Gothic Fiction: Dark Saga Collector's Edition

Gothic Fiction: Dark Saga Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(375.43 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Rescue your daughter and escape a cursed school in Gothic Fiction: Dark Saga! After moving to a small town in rural England, you and your daughter, Hannah, head out to visit a local school. But the brochure didn’t mention anything about the ancient evil lurking there, waiting for one last soul to complete her insidious plan. Can you rescue Hannah before she becomes part of the school’s terrible legacy? Find out in this spine-tingling new Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Integrated strategy guide
  • Wallpapers and screensavers
  • Concept art
  • Musical soundtrack

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 785 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Gothic Fiction: Dark Saga Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(375.43 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Gothic Fiction: Dark Saga Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 157.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fun and engrossing game This HOG is one without typical HOS. It is an adventure game that features a book missing many pages which are scattered throughout the game. You must find all of the missing pages to complete the game. I missed one page and the final cut scene would not run until I used the very helpful map to find where it was (only which room). Likewise other missing items must be found as you walk through the game. It might sound funny but it works very well. There are many puzzles but those puzzles are much better than the usual game puzzle. Only 2 or 3 were so tedious that I found it necessary to skip them rather than swap pieces for 30 minutes. I will say that some of the games were difficult to figure out, initially, but since the strategy guide has detailed solving instructions, you can use it to figure out what you are supposed to be doing. There was one totally inscrutable puzzle, however. I never had a clue what to do with it. The game begins a bit slowly and develops as it goes. There is more than a little back and forth, with very little logical reason to go back and forth. By the middle of the game I was using the strategy guide as a crutch because there was no logical reason to go to the next place, although this bothered me less in this game than in other games. Overall, I liked the game enough to play it at one sitting; unusual for me.
Date published: 2012-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spooky adventure Played on expert -thank you for choice of no black bars and skip in games (i seldom use them but i want to know they are there on expert choice). Excellent production values - the developers couldn't of had much sleep & maybe a few nightmares. Graphics fantastic, detailed and creative. There’s a map (not interactive), notes, journal and SG. This is the first time i won't complain about real actors Natural voices and natural-sounding dialog. Eerie soundscapes. Was so lost in the adventure i was half way thru before i realized the HO playing was missing. It is gothic and not much new but the endeavour put into this game makes it unique, challenging and recommended.
Date published: 2012-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good adventure game NO HOS. Strictly seek and find. Good story: you take your daughter to a school that is no longer open and she is whisked away before your eyes. Not real good cohesion, as you were left wandering around a lot trying to figure out what to do. Diary, but no map. Cool eerie music and sounds. Puzzles were hard and skip button was loooong. Great graphics. VOS, but the witch wasnt real convincing. Loved the devil trying to get out of the pit. Be sure to find ALL the pages of the witch's diary, or else.....Good length: 6 hours casual.
Date published: 2012-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from has everything i love!.........almost i played on expert mode, so no sparkles and hints recharged slowly. no HOS was great. the scenery, music, images, and voice overs were excellent. i took my time, enjoying everything. it took me 3 days to complete. don't know just how long but i played at least 2-3 hours each day. i had to use the strategy guide a half dozen times or so just because i didn't want to wear out my sneakers. there is no teleporting map, which would have made the game more fun and the map doesn't show all the places. if it did, i wouldn't have needed the strategy guide. kudos to the devs for making such a game as this. i hope there are more like it. don't forget to play the demo before buying. it's not for beginners.
Date published: 2012-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD STORY!!! LOVED THIS GAME... EASY TO FOLLOW AND GRAPHICS WERE EXCELLENT. I WOULD PLAY THIS AGAIN!!!
Date published: 2012-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stalker plants It was a great game! I was right, the school is an evil place :D
Date published: 2012-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow... just wow :D Don't hesitate to buy this game. Alot of puzzles not to hard and no HOS that i remember..!! Just a very good game. The only ''hic'' is in the map it shows you were you are but you cannot go from the map to locations directly you have to walk. Oh! well...i guess i'm just lazy. I RECOMMEND THIS GAME go for it.
Date published: 2012-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of Fun I really liked this game had no HOS for a good change of pace. Some games just have to many. I really enjoyed this one. I did miss some pages in the book and you cannot finish without them.
Date published: 2012-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Story and Puzzles! This game is amazing! I love the vairety that this game offers. Thank you for the map and two books to carry. It adds to the overall story. The puzzles could have been harder but other than that this is a top notch game. Please keep them coming. I love hidden object games but not every game has to have those to be a hit. This is a nice break. I would still consider it hidden object since you are constantly searching for needed items. Hat's off to the developers!
Date published: 2012-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY A GOOD GAME! It's been a few months since I have come aross a HO game that's had me hooked from the beginning! I absolutely love ERS games, and this one is probably my FAVE! Amazing, spooky atmosphere and graphics. I normally like the regular HO scenes, however this one is a bit different in how you find objects...but I actually liked it a little better;) I can't wait for another ERS game. Gonna be hard to top this one, for me atleast :)
Date published: 2012-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game All Summer I absolutely love this game. I enjoyed the adventure without all the HOS scenes. Although, it may not have been challenging enough for some gamers, for me it was perfect. I didn't have to struggle too much with some of the puzzles - only a couple of them gave me a real challenge. I love ERS and this is the best game they have done as far as I'm concerned. If you want a great afternoon (in my case, it took 2 days to complete), definitely buy this game.
Date published: 2012-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gothic Fiction: Dark Saga CE I was pulled into this game from the first hour's worth of play. Took me no time at all to purchase this Collector's Edition. The set designs are amazing. As the story progresses, you are led into an ill-kept school building, an outbuilding falling into disrepair, and a rather toxic looking lake. All of these scenes are what you'd might imagine. But, ERS takes you on an incredible Gothic fantasy into scenes that are creepy, eerie, dark, macabre, fascinating... all without being gory. Lots of puzzles. Normally, I don't care for puzzles, and bypass them (the SKIP button is my best friend!). But, these were fun and I enjoyed playing them. I used the Strategy Guide quite a bit. The Map and Notebook were not as helpful as I would have liked, and the Hint button only let you know there either was or wasn't anything to do in that area, didn't guide to to where you needed to be. Just as a hint: make sure you find all of the Book pages. (My bad for getting distracted with something else in the story and not collecting them all. It was TEE DEE OUS going back to the beginning to find my error.) The only disappointment was with the Extras. The wallpapers were of boring scenes that I felt did not highlight the uniqueness of the game. There were so many other truly lovely, delightful scenes to have chosen to make wallpapers from. The screensaver was disappointing, also. I would have loved to have had one of the Gothic action scenes. Overall, this game is loads of fun, and has three levels of difficulty to choose from. I hated every minute that I had to stop the game to go take care of adult responsibilities.
Date published: 2012-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful, at last a game without HOS I can only say "thank you" to ERS Game Studio for an Adventure game one can enjoy. Exploring and finding items without having to put up with a boring HOlist is just great. I just hope there will be much more games like this from now on. I can only recommend this game!
Date published: 2012-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very challenging game Very enjoable, and with few if any hog scenes. The mini-games was challenging without being to extreme, and the story was very good, and the minigames was very different which added to the fun factor.
Date published: 2012-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Hidden Objects, Yay!!! interesting graphics decent ambient sound nice use of video and actors. purchased as soon as demo ran out
Date published: 2012-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from another great ers game I have been waiting for this new ers game to hit the market. You will not be disappointed. Great graphics and music. Not too hard to play and it even has a map. Just a fun game to play. Get it for 1/2 price this weekend makes it a steel.
Date published: 2012-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Witches, Demons, and Darkness! Oh my! The story: you've moved to a new town with your daughter and are checking out a school she wants to go to. After you arrive, she's kidnapped by a witch for the obvious 'EVIL' motive. You run around the campus trying to save her #*with the help of a spirit or two*# while learning the story of the witch and how all of this happened. The game is a decent length and I enjoyed it. Being a CE, you have the bonus gameplay: A demon kidnaps your daughter and is trying to take over the world...you go and try to save her. It's a little short, in my opinion, but it's interesting too.
Date published: 2012-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's about time! I am so thrilled that this game came out. It's a lot of fun, I personally don't think it's quite the "been there done that" that some people feel it is. It kept me mesmerized for the whole hour and that's something, because half the time I plod through these games. I really like the hidden object scene games, so when I realized this didn't have the "find the object" scenes I was initially disappointed, but that soon faded because this is a great game. Also, for me, I love the fact that the puzzles are NOT DIFFICULT! Especially in a demo, I don't want to spend tons of time on these mini games. I just really think this game is unique in several areas and would encourage people to buy it!
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Wonderful!! ERS you do it again and again all the time and never fail in my expectations of a fantastic game. The only draw back for me is this is the second game in a row with no HOS, objects to pick up along the way but no actual HOS which i miss quite a lot...I love the real actors and the storyline is the usual creepy stuff but that doesn't stop it from being a fab gameplay. The graphics are outstanding and quite a lengthy game and doesn't hold your hand, you have a real brain teaser with difficulty in finding what to do next at times but that's part of the fun and the hint button isn't too great at leading the way. Bought this in a sale this morning for just over £7 and worth every penny!
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, What a Great Game! I'm very impressed with this one! There was so much I loved about it! The graphics were beautiful, the real people in the cutscenes were great and even down to the most small detail like the cursor being a hand wrapped around a sword and changing to the "grabbing hand" was so cool. The eyes on the vines would follow everywhere the cursor went and at every step and turn, there was something surprising. Even though I just played the demo, there was not yet one HO scene but instead, things to grab along the way and many mini puzzles to solve which were not very difficult on advanced play until I got to the circuitry board which I had to skip just so I could move on in the demo and not waste too much time. This is a must have game because it is so full of adventure!
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning Game that Sucks You In There is nothing run-of-the-mill in this game. It’s a very spooky adventure in an old school, trying to get your daughter back and save other children captured by a witch. Excellent production values - the developers did a fantastic and creative job in making this one of the creepiest games around. There’s so much to do. Even with a map (not interactive) to tell you where actions are required, a pen and paper will come in handy. Uses real actors with voices and natural-sounding dialog that is spot on. Soundscapes (especially the background screaming and wind storm sounds) add to the already eerie atmosphere. Graphics are a visual delight - beautifully drawn and detailed environments, befitting the story perfectly. Little roving eyes found everywhere add to the creepiness. Wide variety of innovative and brilliant puzzles that are a lot of fun. This game just sucks you in from the beginning and is the perfect game to play at night with the lights low and no one around.
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great HOPA without the HO! I LOVE these developers and I simply love Adventure games so it took me exactly 3 minutes to decide to buy. At first the game looks like an HOPA, but sorry to say, for those who enjoy HO games, you will be dissapointed; there are absolutely NO HO scenes in this game. Gothic Fiction is strictly interactive adventure with puzzles. I have no idea what acronyms to use but all I can say that this game will appeal to adventure lovers like myself. The story begins with a Mother whose daughter is kidnapped by an evil Witch. ( Alas, a tale not so unfamiliar and a little too worn out.) Anyhow, our adventure starts off in an abondoned school filled with creepy plants and ghosts of children gone missing. As the tale unfolds, you discover that your enemy is one very powerful witch and there is alot to do before you can save your daughter. The Graphics are what you normally expect from these developers, crisp and sharp. Real live actors are used in some scenes and there are voice overs. I loved the art work and sound effects are good as well. Playing this game at night will no doubt provide the extra spooky atmosphere. Game features three game modes and I recommend that hard-core players go with advance. Absolutley no hand holding, making for a very good adventure. Game features a journal, a map that alos provides a list of tasks, a hint that refills quickly and also a Witches diary where you need to collect pages in order to find out her story. Once your adventure begins, you look for inventory objects, tools and also need to pick up energy balls along the way. There are 15 of them inside the paintings that you come across. There are alot of mini games to paly and puzzles to solve. Most of them easy but in my opinion, easy to play. I actually enjoyed the game and from the SG, there are 9 chapters to play along with a bonus. Game play runs smoothly, sometimes it does get a bit tedious and mechanical. Something was missing but I really could not put my finger on it; possibly the WOW factor which I just did not feel or the lack of challenging gameplay; I just found it too easy. However I will no start over and play in the advance mode which will probably provide me with a certain degree of difficulty. For this reason, I have already taken advantage of today's speacial price and bought this game and fully intend to continue my journey tonight. I do recommend it, it does offer many hours of entertaining gameplay and a chance to try soemthing new, a game with out HOS.
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One word-AMAZING!!! Where do I begin? There are so many great things about this game. The graphics were incredible. They also use live actors. The games are original and fun. There was also a few scenes that got me to jump which is hard to do. The story isn't too original but that didn't even bother me because there was so much to do and see. All the pictures are interactive. The plants eyes move. They really left no stone unturned with this game. Great job ERS and Big Fish!
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All Around Great, Great, Fun and no HOS! :) You read right - no HOS. This is a pure adventure game with 3 levels of difficulty. I preferred the 2nd option as it left the comments associated with clicks. The graphics are outstanding. They are crisp, colorful, detailed, a little creepy around the edges without being dark and dreary. -Sort of a cross between Tim Burton and Disney in the 60s. The mechanics: -There is a journal that I never referenced and is intermittently brought up to date, so not much use there. -There is a map that shows active areas and areas with unfinished objectives. Unfortunately there is no jumping directly to locations. At times, the daughter appears with a portal allowing a direct hop which is nice. -I didn't use hints, so don't know how they are; The strategy guide is well done and was helpful when what to do was not always clear from the map or objectives list. -level of difficulty in game play could be changed at any time. There were not sparkles or other distractions during game play which for me is a plus. I like to take my time and not be pestered by blinks and winks and twinks while looking a scene over. -The music was great. Very suited to what was happening and adding a suspense. -The storyline was darkly funny and unique. As example, part of the evil witch's occupation of a school consists of a deliciously evil plant that infiltrates almost every scene. It is neon in some of it's coloring and very creatively done with a variety of creepy faces so one does not know what to expect from scene to scene. There are a number of ways it is dealt with throughout game play - all fun. -mini-games: Level of challenge varied, they were unique and clever. At one point there are 3 circular bronze monster "faces" cut into pie wedges that must be re-organized into their correct state, but no example is provided and the pie wedges cross all circles. I had fun with that one. What is not to like about this game? That it had to end- that's what! Now to find the next great game. I highly recommend his one. There are a variety of intriguing locations and fun from start to finish. Great job all!
Date published: 2012-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed this game This was such a great game. Yes, the story-line is the same as so many others. The visuals and sound are great, except for the cut scenes that are, as usual, very cheesy. The fun factor was still excellent, as was the level of challenge. This game was not one of the games you finish quickly and had so many different puzzles. I really enjoyed it. I would most definitely recommend it!
Date published: 2012-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gothic Fiction Wowee.... ! I had a feeling this was going to be a great game and I was not disappointed. Graphics and story are just the creepy kind I like and are very well done. Voice over is always welcomed by me as it adds to the over all feel and you don't have to read it all the time. Mini Games are original and very interesting. You actually have a scene where you need to use the right items in the right order to win. Very cool.When you solve a puzzle you know where you will use the item most of the time pretty soon. This is a great buy for today at $9.99. Don't miss out on it. The free hour goes by real fast and I'm off to buy it now.
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two whole days to go yet! This is another superb ERS game. Everything about it, clear graphic's, sound, storyline, play ability are great. The game glides along from one thing to another and I was so absorbed for the full demo. Real creepy monsters to deal with which you can gather energy to fight off, and this also add to the storyline. The whole game is very enjoyable and the demo sped by much to fast. I would highly recommend this game. Its a definite buy for me, but not till the 1st of the month as my punch card is used up till then.
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gothic Fiction & then some! I was kinda dubious about this game, but once I started playing, I was very impressed. It has an outstanding story; creepy, which is right up my alley. The graphics are very well done as was the music. I couldn't wait for my hour to be up so I could purchase it! Kudos to the makers of this game !
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Game, voice overs,graphics, Fantastic I bought the game before demo ended and this will be a short review so I can get back into it again. I love this game! The voices in it are perfect, the graphics very clear and beautifully done, animation is great, the mini games especially the knight one was so much fun. The storyline is compelling. This game can only be described with one word Awesome! The game is more interactive and thankfully I have not seen a hidden object yet and hope I do not see one. After thousands of hidden object games since I have been a member of BFG since the start of it, I am bored out of my mind with hidden object games in a list. I wanted different mini games and different music through out the game and thus far ERS game has done this as far as I have proceeded in the game. I highly recommend people to try the demo and see if you agree. I had no computer glitches and easy to install and download. Thanks for another great game. I love games with voices it really pulls me into the story more and again I just want to say the people who did the voices do a fantastic job.
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOTHIC FICTION - LOVED IT!! As soon as the game went on sale at 1:00AM, I purchased it. Great developers so the game has all the bells and whistles. There are lots of things to do so take your time. The storyline is spooky-funny and I don't know what some of these reviews are talking about when they say been there and done that. So what!? It's a game afterall and I say buy it!
Date published: 2012-08-30
  • y_2020, m_3, d_28, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_157
  • loc_en_US, sid_15635, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Gothic Fiction: Dark Saga Collector's Edition

Rescue your daughter, Hannah, from the clutches of an evil witch before it's too late in this chilling Hidden Object adventure game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.