9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition

9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition

PC

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(407.24 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The Festival of Fools is in full swing in Paris when the gargoyles of Notre Dame Cathedral abduct a festivalgoer in plain sight. What was assumed to be a festival stunt turns out to be something much more foul. You are hired by the Paris Police to work the arcane angle of the case in this fantastical reimagining of Victor Hugo’s classic tale.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus Chapter
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Achievements
  • Beautiful Concept Art and Wallpapers
  • Musical Soundtrack

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1095 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(407.24 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 72.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting game! The game is great! I could not tear myself away from it! Play and you will not regret!
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Virtual Vacation Another wonderful 9: The Dark Side game. The setting was gorgeous. The story was odd and interesting. Everything was beautiful to look at and fun to interact with. I enjoy games that inspire me to do research on locations to learn more or read classic tales again. I also appreciate the help of adorable animal/creature friends. Being young-at-heart FTW.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game!!! Great story, beautiful graphics, HO´s with interactive parts, archievements, map to jump from scene to scene, 3 modes... Thats what I need for a great game!!!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! This game is awesome! I don't know what more I can say!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not overly easy Loved the music.. loved the story. beautiful graphics. achievements and a little gargoyle helper. Some really good mini games and this one had some challenge. I had a few what to do next moments and I really had to study my inventory objects. Bravo. This was better than the first one IMO and I gave the first one 5 stars. Set in Paris, you are helping the police who have hired you in secret as they do not want anyone to know that the case has paranormal elements to it. A young girl has been kidnapped seemingly by gargoyles. My only critique is the ending which is the exact same ending used over and over and over again. But the rest of the game.. the cut scenes, the artwork, the music and the storyline are all very good. The HO scenes bright and crisp and some tricky inventory objects. Nice job loved it.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from JHR's Fav I really liked this game. I don't mind going back and forth trying to remember where what fits. Good for the brain. Not too many HOS and they were easy so I could get by them quickly and get on with the game. Some of the puzzles were hard which I really like especially those in the bonus game. I just wish the game designers would break from the ghouls, goblins, ...the dark side, and design games like some of the old Fav's such as Myst and a whole lot of others.
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyed it Based only off of the free trial: The storyline is honestly the only real problem I had with this game, and it wasn't THAT big of a problem. It didn't pull me in as much as some of the other game's storylines have. However, I was happy to find that some of the small puzzles you have to complete actually took me longer than most HO games I have been playing recently. I definitely enjoyed the challenge. Overall, game was enjoyable and I would be tempted to buy it.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The 2nd Nine is Wow I'm keeping this short because I need to get Nine as soon as I finish this. The scenery was gorgeous, the music was well done and the voice overs were were well done. The HOS were not difficult and I liked the interactive items on the lists. The strategy guide didn't follow the story as you progressed but that is nothing new. The hint button filled quickly and I didn't check to see if it worked outside the hos. The mini games were not difficult but enjoyable. I thoroughly enjoyed the game and loved that it had achievements. After playing the first 9, this one is just as great.
Date published: 2013-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice game skipped some of the puzzles that seemed tedious, but all in all I enjoyed the game
Date published: 2015-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Game Better Than the First One In Spite of the HOS I Totally Enjoyed Playing this game The Atmosphere Really Drew me in I will be playing this Game AGAIN
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You know you are in France when..... .... the characters speak in cheesy French accents: the voiceovers are truly awful, thankfully you can turn them off. For example, You have a cute little female gargoyle as your helper who sounds like Gilbert Godfrey. Aside from that, this is a fun game. The graphics of Notre Dame are beautiful. The HOS are good but could have used some more. The minigames are mostly versions of the same old games and again could have used more. The adventure is fun to follow, and I liked how you find a item but don't use it immediately, maybe not until much later in the game. I did think it was strange that there were no collectibles. The bonus scene is short and not necessary to enjoy the regular game.
Date published: 2013-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Two thumbs up (if you don't count the bonus chapter) If you enjoyed playing the first installment of 9: The Dark Side you will not be disappointed in this one - except for the bonus chapter - so if you can resist it, wait till the SE comes out. After playing 10 minutes I already knew that I'll buy it. Great story-line that is also connected to the first installment, yet a different story. Lovely locations (not only the Notre Dame), very good graphics with a few exceptions (some HOS were a bit too grainy to my taste), very good cut-scenes and good dialogues - nice iHOS that were sometimes a bit tricky and some rather on the easy side. Good mini puzzles, that are not entirely new, yet at least not only sliding blocks and turning wheels... some challenging, some rather easy. - Three modes to play - Useful map (usually I try to avoid it, but with this game I sometimes really needed it) - Good overall game play, logic and yet can be difficult at times - Nice length of standard game play (the bonus chapter is from my point of view a waste of money, finished it within about 30 minutes) - With the Amulett you will have to find symbols that will "restore" / activate gargoyles, scenes et.c AND LAST BUT NOT LEASTt: your helpful gargoyle friend Gladriel ... who will fly up high ... and is very very funny (well, he made me laugh various times during the game .. just place him in the wrong spot, and he will let you know what he thinks ..). If it were not for the bonus chapter, I would have given this game a 5 star - but the bonus chapter was very disappointing, the spark was missing ... and not worth to buy the CE. On top of the that Gladriel is also not present anymore. Despite, I can very much recommend the SE.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A new classic! I had reviewed 9: The Dark Side Collector’s Edition for Musings before, and seeing this new sequel made me curious, and it was very happy to give it a try. Since the release of this game, the developers have stepped up their game, and brought us something even more challenging. Now, our detective goes from Prague to Paris to find a missing young woman and has to deal with the legend of the Cathedral of Notre Dame, including creature that seem to have jumped off the pages of the classic Victor Hugo book. We are dealing with gargoyles, griffins, and other magical creatures that were once stone that have come to life. There is even a hunchback running around ringing bells, and if you aren't too careful, he'll ring your bell, too, with a good right cross. The local police don't care for us snooping around, but they don't really get it when it comes to the supernatural, no matter what country you might be in. This is Notre Dame, not the X-Files, but things are just as weird here. Even though most of the setting was at night, the hidden object puzzles were easy to see, and there was not too much backtracking to do, as I have come across in other HOM games. If you like a good mystery set in a classic place with even more classic characters, then you should really give 9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition a try. The guide is just a nice bonus, and will get you out of jam if you need it.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice game! I bought this game because the good reviews and bought it together with the first Dark Side. I thought in terms of graphic, I think this one is better, but for cut scenes, the movement is stiff and the characters are basically mumbling things. I am glad that there's Gladriel, which is a plus for this game. I love having a small, cute helper. Not sure what happens to her after the game. The map is very useful as loading between scenes take a few seconds. The story is fine, a bit out of the original story but it was fun nonetheless. It's a must try if you like this kind of story.
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adventure in Paris The game takes you all over Paris. You are a detective looking for a missing girl. Lots of HOS that are interesting.
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice mix of puzzle styles Plenty of rich scenery and challenging puzzles. Animated cut scenes seemed clunky. Story a little underdeveloped.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loving those gargoyles! Good story line about the Hunchback of Notre Dame, with a twist. Great characters, speaking and VOS Transport map Nice music Sweet little gargoyle helper Good puzzles,medium skip HOS interactive Great graphics Seek and find Gave it only a 4 as it is way too short for a CE, only 5 hours total on casual play
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from AWESOME GAME!! Wondefully done devs!!..The graphics are so very crisp and clear...Loved the map was very helpful..Thinking we may have another part coming??..Great job!!! tyvm
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good twist on a classic! Enjoyable from start to finish! Liked the mini-games with a good ratio of storyline, minigames, and the hidden objects.
Date published: 2013-02-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 9: Dark side Notre Dame I purchased the C/E Notre Dame using the summer coupon discount. The game was ok. But I had expected the bonus content to last a bit longer! Too short! Once again I am puzzled as to why this game gets a 5 star rating!
Date published: 2014-06-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A new twist on an old tale Overall I found the game enjoyable at times, but it never really grabbed me quite like the first one did. With that said I would recommend this game to beginners or intermediate players. If you are an expert at HO and adventure games then you'll likely benefit by waiting for the SE to come out. The BC was okay, but I didn't think the CE was worth the extra money I paid. There are achievments to be won, but most of them are your standard achievments like; completed 10 HOS without hints, completed puzzles without the skip button. In order to get all the achievments you'll need to play the game in each mode of difficulty, meaning you'll have to play it 3 times. I thought that was a little excessive. I will not be getting all the achievments. One time was enough for me.
Date published: 2013-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME I see I am definitely the only one here who found this game lacking. I quite liked this game but it could have been better. The cut scenes were very sticky. Another game where they just sat there after completion and would not go away till I hit skip. The iHOS were very well done and even though there were a lot of them, they were quick enough. After all, the genre is called Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure. The puzzles were nothing remarkable and many were to number-oriented for me, but some of them were quite interesting and I managed the majority of them. The wide screen graphics are very good and the jump map is great. Could not do without that, it would do my head in. I liked the story but I fail to see the correlation between the game and Victor Hugo's The Hunchback of Notre Dame. Maybe a courtesy to the author because they included the Hunchback and Esmerelda, even though he is long gone. The music was fine and the voice overs were well done. There is a little helper, a Gargoyle named Gladriel, who accompanies you and helps you out from time to time. Many games are including this feature lately and it is no longer a novelty but I did like it nevertheless. The game is not linear and moving backwards and forwards is quick and smooth but left and right had a time delay of about 8 to 10 seconds for some reason. This got on my nerves very fast. The hint and skip are real fast and the hint is directional, though the jump map is all I used. There are loads of achievements, but most of them are for doing what you have to do in a game anyway, so I did not really have any interest in them. No collectibles. The main game took me 3.15 hrs and the BC 45 mins. That is not really good enough at all for a CE. 4 hrs is what we expect from a SE. The BC is not relevant to the main game. Just a trip back over the centuries for an explanation of how the dark side of the Amulet got hidden. But we already know it did from the main game. A couple of new locations, but otherwise just how the Notre Dame looked back then. I feel rather short-changed. I cannot remember the first game but am going to replay it to see how it compares. Well, thanks Devs, you did a good job and it is interesting, but personally, I need a CE to be a little more polished and at least an hour longer, for my money.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Boring The game is ok just not much story or excitement. The ending sucks
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Forget the CE I love the first game of THE NINE and this one is really wonder-full! I would vote for five stars, but the extragame is very disappointing! Not worth to buy the CE - wait for normal game and enjoy same very fine mini-games.
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wish I'd waited for SE Debated between a 3 and 4 but had to round down based on the very weak bonus game. Recommend the SE rather than CE. The strategy guide really isn't needed because the interactive map will tell you where you need to go next. That's actually a life saver in the regular part of the game because you will spend your first 30 minutes moving from space to space without accomplishing anything beyond noting the lock, key, emblem etc you will need to open whatever. By the time you find whatever it is, you'll have long ago forgotten where it goes. The story is weak but I really don't place a lot of emphasis on that. I like good game play and after buying the CE spent the next 30 minutes regretting my purchase but then I actually enjoyed things as I finally began to find the needed "keys, etc.". The puzzles were okay; some easy but tedious; others were actually challenging. I skipped one because the third time I did it I almost got it but was one shy and just didn't have the interest to try again. The next time I skipped one was in the bonus game and that was because it was easy but tedious. While there are achievements, they are lame. Reminds of the awards you'd get in elementary school for just showing up or participating cheerfully. No morphing objects. As I said, the interactive map is great (you can jump to location) and that is really all the help you need. Recommend waiting for SE but well worth a sale or coupon purchase. By the way, the first "9" is better. And bonus game on this lasted about 30 minutes and was a prequel so definitely just a filler.
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The dark side of not having so much fun Game quality, puzzles, and HOS were great, but the storyline--ok. The bad thing was the first half of the game was good, but the second half made no sense. The sequence of events was so whacky there is no way I would have been able to muddle thru w/o the strategy guide. As it was, I could not finish the game because the it drove me nuts trying to second-guess what the main character was supposed to do. Sorry, this is one of a very few I did not like.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok.. Thought this game was too hard. I had to do so much walking around from scene to scene that it got really annoying. The storyline kep me intrigued but just up after an hour, because it got too difficult. The obects that you have to use don't make a lot of sense. Not worth it, there are better games out there.
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hunch Back of Notre Dame? I played about 20 minutes in the demo. This game has the Hunch Back. Joan of Arch as Im sure many more will surface. I did not like this game as I did not like the first one either. I see Im about the only one who does not like this game. It has more mini games than HOS as its suppose to be an HOG. The grafics are ok and the music was annoying. Its about Hugo's classic tale. I would not even purchase it for $2.99. Its just not for me. Very disppointing!! Happy gaming fishies....
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from TOO MUCH LOCATION HOPPING Review based on completed game minus extra game play. Animation - Wooden VOS - Good but very scarce throughout game. No vo for player; text dialogue only. IHOS - Fairly clear, small to larger items Hint and Skip - Moderate recharge Misclick Penalty - None Map - Does transport Hint also gives clues and directions Did enjoy Gladriel (female), my little helper Found this game to be tedious and slow. Looking for items in endless locations so I could put them in endless locations was a bit much for me. Almost didn't finish this game but to each his/her own.
Date published: 2013-03-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mind Reader? This game is a real challenge (and I do not mean in a good way). Most HOS games are fairly intuitive, and you can get a feel for the next move. No so with this one, and the Strategy Guide is almost no help at all. It is like the developers speak a different language (which they probably do, Ha Ha!). I am currently stuck at the Dungeon level and cannot figure out what to do next, so my next move will be to go to the forums. I am not enjoying the experience much, but if you like that sort of thing, this is the game for you.
Date published: 2013-02-14
  • y_2021, m_9, d_23, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_72
  • loc_en_US, sid_17368, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame Collector's Edition

Find the festivalgoer abducted by the gargoyles of Notre Dame and uncover the cathedral’s dark past in this reimagining of the Victor Hugo’s classic tale.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.