Heroes from the Past: Joan of Arc

Heroes from the Past: Joan of Arc

PC

Also available on

Match 3

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(60.12 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Help Joan of Arc to build a new Kingdom and change the fate of the people. Journey through beautiful scenery, relaxing music and the thrilling process of building a city in this engaging Match 3 game. Dive into an epic story of honor and courage and save the day in Heroes from the Past: Joan of Arc!

  • Build a medieval city
  • Three game play modes: swap, pop, chain
  • Exciting adventure

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 72 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Heroes from the Past: Joan of Arc

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(60.12 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Heroes from the Past: Joan of Arc is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 73.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Match 3 fun How I have missed a good match 3 game and finally one landed in my lap-top. Lots of levels and a good challenge. The only thing I didn't like was the title and story fell way short. I was asking why Joan of Arc was building a town?
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A change for all the HOG's I played the demo and found this game to be very entertaining, its a nice change from all the HOG's that we have been getting. There are three choices to make with regards to the M3. The visuals were good, they could have gone with a livelier background musical score. But all in all I think this game will appeal to all those M3 fans out there.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Legendary Heroin An early game with a beautiful cinematic ! Two choices available : timed and relaxation that can change in options... very nice graphics and decorations,the music is nice and fits very well with the theme. The tiles are beautiful and colorful,different effects are good,there are some trophies to win,a map that shows the goals,we must build a village with several buildings and detailed information that can be bought with the money win. Each level shows the objectives and what is good is that we can choose between every three modes : chain,and exchange group,there are powers bomb,ax,bow can... mixing board when the gauge is full,the tiles are trapped in different ways and the game is interesting with various actions are key to breaking to unlock other parts of the gameboard,until the number of objectives are achieved. I really love this game that made me have a good time !
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall great fun I enjoyed this game, liked that I could pick relaxed or timed mode,also the fact that you can pick swap,pop or chain for the matching, on each puzzle. I have never found that before. The music is relaxing, so relaxing I forgot that I had picked timed mode and had to redo puzzles. I'm going to buy this one!
Date published: 2013-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting 3-Match This game is great -- different from most -- you have choice of relaxed or timed. The objects you gather or eliminate from boards vary. When you get enough gold you help Joan build her town.
Date published: 2013-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun and Soothing Fun Match 3 for some down time or getaway. Help Joan of Arc build a city and protect her people (It helps if you manage to forget what eventually happened to Joan of Arc). Pro's - fun challenges with different layouts, pleasant sounds (the items falling sounds like old-school typewriter keys and it's comforting), good graphics. Nice flexibility - 3 different ways to make the matches, lots of choices how to solve things. Con's - They bring out the all "bombs" way too early - so you basically work with the same tool kit for the whole game. Music nice background but repetitive. Overall, a fun way to kill time and chill out.
Date published: 2013-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Joan of Arc? An entertaining, beautiful, game to relax. What has it to do with Joan of Arc but I do not reveals itself. A little more history would have liked better.
Date published: 2013-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from addictive 3 match game As my title says this game is really addictive. All you want from a 3-Match is included in this game. Very entertaining. The one hour demo was gone in a second!
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Game I really liked this game, it took several days for me to complete and it has 3 different ways to play the game. Its a lot of fun.
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game. Not much of a story, but the levels are good. Wish it was longer.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Matching Game Love the background music. There's 3 modes of matching you can pick from. Overall, nice game.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from BOREDOM SET IN I purchased this game, but I'm not sure why. Usually I play the demo and write a review at that time. Since I had not written a review already, then I guess I didn't play the demo. Never a good idea. This is a Match 3 game combined with building and fortifying a town. Nothing I've seen so far in the game remotely pertains to Joan of Arc. In order to construct buildings, you must earn x-number of gold coins during the Match 3 play. The problem is, the boards take a long time to play, especially when I used the chain type of matching. And the number of coins earned for the completion of a board was not that much, so it took playing a lot of games to be able to construct a building. Various goals needed to be completed before a board was cleared. Maybe something as simple as dropping a treasure chest off the board. But other boards might add collecting x-number of 3 or 4 types of tiles, removing all the golden tiles, removing all the chains, etc. Constructing buildings was the way to increase the number of coins earned for certain matching actions. For instance, after one building, the number of coins won for matching the steak tiles was doubled. Power ups were pretty standard; an axe removed one tile, a bomb cleared one area, a crossbow cleared a row and column, etc. The crossbow was very hard to control and I wasted several of them before I learned that it could not be dragged across the board to the row/column I wanted cleared. I had to keep the crossbow off the board until it was next to the row or column before I moved it to the board. As soon as it touches the board, it releases its arrow. There were bombs and a special tile in the boards themselves. The bomb had to be uncovered by matching the tiles next to it. But you have no control as to where or how the bomb goes off. It explodes 2 seconds after it is uncovered. Various achievements could be earned, but even they were not interesting or challenging. The game seemed to drag and nothing changed. Maybe the demo would not have been long enough to reveal this issue. I just got bored.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good in so many ways ... except one major thing This game has so many good points, it's a shame that I cannot recommend it. The music is calming and lovely, the icons are attractive, the various challenges (ice blocks, chains etc) are good. You can switch between match 3, pop, and chainlink styles. You can switch between timed and relaxed. It "ticked all the boxes" or so I thought. I bought it and played for a few more hours. Sadly, after the first few levels, there is no incentive to keep moving forward. The first 4 buildings (maybe 15 levels or so) give true rewards ... a better bonus, each time you save enough gold to buy a building. Great! But the next 8 buildings do nothing but give you more gold. Each building you buy means that another type of icon gives you 2 gold per match. So you can earn more gold so that you can buy the next building so you can earn more gold so that you can buy the next building ... rinse and repeat, rinse and repeat. If there is no 'reward' for buying the buildings, there's no point ... after the first 15 levels or so, it's just a game of "can you beat the next 85 levels". Yawn. I am so disappointed. Not even finishing the game (so rare for me) let alone replaying - ever. Waste of money - I do not recommend this one. Which, as I say, is such a shame, because so many of the attributes were wonderful.
Date published: 2013-06-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Player's choice of challenge Oh, of course I bought it -- it's a Match 3, my fave kinda game! And it has some decent features… Initial findings: Timed and Untimed Modes -- can switch between boards Swap. group and chain modes -- can switch between boards Some interesting game mechanics Hidden sections you must unlock Power ups Achievements Earn coins to build the town as you play Not so great features… Not exactly Widescreen -- side bars are filled with stone walls Graphics are colorful -- not as sharp as I would like Music is repetitive Game play feels repetitive So far I am doing all the work -- not sure when Joan will show up. Follow up upon completion: The town built itself with the help of my financial support. Joan showed up periodically to laud the progress and finally to proclaim the town safe and prosperous. This match 3 was much too easy if you play it in swap mode. One of the achievements is 'Use each mode (swap, group, chain) to complete at least one board.' I tried the other two modes -- even in the beginning they were challenging; toward the end, near impossible. Does practice make perfect? Go through the entire game once and you can "Free Play" any of the 100 levels in any mode. So I guess trying to play most of the game in only group and or chain would make the game extremely hard. Maybe someday I will try that…maybe not. (3.5 stars)
Date published: 2013-03-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Entertaining match 3. Help Joan of Arc to build a city for the people who are suffering, bring shelter, food and work. You can play timed or relaxed. Story is well done, with good sound and VO. You can choose to swap, pop and chain mode. On each board has a goal, and as you earn money, you will buying houses etc. for the city. Not really challenging, but is relaxing. A game that provides hours of enjoyment.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rebuild Joan's Village This review is only on the demo -- I haven't decided to buy yet or not. It is based on the same premise as the Cradle of Rome and Cradle of Persia, but not nearly as much fun. You basically make matches to get money to improve the village with houses, farms, sawmill, etc. But the improvements are only based on money, and it takes a while to gather enough $$$ to make the next improvement. It does have a timed and a relaxed mode, which I like, and allows three types of matches (swap, group or chain). It has the challenges of ice squares and boxes to break, as well as powerups of axe, bomb and more. I like this game -- I just wish it were more exciting!
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from HELP JOAN AND BUILD A NEW KINGDOM Review of completed game. You have: * Match modes of Swap, Pop and Chain; * Time and Relaxed modes; * Awards board; and * Can replay any of the boards once game finished. This time I played the Swap mode. I haven't played the Pop or Chain modes yet as I'm not very familiar with them. However you mix and match them during the game as you are given the option to choose each board you play. The graphics are superb and very clear. I enjoyed playing the boards because of this. The music is very pretty and quite haunting. I found that I was getting a bit irritated after a while with the music because I was being distracted by it, so I turned it right down. This is a lovely easy game to play and is perfect for beginner and maybe intermediate fishies. Expert players however will find this too easy. I played on timed but you can change your mode from timed to relaxed at any time. There are 100 boards to play. At the end of the game you can replay any of the boards again. There are 12 achievements to get. The usual ones like finishing a game in less than a minute, etc. All up the game took me about 4 hours to play. I was hoping it would get harder as I got further into the game, but sadly this didn't happen. Oh well. Happy playing.
Date published: 2014-10-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs a more upbeat score Heroes from the Past: Joan of Arc has the typical match 3 set-up, but like the Azkend games, you can choose your gameplat mode of swap, chain, or block base to remove pieces. While learning about Jeanne d'Arc's endeavors to free her country from English rule during the early 15th century, but we are also popping out icon, and when we rach a certain number of icon and meet the requirement of each puzzle quest, then we are reward with a gold allotment to spend on rebuilding our medieval town. While the game can be addictive, and having the various different modes to play in makes it more challenging, especially in timed mode, I found the repetitive historical riff to be droning on, and this caused me to get sleepy. If you all want us to not quit playing your games, you need to have more upbeat music, like the fun drums in Jungo. There are many match 3 games to play out there, and I was glad I didn't go much further with this one. Keep on searching, because there are many great matching casual games out there. Even though this one has a historical lesson to be learned along the way, keeping one's interest will be a challenge with the sounds lofty recorder and lute midi-files buzzing around in your brain. Maybe the next Hero from the Past might be Shaka Zulu, even better, Shaka Kahn, and then we'll have a game worth playing!
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This game has as much to do with Joan of Arc as the man in the moon has with a nice ice cream. I hope every one has read the real history and dosn't take a vehicle to drive a game as the real thing. Don't mind me, I love history, and I get a bit cranky when films and telly change the facts. The only thing the film Braveheart had with William Wallice is that it all took place in Scotland. Sorry, I'll put away my soapbox now. The only difference between todays game, and yesterdays is the music is much nicer today. It's an easy game to play. I think a better childrens game than for adults. When my gold standard is the fishdom games, heroes from the past pails quite a bit. Still, for what it was, it's an okay game. Oh, there's the soapbox again. Check out the music, it won't be what you expect. Found a piece by Richard the lion heart. Most depressing music Iv'e ever heard.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just an OK game I don't know what's happening with the match-3 games but they definitely are not as high quality at Big Fish as they used to be. I keep hoping for better graphics, good stories, and some challenge, but the last few releases have been a step backwards and disappointing.
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Misrepresentation of SAINT Joan of Arc While I did enjoy the fast play of this Match 3 game, I was VERY disappointed in the story line. It is unfortunate that the developer used "Joan of Arc" as the heroine, and I can only assume that it was done in an attempt to garner the attention of Catholic gamers.
Date published: 2013-03-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great childrens game..... Nice game for children..just not my cup of tea ..very slow
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Clunky and awkward I admit, I liked being able to pick which style of match-3 game I could play, but I would have much rather had a single-style match-3 game done well than the multiple styles provided done this poorly. It felt like I was playing a match-3 game from years ago when processors could barely handle everything before you'd gone on. Before the tokens settled from one move, I could be two or three matches beyond already, and if one or more power-up gets used, I could be further. This game doesn't even reward that kind of action. Just as annoying, to build just the initial stages of the village, I had to play three or more levels. I don't mind that too much late in the game, but I hate that when I'm just starting out. I expect to be able to advanced past the initial stages every couple of levels with increasing time as purchase prices rise; this much time between starting purchases just makes me dread what it will be in later stages of development. Worse, I missed most of the 'storyline' because the game would speed through Joan's screens so rapidly without waiting for a response from me. It was easy enough to figure out what the next goal was, but if there is supposed to be a storyline to go along with advancement, it would be helpful to keep the story around long enough for me to read it!
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from too slow for joe This game is form little kids not grown ups
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Heroes from the Past was boring Very boring, not challenging at all.
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from connect three game good until you need bombs they cannot be used they cannot be aimed correctly and cannot be put anywhere near target I have been stuck for days on one of the levels and have tried every way but cannot get the bombs to work a waste of time and money
Date published: 2015-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just Wasn't Fun This is based on a partial play of the demo. I just couldn't get into it. It had a good introduction, but that was the end of the joy for me. I usually enjoy most of the match-3 games I've played but this just didn't have enough bells and whistles for me. I suggest you play the demo and read some of the reviews. For me this is a no buy.
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Boring! Sorry to say, though I like many M3-games, I find this game extremely boring, and a bit naive. I played about 45% of levels and all the time I was waiting for some extra gigs or some puzzles between levels. The only challenge in this game is to collect gold and by buildings!
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dissapointing... The graphics were nice, but the total fictionalization of a great Catholic Saint was quite frankly a little offensive. I could not play for more than a couple of rounds before I just got disgusted and uninstalled. If your going to give your game a theme...at least try not to butcher the reputation of a real life Saint.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Joan of Arc Boring..While attempting to play FREE trial it actually took one of my cupons and now I own a really crummy game.
Date published: 2013-04-06
  • y_2021, m_5, d_14, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.15
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_73
  • loc_en_US, sid_17522, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Heroes from the Past: Joan of Arc

Take a journey through medieval times. Help Joan of Arc to build a new kingdom and change the fate of the people in this epic story of honor and courage.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.