The Gift

The Gift

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(302.10 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Dead bodies are piling up, a bizarre symbol on their foreheads. Guide paranormal investigator Sarah Meiville through a classic noir adventure as she searches for clues, solves puzzles and learns to use visions that appear to be helping her. The Gift is an unforgettable cross between a moody '40s detective movie and a modern occult thriller!

  • Bring a killer to justice
  • Restore Sarah's name
  • 48 unique locations
  • Unlimited hints and tips

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 635 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Gift

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(302.10 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Gift is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 39.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FAAANTastic ;;;WOW;;; Well I didn’t even feel the hour going passed, going from room to room I did have to use the hints a few times when I took a wrong turn but it is a very relaxing game. I would put it into A 'Little Neor' game but more relaxing than them. It has Character of being like 'Angel' and 'X Files' if I could put a Smiley face on this I Would well here goes :) not too bad hey Ria
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A GIFT OF A GAME This is a nice tight little Hidden Object/ Adventure game which is interesting and quirky. It has fairly good graphics and interesting locations. It has the usual items to find such as the key to open the door, find something to eat for the homeless person etc. and is also not too difficult for a beginner for example.
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Journal! Fun Game! I had a great time playing this game. I chose to play the Expert mode and I am sure seasoned players of this type game would add more pleasure to their gaming by choosing this mode. The Journal was interesting and I went back before games end and reread. The hidden object scenes were easy making them fast to clear so one could return to using the given inventory item. Puzzles were about my speed not so difficult that they caused me to hit the Skip button. The concept art to final graphic's was very good. Thanks to the entire team -- you did good!
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game I think this game is greatly underated please give it a try
Date published: 2012-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game !! Finally, a game with no torture equipement and animal traps (except for mouse...nothing's perfect) and that remains thrilling. No stupid looking pets either. Great music for sure !! HOS were at the level they should be; not the central focus of attention since they serve to acquire Tools to pursue the adventure. Speaking of which, the use of some Tools was challenging. I liked the spellls preparation but not so much the end result. That being said, no gore happpenings. so I am not complaining. The ending is quite of abrupt however. I was returning to do a bit more of the game because I felt like being in that world, not because I had bought the game and needed to complete it..
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice game with interesting puzzles If you have a problem with occultism, this game is not for you... There are 2 game modes, but sparkles even in the Expert mode. The graphics are not the greatest, but clear, even in the HOS. The mini-games are interesting, on the easy side. There is a journal but no map; it's not a problem since the game is quite linear. The hint system recharges quickly. Without skipping, it took me about 3 hours to finish. All in all, a good game, with interesting puzzles.
Date published: 2013-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from unfinished ends It would seem this should have been a collector's edition so we can find out what would happen to the man in the cell. Ending felt abrupt; that was the only flaw. Great color tones and voiceover!
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well worth playing This is a really good and interesting HOG that curiously hasn't gotten much "press" on the BFG site. The HOG scenes are good, not too hard. Things that just miss giving it a 5 star rating: 1. The instructions for the games are absent or sketchy. There are plenty of minigames, though, the usual sort. 2. The voiceovers are annoying and no way to turn them off except muting all sound. 3. The plot is a good dark 50's type murder mystery but has several holes,a few times I found myself saying "wait, did I miss something? How do I know that?" . I wish they had developed it more into a CE. 4. There were sparkles indicating HOG scenes even on expert mode. Still the game is a decent length and a good value, kept my interest throughout.
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME Nice relaxing game, set in the 1950s, with good graphics on wide screen. There are a lot of iHOS, but they are clear, easy and quick and I did not mind them at all. The puzzles are easy enough but do take a while to solve. The hint button is great, really helpful. No map, but not necessary. Music just so-so. You have psychic powers and you team up with your Detective friend to find out why people are dying with a strange symbol on their foreheads. Enivitably your friend gets kidnapped and you have to rescue him from the madman who is trying to bring his evil plan to fruition. I do not think I have ever teamed up with anyone who has not gotten themselves kidnapped. The city is well laid out and good to look at. There's an Hotel, a Diner, Seer's Shop, Newspaper Office, Hospital, Asylum and Mansion, all with a few different locations inside. The navigation is perfect and it's fun to travel around a town the way towns used to look in the 1950s. It took me 4 hrs and I think it is well designed and executed and I could find no fault with it. For a SE it is good value for money at the sale price and I really enjoyed it. Good value even without the sale, actually. Nice one, devs.
Date published: 2012-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hope this imaginative game will be turned into a series... I really loved most of this game, and almost played it all in one sitting because of how addictive it was. For most of the game, the story was really gripping and imaginative, but I felt as if it kind of fell apart near the end. I did not like the ending and found it confusing. It was only the last half hour or so that I didn't like, the rest of the game, which lasted me about 6 hours total, was excellent. I am slower than some other players, so the game might not be as long for everybody, but I definitely feel as if I got my money's worth with this SE. Actually I didn't pay for the game, since I was able to use a credit on it, which made me glad that it was an SE release, but if I had paid for it, I would have felt as if I got my money's worth since it was a very high quality game. Sarah is a great lead character, and I really grew to care about her. I want to know more about her and her past, and I hope that the Dev will consider turning this game in to a series. As far as the game play goes, there were quite a bit of H0 scenes, but they were fairly easy to get through, which was good since I wanted to get back to the story. The story is what made this game so special to me. I really enjoyed exploring all of the locations that Sarah came across on her journey and unraveling clues to the mystery. There were also lots of puzzles to do, and in general I prefer doing puzzles to H0 scenes, but I ended up skipping a lot of the puzzles in this game. Some of them were confusing and did not have very clear instructions, and that had to do with why I skipped them. Others just didn't hold my interest. I wanted to give this game 5 stars, but because I was unhappy with the ending and disliked most of the puzzles, I chose to give it 4, but if I could, I would give it 4 and a half. The puzzles could be skipped over and the skip button loaded quickly, so they didn't really ruin my love of the game. I still found this to be a very immerse and addictive game, with a very original and creepy story that really draws you in, and I highly recommend it!
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Game This is a nice long game with an entertaining occult and steampunk procedural mystery story, a good selection of mostly fairly easy but fun puzzles, and nice crisp HOS. I was especially pleased to find that, unlike many occult-themed games, this one doesn't use magic as a cheat, but rather makes it a bit difficult and integrates it into the story and puzzles. There are also one or two spooky moments, and along with a high body count some scenes which imply Truly Awful Things - but it also doesn't take itself too seriously. I was strongly reminded of 1940s B-movies. Altogether, I think it's a solid SE.
Date published: 2012-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE A GOOD KILLER MYSTERY THAT'S NOT OBVIOUS STORYLINE: Play a disgraced police officer who is now an occult investigator and who has the gift of seeing people’s memories by touching. You’re called to the death scene of one of the nothingman’s victims (he leaves nothing on the victims but a mark and none can be identified). GAMEPLAY: Straightforward. Somewhat linear. Graphics could be crisper, although there is nothing wrong with them. No problem identifying objects in the fairly clean HO scenes. A journal gives you additional information not apparent from the gameplay. OTHER STUFF: Casual and expert modes of play. Choose whether you want to maintain the aspect ratio or show sparkles. Good mystery to unravel.
Date published: 2012-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice game i really like this game. the graphics are nice and clear, the characters are quit likeable :) i gave it 4 stars ^^ because you dont need a map or a stratedgy guide to play it. i played casual which i do on every game i can...so i am lazy lol! i do recommend giving this nice little gem a try :) cannot know if you like it you dont try it.
Date published: 2012-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Demo only The game is 1940's and found that the hos were true to the time, not sure about the computer though. There are no bells and whistles, straightforward and easy to understand and play. The hint button was exceptional in being able to use it for all kinds of directional information. The cutscenes were actually well done and interacting with the other characters was fun. The backgrounds were also well done and any darkness fits with the mood, the scene and is dispelled. I recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dame and a Trenchcoat A soggie HOGgie. Bring an umbrella - lol. Good atmosphere in this one. Kinda reminded me of the B&W, hardboiled, private investigator movies. I enjoyed searching the mean, wet streets for a psychic killer. Good HO scenes and artwork. Puzzles were well done. If you like animals bring some food for them. I hate it when they are going hungry. The game was pleasant Sunday afternoon fare.
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An old rehashed mystery game Folks, this game probably came out over 5 maybe longer, years ago. Yes, it looks that old,and the noirish setting make it look even older. It's by one of my favorite developers so I thought I'd give it a try and I'm 25% through and boy, is it boring. A string of killings and an investigator trying to find the killer. No real mini-games, easy junkpile HOG, music is annoying, not sure I'm going to finish it. Graphics are almost like comic books, but that adds to the noirish backdrop. There are better games of this genre, wouldn't waste my time again here.
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ho hum.. I might have been more patient if the game had been pretty. Urban decay settings and psychiatric hospitals make grim viewing - add a serial killer storyline and it all looks like I have done it before. It is not bad, but those ugly greens put me in a bad mood. The game sprawls a bit, and there is quite a bit of backtracking. Still, it is a reasonably decent game.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice concept Graphics were ok, music had its moments. Couldn't keep interested, some mini-games easy, others lacked instructions. Some scenes irrevelent to plot. Elevator was frustrating, lol. Decent length but I was glad it was over.
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Voice Acting Ruined it... I'm one who is picky about voice acting in games. If it's bad, it cuts down the immersion factor. The voice actress for the main character was downright horrible in her attempt at a Southern accent. Grated on my nerves. The others were lame too. I would have given 4 stars if it weren't for that. The graphics were okay, HO scenes were decent. At times the gameplay was illogical and just didn't flow well; backtracking became distracting. The story was alright. I like occult-themed games and this one was interesting.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jusst a few notes I played the demo and was really hoping to love this one. The hint button was very very slow in reloading. There was no map and only a journal. The music consisted of about 5 notes played over and over again. There was, also, a great deal of dialogue which I didn't mind. The HO's were not difficult and consisted of one or two interactive items. Actually, the story line appeared to be fairly decent but it needed to progress, IMHO, at a faster rate. Games appeared to be limited. I suspect there were more than what was presented during the demo. Advanced players would probably not care for this gamel I agree with the reviewer who gave it a three star rating.
Date published: 2012-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good story, shame about the game The story actually had something going for it, it was a shame about the game. The game, well...you get trapped into tutorial whether you want it or not, gameplay was a little dated, and it was quite frustrating trying to get things done. It's a real shame too, because as stated above, the story seems to be interesting...but that wasn't enough for me..
Date published: 2013-03-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Story Really Enjoyed following the Story in this game Sadly there was a lot i Disliked about the game 1)The custom curser was Horrid.. I disabled it 2)The music was monotnus thruout 3)The HO scenes had Far Too Many Dark Black places where objects were hidden If this game had a skip button for the HO scenes Or Better Yet no hidden object scenes at all i would have given it Four Stars
Date published: 2013-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the best game I did think I would enjoy this game but I found it rather boring and difficult to work out what to do with objects I'd collected before I could move on.
Date published: 2012-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not my kind I will not be hard on this game- I find it poor and boring- why it so hard to create good games?
Date published: 2012-11-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could have been good The graphics were average, sound average, puzzle difficulty slightly above average -- mostly due to the vague instructions. I played with most of the sparkles off, and finding some of the hot spots would have been impossible without the hint feature. I WAS interested in the story line, which was mysterious; however, it remained mysterious when the game ended rather abruptly. Ruined the whole thing for me.
Date published: 2013-12-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not good I played the demo and I really could not get into this game. The voiceover for the woman was terrible. Sounds like she is bored. The whole concept of the game was boring. Difficult to navigate thru...not smooth. You just have to play it for yourself...then decide. I taking this game off my play list.
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring I was not impressed with this game. Found the plot to slow and hints weren't helpful
Date published: 2012-11-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Gift Too many Cutscenes, the muic is repetitive and annoying. Please start making more games w/ more to do and less Cutscenes. I hate having to use my hour tial period dealing w/ cutscenes.
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful! I picked it up for a coupon. I should have played the free hour first so it is my fault. It was tedious and there were too many sweet spots. You know you have the right idea but if you do not click on the sweet spot exactly it just does not work. I disliked the graphics as well. I can't think of anything good to say about it. I delete it after twenty minutes and have no intention of finishing the game.
Date published: 2013-03-20
  • y_2021, m_1, d_23, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_16472, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Gift

Guide paranormal investigator Sarah Meiville through a classic noir adventure!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.