Dark Arcana: The Carnival

Dark Arcana: The Carnival

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(289.50 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Find the missing woman lost in a mysterious Carnival of Horrors in Dark Arcana: The Carnival. Investigate two worlds: the one you know and an alternate plane existing behind the Hall of Mirrors. There you'll discover the secret of an ancient being known as the Evil One. Travel through dimensions, reveal the story of star-crossed lovers, and stop the Evil One from breaking its magical chains and invading our world in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

  • Befriend a cute monkey helper
  • Clever and unique mini-games
  • Beautifully designed and crafted worlds

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 847 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Arcana: The Carnival

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(289.50 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Arcana: The Carnival is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 148.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A WINNER A wonderful game, it drew me in straight away,graphics, music, and voice overs were perfect.Mini games were good,hidden objects easy to find. Didn't use the map, hint button quick to recharge.The storyline was excellent and a very nice twist at the end. I wish it could have been longer!! I was enjoying it so much. Congrats developers. Hope to see more of the same.
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Carnival Time Really enjoyed playing and the extra chapter added a good ending. Took me about 45-60 for the extra gameplay. Running around collecting items not bad. Map helped a lot. Lots of Hidden objects. Music ok, story line easy to follow. I will play this game again
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The story is all Other developers have prettier visuals, others more cuteness, and otehs better HOS and mini puzzles. This developer just tells gripping stories, and tells them well. It has character, plots, suspense, mystery, and you learn the whole story as you go through the game. The HOS are easy (and you ahve the option of playing Monaco instead), and so most of the minigames. It is fun solving them, but they do not take away your enjoyment of the story. Because for this developer, the story is all. And they know how to tell stories.
Date published: 2013-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Played on Kindle Fire HD - loved it I don't know if Kindle reviews count on here, but this was the first game that I completed on my Kindle Fire HD. If you have one, give it a try. It is only $1.99 or $2.99 (I think $1.99#. It seems like a fairly long game to me. It looks great on the Kindle Fire HD. It has all the tools you want except for a map that teleports you to a location like some games do. But, it does have a map. A very informative map, I might add. You really don't need the hint button much, if you prefer to use the map, like I do. The puzzles were a little on the easy size, but it was a super interesting game, basically having you play in two different worlds. And, I liked it because the moves made sense to me. I mean, I like it when you get a clue, and you think "hey, that works over here". It was that kind of game. Again, looks great. Looks even better on my laptop, though I chose to play it on my Kindle. #I had gotten it free for my LT). Looks even better at 1080p on the LCD screen. But, Am so glad that there are developers out there to create games like this one. And, you can tell it was going to be a CE, but for some reason they just went ahead and delivered it as an SE. On the closing credits on the Kindle, it even said "CE". But, the game just blew me away, and far exceeded my expectations. And, maybe I'm just a little slow, but it must have given me 10 hours of entertainment - for $1.99 and a CE version to boot. That is hard to beat. Give it a try. If you like the same kind of games I do, you'll love it!
Date published: 2013-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spooky Fun I really enjoyed this game. The HOS were good and the items were not distorted and easy to see. There were a few too many for my taste but not an overwhelming amount. The monkey help was fun and useful. I do wish the map had been a transporting map but the hint button would lead you where you needed to be. This one is a must buy!
Date published: 2013-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best ever... The graphics are brilliant!!! It is one of the most enjoyable ones I ever played. Too much fun, and I recommend it to everyone. The bonus game is not short at all, so it was just great!
Date published: 2013-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, even the second time I just finished playing this game for the second time and I have to say it is a terrific SE. Graphically it is creepy and attractive all at once. Voice-overs are well done. The story line and gameplay are integrated well. There are not too many HOS. They are crisp and clear making them fairly easy. And if you prefer, you can opt to play Monaco rather than HOS. The mini-games are fun and do-able. There is a map indicating active tasks (even in Advanced mode). It doesn't allow for travel but the back-and-forth is not extreme. In addition, there are many Achievements. And I can't forget our helpful little friend, Miles the monkey. This game is well worth it. Very entertaining. Great replay value. Can't wait to see what else these Developers have for us.
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun game, doesn't last long I played beginning to end in advanced mode for approximately four hours. It was a fun game. None of the puzzles had me stumped. I recommend this, but only if it's on sale. It's not worth the full price.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Game! Well..almost perfect. It does not have a jump to map. However, there is limited back and forth. Hint button is directional. Great puzzles, great HO's and interesting story line. I usually get bored with them. It's as good as the Source games but a different style. It was laid back. May be a bit easy for hardcore gamers but I played in casual mode so there may be some challenge on other levels. LOVED IT!
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Artifex Mundi makes wonderful games I played the Dark Arcana demo on one computer, and switched to another OS to buy it, so that I had to replay the demo section again-- and I didn't mind a bit. It's a gorgeous game and a fun ride. Once you go through the mirror, the visual style changes, taking you from the cotton-candy carnival atmosphere to a stunning sulfur-yellow horror-fantasy world. While the story has a typical missing-person plot, the way it plays out has a bit of a welcome twist to it. I didn't find it all that challenging but it was enough to keep me involved and engaged throughout the game. The same creators made Nightmares of the Deep, Enigmatis, and Abyss: The Wraiths of Eden. I bought all four after playing Nightmares of the Deep, and they've all been beautiful and well-made. Nightmares introduced me to hidden object games and I've been playing lots of them since then, so I guess they got me hooked! If you're into this type of game I think it's definitely worth checking their titles out..
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Story Line One of the best hidden object games ever!! This game was alot of fun from beginning to end. Didn't want it to end. Great story with a happy ending. Not too difficult to play, but it made you think what to do in some places. Graphics were beautiful. Totally recommend this game!!
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jeepers Creepers! Strong storyline, good for an afternoon's gameplay, but had to be the creepiest game ever. I think the producers played up well on people who have a clown phobia.
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game This game was great in many ways. It immediately drew in my attention, the length was decent, illustrations were well done, and the story line was well written. The level of challenge was decent as well. I enjoyed as much the second time through as I did the first.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepy, fun, and exciting I personally like games that are creepy. This game was full of twist. I didn't want to stop playing. I bought the SE and I highly recommend this game!!!!
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Played the entire game - not just the trial. Loved that it had an ending - so many games just leave you hanging as a teaser for the sequel. Game play was straight forward with no guessing of what to do next! Spooky fun - best I've played in a long time!
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE these developer's games!!! This developer continually puts out high quality games that have the most amazing graphics. Characters that are so life-like, I feel like I can reach into the screen and touch them and plot-lines that are not overdone or cheesy. They bring something new to the table that amazes and baffles me and I hope they make more and more games and challenge themselves to make even more stunning games. That said, on other sites I've seen this as a CE but on Big Fish, its offered as a Standard Edition, WITH A BONUS CHAPTER! What a great deal! I really enjoyed the main game and the hidden object scenes are absolutely beautiful with great attention to detail. The premise of the game deals with other worlds and wanting to change past mistakes. As always its LOVE that makes the main character crazy, a love lost and wants a chance to fix it. The main game wrapped up quite nicely but the bonus chapter definitely solidified the story for me. The voiceovers were done very well. The whole game was just a joy to play. The music was tasteful and I can't wait to play again... The only thing that confused me were the achievements...There are achievements to "ask another player to join you". I have NO idea how you'd be able to do that. You can switch between hidden object scenes and Monaco (card game) but nowhere in this game does it have a place to ask another player to join you. I am thinking this might be part of the Collector's Edition that was not offered at Big Fish but I am not quite sure. All in all, I am not sick of the carnival theme. This has everything one needs to have a creepy carnival, clowns, weird guys, monkey helpers. I definitely recommend this game. It was sooo fun to play!!!!
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game I don't usually take the time to write a review. I am a big HOG fan but like to play for relaxation. Loved the map, I don't like to have to click 15 times to get to a location and another 15 to get back. Overall I rate this a great game.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too bad Big Fish doesn't have the collector's version of this. As a Macintosh user, I got mine directly from the Mac Store: http://www.macgamestore.com/product/2526/Dark-Arcana-The-Carnival-Collectors-Edition/ This is a dark story, but it twists from the average story. This collector's edition has a two-part bonus story to it in which even the ending has a twist. The publisher, Artiflex Mundi, seems to release it's collector's editions AFTER the standard editions so PC users (as well as Big Fish of course) should be on the lookout for an available PC version. The level of challenge is easy in casual mode.
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game - you bet!! Wow! This game was so much fun and there was even a bonus play on the SE version. Excellent storyline and the ending was completely unexpected - a pleasant surprise! For those who like HOS games with adventure - this game will delight. Definitely recommend this game!
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game Ever! For some reason this one slipped by me so I finally played it two days after Christmas. I have played tons of these games and I thought this one was just the best it had everything you could ask for great graphics great story great HOS. If you a first timer I highly recommend this game because it is challenging enough for the first timer and fun enough for the experts. I loved that the story was not so dark and dreary but had the right amount of suspense and entertainment the scenes and story flow very nicely and I thought the length was just right and the graphics were just simple superb! You will not be sorry if you purchase this game. Sorry I almost missed it!
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good game and not that hard This is game just for fun. The HOS are easy and the puzzles do not kill you trying to figure them out. Has a map to help if you need it. The monkey is your helper so you have to remember to use him. Pretty easy game just for having fun.
Date published: 2012-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ending Includes a final chapter that is sweet. Game is fairly linear and hint button is helpful without telling u exactly what to do.I found many of the puzzles too hard and skipped them but I usually do this as don't really know how to solve them. The HO scenes were quite easy, however. Kept my interest, and it is a great game of a good length and nice graphics. Its a bit morbid (lots of bones) but just creepy enough. Thoroughly enjoyed.
Date published: 2012-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT! LOVED IT! LOVED IT! I can't say when the last time was when I enjoyed a game so much. This was almost like a Collector's Edition but for the Strategy Guide. It even had a bonus chapter which ran nearly an hour long. The puzzles were fun and if you didn't want to do the hidden object games you were offered an alternate game which, when played, moved things along quite a bit. The hint button was not just for hints but gave clues on where to go next and what to do but not too much, just enough. You even got a cute little helper to reach places you couldn't fit or reach! The storyline was plausible (for occult lovers) and had a nice ending. I wish there were more games like this. I had a lot of fun and was sad when it ended but was a good long length so I can't complain. And to think I used a free game token. How about that?
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark is Not The Word This game on the whole is very entertaining.It is not an easy game but difficult enough, that a beginner will have a chance at getting through without using the hint button all the time .Have to admit I used it twice.The hint button is also a guide so be careful how you use it.The color, sound and graphics in my opinion were well done although the voice overs could use some help.No one seems to get it perfect.[sigh]It is a fairly lengthy game, and the story line is positively wonderful if not, a little on the spooky side--no it is on the spooky side. Kept me guessing that is for sure.Over all I found the game refreshing from the same old-same old games that we usually get.Good for a Sunday afternoon while doing the laundry, and the hubby is watching sports.The extra section takes about an hour so I am glad it was included as a standard version , instead of a CE.All in all enjoyed,it greatly as I am sure you will if you just give it a try. Thanks BigFish once again a hit!!!
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Arcana a Visual Hit Great graphics and an original storyline. the graphics were very interactive with the player. a definite must.
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best games! I played this game for a trial period.I loved it,even though I only had an hour of play,I fell in love with it.The game was so much fun! Even my six year old loved the game.We fight over the games all the time.I would so buy this one, it is that good.
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game! Very relaxing fun game!! Good graphics and story line. Quick play but this is sometimes what you need.
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for just a good time! Good story line. When I got into the game, I sometimes wondered what 'world' I was in, so the maps really helped. Great game for kids 12 and up and for someone who doesn't need a 'huge' challenge & just wants some fun & escape for awhile....like me-:)
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creative puzzles and fantastic game! Why this wasn't made in a CE version is beyond me. The monkey was awesome and fun to use. So many different, artistic and creative puzzles - why aren't more games like this? Loved this game, wish it was longer. Hope they make more of these!!!!
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! A great game worth buying. Moves quickly. Beautiful art. You have good and evil. The mini-games can be challenging. Love the helper! Highly recommended.
Date published: 2012-11-03
  • y_2019, m_6, d_18, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_148
  • loc_en_US, sid_16026, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Arcana: The Carnival

Find the woman who disappears in the Hall of Mirrors. Investigate two worlds: the Carnivals of Good and Evil!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.