Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(510.47 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Exclusive bonus gameplay
  • Unlockable Morphing Objects
  • Beautiful screensavers & wallpapers
  • Exclusive behind-the-scenes video
  • Dynamic casebook and integrated Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1597 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(510.47 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition is rated 2.6 out of 5 by 844.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THIS GAME! I have played it so many times but love to play it over and over and over..................one of the best I think.
Date published: 2012-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Two Cents Worth! It's a pity that there are so many negative reviews because I thought that the game was very well done! Beautiful graphics - probably the best I've seen from BFG on this series! Lots of 'scares'; a little humour, (LOVED that book on auto repair!) and what I thought was a perfectly adequate SG! I'm only about 60% of the way through the game, but I'm loving it! The MCF series, (from RTR onwards), will be amongst my most treasured gaming 'possessions' for the rest of my life I think. Each year there is something new, (and something old!), and more challenging about the games - it's as if we're all 'growing' together. Can't wait to see what comes next year! Well done Big Fish!!
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! I'm surprised to read so many negative reviews of this game. I absolutely loved this one. Loved the comic performances by Lea Thompson and the reality show team. I was completely engrossed in the story. It could have been longer, but I think that's because I enjoyed the game so much I wanted it to go on longer. This is in contrast to Escape from Ravenhurst, which I finished but only because I had spent the money for it and so felt obliged. I was tired by EFR's overly serious atmosphere and the puzzles seemed tedious. Anyway, for Shadow Lake: I loved the variety of characters -- check out the credits, there were a lot of characters in this one. I loved the puzzles -- having the psychic ask you to find various objects for their psychic energy helped integrate the puzzles into the story. Graphics were beautiful. I loved the fog and the atmosphere. As others have said, this wasn't the most difficult game but it wasn't embarrassingly easy either. This was right up there with Dire Grove for me, if only it had gone on for a bit longer.
Date published: 2012-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did I play the same game?? Wow, I am SO surprised by the negative reviews on this one, because I'm here to tell you...it is AWESOME! I have not finished the game yet, so there is a possibility it turns horrible past where I am, but I kinda doubt that. What is most impressive about this game is the organic feel it has. By that, I mean it feels like you are actually trying to solve this mystery. It does make sense that you would have to look through several rooms to find a list of objects or that you would have to move stuff around to get things to look like they did. (I've played other HOG/Adventure games where you go to a place from history...and IT'S EXACTLY THE SAME AS IT WAS 100 YEARS AGO! Huh??) If you have to open a door, it makes sense that you would have to fix the lock, as opposed to doing some random puzzle. Or rewiring a fuse box by actually rewiring it, instead of playing some wire-based pipe puzzle. No, these aren't the hardest puzzles I've encountered in these games (EFR had one I didn't even know WHAT to do, much less how to do it), but they make sense in the story that's being told. And yes, the harder ones do have instructions, they just don't automatically pop up. You have to click the question mark. I found the hint system very helpful actually in that that's exactly what it was; a HINT. A push in the right direction. Its recharge time (on Casual anyway) was quite fast; there's nothing I hate more than being stuck and having to twiddle my thumbs waiting for the hint to recharge. And while there are some sparkles on Casual, they didn't scream at you like they do in some games. I've not had to use the Strategy Guide, but I did take a look at it, and I can see why some people wouldn't like it as it's not a straight-up walk-through. Like the hint system, it tells you enough so you can move on. I know this was an issue in EFR; but, like I suspect will be true in this case, I found it to be enough for my needs. I needed a STRATEGY to get out of the spot I was in, and it gave me that. In some ways, I like it a lot better than a straight-up walk-through; I just finished the CE of "Redemption Cemetery: Grave Testimony" and it has a walk-through as its strategy guide. When I did use it, it was really kind of frustrating and confusing to try and figure out where I was and what I was missing, especially since the walk-through didn't always go in the exact same order I did. Flipping right to a picture of what I'm looking at and giving me a hint? Honestly, that's all I'm looking for. The art style is different than the previous MCF games; instead of Victorian postcards we have a very photo-realistic environment. Again, that makes sense in this being an organic-feeling game. It works well, and I like it. I like the journal this time around. It flips right to where you need to be and actually records stuff you need to remember (as opposed to EFR; the journal was the biggest fail in that game). The music and the sound effects are very good at setting the mood; it's been a long time since a game has creeped me out this much. The live-action actors are well integrated into the game; again, it feels like you're there, as opposed to being pulled out of the action in a cut scene. My only real complaint about this game (I'm sorry to say): Lea Thompson. While she is better than your average no-name video game actor, her performance is still rather stiff and stilted. Maybe she gets better later in the game, but so far, I'm not impressed. If you're expecting another "Return to Ravenherst" (and I love that game too!), you're probably going to be disappointed. What we have here is a true adventure game with some HOG and puzzle elements; if you go into it expecting that, I think you'll really like it. Overall, I would say Big Fish and MCF have done it again: they've pushed the Point-and-Click Adventure/HOG/Puzzle genre to the bleeding edge of concept and technology and showed us a good time while they were doing it. I can't wait to get back to playing it!
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you LOVE SUDDEN SCARES, This game is for you, I REALLY dont understand why the LOW reviews, Forget about them. I seriously dont understand how so many have rated this low. I bought the game anyway even with the reviews. I read some that had more positive things to say and even though the demo only had a couple spooky things, if you like SUDDEN SCARES like things jumping up at the screen and fast shadows shutting a door to a room as soon as you go into another, BUY THIS. I LOVE games that have sudden scares every so often, like something jumping at the screen when you come in a room or looking in a camera or mirror or window and something jumping up or quickly appearing out of no where. I really really am shocked by the low reviews by so many but there are alot of high reviews too. There is much more to the game than what the DEMO holds, If you like sudden scares Believe me. I also loved the real actors and I like Leah Thompson to begin with but even if she wasnt in it the game is great in my opinion,. NOT sorry I bought it in the least. I am midway through the game and going to bed at the moment, have to get up early, heading to my grandmothers for Thanksgiving dinner so I cant play anymore tonight. Defiantly playing more tomorrow night when it is dark o its more creepy and will have my speakers up. I recommend the game very much and even though I know you cant please everyone, and all no game has 100 % great reviews, but I honestly dont understand the number of 1 and 2 stars. AGAIN, if you LOVE SUDDEN SCARES every so often, this is the game. I literally a couple of times each location jumped back and uttered certain words I will not type on this review, when stuff happened.
Date published: 2012-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Enjoyed This Game! In spite of all the negative reviews, I enjoyed this game. I found it challenging and fun. Loved the beautiful graphics and entry effect into the different scenes. Big Fish Studios always create the best Hidden Object games.They are always a step up from everyone else. That was my experience with this game....another step up!. It is truly a Mystery Case Files game. It has a touch of a "live" Madame Fate with the live actress who is the psychic that helps the "Detective" solve the mystery. I thought she was great. I did not find it disappointing at all, but fun. It was nice to have the "interactive" relationship with the character. It really made me feel like I was an actual detective, lots of things I had to figure out on my own. Loved the "How much is that Doggie in the Window song-great effect and the old VW! It was worth waiting for..Big fish knows how to incorporate new technology "creatively" in all their games and how to make them different from the rest. Looking forward to the next Mystery Case Files game..do we really have to wait a whole year for the next one? Thank you for this game and the MCF games you have yet to create!
Date published: 2012-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What is all of the complaining about? Really people ! The last thing we need is yet another review, right. Well I could not resist. I live in Maine in a town next to Biddiford Maine. I was laughing from the start. They even used the Maine zip code series. I love that attention to detail. I suspect someone on the staff is from Maine. That aside, I think this is a great game, funny, full of little touches that make it special. I loved the acting, the map, the story, the strategy guide. The whole thing. I think it is a shame that so many of the reviewers chose to pick the game apart instead of relaxing and enjoying it. If this game had come from a different developer everyone would have raved about how innovative it is. But because Big fish has raised the bar so high, they have created this atmosphere of judgement around their games. Well guess what, they are one of the best developers out there and they are in the US for a change and we should all appreciate the efforts they have to go to make such great games for all of us at a bargin price. I for one loved the game and love BFG. Sorry negative reviewers, perhaps you want to go back to mediocre games but I do not.
Date published: 2012-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm not disappointed While my purchase was downloading, I went to read the reviews and was amazed at the amount of early comments being so negative. I'm not sure what others expected, but I found in this game exactly what I expected from BFG. I didn't beta nor trial... I just bought the game immediately because I trusted that any game carrying the MCF badge would be excellent. I'm not disappointed !!!!! I don't find Cassandra annoying, I don't find the gravity puzzle piece joining troublesome. I really like the opaque overlay aspect from EFR, and I really appreciate the effort applied to creation of having to search multiple locations for the HO inventory items. The video portions fit perfectly into the game and I'm spending lots of time immersed in the individual cut scenes as there is so much to appreciate. I'm one to strive for perfection and I don't care now long it takes me. This 9th installment will have the same replay value as the others (though RTR will remain my all-time favorite). Love, love, love the hint as to the 2013 theme. Coincidently, this month I replayed Huntsville, Prime Suspects and will get back to finish replaying Madame Fate after Shadow Lake is done... I figure that'll be in 5-7 days :)
Date published: 2012-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Let's be fair Truly this is a CE game but its CE aspects (extra bonus game, wallpapers, etc) aren't worth the name, BUT the game itself was released as part of a promotion giving you the chance to buy any CE at half price. Played well, this promotion can make the real price you end up paying for this game more close to an SE's. In addition the game itself is a really interesting experiment towards what I could name Interactive TV. Really good quality spots of real actors acting, a new way of hidden objects chasing across several scenes and areas, spotting areas to match across several locations and most importantly fitting logically with what is going on with the story. The story itself ties in very well with the game. All the elements work together and provide a new level of immersion that sets new standards in the HOG genre. Because of its immersion I found that the fact that it didn't have achievements to chase was actually good. The whole game took me more than eight hours to complete so I found its length very satisfying too. In my opinion the game is worth the CE price despite not having the CE additions of other games and a lot of the criticism it receives is because of the attempt to fit it in what is usual for other games with which however it does not belong to the same category. I recommend that you try it and see for yourselves.
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trial this game before trusting the negative reviews Everyone has different tastes and preferences, but I thought this game was excellent. It was very engrossing and I like the fact that the hidden objects were truly hidden and you had to find them in the area (more like real life). I also congratulate Big Fish Studios for creating games more like the "high end" adventure games of the past. A lot of thought, creative development, and apparent cost went into the making of this premium game. At least give the trial a run before making up your mind.
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SCARY FUN FROM MCF!!! Let me begin by saying that I believe MCF's Dire Grove, 13th Skull, Return To AND Escape From Ravenhearst are some of the most creative, enjoyable, well-designed games of their type out there. The production value is high, the level of care is obvious, and the heart of providing quirky, fun, brain-teasing delight is felt with every new development within the games. I have been SUCH a fan of this series, and I am not going to turn away now! MCF's SHADOW LAKE is a solid installment bringing with it the largest cast ever, beautiful graphics, outstanding sound effects and music, terrific story, and more than a few good scares. The new addition of having the HOS branch out into several locations / rooms was a load of fun, and the continuation (from ESCAPE) of having players find particular scenes was a welcome addition. I also found the bonus location and the unlocking morph objects clear and quite enjoyable. The new dynamic of building moving scenes was refreshing and fun! -- people who are complaining about this are clearly not able to use a mouse well. What I don't understand is why so many people are so negative. It is clear to me that lots of effort went into this 9th edition of MCF. I completely appreciate the love and care -- I enjoy being entertained well, and they have succeeded once again! The only problem MCF really has now is that they have produced so many spectacular games that they can't help but make one that doesn't please as well. But I think it is awfully rude and unfair to judge them harshly or to sugggest that this game is not anything but excellent! Compare this game to ANY other game on Big Fish and it will rise to the top ten on your list, surely! I paid for the collector's edition because I believe in supporting the artists/cast/writers/programmers that worked so hard to make this creepy bit of fun! Thank you, Big Fish and MCF. Your work is appreciated so much. Please don't be discouraged by ungrateful, negative people. My only comments towards constructive criticism are: 1. longer, please 2. be mindful of keeping gameplay fresh and non-repetitive 3. interaction with live characters was really fun in 13th Skull; could we have more of that next time? 4. the tried-and-true "hero's journey" formula works well for strong stories; perhaps using it as a backbone for your next adventure would please more naysayers. Again, thanks to BF and MCF for producing outstanding games!!!
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Hidden Object Game! I have been fan of every MCF games since the beginning. Now i enjoyed this latest release alot! Can't wait for the next installment! Thanks for the great game
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puzzled at the Poor Reviews It's not often you see a game with such a variety of reviews. After reading several I decided to give it a try for myself and ended up buying it. I've felt that HOGs have become somewhat stagnant. This game does some new things that brought some life back into the genre. You are still given a list of objects, but they are not all in one place and you can move through a couple of "rooms" before you find everything. This made it a little more challenging - and frankly, I'm tired of finding everything on a list in less than a minute. Live actors made it kind of fun. I've seen a few games do it well and this one is no exception. The puzzles aren't really difficult, but things you need seem to be found in logical places and do sensible things. I have not yet had to trim a bush with a lobster (as in another game) - which I felt was really silly. Kudos to the writers and developer for trying some new things!
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Terrific Game One thing you can count on...each MCF breaks new ground in technology and presentation. It's always a wonder to me how they continue to amp up the puzzles with new styles. I found the story engrossing and interesting. Matching the drawings with the scenes was fun and I found varying my strategy made it easier at times. I really liked how the HOs were completed across scenes instead of just digging through piles of stuff. Am I dense? It took me all day to get through the game, playing non-stop! Another winner, devs! And for players looking for the same old thing, this is not it.
Date published: 2012-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refreshingly unique I downloaded the game as soon as I saw it. Before I had a chance to play it, I kept seeing all these negative reviews and thought I'd be disappointed too. Thankfully, I have found the game to be amazing so far! The hi-definition visuals are excellent. I also like the story line. The game requires some reasoning skills, but I enjoy that. I love MCF!
Date published: 2012-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Fun MCF Game! Something different! I do not understand the low rating and the negative reviews for this latest edition of MCF. I'm sorry, but I've been a fan since Huntsville and each installment has greatly improved the game. I don't understand if people out there are resistant to change or what. Yes, be warned, this is not the usual MCF. But why should it be? The developers are trying new things to keep these games fresh. I, for one, don't want to see them give up or go back to the old ways. Each game is fun for different reasons and this one is just as good as the rest. First, the live actors. I heard complaints before when The 13th Skull came out. I love the addition of live actors and video feed. As I stated in my review of The 13th Skull, you solve puzzles and are rewarded with video to uncover the story. It goes back to the early CD-ROM craze of The 7th Guest. I love them. I feel it adds to the story and makes it "come alive." The next complaint, "this game is too dark and morbid." I think after nine games we've established that in MCF you play a detective that solves supernatural crimes. There are other light and fun games out there. I believe you should know what you're getting into by now. And I enjoyed the spooky atmosphere, the visuals look great and I jumped at visual scares quite a few times during this game. It was great fun. But there is also plenty of humor too. The in-jokes are great. I think there's a nice balance. Some feel the video and actors are too corny, but that just adds to the charm. One review states that Lea Thompson seemed to not get into her role. I disagree. She looks like she's having fun. It's a game, you get to ham it up. Cassandra's character is used as a vehicle for game play. People say she gets annoying, but once you start playing the game, you realize the pattern it takes. Cassandra's character just gives you an excuse to find hidden objects and pictures. It's a story telling device to give you a reason to find hidden objects. And this time around, the developers made the bonus chapter a bonus game. But you don't have to wait to the end to play it. Some complained there are no morphing objects. That's not true. During the game, you have to play the bonus feature to unlock the morphing objects. Then you get to find 50 objects during the rest of your game. There is no bonus chapter, but a nice "behind the scenes" video when you complete the game. The puzzles were enjoyable and just hard enough without being overly complicated like some past MCF. And instead of only one scene to find hidden objects, some are spread out in two scenes or more. For people who think this is too complicated, keep some things in mind: if you open a closer view screen during a hidden object quest, you will automatically be sent out of it when you find all the objects inside it. And as long as there is a hidden object list visible, you know you have to continue to search in those rooms with the list. Once you hit or back out to an area and your list disappears, you know you strayed too far. And as for the morphing object scenes, there is one in each new scene you enter. If you keep all these tips in mind, game play is pretty smooth. I enjoyed the story line. True, you can pretty much guess where it's going early on, but I don't think it takes away from the game. All in all, I thought this was another great MCF game. I loved the live action, the puzzles and the new format. It gave the game a few different twists but when you look at the whole picture, it's still the same game we've been playing just with a few more bells and whistles. When I first started the demo, I had to stop. I too thought this game was awful and the whole way it works seemed odd. But once I devoted some time and got a feel for how it works, it become very intuitive and I had a ball. I play these games very slowly and Shadow Lake kept me entertained for about a week. I applaud the new developments and look forward to seeing what the designers come up with next! Please don't be too quick to judge this game. It's just as fun as the rest. Enjoy!
Date published: 2012-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic all over! Yes! Yes! Yes! Being a huge fan of the Mystery Case Files series I've bought this 9th one unseen the moment I saw it appear as the Tomorrow's Game Today. And it surely meets my high expectations! - Real actors doing a terrific job - Crystal clear graphics - A thrilling storyline - Interesting minigames - Excellent guidance by the Strategy Guide 5 stars out of 5 A game worth every dollarcent spend! Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2012-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW WOW and Wow! I can't believe a year has gone by and finally , just in time for my birthday, the new MCF game has arrived! After playing 30 minutes of the demo, I realise that the folks at MCF have come up with new game features and really upped the ante on Visuals and Sounds; no surprise there. Live actors who really act, stunning graphics, great sound effects and voice-overs. The storyline is creepy and enganging which I love. Detective out to investigate a cursed town and also assist Cassandra, the famous Psychic Detective. Lots of spooyeffects and startling moments. Are there somethings I would have changed? definitely! For one; what is up with that SG? It did put me off and I am not quite sure that I am liking it. The HO scenes are a bit bizarre and took a while to get use to. According to rumours, there are morphing objects but I have yet to spot one during the trial, therefore it will be a chanllenge to find them. There are puzzles and mini-games which are basic, not too hard but cleverly designed. Where are the achievment? That is a major disappointment because I love the achivements in MCF games. ALso the extras are locked which also has miffed me a bit. I can go on and on about what I liked or didin't. And I can imagine that there will be great discussions on this game in the days to come. However all I can say is; its MCF so obviously it is going to be a fantastic ride no matter what. During the demo, there are things that I loved and some game mechanics that took me time to get use to. So far from what I played, I dont think that this will be my favorite of all the MCF games, (my number one favorite is Return to Ravenhearst which in my opinion is one of the best games out there) but I am very much impressed with some of the technical features and the visuals in this game and am very anxious to see where this adventure will take me. Bravo to the MCF gang for something completely new and thank you BFG for starting our week with this surprise.
Date published: 2012-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome This is the best game I have ever played! Its got the best graphics and story line only one problem I can't find a game as fun as this one!
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from real new mystery case file I don't know about so many negative reviews but I love this game.It is a real mystery case files games. Loved the whole game. The only thing that wasn't good is the strategy guide. Not helpfull, and I could not find extras to play after I finished the CE.
Date published: 2012-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You've Outdone Yourself I think it is absolutely ridiculous how many people think this game is terrible, for a start of: yes okay you may have waited a year for it but be glad it's still coming, because one day they will stop! secondly i loved the way that Big fish studios used Lea Thompson to play a leading role it, and again, more people have complained about that, than the people whom liked it, I say it was wonderful that Lea Thompson was in it. Something i found very relaxing about this game was that for a year I thought it might not work considering the system requirements for Escape from Ravenhearst, but i was very pleased to see that it ran absolutely perfectly on my computer. I know it's only been out for a bit more than a week, but i am stuck near the end and i do like how they get harder every time. I'm not complaining about any other Mystery case files game but in Return to Ravenhearst, some graphics when it came to people were not so good, especially the bit where you go into Victors house and he's on the chair, but escape from ravenhearst was a lot better considering most the real people were on tv or in a tube, but Shadow Lake has really outdone itself when it comes to real people acting and special effects. Another thing i liked which is absolutely fine if nobody else did but i loved the way there were more puzzles and less finding objects, because i always did prefer the more puzzly ones, which is why until shadow lake, 13th Skull was my favorite, but now Shadow lake is my all time favorite mystery case files game. Now just my last point, my favorite bits of all the mystery case files games were and still are the scary and creepy bits. Thank you big fish studios, Thank you Lea Thompson and Thank you all the rest of the crew who stared in or made Mystery Case Files Shadow Lake.
Date published: 2012-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hope it doesn't get lonely at the top I didn't think it would be possible to create an even better game than Escape from Ravenhearst, but MCF managed to do just that with Shadow Lake. Hat's off to MCF! Not only are the graphics absolutely astounding (really draw you in), but it's the whole atmosphere of the game that is so excellent. I think they can make me feel just about anything and I have a sneaking suspicion they know exactly how I feel during the game, which ranges from cheerful to terrified (I love it!). The storyline is brought in a highly dynamic way, great presentation. And then there is the overall care for detail, which I have never seen so much in any other game. I want to recommend this game to everyone! Hey MCF, here's a fan for life. Greetings, Freckles
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this game! I play a LOT of HOG's & adventure games....Including MCF and I really am enjoying playing this game. It is really different. That is a GOOD thing people. The actors are excellent...way above standard. Story is interesting. IF I had to find something...it would be the Strategy Guide. It is all pictures...with arrows etc. Happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm really enjoying this game :-) Unlike some of the other reviews I'm actually loving this game. I've played all the Mystery Case File games on Mac and loved them all and this one is the best yet! The graphics are beautiful, you can always tell the graphical and animation/live action quality of MCF, way above the others. Music is wonderfully eerie (try playing with headphones). The acting is great and the storyline is intriguing and fun, if a little spooky (I've jumped a few times at some of the faces popping up... boo! ). Unlike a lot of hidden object games, that are rather random with the things you have to find, the things you have to find all makes sense within the game. I also like that the hidden object games are spread over more than one location and the extra pictures and objects to find all add to the story. All in all a great game, atmospheric and challenging and a joy to play. Thanks guys and keep up the good work :-) xxx
Date published: 2012-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never disappointed with MCF! Whenever I see a new MCF, I don't even play the demo; I buy it. At first, I was frustrated because of some bugs, but the help page cleared those up instantly and I had no problems once I made the changes it recommended. Warning: this game is not as hard as previous MCF's. I was surprised by that, but it did not make the fun factor any lower. I still love the integration of live actors with computer gameplay and believe the MCF series does this far better than any other game. I'm surprised the game is being rated lower than previous MCF's and I can only guess it is due to the challenge level. However, I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this game to any MCF lover. Brilliantly done, great graphics, unique gameplay, great storyline, and overall, a fantastic play. Enjoy!
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO TERRIFIC IT'S HARD TO WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE Very good production values. The MCFs keep getting better and this is the best one yet. They’ve come a long way since Huntsville. You can play casual or expert modes, in high definition and with subtitles. You have separate volume controls for sound effects and the environment. Music is relaxing. You have a map and a case book which lists your tasks and your notes on the case. For once, we have cutscenes with good live actors who act and sound natural – it’s about time! Delve into a good well thought-out and interesting plot. Adding the ghost hunters is good -- more mystery is added as to why they took off so fast, while leaving quite a bit of their equipment behind. Very good graphics.
Date published: 2012-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Enjoyable Game I can't believe how many stars this game has. I think it should be at least 4 stars, if not 5 overall. The graphics are good, the music is good. The hidden object scenes have more items that you would likely find in these areas than obscure things. The storyline is creepy, and I do want to find out what happened to the town. I don't understand why people are complaining about the price. This is a quality game and should be enjoyed by more people. The star rating will put a lot of people off. Try it and see if you enjoy it. Everyone is different, it might just surprise you! It reminds me a lot of The Women's Murder Club games so if you liked them, you will like this.
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An unmissable Mystery Case Files installment! 10 out of 10 for this installment of Mystery Case Files. If the series was excellent before, now it got even better with this superbly conceived gem of a game. Real actors, good acting, exceptionally crisp graphics and videos, a real life map, difficult mini puzzles, a clear strategy guide, all of it polished up to the extreme. I love it!
Date published: 2012-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It! I mean, I can tell everyone is comparing this one to the other MCF games but, really the graphics are awesome and it stars someone that's an actual well known actress, so yes, it's not up to the normal par as MCF gameplay goes but loved Lea Thompson and other graphics!
Date published: 2012-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Adventure Game! I don't understand some of the negative reviews on this game. Possibly gamers wanted more HO scenes or maybe because it was so different and not what they are used to. I enjoy playing adventure games. MCF Shadow Lake gave me just that an adventure game with lots of sleuthing and exploring. Game interaction was superb. Loved the mini games and the lack HO scenes and mindless clicking to get one useful item. I especially liked going into Cassandra's trance and fitting all the picture pieces together, as well as, matching the puzzle piece drawings throughout various scenes. The cut-scenes were done very well. Liked that the developers used real actors. About the only thing I thought was a bit hokey was that I felt Lea Thompson overacted Cassandra's character a bit too much. Although...it did not distract from the game in any way. All I can add is thanks to BFG on another fantastic MCF game. Can't wait for the next one.
Date published: 2012-11-25
  • y_2020, m_2, d_16, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_844
  • loc_en_US, sid_16158, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.