Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(510.47 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Exclusive bonus gameplay
  • Unlockable Morphing Objects
  • Beautiful screensavers & wallpapers
  • Exclusive behind-the-scenes video
  • Dynamic casebook and integrated Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1597 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(510.47 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition is rated 2.6 out of 5 by 839.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game rocks, No matter what is said. I loved that this had so much cinema and video to watch in this game. Ive seen so many negative reviews, but Ive played this game completely through and found it was EPIC, close to Dire Grove and 13th Skull, MCF games are always on my favorites list. This game was creepy, challenging, long, beautiful, fulfilling on all levels of game play. I will play this again next year. The only negative I had is that there is NO bonus gameplay in the sense that most CE games have this after you complete the main game. It is loaded with lots of bonus stuff but not in gameplay. I wanted an extra chapter which is why I buy CE games especially MCF games. I am surprised they did not include it. Either way, I am still satisfied with this wonderful and creative game. No one would be disappointed in this thing. I hate seeing it have 3 stars, It deserves 5. Loved the acting, love that they use real actors. I was immersed in this, as was my daughter. Buy this, it is worth it, as all MCF games are.
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kept Me Busy for Hours!! I liked how realistic this game was. I also found it more challenging then other games I've played. I would definitely recommend this game to anyone who has enjoyed the other Mystery Case Files games.
Date published: 2013-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun minigames Good Acting I play a lot of BigFish adventure games and so far I like the Mystery Case Files Dire Grove and this one the best. I really like the video footage used in game (it reminds me of Gabriel Knight 2, for those other old-timer gamers here) and they got Lea Thompson to do the main role as a wacky clairvoyant, which was a lot of fun. I also liked the minigame where you put together puzzles of a looping video, as well as a game to match features in different rooms to little scraps of photos. Fun! There were enough little booga-booga scares to make it spooky and fun. I highly recommend this game if you like the above features in a game. Great job, Mystery Case Files!
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mystery case files ever I've played so far I really enjoyed playing this game. The hidden objects were little different but I loved that. I loved the actor Cassandra who helped me throughout the investigation. I am extremely impressed whoever has designed this game. This game had sudden scares too. I really loved the puzzles in this game and I loved the videos which were after each jigsaw puzzles. Also I wanted to let the mystery case files know that ignore the people whoever has given one or two stars. It is really impossible, I can't believe that people who has given this exciting game one or two stars have no idea that how big fish has worked hard to make this game exciting for us. I am really frustrated that there are lot of negative reviews in this game. IT IS REALLY UNBELIEVABLE. Again mystery case files company, KEEP UP THE VERY GOOD AND INTELLIGENT WORK AND IGNORE THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS. PLEASE DO NOT BE UPSET OR SAD FOR THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS AND KEEP MAKING THESE MYSTERY CASE FILES EXCITING. Today I've finished this game and I'm really hoping to get another mystery case files this year 2013.
Date published: 2013-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Mini Movie Adventure I have seen all the bad reviews about this game and almost did not download it. I am glad I did not heed to those. This is a great game. You have real life actors, not animated characters. It's like participating in a movie! It was awesome!. There need to be more of these type games. I am not a HO game person and as a matter of fact despise them. My eyesight is horrible and so that makes it that much more frustrating to get through one. If you like HO, great, there are a billion out there to enjoy, but don't pick apart something that there should be more of -real life actors with puzzles mixed in. I totally recommend this game especially if you enjoy movies.
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top notch My fave of the Big Fish games so far. New effects and puzzles add a cool element. And having Lea Thompson as the lead is a special bonus.
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best MCF Yet :) Throughly enjoyed this game. Best MCF game yet.
Date published: 2013-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best game This is the best game ever!! I'm searching a game like this since the x-files on psx. This game makes you think by reading the clues not just collect them and use them. It's challenging, little more dificult than the others and it can last little more time (usualy this kind of games you finish them in a very short time) and most of all Real pictures and actors, not only comics and 3Ds, although i would prefere if the intire game was made only with real things . Keep on the good work.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought this game was the most fun yet! I've seen how a lot of people write how disappointed they are in the picture quality and the scene's aren't as colorful as they usually are. I believe the complete opposite, the storyline is set to have happened many years earlier so it shows the sign of age and also gave off an eerie feel to it. I enjoyed playing it and loved seeing a main celebrity involved with the game. It was challenging enough for me and was easy to navigate because of the map...most of the other MCF games the detective is walking everywhere and makes me tired just playing the game lol. Thank you MCF and BigFish for giving me something different.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It! I am not sure what some other folks are complaining about! I found this game to be Excellent. I loved the reality visuals and the Real People acting in it. If only they made more games like this instead of low level artists drawing. Do not get me wrong, I love Good Art in games when its Well Done! Which not all games offer that. I found the story line to be excellent and intriguing and it kept me going, excited to know what my next task was and what was going to happen next. Some folks might be complaining because they may have found it too easy. I would tell those people to get over themselves! Not everyone is like you and has the same opinion! You can tell that a lot of work went into making this game and the least you could do is show some appreciation. Generally I found the game to be Excellent and Fun. I really liked the storyline and the game play. Definitely a 5 star rating in my books! I wish they would upgrade and take on phantasmagoria (another game which also has real actors in it) because I would buy that in a second.
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So much fun This game requires you to listen, and the fact that it has real actors in it is a complete bonus! I actually thought I wasn't going to have to use the walk through to help me, but I really did get stuck. This game is awesome, well made, and I look forward to all the new games Mystery Case Files comes out with!!!
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent this game is great. I haven't finished the game, but so far its been very enjoyable. Nice visuals and sound quality and the use of the hidden object sceens are nice change. I would recommend this game
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eclectic Game This game had a little bit of something for everyone! Hidden object scenes that weren't overly simple or terribly difficult. Morphing objects. Interesting cut scenes. Not sure why so many are complaining. They can't all be RTR.
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome This is the best game I have ever played! Its got the best graphics and story line only one problem I can't find a game as fun as this one!
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST hidden object game I've ever played I've played many games here, especially hidden object games, where there doesn't seem to be any rational reason for why you're finding certain objects in random places. But this game is quite different. The storyline is FANTASTIC. A MUST PLAY for any fan of the paranormal, or anyone who enjoys a challenge. I wish every game were as enjoyable as this one. This is the first time I've been inspired to write a review, it was that good. I've been a member here for years, and this is by far, the best game I've played here.
Date published: 2012-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Are we talking about the same game? I've played the CE version for about two hours now. I love it..the graphics are excellent...the morping objects and live actors add additional fun to the game.True some of the hidden objects are small, but that just makes it more challenging. The puzzles seem to get harder as the game progresses. By all means...get the CE version, it was fun figuring out how to open the safe and unlock the morphing objects. WE NEED MORE GAMES LIKE THIS!!!!
Date published: 2012-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good spooky MCF fun The game is as good and interesting as all other MCF games but it's different and innovative. I finished the game without using hints (on hard mode# in about 7 hours. The story and tasks are logical and though the overall difficulty is average I had to use my brain to find out how to solve some puzzles #no instructions make it more like a "real life" investigation#. The graphs and voice overs are well done and I loved spooky visual and sound "special effects". The game has HOS and morphing objects but you have to unlock this feature first. A good idea and well integrated in the game. I liked the original visualization of psychic readings as moving fragments to be put together. There were two things I didn't like about the game #CE#: the bonus game turned out to be nothing else than to find 50 morphing objects and in my opinion it was/ should be just a part of the game so practical there was no bonus chapter. The other thing was the annoying personage of Cassandra. What a waste of a good actress to portrait a gifted psychic as a theatral weirdo! Nevertheless I enjoyed the game so much that I give it 5 stars and I can't wait to "be detective" in the next MCF.
Date published: 2012-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MCF Didn't Disappoint! I thought this version of MCF was fantastic! I think it brought back a bit of the old school with a map layout and challenge at the end of a certain task to continue (piecing of the puzzle), but also brought in the elements of the new. I loved the hidden object being expanded to multiple areas of the current location. I have read some of the reviews that said the morphing object didn't work until the end. I didn't have that problem, once I unlocked it (fairly early in the game) there were objects in the next location. I thought the story line was great and kept me interested. Hours of game play I thought was average for MCF. Personally I like this one better than the last release and I hope they continue with this layout. To me it didn't disappoint :)
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fun and scary for all ages me and my family played this game and we enjoyed all the creepy and scary things that happened in the end of the game was the shocker and the best plot
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyed this Game I really enjoyed playing this game. Would liked to have see more of Jack .... he was hilarious.
Date published: 2012-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BayBay36 WOW.... Just finished playing and loved it! Once again, Patrick Wylie and his team bring complete joy. Loved the new perspective on the game and, very exciting to have a professional actress playing a role. Thank you Big Fish, Wylie and the Team!!
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this game its very interesting,and very mind thinking. the fun hidden object game is very thoughful and good for others who love to search for interesting things.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Fun Adventure Game I have played all of the MCF games from the first Ravenhurst on and I have to say this is my favorite. I really enjoyed the new puzzles and strategies (eg matching the drawings to locations, finding objects from the HO lists in more than one location) as I am much more a fan of adventure games than straight HO games like Madame Fate. The story line kept my interest (i played most of the game on my day off to find out what happened next) and I thought the live acting was fine. I think Lea Thompson did a good job with a script that required her to do a fair amount of " scene exposition" and the Ghost Patrol was perfect! I cannot comment on the Strategy Guide because I did not use it. I found the challenge level to be a good fit for me; the puzzles were not all easy but not so hard that I quit in frustration. I think if you are looking for a a more old school HO game or one with tough individual "mind-bender" puzzles this game will disappoint but if you enjoy story-driven adventure this is worth the price of admission.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great amazing game. the revolving mini game through me off. had to skip. very good graphic. too much running around but thanks for the map. an unusual game. enjoyed it well. very different. know they'll be another. can't wait. i'd buy. it's well worth it. i do recommend it.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Real actors! Excellent acting by Lea Thompson. Transport map, great hint system. The psychic reading puzzles were a bit bizarre and hard to figure out. HOS had insets that somewhat hard to see, but otherwise a great game. No bonus chapter. 5 hours casual.
Date published: 2012-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best game in the whole year 2012. I have waited so long for the next game in the MCF series. And the it was worth the wait. Mystery Case Files Shadow Lake is a perfect game for me. The sounds and the graphics are the best. Very detailed and the sounds are very good done. The story is a quite different one from the other games, but I really like creepy, mystic stories. Changing the locations by a map is something new, but I liked it. The auto drawings reminded me of the door tokens in escape from Ravenhearst. I'm happy that they were in this game again, The only thing that wasn't so good was the leve of challenge. The puzzles were good. Difficould and easy puzzles appeared in the game. But the HO Scenes were very easy. It seems the devs forgott to hide the objects. But Mystery Case Files Shadow Lake for me is a very, very good game. I can't wait for the next game.
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent almost all around This game was excellently done. I experienced sync issues with video and sound but it didn't take away from the experience. Keep it up guys!
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More adventure than hidden object I'm surprised at all the complaints about this game. The visuals are beautifully done, and mesh well with the video scenes. The HO scenes are randomized, and spreading the items to be found between several screens is a nice touch that moves the difficulty level up a notch. I'll admit I missed the Master Detective's commentary in her diary, and most of the puzzles aren't very hard. The game is linear, you can't enter an area until Cassandra gets a vision. The picture-only strategy guide isn't as informative as it could be; I hope the dev team will either allow scrolling through the SG or actual words for the next game in the series. There's some plot threads left hanging. We find out why Jack Talon has his arm in a sling, but not why the "Ghost Patrol" left presumably-expensive equipment behind. (And not just the stuff left behind so the Master Detective could use it either.) Overall, though, it's a worthy (if a bit easy) entry in the MCF series.
Date published: 2012-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from real new mystery case file I don't know about so many negative reviews but I love this game.It is a real mystery case files games. Loved the whole game. The only thing that wasn't good is the strategy guide. Not helpfull, and I could not find extras to play after I finished the CE.
Date published: 2012-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I ignored all the poor reviews. LOVED this game! Rarely do I review a game, but based on those that didn't like it, I have to say that it seems to be a case of follow the leader here! This game was excellent! I am so glad I didn't listen to the poor reviews because I found it quite entertaining and very well done, from graphics to video clips. It was so well thought out with a new twist to what the developers for MCF's normally create. I found it rather sad that some of the negative comments about the acting were such a big issue. This is a game for crying out loud... back off! Considering what it took to design the graphics around the actor I believe the acting was done as well as could have been. I loved the morphing items you collected at the end. It was a twist and quite the challenge to find them all which was very fun to do. I highly recommend this game, and I also believe it's one of thee top three of the year for Big Fish. Thanks again for another wonderful game.
Date published: 2012-12-05
  • y_2019, m_5, d_19, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_839
  • loc_en_US, sid_16158, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.