Secrets of the Dark: Mystery of the Ancestral Estate Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Secrets of the Dark: Mystery of the Ancestral Estate Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(314.67 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Travel to a tiny island in Greece, where a series of murders all within the same household has the heir to the family fortune scared to death. As a detective specializing in strange cases, you’ve been called in to investigate and to help protect this innocent woman from becoming the next victim. Is there a ghost haunting these grounds, or is this a case of evil sibling rivalry?

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • An integrated strategy guide
  • Replayable mini-games and puzzles
  • Bonus gameplay

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 681 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Secrets of the Dark: Mystery of the Ancestral Estate Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(314.67 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Secrets of the Dark: Mystery of the Ancestral Estate Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 85.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Superb I have the others in the series and really liked those, but this is even better. Challenging puzzles for a change and not too many HOs. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2013-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game. Would have been better with jump map BASED ON COMPLETED GAME IN ADVANCED (2nd of 3 modes), No sparkles, Some black bar hints. This is a great game that maintains quality and fun factor throughout. The graphics and artwork are stunningly beautiful and unique. Nothing is run of the mill. The HOS design is far above what other games offer. The same care has been taken with the mini-games. They are fresh, original, and well executed. Bonus play is not long but it does include new HOS and mini-games not found in main game. My only criticism is that a jump map would have saved a lot of back and forth. GAME CONSTRUCT -------------------------- STORYLINE: With Greece as the backdrop we save the world and a kidnapped friend from escaped evil. Bonus chapter fits in seamlessly by freeing the lost souls. TOOLS: Journal? Yes, reference only. Allows replay of cut scenes. Map? Oddly No. The result was a lot of traipsing back and forth. It's a good thing the scenery was beautiful. Plucky side-kick to help and crack-wise? No. Fine by me! :) BELLS & WHISTLES: No collectibles, no morphing objects, and no achievements. This fun factor and craftsmanship easily allows this games to stand on its own without these extras. I do love that all games can be replayed after game completion. There are some whimsical touches to be found by clicking in the right places..... GRAPHICS & ARTWORK: Nothing is gloomy, dreary, or retreaded from other games. The graphics are some of the best I've seen-crisp, detailed, nothing dark or fuzzy. There is a lot of variety in scenes from the bottom of the Ocean to a lab via tram, on to a mountain top via a Pegasus. The characters, creatures, and mechanical gizmos are well done keeping game play fresh, interesting, and fun. HOS: Two types - find by list or replace objects in a scene - both very fun with unusual objects. Normally I endure HOS to get to the mini-games, but every one of these HOS were so beautiful and unique that it was a blast to figure them out. MINI-GAMES: These are some of the most interesting, fun, and whimsical mini-games I've come across. Original mini-games kept popping up even in bonus play. The level of difficulty varies. Most were on the easy side with a few offering some challenge. MUSIC/VO/SOUND EFFECTS: Well done but not a lot of variety so I turned it down halfway through. ------------------- There is some reference to the occult and the subject matter would make this a poor choice for children. However, those who like to take time exploring and enjoying the scenery with a balanced seasoning of HOS and mini-game will find this game to be delightful and memorable.
Date published: 2013-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I want more!!! There is a lot of running around, but that's par for most of HO games today. I found it to be most enjoyable. I played it only stopping to eat and sleep. What more can I say?
Date published: 2013-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant game. Graphics are fabulous, not overdrawn as we had lately. Fun game, nice and long, fun to walk trough such beautiful sceneries. Puzzles are fun , so well drawn, it was a real treat !
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging game Though it didnt have morphing object or fancy map, didn't need them, as it is a game for people who like a challenge. You definitely need pen and paper to keep track if like me you have a bit of a problem remembering where things are to be found. Some of the mini games are difficult, but you can skip and try them when you finish the game. Graphics are superb, with fantastic mechanical objects and one scene has a bookshelf with beautiful glass animals and objects. Is long playing and well worth a CE price.
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Game In This Series An Enjoyable Game With Some Creative HOG Action A Reasonably Lengthy Game That Will Conclude Well In The SE, But The CE Does Help To Finish The Story Like So Many CE's DON'T Waste Your Full Price Purchase To Get The CE, The Additional Game Play Is Only Worth Buying When Available As A Special Deal ... Not Worth Paying Extra For Wall Papers, etc
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kudos to Developers This may be my first review after several years of playing these games - I just have to say this game made me think the developers were quite clever and ingenious - so that this is noticibly different then the most recent releases, of the clever games. So thank you for a great game. I really love the HO games but have found lately that after a couple of hours of play, running back and forth from scene to scene, leaves me wondering what I am looking for and more importantly what the point was to begin with. This game with it's many mini games and other slick tricks is not tedious, it's fun.
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boy it's been a long time since I've seen something this good! The Review title says it all...but it's begging the question. Maybe I've never seen something this good. BRILLIANT! a. Not an overwhelming amount of HOG, which is perfect for me. Those that are available are either the standard "find it" or a misplaced item HOG wherein you need to find where it goes. NOT as facile as ones you've seen before: when you find the proper location for the misplaced item they make things WORK!!! It's wonderful. b. Storyline: Scary house, lots of detours (not backtracking, though, always moving forward). One discovery is never a dead end but instead opens another possibility. c. Games: Some of the MOST exciting, creative games I've ever seen in a game. Three cheers for the development team here. The games are nonpareil. d. Music: this is perhaps the weakest portion of the game. A little variety would be nice. I've grown tired of it after just an hour...it drones on, the same thing over and over. Yes, that right. I've only played it for an hour. I took a chance and bought the game without playing the trial period(based on the reviews of others). I am absolutely NOT disappointed. This is the type of game that will keep me coming back for more. THREE CHEERS!! HUZZAH!! Words cannot describe how great this is. But, I wanted to share the pleasure so, while I don't know how the game grows from here, I'm very confident. Above I give it three out of five for challenge: Indeed, it's not the hardest game I've ever played, not by a long shot. It's challenging, not overwhelming. Most importantly, it's VERY VERY FUN!!!! BUY IT, RATE IT (get the average rating higher than it is currently. This should be far closer to a five IMO.
Date published: 2013-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game Great minigames/puzzles and what I love:there are reverse HOS.This is one of my favorite games, I bought it after playing a few minutes.
Date published: 2013-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vintage Orneon I've kept on buying this series, hoping that one of them would be as good as the "Echoes of the Past" games by this developer. This one definitely is. The game is long and involved, with many locations which are well rendered. The HO scenes are re-used, but well drawn and reasonable. The minigames are many and varied - some were easy, and some took me some time to overcome. There were lots of little effects, like fleeting glances of something in a mirror, fluttering butterflies, murmurs of voices on the music track, etc, which added a lot to the game's "feel". The cutscenes were terrific - you get to float and fly to locations. A jump map would have spoiled this. The bonus chapter was longish and used many new locations and puzzles. No collectibles or achievements, which is just fine with me - the team spent its effort on the game and story, not the trimmings. Keep it up, Orneon!
Date published: 2013-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME The demo of this game will not go far in pulling people in to buy. It is short, sample only not 60 min trial and because it is short it does not give enough indication of what an amazing game it is. Also - no collectibles, achievements, wide screen or map. The aspect ratio in the options has no effect. I really did not think this very smart of Ornean. It will limit their sales. They should know by now what CE lovers demand for twice the price of a SE. I myself am not one of those. For me it is graphics, story, navigation, fun, entertainment and surprising and interesting features and last but not least, length. The three main draws of this game are the graphics, which are outstanding, the perfect navigation and that nifty little feature of changing the lighting in the rooms to completely transform the decors to those of the distant past. I have only ever seen this in one other game. It is very well done and really cool. They even included the Trojan Horse. Collectibles and achievements I can do without, but the lack of any kind of map dismayed me. I need not have worried. The game is compact in that there are no gratuitous locations. All are connected with tasks, puzzles and iHOS and because the hint button brings up a picture of the room or location you need to go to, all that is required is just to familiarize oneself with where each is located. Then it's a snap. Because of the perfect navigation you are there in a jiffy. The game is not linear either. It took me a while to warm to the game but once I got really into it I became totally absorbed. The puzzles are medium to hard and beautifully done, although I did have a cursor that went into float mode in a few. Cannot explain that but in the Tech Thread no-one else has mentioned that so maybe just my computer. I had to skip those or they would have taken me hours. Like ERS, Ornean know just how many iHOS are not enough and too many, so I was not bombarded with them at every turn. There are 3 varieties - list, replace, and what I can only describe as the domino effect. Although there were only two of the latter, they were wonderful. The music is not remarkable but certainly did not irritate me. The SG is just like all SGs, but, for those with poor eyesight, I think the print should have been larger. The story centres around a sibling who has systematically murdered most of the family and now has designs on the last remaining heir, the young girl. She summons you, the Detective with psychic powers to defeat this villain and save her life. The ghost of the brothers and sister help you throughout the game. Because of their being no map I played in easy mode. Sorry, I forgot to test out the others so cannot comment on sparkles. The main game took me 5 hrs after the demo and ended well. However, the BC is awesome. It hurtles you onto the banks of the river Styx, where you must repair the ferryman who will row you to the distant shore. where the souls of the murdered children are trapped and you must free them. Wonderful locations and tasks and puzzles. I got to ride Pegasus to the high mountain top and what a splendid fellow he is. This Chapter took me 90 mins. The usual extras are not present either. Couldn't give a hoot. Never had any use for them, but you can play the puzzles again. For a game that plays for almost 7 hrs and is full to bursting with interest and entertainment, all beautifully depicted in terrific artwork, it is definitely worthy of its' CE status. Well done to these Devs for a thoroughly marvellous game.
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing game the puzzles were challenging i even epicly failed the first one, graphics are great. switching from dark to light is a wonderful twist, and loved playing the small amount of time in the demo. im excited to buy the game.
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Third time's the charm! I love this series. Having played the first two, I thought I knew what to expect with this one. But it is even better than the previous two in the series. You do not have to have played the others -- this one stands alone. The evil brother Stefanos has escaped from his crypt and you must replace the energy lamp to capture him. This game has it all. The rooms change by changing the light -- you solve one thing in the past and it affects the present. The HOS are fantastic -- one lets you create a Rube Goldberg-like contraption that eventually coughs up a key for you to use. The puzzles are clever. Some HOS make you put items into the scene. Even the normal HOS are well organized, not jumbled, and make you find the final item instead of giving it to you. Enough said -- I'm off to buy this CE!
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Secrets of the Dark: Mystery of the Ascestral Estate Collector Edition Fantastic! Not like any other hidden object game!
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Fantastic Game!!!!! I purchased it right away. Just wish they were cheaper. The budget you know. The developers are genius. I say Thank You. I love when you find an object and, another appears. It's very enjoyable. Enjoy everyone, you won't be sorry.
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very exciting game Loved it from the start.. the hos were different ,putting things back ..and they are not all the same .Loved the changes in the light ..wont spoil any thing ,just try the Demo see what you think I am off to buy it right now !
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't give 5 stars often, but this one earned them! Wow, one of the shortest demos I have had in a long time. . still had 29 minutes of play when it ended. I have the first two Secrets of the Dark games and enjoyed them both (the 2nd not as much as the 1st). This one is different. Very nice graphics and game play. Games not difficult, but take a little thought. Music nice but I turn it down so it doesn't get annoying. Needs to have a bit more sound to the game and not just the music. Not a lot of voice overs, but well done. Loved the HOGs. Very different and quite fun. You get tired of the same old stuff all the time, but this one is different by far. SG nice, stays on last page you left, nice hint system that fills quickly. I especially like the fact that you don't have all the usual useless garbage under the bonus content. All I want to see is the bonus game and maybe replay some HOGs. Nicely done. Not real hot on the "change the lighting thing," but I really enjoyed this game a lot and I was not ready to quit when the demo ended. I have been laying off CE games, but I think I have to have this one. Definite buy for me. As always, try the game for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for it at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Change the Light, Change the Vision We have previously had two games in this series, and IMHO this is probably the best. I really am enjoying the story. We are on a mission to harness the evil brother before the eclipse that will occur in a matter of hours. The game uses the same mechanic as the other two games of changing darkness to light or vice versa to see what was not previously visible. I enjoy the moving from one time period to the next by just changing the light. It's almost like having two games in one. The game's graphics are very good as are the music and voice overs. However, I am always thrown off in a game when I hear voices but the characters have no lip movement. I think they must communicate telepathically. The HOS are a bit different in that we have a combination of "place the object" and then find objects on lists. What I love about this game are the puzzles. Very, very good puzzles. Since I have been waiting for the next game in this series having replayed the previous two, I am delighted that we have this game today. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do.
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark secrets of the Rossolimo family I played the demo and loved it ! I think its the best game so far although I did enjoy the other two they have worked on and improved lots of things Some of the puzzles are tough. but thats what makes it so good As with all mysteries you are invited to the ancesteral home of a young woman who is terrified to go to sleep at night of course as soon as we turn up it all happens something escapes from the cript and the heiress dissapears and the house takes on an evil alter ego if you have not played the other games when a scene changes from light to dark then the room changes this adds to the challenges and the gameplay you also have the ghost of one of the family to send you in the right direction ! I think I am going to have to buy now can't wait and I know there's extra gameplay
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boy oh Boy What a Game This game is fun from the get go. You start out by releasing an evil spirit and off you go into a storyline that takes place in the present time and you go into the past (depending of what is needed at the time by pressing certain items) and to all different types of places. The mini-games are a lot of fun and very different from the usual. You not only put things back where they belong, you solve a mini-puzzle inside the mini-puzzle. The standard hidden object games are not too hard but will takes some work. It is well drawn and sound is good (I played with it off.) I don't think I will buy the CE but will certainly purchase the SE version of this game. The hint button is very helpful. I found this game to be different from the norm and loads of fun. I look forward to when it comes out in SE. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inovative Inovative was a description from another reviewer. It was on target because this game has come up with a blend of puzzles and changing areas, magic and even a mix of hidden object scenes! There is a choice of three modes of play This is a buy for me today!
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Evil brother strikes.... Played 40 minutes, regular - 3 modes, regular, advanced, hardcore - Integrated SG which only shows one chapter in the sample - Voice overs - Note book - No map - H0, 2 sorts, you put items back or play regular H0 - Very good mini games, quite inventive for some, not over difficult - Hint very useful outside H0 - Gorgeous graphics You arrive to investigate in a house where it seems evil tries to reign. As in all Secrets of the Dark, by clicking on a certain place, you move from past to present. Very interesting story, beautiful game, this is an instant buy for me (crush) , thanks devs....
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Real Winner ! Ok, that's it ! I've played half of the demo, and I am buying this game. I'm just taking enough time to send in a review to let you know that this game is a real winner. The only slightly irritating thing is the background music -- even though it is completely appropriate to the theme of the game. I personally do not enjoy it droning on. Mix it up a bit for added ambiance. Puzzles are just challenging enough to keep your interest. There are also some interesting differences from the same old formula. Enough said. Check out the other reviews for more details. I gotta get playing.
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally......A Must Buy!!! Your evil, inventor grandfather has left you his estate when his ghost escapes from the crypt in the basement and will permanently return when the upcoming eclipse occurs. You have to fix an energy gathering lamp to capture him and save the world! -3 Modes (I played the demo in advanced...2nd of 3 modes) -No map (not needed...at least, not yet) -Diary with pictures and you can zoom in to read letters & other things you may find. -Strategy guide was helpful when I got stuck on a chess game -Hints are helpful, even outside HO scenes (it will show you a "vision" of where you need to go with area highlighted) -No click penalty in HO scenes. -Lots of puzzles and they are nice, challenging variations. Not the typical, but not too frustrating either....very enjoyable. -I am NOT a big HO scene fan but I found myself looking forward to them (there were 3 in the demo). .... ---1st was a scene where you needed to replace items into the scene (rather than find them) ---2nd was a scene were you needed to replace a few items and then a list would come up to find other items and when scene was complete, a little "scene" played out to give you the item you needed (very original!). ---3rd was a straight, list HO scene, but not cluttered nor tiny items to find. Even though it's the typical, evil ghost...save the world kind of game, there is alot of originality and I am certain to buy this game!!
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my fav kind of game Love these mechanical games. Great graphics, smooth playing, beautiful scenes. Hesitant about buying the CE at full price because don't know overall length of game. Had 25 mins left when Demo complete and usually that indicates a short game. I'll get it eventually but not at CE price.
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Series of Secrets of the Dark Played 34 minutes of the demo and had to have this game. It offers three options of play level - I am playing in hardcore. In the same fashion as previous games you have the ability to change a scene this time from light to dark via a fireplace, each scene having mysteries of its own and different pieces that will help you in other scenes. The graphics are good, the music adventure appropriate. So far I've played a couple of HOS - both find the object and place the object and a couple of mini games which I enjoyed because they were a little different than the norm. For me this is a keeper!
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic It isn't often that I rate a game as highly as this one. The scenes are sharp and clear, and the music is unobtrusive. What really makes this game stand out for me are the varied hidden object scenes. I'm not too far into the game, only 30 minutes, but one particular HOS assured me that this is a great buy. Bravo developers, for a truly interesting and innovative game!
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very confusing, then fun I found this one very confusing at first. I discovered if you don't watch the storyline you will get lost on what you are doing. Switching back and forth between worlds or realms made the game a lot more fun I thought. I really enjoyed this one and it took me longer than any of the others I have tried to complete. I love the challenge.
Date published: 2017-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not 100 percent enjoyable Music was enjoyable, not a bunch of loud clatter. Graphics were good. Storyline was good. What was very irritating to me was constantly going back and forth from one place to the other. Would rather have had a map to just click on a location and automatically go there. The Hint charged quickly enough and was sort of helpful in refreshing my memory about a location, but the Hint does not tell you much. If you don't mind flitting about so much, you will enjoy this game. I did enjoy it even with all the aggravation.
Date published: 2013-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from UNIQUE INTERACTIVE HOS The Demo was really short – I don’t know if that means the game is quite short and they don’t want people to buy it and then complain to everyone that they finished it 20 minutes later. The CE demo doesn’t even give you a clue of what extras it has. The description doesn’t sound like it has much, so I opted for the SE and am completely satisfied with it. 3 modes of difficulty. You also get to change locations from dreary and dark to bright and modern. Changes in one environment will affect the other. The animation is really good – when you mouse over a statute, for instance, it changes drastically before your eyes. Really cool! The HOS include putting objects back and finding objects on a list. And what’s really, really cool is when they combine the two types. It’s hard to describe – you’ve got to see it to believe it. After you put objects back and find additional pieces per a list, it’s like a little mechanical theatrical production. Hope this type of HOS becomes much more common in future games. YEAH! The crisp HOS themselves are relatively few. No map, but you shouldn’t need one to navigate. A thoughtfully-designed production.
Date published: 2013-07-20
  • y_2019, m_8, d_16, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_85
  • loc_en_US, sid_17687, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Secrets of the Dark: Mystery of the Ancestral Estate Collector's Edition

If you have enough courage to challenge the darkness, then you’ll manage to find out the mystery of the Rossolimo family.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.