Cruel Games: Red Riding Hood

Cruel Games: Red Riding Hood

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(299.33 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A maniac has kidnapped a woman's fiance and cast her as Red Riding Hood in his twisted fairytale fantasy. Guide the resourceful young lady as she tracks the wolf, searching for clues and solving the puzzles that lie between her and her beloved. Will she reach the madman in time, or will the wolf have his revenge? Their fate is in your hands!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 679 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Cruel Games: Red Riding Hood

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(299.33 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Cruel Games: Red Riding Hood is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 98.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from enjoyable game but confusing end over all I really liked this game, relatively easy to play, hint button and map work well. finding is not too hard and you can click with out it getting mad at you. the only reason for a four over a five rating is the end. I was confused at the end and felt a bit let down. I am not sure what I actually accomplished or who the bad guy was. I had started the game, then left for quite a while before I was able to come back and finish so maybe I just forgot something from the beginning but I felt let down at the end. other wise a fun, enjoyable game. time well spent.
Date published: 2013-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark twisty fairytale This is based very loosely on Red Riding Hood. The storyline is interesting and there are HO scenes and mini games aplenty, none too difficult and the minigames are skippable in casual mode. At the end the heroine releases her hero from his imprisonment, but there's a plot twist that I won't reveal - suffice it to say everybody doesn't live happily ever after.
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Game Finished Review Different then that normal HO's the best extra games were at the end the rest were easy and places you went to do tasks sometimes left me confused but I made it through. Probably won't be on my list of play again sometime though. Good Luck Pond Friends,
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good HO game! Pretty challenging, having to work multiple areas at the same time. Like the story line, bringing different childhood stories together.
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great adventure game to relax with! This is a review of the full version. I played this game in expert mode(there's also casual) and was mildly challenged. I thought graphics were beautiful, and there were lots of scenes to explore. I liked that there was an interactive map that made it possible to jump between locations instantly, especially because gameplay is somewhat nonlinear. I did notice a few things I wasn't so happy with: some mislabelling of items during hidden object scenes and most annoyingly some objects to interact with that you just had to randomly click on because the game didn't tell you there was something to be done with them. The storyline was so-so; I didn't care for the ending at all! It seemed rushed and abrupt and left me with a lot of questions. But all in all, playing was a pleasure and I'm not sorry I bought the game!
Date published: 2012-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun easy game If you want fun, and easy game to kill the time, this is for you. it's short ,fun,has new things,and the story is good. the ending was not that great, but overall it's a nice game.
Date published: 2012-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Little Game! If you are wanting to sink your big bad wolf teeth into a HOG and you are a newbie to this genre this game will help you get started and hook you into shedding your wolf hairs for more. Heck I play HOG's all the time and found this game delightful. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2012-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little gem I Beta tested this game and really enjoyed it . Loved the Biker club ! It has just enough to keep your attention as the story moves you along to different locations It made a change for the story to be threatening without being nasty I know it may not be challenging enough for some ,but I suggest giving it a try you may be pleasantly surprised and enjoy playing it
Date published: 2012-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Updated (dark) version of Little Red Riding Hood! After the abduction of her fiancé, a woman is placed as Little Red Riding Hood character in a strange dark version of this fairy tale. Cutscene n the beginning is well done and attracts the interest of the player. Good graphics, very good VO (it is a pity that only in the beginning, after the dialogues are written), interestingly updated version of the story. The game is not challenging: many many HOS, not interactive, and the scenes are repeated. The mini games, although some are new, are quite easy. I did not need to use hint or skip. Various locations: begins in an old mansion, goes to town, ... but has much comes and goes. So much to do, but generally the objects are soon used and there is no doubt about where to use. The game entertains and amuses, but it could be much better if it was more challenging
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT ADVENTURE GAME Review of completed game. This is a great all-rounder adventure game and definitely worth playing. There is: * Voiceovers; * Casual and Expert modes of play; * Journal; and * Interactive map (which is inside the Journal). The graphics are pretty good and easy to find everything you need. There is plenty of colour and its not too drab or dull. The music kind of reminded of 1970s - lots of guitar and piano. I liked it. Each scene had a different piece of music. The hidden object games are straightforward and you do them twice. These are not hard to do and only take a couple of minutes to do each one. This is one of those games where there are lots of them, but I enjoyed them. The mini-games are fun. These had a good variety and none were too hard or boring. I did them all without becoming frustrated or annoyed. You will refer to the journal a lot because that is where you will find the answers on how to do some of the mini-games. There is not a lot of reading to do and you can refer to it very quickly and move on. The interactive map is inside the journal if you need to use it. All up the game took me about 5 hours to play during the week. I enjoyed it and was disappointed when it ended because I wanted to carry on. I know this is kind of an old school game, but it does have its good qualities and definitely worth having a look at. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Darn Good Actually! GAME COMPLETED TWICE I was thinking “Better Than Average”, but that sounds a little wishy washy doesn’t it? Actually, it’s really a great game to play. It is colourful and lively with a lot of activity in every scene, and a lot of excellent (though static) HOs. It is enveloped in a well-constructed story, is entertaining rather than hard, and quite lengthy. Technical quality is there, artistic talent pleasant without being earth-shattering. No voiceovers, just sweet little notes from the baddy, and a detailed journal. A serial killer has got your guy and is playing a cat and mouse game with you, leaving you nasty little notes, attached to clues and pieces of evidence that advance your search. No matter what you do or where you are, he always seems to be just one step ahead. This game involves a lot of seeking and finding, travelling through numerous locations and clearing dozens of HOs. So it is just as well you have the bad guy AND an interactive jump map to keep you on track. Unlike many games with similar stories, the gameplay is designed to remind you of the theme of the story, so fairy tale references pop up a lot. Puzzle and adventure experts steer clear; this is a game for casual relaxed play, not Master Mind. And now I think about it, there’s hardly any puzzles at all. Hmm. Didn’t even notice, I was having such a good time.
Date published: 2013-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Always A Happy Ending This game is a solid hidden object affair that doesn't do anything particularly spectacularly, but overall is quite enjoyable. The plot is that you are being taunted by a mysterious killer known as the Storyteller who likes to dress mannequins up in fairy tale roles as he performs his crimes. Standard creepy fare, but the game does a good job at revealing the surprises as you go. I wouldn't say you ever feel you're in imminent danger, but the tone is definitely on the suspenseful side. Standard hidden object scenes abound, and you'll revisit some more than once. You also have the added challenge of sometimes needing more than one piece of something in order to move forward. Minigames are about what you'd expect. There were some twists on the standard puzzles, but not enough to make them stand out for me. I played on the hardest difficulty level and the only real challenge is finding HO scenes with no sparkles after you've opened up the whole map. I enjoyed the settings in this game. You'll go through multiple run-down locations that have seen better days. Again, the art even in cutscenes is hardly eye-popping, but it's effective enough. Music is fine, although the noise made when selecting hidden objects sounded like a suction cup being removed. As usually seems to happen with games that aren't collector's editions, the ending was weak after the time invested in getting there. Backtracking was a bit excessive in the final stages, but you should get a few solid hours of gaming in on this. Overall, it was an interesting premise that mostly paid off.
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from pretty fun game to play Not a bad game. Some flaws. The skip button is really slow. Some of the puzzles are are easy and some are not because there is no real directions on what to do. The HOS are quite easy. You do keep going back to the same one so you know where everything is. Good music and graphics. No voice over. Good flow. You do go back and forth but all the games do now. Good game and worth playing.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FUN GAME ON TAKE-OFF OF THE FAIRY TALE Takeoff on the fairy tale by a criminal known as The Storyteller, who has signed the current case "The Big Bad Wolf." Mostly adventure. Fair amount of HOS. Music makes you feel the sense of urgency in saving your boyfriend from the Big Bad Wolf. What does he have in store for him? for you? The Wolf's left you a clue in a crypt in an infamous cemetery. Casual and Expert modes of play. You have an interactive map, as well as a journal that includes a lot of information, including background, that isn't apparent from the gameplay. Nonlinear game play. Visually pleasing graphics. HOS are not too crowded and objects are fairly easy to find. Fun game - t'was a must buy for me.
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Grimm Fairy Tale ! A psycho is on the loose and this time his victim finds herself in a twisted version of Red Riding Hood who needs to rescue her fiance from this serial murderer. A twisted tale that is definitely for adults only, with graphics that are dark and at times a bit grainy. The overall atmosphere of depravity and the insanity of our villain is enhanced by very good voice-overs and music which were very well done. Game features two play modes to chooses from and having selected Expert, I was delighted that there were absolutely no sparkles which made playing a lot more challenging. The game offers your standard gameplay with crowded HO scenes that are not interactive, a journal along with a map that does allow you to jump to locations. I found that the story was what really made this game interesting. If like me, you enjoy a cat and mouse game with a psychotic villian with a very twisted sense of humour, you will enjoy the game mechanics that involve seek and find inventory items, several HO scenes that you do need to play more than once and a selection of very interesting mini-games that I really enjoyed. I wish the developers would have include some extras like collectables or achievements which would have really up-graded the gaming experience. However, that being said, the story alone is what prompted me to buy this and I enjoyed battling wits with this paticular bad guy who I am anxious to find out exactly what his story is.
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simplicity at its finest Some would say not enough challenge. Others would say good pace for a lazy afternoon. The storyline is intriqueing. The graphics are clean and crisp. The hint system is decent and fills quickly. The map feature is interactive with the game. Be sure and finish the hour before you decide. These developers have a good reputation for an enticing game.
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good. . .just, plain good!! I haven't commented on any games in a while. However, I feel this little gem by our friends at Alawar is one of the few SE releases that is as good as - if not better than - many of the recent CE's. . .even the other Red Riding Hood game. Yet, after reading and demo'ing this one, I was hooked. I won't got into details because others before me have broken it down sufficiently; however, will throw in my two-cents that it's a worth-while game to sit back/relax with a cup of Joe, hot chocolate. . .or other. . .and get started. Mini-recap: A woman's fiance is kidnapped by a nut-case and you hunt for him.. .plain and simple!! Know, however, there are no major bells and whistles to this game, but there is enough to do/places to go. The hidden objects are not interactive, but because there's enough to do within the game itself, I - personally - found this to be a plus. There are no morphing objects or collectibles, although collectibles would've rounded the game out. Last, as a 'heads-up', keep in mind that there are items you will have to carefully scan for, even in the areas the magnifying glass enlarges, as they tend to look to be just another part of the scenery. Make sure that you carefully scan your cursor over every scene because I found that there were a few inventory items I almost missed, during the demo period, that should you miss them - and upon needing them - you'll be asking yourself, "Well, where was it? How did I miss it?" Very important!! Otherwise. . .very good game. Enjoy!!
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entrancing for a non-collectors game this one is very intriguing. the graphics and music are not over done. Girl dressed as Red Riding Hood is taken on a mystery experience of a life time. She has to rescue her guy from a mysterious "Big Bad Wolf." Has a map, but can't seem to go to the different locations by clicking on the map. Played all but 9 min of the free trial and decided to get the full game. Well worth the money.
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game. Good features Great graphics, simple story, clear HO games, love the jump map - I am a BIG fan of those, I hate wasting my time wandering back through 6 rooms just to wander back again - The games are a little easy to solve so if you like a huge challenge this isn't for you. I only wish it took a little longer - one more level would have made it perfect.
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No ordinary game First of all.. am I deaf or is this game has no sound and music at all? I thought it is my computer's fault, but I play other games with no problem. That is why I can only give 4 stars as I think it must be better to play with sounds. I have put the sound control until max and still nothing. It's like playing a silent game :( anyway other than that, this game is flawless. It's like a combination of both urban legends and fairy tales. I love the concept and the storyline flows nicely. The ending was a surprise, and it was great. I might play this game again and check whether the sound plays.
Date published: 2013-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not too challenging, but good game! This game was best with the storytelling. It kept me curious 'till the end. Furthermore lots of locations to go to and search through, the items I had to look for never were too small or too well hidden, the H0G screens were filled with story-fitting objects and not junkpiley. All in all a good game, worth to pay for and play. Only minor thing was the abrupt ending. Could have been a bit more satisfying, but maybe that's a good tip for the next game of this developer!
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What a great surprise! I was pleasantly surprised with this game. Graphics are nice and clear and so are the HO scenes. Has an interactive map that you can jet back & forth between locations which is a huge plus with me :) No annoying music diddlies or funky sound effects when you click on objects or areas; just a click type sound effect which is another huge plus with me. And the storyline was a typical rescue type situation but there is a surprise waiting which made it all worth while. (Don't want to ruin anything for those of you who haven't played yet) Overall, I enjoyed it much more than I thought I would even tho I think it could have been a tad bit longer. I definitely recommend this one. Happy gaming my fellow fishies :)
Date published: 2012-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice adventure HO game. Not over the top wild adventure game but it is a very nice game. Good graphics. Mini games are a little simple but fun. Can't think of anything bad about it but there's nothing spectacular either. If you want a fun adventure HO game without the pressure of some of the more intense games than you'll enjoy this one. Hour trial went by fast so I'm sure I'll buy it.
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Who's afraid of the big bad wolf ??? Played 15 minutes, casual - 2 modes, casual expert - Note book - Hint refills in 40 seconds - Ho, you don't interact, very dark, objects sometimes difficult to spot - Beautiful clear graphics - Didn't come across any mini game in the time I played. Your fiance is kidnapped by the big bad wolf !!! This looks like a very nice little game, a SE I will be able to spend a punch card credit on. A buy.
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from cruel games: red riding hood just played and enjoyed the demo will be buying full version I found hos games to be a little too much on the easy side. currently I don't rate it as good as red riding hood sisters most ppl will enjoy this game worth buying
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought I was finished with fairy tale games. Looks like I was wrong. This one pulled me in. I appreciated the outdoor scenes; a lot of games make me feel closed in and claustrophobic. I also appreciate a good story. I guessed the ending, but the writers did try to make it interesting. It could have been a bit longer, and I could have done with fewer (or none) of the the hidden objects scenes, but at least the scenes were well-designed and relevant to the story.
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cruel Games: Red Riding Hood Definitely back to basics with this game. Quite basic graphics, puzzles and HO scenes were very easy, and I didn't have to use a hint once throughout the whole game. Having said that though, I still thoroughly enjoyed it. I used a Free Game coupon to buy this, however I would have paid money as it was just a nice easy going fun game. Probably would have preferred a CE though as it didn't last very long. But I do recommend it to players who just want a casual game for a Sunday afternoon.
Date published: 2012-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Creepy It Is! Not exactly an outstanding game but I have to say the storyline is creepy but interesting and different. Anytime there is someone you're chasing after, you find yourself getting more and more immersed in the adventure. The scenes were well done, music was suitable and the mini games were pretty easy. Had to run around alot to figure out where to go next but hints are helpful and on casual mode quick to recharge. Pretty good twist on red riding hood story.
Date published: 2012-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cruel Games: Red Riding Hood For a Standard Edition, this is a really nice game. I enjoyed the demo so much that I purchased the game! I would have given a 5 star rating if the game was easier to navigate, it takes off in so many directions that at times I forgot what was required in other scenes. The story is about a deranged killer dubbed "The Storyteller" because he mimics different fairy tales such as Sleeping Beauty. The main character in this game is Red Riding Hood and a mysterious cloaked figure with a big bad wolf mask keeps taunting her with threatening notes, always one step ahead of her. The threats? The big bad wolf has vowed to kill her boyfriend Kevin if she doesn't fulfill his fairy tale fantasies. This game does get a bit tricky at times, each chapter has several different paths to take, each scene has directions to choose such as left to the docks, another right once you are there and yet another right takes you to the lighthouse. If you go back to the main scene you can go in several other directions so I suggest you use the hint button for directional hints which don't need to recharge. The hidden object scenes are just simple list finds with no interactions and most of the HOS are repeated. The mini game are fairly easy such as sliding angels along a hexagon path using the middle as a free space until all angels are in their matching slots. There are also puzzles such as repeating a short tune on piano keys and flipping switches in the correct order by trial and error. My favorite mini game was swapping different colored rings on a skeletons hand and the only directions given were to use the message on the skeletons breastplate as a clue to the placement of the rings. I don't want to spoil it but you need to think about the first letter of each word and in that order. Because of the multiple directions available in each scene there are a ton of inventory items to pick up along the way and use within other scenes. At one point in the game I had 17 different items in my inventory! It's not a blow your socks off kind of game but it is an entertaining game all the same, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from There are too many of these patterned love romances here. Going on an adventure from a desolate area -> Then onto a populated town with technology -> back to a desolate area where the story concluded with betrayal/trickery. Though some will love it for the various music, in my opinion, for a better Red Riding Hood adventure, stick with Blue Tea's Dark Parables version: http://www.bigfishgames.com/download-games/19266/mac/dark-parables-the-red-riding-hood-sisters-ce/index.html
Date published: 2012-12-23
  • y_2020, m_9, d_21, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_98
  • loc_en_US, sid_16523, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Cruel Games: Red Riding Hood

The wolf has returned and Red Riding Hood is in danger - but this is no fairytale!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.