Mystery Case Files: Huntsville ™

Mystery Case Files: Huntsville ™

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(28.13 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Do you have a keen eye for detail? See if you can locate enough hidden clues to solve the crimes and become a Master Detective. Mystery Case Files: Huntsville™ provides players with a collection of intriguing mysteries and brain-teasers to solve. There are picture puzzles to ponder, strange crime scenes to explore, and much, much, more! With thousands of hidden clues it's a new game each time you play Huntsville™!

  • 15+ crimes to solve.
  • More than 20 unique locations.
  • Thousands of items to find.
  • Like Huntsville? Try all of the MCF games!!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows ME/Windows 2000/Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 6.0
  • Hard Drive: 42 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Crude Humor
  • Mild Blood
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Huntsville ™

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(28.13 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Huntsville ™ is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 78.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Older,Fun HO game Huntsville is one of the older Mystery Case Files games but for a HO objects lover its perfect. I originally bought this game quite awhile ago but was happy to discover it again recently. The game has several levels in which you have one villain you need to catch. You get several locations with a certain amount of items you need to find. At the end of each level you have to put a puzzle together to figure out the Villain. At the very end you find out who runs the whole organization and I found the game quite funny actually. The game can get pretty tough in later levels with many objects to find with difficult scenes and you have 3 hints for each level. You are able to only leave one object before succeeding the level. The game is entertaining,fun,challenging and still simple. But I recommend it to any HO lover.
Date published: 2011-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from THE most cleverly hidden objects! Don't click too fast, you have to wait for each item to register. But you probably won't find the objects that fast anyway. A simple game. Several hidden object scenes then a puzzle to 'discover' if each suspect is guilty. This game has the most cleverly hidden objects. And there is almost more objects than there is picture. Not a lot of brain power needed, just a good eye!
Date published: 2014-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Hidden Object Game I like this game. This is a great game to play. I only gave it a ok for visual/sound quality because the music after a while is really annoying. Also some places are hard to see. Which made it hard to find the things you need. I needed my glasses for those spots. I hope that when you play this game you will take time to read the stories. Some are really scintillating.
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A classic This is a classic hidden object game and the beginning of the MCF series. It was challenging enough to finish on time sometimes and the scenes were pretty good. Funny storyline too, so pretty fun all-around. Just a little monotone.
Date published: 2021-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light-hearted fun & lots of challenges! I really enjoyed the humorous storyline and whimsical characters! The hidden-object scenes were most definitely challenging and I enjoyed it so much more than the typical dark-gloomy-spooky storyline. MCF, more like this one, please!!!
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from In the beginning... 'Huntsville' is the first video game under the 'Mystery Case Files' series where you play as a detective tasked to investigate and bring down the criminal organization S.T.A.I.N. which has terrorized the helpless citizens of Huntsville. By finding clues related to specific individuals rumored to have connections to S.T.A.I.N., you the detective will slowly uncover the ringleader of this organization and finally cease their criminal activities. As the first MCF game, it has its shortcomings. The game becomes repetitive after a few cases and the puzzles required to solve before completing a case use the same mechanic for all 15 cases. It is also worth noting that the time limit given for the final case is unforgiving for a first game in a series - I had no trouble with the first fourteen until the last due to the time limit. Nevertheless, I still recommend 'Huntsville' for those who are starting to take interest in hidden object games. This is the most basic MCF will be, as the later games will become more complex with newer game mechanics (which makes it all the while fun).
Date published: 2020-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Old-School Frustration I'm such a big fan of the Ravenhearst series that I decided to start from the beginning of MCF...and was sorely disappointed. Keep in mind, this game came out in 2005. You have a very limited amount of time to find items in a very hard to see pile of junk and the worst part? Only 3 hints per case with no way of getting any more. It's too bad I couldn't make it through to the end, I really liked the idea of solving cases and the puzzles at the end were fun. This might be a good game for those who really want a challenge...but my my old peepers just couldn't take it.
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No Relaxed Mode This game has a lot of HOGs which I love but I can't stand only having a certain amount of time to look for the objects. I'm a senior and it takes me longer to focus in on them. Also I get up to go get something in the kitchen and have forgot to hit the 'Pause' button. I would love a HOG that has a relaxed mode and no timers. And hint buttons that don't have to recharge. They're automatically ready to be clicked on again if you need a hint.
Date published: 2018-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Improvements I really enjoy playing this game. However I feel that all of the earlier Mystery Case Files games. Should have the graphics updated to support higher native screen resolutions. as 800 x 600 is a very small screen. Would be great if Bigfish could update their past games to support higher resolution. And even to have in the in-game setting options to set the screen resolution.
Date published: 2017-05-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need longer or no time llimt Liked game but I wish it had longer or no time limits. I like to take my time on games.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from a nice way to be introduced to hog given the time i played it (nowadays hidden object games have evolved into something much more demanding) it was ok. i love the mystery case files games and i couldn't resist playing its first.
Date published: 2014-01-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from HOURS OF FUN FOR FULL-FLEDGED HOGGERS There is a crimewave in Huntsville and you are called in to investigate. You have 15 cases to solve – no murders or felonies – mostly nuisance crimes. Each follows this format: you’re given a short summary of the case; investigate a varying number of locations for clues (i.e., find objects in HO scenes); then unscramble a picture of the culprit engaged in the crime in one of the locations. No other puzzles. This is one of the older HOGs; graphics are not as sharp and crisp as they are in today’s games. Cases are timed (there is no other mode of play) to include all the HOS and the picture. You might get a little stressed having to find 40 items and solve the picture puzzle in 20 minutes, especially if you have a small screen. A very large screen seems to smear the edges of objects. You begin each case with 3 hints. TIP: You might want to break the game up because playing straight through for several hours can get tedious.
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun for Beginners & Comedy for the whole Family! Being a "fan" of the Mystery Case Files genre of HOG's, I purchased this one as my 'free game' from bigfish, since I hadn't played this particular one. As for MYSELF, I was rather let down by this one [but that's just me]. I love hidden object games, but this one was rather repetitive (visiting the same scenes/with the same objects to find) & in addition to that you are put on a TIMER whether you want to be or not! [I HATE these kinds of HOG's!] If you do not find/solve the case by your time limit, you have to start all over again.....& this is what I DISLIKE about this game! The puzzles at the end are all the SAME: switching tiles around to make the picture match/ & that is on the last few minutes of your time that you spent in all your "hidden object scenes". It's a great game for those of you who are just BEGINNING to get into the HOG scenario & looking for a good "practice game" to do. Or if you have children who like to play them, this is a good one for them also. Other than that, I wouldn't recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a bad game, just not for me. I own four of the later MCF games and played the demo of this one last week only because I was curious of how the series looked when it first started. I no longer like pure HOGs anymore and once you've visited Dire Grove...well...there's no going back to the old places! So even though I had no intention of buying Huntsville, I was curious nonetheless to see where it all began. Although I initially liked going to the different locations, it became repetitive when I had to look for the same objects in the same scenes in later cases and I hated that the game was timed. I also hated that only 3 hints were given for each suspect so between that and the timer, you're under stress to find objects that were frequently very small or hard to distinguish. And although I got through about a third of the cases during the demo hour, the same jigsaw type puzzle was used in the crime computer for each suspect, which got boring for me very quickly. I realize I shouldn't be too hard on this game since it was the first in the series, but I got spoiled with the first two Ravenhearsts, Madame Fate and Dire Grove and want more of a variety with the puzzles. I can't recommend this game to gamers like myself who desire more of a challenge, but to those who love the MCF series and want the entire collection, by all means get this one too! It's not bad by any means and is a good starter game for those new to the genre. But newbies might be intimidated by that danged timer which can't be turned off or paused. The later games include both a relaxed and normal (or expert) mode of play, and it would be nice if Huntsville could be updated to provide these play modes to accommodate the skill level of those who want to play the game. I'll still recommend Huntsville because many people who started with this game still love playing it and new gamers seem to keep finding it too.
Date published: 2012-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mystery Case Files: Huntsville Not usually a big fan of timed games, but once I got into this I found it quite moreish, just had to finish it to see how it ended. Now I will try the rest.
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not much time, better sequels Not all Mystery Case Files games are great. This I think is the least of all, because the searching for objects in the same locations over and over again is quite annoying here. Strangely enough this is also the case with the first Ravenhearst MCF but that one was exciting, interesting and had great puzzles. This one offers too short a time to solve the standard slide puzzles. I got it for free, and I certainly would never advice to pay more than $4 for it.
Date published: 2015-03-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from HOS If you like HOS, you will like this game. Played several 'cases' and saw no puzzles. All HOS and I really don't like them.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A very mediocre game. I didn't particularly dislike this game but I didn't like it either. It wasn't that much fun, after a point it became repetitive and boring, especially as far as the crime computer is concerned, and I really hated that the levels were timed. Also, I found very annoying that there were some objects that were almost impossible to find and on top of that you were given only three hints per level, which obviously led to your time ending and having to repeat the level. Ugh. However, I understand that it's the first game of the MCF series and therefore it is logical that it's not that great. I recommend it for players that enjoy strictly hidden object games.
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A very challenging, pure HO game This review is based on a playthrough through case #6 (a little less than half). I normally wait until I complete a game to do a review, but I'm not sure I'll ever finish one, and I've gotten a lot more info now than just doing a demo, so here goes: THE GOOD: The HOS takes up the screen - no worrying about clicking near the bottom and leaving the scene, or opening up inventory, or any ot that. The scenes are clear, and fairly well lit. Graphics aren't sharp by today's standards (which is what I have to compare it too, since you'd be spending today's money if you buy it), but I've seen worse. You can make out the items 90% of the time once you find. There are some though that even after selecting the 'Hint' I still can't see. There is no real story, just some humorous "case info" to set up the scene, and a 'what the criminal was really doing' after. You get a new title at each level. THE BAD: No relaxed mode. Ravenhearst is timed, but at least gives you a mode with a lot more time for each scene. The time control here is _tight_. Every time you 'retry' the case, you do the same scenes but with different objects in the list. You slowly expand the scenes you'll visit but you'll keep coming back to ones you've done many times. Eventually you learn where everything is - if you play long enough or have a great memory. With whatever time you have left you have to put together a 'swap the tiles' picture of the crime scene with the 'culprit' included, so a few things may be moved around. If you don't finish the picture in time, you start the level all over again from the beginning, with different objects to find in the same scenes. THE UGLY: The scenes aren't terrible junkpiles, but the graphics just don't cut it by today's standards. It stretches to fill widescreen, which distorts the image, and just a general 'fuzziness' about it. It doesn't have the "focus" issues Ravenhearst has though. BOTTOM LINE: There aren't a lot of 'pure' HO games coming out these days, but you can do a lot better than this one. I picked it up on a half-off MCF sale, so I got the only two in the series I didn't have so I can get a MCF trinket to put in my game trinket drawer.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from "Oh What A Relief It Is" I decided to buy all the MCF games last month during a sale. This game was unusual. I was not expecting hidden-object city here. There were 4-5 cases in the beginning and they gave me some trouble. After figuring out the mess, I breezed through rest. The final boss took me four times. The game was boring and did not live up to expectations. The time limits were the biggest issues. That "threw me off" in the beginning, but the rest was not bad. If your a hidden-object fanatic, this will be your "cup of tea". If not, I would suggest something else.
Date published: 2013-08-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A little disappointing This was the very first game I bought from Big Fish a few years ago, and I just recently rediscovered it. Its not bad for a HOG, but I think because I've played such better games since then, this one is hard to recommend these days. It is fun, but again, compared to what's out there now, it doesn't hold up well. The graphics are just terrible Full Screen. Windowed, it looks far better, but you sacrifice the playing field. Its a HOG so you know you what you are getting. I'd say save your dough for the better games out there.
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Where It All Began BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS The first of the most talked about HOPA series on Big Fish, Huntsville was released in 2005. So do not think this is a game which would compare with anything available today. It was wonderful for its time. And is a must have for collectors, but really is too old now for anyone else. I think there’s one lesson to be learned for developers today, though. Laugh!! Perhaps one of the reasons the early Mystery Case Files were such a hit was that they were funny. SIGHTS & SOUNDS I guess there are worse games, visually speaking, out there even today, but this game is just too difficult to see. The graphics are both blurry and grainy, and many items are tiny or partially hidden. The HOP scenes are very cluttered. The music is decidedly repetitious, and I hate it, but it has become the ‘signature’ tune for the MCF series – at least, most of them. WHAT’S HAPPENING? You are the new detective, and you have 14 cases to solve, from theft to counterfeiting to malicious damage. Each case stands free of the others, and must be attempted in order. GAMEPLAY In order to investigate your cases, you must search for clues in various locations indicated on the map. You choose the order. There you will find a dozen or so objects listed in the panel on the right. You get 3 hints, and have a limited time to find all the items. At the end of each level, you have a “swap tiles” puzzle to complete the picture and see who the guilty party is. You then move on to the next case, after receiving your new detective ranking. The levels/cases get harder each time, with more hidden objects, more locations, and less time. COMBINED IMPACT I can’t like the game. It is just too old both in style and in quality of production. For those who remember the days when this was first released, I think it would be a great trip down memory lane, but otherwise...
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mystery Case Files: Huntsville I did not like playing Huntsville. There were not enought hints, if you needed them. The crime picture at the end after the first two crimes scenes are finished did not match the picture that was there. It had a women in it and the picture that you follow did not.
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boooring! I expected so much more from this game as it was a MCF game and boy was I disappointed! Some of the 'crimes' were ridiculous while others were stupid. Same HO scenes over and over and over--the locations on the map (maybe 20 overall) were different with each case, but repeated over and over. Some objects on list were different, but the scenes themselves were not--so repetitive it quickly became boring. On the plus side, the crimes were quickly solved and some were humorous/clever. No real challenges, just funny or witty names of criminals vs crimes. In each case, the last location/scene of HO would include a puzzle to put together that showed the culprit. Based on this 'solving' of the case, you were rewarded with an upgrade in your crime solving status. Like I said--NO CHALLENGE, no real mystery or crime, no whodunit, just HO. Maybe your cup of tea, but was not mine! I do not want to be frustrated, but also don't want to be nodding off at my keyboard or memorizing the HO scenes!
Date published: 2012-01-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Two things to do and that's IT Boring game. You find hidden objects in the same scenes over and over again - sometimes the SAME things 3 or 4 times in a row. Whoopee. Then for a break, you get to put together one kind of puzzle: a swap-position mixed-up scene. I don't think I can stand it another minute.
Date published: 2012-07-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not enough time to be enjoyable I tried 3 times to finish the very first round of the Huntsville game and failed. I guess I just don't have the skill level for this game. To me, it's not enjoyable when I have to rush so fast. I've played all the other Mystery Case Files games and liked them very much. This one didn't work for me. If you love to hurry, hurry, hurry - - then this game might be for you. Be aware though that lots of the items are "very" well hidden and they take lots of time to find. This game is very similar to the Prime Suspects game, which itself kind of hurries you along. But I did manage to finish that one. Oh well - - you can't win them all. :-(
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from boring If all you wanna do is find a hidden object with no challenge, then this game is for you! MCF 1-4 are the same, although MCF 3 'Ravenhearst' was the beginning storyline of quite a few but honestly, you can play the others without it! I do regret buying the whole series.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just a boring game First I can say that the graphics and sound was ok. In Huntsville there was nothing interesting it was simply a hidden object scene and a crime computer at the end of each cases. There were no puzzles and it was not at all challenging. It was very simple.
Date published: 2013-05-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful Hidden Object Game It is too repetitive. I should have played the game free at first. Worst game I've ever bought. Wish I could get my money back.
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from great game but horrible peramiters to play I have never been so stressed in my whole life trying to meet the "timed expectations" for completing each scene. I really wanted to play this game but it is impossible. I gave up after 15 tries to get past level 3. Hidden object games shouldn't be this difficult
Date published: 2018-08-11
  • y_2022, m_5, d_26, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_535, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Huntsville ™

A crime spree baffles Huntsville™ police! Can you help solve the crime?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.