Howlville: The Dark Past

Howlville: The Dark Past

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(318.02 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Discover the secret of Rachel's past in Howlville: The Dark Past! Many years ago an artifact was found in a mine near the small town of Howlville. The government asked Dr. Joseph and a group of scientists to examine it. Something went wrong and the experiments were halted and classified. The town closed off. Since then nobody knows what happened to Dr. Joseph. Fifteen years later his daughter Rachel is on the verge of solving the mystery, but somebody is doing everything possible to keep her from succeeding. Help find Rachel's father and save the world from the looming catastrophe!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1285 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Howlville: The Dark Past

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(318.02 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Howlville: The Dark Past is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 119.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy and not that bad Not a bad game. I thought it was quite easy. There was a good flow so you did not have to run all over the place to find things. The HOS are quite different as there is a lot of finding other items to complete the HO. I just did not find the storyline very interesting. I just was going from one seen to another finding things for the sake of finding them. No real story for me.
Date published: 2012-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game I can't say any more than has been said before...this is a good game with good graphics and story. Some of the puzzles were difficult, but luckily the hint button refreshes fast.
Date published: 2012-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of HOG This game has so many HOG's and puzzles, to the point where I had to stop and take a break every so often, but that's a plus point isn't it?. The scenes are good and visually attractive and some hidden objects were pretty hard to find, but I still didn't need hints to find them. Puzzles are fun, but most of them are a bit too easy and the ones that were hard were in my opinion too time consuming. The hint button is terrific outside the HOG's and recharged quickly. This is a great game for hardened HOG'ers and I believe you'll get your money's worth here! But you don't need me to tell you eh? Just have a look at the other reviews.
Date published: 2012-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Follow No running all over the place to use inventory items. Item is used in the same or next scene. Story line is not too wordy and hint recharges quickly. HO scenes are clear and have mini problems to solve in order to get all the items. Fun game.
Date published: 2012-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game Enjoyed this game for the mad scientist/experiment factor. Wish I could have seen animation, VOs and more creatures. HOs and puzzles were good.
Date published: 2012-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game I would have given it a 5 star except for one thing, to many hidden objects scenes. great puzzles however and good story line
Date published: 2012-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game! I liked the storyline. I started in expert mode but changed to casual: in expert mode, you have no help at all, no clues, no sparkles, so it should take very long in this mode. - The graphics are good. - The HOS are clear, there is a lot of interaction. Don't click everywhere otherwise it freezes. - The puzzles are challenging and some are unique. - There is a helpful journal. - There is no map, but there are not many locations. - In the casual mode, there are sparkles for the HOS and the objects you'll need. The ending is quite abrupt. It took me 3 hours to finish. All in all, a different game.
Date published: 2012-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the money! Just finished the trial, and I'm having a lot of fun with this game. The HO's are more intricate and include puzzles to finish. The graphics are good, finely detailed, and just a little bit of getting used to words such as "closed" for "locked." All in all, I will definitely purchase this game.
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable Game Overall I enjoyed this game. There are lots of HOS, which I enjoy. The story was not that exciting, but it was ok. The graphics and sound were excellent. There were a lot of puzzles, some were quite difficult. The hint button recharges in 30 seconds or so and you can pick up light bulbs along the way to give you extra hints without waiting for the recharge. You won't need the hint button much, but it was fun to look for the bulbs. I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys HOS games.
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game This was a fun interactive game. Made you think! The sound & graphics were excellent. You could get extra hints by finding light bulbs throughout the game. Mini games were fun and also included in some of the hidden object scenes. Although a lot of fun, it seemed a bit short in game play time.
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really liked this! This game surprised me. I only tried it in view of the rave reviews and am really glad I did. I don't usually like games with loads of HOS but in this game, they were so interesting I didn't mind....loads of interaction and in-scene puzzles. Lots of other puzzles too which although not that difficult, were varied so they really held my interest. All in all a very enjoyable experience which I certainly recommend!
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from short, but different HO game A very nice game with a lot of HO's. Normaly I just don't like so many HO's, but in this game they are different. In the HO's you need to find things to use and then you get the item you are looking for. Sometimes you need to solve puzzles to find a item. They are quite easy, but they are funny to do. I found it very short for my cup of tea...but I like large files. I miss the running around from room to room, thinking what to do next. For me that is a challange. I enjoined this game, but to short. Took me about 4 hours.
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Howlville: The Dark Past The storyline was pretty interesting, but typical for a HOG. One thing I did not like was getting inside the gate took so long. Normally, getting to a fence and to the place where a good deal of the game takes place takes only a few moments, but this time it was very drawn out. That took about ten minutes or so, because you had to go all over the place to do only a couple of tasks. When the game cut off, the game was JUST starting to pick up. I had cleared a few more key scenes needed to get where I was and I do have hope for this game. I will not (yet) put it in the *stellar* list of games, but I would say 'decent with potential' based solely on the demo. Will I get this game? Hm. I think so. Like I said, it has potential. I have some credits I could use. Would I pay for it? Maybe and if there was nothing else I wanted first.
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Sci-Fi Game If you had a large experimental laboratory, put a deranged scientist in charge and gave him a cartoony body and voice, add a cartoony monster and a suspenseful story... you'd have this game. A scientist disappears when his daughter is a little kid. When she grows up, she starts searching for answers to what happened to her father, and ends up in danger herself. It's a fun game with lots of different kinds of puzzles and interactive games within games. But don't take it seriously. The graphics are mostly good, although a few are blurry. The voice-overs are very good. Only the deranged scientist has a cartoony voice. The other people have normal voices and appearance. The music is pretty good and appropriate, if a bit repetitive. The hints are so good that if you get stuck, they'll help you get unstuck. It's not a super-difficult game, but I did need the hint a few times. And had to use skip a couple of times, too. If you're new to this kind of game, note that, even though the game is set in the US, the hints often use European words: Lift instead of Elevator, Torch instead of Flashlight, etc. Thankfully, it doesn't have people driving on the left side of the road.
Date published: 2012-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Uh Oh - My "To Do" list will just have to wait. I exited the one hour trial to purchase this game. I have done that only two or three times ever. Even in casual mode, this game doesn't do a lot of hand holding. Hints are collected by finding "lamps". If there is a map, I didn't see it. So far, the journal only details what you already know, but the tutorial says that "important information" will be recorded there. By the way, the tutorial can be skipped. VO's are good. The story line seems a little weak to me and that is the sole reason I gave 4 stars instead of five. A weak story line is not a deal breaker for me. If it were, I would buy very few games. What this game lacks in a compelling story, it makes up for in challenging and innovative game play. There are more HOS than I like to see, but again, this game makes up for that. There are HOS inside of HOS. I know we've seen that before, but you don't see it often. There are also mini games inside of HOS. A welcome variation. I always mute the music, so I can't comment on that. But the background sounds are suspenseful and very much contribute to the mood of the game. The game has a bit of a sci-fi theme. During the demo, I encountered one person and one creature. Both seem to be the result of a lab experiment gone wrong. What I appreciate most about this game is its challenge. Had I opted for expert mode, I bet I'd be tearing out my hair. Items in the HOS are not easy to find. Probably half of them require interaction to locate. Items are not to scale. Some are found at the edge of the screen, where we normally don't have to look. All of this serves to increase the challenge for me. At the risk of contradicting myself, I have to say the mini games, so far, were not extremely challenging. I didn't mind that because the rest of the game is making me think. Besides, I am guilty of skipping puzzles/games. I am trying to cure myself of that bad habit. So for me, it feels good to solve them without skipping. One thing: I purchased and intended to write this review while the game downloaded. The activation was immediate. It was so fast, that I thought I had a glitch on my hands. I don't know if this means you get the entirety of the game on the demo download or not. Also I don't know how many of you care about that, but I thought I'd mention it. :) I recommend this one. It is better than average, in my opinion.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Intuitive HO scenes I really liked this game for an SE. Played to the end which took 5 hrs with a few puzzle skips. I played advanced level, and for a pleasant change you really didn't get any help; no magnifying glasses, hands, eyeballs, swirling cogs etc to guide you. Excellent hint system too, so didn't need W/T. The HO scenes were really well done, and some contained puzzles too. The only downside to this game was that, in my opinion, there were far too many of the HO scenes which got a bit laborious. Also some items were incorrectly named eg chandelier was a candelabra. All in all entertaining and well worth the money. As we are under tons of rain and flooding here in the UK, it brightened an otherwise dreary afternoon!
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Have To Use Those Brain Cells On This One! Howlville is a real HOPA, heavy on the adventure and based on the demo, this will be a real challenge for hard-core players who are tired of hand holding and directions. The story, while very familiar, takes us once again in search of a missing Father, an experiement gone bad, and a cover-up to some conspiracy. (Didn't we just played one like this?# You have escaped from a mental institute and off on the adventure to save your Father and save the wolrd. #Yes we definitely played a couple of those). Game menu offers two gamemodes and that is about it. The Graphics are crisp and sharp. There is voice-overs and you have only a journal to aid you along with a list of objectives. The funny thing here is that while I chose casual to familiarize myself with game mechanics, there were no sparkles of any kind, no black bar ontop explaining what I had to do or what I needed to find. You really are on your own here which is what I love about adventure games. The HO scenes are interactive and also a brain teaser. Some items are hidden behind others, and some you need to figure out where to use. Some Fishies may not be pleased with this. The absence of any balck bar with hints or sparkles may either be a glitch of some kind or like Green Moon, a real brain teaser which in my case, I am defintly up to the challenge. Initial game play involves clicking around everywhere unit you hit something. You then need to figure out exactly where you need to use it. I liked the mini-games, not very hard but unique in design. Unfortunately there is no map and the journal is no help at all and although I have spent 45 minutes and have still yet to cross over the gate and get on with my mission. I assume that like many players, I will be either loving this adventure or hating it; I am definitely going ashead to find out. Besides, I have the need to exercise those little grey cells of mine.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WOW, GOOD CHALLENGING GAME I was really surprised and delighted at the challenge of this game. You have: ~ Voiceover; ~ Diary; ~ Easy, Normal and Hard modes of play; ~ Collect hints as you play (light bulbs). At first I started on the Hard mode, but that was too difficult because you don't have a "hand" or a "pointer" over any items you need. You have absolutely nothing. So I decided to play Normal mode instead which was still very challenging. The hidden object games and mini-games were brilliant. You never play the same HOGs twice. There are also mini-games within the HOGs as well. These were not too cluttered and easy to see - but don't get me wrong, this is a very challenging game. The mini-games can be from easy to difficult. But because you collect hints [light bulbs] throughout the game, you can use these if necessary. I think I ended the game with 10 hints still to go. The graphics were perfect. You can see everything perfectly. There was quiet music in the background which was unobtrusive. The story line is easy to follow. I played all the HOGs and mini-games - there are so many to accomplish which I really enjoyed. Overall, I definitely recommend this game. Perfect for expert fishies who like a challenge. I'm now going to check out if there are any more games from the N.Tri Studio developers. Hope so.
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made hidden object game This time, you've already escaped from the asylum and the game begins there. LOTS of hidden object items to find, but as previous reviewers have stated, hidden object puzzles are very interactive with mini-games included. Mouse over EVERYTHING! Graphics are great, but not movie quality. Music can be very ominous - especially that Fog horn at the house (shuddering now as I think about it). Hidden objects were easy to see, just tricky to find. Hints have to be earned in the form of lightbulbs, and do not replenish themselves. I never had more than a couple of hints during the trial period. Worth checking out.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Howlville Finished the game ; Only one person in credits; The translation of objecks was a chaleng in it self; I liked the mini puzzels included in the game;A lot of game for the basisc cost; ; About as much play time as a collectors edition;
Date published: 2012-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from its oki its a oki game... challagenge is nice hard . for the gray cells, as the lille belgium dec... all ways say :-))
Date published: 2012-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Enough Like the opening story line. Was a little difficult in easy mode but the hint button saved me many times. Like all the different puzzles in the HO's scenes. Voice overs and graphics were good. Ran slightly ragged on my computer. I would buy it if nothing better to do.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from quite impressed downloaded trial hour thinking "what a stupid name for a game". Invested a "free game" after only 5 minutes play. Find the hidden object scenes very original with lots of boxes within boxes. Nice !
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game Play Story Could Of Been Better - Review Of Completed Game Story: You take on the role of Rachel who must find her father who went missing 15 years ago due to an experiment that went totally wrong so back to Howlville you go to try and solve this mystery. There is widescreen at least for me. I had no problems here. No tech issues. There is voice overs 5 CHAPTERS 2 play modes: I played the harder mode which has no sparkles or black bar tips. Hint is helpful outside of HOS but slow on charge up. There is a journal which holds notes and some clues on how to solve some of the puzzles. HOS: There are quite a few but I thought they were spread out pretty good and they are interactive and sometimes have to "move" an item to get to some of them. No black bar tips here either as you have to figure out on your own but I didn't find it difficult at all. Sometimes a little "mini game" will pop up on some of them to get the item(s) you need. PUZZLES: Most the usual run of the mill such as rotate rings, repeat sequence, connect the gears, etc., but did come across some different ones as well. Most I found doable but had to skip a few of these. Skip is slow on charge up. OVERALL IMPRESSION: The story started out with some promise but once I got more into the game I thought this could of been worked on some more. Didn't care so much for the "monster" as I thought it was dumb. The voice overs and graphics are really good. I also enjoyed the game play is the reason I played this all the way through. I was happy to see no black bar tips and let me figure out on my own. I thought this had a nice balance of HOS, puzzles, and adventure the traveling back/forth. While there was no map I never got lost in the game. GAME LENGTH: This was just a little over 4 hours for me which was just fine by me. No complaints on game length. May be more or less for you. Overall 4 stars from me. I enjoyed it overall but I thought the story could of been better. Thanks Big Fish and developer for a good game here. As always, give it a whirl and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2013-07-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mediocre Across the Board It was acceptable at all levels, but not fantastic. I did like the way they designed the HOS. They had a lot of interaction and some even contained some mini puzzles. If you hate running all over the place, you will like this one. Every thing you find is used within 2 or 3 screens.
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK game. It is not a complicated game. It only moves in one direction, which is forward, and does not go back (which makes a map unnecessary). The story is OK as motivation, the HOGs are competent, and you get to think a bit as you move forward. There aer better games, but also worse. It is OK
Date published: 2013-10-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, but not great! "Howlville" was good, but not great. I couldn,t follow the storyline; it seemed disconnected and fragmented. The music was loud and tiresome. There were too many hidden object scenes. I thought the puzzles were difficult. Graphics were well done. The hint system was very helpful. I'll probably give this game another chance at some point and see if my perception changes.
Date published: 2012-09-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed Feelings Great interactive HOS. Some outstanding puzzles and some tedious. Graphics and storyline were sub par. I enjoyed the HOS so much that I enjoyed the game even with the drawbacks.
Date published: 2012-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice HO's in the same old story I found this game to be a bit average. it really didn't have anything that was new or refreshing. It does have some good artwork and there was more interactive stuff in the HO scenes that I liked. But for me at least.. the same old story of the experiment gone wrong and the crazy who wants all the power. .yawn.. was just not enough to win me over. This was a nice kill an afternoon or two type game but not overly original. Good HO's, some pretty graphics and kind odd an anti climactic ending. This one is kind of short and simple but okay as games go
Date published: 2012-08-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Game too short I bought this game because of the great reviews. In the demo I liked this game and I had a free game credit so I bought it. The HO scenes are well done and were just difficult enough, but the puzzles were too few and too easy. Some puzzles relied on trial and error guessing which I consider boring and uninspiring. Nice music though. This could be a great game with more challenging puzzles and definitely more length. Fun but too easy. Strange and confusing storyline. I recommend this for beginner puzzlers.
Date published: 2012-07-14
  • y_2021, m_10, d_25, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_119
  • loc_en_US, sid_15078, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Howlville: The Dark Past

Many years ago, mysterious events separated Rachel and her father. Help find him and save the world from catastrophe!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.