9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition

9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition

PC

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(407.24 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The Festival of Fools is in full swing in Paris when the gargoyles of Notre Dame Cathedral abduct a festivalgoer in plain sight. What was assumed to be a festival stunt turns out to be something much more foul. You are hired by the Paris Police to work the arcane angle of the case in this fantastical reimagining of Victor Hugo’s classic tale.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus Chapter
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Achievements
  • Beautiful Concept Art and Wallpapers
  • Musical Soundtrack

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1095 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(407.24 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 71.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Live gargoyles kidnapping a girl in Paris !!!! Played 45 minutes, casual - 3 modes, casual, advanced, hardcore - Interactive map that you get shortly after starting the game - After playing a while you get an amulet that fights evil glyphs - You will get too a cute little gargoyle, Gladriel, that will help you - Throughout the game you can get 30 achievements, H0 with no hint, no skip, sharp eye, etc.... - Voice overs (even for a French it's strange to hear our supposed "French" accent while speaking English ) - You'll have to find -in various locations- pieces to built an item - H0, you interact - Excellent, inventive mini games, like in the first one - Superb graphics - Good music (was quite relieved it wasn't accordion !!!) A young lady is kidnapped by gargoyles during Paris' festival of fools, up to you to free her.This looks like an excellent game, a straight buy for me.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At Last ... A Game That Gives You Puzzles to Make You THINK! Have just completed the demo. BRILLIANT! Great story, lovely graphics. Puzzles are original. I encountered 4 in my hour. I skipped one to save time. The puzzles really made me think, which I like. The recent games have all had puzzles that have been on the "easy" side. Makes a nice change to have to think for a while! I purchased the first game in this series but have not played yet. Really enjoyed this demo. Will certainly be buying this one!!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great sequel!!!! :)) Wow, couldn't stop playing... Breathtaking graphics, wonderful settings, thrilling story, gameplay is very fluently. 3 modes to choose from, a map, which allows you to "travel", hintsystem is very useful outside the HOS. No journal. Lots of minigames, some are new and some are really challenging.... Not so many HOS (approx. 70 % minigames, 30 % HOS) And what I already liked in the first game of this series: We have this guardian amulet, added to the taskbar, whith which we can reveal secret glyphs... Bonus content: Bonus-chapter, strategy guide, wallpapers, soundtrack, concept-art and 32 achievements to earn!! You have a lot to do and to explore and that's a lot of fun!!!!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Is FANTASTIQUE! I loved the first game of this series and am ecstatic that these developers have once again come up with a wonderful story based on Victor Hugo's Hunchback of Notre Dame. Playing the role of Detective, we are summoned to Paris and now must work in secret to solve the mystery of Fleur's abduction during the Festival of Fools. According to Captain Marchant, Supernatural forces are at work and it is up to us to find our vicitm and uncover the secret that surrounds the famous Cathedral of Paris. We have three game modes to choose from and several achievements to unlock. The only catch here is that in order to get all the achievments, you need to play all three modes which is does give meaning to REPLAY value. The graphics are sharp, not the best I have seen but still very well don. The artwork is colorful and voice-overs are good with french accents that are not over-exaggerated. Game features a map that not only outlines progress but also allows you to jump. The only thing missing is a journal, but you do collect bits of stories through-out the game. What really amused me at the very beginning, I thought we were in Paris during the early 1900s. First you are on a train, then you see a carriage, then there is a gramaphone and suddenly you find yourself in front of the museum and there is a car which needs to be unlocked. Gameplay is your standard HOPA with alot of actions and areas of interest to cover. The HO scenes are heavy on the interaction which makes them interesting. Mini games are interesting and some suprisingly challenging to play which will make many hard-core players happy. There is also the Guardian amulet that is added to your taskbar which you will need to locate the hidden symbols throughout the game. Having played the demo, it really is a no-brainer on wether this is a game to purchase. Great graphics, interesting story, challenging game play and achievemnts to collect. There is definitely fun to be had here and this game gets 5 stars from me. A great way to spend a cold and wet Sunday afternoon on the Dark Side of Notre Dame.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb. Based on the demo. only. There are three game modes and I played on the middle one. The voice-overs are very good as are the graphics, There is so much to do in this game as well as the usual ho scenes and also a map is provided which has to be found. I found the puzzles were quite hard which I love as I can't see the point of doing something too easy, the story was also extremely gripping and all in all I cannot wait for the full game to download. The first game in the 9 series was excellent and this one is every bit as good if not better.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Awesome! Oh how I love these fairy tale/folk stories that we read as kids. I was thinking the other day when I finished Headless Horseman that the Hunchback would be a great story and PRESTO, here it is a few days later. I will be watching for the SE as I already spend too much and don't need another CE. Graphics, sounds, and HOs were very well done, but found some puzzles difficult, but I don't have a lot of patience for puzzles and could just skip them all. I can't wait to see if this story follows the tale of the Hunchback...please keep these type stories coming.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good adventure game This is a pretty good game. The only complaint I have is the hint button. Tells you what to do and not where to go. Yes it has a map to do that but I like to not use a map if possible. Wish MAC would get there games. The graphics are good. Not to many HOS at all. More of an adventure game. Puzzles are good and some are harder than others. But you have seen them in other games. Still a real good game to play.
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whats not to like? This game has it all! Acheivements, beautiful graphics,wonderful music,and a cute little gargoyl to help you investigate. During a festival all the buildings gargoyals came to life and kidnapped the mayors daughter. Everyone thinks it was part of the festival so you must investigate without alarming anyone. Many different rooms and buildings to investigate, many items to collect and use throughout the game with challenging puzzles and fun HO's.This is a must buy!
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best games I have ever played I am not sure I have ever given so high a rating for any game but this one is fantastic. I will not go into specifics as other reviewers have already done that. I will say however that I am struggling to find fault with this one. I bought the last Dark side and enjoyed it but not half as much as this one. Ther graphics are stunning the cut scenes are well done. The storyline is gripping. The puzzles are very challenging ( bit too much for me but not I am sure for so many out there that love puzzles). The music was wonderful and so relaxing. The organ music in Notre Dame was totally inspiring. It was a long and complex game ( still have to complete the extra gameplay) but I would recommend anyone to buy this game. It is well worth the price of a CE.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANNNNTASTIC.... What i love about this game is the background sounds: Wind Wispers... Very easy to play and just enough HOS (very easy) to keep into the game. The only ''bemol'' is the end...it just stop abruptly...that's all folks...that's it...end of game. Glad to have the SG, and the map #that will brings you directly# love that. The game excellent.
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SECOND 9 IS REALLY 10 OUT OF 10 Loved the first 9 the Dark Side and this looks and feels just as good. Super mini puzzles, not just the same expected mini games as other games, these are fun and a real challenge. I ran out of time playing one of them and didn't care, it was that much fun. I'll definately be getting this one to see how the story unfolds. Glad there's a interactive map and we again have the magic gem to detect evil spirits. 9 are both such wonderful games you won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant!!! Just played only 5 minutes demo version and fell in love, I will get me this SE at once. What a fantastic game!!! The animation graphics are amazing, objects clear, first class entertainment will wait for me I am sure. The hint button refills quickly and the map shows where you are and where tasks waiting for you. Maybe we can jump from one place to anther, I do not know by now. The music fits very good to the game, a breeze of french atmosphere floating in the background... The Voice overs are done magnificent, sounds like french people talking english, very cute. So I am off to purchase and give my last two credits with enthusiasm on this one. Happy gaming everyone!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game.. This game is off the chart, the music is awesome and the graphics are so beautiful..This game is a buy but i will have to wait until the SE comes out..I loved everything about this game even the story line is excellent..
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent game I bought the previous game at the end of 2011 and loved it . But they have excelled themselves this time and improved everything The story is a lovely mix of kidnapped girl and gargoyles come to life at Notre Dame along the way you recover a gem ,a map your own mini gargoyle and various other things. Without giving too much away a lot of the puzzles [which are not all ho's] move the story along in fact they managed to come up with such a good mix of puzzles I didn't need to use the hint button very often and when you did it gave you something to do and where to go For me its the CE becuse that's what I had for the last game ,but if you are not sure wait for the SE But do try it!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Game This is a refreshing game, with a beautiful sound track that reflects the Paris location. The voice overs are excellent, and not at all contrived. The scenes are crisp and clear. I don't require real actors as long as the voice overs are well done. There is a jump-to map, and sufficient challenge for my personal level. The setting, with gargoyls and other unsavoury characters lurking in the background, captivate the imagination.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different but in a good way!! From the first moment you start playing you will notice that it is different from most games. It moves along at a nice pace and is not difficult to follow. The help button is very good. The games are fun and challenging and different from most games. You pick up a little companion as a helper. The graphics are beautifully done and sound is good. The storyline takes place in Notre Dame cathedral and is very interesting. I liked the game from the very beginning and it just got better the longer I played. I hope you like it too!!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A terrific game, but with a poor bonus chapter When I saw this game I bought it straight out as I knew I would like it - and I was right. Stunning graphics, good voice-overs, great cut-scenes, and catered for wide screen. My computer stalled a bit between scenes, but not enough to be annoying. Hidden objects were with basic interaction and were easy to see, and puzzles were average to easy, but with a couple requiring thought. There were no bonus hidden items. There were achievements to earn - although I didn't receive 2 of them. The first being for using the tutorial - I wasn't asked about it and could find nowhere to access it. The second being if I played for over 5 hours - which means that it isn't a long game. The bonus chapter was a sort of prequel rather than following on from game, and was very short, boring, mediocre and easy [bar one puzzle that I used the SG to complete as it was somewhat cumbersome] and really was a waste of time. CE or SE - really depends on how much you depend on the SG, as it wasn't worth the CE just for the bonus game. But definitely recommend this game!
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Sequel Even Better than the Original 9! I rec'd this HOG for Beta testing. I played about an hour, when the program says, more or less, if you want to play again to beat your time, go ahead and play it. I yelled out loud! I didn't even get back to the Stonemason shop. I have to buy this to finish this great HOG. With many creepy gargoyles (alive!) attacking you. You get a cute little monster to guide you, too. Buy it! You'll love it.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging and fun! Afternoon, fellow pond pals. I also have the first "9" game. It has been so long ago that I have forgotten it...hmmm. Anyway, this is a very nice game. Nice, clear graphics and game play. Music soft and nice. HOGs simple and clean, games take some thought but are not too difficult. I really like the voice overs (always a plus for me). Don't see any extras to get as in other games, unless I missed them. Gladriel is fun, although "it" is referred to as a "she" with a man's voice (figure that one out). Nice SG. Didn't use the hint, so don't know about that yet. Looks to be a nice long game, but hard to tell. I ignore the achievements..the "awards" don't do anything for the game. I play at my own speed and don't care if I did something quickly or not. I'm just here to enjoy the game itself. I would also like to know about the bonus game. Getting tired of buying CEs for another hour of play and not being overly excited about it afterward. I am downloading this game now. Yes, I bought the CE. I liked it and want to see where it is going. The gargoyles drew me in from the beginning. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for it at all. Thanks for the reviews!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Notre Dame, gargoyles and Quasi! After playing the first "9" SE, I hurried to buy the sequel as a CE. This game is hard, even on the casual level, but quite enjoyable. The HOS are interactive, even including a "build an object" type of HOS. You have your own personal gargoyle who can fly, and you receive awards as you accomplish various tasks. The puzzles, however, are hard. I had to skip quite a few, not having the patience to try, try again. The hint button is very helpful, but I did have to use the strategy guide as well -- something I have not done on most previous CEs. The amulet and the hidden glyphs are back. It does seem like a continuation of the original "9", but is playable even if you did not play the first one. What a clever game!
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 9 Ways to Sunday Great game. Played only a few minutes but thought the first couple of puzzles were fantastic. Definite buy.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good mix of Adventure, HO, & Puzzles I'm pretty fussy when it comes to games like this. I only like hidden object searches with a list of words not pictures, I like to be able to turn off ALL hints, and I like the adventure to be open rather than linear. This hit all these points and had a well thought out story and environment to complete the package. 9 The Dark Side please keep making more games! Because I'm nit picky these are the things I wasn't keen on: The story required a bit of reading that was not relevant to solving anything. The puzzles ranged from ridiculously easy to 1 that I was unable to solve and 1 that stumped me because I couldn't figure out how to move the pieces (I actually thought there was a glitch in the game - so frustrating).
Date published: 2013-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as good as the first one! Superb game. Hooked me from the outset. Great storyline, lovely locations and challenging puzzles. Good balance of HOs, puzzles and adventure and a 'jump' map! Happy girl! Thanks Devs!
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINISHED CE WITH EXTRAS PLAYED Really enjoyed this game. Games were not too hard but did make you think a little more than those simple ones. Loved having the map to travel quicker. I adored the little buddy and grew quite fond of him. I wish they would let you know what games had them because I think I would get everyone it makes the game a little more fun and that is why I play for entertainment. Do not miss this one you have got to play it. Good Luck All Fishes!
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Excellent game, based on a very interesting and original stroyline and setted in the magic Paris.. and you can really have the feeling of! Graphics are fantastic and the sound magic, all fits perfectly with the atmosphere of the "Ville Lumière". The game is intriguing and hooks you from the beginning on, is fluid but makes you also think about where to go on what to do next (that i like!)...there are a lot of beautiful locations to visit, HOG are very funny and puzzles, most on the difficult side, are original and make work the brain. I loved our heping friend Gladriel, very nice and funny! The main game took me more then 5 hours, playing hardcore (no skip or hint button available) and relaxed, reading the story and the dialogues. There are also a lot of achievements to get. The only thing did not convince me was the bonus chapter, round about 40 minutes of gameplay not so challenging or interesting, a sort of flash back on the beginning of the story of the cathedral...Beside that, is a 5 stars game you cannot miss!
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a fun game!! A great and imaginative game - great storyline -- kept me going and not wanting to stop. Loved the voice acting and the cut scenes as well - quite a few cut scenes - sort of like a mini movie scene and then on with the adventure and the HOS scenes. The HOS scenes are really beautifully detailed, and colorful as well. Enjoyed this game - could not stop playing! Looking forward to the next one in this series!
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Hunchback of Notre Dame! What a great entertaining game in the wonderful setting of Paris and Notre Dame Cathedral and a fantastic sequel to the first 9: The Dark Side, which I also enjoyed immensely. Beautiful graphics, wonderfully drawn. The music score fits the setting perfectly. This is a take on Victor Hugo's well known story and the usual suspects are there - Quasimodo, Esmeralda and lots of gargoyles. You even get an adorable companion Gargoyle of your own to help you out, called Gladriel. Her speech reminded me of Yoda and she has such humerous remarks that I found myself clicking on her even when I didn't need her just to hear what she would come out with. The teleport/jump to map is extremely helpful and shows your objectives (even if it wasn't always 100% accurate).
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolute bliss can't find anything bad about the game..kept me mesmerized for 6 hours of absolute fun and what a thinker so great.perfect in every way haven't played the bonus yet,looking forward to that.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delight Not Dark Side Just finished the full game, I loved every single minute of play, love my little Gargoyle friend too, I found myself glancing at him once in awhile so cute, a joy to play, And actually sorry when I finished it. Keep bringing games like this and I will be broke !! Love the story of Notre Dame and would highly recommend this game, for fun, challenge and of course the story line.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting game! The game is great! I could not tear myself away from it! Play and you will not regret!
Date published: 2013-02-11
  • y_2019, m_11, d_17, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_17368, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition

Find the festivalgoer abducted by the gargoyles of Notre Dame and uncover the cathedral’s dark past in this reimagining of the Victor Hugo’s classic tale.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.