Dark Arcana: The Carnival

Dark Arcana: The Carnival

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(289.50 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Find the missing woman lost in a mysterious Carnival of Horrors in Dark Arcana: The Carnival. Investigate two worlds: the one you know and an alternate plane existing behind the Hall of Mirrors. There you'll discover the secret of an ancient being known as the Evil One. Travel through dimensions, reveal the story of star-crossed lovers, and stop the Evil One from breaking its magical chains and invading our world in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

  • Befriend a cute monkey helper
  • Clever and unique mini-games
  • Beautifully designed and crafted worlds

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 847 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Arcana: The Carnival

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(289.50 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Arcana: The Carnival is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 148.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepy, fun, and exciting I personally like games that are creepy. This game was full of twist. I didn't want to stop playing. I bought the SE and I highly recommend this game!!!!
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Played the entire game - not just the trial. Loved that it had an ending - so many games just leave you hanging as a teaser for the sequel. Game play was straight forward with no guessing of what to do next! Spooky fun - best I've played in a long time!
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE these developer's games!!! This developer continually puts out high quality games that have the most amazing graphics. Characters that are so life-like, I feel like I can reach into the screen and touch them and plot-lines that are not overdone or cheesy. They bring something new to the table that amazes and baffles me and I hope they make more and more games and challenge themselves to make even more stunning games. That said, on other sites I've seen this as a CE but on Big Fish, its offered as a Standard Edition, WITH A BONUS CHAPTER! What a great deal! I really enjoyed the main game and the hidden object scenes are absolutely beautiful with great attention to detail. The premise of the game deals with other worlds and wanting to change past mistakes. As always its LOVE that makes the main character crazy, a love lost and wants a chance to fix it. The main game wrapped up quite nicely but the bonus chapter definitely solidified the story for me. The voiceovers were done very well. The whole game was just a joy to play. The music was tasteful and I can't wait to play again... The only thing that confused me were the achievements...There are achievements to "ask another player to join you". I have NO idea how you'd be able to do that. You can switch between hidden object scenes and Monaco (card game) but nowhere in this game does it have a place to ask another player to join you. I am thinking this might be part of the Collector's Edition that was not offered at Big Fish but I am not quite sure. All in all, I am not sick of the carnival theme. This has everything one needs to have a creepy carnival, clowns, weird guys, monkey helpers. I definitely recommend this game. It was sooo fun to play!!!!
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game I don't usually take the time to write a review. I am a big HOG fan but like to play for relaxation. Loved the map, I don't like to have to click 15 times to get to a location and another 15 to get back. Overall I rate this a great game.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too bad Big Fish doesn't have the collector's version of this. As a Macintosh user, I got mine directly from the Mac Store: http://www.macgamestore.com/product/2526/Dark-Arcana-The-Carnival-Collectors-Edition/ This is a dark story, but it twists from the average story. This collector's edition has a two-part bonus story to it in which even the ending has a twist. The publisher, Artiflex Mundi, seems to release it's collector's editions AFTER the standard editions so PC users (as well as Big Fish of course) should be on the lookout for an available PC version. The level of challenge is easy in casual mode.
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game - you bet!! Wow! This game was so much fun and there was even a bonus play on the SE version. Excellent storyline and the ending was completely unexpected - a pleasant surprise! For those who like HOS games with adventure - this game will delight. Definitely recommend this game!
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game Ever! For some reason this one slipped by me so I finally played it two days after Christmas. I have played tons of these games and I thought this one was just the best it had everything you could ask for great graphics great story great HOS. If you a first timer I highly recommend this game because it is challenging enough for the first timer and fun enough for the experts. I loved that the story was not so dark and dreary but had the right amount of suspense and entertainment the scenes and story flow very nicely and I thought the length was just right and the graphics were just simple superb! You will not be sorry if you purchase this game. Sorry I almost missed it!
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ending Includes a final chapter that is sweet. Game is fairly linear and hint button is helpful without telling u exactly what to do.I found many of the puzzles too hard and skipped them but I usually do this as don't really know how to solve them. The HO scenes were quite easy, however. Kept my interest, and it is a great game of a good length and nice graphics. Its a bit morbid (lots of bones) but just creepy enough. Thoroughly enjoyed.
Date published: 2012-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT! LOVED IT! LOVED IT! I can't say when the last time was when I enjoyed a game so much. This was almost like a Collector's Edition but for the Strategy Guide. It even had a bonus chapter which ran nearly an hour long. The puzzles were fun and if you didn't want to do the hidden object games you were offered an alternate game which, when played, moved things along quite a bit. The hint button was not just for hints but gave clues on where to go next and what to do but not too much, just enough. You even got a cute little helper to reach places you couldn't fit or reach! The storyline was plausible (for occult lovers) and had a nice ending. I wish there were more games like this. I had a lot of fun and was sad when it ended but was a good long length so I can't complain. And to think I used a free game token. How about that?
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark is Not The Word This game on the whole is very entertaining.It is not an easy game but difficult enough, that a beginner will have a chance at getting through without using the hint button all the time .Have to admit I used it twice.The hint button is also a guide so be careful how you use it.The color, sound and graphics in my opinion were well done although the voice overs could use some help.No one seems to get it perfect.[sigh]It is a fairly lengthy game, and the story line is positively wonderful if not, a little on the spooky side--no it is on the spooky side. Kept me guessing that is for sure.Over all I found the game refreshing from the same old-same old games that we usually get.Good for a Sunday afternoon while doing the laundry, and the hubby is watching sports.The extra section takes about an hour so I am glad it was included as a standard version , instead of a CE.All in all enjoyed,it greatly as I am sure you will if you just give it a try. Thanks BigFish once again a hit!!!
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best games! I played this game for a trial period.I loved it,even though I only had an hour of play,I fell in love with it.The game was so much fun! Even my six year old loved the game.We fight over the games all the time.I would so buy this one, it is that good.
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game! Very relaxing fun game!! Good graphics and story line. Quick play but this is sometimes what you need.
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for just a good time! Good story line. When I got into the game, I sometimes wondered what 'world' I was in, so the maps really helped. Great game for kids 12 and up and for someone who doesn't need a 'huge' challenge & just wants some fun & escape for awhile....like me-:)
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creative puzzles and fantastic game! Why this wasn't made in a CE version is beyond me. The monkey was awesome and fun to use. So many different, artistic and creative puzzles - why aren't more games like this? Loved this game, wish it was longer. Hope they make more of these!!!!
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! A great game worth buying. Moves quickly. Beautiful art. You have good and evil. The mini-games can be challenging. Love the helper! Highly recommended.
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spooky creepy fun Be ready for loads and loads of fun with Dark Arcana. Because here all the game features were properly done. I got the impression I am playing the CE. And I have nothing to complain about. The storyline flows along lightly and quickly. Not to mention that it is understandable. Luckily, you do not end up wondering: “What was that?” Music, sound effects, voiceovers contributed to the atmosphere as well as the stunning graphics. Mini games were of the highest standard: no wish to skip them. iHOS are clear and yes, I enjoyed “the Monaco”. I do not understand why some users complained about the length of the game. It is just appropriate Just a kind of warning: if you love being busy around with farms, fairy tales and the like content, probably, you won’t like this one.
Date published: 2012-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Rare Gem! This little gem of a game offers a lot of bang for the buck! Although sold as a standard edition, there is a bonus chapter to play after the main game. A bonus chapter that left me feeling the best ever after finishing a game! There is the usual mix of wandering here and there, diving into hidden object scenes, but the HOs are completely different to others I've done before. All the objects were newly drawn and are not the usual re-issue of the same old items to seek. The occasional typo or misnomer is easily forgiven as soon as you find another enchanting scene, like the one inside the ferris wheel car - so eerily romantic! Spooky scenes abound and there is an Evil One to thwart. Your allies along the way are equally entertaining and oddly endearing. I really enjoyed this one and recommend at least a trial. But this one is definitely worth its purchase price and then some, compared to some of the costlier games out there. Great job, developers! Thank you for one of my newest favorites!
Date published: 2012-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! I just finished the game so it is fresh in my mind. A nice easy game, the hint button helped guide me along the way. The help button also recharged very quickly. (in the easy mode) Very clear graphics, nice HO also very clear. It is fun to go around the spooky carnival. No complaints about this game, not long enough, but that is because I enjoyed it so much.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome This game had everything I like. Good mixture of puzzles and HOS (that were very easy and relaxing). Map was perfect. Good horror story for the holidays.Kept my interest so I played it very quickly. Just great fun.
Date published: 2012-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from really spooky this game had some different twist and turns from the usual games. the mini games were fun not to difficult and I haven't wanted to buy a game in a long time but I will buy this one!
Date published: 2012-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Step right up, folks, & enter Dark Arcana the Carnival! Extraodinary developer Artifex Mundi does it again with this outrageously creepy supernatural carnival theme that treats the eye with their typically great graphix, and seriously amazing cutscenes, some of which almost look 3D - and REALLY spooky! I'd love to have the mirror on my desktop for Halloween - you'll see what i'm talkin' about when you play, & you should definitely play at least the demo if you love the dark & eerie genre, 'cause this one fits into the category like hand in glove. This is really good gameplay; a story that follows a plot & sticks to it; & a scary-fun adventure with nicely done tho' not difficult HOS that give you the option of finding objects or playing a game of Monaco to earn your item from the scene. The music is the typical carnival theme done in creep-tone as a perfect back-drop. Voice overs are very well done. The game kept me fully immersed & moving, with no need of map or walkthrough - everything made sense & i was never stumped by what to do next, so i guess that's to say it's not too hard to play & enjoy without distraction... except for the "sight-seeing" in this strangely enticing & totally creeped out double universe carnival. I also like the extra chapter added to the SE, which does give closure to the story. Folks, this is a blast to play, very creepy, & seasonal to boot. Enjoy this one, & Happy Halloween gaming!
Date published: 2012-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior Game! Story line, etc. have been explained but want to get my vote in as a wonderful game! Once you free the monkey he follows you everywhere and really starts to "chatter" at you when you come across something he wants to help you with. It's a LONG game and SO worth the money! The map is great even though it's not transportable and I think it's because when your cursor changes to the arrow to move to another scene it tells you at the bottom of the screen where that arrow is taking you. I don't usually enjoy the puzzles but loved these which were on the easier and fun side which got a little harder in my opinion toward the end.
Date published: 2012-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gotta have this one! I play LOTS of BFG, mostly HOGs and puzzle. Must say this was one I couldn't walk away from. Great story. Played it straight through. Great long game. You won't be sorry with this one.
Date published: 2012-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sick, sad, lonely game, just as I like it. Great graphics, perfect for halloween , nice HOs. I really got into it, loved all the different areas in the game, it was fun.
Date published: 2012-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Value! Absolutely delighted in this game!, a SE that's more like a CE and half the price! What a fabulous game. There's an extra chapter too! the graphics are amazing and not what i expected at all. The storyline is spooky enough, just in time for Halloween. Just couldn't get enough of the stunning graphics and a lot of work must of gone into this little gem and the HOS were crisp and clear. The puzzles i admit are a little easy but still a wonderful game and achievements to collect is always a bonus. Thank you Big Fish :-D
Date published: 2012-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thriller! Artifex Mundi have done it again, and no, I haven't given all four ratings above a blind 5, it's because they all deserved it! (based on entire demo on casual mode) Good Parts: Thrilling storyline. I loved every minute of it and was hanging on the edge of my seat. The brilliant cutscenes are just a bonus. Also included excellent voice-overs. I loved the HOS. They were brilliant. A great mixture of challenge and fun. Brilliant graphics, especially in cut scenes and the intro. Everything was so clear, and so greatly designed. I loved the puzzles, which is a rarity for me. I only had to skip two throughout the entire demo. Hint and skip recharge very, very fast, and hint was very useful. No need for a strategy guide. I loved the addition of the monkey to the game. He was able to retrieve things you weren't and he was just fun to have. Achievements are included, which make the game even more fun! I loved alternating between two worlds. Especially when you had to find something in one world to help you in the other. A great tutorial. OK Parts: A little more use of the inventory would have been great. A little going back and forth, but I really didn't mind when you see the quality of the game. Bad Parts: The one and only bad thing about this game would be the "Monaco" game that could be played instead of the HOS. I didn't understand this and I would've preferred if it had been Mahjong like the game Nightmares: Curse of the Deep. This game proves why Artifex Mundi is one of the best developers out there. Don't hesitate to buy this. I certainly will be.
Date published: 2012-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW Two Carnivals in One game What a game! If you like carnivals and spooky stuff check out this game. You have two carnivals - a regular one and the spooky dark version of the first one. Great fun, long game and will def play over and over -awesome value for money. You will not be disappointed with this one. Give it a go!
Date published: 2012-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect!! You just have to try this game...seeing it is believing it. So spooky and is perfect for this time of year. Different story line. Not boring. For a true Fishy game fan this one is for you. I love it. Graphics, games, everything is good about this game. I would love Big Fish to put more games that have a holiday theme like this one. This game doesn't say it's a halloweeny game but it certainly feels like it and that makes me happy. Hopefully, Big Fish will come out with a Thanksgiving and Christmas game of this type.
Date published: 2012-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halloween Game with Bonus Chapter Just finished this game, and was happily surprised to see a final chapter that I could play! You are a detective who has been called in to find a little girl's mother, who disappeared at a carnival. More and more games are giving you an animal to help get objects that are out of your reach. This time, it's a cute, organ-grinder monkey, who can climb and jump to get the objects you need. But first, you have to save the little guy. Short game- Took me 2 1/2 hours to play in Casual mode, so I'll try again in a harder mode. This game has sound effects and music that are similar to the music and sound effects in Enigmatis. The stunning, well-drawn/painted graphics are very science-fiction in the alternate world and usually clear, but sometimes blurry in HOS. You can switch to a card game instead of HOS, which is very nice, because I'm not a fan of HOS. The puzzles are easy to moderately difficult. The map does not let you transport, but it does let you know where you are, in relation to where you need to go. Outside of HOS, the hint points to objects or tasks in front of you, or points you in the direction you need to go. So, if you get too lost, the hint will show you where you need to go. The storyline is a combo of cheesy, campy, creepy, emotional, good against evil, mirror worlds/dimensions that you go through a mirror to get to. There are a few corpses, but they don't look super realistic. And the evil is not who or what you think it is at first. Not all that original, but perfect for Halloween.
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Arcana: The Carnival I loved the game it had a great love story and adventure.
Date published: 2012-10-19
  • y_2019, m_10, d_14, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_148
  • loc_en_US, sid_16026, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Arcana: The Carnival

Find the woman who disappears in the Hall of Mirrors. Investigate two worlds: the Carnivals of Good and Evil!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.