Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur Collector's Edition

Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(416.82 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

In the dark of night, an elusive figure breaks into the royal menagerie and steals four magic animals, your childhood companions and dearest friends. It is up to you to save them! Take the journey to discover more about the Dark Minotaur who threatens the magical world. Can you save them in time?

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Downloadable music tracks
  • Stunning wallpapers and screensaver
  • An integrated Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 874 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(416.82 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur Collector's Edition is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 95.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reminiscent of of Eternal Journey: New Atlantis LENGTH: I'm a fast player on most of these games (except 'MCF Return To Ravenhurst' of course) and this one, had I played it strait through, would have taken around 23 hours of play to do. I'm glad, as it was nice and relaxing!! I played it on EASY mode (always do, first time thru). FUN FACTOR--as always, HO games are addictive. The scenes were nicely jumbled, and I liked the fact that you had the normal HO scenes mixed with finding the matching silhouettes. The puzzles where somewhat easy, but nice. GRAPHICS: Beautiful, not as good as some, but better than many! STORY--interesting, and I loved the magic animals in it. I kept forgetting to use them, then would do a "d'oh" when I hit HINT. *L* As with Eternal Journey, New Atlantis, where the 'rooms' where the hidden datascreens were marked on the map, this game (the CE, anyway, dunno about the regular version) marks where the morphing objects are. For me, that's kind of a spoiler, but you can always ignore the map and try to find them yourself it it bugs you! OVERALL--I would recommend this to any HO player, and hope y'all agree!!
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Worthy Addition to the Series I thought “Sprits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur” was a good addition to the series. I’m not disappointed that there wasn’t more interaction with the “Dark Minotaur.” The whole point was to rescue the animals and keep him from coming to life. There was enough of his snarling and shrieking in the menu screen when you pressed the play button. I had to cover my eyes. I couldn’t have taken much more. Knowing that was the potential outcome, that was enough to keep me motivated. I didn’t want to see anymore of him. So, the sooner he was defeated in the game…the better. ERS has tried some interesting things as others have mentioned in their more recent games. I liked the portals that were used to transport you to different areas within the game. The animals having special powers was interesting, but it was somewhat underutilized…and hilarious. Like sometimes they would give you an object that you needed, but most of the animals weren’t acquired until later in the game. That was a unique part of the game, but I wish they would have expanded upon it more. The other noteworthy element was Isa’s (The Royal Hunter) magic powder that allowed you to go through the portals. His entrances and exits with his panther were always spectacular. ERS is so strong when it comes to creating interesting characters with such noteworthy attributes. Whether it’s the animals with special powers or the quirky characters, they just all fit so well into their environments. The hidden object scenes were a combination of old and new. Although, it would be harder to do an entire game with the other type of elaborate and more intricate hidden object scenes, I think it would be worth it. The graphics were bright and colorful. There were a couple of scenes after the beginning where the graphics seemed inconsistent, but that was remedied rather quickly. The strategy guide is deceptive with respect to the length of the game. Pages 1-42 for the main and 43-55 for the bonus. It was longer than I thought it was going to be. However, I do sort of feel that the bonus chapter should have been part of the main game as it gave a more complete ending to the story. I’m starting to question the logic of developers making a “Bonus Chapter” because in most cases it would have been better served to include it as part of the main story. Overall, this was a good game. I wish it could have gone on a bit longer. But I would recommend it if you liked the first two in the series. ERS is definitely improving. I can’t wait to see what they have in the works for 2013.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worthy HOG/Adventure game I found this game to have interesting game play, great graphics, and a gentle story. I enjoyed all the cleverly designed creatures. Minimal frustration except for some language questions. I did use the SG:I'm not too proud to admit it! The CE is worth it for it's length, new gameplay and HAPPY ENDING! This game is not too creepy or gross; in fact it has a lot of beautiful and amusing elements.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from really a 4.5 game This is my favorite "Spirits of Mystery" game. The unique plot (rescuing kidnapped magical menagerie animals), character twists, and pervading sense of urgency made the game interesting and full. The animals were cute, but not too cutesy. I thought the voicing was excellent (I've found that this is an important component in the quality of a game), and I'm pretty sure one voice actor had some good Shakespearean acting under his belt. Like other ERS games, there is substantial interaction with minor characters, which I find to be important to the "fullness" of the game. The mini-games were fun and varied, and I found them to be mostly in the easy to intermediate range. There didn't seem to be as many locations as in similar games, but the portal between the "worlds" isn't just kept open; it takes a lot of time and work to open them as needed. There's no map for this game, but personally that works for me There are two timed aspects to the game that add a lot: having to find food for the rescued animals whenever they get hungry, and an invisibility spell that wears off after a certain time. They certainly made the game more absorbing, but I spent a lot of time frantically looking for Chester's bamboo so he wouldn't starve to death (although I doubt it was really a Neopets-type of situation), and panicking because the invisibility spell sometimes wore off at inconvenient moments. The first thing that made this game a 4.5 affair for me was the ending (or the two endings, since the CE includes bonus play). It wasn't clear in either case when the story was over, it just stopped. Silently. "Why are the fireworks going off? Oh, I guess it's the end." Honestly, just a few wrap-up sentences, fairytale- style, would have done the trick. The second thing -- what was up with the minotaur motif? He had actually very little to do with the story. However, my fondness for appealing, charismatic Chester the Red Panda (even when he was cranky) made up for all that, and got my official rating up to five. Thanks for this absorbing game.
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Sequel Spririts of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur Collector's Edition is an excellent next step in this series. The art was beautifully done and the music fit the story as it proceeded. The magical animals that were stolen from the menagerie were cute and as the story progressed you remet Isa and his panther and Nanny. It doesn't show Thyrian at all, but as the animals are "yours" it makes senses the "you" have to find them. The puzzles were fairly simple and the items in the hos were fairly easy to find. As I am in the middle of moving, I could easily go back and not lose track were I was. Overall, it was a good game to play (used it as a reward for completing so much and with time limit to play) and I found it relaxing and enjoyable. Back to packing.
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a great game The scenes are bright and pleasant, the HOGs are interesting as they vary between finding items and finding objects to unlock other objects... I found it restful and yet challenging and with a sense that one has travelled a long way. In every way very worth the money
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game is very cleverly made - with the mix of the dark and the light perfectly matched The graphics are very clear and colourful, the pace is fairly steady and the mystery keeps one quite intrigued. I am not one for many words, but this would have to be a favourite of mine especially because of the replay content and the marvelous colours used. Thank you Bigfish!!
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHAT A GREAT GAME ! Excellent HOPA ! Help the princess to find her pets, who disappeared in a strange way and solve the secret of the Minotaur. Gorgeous, crisp and colorful graphics, very good sound, great cutscenes, excellent VO, outstanding locations and curious characters. Good amount of interactive HOS. Good amount too of really enjoyable mini games , and some are very cute, like "the dwarves". Is more Adventure than HOS. You have to explore lots of beautiful locations. Three play modes. Seven chapters, bonus chapter and bonus mini games. You can play HOS and puzzles again. The game is not really challenging but is extremely fun and entertaining. A great deal !! Recommended !
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWSOME!!!! (Review of the whole game...) Played and loved the first two "Spirits of Mysteries"!! Therefore I purchased this one without playing the demo first... We are the princess, (named after the player's name!) and we have to find our 4 magical pets (a red panda, a turtoise, a nightingale and a cat) which were stolen by the evil witch and her mage Isa (which we met already in the last game). As soon as you find one of your stolen pets, they are added to your "mini-menagerie" attached to your inventory. When they are hungry and fed, they will create an useful item for you. Graphics are beautiful drawn and we meet astonishing creatures! There are 3 modes to choose and 7 chapters plus bonus-chapter to play. Lots of interactive HOS and minigames to play. The whole game isn't very challenging, but so beautiful and fun to play!! Although we have no map, no collectables and no achievments, I couldn't wait to play this one and didn't regret!!
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME ERS has stepped everything up in this game. It is enchanting and delightful in every way - graphics, animals, story, music, iHOS (there are different types) and characters. Even though there is no wide screen (for me), no map, collectibles or achievements, it is definitely worthy of it's CE status. It is a very artistic and beautifully designed game that just stole my heart. My download was quick and the game played smoothly and easily. Everything is beautiful, even the puzzles are gorgeous to look at. The Princess's magical animals have been petnapped and she off to get them back, come what may. She meets fantastical creatures, some good, some not, but all amazing. Some help her, some she helps, some she must defeat. There are a couple of spiders and one humongous snake, unfortunantely for those with phobias. But if you can just get past them with gritted teeth, there are not any more. The main game took me 4.5 hrs and the BC 1.5 hrs. When the SE comes, the game will end conclusively, leaving it apparent that there will be a sequel. But the BC was wonderful. The Princess has a different quest and also gets to do something I was dying to do during the main game. I loved it. Thanks ERS. Excellent game. And ta to BF.
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Game Worth Playing! Lately I've noticed that some reviewers have criticized ERS for making their games to easy. It's true: their games aren't the hardest that I've encountered, however, I do think that their games do offer a moderate challenge. I don't think that this game was especially easy (though I do like an easy game from time to time), nor was it exceptionally hard. For myself it fell into the "just right" category. I'm a casual gamer, and don't like when games are too difficult. I'm also a slow player, and so this game took me around 8 hours to complete. There wasn't a lot of backtracking and the puzzles were pretty easy (as has already been mentioned in some other reviews) . I did some of them, but not all, because I really don't like puzzles. There was also a moderate number of HOS... ERS did a good job of mixing things up, and so the game never got boring. As I state in my title, this game is worth playing. Fellow Fishies that have especially good game skills might not agree with me, but I recommend that you at least give this game a trial run... you might like it. All I know is that I thought that this game was fun!
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another very nice game! Yes, this game isn't quite up to the ERS par level, but still an exceptional game. The close up of the prince/king, whatever he is, was amazing...very realistic. ERS is one of my very favorite devs. Game play was very nice, voice overs always a plus for me. Games were fairly simple and some very different and quite fun, HOGs nice and fun. Okay, another witch, but witches seem to play better than warlocks. They just seem to have a bit more umph than a man (sorry guys). I like the story line with the animals and the interaction you need to have with them. This is fun and very different. Nice SG, but I wish devs would get the hint that it's nice to see the whole list of chapters up front. Usually, when it only shows 2, the game is very short. I got through the first 2 chapters with 13 minutes to spare, so hopefully this game is much longer than that. I turn into a "witch" when I spend money on a very short game! Anyway, a buy for me, to add to my ERS collection of games. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for it at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Awesome Spirits of Mystery Game I loved the first two Spirits of Mystery games and have been waiting for another one. The Dark Minotaur does not disappoint and is a beautiful as the first two. Who can resist a crusade to return kidnapped pets to a princess? One of the things that ERS does so well is their animal characters and the ones in this story are excellent. As is usual with this developer, the graphics are incredible and everything from the music to the voice-overs add to the overall enjoyment of the game. As a child I loved mythology and the story of the Minotaur, so it is wonderful to see this creature back in a game that I can play. It has already been mentioned but the puzzles are very easy, something I often appreciate because when puzzles are too difficult I get frustrated and end up skipping, That is not the case with this game since I find the puzzles fun and just right for me. A very wonderful game and definitely worth the CE designation. Thanks BFG for another awesome game.
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyable with excellent graphics Really liking this game. A bit different to the usual spooky stories. The animals are cute, the game play linear so not needing to go from place to place too much. Usual interactive HO scenes, but nicely put together. Puzzles rather easy but that's fine with me. Although playing advanced mode hint and skip buttons fill fairly quickly. Playing it on my Mac and graphics fill the screen. Would enjoy more games like this one!
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Spirits of Mystery! This is NOT your typical HO game. You have to find objects yes, but, check out how you have to find some of those objects in a different way----very fun! A princess has to find her stolen magical animals, they create things for her, to help her thru her journey. Visuals are great! The music sets the atmosphere,and, the EXTRA game is fun too. Check it out! Is it worth the money? Yes!
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hope there's a part two I never write reviews for any games I play,but I had to for this one. I really enjoyed it! I hope there will be a sequel.This game kept me interested. I just loved it.
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME CHALLENGE I thought this game was terrific, frustrating at times, but not overly so, I wish there was a map but there was not and if that was the one thing I could change about the game it would be that. The scenery was beautiful, the characters fun and interesting. I thought there was a good balance of HOS and mini games. Some of the mini games were harder than others but none were I felt the need to skip, Instructions on mini games were sufficient, The help button was not always helpful but many times you have to stop and think of what to do next. The strategy guide stays on the page you left it on and is very helpful in tough spots. The collectors edition, is well worth it not just for the guide, but the wallpapers, and extra bonus play.
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Recommended I went ahead and bought this game without a trial, based on the first reviewer's recommendation, and I'm not disappointed at all. It has a lot of good elements that keep your attention and has sufficient challenge. So far, and I've played about an hour now, the only complaint I have is the background music (?) / sound effect. I find it quite irritating. The actors' voice-overs are, however, very good.
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful game! The only reason I have not bought this game in CE is because of earlier reviews commenting on how short they felt it was. I loved it, but value for money I'll wait for the SE or possibly on a special weekend sale. If it was released last week during the buy 1 get 1 free special, I wouldn't have hesitated. I loved the gorgeous artwork and the unique story finding the lost animals.BUT I always sigh "oh no, not again" when I see the bad guy as "evil witch". Some of the designers need more creative ideas. Not everything bad in the world, even a magical world is the fault of an evil witch but this is so beautiful and charming I'll reserve judgement on that.
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does not Disappoint! As with the other Spirit games, this one has beautiful graphics, clear, crisp and colorful. The scenes are pretty and the music is upbeat. I have played the first 30 minutes of the demo and am buying. The storyline is different, the Princess is trying to find her stolen magic animals. Mini games I have played so far are fun, not extremely challenging but enough to make you think. Back and forth seems to be minimal which is nice sometimes also. A short review because being an animal lover I am anxious to buy and continue the adventure and save the animals!
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Third installment of Spirits of Mystery, worth the wait! This should not disappoint! It took me approximately 4 1/2 hours to complete the game and another hour or so for the bonus. Some of the puzzles were a little tricky (in that the explanation of them was confusing) but such a treat. ER makes beautiful games, always well thought out and artfully done. I could nitpick tiny things (like the evil witch's voice seemed too old for the character) but really, it's just an enjoyable way to spend some time. Like visiting an old friend, maybe you know what to expect but you still enjoy yourself nonetheless.
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Song of the phoenix's dark cousin If you liked song of the phoenix, you will like this one as well. The game play is the same, very smooth. Some backtracking, but not enough you constantly need your map. Collect 4 animals along the way to help you with a puzzle. HO @ every turn. Strategy guide helps you if you get stuck. Plz don't 4get to submit ur fav. game, after u write ur review, so others can chk it out as I do. ty game on gamers...
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Game Ers games have done it again. I have enjoyed previous Spirit of Mystery games but this is even better. I barely started and I am hooked.The graphics are clear and totally lovely, everything works, hint button included. I want to find out more and more and see where this adventure takes me. Love it!
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very relaxing game!! ERS have come up with another great game. Graphics well done and a colourful fairy tale with Isa (from Song of the Pheonix) and a witch as the evil ones. Only played half an hour of the demo and your first HOS is when you get into the town. Lovely little mini-games that are different to the norm and are quite easy, up to now. Will be purchasing and recommend this game to all ages!!
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from false advertising Only 2 scenes of minotaur, but the game comes full circle as the collector edition has you come back home to bring your animals to their homes safely. The portal system and hidden object puzzles are another innovation from ERS.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hidden Object Game I love the storyline and the graphics are just beautiful. The puzzles are challenging and overall, just a fun, make you think, game. I recommend this game!
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Wait to Own This One I played through the hour and groaned when it stopped. I really enjoyed all aspects of this game. The sound and visuals are beautifully done. The puzzles are slightly different than other games and the uniqueness was intriguing. Hints are helpful. I'm a sucker for animals, so the critters are a plus. The storyline is different and it looks to be a great tale.
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magical animals kidnapped............. Played 25 minutes, casual - ERS games which already says a lot - 3 modes, casual, advanced, Brave Prince - Integrated SG which only shows 3 chapters - Notebook - No map - Voice overs - Hint button not too useful outside H0, only tells you there's nothing to do here - Skip button - Good mini games, not over difficult - Gorgeous graphics - Didn't come across any H0 in the 25 minutes I've played This looks like a lovely game. Good story, magic animals are stolen from the Princess' (you) zoo. Up to you to find the evil woman who did it and get them back. A straight buy for me......
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Fairy Tail The graphics were beautiful and the game was so much fun I did not want the timer to stop. Can hardly wait to own this game. The hint button was okay. The HO's were good and like the switch over HO puzzle between two scenes. The characters are really good and lots to do though most of them easy. Great game.
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MAGICALY BEAUTIFUL!!! THE VERY BEST GAME (SO FAR I HOPE) BECAUSE IN THIS GAME WERE VIBRANT COLORS WHICH SOME OF YOUR OTHERS LACKED THIS GAME HAS EVERYTHING!!!! I LOVED THE MUSIC THE STORY THE ANIMALS THE WHITE PEACOCK TOOK MY BREATH AWAY!! THE LENGTH WAS GREAT THE BONUS PLAY WAS LONG AND AS EXCITING AS THE GAME WHICH GENIUS DID THE COCOON INTO THE MAGNIFICENT MONARCH?? MORE MORE PLEASE!!!!
Date published: 2013-01-23
  • y_2019, m_11, d_19, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_95
  • loc_en_US, sid_16447, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur Collector's Edition

Find out who stole your magic animals, and reveal the secret of the Dark Minotaur.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.