Design This Home

Design This Home

PC

Strategy

Play Free Download the game

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.

Become an interior designer - decorate and expand your house! Customize every element of your home: arrange furniture, put up cabinets, paint the walls, renovate the floors and more - anything is possible in Design This Home™!

  • Over 600 items
  • Customize every aspect of your home
  • Fourteen full-sized rooms to construct and decorate

Game Club Members

SAVE 30% on in-game items

30% OFF!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 83 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Design This Home

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Free Download the game

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Customer Reviews
Design This Home is rated 2.8 out of 5 by 53.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice home design The game is a lot of fun. I do wish there were more items to choose from in each category. And I wish the characters were more interactive. That would make this a five star game.
Date published: 2015-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good simulation game I really love the storyline, possibility to add new people to my family, altrough it's taking a lot of time and experience points before I can add every new one. There are quite many things that costs premium coins, but it's not necessary to use them, so you can keep playing and climbing the ladder of levels without paying real money. Altrough the walls are quite colorful, there aren't many matches to them in floor section. Many furnitures are also not really colorful. This makes the house quite dull. The time necessary to build some furnitures or open new rooms is very long, especially if you don't have premium coins to speed up things. That's the biggest minus for this game.
Date published: 2013-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Really Enjoyable Decorating Game....BUT....def not free-to-play. I LOVE decorating games but there are too few of them on this site [well I'm not into fixing up fishbowls, btw]. So when I saw this game I was excited. It's advertised as free-to-play but LOL LOL you will need to shell out money to buy required items at some point: so although it IS free to play, it can be costly to continue playing heheh. That said, I figured this out by reading other reviews [ty] but since I have a bit of "mad money" to blow on whatever [now & then] I decided to buy some of the game cash and stars needed to get items [although you CAN earn a lot of them in the game]. What I really appreciated is that I got a 30% discount on the buying because I'm a Big Fish member. YaY. So this game has cost me some money for decorating 2 homes. [Also, there are more floor plan designs available.] I did really enjoy the decorating and overall, I like this game and would recommend it but be forewarned: it's slow moving [though that suited me fine because I get anxious with the fast-paced games]. Developers PLEASE note: MORE decorating games are needed---and cheaper ones! Thank you.
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's fun but... Ok all in all it is a nice and fun little game and I did enjoy it but there are things that could of been changed to make it a little more fun like, as soon as it got to level 3, buying objects became very hard as money ran out very quickly and at level 3...well...that is really not enough time to think if you really like the game enough to keep it...maybe more money should have been given to keep us going, say up to level 5, 6 tops. The items, I think, might be too expensive. Like I said before in the beginning levels you lose money really quickly so maybe the prices could of been a little cheaper. The photo task would of been nicer if I could share the photo on facebook and twitter instead of the email system as some of us (like me) don't have that email system. It would be nice if the 'Get More' money and coins worked as at the moment I click on what I want but then it says error BUT this is a lovely little time waster and I will keep this game for a while longer and see where this goes!
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game but could be improved. I enjoyed playing this game, but I think it could be improved. More colour would make it more interesting, (character hair/clothes, wall paper, flooring, sofas, chairs, tables, kitchen cabinets etc, etc, could really use some colour variation), also being able to find a toilet, sink and bath that match would be nice.. Still I am enjoying the game, and will play for a while longer to see if they bring in any updates or improvements. I would recommend this game if you are looking for something interesting to waste some time, or if you are like me and find this to be the only way to keep a nice tidy house. :0)
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad at all. I love building games and design. This is not a bad game at all. I know it's is the early stages of development so there should be game improvements in the future. Will have to keep an eye on this one and see what comes next. The gameplay is not complicated by any means and is easy to understand. The only con with this game is the sharing by E-mail. No no no! I never give out my E-mail to anyone I don't know. It would be easier if we shared via facebook and twitter like many other apps. I do like the notifications we get when the game is not running telling us when things are ready. Now if only farm up could do the same thing so I don't have to come back to dead plants lol :) Like I said, it's early in the game stages, lots of ways for the game to be improved, so I will be following it to see how things get better. So don't slide it off the table just yet. Like all FTP games, the possibilities are endless.
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Really fun design game but....... This is a great design game. Really fun. The only problems are that things are too expensive and there is way too much waiting around for upgrades. I prefer a more active game. The game isn't really free, since in order to play without waiting, you have to purchase coins or cash. Still, I love design games and this one is more fun than most. It's worth downloading if you don't mind playing games that make you wait for upgrades.
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Slow to Be Fun This game started off as a lot of fun. But about 10 minutes into the game is when things started to get sloooow. You don't get new tasks until you complete old ones, and it can take hours (of real world time) to complete those old tasks; basically, you have nothing to do but watch your character roam aimlessly around the house, occasionally clean up messes, and click on the money bag that appears every 15 minutes or so. This was a great idea that was executed poorly. It looks pretty, though, and for the first few minutes it was a blast, which is why I'm giving it an "OK" rating.
Date published: 2013-12-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Would be better if... I love, love, love home decorating games and was very excited to see this one. I was soon disappointed as I began to level up. The more furniture you place and rooms you build, increases the time you have to wait to collect your money. As you build each room, the price and time to build the next room increases a lot! It was also disappointing that some of the quests require you to buy a 3-star item for a room, which you must use gold coins for; no 3-star items can be bought with the game cash. For the most part, it is a fun game if you enjoy these types of games. On the other hand, it's a big let down because you have to spend real money and wait FOREVER for quests to complete. I truly hope this isn't the future of gaming i.e., get the game free, but spend a fortune to continue playing. For now, I will stick with my old standby- "Home Sweet Home" to get my decorating kicks. Overall I would give this game 3 stars due to the high price of items and extremely long wait times. However, the furniture choices are very good, you can name your residents and buy different homes with new floor plans. If this game could be purchased with game credits, I would be all over it! P.S. I've been a big fish member for quite a while and this is my first review EVER.
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from HURRY UP AND WAIT This game is ok. you start out with challenges (tasks) to do to get to next level but as the game progresses you have to wait to gain some funds since they run out quickly with each task. there is a constant hurry up and wait. it started out fun but got dull quickly.
Date published: 2013-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very basic & slow to start This is a pleasant but very basic home building game. You can move stuff around after placing it by just going back in to the "design" mode, but as others pointed out, you don't get very far in the game before coming to a screeching halt. So either you like it enough to spend/purchase gold coins to instantly "build" items #I do not#, or you have become invested enough in the game to return to it after the minimum 10 minute wait #I am not#. That, I think, was the developer's mistake...not giving players enough time initially to play and become interested enough in the game before having to exit.
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from "OK" Game I designed my first home and then I bought my new home. The furniture was all the same. That was extremely disappointing. And any of the 3 start furniture has to be bought with coins, at least so far. I will probably finish it, but now that I know its all the same for all the houses, no excitement in seeing the "new stuff"
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like Watching Paint Dry! I think this game could be good if you were free to modify houses as you wish when you wish without having to buy so many gold coins! It is so slow, if you buy a tv in the game you may need to wait 14 hours until it is delivered oh unless you purchase gold coins. All in all I would say it is a blatant money sucker. At least games like farm up can be played without buying to much and still being able to play it and enjoy it. This one is disappointing and boring unless you wantto blow a weeks wages on building an online house you'll never own. Oh and the game will tell you what to buy,so you'll buy a $3000 bench only to be told to replace it with another bench later except when you sell your $3000 bench you'll only get $100 back. The game sucks.
Date published: 2014-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Slow! I have to agree with others - it takes forever to get anywhere with this, lots of waiting for items to be delivered and for money to accumulate. Moving furniture is frustrating: some of it has to be put in storage then placed in the new location. Trouble is you can't see exactly where the item is going to be until you click and then have to repeat the process if it's not where you want it. I probably won't do much with this. I prefer a game that I can enjoy for an hour or two at a time - not just a few seconds!
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Design a house Very slow, could have potential doesn't keep me interested.
Date published: 2013-12-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Design This House I liked the general game, wanted to play with my granddaughter, but the real time delivery made the game drag out way too long. And did not like the email aspect of the game or the fact the only way to speed it up was to buy coins.
Date published: 2014-02-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from FIX THIS GAME I like this game but I have gotten up to level 15 and now it is telling me my free trial is over and I have to buy the game which I am willing to do but it is not a game you can buy this is the second play free game I have downloaded and gotten uP in the higher levels and all of a sudden it quits working, I WILL NOT BE DOWNLODING ANOTHER GAME UNTILL YOU CAN FIX THIS GAME AND FARM UP
Date published: 2013-12-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nothing there Not as advertised...game lacks any flexibility. Not even color choices for the 'furniture'. It calls itself a 'Sim' game, but the relationship to Sims is most tenuous.
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stinker of a FTP Game! Very Disappointed! I'll start out by saying that I love and play regularly most of the FTP games on BF. This is going to be the exception for me. I was so excited to see a designing game in the offerings. They should have gotten the developers who m.ade Home Sweet Home to build this game. They at least know what they are doing. This game is half done. (Most items end at between levels 12-15). They are depending upon the monies that come in from us purchasing energy and coin packs to furnish the rest of the game. This means that after a short time, we will be playing the sit and wait game while the developers slowly come out with new material for us. There is no storyline to this game, there is no challenge. All that you do is pick out furniture for your home and wait the required time for them to be delivered. That is it. Nothing more, nothing less. Shame on BF for putting their name on such a putrid offering! Waste of time and energy.
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring Sit and wait game. Wait for the furniture to arrive which can be up to 2 hours of waiting. Good thing you can minimize.
Date published: 2013-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A little dull I found this game uninteresting and thought it would be more design and strategy orientated but it was just picking elements and waiting for them to download. The items took ages to load encouraging you to use all the coins so you'll eventually buy more. I really loath games like this as it is a kind of gambling, where they make money on people's need to keep going, rather than skill. I wouldn't bother downloading this one.
Date published: 2013-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from After Level up hate how you have to wait to collect money cause each level it gets longer to wait for money
Date published: 2013-12-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This one's a snoozer! This game has potential--but it didn't do anything for me. The residents just walk around like Zobies--if you pay for "speedy delivery" then you end up waiting several minutes for the items that you need to purchase to become available. I'd much rather play something like Nanny Mania or Youda Sushi. The game developers should just make this a game that you purchase and you can upgrade to your heart's delight much like Gardenscapes 1 & 2. Don't call a game "free" and then offer to purchase money in order to play the stupid "free" game. $50.00 buys you 5 million "dollars". Yeah, right. $50.00 goes a long way in my house.
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Slow Tasks take a long time to finish, Unless you pay for golden tickets, you can get maybe ten minutes of game time in here and there. The rest of the time you just have to let the game run its course and then come check up on it later when things have finished building.
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring I get the "free to play" model and generally I'm fine with it. But there's nothing to do in this game. You can do VERY little on the first play, before you have to wait two hours for your two pieces of furniture to arrive. And they only give you two task at a time. There's nothing else to this game that I've found so far, no puzzles, no interactions, nothing. Your avatar just strolls around your house, it doesn't even interact with the stuff you put in there.
Date published: 2013-12-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just bad... The first thing to notice was the forced tutorial, something I absolutely hate in a game. Then shortly into the the game came a task which will be forever undoable, since there is no options to quit it, and the game wants you to sent out emails, without providing the means to do so. Placement controls for things that goes on the floors are fine. But when you have to place things on the walls, you have to click back and forth, and will sometimes "drop" the item so you have to look it up in the shop again. It would've been better if it also had slide controls. I liked that it had windowed mode, and that it gave you a couple of options for how big you wanted the window.
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not sure I will Keep it This is one of those free to play games, and with these types of games in order for it to move along you have to shell out some dough! Otherwise it will take to long to get furniture and décor and so on. Not like singing monsters, where you can decorate while waiting for coins. (although I have spent a lot on that free to play game) I was hoping for more interaction. Overall pretty boring game.
Date published: 2013-12-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from New items When is this game going to get new items. I will give a better review when new items are added
Date published: 2015-05-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The game that doesn't want you to play it. All the positive reviews are written before level 10. Beyond that point, there is no actual gameplay. *50% of the furniture, all the good stuff, must be purchased with real world money. *At level 12, you'll only be able to collect money every 7 hours. *New rooms at this point take a full day to build. *Minimal furniture options. *Some quests want you to buy a better replacement for recent purchases, others require buying cash items. *Cannot name or dress tenants, & they don't respond to or interact with furniture. *Rooms are rediculously oversized.
Date published: 2014-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Absolutely not fun! My question to myself was why did I purchase this game? It is boring, it doesn't move fast and it is tedious boring project. The idea is ok but it wasn't carried out well. The graphics are not cool and more childish then anything. Also, the game stalks and pops up on my desktop as an icon when I am not playing which is most of the time. This was a mistake and I am uninstalling it and advising you to really think before you purchase this boring game with no real storyline, no interesting goal and sad visuals.
Date published: 2014-11-01
  • y_2019, m_10, d_19, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_17648, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Design This Home

Do you want to build, design and decorate your perfect dream home? Now you can in Design This Home™!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.