9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition

9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition

PC

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(407.24 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The Festival of Fools is in full swing in Paris when the gargoyles of Notre Dame Cathedral abduct a festivalgoer in plain sight. What was assumed to be a festival stunt turns out to be something much more foul. You are hired by the Paris Police to work the arcane angle of the case in this fantastical reimagining of Victor Hugo’s classic tale.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus Chapter
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Achievements
  • Beautiful Concept Art and Wallpapers
  • Musical Soundtrack

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1095 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(407.24 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 71.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINISHED CE WITH EXTRAS PLAYED Really enjoyed this game. Games were not too hard but did make you think a little more than those simple ones. Loved having the map to travel quicker. I adored the little buddy and grew quite fond of him. I wish they would let you know what games had them because I think I would get everyone it makes the game a little more fun and that is why I play for entertainment. Do not miss this one you have got to play it. Good Luck All Fishes!
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyed it Based only off of the free trial: The storyline is honestly the only real problem I had with this game, and it wasn't THAT big of a problem. It didn't pull me in as much as some of the other game's storylines have. However, I was happy to find that some of the small puzzles you have to complete actually took me longer than most HO games I have been playing recently. I definitely enjoyed the challenge. Overall, game was enjoyable and I would be tempted to buy it.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from JHR's Fav I really liked this game. I don't mind going back and forth trying to remember where what fits. Good for the brain. Not too many HOS and they were easy so I could get by them quickly and get on with the game. Some of the puzzles were hard which I really like especially those in the bonus game. I just wish the game designers would break from the ghouls, goblins, ...the dark side, and design games like some of the old Fav's such as Myst and a whole lot of others.
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The 2nd Nine is Wow I'm keeping this short because I need to get Nine as soon as I finish this. The scenery was gorgeous, the music was well done and the voice overs were were well done. The HOS were not difficult and I liked the interactive items on the lists. The strategy guide didn't follow the story as you progressed but that is nothing new. The hint button filled quickly and I didn't check to see if it worked outside the hos. The mini games were not difficult but enjoyable. I thoroughly enjoyed the game and loved that it had achievements. After playing the first 9, this one is just as great.
Date published: 2013-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Notre Dame, gargoyles and Quasi! After playing the first "9" SE, I hurried to buy the sequel as a CE. This game is hard, even on the casual level, but quite enjoyable. The HOS are interactive, even including a "build an object" type of HOS. You have your own personal gargoyle who can fly, and you receive awards as you accomplish various tasks. The puzzles, however, are hard. I had to skip quite a few, not having the patience to try, try again. The hint button is very helpful, but I did have to use the strategy guide as well -- something I have not done on most previous CEs. The amulet and the hidden glyphs are back. It does seem like a continuation of the original "9", but is playable even if you did not play the first one. What a clever game!
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not overly easy Loved the music.. loved the story. beautiful graphics. achievements and a little gargoyle helper. Some really good mini games and this one had some challenge. I had a few what to do next moments and I really had to study my inventory objects. Bravo. This was better than the first one IMO and I gave the first one 5 stars. Set in Paris, you are helping the police who have hired you in secret as they do not want anyone to know that the case has paranormal elements to it. A young girl has been kidnapped seemingly by gargoyles. My only critique is the ending which is the exact same ending used over and over and over again. But the rest of the game.. the cut scenes, the artwork, the music and the storyline are all very good. The HO scenes bright and crisp and some tricky inventory objects. Nice job loved it.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whats not to like? This game has it all! Acheivements, beautiful graphics,wonderful music,and a cute little gargoyl to help you investigate. During a festival all the buildings gargoyals came to life and kidnapped the mayors daughter. Everyone thinks it was part of the festival so you must investigate without alarming anyone. Many different rooms and buildings to investigate, many items to collect and use throughout the game with challenging puzzles and fun HO's.This is a must buy!
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Excellent game, based on a very interesting and original stroyline and setted in the magic Paris.. and you can really have the feeling of! Graphics are fantastic and the sound magic, all fits perfectly with the atmosphere of the "Ville Lumière". The game is intriguing and hooks you from the beginning on, is fluid but makes you also think about where to go on what to do next (that i like!)...there are a lot of beautiful locations to visit, HOG are very funny and puzzles, most on the difficult side, are original and make work the brain. I loved our heping friend Gladriel, very nice and funny! The main game took me more then 5 hours, playing hardcore (no skip or hint button available) and relaxed, reading the story and the dialogues. There are also a lot of achievements to get. The only thing did not convince me was the bonus chapter, round about 40 minutes of gameplay not so challenging or interesting, a sort of flash back on the beginning of the story of the cathedral...Beside that, is a 5 stars game you cannot miss!
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best games I have ever played I am not sure I have ever given so high a rating for any game but this one is fantastic. I will not go into specifics as other reviewers have already done that. I will say however that I am struggling to find fault with this one. I bought the last Dark side and enjoyed it but not half as much as this one. Ther graphics are stunning the cut scenes are well done. The storyline is gripping. The puzzles are very challenging ( bit too much for me but not I am sure for so many out there that love puzzles). The music was wonderful and so relaxing. The organ music in Notre Dame was totally inspiring. It was a long and complex game ( still have to complete the extra gameplay) but I would recommend anyone to buy this game. It is well worth the price of a CE.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a fun game!! A great and imaginative game - great storyline -- kept me going and not wanting to stop. Loved the voice acting and the cut scenes as well - quite a few cut scenes - sort of like a mini movie scene and then on with the adventure and the HOS scenes. The HOS scenes are really beautifully detailed, and colorful as well. Enjoyed this game - could not stop playing! Looking forward to the next one in this series!
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Took my time & savored the experience BASED ON COMPLETED GAME HARD CORE (3rd of 3 modes), no sparkles, no help in map, some black bar hints. Delightful surprise - This 2nd installment exceeded all expectations. The first "9 The Dark Side" was so fun, original, and challenging I doubted the sequel would get off the ground. To my delight I actually liked this one even more than the first installment. Notre Dame as a back drop and edgy storyline (no need to repeat here). The graphics & artwork are inspired. Each area was beautiful serving multiple functions giving the adventurer a lot to investigate. It was interesting and fun start to finish. This seemed like primarily an adventure game with well thought-out and clever mini-games that varied in difficulty, and a balance of iHOS, all very well done. Due to the adventure aspects it was not always obvious what to do next sending me to the strategy guide more than once which was great. I have a nit-picky pet peeve which also annoyed me in the first installment - Use something the wrong way or make a bad click and a black bar remark ending "...too bad there is no cavalry to call for help" popped up so repetitively it became grating. -I was hoping for new material. -------------------- GAME CONSTRUCT MAP=YES. Jump map. In hard core mode is shows only available locations which I appreciated. Don't know if other modes showed more detail. JOURNAL=NO. Not needed. All background material was available where found throughout game. COLLECTIBLES=NO. Fine by me. ACHIEVEMENTS=YES. To get all of them you must play in HARD CORE mode and play the tutorial. MUSIC=Original and enjoyable but not a lot of variety so it was turned down at mid-point. VOICE OVERS were good - Those who want lips and words in sync might be annoyed. SIDE-KICK=YES. There is a little Gargoyle who can fly and reach things while making sassy comments. iHOS=There are a reasonable amount. All well done and enjoyable. Some were "assemble the pieces" that required visits to more than one area to complete. MINI-GAMES=Plentiful and fun. Most easy others offered some challenge. Examples: Wiring a circuit, runes and codes, one involving photographs of a mime was completely original and fun, magnets, potions, baking, carving. This game has all the ingredients that intrigue me - gorgeous and historic location, well constructed scenes, lots to see and investigate, challenge in figuring out what to do next, well done balance of iHOS, plentiful interesting and clever mini-games, with a cohesive, non-hurried ending. Great game! Highly Recommend for those who like adventure and some challenge.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Hunchback of Notre Dame! What a great entertaining game in the wonderful setting of Paris and Notre Dame Cathedral and a fantastic sequel to the first 9: The Dark Side, which I also enjoyed immensely. Beautiful graphics, wonderfully drawn. The music score fits the setting perfectly. This is a take on Victor Hugo's well known story and the usual suspects are there - Quasimodo, Esmeralda and lots of gargoyles. You even get an adorable companion Gargoyle of your own to help you out, called Gladriel. Her speech reminded me of Yoda and she has such humerous remarks that I found myself clicking on her even when I didn't need her just to hear what she would come out with. The teleport/jump to map is extremely helpful and shows your objectives (even if it wasn't always 100% accurate).
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolute bliss can't find anything bad about the game..kept me mesmerized for 6 hours of absolute fun and what a thinker so great.perfect in every way haven't played the bonus yet,looking forward to that.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANNNNTASTIC.... What i love about this game is the background sounds: Wind Wispers... Very easy to play and just enough HOS (very easy) to keep into the game. The only ''bemol'' is the end...it just stop abruptly...that's all folks...that's it...end of game. Glad to have the SG, and the map #that will brings you directly# love that. The game excellent.
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A terrific game, but with a poor bonus chapter When I saw this game I bought it straight out as I knew I would like it - and I was right. Stunning graphics, good voice-overs, great cut-scenes, and catered for wide screen. My computer stalled a bit between scenes, but not enough to be annoying. Hidden objects were with basic interaction and were easy to see, and puzzles were average to easy, but with a couple requiring thought. There were no bonus hidden items. There were achievements to earn - although I didn't receive 2 of them. The first being for using the tutorial - I wasn't asked about it and could find nowhere to access it. The second being if I played for over 5 hours - which means that it isn't a long game. The bonus chapter was a sort of prequel rather than following on from game, and was very short, boring, mediocre and easy [bar one puzzle that I used the SG to complete as it was somewhat cumbersome] and really was a waste of time. CE or SE - really depends on how much you depend on the SG, as it wasn't worth the CE just for the bonus game. But definitely recommend this game!
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delight Not Dark Side Just finished the full game, I loved every single minute of play, love my little Gargoyle friend too, I found myself glancing at him once in awhile so cute, a joy to play, And actually sorry when I finished it. Keep bringing games like this and I will be broke !! Love the story of Notre Dame and would highly recommend this game, for fun, challenge and of course the story line.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Sequel Even Better than the Original 9! I rec'd this HOG for Beta testing. I played about an hour, when the program says, more or less, if you want to play again to beat your time, go ahead and play it. I yelled out loud! I didn't even get back to the Stonemason shop. I have to buy this to finish this great HOG. With many creepy gargoyles (alive!) attacking you. You get a cute little monster to guide you, too. Buy it! You'll love it.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting game! The game is great! I could not tear myself away from it! Play and you will not regret!
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Virtual Vacation Another wonderful 9: The Dark Side game. The setting was gorgeous. The story was odd and interesting. Everything was beautiful to look at and fun to interact with. I enjoy games that inspire me to do research on locations to learn more or read classic tales again. I also appreciate the help of adorable animal/creature friends. Being young-at-heart FTW.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging and fun! Afternoon, fellow pond pals. I also have the first "9" game. It has been so long ago that I have forgotten it...hmmm. Anyway, this is a very nice game. Nice, clear graphics and game play. Music soft and nice. HOGs simple and clean, games take some thought but are not too difficult. I really like the voice overs (always a plus for me). Don't see any extras to get as in other games, unless I missed them. Gladriel is fun, although "it" is referred to as a "she" with a man's voice (figure that one out). Nice SG. Didn't use the hint, so don't know about that yet. Looks to be a nice long game, but hard to tell. I ignore the achievements..the "awards" don't do anything for the game. I play at my own speed and don't care if I did something quickly or not. I'm just here to enjoy the game itself. I would also like to know about the bonus game. Getting tired of buying CEs for another hour of play and not being overly excited about it afterward. I am downloading this game now. Yes, I bought the CE. I liked it and want to see where it is going. The gargoyles drew me in from the beginning. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for it at all. Thanks for the reviews!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different but in a good way!! From the first moment you start playing you will notice that it is different from most games. It moves along at a nice pace and is not difficult to follow. The help button is very good. The games are fun and challenging and different from most games. You pick up a little companion as a helper. The graphics are beautifully done and sound is good. The storyline takes place in Notre Dame cathedral and is very interesting. I liked the game from the very beginning and it just got better the longer I played. I hope you like it too!!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SECOND 9 IS REALLY 10 OUT OF 10 Loved the first 9 the Dark Side and this looks and feels just as good. Super mini puzzles, not just the same expected mini games as other games, these are fun and a real challenge. I ran out of time playing one of them and didn't care, it was that much fun. I'll definately be getting this one to see how the story unfolds. Glad there's a interactive map and we again have the magic gem to detect evil spirits. 9 are both such wonderful games you won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Awesome! Oh how I love these fairy tale/folk stories that we read as kids. I was thinking the other day when I finished Headless Horseman that the Hunchback would be a great story and PRESTO, here it is a few days later. I will be watching for the SE as I already spend too much and don't need another CE. Graphics, sounds, and HOs were very well done, but found some puzzles difficult, but I don't have a lot of patience for puzzles and could just skip them all. I can't wait to see if this story follows the tale of the Hunchback...please keep these type stories coming.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! This game is awesome! I don't know what more I can say!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game!!! Great story, beautiful graphics, HO´s with interactive parts, archievements, map to jump from scene to scene, 3 modes... Thats what I need for a great game!!!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT! Entertaining version of Victor Hugo's tale. Paris, Festival of Fools .... the gargoyles of Notre Dame came to life and kidnapped a girl. Help the Police Inspector Charmant to solve this case (Gladriel, the little gargoyle, will also help you). Outstanding Paris ambiance, great music, graphics extremely well made - you will feel walking around Paris, immersive atmosphere, interesting excerpts of history, like Holy Grail. Gorgeous Paris locations to explore. Good amount of interactive HOS - not really challenging. Some great new and different mini games - some challenging, others not. Three play modes Eight chapters plus bonus chapter SG integrated A first-class HOPA. I'll have an awesome Sunday!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent game I bought the previous game at the end of 2011 and loved it . But they have excelled themselves this time and improved everything The story is a lovely mix of kidnapped girl and gargoyles come to life at Notre Dame along the way you recover a gem ,a map your own mini gargoyle and various other things. Without giving too much away a lot of the puzzles [which are not all ho's] move the story along in fact they managed to come up with such a good mix of puzzles I didn't need to use the hint button very often and when you did it gave you something to do and where to go For me its the CE becuse that's what I had for the last game ,but if you are not sure wait for the SE But do try it!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 9 Ways to Sunday Great game. Played only a few minutes but thought the first couple of puzzles were fantastic. Definite buy.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Game This is a refreshing game, with a beautiful sound track that reflects the Paris location. The voice overs are excellent, and not at all contrived. The scenes are crisp and clear. I don't require real actors as long as the voice overs are well done. There is a jump-to map, and sufficient challenge for my personal level. The setting, with gargoyls and other unsavoury characters lurking in the background, captivate the imagination.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At Last ... A Game That Gives You Puzzles to Make You THINK! Have just completed the demo. BRILLIANT! Great story, lovely graphics. Puzzles are original. I encountered 4 in my hour. I skipped one to save time. The puzzles really made me think, which I like. The recent games have all had puzzles that have been on the "easy" side. Makes a nice change to have to think for a while! I purchased the first game in this series but have not played yet. Really enjoyed this demo. Will certainly be buying this one!!
Date published: 2013-02-10
  • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_17368, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition

Find the festivalgoer abducted by the gargoyles of Notre Dame and uncover the cathedral’s dark past in this reimagining of the Victor Hugo’s classic tale.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.