Detective Agency 3: Ghost Painting

Detective Agency 3: Ghost Painting

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(314.25 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A terrible chain of mysterious events and cold blooded murders is revealed during the investigation of an old haunted mansion. Investigate the reason behind the disappearance of a painter and solve a cold case that has left a frightening trail to the present in Detective Agency 3: Ghost Painting!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 3.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.1
  • Hard Drive: 348 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Detective Agency 3: Ghost Painting

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(314.25 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Detective Agency 3: Ghost Painting is rated 2.5 out of 5 by 45.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok Game Really not that bad of a game. No voiceovers but still ok game. Did not think scenes were too dark as I was able to play with glasses on. Some games must have my face right up to screen. Objects small but not that bad actually. Have played much worst games.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Detective Agency 3:Ghost Painting After reading the submitted reviews, I was reluctant to buy the game, but I am glad that I did. There were times when I thought that I would not be able to finish the game, but through perseverance and dogged determination not to let the game beat me, I was able to finish it. Moving from one painting to another was interesting and fun. For those who wrote the early comments, they really could have put some players off from playing this game. That's too bad if they did. I really liked the game and I urge other players to not allow the comments to put them off. RJohn
Date published: 2013-06-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good on some computers, bad on others This Hidden Object/Adventure game has a great storyline that I wanted to play. There is a very good journal that gives you information you can't get otherwise. Outside of hidden object scenes, the hint points to task, or in direction you need to travel. No vocals. Your (detective) thoughts appear as large text at the bottom of the screen. Vocals appear as small text. Easy mode is very easy. This one plays like an old game that the developers tried to upgrade. Many reviewers complained of a dark screen, but the game was bright, clear, and easy to see on my 21.5 inch screen. Some reviewers complained of not getting a full screen, but the game filled my screen. Couldn't hear anything at first, so I turned the game's sound settings to full volume. Then I was able to hear the music, but no ambient sounds, so I turned my computer's sound up. Still no ambient sounds. All-in-all, I think more skilled developers could have developed a much better game. This game was ok on my computer, and I'll probably buy it when it's a daily deal. Try the demo to see how it works on your computer.
Date published: 2013-06-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Vintage game to my taste On and off I do enjoy playing these old-style dinosaurs. Several modern games are too much sophisticated and show-off in my opinion. I guess the reason the game receives so many bad comments is that fishies do not have enough patience. Given a few minutes of it, I hope, they will also find it rather playable. Quite solid storyline to keep your interest and excitement: you are solving the mystery of the haunted mansion. Some people missed voice overs, but it is for the best, I believe since they could spoil the whole impression of exactly this game. While I agree that the graphics was old school, there was something charming about it, something that complemented the atmosphere of the game. However there was one thing the devs should have taken care of – proper translation and spelling. This is no way excusable.
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK, but try it first I thought Ghost Painting was OK, though short. It only took me about 2 and a half hours in easy mode. It's a HOPA (hidden object puzzle adventure) that takes place in a slightly dilapidated, though still colorful house. You also enter 6 paintings during the course of the game in order to repair them. The story isn't that hard to figure out as long as you read the journal as you go along (whenever it sparkles). You're a detective called in to find a missing artist. But instead of a missing persons case it turns out to be a ghost story. But the motivations of the characters don't make sense -- unless you assume the evil whatever-it-was is possessing all the ghosts. But even then, the motivation seems to be more about getting someone to fix up the house and the paintings than anything that's pure evil. The ending is rushed, unsatisfying, and hints at a sequel. The graphics weren't terrible, but were often blurry. I didn't have any problem with darkness in the hidden object scenes. I didn't care for the way the camera would swoop in when you zoomed in on something. It would go side to side while zooming instead of zooming directly into the object. The speed and unpredictability gave me motion sickness. I got so I'd look away from the screen while the camera was zooming. The Hint worked reasonably well (a nice change from the previous game I played), and recharged very quickly in easy mode. I'd only recommend it if you have a credit that's about to expire or if you can get it for a reduced price. Since other players have reported the game being too dark to see hidden objects, definitely try the demo on your computer before buying.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not as bad as many have said based on playing the free demo I will probably buy this game when I have a free game. I don't use sound so can't rate that and it is not perfect but not as bad as some have said. I did not find it that dark and the hint button works fine and recharges fast which is nice. there was one misspelling which was odd but not the end of the world.I think it seems intriguing to find out what happened in the house.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Mystery About a Mystery! The mystery I refer to is what the story is supposed to be about and who hid the dictionary and grammar book from the script writers? Snide remarks (due to wanting to enjoy the game and not doing so due to high frustration) aside, the game is not truly bad but quite confusing as two storylines seem to be trying to converge and only succeeding in confusing the player. There's the missing artist mentioned in the game description and haunting figures, many past murders and a collector who apparently is hoarding stuff from the mansion (stolen stuff?). The technical aspects though aren't as dismal as some have reported. I played 45 min. of the demo and the HO's weren't all that dark considering it's night and no lighting availaboe outside. The objects were clear but almost cartoonish and often blended into the background to the point of invisibility. But the "ghostly" scenes were very well done and some truly disturbing. Who's that frightening boy in the swing and is he following me? The grammar and spelling were, however important drawbacks as it was often hard to understand what the hint was telling me to do. I doubt the writing was edited before the game's release but it does add an unnecessary level of frustration. There are some good things here, however so I'm recommending giving it a try. You may find it worth a play.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Detective Agency3: ghost painting Not a bad game. I did't find it dark or hard to find thr hidded objects. No voice overs, no problem with that as I usually skip that anyway.I'm not an expert and I like to relax when I play so this game is a nice treat.The story is OK and I want to know how it ends.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Bad Can't understand why most everyone is complaining. Yes, it doesn't have voice over but I get tired of those and usually shut it off. I didn't find the scenes dark and being my age that can be a problem. Also, the HO's weren't hard to find the items. I sometimes use my magnifying glass and did not have to on this one. The complainers are just spoiled because it doesn't have all the fancy things in it.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Detective agency 3 ghost painting OH DEAR well I may have given this 3 stars, but this is only for the beginners, it is badly done game, with the graphics being so poor, the music enough to drive you mad, the sound is very poor, the HO's are badly done, sooooo boring. On the good side there is plenty to do and places to visit, but just such a shame that this game passed muster and was actually offered for sale, to unsuspecting people and gullible ( like me ) I had thought this would be ok, but it caught me at a bad time with no game to play, only once though sorry creaters but you could have done much better.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for a rainy day Yes, the scenes are dark and yes some of the items in the HOS are small, but I've played worse and all in all not a bad little diddy to spend those free game vouchers on. Try it for yourself!
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Should have paid attention to the reviews Story line difficult to follow. Very few actual hidden object scenes. Impossible to figure out some of the games within the game. Music boring. Ending made no sense. Must click on items in a very precise way. Several times I clicked on correct item with no results, only to find out via hint button that I had in fact been correct. Kept thinking it would get better. Never did.
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So frustrating Well...it was better than the first one, which I played before playing this to get a feel for changes and improvements. (What happened to DA2 by the way?) Graphics are certainly better and it feels more up-to-date, there is a decent story line but, a couple of times I saw pick-ups but, when I selected the first one, the window closed. Thereafter the hint kept sending me back to the lantern near the gate, but no action to perform. Just found I was going in circles and became very frustrated so will not be getting this daily deal :-((
Date published: 2014-06-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tried to Find Something Good..No Luck!! I always try to finish the trial to give a game a fair shot. I could not finish this trial!! It was so dark, objects just too hard to see in order to find them! This game is just not worth the time and certainly not worth a game credit. Sorry to say that, but that is my opinion. I am moving on to another game. Usually, do not say this, but this game is BAD...
Date published: 2013-08-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Huge disappointment I regret having spent my punches on this game. I must say all the bad reviews turned out to be true: Detective Agency doesn’t live up to modern standards of HOGs. Dinosaur dark graphics was appropriate 3-4 years ago. While I was no expecting voice overs, the general sound quality wishes a lot to be desired: throughout the game you turn up the volume. I don’t like to be distracted by such minor things. But the greatest irritation of all was poor English, with lots of spelling and grammar mistakes. I wish the devs had their text edited at least. I won’t call myself spoilt by titles of major devs – I d/l from time to time less sophisticated games. But I won’t dare advising anyone to buy Detective Agency.
Date published: 2013-06-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fractured Suffered dizzy spells from constantly running around aimlessly for what ?!!! Plot lost or lost the plot ? Sorry but this game reminds me of games several years ago before they evolved to the better games we see today.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't waste the money I agree with the previous posts. When the hint button stopped working I bailed out too.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Review of the hour demo I tried to get into this game and gave it the full hour, but this game is NOT UP to today's game standards. It could have been good if more care was put in the game. As another reviewer stated I had to go full blast on my computer sound just to get some sound from the game. I played aprox 4 h/o and 4 puzzles. I did not have to user hint in the h/o but I had to use it to find where to go next. It was not where oh I found such and such I know where that goes. not sure how long the games goes, but I opened many rooms within the hour. I deleted the game and do not plan on buying, even if I were to use a coupon. It is a dark game, and the weak attempts to startle you with an appearing ghost are a joke. It seemed the farther I went in the game the faster the dialog you had to read, till finally it was unreadable it went so fast. There was a log book, there is no map.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me lackluster noi interesting, poor storyline
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from old game? This game probably would have been a lot of fun- ten years ago. I think this is one of those games they've held onto for years before releasing it.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from they should have stoped after the first one The first detective agency was pretty good. This one is not. No voice over. Graphics and music are not. Dark screen and not even full screen. Hard to see anything. The HOS are fair at best. Puzzles are ok but not many of them. The hint button is ok. Just not a good or fun game. Did not last long on this one and will not recommend. DO not need to say much more because the others have also said it is a bad game.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappearing painter, haunted house Played 20 minutes, easy, and had to exit before I turned blind due to the darkness of the game and the recurrent flashes of lightening ! - 2 modes, easy, difficult - No voice overs - A lot of written dialogue between the characters - Note book - H0, you interact but the names of objects in the list don't have a different color. Extremely dark, killing your eyes, never used that many hints in a single H0, you just can't see things - Mini game, only came across one, not over difficult - Graphics might be good if you could see them This game nearly ruined my eyesight so this disappearing painter and the haunted house can remain where they are but definitely not in my GM.... No way to adjust the darkness in the options.....
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Let Just Paint Over This Ghost & Be on Our Way! Based on Demo: Agree with the negative reviews & don't understand where any of the positive reviews came from. Poorly drawn graphics that look like they were drawn by a, not very good, 1st yr art student. Definitely NOT up to date but more on the cartoonish side with a flat, one dimension rendition. Story drags along, ever so s l o w l y, with way too much needless back & forth. Music is awful & repeats & repeats ad nauseum. No voice overs & a lot of dialogue. The sparkly journal becomes annoying VERY quickly. Also, BF & devs need to do better quality control when using so much dialogue. The grammar & HO translation is just plain awful. HO & mini games are the usual variety though the mini games could have used better instructions. . All in all I can't think of one redeeming factor for this game except for the ability to hit the DELETE button!!!
Date published: 2014-06-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from AWFUL There is no other way to describe this game. It is truly awful. I do not believe it has any redeeming virtues.
Date published: 2013-07-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible I couldn't even finish the demo. The clincher was the spelling mistake, made me wonder why it was not checked before release. Thank goodness for the one hour trial.
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wasted time! Very disappointed in the graphics! Might have been a fun game if it would not have cut out so much as I was trying to play!
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why Even Bother ??? Dark, impossible to see, horrible game. Why even release a game like this?
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from horrible Open the game got the first HOS, exited and deleted the game, didn't want to go blind looking for objects.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from From The Big Fish Attic - Review Based On Demo Story: You take on the role of Detective Cayce to find the missing artist Mr. Willsingham. 2 play modes: Both had sparkles for HOS along with black bar tips. The only difference is the hint takes a little longer on the hard mode and puzzles are supposedly harder so I just played the easier mode. No journal or map. No voice overs as there are subtitle boxes that you read and click through. Some of the dialogue is read from the bottom of the screen. There is sound and music to the game. There is some "adventure" to this game meaning you do have to explore the areas carefully as everything you need isn't so obvious at times. HOS: I came across 5 during the demo. Found by word list. I wouldn't consider these interactive as for some of them which are not highlighted by a different color like they are in some games but anyway you just have to open up something like a box or move something out of the way. I also thought these were Sanford & Son junkyard piles. I used a couple of hints here. Inventory: When you find some of the items they do combine and do that automatically. Puzzles: I only came across one during the demo and that was just to get an arrow to move face direction West. No problem there. Hint/Skip: Charge up quick. Hint is also helpful outside of HOS. You do have to keep pressing it until you are where you need to be. My overall impression: Well I'll start by saying I'm usually into the detective type of games and also don't mind the find missing person while yes it's been done many times along with some games that even appear to be a little dated however this game must of definitely been sitting up in the Big Fish attic of games and just now dragged out and dusted off. I haven't played the other Detective Agency games as I see this has a 3 in the title of it but if they are anything like this one I'm glad I missed them. In one area in the game outside of the house there are two orange directional arrows showing which ways you could go however I found shortly into the game you could also go in other directions so I didn't understand the necessity of them two orange arrows as those were the only areas I saw them in the game my downloaded version here anyway. The graphics for me were just dreadful. Too dark in some areas along with a washed out and grainy look to them. The story line I had no problem however I felt no sense of urgency to find Mr. Willsingham. At first I couldn't hear the sounds in the game very well so had to adjust it within the game and well the sounds and music didn't seem to fit the missing person theme at least for me. I just found them downright annoying. When I realized there were no voice overs which didn't take long well I cut this off. The game play I just found to be very clunky and no it's not the computer here as my computer handles the rest of Big Fish games just fine. Trying to use inventory was just clunky and weird. I had to try several times for a couple of the scenes so the item in inventory could finally be used. Oh and fishing pole scene it never would accept the fishing pole as it told me either I still needed one or it was a bad idea. Well I'm gonna have to insert that alien emoticon from the pond here. Overall I'm sorry Big Fish and developer. I appreciate the effort here by the developer however this game is dreadful and needs to go back to the Big Fish attic. There's just nothing about this game that gave me the impression I should continue past the demo. I did play until the demo time ran out cause I thought it just might redeem itself and get better but no it didn't so Mr. Willsingham will just have to stay missing as far as I'm concerned. I also wouldn't purchase this at the $2.99 price or even use a coupon code that was ready to expire. Sorry but 1 star is the best I can do for this. This is definitely a no go for me. As always, give it a whirl and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sad excuse for something to do in the rain This game was horrible, it made no sense. Plus I never knew that wax was spelled was. Someone should really field test these games before they are released on an intelligent public. There is no way I would purchase this game, even with a coupon, or because of the lack of anything better to do. I could twiddle my thumbs, and it would be just as fun.
Date published: 2013-06-03
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_18488, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Detective Agency 3: Ghost Painting

Investigate a painter's mysterious disappearance and solve a chain of cold blooded murders in this chilling Hidden Object game.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.