Judge Dee: The City God Case

Judge Dee: The City God Case

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(306.41 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Travel back in time to a medieval Chinese city in Judge Dee: The City God Case! Judge Dee, the newly appointed magistrate of Yiwang prefect, travels to an isolated town in his new jurisdiction to find that the mayor's son has fallen unconscious and became deathly ill. Suspecting foul play, Judge Dee starts investigating. Help him uncover the truth behind the town's dark secret, its corrupt officials and the true cause of the mysterious illness in this beautiful Hidden Object Adventure game.

  • Explore medieval China
  • Lots of hidden objects
  • Diverse puzzles to solve

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 323 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Judge Dee: The City God Case

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(306.41 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Judge Dee: The City God Case is rated 2.7 out of 5 by 38.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Chinese game Played 20 minutes, casual First time ever I get a game where the voice overs are in Chinese and it's translated to me directly in French (tried to get it in English as for all my other games, but it seems that as I'm French, French is the only language I can access). - 3 modes, casual, relax hard (I guess, they were written in French ) - A lot of dialogues - Option to play timed or not - Note book where your tasks are displayed - Map - Icons to either talk to the character, play a game, pick up an object - Traditional Chinese games, go, built a drawing with shapes, etc... - H0 : silhouettes, you earn points by finding the objects - You score points throughout the game for achieving your goals Absolutely beautiful ancient Chinese graphics. If only for that I would give the game a chance. I think a lot of people will enjoy themselves with this game despite the very long dialogues interfering. Might spend a punch card credit on this game which is worth trying.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Game, Terrible Interface This game is nice, but could be so much better. - There are three modes of gameplay, which amount to easy, medium, and hard, with hard having timed mini-games and no help. - The story is interesting, but it bombards you with names of characters so quickly that it's hard to keep up. The game does give you a little section with bios of each person you meet, though. - The graphics are really pretty, and the music is nice and not intrusive. - The hidden object scenes have silhouettes instead of lists, but the items to find are sometimes really, really (really!) small. - My biggest problem is the game's interface. It works more like a large file adventure game, but that just doesn't work with this kind of game. You click on something, then have to click an eye to view it, or a hand to pick it up, or a dragon to play a hidden object scene or a mini-game. It feels like you're doing extra steps to do something that could take one click, really. I feel that it takes away from playing the game. All in all, this is a nice game, but I feel like there's something missing, and the interface removes of the feeling of being immersed in the game.
Date published: 2012-09-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Surprisingly enjoyable The clunky mechanics - loads of gratuitously necessary clicking - and some silly hidden objects, for example find "wooden statue" when there are about three of them! Ditto "chopsticks" and a "black vase" which wasn't black - took the shine off what was very nearly a lovely game. The insufficiently specific HOG identifiers did become irritating after a while. I didn't mind having to read the story - I enjoy reading! The primary problem, though, was that the hidden object scenes and rather arbitrary mini-games felt dislocated from the primary plot, so - even though you were playing the game - you weren't really immersed. This is a harmless and rather atmospheric offering. If you're not a bookworm and aren't keen on Hidden Object games, you'll hate it. If, on the other hand, like me, you appreciate attractive graphics, a neatly turned ancient Chinese whodunit and like the thought of relaxing by dragging and clicking away an afternoon, give it a go. The only real quibble I have is that the hidden object scenes allow you to reopen and replay them as often as you like. If you don't keep up with the plot, you can spend ages going round in circles hunting objects to achieve goals you have long since completed.
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tough game to review, but I liked it Review is based on the demo, but since it was on sale, I bought it. This game is mixture of really good and really not so good. For those who couldn't figure out what to do, you really have to use the tutorial at the beginning. It's slow and clunky, but it explains what all the icons mean. For the most part these are not intuitive, so go back and use the tutorial and see if you don't like the game better. The good are the drawings and the detail. The cut scenes are strikingly beautiful, replications of Chinese drawings on paper, so in the style of Chinese art - not however AD 600 or so, in which this game is set. Each scene and character is beautiful to look at, lovingly drawn and colored. The story is OK, a Chinese myth about women and city gods and change. Nothing really new, but with something this pretty, I don't care all that much about the story. On the OK side, I found some of the visual puzzles really hard, but not so hard that I couldn't figure how how to solve them. So I didn't skip any, but some took a long time. The bad is the game play. To get all the information that is provided in the game, you need to click on objects several times. For example, to interact with a character, you first would click on the eye to see his biography, then you go back and click on the mouth to talk with them, then you go back and click on the dragon to advance the game play. Slow, tedious. Except in the cut scenes, all the dialog is written out with no voice over - and there is a LOT of dialog, some of which advances the story and some of which does not. So it take a long time to accomplish anything. There is also not much of a sound track. It would be really nice if there were period Chines music playing in the background all the time, but most of the time it is just silent, the only sound being my mouse clicks. But I'm recommending the game because I visited China recently and the settings feel genuine as well as the tone of the story, and I love the artwork. Just be warned that if you into speed and action, this game is not for you.
Date published: 2013-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Judge Dee: The City God I'm really mixed on this one. it's pretty, it's a bit different from other HOGs, and the levels of difficulty make it easy, ok, or difficult. BUT - you can go in circles looking for the next clue because the game doesn't disable replaying the HOG screens so you don't realize you're not actually getting anywhere doing that. and there's just too much text dialogue. I bought it with free game credits, but I can't really recommend it.
Date published: 2012-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful, but clunky What a strange game! When I opened it, I kept wondering why this only had so few stars, since the graphics are beautiful! But slowly, I began to realize the reasons ... First, I love to read, but the dialogue was just too long and meaningless. Gameplay and interface are just so unbelievably clunky; they got on my nerves quickly. I kind of liked the scoring system of the HOS.But the game/story just didn't capture me enough to continue playing, especially because after playing 10 minutes of the trial, I still hadn't figured out my quest! All the strewn in Chinese wisdoms are a nice touch, though. Sorry, but this game could have been much much better! No buy for me, but maybe other people can have fun with this!
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very tedious The sound, graphics and story are OK here, but playing the game is very tedious. Each action needs to be activated. There are sometimes 3 actions to each element and you need to activate each one separately in order to continue. Found the game fairly boring because of this so did not continue after 12 minutes. Would really not recommend unless you have lots of patience and time on your hands.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Listen to the Other Reviews I agree with the other reviews; this game had great potential but has fallen short. Visually it is very pretty to look at but the game itself is lacking for action. Play the demo or wait for it go on sale for 2.99 but don't pay full price for this game. Sorry!
Date published: 2012-11-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring and Slow Medieval China - Scene from the beginning has VO (narrator) and beautiful ancient drawings. During the game all dialogues are without VO, ie written. You can play Regular or Arcade (this mode has no history, only HOS). Three difficult levels. The cursor changes when you click on something: Eye - opens the diary / quests Mouth - the dialog box appears Hand - you get the object Dragon - opens a HOS Hand holding something - you use something from the inventory, you do not even need to know what to use. It has a map and a Diary (with: quests / a "to do" list / notes / biographies of the characters. HOS and mini games easy. Well, I found the game very slow, over-HOS, lack excitement and adventure. I played 20 minutes and gave up.
Date published: 2012-09-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Clunky and not particularly nice to look at I agree with megwoman25 that the interface is poor, but can't agree that the graphics and ambience are lovely, except perhaps in comparison with really dark and gory games. There are much more attractive Oriental themed games out there - Season of Mystery the Cherry Blosson Murders, Hidden Mysteries the Forbidden City, and Liong The Lost Amulets, to suggest just a few.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Slow and Unexciting I played the demo half way thru. I found it very slow moving, and very boring. Confusing at times on what they wanted and what was next. Never saw a hint button. To much written dialog, no voice overs. Simply got tired of all the reading.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Do you like to read? This is a very slow paced game. Most of the time is spent reading the dialogue between characters. Not really any challenge in the puzzles......I would not recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring alot of reading dialogue, hidden objects so hidden almost impossible to find some of them. Hints did not work. I liked the beautiful chinese drawings at the intro and the music was nice and mellow.
Date published: 2012-10-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Needed lots of help! I have searched forever looking for a walkthrough for this game I wish someone could help me here. The game was ok as far as I got in it before I got stuck in the "love shack" in the woods. Can't get out!! Can't open the scroll case!! Have the case, have a small key, won't combine!! Too frustrating to continue without some help!!
Date published: 2012-11-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Seriously? The instructions were confusing, dialogue unbelievable and process convoluted. Otherwise, interesting.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What were you people thinking? Boring, repetive, HOS hard to see, and hints were awful.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed it`s a strange game, i played only 10 mins of demo and were the most boring mins i ever played. it`s frustrating to click all the time when the characters are talking
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful game My fellow fishies...do not waste your time!! There is nothing good about this game. I am sorry I wasted my time on this....fair warning. What a total bomb!!
Date published: 2012-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Judge Dee-the city God case??? I had a feeling when I started playing the hour, that I wouldn't like this game & I was right! I only played about 15 minutes & I quit. The game is VERY confusing, I couldn't find a hint button & all in all the game didn't make much sense. You stand in front of a gate trying to figure out what to do next. And this was in the so-called EASY game. Unless you're schooled in Japanese, I wouldn't bother.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from whoa..bad I played about 10 minutes trying to find out what to do...you have stuff in your inventory but have no idea what to do with it...please don't waste your time or money..
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from judge dee the city god case Awful, this is the 1st time i have given a review. I played it for 10 minutes which was too long. It's all about reading dialogs & the HOS are very poor & hard to see some of the objects. Would not recommend.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Game is to hard I did not like this game. The game does not explain what to next. When I got into the city,I did not know what to do next. There was a game you have to play when you get into a room. It does not tell you where the game is. I feel that this game should be taken off and redone. I do not recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very old - waste of time Most of my time was spent clicking to get past boring story line and had very little to play by the time the demo time was over. The graphics are decent but it is so slow and boring. Needs to be updated.
Date published: 2013-11-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So disappointing Having read all the Judge Dee books, I was thrilled to see this game come up. However, the colours were dull, there was too much dialogue and I seemed to spend a lot of time wandering about and not progressing. I quit after about 15 minutes
Date published: 2012-11-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from tedious I quit and deleted the trial version after about 8 minutes. It was so boring, To many stupid little moves to get anything done.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from judge dee very boring not intrested at all
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from what a waste of time That was a truly horrible game, It is so bad that it doesn't even deserve one star
Date published: 2012-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Game What a awful Game not worth the money
Date published: 2012-10-31
  • y_2019, m_10, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_15807, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Judge Dee: The City God Case

Judge Dee is the newly appointed magistrate of Yiwang prefect. Help him uncover the truth behind a town's dark secret, its corrupt officials and the true cause of a mysterious illness!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.