Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Puppet Thief

Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Puppet Thief

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(173.44 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Once upon a time, there was a man who went from town to town with songs and poetry, capturing the souls of children. From generation to generation, the tale was told. But every fairy tale has its true bitter beginning. Now a new evil has visited the town of Arbourshire, and children have been going missing. A mysterious puppet theatre seems to be at the centre of their disappearance. The town is in an uproar! A mob roams the streets and the Brothers Grimm have assigned the task of discovering the truth behind the Fairy Tale Mystery to you! Discover the truth behind the myth and save the children!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.1
  • Hard Drive: 835 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Puppet Thief

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(173.44 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Puppet Thief is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 44.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Puppet Thief SE The Grimm Brothers have been sent to a small town to investigate the disappearance of several children. A man has been traveling from town to town, telling stories, singing songs, reading poetry, and capturing the children's souls! This puppet thief uses a very old and very dark form of magic, he uses their image in the form of a puppet. Together with the help of the Silver Magician, whose own daughter has been taken, hopefully the Brothers Grimm can find a way to stop this evil puppet master before it's too late. The more I played this game, the more I liked it, with just the right amount of Hidden Object games and clever mini games to solve. The Hidden Object Scenes are just simple list finds, but they are very well done, obscuring the items within the scenery or partially blocking the item behind another item. The Mini Games are mostly puzzles requiring you to swap tiles, exchange tokens or turn discs, some of them even require you to figure out the solution after you find the clues elsewheres in the game! The only downfalls to this game are the absence of a map and the fact that some inventory items are really small and difficult to find at times, unless you play in the Casual mode which has a ton of sparkles on everything, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Intersting and fun game Loved the sounds, visualy it was pretty good. The storyline is interesting...love that it includes the Grim brothers and that it doesn't seem to move along to slowly. Has a little bit of everything, hidden objects and puzzles. Also like that you have to go back and forth to work things out but as long as you look at everything you don't get lost. Keeps you thinking.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A nice single edition to begin the new year. Navigation was fast and easy but NO MAP! The interesting surprise was in the options: Choice of 3 dfficulty levels 3 hint recharge times 2 skip times There many HO scenes with a rather high degree of difficulty. Some of the objects are quite difficult to find so you might set th hint recharge to fastest.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE PUPPET STORIES!!! Review based on completed game in casual mode. Animation/VOS - Good HOS - Clear, some very small items, well concealed. MIsclick Penalty - None Hint - Recharges quickly and acts as a guide. My favorite! :-D Journal - Keeps a record of all info collected along the way. Map - None Puzzles/Mini-Games - Usual level of easy to difficult. Not as many as HOS. A great deal of back tracking so be sure to wear a sturdy pair of running shoes. Inventory - Objects used quickly in other locations. This was a good game but not as good as the PuppetShow series. Still, fun to play. Take it for a spin and happy gaming.
Date published: 2013-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from interesting but had more promise unmet I liked the concept, the graphics were good but the colors were monotone. Some games have too much color this one could have used a little more. I played at expert level and found it to be fairly easy. I would have liked a map. The thing that was disappointing was that it just stopped. The story was incomplete. Still I enjoyed playing it. With a little more color, a map, a finished story, and better mini game explanations it would have been a good not just okay game.
Date published: 2013-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent way to start the year I had forgotten this was originally issued as a CE. It was only when I began the trial today that I was reminded of the expanded version. As an IHOG Puppet Thief does not break any new ground. Children have been kidnapped by the bad guy and it is the players duty to foil the villain and rescue the kids. The HOG scenes are simple and what few puzzles encountered in the demo are also easy to navigate. There is a lot of running around in the game which is basic to most IHOGs. A map would have been nice. The graphics are well conceived and the voiceovers add to the overall effect. There are some games that I like to purchase since I can play them with my 6 year old grandson. Since this entry has a certain fantasy element I'll add the game to my repertoire. A lot of HOGgers might find this game too easy and others might be put off by the fact FTM:PT adds nothing original to the genre. I would probably pass on it were it not for the aforementioned grandson. These games are good teachers on many planes, so those of you with youngsters should always consider the kids. The best part is the interaction and bonding with the child.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairy tale mysteries:The Puppet Thief Well I looked at the review's prior to buying this game, it kind of put me off a bit, but then I decided buy it, and glad I did, yes it does not run for long, but the graphic's and the game play is very enjoyable AND FOR $4 99 good value, it is a game for beginner's as well as Intermediate, the puzzles are easy and the ho's are easy to find, so if you want a relaxing game that is none stressful, this is it. enjoy
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed this game Good graphics, storyline was one we've seen before, but that's okay. Lots of HOS, and I managed to progress smoothly with just the hint button. However, it was very short!
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun and A Bit Challenging Based on the Trial Game: This is a bit dark and creepy (Grimm should give a big hint on that aspect!) but it is still a Fairy Tale so that makes it a fun game for me. It felt like nighttime throughout the time I played. There are a lot of Hidden Object Scenes which provide you with a needed object to carry out your mission. Too many for me, actually, but the game intrigues me so will buy it. I want to 'save the children'. The puzzles are different and not to difficult so far. As other reviewers recommend - try it first!
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Crystal Clarity I love hidden object scenes with photographed items! The storyline was okay, and it was easy to maneuver around. The fact that you had to make a potion,easy as it was, was too cliche and common, though. Just like locked doors. This game was okay, but had no imagination.
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed this game. This was a good solid game. It was easy and played quickly.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A really fun game I enjoyed this game. While the storyline is familiar, there is lots to do. Decent graphics A good balance of HO'S and mini games Music appropriate Not too much running around Long playing time The hint button is helpful outside of HO'S There is no map You have to think about what you are doing A fun game worthy of your time.
Date published: 2013-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good HOS Game - Great Graphics! Good Storylne. Played the demo - lasted less than the hour - only about 45 min. Good storyline, no map (which I prefer as there is a lot of backtracking). A lot of HO scenes which are clear and objects are easy to find. Other mini games are not hard & easy to figure out. Graphics are clear & characters are well done. Music is not annoying. If you are an expert you may find it too easy but the story is enjoyable. I am going to buy the game to see how it turns out. A good way to spend a lazy afternoon.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Far, So Good I can only give a limited opinion at this time since I have only played the trial version. So with that said, so far the game is good. I am sure I will purchase it, but not right away. It's an interesting Brothers Grimm story thus far in which the childrens' souls have been taken by some Puppet Master. He has been able to control the adults as well. The town is in an uproar and is ready to spill blood and do whatever it takes to find these missing children. It is up to us as a Brothers Grimm detective to solve the case. The visuals aren't as sharp as I like them. But they're not vague and cloudy either. So far, the environment is a dark one. But it is expected since it is a Brothers Grimm story. But it's not so overbearing that you have much difficulty in your HO scenes. There is no map of any kind. But the hint meter does seem to fill up rather quickly. The mini games thus far are not difficult to master. The diary is only for maintaining information that has already occurred and for magical messages sent by the Brothers Grimm organization. But not for providing further hints or clues as to what you should do next as compared to other diaries in other games. But you won't need it for that anyway because any tasks you need to do next are not difficult to figure out. It's more of a common sense thing. Overall, thus far, I would recommend the game. Play the trial and see if it fits your tastes.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money.... I would like to start off by saying that I wish I would have waited to purchase this game until I read some reviews. The HO scenes were extremely easy, the puzzles were far from challenging, and the game was WAY too short. I figured the demo was just a tease and that it would only get better. I finished in less than 2 hours and that is not normal for me....
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK game nothing new nothing exciting. This game is OK, It's your usual HO game with find objects and place them where they belong, in a story that is not that captivating. The graphics are clear and good to enjoy, music though repetitive, is OK to the ears. The hint recharges fast, The level of the puzzles and the whole game is easy, nothing challenging. Nothing in this game is a breakthrough in gaming experience, nor it is refreshing or exciting. I played the demo but didn't feel like: "Oh I've got to have this game now" no, I would probably wait till it's on the daily deal and buy it then.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing I reviiewed the CE for this game at the beginning of December, and my opinion hasn't changed. I knew I wouldn't be buying it after playing only 30 mins of the free trial, whereas I normally will play an entire demo before making up my mind whether to buy or not. 2 levels List style HOS short, very basic tutorial (which is all that's needed) fast hint button I was disappointed with several aspects of this game. There were 3 hidden objects scenes in the first fifteen minutes I played, which is far too many for me, and they weren't interactive, so rather boring. Mini games were too easy. No map. Nothing to collect. Having said that, the artwork is beautifully done. I also enjoyed the voiceovers, the story line and the music, all of which stop me from giving a less than 3 star rating. This could have been a wonderful game, but for me, it fell short of the mark.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from average and easy but booring The HOS are easy and ok. The music will put you to sleep and make the game boring. There is going from one are to another to find things as all the games do not but this one is really predicable and not much of a challenge. Not sure about the hint button I did not use it.
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Mystery Is Why It's So Short Let me start by saying this would be a much higher rating if the game was not so brief, even playing on the harder setting. I agree with other reviewers that it's never a good thing when you barely need a couple of hours to completely finish a game. That said, I do think it's more of a shame because I enjoyed the actual game so much. I agree that it's not nearly as challenging as most hidden object games, but there's a lot to like here as well. For starters, the story is very well done. You are working for the Grimm Brothers in a detective agency investigating fairy tale characters. I think there is a lot of potential in this idea and love the magical telegrams they use to communicate. The game also looks and sounds great. There are video cutscenes and animations, and the village area is very detailed and extremely easy to get around in. Voice acting is well done and not over the top. Hidden object scenes are pretty easy, and yes there are the infamous lists of stuff to collect. You have quite a few of them to get through, and will do them more than once, but it's a nice touch that the objects you've already collected disappear. I realize logic might not be the first thought in an HO game, but it is appreciated when it's encountered. I thought the villain was an interesting take on a familiar idea, even if he did strike me as vaguely Terry Gilliam-esque, particularly in the final scene. Minigames are the standard fare and below average in terms of difficulty. This has its flaws, no doubt, but I liked the originality and found the story interesting enough that it was worth the purchase. I will be very interested to see where this series goes from here. Hopefully the next iteration will correct some of the length and difficulty issues. Lots of potential to make something great here.
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ho hummmmm I would have enjoyed this game more if there hadn't been so many HOGs. The more you have, the more distracting it is for me anyway. It makes it harder to follow the game when you have to stop in every scene to play not only a HOG but also a mini game. I also think this story has been done several times before. So I liked it, but won't buy it.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing Really Exciting After the intro, I was really excited for this game, but after playing half an hour of the demo, I really was disappointed. Good Parts: The storyline was amazing. Set in 1800s, Grimm brothers storyline. Storyline has a few twists, and I really enjoyed it. Great graphics. Modern and animated well. Journal included. OK Parts: HOS. No interactive or extra step objects, and a little too challenging for my liking. Encountered a few too many in the 1/2 hour I played. Fair bit of backtracking, but not too much. I didn't mind the puzzles, but only encountered 2. Bad Parts: Hint/skip take too long to recharge. No map is included. For some parts of the game, I found it really hard to figure out what to do. I would say that a strategy guide is needed. Tutorial is not really helpful. So, after a great start, the game was pretty average. It's nothing to write home about, and it wasn't really enjoyable to me.
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An evil has been abducting children for over 100 years and turning them into puppets It is 1818 and you have joined an organization, The Brothers Grimm Detective Agency, that investigates and fights evil magic wherevever it crops up. Being a rookie, this is your first assignment. Ine the town of Arbourshire, Children have been vanishing for decades with the first disappearance over 100 years ago. Reports of children being abducted and turned into puppets by a shadowy figure has angered the townspeople of Arbourshire who are leary of strangers and have formed a mob. The mob leader wants justice now and they rampage through town destroying the puppet theater cart. A note magically appears that turns out to be a Grimm Brothers Magicgram [a form of communication used to keep in touch with agents] tells you that you need to discover who is behind this and save the children. There were a couple of Magicgrams that appeared to be presented out of order which can be a little confusing so be sure to read the journal. You are to meet the Silver Magician who lives there for additional information. Unfortunately, he is unable to provide much help as he is distraught that his daughter has been abducted and asks for your help in saving her. An odd looking old man seems to be trying to stop you as you conduct your investigation but is apparently controlled by another more powerful evil magician that is actually turning the children into puppets for their souls. A magical barrier surrounds the town making it difficult for the Brothers Grimm to help so you are on your own. You need to discover the weakness of this pied puppet thief to defeat him and save the children. A somewhat interesting story that has it moments with some depth that doesn't become clear until further into the game after you discover clues unraveling some of the secrets. Unfortunately, it never really comes out why the puppet thief needs or wants the souls of the children and why he turns them into puppets. Does it increase his power or is it for immortality? That would have been nice to know. All we are left with is that he was evil and must not like children otherwise why not abduct adults also? Anyway, the clues are provided through notes and conversations with characters in cutscenes and entries in the journal so be sure to read it periodically. The journal also had pages from what was called the Grimm Brothers Examiner's Handbook that gave some information on different encounters you had and were fairly useless to your investigation and merely informational. Graphics were well done and the music was looped and has been heard before and did get old after a while. Voice acting was good. There are a lot of basic, noninteractive hidden object scenes all which are repeated but with different objects to be found. Inventory puzzles and minigames were ok and nothing very difficult. There is a fair amount of backtracking and having an interactive map would have been nice. The ending had a rather dull cutscene with the head of the evil magician falling to one side and then zooming in on the crystal that is to be locked away. This is one to try for the story and basic hidden object scenes and not so much the bells and whistles.
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Easy/No challenge I liked the story line, but the puzzles were too simple--really no challenge at all. I finished the game because it was short, but definitely not worth the money.
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from MIght be worth buying for the story Based on the demo. I completed the demo, but I'm still not sure I'll purchase this game. Unlike several reviewers, I found the graphics good and solid, and the cut scenes interesting. The journal, while not all that helpful, does provide interesting information about witchcraft and magic that give meat to the story. Reptitive HOS get easier each visit. There is no map, so you have to remember where you've been, but at least in the hour, I note that once you're done with a scene, you're done and you don't have to go back there. So that's good from a failing memory standpoint. Doesn't help if you don't remember that you're done there, or if you're not sure. Biggest quibble - the inventory does not lock open, so you have to remember that you actually have something in it that might help, rather than glancing at the bottom of the screen. This is a personal preference, but I don't like games where you can't do this. Finally, the story. The story is about someone stealing children's (and maybe other people's) souls and making puppets out of them. The monsters are grim as are the kids and most of the people in the story. But I found it gripping. The ONLY reason I might buy this game is to find out how the story ends. And that might be worth today's special price or a free credit. Do I recommend this game? Don't know. . .
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from just ok, will not be buying I played the demo and felt an old school vibe throughout the game. The graphics are odd, in some places excellent and in others horrible. The game seems sluggish, the foot steps in between each scene take much longer than in newer games. The puzzles were fun and the story was somewhat interesting with the Brothers' Grimm aspect added to it, but the oddness of the new "old" game will prevent me from buying.
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from don't know why I bought this game I must of bought the regular version fortunately not the CE quite a while ago because I just went back to play it and I have no Idea why I bought it. the hidden objects are frustrating I click and click and cant seem to find anything, the game seems dated and basically boring. I can't even manage to finish it. I don't use sound so can't rate that and tried playing for a while to figure out why I bought it and kept hoping it would get better but it just didn't. no map although at least the hint button works well and recharges fast but otherwise cant recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dated I probably would have liked this game about 2 years ago, but it certainly doesn't measure up now. The HO items are tiny, and they have you use the same scene several times, which wouldn't be too bad if they didn't use multiples on the list as well, which I HATE...it is a totally lazy way to compile a list; ie: leaf x 4, fish x 3 and so forth. Also, there is no interaction in the scenes, just straight find the object. The graphics are only good on the cut scenes, not on the HO scenes, which look photographed. The voice overs are annoying...had to mute almost as soon as I started. The mini games in the demo were very simple and boring. There is no map, and the journal records what has already happened and is not very useful. The hint, when used outside the HO scene, is directional only. Overall, I would not recommend anyone buy this without first playing the demo..I have a feeling this was developed long ago and simply recently resurrected. Devs...leave it in the moth balls, where it belongs!
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from point and click just inelegant programming every new site has to be backed out of to a main screen, then back in 4 clicks to continue the story. Made it slow and unexciting. The puzzles varied some were entertaining others were too complicated. just an uneven experience
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cute game This wasn't a totally horrible game, but for me it just didn't do it. I played about 20 min on advanced level. You can play casual or advanced and when you click on them, there is no description of the difference between them. All the HOS are indicated on the advanced level. While I did not play long enough to play any mini games (if there are any), I found the HOS and game play in general to be a bit too easy for my taste. I prefer a little bit more of a challenge and would expect the advanced level to not highlight the HOS. In general I really don't pay attention to the storyline in these games so I went middle of the road there with my rating. I found there were just way too many cut scenes and was grateful that they could be skipped. The couple I did read seemed to be storyline only and really didn't give any clues. I also don't play with sound on so no comments there, but I didn't find the graphics up to par with some of the other games out there. If you don't mind the multiple storylines popping up and would like a more laid back, easier HO game, then you might enjoy this one.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Won't be purchasing this game! this game is BORING!! i didn't even want to finish the free trial..i definitely won't be wasting my money! the storyline is fine, but the game doesn't hold my interest....SNOOOZE!!
Date published: 2013-01-04
  • y_2020, m_2, d_17, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_16943, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Puppet Thief

The Brothers Grimm have assigned the task of revealing the truth behind missing children in the town of Arbourshire; it is up to you to discover the secrets of the Fairy Tale Mystery, before it is too late.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.