Grim Tales: The Vengeance Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Grim Tales: The Vengeance Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(439.58 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

You’ve been summoned to court to provide testimony in a trial against your nephew James, who stands accused of murdering his sister. By using your power to learn an object’s history simply by touching it, you must examine evidence from the crime scene to determine what really happened to Elizabeth. Can you prove James innocent and find the real killer? As you explore the family mansion, a dark force is trying to cover up the truth! Watch your step, or you could be next! Follow the trail and crack the case in this thrilling hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus chapter featuring a new story!
  • Gather evidence to present at court!
  • Collect figures for more story info
  • Use the available Strategy Guide
  • Get soundtracks, concept art, and wallpapers

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1280 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1171 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Grim Tales: The Vengeance Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(439.58 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Grim Tales: The Vengeance Collector's Edition is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 82.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good murder mystery Murder mysteries being my favorite, this one does not disappoint. Bright, colorful, great graphics. Gameplay based on demo, and I decided to purchase it. Elephant has a very good track record and this one is definitely a keeper.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best Grim Tales Travel back in time to solve the mystery surrounding your nice and nephew. Who wouldn't love that ?? Did your nephew really kill his sister??? Is he the greedy monster wanting the inheritance from his parents just for himself ?? You have to find out. An exiting story line leads you to the solution , change history and bring finally peace to the families involved . Love the story , despite the family names got changed from the developer. Got really sucked in and played it from beginning to the end in one go. This is a game for beginners through to the expert players. Enjoy playing Grim Tales The Vengeance.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I could ovedose on grim games love it! I Love grim games, they are a work of art so beautiful! The castle décor is so warm and inviting. I don't want to leave! The Dobermans are scary in the intro with the haunting demon.You have to help her find her sister's murderer. The graphics are amazing including the HO's and puzzles. I am going to buy this game along with my other grim collections. I feel spoiled! You will be addicted to this game, block out the world and ENJOY!
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game i like this game i want more levels
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grim Tales: The Vengeance Collector's Edition Another great game in the series
Date published: 2015-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! Fantastic Game!! This game had everything for me ... the storyline was absolutely terrific, voice overs were great, graphics, clarity of design, HOG colorful - not too dark, game itself kind of spooky, even the puzzles were good...not too hard, but still a challenge - all of it just wonderful! An excellent well made game - the developers really thought this one out. And I might add, I loved the ending!! I could not stop playing this! I definitely recommend this game - it was so much fun!!
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice graphics - Really enjoyed this game This was a very fun game traveling to different parts of the persons past to collect clues. Enjoyed the play and the plot. Well done.
Date published: 2014-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and Challenging with a Unique Story All around great game investment. I enjoyed the story though there's not much in terms of character development or getting to know the characters. The other world elements add style and intrigue. Fun to work on the puzzles. A definite must to buy.
Date published: 2014-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thoroughly enjoyed this game! This game was a joy to play. I liked everything about it. The voiceovers were really good as well. The courtroom scenes were a great segue between characters. Great game! Elephant did a fantastic job on this one!
Date published: 2014-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grim Tales The Vengance ROCKS this game is excellent all around. held my interst the entire way through
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it's was so good so you play as a aunt and your nephew call saying he is being accused of murdering his sister which you don't think so anyway you go to the court offering to help solve his case and you go back time to find out what really happened. that's when you find out that something sinister was going and something to do with your family tree .i was so happy to play this game nothing wrong .i like it
Date published: 2014-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game if you can ignore the bad story As usual with this series, the graphics and music are top notch. However the game is marred by a poor and unengaging storyline filled with Deux ex Machinas, contrived situations and unsympathetic characters.
Date published: 2015-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game, Could Have Been Better Though I enjoy the Grim Tales series, and there is a lot to enjoy here, I feel I can't quite rave about this game like others have done. I found myself tired of the storyline at times, and there were far too many "fit the specially-shaped object into the impression to open the thing" puzzles to solve (it almost became comical by the end). Gathering items to solve puzzles and play games seemed arbitrary at times, too, like I have to go to this room across the entire castle to get one thing, to take it back to the other side of the castle, only to find something that I was looking for on the *other* side of the castle, etc. There is a map so the navigation is fairly easy, but I feel that these games are too good for these kinds of cliches. I like the "investigating the past" angle of the story, and there is certainly a lot to do in the CE (morphing objects, collectibles, multiple tasks in each part of the game, etc.), so you won't be bored! The HO scenes certainly don't overwhelm the action--I get tired of too many in a game, and this had just enough to be interesting. There's a nice lengthy bonus chapter, too. Overall, an enjoyable game.
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally something worthwhile After loading 4 or 5 demos and immediately uninstalling them I finally stumbled on this game. The graphics are amazing, puzzles fun and not a bad storyline. Well worth the price.
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Series gets back to basics This review is based on a complete playthrough of the game and bonus content. After swerving a hard right for Bloody Mary (a most enjoyable excursion, I must add), Grim Tales is back to the basic premise of the first installments of the game. First, as always, the bonus content (or Why should I pay double for this game?): The bonus game took me a good hour. It wasn't what I was expecting, in a good way. It did leave a bit of a feeling of 'series finale' at the end, which I hope isn't the case. The window is certainly still open. Plenty of morphs and achievements as well as the usual swag. The main game does end conclusively, so you won't feel cheated out of an ending if you go the SE route. Now for the game: THE GOOD: Back to the original formula with the family being the center of attention. Remember the castle? It's back. Naturally it's up to you to solve all the problems your family gets itself into, but what are aunts for? Very nice variety of puzzles. Some old favorites, some with new twists. None hair-pulling hard, but they weren't all simplistic either. I'm going to call it a 'grown-up' game. Not that there's anything disturbing for kids (there isn't), but they aren't going to 'get' most of the plot. Then again, if they grew up on procedural crime dramas like my daughter did, maybe they will :) Graphics and voicing were all top-notch. Ambient sounds were ok, but got repetitive quickly. Map and Hint are both teleporting - hint recharged quickly at middle difficulty and didn't get 'used' up by a teleport (or even just showing a specific area - that could be good/bad, fielder's choice). THE BAD: Maybe I went in with too high expectations after their last title, but the story didn't grip me the way others have. It wasn't lackluster, just not edge of my seat stuff for the most part. I had no trouble walking away from it for a while without wondering what was going to happen. THE UGLY: A few mini-games I had to use the map to back out of. That's the only real bug I found. There's also an issue with things you find - papers you can read aren't copied into your diary, so you've got one shot to read them when they're on screen that I could see. Read quickly before they're gone (the substance of them is put in your diary). BOTTOM LINE: Hearty recommendation, as long as you know what to expect. If you enjoyed the first couple titles in this series you'll love this. If you just started with Bloody Mary or even The Stone Queen, this one may seem a bit more laid back to you (none of the 'creep factor' of Bloody Mary). Either way, it's still a good game, well worth your time.
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Auntie to the rescue! Again! And again! As many of the other reviews have said, this game has absolutely stunning graphics and cutscenes. The individual locations are also visually gorgeous, although the voiceovers are a bit weak at times. My biggest deciding factor on any game, especially a CE is the length. I played on Expert mode with no hints, and the main game took me about 5 1/2 hours. The bonus chapter took me a surprising 45 minutes, which made the overall length quite satisfying to me. I am not a big fan of the morphing objects but there were also little golden statues to collect that added background to the family history, which I very much enjoyed. The puzzles themselves were nothing mind-bending. Fishing objects out of an aquarium, making a potion, melting metal on a fire, etc have been done to death and were all present in this game. However, the HOs were very clear and well-spaced, the beautiful graphics saved the day, and the story progressed at a fast enough pace that my interest in the game stayed steady. Of course, this series is about an aunt rescuing every single one of her relatives by going into the past and changing the future outcome. It gets a little tiring to have such dense nephews and nieces and sisters that are constantly destroying the family tree and humanity in the process. If you are looking for a new idea in this series, it is not here. It is another Auntie rescue mission. But the fresh twists and plot still hold their own and I definitely enjoyed this latest game in the series. Here's hoping for more! Happy gaming, Big Fishies!
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too much handholding (the scratched drawings) but still a good game. Grim Tales: The Vengeance Review based on Completed Game + Bonus Chapter PREFACE… Other than Bloody Mary, which was truly frightening, Grim Tales hasn't been on my list of the best series from the Pachyderm. Having played The Vengeance, I maintain that Bloody Mary is the best of the lot. While I liked the storyline in The Vengeance, with its crime-solving drama and time-traveling, I felt that it became somewhat convoluted with the annoying amount of backstory that was thrown at me unnecessarily through the collectible statuettes. Obviously, the SE would eliminate this issue. ONCE UPON A TIME... Your nephew, James, stands accused of murdering his sister, Elizabeth, sole heir to the family estate. The judge requests your assistance in the case, because you have a unique power: you're able to learn the history of an object by touching it. He presents to you all the evidence in the case. Is James guilty or innocent? If he's innocent, who's the killer? And what's behind the mysterious dark force obstructing your investigation? PLAY THE GAME... With each object you examine, you travel back in time to a pivotal moment in the case, and must explore the castle and its grounds for clues to solving the murder mystery. HO scenes are interactive, but easy. There are some unique puzzles, some rehashes, and some that barely qualify as puzzles. The hand-holding in the form of drawings scratched into the surface near every action was insulting, I felt. And we're still seeing a plethora of shaped insets requiring medallions, bas reliefs, etc. SIGHTSEEING… The graphics are beautiful, as is typical of this dev, realistically rendered yet artistic. In the time-traveling parts, perspective is somewhat skewed from reality…a nice touch. Characters are well-drawn. In-game animation is gorgeously lifelike. SOUND WAVES… I often don't care for the music in the Pachyderm's games, but this time I felt it was appropriately ambient, swelling to a crescendo when the action stepped up. Voiceovers were professional. TOOLBOX… The map indicates current objectives, transports, and is itself a work of art. There is a journal, and inventory is lockable. EXTRA, EXTRA… In the bonus chapter, you finally lay to rest the curse on the Gray/McGray family. There are morphing objects and collectible statuettes of family members, as well as performance achievements. Lastly, there is the SG and the developer's portfolio of sights and sounds. THE LAST WORD… While there's nothing technically wrong with The Vengeance, it falls short of being a five-star game for me because it wasn't all that challenging. However, I'd put it in second place in this series, after Bloody Mary.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Highlight Of A Bad Series! BASED ON DEMO Out of all game series from Elephant, Grim Tales would probably have to be my least favourite. I'd say this is a big improvement for the series! This is my favourite one from this particular set of games. I loved the story and will be purchasing the SE to see how it ends! The story was extremely fun and interesting. It was one of a kind. I don't think we've seen a courtroom story before. The story goes that your nephew has been charged with the murder of his sister for her inheritance, and you've been called to testify using your power to sense the history of objects by touching them. This is a good plot for a story and was executed quite well, in my opinion. What I enjoyed the most about this story were two things: Firstly, I liked how dark this story was in comparison to others around here. I especially liked the opening cutscene. It shocked me and had me completely sucked in to the story. One reviewer said it was too violent, but I disagree. It goes to show that developers are going all out to impress us, and it's paid off (for me at least). What I really enjoyed about the story was the cutscenes to do with the evidence. I enjoyed how each piece of evidence either went for or against his case. I liked the little backstory of how this piece of evidence came to be, and liked that it was from your murdered niece's point of view. The story was good in the sense that it had quite a few twists and turns. The only criticism I would make is that I really did not like the whole idea of a ghost villain. I thought it was quite stupid and didn't make much sense. Another reviewer noted that they changed the names of the family from Gray to McGray. This will annoy some people, but I didn't care much (I just think McGray is a weird last name). All in all, a decent story that ended well, making me want to play on. The gameplay is good. I liked the HOS, which were just standard junkpile with a few extra-step objects. The scenes were spaced out well, so I enjoyed playing them. The one thing I cannot stand in a game is having HOS one after the other, pretty much one in every scene, so I was glad that the HOS were spaced out in this one. There were quite a good amount in there, about three in the demo time, I think. I found the HOS quite easy, but enjoyable. The puzzles are your standard fare, but I quite enjoyed attempting them, even though I had to skip all but one. Like the HOS, the puzzles are spaced out, and there are a decent amount of them in the demo. This game contains + objects, a feature that is becoming somewhat of a standard now. Even so, I still enjoy any game that has them, including this one. The good thing here is that there aren't many + objects. Nothing ruins a feature more than over-using it, so I'm glad this developer was helpful here. Other than that, in gameplay terms, this is your standard HOPA. There are no helpers, fancy new features or anything of the kind. It includes all the basic features (such as diary, map, etc.). The diary is good and the map is interactive and quite helpful. One thing I didn't like, though, is that the map and the diary are in the same section. You have to click on the map to gain access to gain access to the diary. It is my opinion that the two should always be separate. Lucky I actually used the map, or I would have marked this game down for not having a diary. This game had very clear, easy to follow instructions for both the tutorial and puzzles. Because of this, it will be good for beginners. The graphics are quite good, but are not the best I've seen from Elephant. They have some good detail in the scenes, but are a bit cartoony, especially in the cutscenes. I thought the character designs could be a little better. Even so, everything is clear and has some good colours. The voice-overs are standard. I have no issue. FEATURES 3 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced and Hardcore. Differences are the usual. I played Casual. Hint/Skip- both recharge at a reasonable rate for the difficulty I selected. Hint is helpful outside HOS. Diary- The diary contains information about the case as well as keeping track of important story events, which is good for remembering the early events of the story later on in the game. I was disappointed to find that it was in the same area as the map though. Map- The map is interactive and very helpful. It lets you know where your next task is. + objects- These are items you have to interact with to complete. I feel this is becoming a standard feature now, but all the same, it was a good one. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter- I highly doubt it will be needed. Every game I own from this developer has a conclusive ending, and I don't think this one will be different. Built-in Strategy Guide- useful for puzzles. Achievements Collectibles- There are collectible McGray family figures. I'm not sure how many there are. They are relatively easy to spot. I didn't like them. Concept Art (8) Wallpapers (9) Screensaver This game is 100% story driven. As stated before, I really enjoyed the story and will be waiting for the SE to purchase. I highly advise you to do the same. There is absolutely NOTHING in here that would make me even consider buying the CE. There aren't even replayable HOS & Puzzles. All in all, this is a really enjoyable game and I can't wait to see how it ends. Do I recommend this for... BEGINNERS? Yes ADVANCED PLAYERS? Yes EXPERT PLAYERS? Maybe for the story, but the gameplay is a little on the easy side.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from There’s Just No Excuse... BASED ON BETA FIRST IMPRESSIONS For what Elephant have done to the beset Gray family this time. They’ve gratuitously changed the names in utterly ridiculous ways! And without any cause I can fathom. It really is quite unforgivable. Luckily, they have introduced a new dimension to the story – now we are not the only one who can travel back in time to significant events in a person’s lifetime. SIGHTS & SOUNDS As you’d expect from Elephant, the artwork in this game is brilliant. The style is beautiful, colourful, detailed. The Dobermans are way scary, and the creep behind them is ominous too. The voiceovers and acting are both excellent. Ambient sounds of a courtroom are pretty unnerving – all this shuffling and coughing, everything waiting on my ability to ‘read’ personal objects. Much of the music, though, really bugs me. Too loud and jarring. I am normally a person who finds music essential to the gaming experience, but in this case I think I’d rather silence. It is not for the whole game, though, and the rest of the quieter music is actually soothing and pleasant. There are 4 sliders for altering sound, plus gamma, and the usual mix. WHAT’S HAPPENING? Well, see, here’s where I get cranky. The “McGray” (previously known as the Gray) family is now minus my sister and her husband (remember, the first game, all those years ago, started with their wedding), who have died unceremoniously and left a will that leaves the entire estate to Elizabeth – reasons unknown. Even worse, Elizabeth is now also dead and our dear nephew James is accused of her murder! We, as Aunt Gray (what? My sis married into the Gray family, not me), are subpoenaed to give evidence to the court, based on our ability to use important objects as a kind of doorway to significant events in the past. After finding an old photograph of the Black Rock (wasn’t it Black Lock?) mansion, we are transported back to a moment sometime before our niece’s death, to find James looking exceedingly angry and threatening Elizabeth. While they remain suspended in time, we must seek evidence of James’ innocence to show the judge. But we are not alone. Impossibly, something or someone is moving it this normally frozen environment. And it is getting nasty. One thing I dislike about this game is that there is a confusing and contradictory back story to go with all this, with family trees and so forth, all delivered in an amazing assortment of media, that could have made the backstory interesting and involving. Again, why couldn’t they just stick to what we know and build from there? GAMEPLAY Standard Grim Tales fare. Each location has an interactive word list HOP, as well as a puzzle/mini-game here and there. Nothing too demanding, and usually nicely integrated and imaginative. The adventure component is also not too difficult, and there is a teleporting hint system, as well as the interactive jump map. The map shows where they are active objectives, but also where there are none. The action flows nicely, but there is a lot of to and fro even this early into the game, so that map really is necessary. There is no notebook. The demo lasts for 2 out of 6 chapters. The inventory is lockable, and there are items which can be combined in it. There is no journal, and there are only 3 levels of difficulty. The unique elements in the game play are the evidence items you must bring back from each excursion into the past. There are 5 items that must be found, and each has a story attached to it that may affect the judgement on James. These are indicated along the right side of the monitor and are separate from any other searches. That doesn’t explain how different this method of investigating is – you really need to have a go at it. CE BLING! There are two types of collectible (I think). There are 13 figurines, each with a story attached, and in groups of two or three, a film reel is played, giving further information. I played the beta for this game, where there are also 10 (in the beta) morphing objects. I found 6, so I am thinking there will be more than that in this, the full game, but I didn’t find any. There are 10 achievements, based on performance. The gallery has 9 wallpapers, including the Dobermans, 8 saveable concept art, 5 music tracks, and a screensaver of the beautiful waterfall. COMBINED IMPACT Grim Tales has always been a simpler series of games than most of the other Elephant games, and this one ought to be too. The mechanism of testifying in court as a method of structuring the flashbacks is great, but all the changes, differences and contradictions that are to be found in this game spoilt it quite a bit for me. Certainly not one of their best games, not a world beater, but a good and beautiful game, if you can ignore these story-related issues.
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not worth paying for CE... I love Elephant games, and this game was no exception. Three modes (I played advanced), and hint and skip system excellent and fast. Map and hint took you to the locations that had tasks to do, and it was such a good system didn't need SG at all. No cute critters but morphing objects to find, statues to find, achievement awards and a collectables gallery. The game ran smoothly on my Mac. Modern day games are getting larger and larger. It takes an hour or so to d/l full game on my Mac just to try trial. I enjoyed the trial hour, and it whizzed by so bought game based on first 60 mins. The shortcomings were the HOPs (although not that many of them) which were just junk pile with minimal interaction. Puzzles nicely done but nothing new really. They were really easy, and I only skipped one. The main game took me 4 hours, but the CE was barely 30 minutes worth...and I don't consider that value for the extra money! Few locations, couple of junk pile HOPs...and the game was finished. Think the bonus chapter about the worst value for money ever. I buy the CEs for the extra gameplay. Not interested in concept art and/ or screen savers and rarely need the SG these days as hint system so effective. Just get the feeling that once the devs have finished making the main game, the bonus chapter is just a nuisance and thrown together without much thought. Certainly not worth paying double for. Had the bonus game been better value for money, and more entertaining would have given game 5 *****.
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love Game No 6 In This Series Fortunately I won't have to buy the bundle pack as I already did that when the last Grim Tales game came out. I absolutely loved each and every free trial so it's a no-brainer for me to play the demo this time. I just haven't played any of the earlier games yet (my Game Manager groans with the weight of all my unplayed games - lol). Storyline: James, your beloved nephew, has been accused of murdering his sister, Elizabeth and it's up to you to prove his innocence. And off you (Aunt Gray) go. Graphics - Amazing. Seems very HD to me (not a pro - sometimes can't tell the difference between HD and Regular D). Colors are crisp, bright, lovely to look at. Sound: Enjoyed hearing the actors' voices. Everyone was spot on with tonal quality for the incident they happened to be speaking about. Very lifelife. Music: Sorry, I'm a grandma and learned to tune things out a very long time ago - lol. Gameplay: You have received a phone call from James and also a subpoena from the Court insisting you attend the Hearing on the Court's behalf. Of course, you had intended to go anyway. BUT, the reason you were subpoenaed is because you have a special gift the Court wants you to use in this case. You can touch items and get information from them. The courtroom is amazing. It reminded me very much of Harry Potter. The Judge/Magistrate was wearing a long, white (powdered?) wig and his position was raised far and away above everyone else . He points out Mr. Alderly, the Prosecuting attorney and Mr. Johnson, the Defense attorney. After explaining why you are there he indicates someone holding a silver platter with several items on it. You gravitate to a picture of a mansion/castle. You go back to a desk (Defense table?) and put the picture in a frame. Then, you place your hand on the frame and are transported to the mansion/castle where the game really begins. There are several modes of play. You have a diary for note keeping but you can also view your collectibles and achievements here. There is a map and a hint button that does take a bit to recharge. There is no custom mode. CE Bling: 13 collectible statues 10 achievements (hm - not so much, huh?) 9 Wallpapers 8 Concept Art pictures 5 Something or Others (sorry, it was late and sometimes I can't read my shorthand. Just go to "extras" and you'll figure it out. SORRY.) 1 Screensaver Bonus Game Strategy Guide (which I didn't use) I love all the Grim Tales games and I anticipate loving this one as well. Unfortunately, due to a new med change I have been sleeping a LOT and fell asleep halfway through the demo - Geez I HATE that. Anyway, the part of the demo I played I enjoyed and hope you do as well. This Glam-ma thinks this is a definite buy. Please try the free trial. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Happy Gaming.
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Quite I didn't have as much character inner action as I liked but I did enjoy the game. There are 2 facts that bothered me one, the map would point out active when the areas where done ( or I couldn't have finished the game ) ha! two like a lot of games I get no warning of morphing objects or collectibles till i hit on them. That bugs me because I don't like missing on any part of the game and get to ticked to go back threw. lol
Date published: 2014-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked it, bought it! Hi all. Had shoulder surgery on Monday, so this will be a bit short. The usual very bright nice colors from Elephant. Game play was very good and graphics were very nice, eye movement and all. Voice overs were good, but very few and far between, and not much in the way of sound FX which made this game rather quiet. Hopefully this changes as the game progresses. I have the first 5 in this series and really liked them, but this one doesn't seem quite as good. Still, I did like it. Music was a little boring and lifeless, no rise and fall with the action of the game. Didn't use the jump map or the SG, except to look at them. They are the usual. The hint system was quite helpful and took you directly to the location you needed to go to next, rather than just tell you to back up or move forward. Makes for faster travel and this is why I didn't need to use the map or the SG. HOPs are the standard for Elephant and are interactive. Clean and clear and items not difficult to find. Puzzles are simple and easy to figure out and complete. There are a number of achievements and collectibles. The figurines are very easy to spot and give you more insight into the story and history of the family as you find them. There are additional story parts to find, but I'm not quite sure why yet. The morphing objects do not just jump off the page at you, so you better be on the look out for them or you will easily miss them. As with the last few Elephant games, this one was not particularly challenging or exciting, but I like it well enough to add it to my collection of Grim Tales games and there is enough constant movement to keep you interested in the game. Besides, I have the need to see where the story is going and "who-dun-it." I think this will appeal to all levels of players. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than the last Grim Tales I liked this game. It was different and kept me busy. Did not find myself getting board during game play. Some of the puzzles were unique and used logic rather than just putting something together. They did not add a pet and there was not too much hand holding. Kudos to Elephant! Thank you for a game that had some challenge and no pets!! Not the hardest game to play, but still a better challenge then some of the games coming out recently.
Date published: 2014-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was fine Not a thrilling game, but pretty entertaining
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Enjoyable Beautiful Graphics. Music was generally unpleasant and monotonous so I had to turn it way down. Morphing Objects and Collectors items were a great touch. The Story line was good but the bit on the end where all the Evil gets undone as if it never happened, that was very bit far-fetched and I think it ruined the common sense of the Game. I didn't like that part of it at all. It was just ridiculous! Otherwise a very enjoyable Game.
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from lots of game here I liked this one despite the glitch that makes you restart the whole thing all over again when two thirds of the way through you don't use the machete in the order the dev's anticipated and it disappears from your inventory. You then cannot move forward. But I did enjoy this one. I loved how the objectives appeared at the top of the screen, the mini games were quite varied and it had both collectibles and morphing objects. There was a kind of new twist with some objects held vertically on the right hand side of the screen which you occasionally gave to a judge in a courtroom. They also set off a little video that gave you background info about the story. As always with Elephant games the HO's were pretty easy and several of the achievements were tied to them. The locations were beautiful as always. I will say that this game both looked and felt a lot like others in the series. Always taking place in the castle, someone in trouble and needing my help etc etc. It was fun though and I did like it. It had a lot to offer. It was a good length, pretty and with a fair amount to do.
Date published: 2014-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Love this fallow up version. Had some nice changes. Wonderful cut scenes. Love the dramatic court room. Going on my must buy list. Only thing is I do not like how dark the HO's were though I like the arrangement.
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from CAN YOU HELP JAMES McGRAY? REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAMES AND BONUS Even though this is an old game (2014), I had no problem playing on Windows 10. However, earlier games from this series, I could not play (too old). There is: * Casual, Advanced and Hardcore modes; * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Interactive map; * Diary; * 10 Achievements; * Find 35 morphs (in game and bonus); * Collector figures to find. The graphics are extremely well done. Colour is just right and every scene is well defined. The music is quite beautiful and lovely to listen to as you play. The hidden object games are ever so slightly interactive and all straightforward. These are easy to do as all items are clear to find. I liked the mini-games and there are a good variety. Most of them I nutted out myself, but I had to look in the Strategy Guide for one of them (the planets mini-game) because I got confused and wasn't sure of the sequence. There are 35 morphs to find in the game and bonus. In some of the scenes these had a good challenge and took me ages to find them. In other scenes, I got them right away. All up, the game took me many hours to play. I had Hint and Skip turned off and it wasn't always logical of what to do next, especially when I had many items in my inventory and nothing worked anywhere I went. It is a busy game but that's a good thing as it kept me interested and entertained. Overall, it is worth having a good at. I'm just starting off with this series now and have many more games to play. There are a lot of characters in this family and I'm trying to get my head around them all. Comes recommended.
Date published: 2020-12-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from As heavy as an elephant ? A Grim Tale, about vengeance. CE version. This game has got it all: murder, magic, a court with high judge, an aunt with spiritual gift, and high status folk battling about inheritance. And teddybears and toys. Castles with rich halls, gardens and vault with graves. To help one find one’s way in the most elaborate gilded minutely detailed beautiful artwork of the scenes, one has well functioning hint, a map, a diary, morphing bits to find, collectables with info about the folk in the families concerned; an evidence board and scinematic black n’ white blasts of the auntie’s flashes of memory from past times. HOS’ ok, and include having to knit bits together; Puzzles a bit easy, but some actually rather good. Storyline ok, but I lost track of the story in all the clutter of missing tools, keys, handles, bits n’ pieces more or mostly less relevant for the tale itself. Then again, it’s easy to read up on the happenings in the diary. Good sound track underlining the events. So, I can’t really write anything bad about this game, only, it didn’t grab me - never got interesting and exiting ??? But maybe one becomes a bit blasee with having done too games cut over the same pattern - I don’t know . . maybe I’d have to do it a second time to make it all fall into place ? Maybe you’ll love it !
Date published: 2014-09-15
  • y_2022, m_5, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_82
  • loc_en_US, sid_21051, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grim Tales: The Vengeance Collector's Edition

When his sister is murdered, you must prove your nephew’s innocence!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.