Jar of Marbles II: Journey to the West

Jar of Marbles II: Journey to the West

PC

Also available on

Match 3

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(45.42 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Embark on an epic journey and relive one of the great works of Chinese literature in Jar of Marbles II: Journey to the West! This thrilling physics based Match 3 puzzle game chronicles the fantastic life of Sansang, a monk that defied an emperor and went on a quest for the truth in a time of war. Solve puzzles in beautiful hand drawn environments and meet Sansang’s fantastic companions, the Monkey King, Dragon Prince and others.

  • Explore mythical China
  • 72 levels of play
  • Encounter new challenges and power-ups

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 135 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Jar of Marbles II: Journey to the West

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(45.42 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Jar of Marbles II: Journey to the West is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Fun, But.... There's one major flaw with this game, and that is that there's no sign-on as player, therefore only one person can ever play this game unless you're happy to share your score! I'm NOT! I don't understand why any game writer would do this, and it should be addressed a.s.a.p. Other than that, this is a fun game, challenging without being frustratingly difficult.
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable A challenging match 3 (some levels hard, some easy),dropping marbles into various oriental containers (jars, bowls, etc) Nice art. Different levels have different containers, number and type of marbles and some have powerups to earn by matching 3 special marbles. The special marbles can be a mixed blessing since you only get 3 per container and they can get between the final 3 marbles you need to get to the next level. It is timed, it would be nice to have a relaxed mode. I really enjoy playing. The only big complaint I have is that there is no way to change the player, so if you have reached level X and someone else wants to play, they either play your game at level X or erase your game and start at level 1.
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting Change Of Pace Overall this was a good change of pace from HOG. As an M3 game, the added physics factor makes it interesting. I'm not sure, but I think that being able to add a Zen factor by optionally eliminating/reducing the time factor might broaden its appeal.
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Playing with my marbles Well the verdict is out, you either love this game or hate it. I personally loved it. What is it about balls, bouncing around, clicking, just being round? I think it stems from my childhood. I loved bouncing balls, jacks, marbles. So it is the same for this game. The music, the sound the challenge. This is a great game just to wrap your head around and relax. It is a really different match 3 and I have been waiting for a something different game and this fills the void. You owe yourself to at least try it.
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FOUND MY MARBLES!... I have been waiting for a M3 that is new and different...this is IT!...I passed on the day it was offered because not into the marble shooter games...when I realized it was M3...I decided to just 'try it'...was I 'greatly' surprised! It has a style that is unique in matching your 'marbles' and even if you are timed it does not do the 'penalization', its just 'replay'...Once I got the hang of it I also noticed that game has good information and also thought it may get 'bored' in the long run!...not...will leave on my game manager to my 'go to game' ... quite pleasant music, great graphics...well just 'try it'...
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I expected more of it The graphics are not as good, the music disappointed. The time in the game is too short. After 20 minutes I was tired.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not my cup of tea I am a fan of Match 3 games so looked forward to giving this one a try. Marble shooters are not among my tops, but hey, I'll give it a whirl. Bored me to death. Not enough movement, just wore me out. Played through the demo, but that was enough for me. Graphics are good, music was okay, but gameplay was tedious.
Date published: 2012-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointment As did others I looked forward to some improvements over Jar of Marbles original in version 2. However it is not as good. As has been mentioned there is no relaxed mode, you cannot choose the color/pattern of the marbles or the types of jars. The graphics and music are better but for endless hours of fun, stick with the first version.
Date published: 2012-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing Game I did NOT like this game at all. Several times i ran out of time and that is in the early stages. There is no level of difficulty and there is the hated TIMER. There are no different bowls to choose from. Often the sequel is better than the original but this is NOT the case with this game. The original is MUCH BETTER IMHO. You can play the original at various degrees of difficulty, even without timer and also with different shapes of bowls. I love this game. I would recommend "Jar of Marbles II" for people who love fast paced marble poppers.
Date published: 2012-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Different! This match 3 relies on the hand-eye coordination of the player to drop the marble exactly where you need it. There is also the unpredictability of the marble's ability to bounce or roll where you don't want it to! While traditional M3 games require logic and strategy, this one requires skill - a skill that, unfortunately, I have never had: namely hand-eye coordination! I love the music; it is very soothing and very much like being in yoga class, and the graphics are colorful. Power ups are scarce and you can't rely upon them getting charged during your play. It was interesting for the hour trial, but not a variety of M3 game that I would purchase.
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jar of Marbles II This games graphics and music was fine. I liked the idea of the game but found it frustrating having to do the same level over and over. I would have liked it better if there was an option to play an untimed version so I could have played at a more relaxed pace.
Date published: 2012-08-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's okay If you want a change from the usual match 3, then this might be for you. I too found it boring about 10 minutes in and did not complete the trial.
Date published: 2012-08-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Different I found it a little boring after 10 minutes of playing although the level of challenge was good the further I got into it. Its not a game I will buy but I think it may do quite well. I am sure the further you go in to the game the better it will be, but I was so bored after 10 minutes I just lost interest in the game. The graphics are nicely done the music not to bad, It just didn't have the wow factor. It didn't make me feel as if I couldn't wait to play it again. I love match 3 games but this just wasn't the same . In order to be different I think it has gone to far and lost the plot altogether.
Date published: 2012-08-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ugh! First time I've made this mistake. I purchased the game without doing the trial or reading the reviews, based on the first game, which I loved. The timer killed me. Did I say "killed" loudly enough. I have now repeated the FOURTH level, FOURTH level more than 20 times and cannot advance. I can't figure out how to play the game any faster. No game should be this hard. PLUS, there's no music, just clinks and plops. I play these games for relaxation and entertainment. What was I thinking?
Date published: 2013-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Jar of Not So Much Fun I'm glad I got this for 1/2 price! The concept is great, but the execution leaves a lot to be desired! First, the only music that's played is in the beginning when selecting a level to play. Only the marble sounds are going when you actually play. The most basic of instructions are in the "help" area. You don't get any directions as to how to use the power ups, other than a brief message that appears before you start another level. I'm still guessing at what most of the power up do and when to use them. All the levels are timed, so it can be frustrating when all you want is relaxing play. It is a wonderful concept, but needs more development to overcome the shortcomings.
Date published: 2012-09-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Prefer the first one. I enjoyed the first one. Bought it. Still have it. This one was no where near as good. I stopped after 10 minutes and turned it off.
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bubble Shooting Game Small bubbles, quite boring. Graphics is ok though
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointing I loved the first jar of marbles game. When I saw the title, I thought, "wonder what new jars and marble types they added?" What I really enjoyed about the first one was the ability to compete against myself - to improve my fastest times, but that really isn't an option in this game. This one is all about the quest and beating the clock. No picking jar types or difficulties; no choice of what marbles you use, just level after level of 'more of the same.' Some of the marbles were hard to distinguish from one another, and often the colors of the background would make them even tougher to see. All in all, a big disappointment.
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disapointment I was so excited when I saw a new Jar of Marbles had been released because I loved the first one. This one doesn't even compare. It is less realistic, doesn't give you choices of difficulty or jars or play methods. Big Disappointment!
Date published: 2012-08-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Gets old fast I played about a half hour and this game gets very old fast for me. It's a nice and cute twist on the Match Three type of game, but I wouldn't be able to play it for long. I deleted it.
Date published: 2012-08-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Jar of Marbles II: Journey to the West This was the same as Jar of Marbles no fun
Date published: 2016-05-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do Not buy this game Timer is the problem here. No way to build up your skill before the timer goes off and the game is over.
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dissappointig Match 3 games are usually something that I enjoy. I found this one to be very boring. By the end of the demo, I was more then ready to uninstall the game.
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Timed!! I was happy to see this game offered today - I really like the first game. What a disappointment! Not only is it timed - that alone makes it a no buy for me, but it doesn't have the choices the first one had. Please try harder developers.
Date published: 2012-08-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Marble shooter enthusiasts may enjoy. More of a marble shooter game than a match 3. Sadly only a timed version which ruined it for me. The game has a one paragraph story. Those players that enjoy this type of marble shooter game & timer may enjoy the game play as it has several power up possibilities. Marbles will load a fish bowl from two dragons mouths, one from each side. The graphics of the dragons with the flames coming from the nostrils sounds better in writing about them, than they were in reality. As the marbles load, any matches will flow vapors of steam away toward the lower left side of the screen. Kind of like the dragon burned them away& builds up power. Power ups will be available later. Bomb, timer, lightning bolt & fire. 35 levels up the mountain and 35 down- yes I counted the steps. Option of switching 1st marble with 2nd which adds to game play possibilities. No signing in of your name but opening screen had Play,Options & Exit. Options page includes sliders for effects which was music and environment volume which was sound effects. The music was calm and peaceful and the environmental sounds were marbles clicking, a bit of dramatic sounds as each scene began or ended and some birds chirping. You could also use a slider scale for your screen resolution and it would automatically set to your computers needs. You could also choose to un-click the full screen option. Also from the options page you could choose to click on reset game or achievements. There are 12 achievements but I could only read the first 5 as they are locked from sliding to read the remaining. NOT sure WHY???? #1 Match 4- making of 20 matches of 4 marbles #2 Match 5- making of 10 matches of 5 marbles #3 Zen Marbles- complete 20 levels w/o power wheel #4 Bomadier- use of 4 bombs in the game #5 Power User-use power wheel 10 times Each achievement keeps count of your totals. The goal is to match all marbles with the puzzle pieces on them. Each level a piece was added to a 9 piece puzzle in the top left. You must create matches of three or more of the other colored marbles so that those marbles will be turned to smoke vapors. Marbles in the bowl must be touching to count as a match 3 or more but when dropping the marble I found the marbles in the bowl were not always quite touching but when I dropped the marble they disappeared. Hopefully this game will appeal to marble shooter lovers who also enjoy being timed. I along with many of the other reviewers wish it had a un-timed version as I may have enjoyed playing the game longer than the demo.
Date published: 2012-08-28
  • y_2019, m_3, d_18, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_15611, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Jar of Marbles II: Journey to the West

Embark on an epic journey and relive one of the great works of Chinese literature in this physics based Match 3 puzzle game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.