Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper Collector's Edition

Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(327.79 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Charles Dexter Ward has summoned you to the island of Pawtuxet to stop a renegade spirit that is murdering the townspeople. The spirit is using human souls to become immortal, and you will be next if you can’t stop him. Based on the novel by H.P. Lovecraft, this Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game will test your investigative skills as you solve the mysteries of Ward’s family and complete the ritual that will banish this evil spirit once and for all!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Downloadable H.P. Lovecraft novel
  • Revive the lost souls in the bonus chapter!
  • In-game strategy guide
  • Exclusive behind-the-scenes video
  • Concept art gallery

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 7.0
  • Hard Drive: 459 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(327.79 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 60.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from PLEASE stop using Lovecraft The temptation, especially for new designers, to use Lovecraft must be incredible: he's still wildly popular, and a lot of his work is in the public domain. I'll admit that Lovecraft translates slightly better to games than to film, but it's not enough. This line, for instance, left me sobbing on my floor with laughter, and I lost about 20 minutes of the trial time as a result: "They said my uncle knew about immortality, so I resurrected him from the dead..." WHAT? You have the ability to resurrect people from the dead, so you focus on the one guy who has already, without question, failed the immortality test? He's DEAD. His thoughts on how to achieve immortality are not worth having. Also, I'm supposed to sympathize with Charles, but he released a soul-sucking zombie on his hometown. I feel sorry for everyone else. Charles, on the other hand, deserves a mob of pitchfork-wielding townsfolk. The interface was fine (when I wasn't laughing) and the graphics were very high quality. The music and sound were good. The HOG scenes were, if not especially clever, at least up to the standard of better developers. I find it difficult to believe that a group of people talented enough to produce this game couldn't come up with a better story on their own. I'm willing to bet they could have come up with something at least as terrifying as "Redrum," which changed single-player gaming. Give me a game with this game's technical qualities and some inventiveness in the storyline, and you'll have me hooked. But for now, this little sea anemone is fleeing the net.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice game but let’s wait for the SE... This is a nice game if you have nothing else to do… Graphics are ok, perhaps a bit old fashioned. Gameplay is fluently. There is no map, but this is not really needed, as the items in your inventory are used soon. Inventory pops up if an item can be used. I played the 2nd of three modes. Hintsystem is useful also outside the HOS; it shows you the direction where to go next. Hint refills quickly. In addition there are three hints shown in your notebook. SG is not really necessary. We have lots of HOS aswell as minigames, which are not very challenging. Nice: when you quit the game, it’s shown what you expect next. For me there are no interesting extras in this CE… I expect collectables and achievments.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another SE game turned into CE I played 10 mins and found it average. Did not thrill me and certainly did not inspire me to buy as a CE. Perhaps I have been spoilt with the latest offering from Elephants games. Got into the Christmas spirit lol. Still might think about buying as a SE, certainly not CE price. Deb
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK game The game was just ok for me. Seemed to move very slow. Usually I have tons of hidden objectsto find. With this game you used them right away. Not thrilling. Could have been good. I might purchase it on sale.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The definition of average This is a mediocre game in all the areas tha matter. That means it's not that great, but it's not that bad either. It's not particular fun to play, since the puzzles are not challenging and the hidden object scenes not special in any way. The visual quality and sound are acceptable, if boring and run-of-the-mill. The story lines is what got to me: how many times can game developers serve yet another "bad demon/specter/sorcerer/mad scientist kills every inhabitant of a town and you get to chase him through deserted *insert creepy place here*"? Needless to say, the story is boring and nothing you haven't heard before. All in all, alright for beginners that haven't played many games in the genre.
Date published: 2012-12-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so good Story line is fine. Graphics could be a lot better. It is somewhat fun game but not enough for me to break out my cc to buy it.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's just ok I have to pass on that one. It was just ok. I still had 16 min left to play when the demo was over. Must be a game on the shorter side. Graphics and story also just ok, a bit cheesy. After playing games like The Nutcracker etc, I can't even think about buying this one. As a CE it just lacks all the bells and whistles. I may consider the SE, but there are better games out there. Way too many HOGs in between, takes away from the adventure.Sorry, that's just me, did not keep my interest
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An entertaining game, but it doesn't keep you hooked. This game was really beautiful to look at, and the hidden objects scenes were mildly entertaining, but it doesn't draw you in. Pros: - Really beautiful graphics and artwork, a pleasure to look at. - Equally beautiful character artwork; - Nice music. The one that played whenever a ghost showed up was really eerie; - The hidden objects artwork was beautiful and crisp, so I enjoyed playing them; - Curwen's voice-over was nice; - The development video in the extras was nice and really interesting to see; - Fun puzzles as well as nice gameplay; Cons: - Uninteresting storyline. The story, although the main focus of the game, feels very thin. I never cared about what was going on. The characters didn't help, too. I never cared about them, either. Not even the ghosts...; - All the characters' voice-overs (except for the revenant's) were awful to listen to, especially Ward's; - The bonus chapter was just like the main game. The only good thing was the artwork; This is a game I probably won't play again. It had high-production, no doubt about it. I feel bad for the developers who clearly loved what they were doing, but I couldn't appreciate this game. Uninteresting game, overall. Except for the artwork, that is. However, it still can provide you with some fun since the puzzles, as well as the HO are fun to play.
Date published: 2013-05-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rainy Day Special The graphics were excellent and the HOS were average. It froze up between pages/scenes probably due to computer age. Not enough going on to keep me excited, but entertaining enough to play it on a boring day. The puzzle were okay. The sounds were great and the music was okay. This game has me back and forth on likes and dislikes.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just Ordinary There was nothing special about this game. I didn't feel that the graphics were beautifully done, or sharp or crisp, just ordinary. I thought the voice overs were not done very well. Someone said they had no emotion in them. I disagree, they had too much and sounded exaggerated and forced, almost like the actor was reading them instead of acting them. The puzzles were quite easy and the HOS were no real challenge. I found the music to be not very appealing and was put off by it the moment the game opened to allow me to select my settings. Overall, this game did not pull me in. For me, it seemed like a chore and was irritating. I keep waiting for the game that just sweeps me away. I am going to be very old before that happens at this rate.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too short, and too boring! Played this game to the end (on middle level) and all finished within 3 1/2 hours including bonus level. Way too many HOS...in fact, one after the other after the other... Only marginally interactive too. Stupidest story line. Too much hand holding, and on middle/advanced level you still get annoying sparkles. Only 'hardcore' doesn't have sparkles, but also no hints, puzzle skips etc either. Can't imagine why you don't get the usual 3 options of sparkles, no sparkles and no help at all. Puzzles nothing new, and mainly boring and too easy. Good newcomers iHOG, but there's way better out there than this. The graphics weren't bad, and the music in keeping. Bought it as new CE for Mac, but didn't feel it was worth the CE price. Might be ok if an SE as the bonus content was short, again too many HOS. Just seemed lazily put together, by padding it out with mundane HOS here, there and everywhere!
Date published: 2013-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring beyond belief How I wish I hadn't bought this game. At first I was enjoying it, good graphics and the sound was good also, gameplay was quite gripping until my demo session ran out and not at the end of an hour, oh no it was just a slice of the game at the beginning, However I still bought it and as soon as the full version started to play it was nothing but H.O.s one after another and hardly anything else at all apart from some voice-overs needless to say the gameplay was terrible and so boring, After buying a collectors edition I am determined to finish it but I have to do it in small sessions because I start to loose the will to live.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Another "Mystery" I wouldn't normally post a review on a demo, but I just wanted the opportunity to say how weary I am of the same old thing. You're a detective (surprise), called to help out a friend who has resurrected a relative in search of immortality (another surprise). I'm afraid it's the usual fare, like all the developers have the same game engine and just plug in a dreary plot. HOs, a little adventure. Find the needed items. Throw in a few puzzles and I'm sorry, but I'm yawning. I think I still haven't gotten over the latest Mystery Case Files. What a disappointment. I don't care about achievements or morphing objects, and there aren't any here, but I do care about a cohesive plot that hasn't been done to death, about a worthy adventure and a mystery to solve. You truly may enjoy it if you haven't yet tired of the formulaic CEs of late. Me? I'm looking for something different.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Thanks There's nothing new here, and this one's far too easy as well. It's done on the cheap, with no creativity. Finished the demo in 1/2 hour. Slow-moving cursers are irritating. Too many HOS. Insufficient puzzles.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Good Downloaded the demo,played for about 10-15 minutes got bored and uninstalled it. This is another HOG based on Lovecraft story but I found it dull,amateurish and maybe too basic for my liking. There's nothing spectacular with the artwork (too colourful for dark theme HOG),music and voice acting was boring,way too many HOS than puzzles. Overall this game didn't impress me enough to buy the full version. I highly suggest players to get Haunted Hotel Charles Dexter Ward instead of this.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too many HO's Found that game under "Adventure games" and after playing the Demo I thought this must be a joke, full of HO piles and very little adventure. Why bother with a Storyline if most of the time you are stuck in front of a junk-pile.
Date published: 2013-01-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I didnt feel this game I find this game very boring. . Try before buy-
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from BORING DEMO SAME OLD SAME OLE. HOS PUZZLES NOTHING NEW. NO COLECTABLES NO FUN.WILL NOT BUY THIS, MAYBE STANDARD
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very dull! Only played 10 minutes of the demo then deleted. I found the grapics quite dark and dull and the scenery therefore quite depressing. The cursor was not responsive in places which started to annoy me. I guess we have come to expect crisp, clear exciting games and this isn't like that at all, so all in all boring.....sorry.
Date published: 2012-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh -- Not So Much I finished the demo, but this is a definite no-buy for me. Too dark, HOS are not really challenging, not much of a storyline.
Date published: 2012-12-13
  • y_2022, m_7, d_1, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_16733, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper Collector's Edition

Charles Dexter Ward summons you to the island of Pawtuxet to stop a revenant from murdering the townspeople.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.