storyline was really good...this is another one I will have to buy for sure..this is based on the demo..I recommend this game to all players
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delightfully Difficult An excellent but challenging game that plays more like an adventure story with puzzle and hidden object elements. I played on expert mode which is actually difficult - as opposed to merely removing sparkles as might be expected. When you need to use hints to get past the first scene, you're either going to love it, or dread it. I bought it right away. One of the first differences I noticed from usual games of this type was that the cursor did not change to a hand/gears etc. You really have to figure out what to do, which may not be immediately obvious. I don't know if this is also the case with the casual mode. Most scenes are interactive in some way - not just the hidden object scenes, but throughout the story - perhaps you need to push some junk aside to find an item, or pull a loose thread to unravel something and so on. Something I found innovative was a bar/gauge in the hidden object scenes that monitors misclicks so you can avoid the penalty by being careful. The object scenes are challenging but the items are clearly drawn, it's not obvious how to find some items (perhaps they are in a bag missing a zipper, or you need to shuffle some papers covering them, or you have to catch that moving beetle with a glass jar). Because the cursor doesn't change, you have to click on items to see if you can pick them up. It makes the scenes much more interesting to solve, in my opinion. I love the artwork! It has that kind of painted realism look that really immerses the player in a fantasy story (this one set in modern times). Definitely try this if you are up for a challenge. Sometimes you just want a game to relax to, and this is not that - but if you want something engrossing that tickles your brain cells and takes your mind off your day, you've found it. Usual story - find a missing relative (your dad) in an abandoned location (town). It begins with a vehicle (ambulance) driven recklessly on a stormy night and your first task is to find your way inside. It's well done though with good voice-overs. High quality SE that promises to be immersing and challenging.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super interactive game! Rachel's father disappeared in mysterious circumstances. Help her to solve this mystery. Good graphics and sound, many places to explore and always with lots to do. The game is challenging. I started playing in expert mode, then moved to the casual. In expert mode has nothing to help, no sparkles, and the cursor does not change to "little hand" where there is something to do. HOS, despite the large amount, are fun, they are very interactive, and even has minigames in them ! Minigames are fun too. Some are new and challenging, Tools needed to continue the game are always around, no back and forth tiring. I really liked and bought as soon as I finished the free trial!
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SOLID GAME This game had lots of hidden object scenes. The puzzles were varied and ranged from easy to hard. There was very little back and forth, so the play was fairly linear. There was very little delay between picking up an inventory item and using it, which kept the inventory from filling up. A good, solid game.
Date published: 2014-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WOW, GOOD CHALLENGING GAME I was really surprised and delighted at the challenge of this game. You have: ~ Voiceover; ~ Diary; ~ Easy, Normal and Hard modes of play; ~ Collect hints as you play (light bulbs). At first I started on the Hard mode, but that was too difficult because you don't have a "hand" or a "pointer" over any items you need. You have absolutely nothing. So I decided to play Normal mode instead which was still very challenging. The hidden object games and mini-games were brilliant. You never play the same HOGs twice. There are also mini-games within the HOGs as well. These were not too cluttered and easy to see - but don't get me wrong, this is a very challenging game. The mini-games can be from easy to difficult. But because you collect hints [light bulbs] throughout the game, you can use these if necessary. I think I ended the game with 10 hints still to go. The graphics were perfect. You can see everything perfectly. There was quiet music in the background which was unobtrusive. The story line is easy to follow. I played all the HOGs and mini-games - there are so many to accomplish which I really enjoyed. Overall, I definitely recommend this game. Perfect for expert fishies who like a challenge. I'm now going to check out if there are any more games from the N.Tri Studio developers. Hope so.
Date published: 2014-01-06
  • y_2019, m_3, d_23, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_118
  • loc_en_US, sid_15078, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Howlville: The Dark Past

Many years ago, mysterious events separated Rachel and her father. Help find him and save the world from catastrophe!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.