Northern Tale

Northern Tale

PC

Also available on

Strategy

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(174.96 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Play as the mighty Viking, King Ragnar, and embark on a journey spanning beautiful forests filled with mythical creatures to save your family and cleanse the kingdom of evil in Northern Tale! Join forces with brave companions as you face countless dangers. Bring color back to your realm and use your wisdom, magic and might to restore balance and defeat an evil witch and her cruel servants.

  • Three season-themed episodes
  • Detailed graphics and awesome visuals
  • Bring color back into the world

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 238 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Northern Tale

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(174.96 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Northern Tale is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 111.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A rare 5 star hit! This TM is right up there with Royal Envoy. Outstanding graphics, engaging characters, and a real challenge that requires strategy. I seldom give 5 stars but Northern Tale has earned my vote. Lots of play time, too, so you'll definitely get your money's worth trying to hit 3 stars on every level. If you liked Roads of Rome, you're gonna love Northern Tale.
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Waiting for part II .... URGENTLY! I startet and could not stop - my whole family loved it! And I still keep playing it. I'd really love to get a follow up II with more adventures, more challenges and even more difficult to play! Not just good, but awesome! A reason to keep looking on the english page, if maybe the release there is earlier than the german version! I can just recommend it - you start and don't want to stop, before you have been through. Missed a nights sleep as I enjoyed it so much!
Date published: 2013-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very funny game! lot of fun in this tm/strategy game
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mostly great fun This game reminds me a little of an old DOS game called Populous that I had years ago and played for hours. The graphics and animation are a delight. I did find it a bit annoying that the character had to return to base camp after every action and that the game and some of the levels were very short but, overall, it was enjoyable. .
Date published: 2013-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this game! This game is simple, but it does take some thought. I find it is just challenging enough to hold my attention. I bought it yesterday, and have not stopped playing since! Nor have I reached the end yet. I am on level 30 and that is with over 8 hours of constant play. This game is great for kids of all ages.
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WONDERFUL! When will be the NUMBER 2...can't wait to buy it too! The story...really who cares? LOL...just love the graphics, the challenges are great! Lot of hours of fun me and my boyfriend!
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fun On the order of Campgrounds but to me more enjoyable and better story line.
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a TM game that I can relax to I've never been a fan of TM games because I always run out of time before completing the tasks, but tried this one the day it came out and immediatelly fell in love with it. Northern Tale offers this great untimed option that gives me the chance to play in a relaxed setting. This also allows me the chance to just stop and take in all the beauty that's happening onscreen. The animations in this game are outstanding and the sounds are incredible. Sometimes I just keep clicking on the farmhouse repeatedly to hear the sheep baa'ing, and it's so funny when the Viking says "I know, I know". There's just so much to see and do that I'm unable to follow the story exactly and really don't quite know in what order I'm supposed to do things but I'm having a blast trying! I know I can repeat a level when I'm stuck and I'm stuck now but will have fun trying something different next time. And with absolutely no pressure from the clock whatsoever! Ya gotta love it.
Date published: 2013-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wished I had their energy Never played a game like this before. Played the demo and was hooked. Bought it and finished it. If you can multi-task, then this game is for you.
Date published: 2013-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun, fun, fun I liked this dame very much, it kept me going on and on. I recommend it to players who like action and quick passing through game. I think that game doesn't have enough levels, it ends fast.
Date published: 2013-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Sequel So I am waiting for Northern Tale 2! Hurry.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thoroughly enjoyable strategy game and a nice challenge. Lovely graphics and similar gameplay to a number of other strategy games like Island Tribe and My Kingdom for The Princess but with a few unique twists of its own. A few levels are quite challenging. Overall I really liked and enjoyed playing this game and look forward to a followup game 2.
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little game This one is thoroughly enjoyable, even if it becomes a bit repetitious. The musical score, sound effects and graphics are all top-notch. I appreciated the fact that it was *not* a time management game mislabelled as a strategy game, since so many of Big Fish offerings are. More Northern Tales please!
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Addictive gameplay This is a "road building" TM game like My Kingdom for the Princess or Roads of Rome. (This seems to be from the same developer as RoR, which I've always liked more than MKftP) At first glance, the graphics appear to have taken a step back from others in the genre, but it grew on me very quickly. When you have so many different objects (obstacles, structures, resources, etc.) on the screen at the same time, it's nice to have really clean, clear visuals to plot your strategy for the level. I also liked the Viking theme. I'm pretty neurotic about getting an expert score on every level and in the first chapter, I found myself repeating levels as early on as 5 or 6, which led me to think the game was going to be difficult. I had an easier go of it in the second chapter though, so I think I was just overly aggressive in upgrading my buildings and that's why I had problems. At the core, you only have two types of decisions to make in this game: the order of upgrading/exploration, and the type of bonus to use. Because of the number of choices you can make, though, you end up with a lot of strategies. A lot of satisfaction in the game comes from adjusting your strategy to improve your time. (It is so nice to finish JUST as the timer starts blinking to indicate that you're about to go over the expert time) I usually don't pay much attention to the story for this genre, but I liked this one! You have to rescue your daughters from an evil sorceress called Gesta who has kidnapped and transformed them into other forms. She has also blighted the land and they do a nice job in short dialogue of making her feel like an active antagonist. She seems especially involved in the final level where she summons monsters to oppose you and even battles you at the end! No exciting new minigames or game mechanics, but a very solid, well-balanced and well-designed TM game overall.
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Wait for Sequel Unlike many games, this is fun to play over and over. You are challenged to beat expert time as well as yourself. You can try many strategies to try to beat the level, i.e., which obstacles to get rid of first or which resources to gather first. Analogous to Theory of Constraints in business. Cute graphics but not girlie. Whole family likes it regardless of age.
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Time Management Game This is a great little game. Pushes you to finish and definitely is not a given you will get three stars every level. The levels get very challenging and make you think about which approach will get you there fastest.
Date published: 2012-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best in Its Class I typically grab any of the games that follow the Roads of Rome and My Kingdom for a Princess style, and had run out of new games to play. Along comes Northern Tales - and it rose head and shoulders above the rest quickly. The graphics are lovely, the game play requires a touch of brains to beat the time on certain levels, and certain other levels often brought certain twists that added extra challenge. I never got bored and was almost sad when I reached the end. Well done, you guys!
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game Ever This game is one I love absolutely. Wonderful story and fun facts. I'd love to see more like this. I'm usually into hog games. This is a refresher type game.
Date published: 2012-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bummed when it was over! This game was so much fun. I don't normally play this type of game but I really enjoyed it. I would recommend playing with multi-click though. If you start the game without it you can't change mid game and it would have helped to be able to click ahead.
Date published: 2012-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW;;;WOW;;;WOW Wow What a game I am not a lover of those games ‘The Building ones’ because every time the workers get hungry the game has to take a halt, BUT in this game the worker ~ workers will not take a break just “keep Working away to their heart’s content” I would and this game be transfer me to a Time management game WOW;;; Ria
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from To try it is to adopt it! As soon as the first 2 levels of the demo of the game, I was totally seduced and so bought it at the same time without any hesitation and do not regret it! Those who, like me, love the style series : My Kingdom for the Princess, Roads of Rome, Royal Envoy, Island Tribes and the same style, certainly love this good little game also. The graphics are well done and the small medieval music is not disturbing. In addition these vikings small, are not without remember joyous woodcutter of the series Royal Envoy, are also very friendly and diverting story. The gradual fix promises exciting hours of games. Also I appreciate highly the 2 modes of games on offer (relax or timed). In summary a good time management game as I like!
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Difficulty level : Medium Diffuculty level : Medium. starts slow. Just like a gnomes home with better graphics and worse map. Fun story. I only played the free trial hour so far, but when it ended I was fully engaged in it.
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fun strategic game It has all that you could ask for in a Time Management game and more. I love all the little details and the humour- skeletons; hamsters; character comments and sounds; interesting viking facts; etc. If I have felt the game to have been particularly good, I always read to the end of the credits out of respect to the makers. Sometimes there are added bonuses to doing this, such as with this game. Most of what I wanted to say has been said- all in all a great game and a nice change from the really dark games that seem to be monopolising. Well done to all involved.
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fun I don't usually go for TM game as I usually run out of time before the tasks are finished. However I thought I would try this one. Great, it had an untimed game. It really is fun as well as challenging for an "oldie". The little guys running around really make me laugh. Having read some of the other reviews, I haven't found the hamsters, so better have another look!
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy Excellent TM game loved the relaxed play will enjoy this one with grandkids. Easy to learn and makes you think. got boring seeing same old viking info in between rounds but okay the first time through. Wish it had more levels than it does I will be replaying this one for a long time.
Date published: 2012-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lighthearted Fun This is a time management game, but I played in the mode with no time limits. You have to build up farms, mines and other buildings while collecting supplies to beat the baddies the evil witch sends your way. I normally play hidden object/adventure games, but this game caught my eye because it looked lighthearted and fun. This was perfect. All the little Vikings do a dance when you finish each stage. My only complaint was that it got to be the same thing over and over in each step. Still, I was disappointed when I won the game and couldn't keep playing. I hope they do a sequel. Maybe I will replay it in timed mode.
Date published: 2012-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent TM Game Northern Tale is very much like ROR, MKFTP, and IT. At first the game looks simple, but it definately does have challenge. I've had to play many levels over to get expert, but it is not so difficult that you can't achieve your goal. The graphics and sound quality are good and so is the storyline. The facts about the vikings are interesting but after 3 or 4 they repeat. It would have been great if all the facts were different. All in all a very enjoyable, fun filled game. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2012-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very enjoyable I love this game, the trail ran out without me even realising I had been playing for an hour. Great fun for those who like strategy in a simple form.
Date published: 2012-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and challenging imho this is possibly the best tm out there right now. PLUS the cute factor gives me smiles all the way through. Never boring - if it gets too easy???....and could that even happen?.....just go to the next more difficult mode. What a delightful game, with many hours and days worth of fun game playing. Every time I think I can stop playing, it is not to be. Have played a couple levels daily since purchasing on the first day it was at BFG. Am now on my second go round. Thank you developers -- and we are now all happy vikings no matter where we live!!
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Really Fun Game I found this to be a very enjoyable game to play; not too easy and not too hard. 45 levels and 4 bonus levels. Graphs are good,sound is good, story is cute.
Date published: 2012-10-22
  • y_2019, m_10, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_111
  • loc_en_US, sid_16092, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Northern Tale

Travel across beautiful forests filled with mythical creatures! Find Ragnar's daughters and defeat the evil witch and her cruel servants!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.