Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper

Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(244.00 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Charles Dexter Ward has summoned you to the island of Pawtuxet to stop a renegade spirit that is murdering the townspeople. The spirit is using human souls to become immortal, and you will be next if you can’t stop him. Based on the novel by H.P. Lovecraft, this Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game will test your investigative skills as you solve the mysteries of Ward’s family and complete the ritual that will banish this evil spirit once and for all!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 7.0
  • Hard Drive: 373 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(244.00 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 45.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It! I loved this game and bought it right away....I don't sit and play for hours so this lasted a few days....Nice hint -refilled fast. Hidden Object scenes were not cluttered and disappeared from the scene once you found them....Over all a nice game with a nice ending and great story.
Date published: 2013-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really liked this game!!! Very nice. Excellent journal. HO scenes not bad, which I really like as I want to get on with the story. Good variety of puzzles, not too hard, not too easy. Nice voice over. Unlike some other comments, I liked the graphics!! But..... my favourite..... the sound effects. Turn out the lights when you play this game. Much more effective. The only thing that annoyed me was the SUDDEN ending. This game is certainly worth buying.
Date published: 2013-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth it! I thought this game was great! The primary aspects of the game were spot on! The storyline was an interesting one. The costar asks you for help in righting a wrong he is responsible for. But sometimes with great responsibility comes sacrifice. But he is still helpful, along with the other souls of the village, in helping you to put the villian back where he belongs. There is no interactive map. But it's not so bad without one. Your task list serves as a diary with hints that you can click on to show you where you need to perform a task, or where you need to use an inventory item. The hint button is not really necessary to use unless you have a problem finding an item in the HO scenes. The mini games were fairly easy to complete. The visuals were sharp and beautifully made. Overall, this is a good game to play and buy. Well worth the cost and the bonus punch!
Date published: 2013-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good HO Game For the person who really loves a lot of HO scenes. Good story. Graphics and music were fine.
Date published: 2013-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice game.!!! I must say not as exciting as games from, Mystery Trackers. But I like it a lot. I like when their a lot of HO's. I especially like it when, you pick one and, another appears. I hate bugs and snakes etc. Nice to see none of these so far. I hope to see some of the top game provider to do more games. Many of us wait for theirs.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loosely Based Upon An HP Lovecraft Novel This was a very engaging game, plenty to do with the very many HOGs and not quite as many games. There was lots of back and forth to be done, with no map, but it was not all that bad. The hint system worked quickly and I used it mainly to find out where to go next. The book provided the obstacles and hints if you need them via of photos and THE clue. It made the game easy to navigate and a little too easy to play. However, the storyline was very good and the graphics were hand-drawn, excellent and beautifully colored. I also liked the sound of the thunder and the voices were good. I was a little disappointed that the evil soul-stealer made a very scant appearance in the game, it would have made the game much more tense and exciting had he been in more scenes. Read the popular novel for a really good dark story. This was a decent SE game, I recommend.
Date published: 2017-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Adaptation of Lovecraft's Work H.P. Lovecraft has been inspiring game makers for quite a while, so using one of his tales as the basis for a hidden object game makes sense. You are summoned by CD Ward to rid an island of a murderer, and quickly meet them both. What follows is a fun tale of discovery as you work against the sinister reincarnated spirit until the final showdown. And it (mostly) works. Dark Mysteries is a fairly basic HO game, and that's not a bad thing. You'll explore the island and buildings on it, collecting items to use in the surroundings and compiling things to defeat the evil spirit. Music is decent, voice acting as well, though nothing really stands out and the actor playing the malevolent opponent is a bit of a ham. Visually, the game looks fine. HO scenes aren't too cluttered but nothing to really write home about. Where the game shines are the details. I liked little touches and in-game nods, such as where you remark that a bird in the background doesn't have something to trade you for once. I also liked the amount of HO scenes, as you will come back to them multiple times. Objects are easily collected, though you'll have to manipulate the scene to do so. I also could have used a little variety there. Six times collecting the same object in different scenes smacks of laziness. The final showdown is suspenseful, and there is a cool feature of using clocks to turn back time and see events of the past that the game uses nicely. I think the game is the right level of challenging for most gamers. They also did a great job of putting locations together to allow for maximum exploration without having to backtrack too often, which I appreciated. All in all, a well-done game based on a great author's work. Not too scary, not too challenging, but definitely fun. Worth a try at minimum.
Date published: 2015-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from overall an enjoyable game thank goodness for a great hint button that recharges quickly the only reason I didn't go all the way to five stars is a map would have been nice and some of the finding was a bit much and too dark or hard to find. I also skipped a number of the games, they were just too hard for me. I don't use sound so can't rate that but I like saving souls so that was fun. this is based on the regular game, not the CE - I don't care for all the extras and the CE was simply not necessary for this game for me. I don't use sound so can't rate that but over all I enjoyed the game and recommend it.
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun with a proper ending! I found this game to be very enjoyable. It had nice graphics plus voiceovers. It had lots of hidden object scenes which were interactive but not so many that it put me off. The puzzles were very easy though hence rating the level of challenge at 3 stars. I was able to do all of them without putting much thought into it and I prefer thinking games. The visual/sound quality was great. Items were beautifully done. Not up to par with some other developers but still good. The storyline made sense and was based on the book by H.P Lovecraft -The Case of Charles Dexter Ward. You have to save the souls, not a new concept but this one was well done. It was A LOT longer and had A LOT more locations than I thought it would. It took me about 4 hours give or take. There was an actual ending in the standard edition which I greatly appreciate from developers. The only thing I'll say negativity about this game was the choices of difficulty and the fact there was no way to lock the inventory up but the latter is just a personal preference so I don't have to constantly bob it up and down looking for items. The levels of difficulty bothered me. The Casual is sparkles, hints, skips all of the above. Advanced was hints, skips but had sparkles on the hidden object scenes but also the main game. Expert had no skips, no hints, no sparkles on hidden object scenes or the main game. I would have liked Advanced to come without sparkles but still a skip and a hint. Maybe a customized approach would be nice for the next game. HOWEVER, the difficulty can be changed in the options menu so if you start on expert and need a hint, it can be changed. Just kind of a pain to go back and forth. Also, there is no map and since you backtrack which is why I needed hints to remember where to go, a jumpable map would have been awesome. All in all, I really enjoyed this game. It had the dark theme without being too dark and it had lots of locations to explore.
Date published: 2013-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Campy, Halloween-Style Game This campy, Adventure/Puzzle/Hidden Object game would be perfect for Halloween. But it was released for us Macs on July 5th. There is a lot to do in this game-- it's more adventure/puzzle than it is hidden object. Graphics are good, but the people look cartoony. Dead bodies don't look realistic enough to be scary. Music is good, vocals sound a little bit cartoony. In casual mode, the game is easy. The journal is a good one, with story plus objectives. I did not see a map, but the hint does point in direction needed to go, and the journal does have photo hints in it. Haven't seen photo hints in a journal before; normally they're in the strategy guide.
Date published: 2013-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not that bad Does have dead bodies in it but not any worse than tv. The HOS are ok. Not a bad game not much different than the CE. Hint button works good. There is lots of running around to find items but all the games do now. Graphics and music are ok, not great. No map.
Date published: 2013-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Inexpensive Game This loads quickly (which seems like a silly thing to point out, but holy moly am I tired of games taking 5+ minutes to load), the puzzles aren't so esoteric that you can't figure them out without help, and the storyline is compelling. You're on rails a little bit more than I like which is why I didn't give it 5 stars, but it's a solid, fun game.
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun and surprising! This is a good game with an interesting story based on a Lovecraft novel. The graphics and puzzles are interesting, and so are the HO segments. If you like a lot of hidden object scenes you'll love this game, if not you might think there are too many.
Date published: 2013-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not impressed I think any game that you can get to the end of the demo with 15 min. left is going to be a let down and far to easy to get to thru the game
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game Had fun playing this, I just wish it had been a little longer, took me about 2.5 hrs to complete. Had really good graphics, a lot of HO scenes which were nicely done. Good hint system. Worth the money or credit you spend.
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish I could like this more I will put this title in my "maybe so, maybe not" pile . Loved everything about the game except the number of items in the HOS. I'm just not a fan of 12+ items to find in a HOS. If that works for you, you'll find everything else about this game right up your alley. I will say that HO items are (generally) logically placed and, when you revisit a scene, previously found items are gone. That's worth the price of admission on its own. The Hint system worked well. The objective hints were a nice touch. The graphics are excellent.
Date published: 2013-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun enough to own Didn't get to play far enough. What I did play was fun. Got to the end of the demo way before I ran out of time.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from H. P. Lovecraft stories make good games I bought the CE version of this game and I found it interesting and fun (well, as much as a game about soul-stealing can be called "fun"). I generally prefer lighter subjects, but sometimes a dark story is a good change. Maybe it's that I grew up pre-computer games and I enjoyed reading. By the way, I didn't find the CE "jerky" on my pc. You should try this game.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Relaxing Mystery Story ... and Strategy Tips Without the CE Cost This is a relaxing hidden object game with a good storyline line. * Three game modes * The journal is the best one that I've seen. You not only get things about the story, but you also get game objects, and the bonus is that you get tips/strategies for what to do next. * The hints are generous. * There are 6 chapters. The demo ends when you finish chapter 1. I played it for about 30 minutes. So the chapters are long and you probably have at least 3 plus hours of game play. * I like the graphics of this game. They are very clear. *Hidden object scenes have interaction. *Mini games are not difficult. * I had no technical problems with this game. I'm off to purchase the game.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game to occupy you I'm a plodder, so this game is just difficult enough for me. Three levels of difficulty, HOS with lists with interaction (moving things out of the way to find another object), tasks to accomplish, puzzles to solve, and so on. The story line is spooky enough, Spooky seems to be what the story line is for most HOGs now.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fun game liked the story line,plot,characters just a good hidden object game.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The soul keeper I just finished playing the demo which took less than an hour. This game is packed full of HO scenes some of which requires you to find or uncover objects, but are fairly easy to find. The storyline is good complete with mad scientists, crazed killers and detectives. Puzzles are simple and most items you find are used closeby and you still have to go back and forth to compleye tasks. A fun game to play, but maybe not to purchase.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Relaxed Fun All you need is here. Clear HOG, good hint system, medium challenge level, clear graphics, music, VO (voice over), and somewhat new twist on creepy (soul theft). There is a little difference from the usual. Many items have an icon change indicating pick-up but you can't do it until you perform a fix. EX: A saw cannot be put into inventory until you find the handle, put it in your inventory, and, then, bring the handle to the saw. Not much new here but well done.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recommendable SE game!! As there were no interesting extras, as collectables or achievements in the CE version of this game, I recommend this SE!!! This is a nice game if you have nothing else to do… Graphics are ok, perhaps a bit old fashioned. Gameplay is fluently. There is no map, but that's not too bad, as the items in your inventory are used soon. Inventory pops up if an item can be used. I played the 2nd of three modes. Hintsystem is useful also outside the HOS; it shows you the direction where to go next. Hint refills quickly. In addition there are three hints shown in your notebook.We have lots of HOS aswell as minigames, which are not very challenging. Nice: when you quit the game, it’s shown what you expect next.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Less than 30 minutes to play the demo I don't feel 30 minutes was enough time to evaluate this properly, but the demo ended so my take on it as far as it went was Ok. Not spectacular but not really difficult either.
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from it was an ok game.... but i didn't find that it peaked my interest enough to actual buy it. The demo just wasn't challenging or fun enough.
Date published: 2013-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dark Mystery boring game, terrible music, just awful
Date published: 2013-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh The story behind the game is macabre and interesting but I found myself using the HINT button alot. The graphics weren't my cup of tea either. I love HOS so that got me through to the end of my trial. Needless to say, this didn't go onto my wish list for the next sale. Maybe I just didn't "get it". :P
Date published: 2013-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from HOS a'LOT, MINI-GAMES, NOT a'LOT BASED ON GAME PLAY IN HARD (3rd of 3 modes) This game is all about HOS after HOS after HOS. They are interactive in the sense that some things need to be moved around. Some HOS are pretty cluttered, others not so much, but each is revisited time and again so hopefully you like the scenery. Watch out for terminology - in one HOS a "JUG" is a actually a beer tankard and in another "Flasks" are actually bottles with eyedroppers attached. ? I wanted to love this game. The music is beautiful and compelling; The artwork lovely and mysterious. The story of coming to an island to help a friend is yes, we know, well worn, but there was a nice twist. Our dear Dexter Ward raised someone from the dead in order to learn the secret of immortality. I'm no brain surgeon but I was left wondering - If this dude from centuries ago had the secret to immortality in his back pocket why Does Dexter have to dig him up from the cemetery to ask about it? Maybe the price was too high - And that's the rub, our newly undead guy has to run around stealing souls to stay undead. This game is all about HOS with some adventure and a token nod to mini-games. Perhaps that is a good thing in this case because of the mini-games encountered, the artwork was not inspired, there was barely any challenge, and each were puzzles found time and again in other games, but in those cases dressed up much more nicely than in this game. Game Structure: 3 Play modes that can be changed at any time during game play. The 3rd "hard mode" has no sparkles and to their credit they seemed to curb the black bar hints. THANKS Team! Strategy Guide- OK. Not really needed. If ever unsure what to do just revisit previous HOS scenes as likely there is one to play that has just the tool needed.....One of these times I wish I could keep the crow-bar instead of having to re-acquire it. :) Journal - Limited use, but it has hints if desired the player can click on the photo clipped to the journal page to get guidance. I didn't try it so don't know how the hints are given. It also shows objectives. Map- No. There is a lot of traipsing back and forth but the game keeps the player on a tight leash by blocking entry with lightning strikes or some other mechanism so it is hard to go wrong. Collectibles - No. Achievements- I didn't find any. Folks who love HOS to exclusion of all else should really love this game as it gives and keeps on giving. I don't fit in this category so unfortunately I cannot recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mediocre This seems to be a mostly straight forward HO game with pleasant albeit slightly dated graphics. The VO of the main character you are trying to help makes you root for the bad guy, however...unbelievably whiny and annoying! The puzzles were slightly different than seen before, so that's a plus. There is no map, but there is an 'objectives' button that has a complete hint section to it, which is great. It will show you what you need in a certain scene. The hint button on the main screen will give a directional hint and reloads quickly in the easiest mode. The HO scenes are nicely drawn with some items hidden from view but no interactive objects. While this is a nice little game with some new elements, it does not really give rise to much excitement. Try it, you might like it.
Date published: 2013-01-11
  • y_2019, m_3, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_17042, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper

Charles Dexter Ward summons you to the island of Pawtuxet to stop a revenant from murdering the townspeople.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.