Mysteries of the Undead

Mysteries of the Undead

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(241.69 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Explore the zombie island and break an ancient curse in Mysteries of the Undead! What caused the disaster? Was it a virus or magic? Many years ago a dark blight turned the citizens of a small island into bloodthirsty zombies. A research team from the floating laboratory Perseus is the only one capable of eliminating the threat of an epidemic.

  • 40 different game locations
  • Unique and eerie setting
  • Thrilling action story
  • Exciting and dangerous adventure

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 598 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mysteries of the Undead

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(241.69 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mysteries of the Undead is rated 2.4 out of 5 by 48.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sitting on the fence Based on the demo I played, I don't really know how I feel about this game, to be honest. I kind of liked it, but I didn't. Storyline - as a fan of the macabre, anything with the word "zombie" or "undead" tends to grab my interest. Like another game I've just reviewed, the storyline probably kept me playing longer than I would have done otherwise. There seemed to be a fair bit of hand-holding in some respects, and then none in others - it was quite random. Sometimes the screen gave you visual hints about what needed doing, other times you found things only by clicking around. Certainly the jump map made it super-easy to leap around locations to whatever needed doing next. Some of the interactive Hidden Object scenes, however, I found a bit tricky to start with because you don't get any 'sparkles' and sometimes have to click about, but once I got the hang of it I found it much easier. You visited each scene twice, so something that appeared interactive the first time, but wasn't on the list, would crop up the next time you "visited". I found that, second time around, I could find the objects in super-quick time because I'd seen them the first time. The puzzles I came across in the demo weren't too tricky - I actually can't remember them except for the "place the gears" one. For me, the graphics were OK - I had no problem with them. The biggest issue I had with this game was the English. It was appalling - truly awful! I can forgive a little slip here and there, but the entire game had clearly never been proofed by someone with decent English skills and it came across as just shoddy. It also described the mysterious cloud that swarmed out of people as "a clot"! Hmmmm. I might use a PCC on this one eventually, but the terrible English and the fact it makes my computer whine while it's running have me sitting firmly on the fence at the moment.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hey! Not bad at all. I too am surprised at the negative reviews here. This is a good little game with an interesting story line and a variety of puzzles. There are various locations in the adventure from land on to a vessel and then a jungle type location. HOS scenes weren't too difficult but not impossible either. I think there are a few too many annoying bugs though. Though they don't damage the game play too much, cosmetically it just seems a little sloppy. I do expect a polished product though and that's why this doesn't rate four stars from me.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun game, kept me entertained. The pros: Good graphics in scenes and HO areas. Music is not overtaking. Good storyline. Hint option is helpful. Smooth and fast transfers between scenes/screen. Map lets you jump from one location to another. The cons: Name of objects sometimes don't fit their real name. example: spyglass is not glasses. No collectibles. No extras. Very linear game. Written dialogues. Overall I enjoyed the game, but it is not superb therefore I will purchase it when on sale.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from On The Fence REVIEW BASED ON DEMO Story of a group of people going to an island to investigate why everyone has turned into bloodthirsty zombies Game opened in widescreen for me, a big plus for me, clear defined graphics. Space for 5 new profiles, just click player 1's profile name to bring up space for more. No voiceovers, written text, when you talk to someone a box comes up with the text and you have to click on your reply to continue You get a journal, jumpable map, hints take about a minute to refill, puzzle skip buttons only take about 30 seconds or less. On the left is an Statue or Artifact that has a place to put runes, when you place a rune you get a 'Revelation'. The first rune I placed gave me back a symbol that is used to open a secret place Couple of good scares that made me jump in the time I played. Hidden Objects are sometimes misnamed e.g. hammer turned out to be a mallet, casket was a small box, ladder rung was the whole ladder, there wasn't any click penalty. From gameplay it looks like the Hidden Object Scenes will be revisited The main reason I'm not buying this game is this : When I enter a new area I like to look around before I begin to play, after about 30 seconds or less a glint or spark appeared showing me an item I needed to click on, if I wanted to know what to do I would click the hint button, this became so annoying during the demo Music was nearly nothing much, sounded like a drone sort of noise also there was ticking noise that annoyed me, but you can turn the music or ambience right down, so not really a problem While I won't buy this game now, maybe I can get over the glint thing, for the above reason [which is a shame because I quite liked it] I think it would be a good IHOG/Light Adventure game for beginners
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could Have Been Great! Mysteries of the Undead Cursed Island has an interesting storyline, which is a good thing because the game itself lacks some of the newer technology that would make the game a lot better. As it is, I don’t think it will generate much interest from seasoned gamers who have come to expect the high-end features that are incorporated into most HOPA games today. The game has no voiceovers – only written dialog, and if you don’t read fast it disappears before you finish. The music and ambient sounds are very good and fit the creepy atmosphere of the game. There is option for selecting modes of gameplay. The game did open automatically in widescreen without any adjustment required. I don’t like large arrows showing up for navigation from one scene to the next and did find them a bit irritating. The graphics are excellent so it is disappointing that the developer didn’t take the extra effort to incorporate voiceovers. I also found in one scene that the coding for a graphic appeared rather than the description of the item. There is a jumpable map that does show locations where something needs to be done. IMHO, the game could have used some editing before coming to market. The game is a fairly basic HOPA that would great for beginning gamers who haven’t experienced some of the more recent higher-end games. The HO scenes lacked the indicators that let me know whether an item needed some interaction in order to find an object, so I did a lot of clicking around to stumble on something I might need. Unless there is a walkthrough available, the game might prove frustrating for some gamers. The puzzles are fairly basic and easy. Given the interesting story, the game is worth the demo.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mysteries of the Undead Is Dying I had high hopes for Mysteries of the Undead. The storyline of being wrecked on an island inhabited by zombies and having to rescue your friend is definately not a new one, but having bought this one on sight I was a bit disappointed in it. The game is cumbersome and runs too slowly. It takes too much time between scenes to load. It was not my computer causing this. Also, I tend to play most games with the volume off, and every time I opened the game, I had to reset the volume as it did not keep my settings. There was also a bad issue of language barrier in the HOG scenes with many items not being called by their correct names. It resulted in having to click on random items. There were also a couple of items that were click sensitive, meaning you had to click on a certain part of them to make it work. I frankly got tired of this. When I finished the game, it did not load end credits and I had to bail out via the game manager to get out of it. I was relieved to delete this. Its a shame it has many issues as this would or could have been awesome if it weren't so sluggish and clumsy.
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WHERE'S ALL THE UNDEAD? First of all I only saw 2 zombies one was at the beginning as just a brief flash and the other chained up on the pier, that's all I get in one hour? Now onto the game, it really isn't that bad. The graphics are awesomely clear, somewhat repetitive music that sounded similar to the Halloween movie. The problem is that you have to click on pointer to get a game cursor during settings and when you scan over items pay close attention to the cursor it will barely indicate something needs to be picked up. Then in the HOS the items in blue are somewhat difficult to find because from what I can tell there is no indication to click on a pillow so it moves to reveal beads, and a ventilator is a fan? They also double up HOS going back to the same area twice. Nothing much in the mini game sections, place gears correctly so they all move or figuring out a safe combination. The game does however sparkle in areas you need to go, a putoff to some. I'm on the fence with this one I think it's worth a credit, Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from PLEASANT UNDEAD STORY Who doesn't love the undead? So I was excited to see an adventure/HOG with them. An island has been infiltrated by them and your team needs to rescue the island from their grasp. You have a journal with the story and an interactive map showing locations to search for useful objects and scenes with actions to be performed. Very helpful if you get stuck. Locations have twinkles to highlight where the next action is. I couldn't find a way to shut it off. Gameplay appears to be somewhat linear in that objects twinkle after you perform some other action - clicking the object before that action seem to have no effect. Not a real biggie, but I like to be able to collect objects as I encounter them. On the other hand, you can use objects as you collect them (my preference over having to first collect an entire set). Graphics are average for a game of this nature. You can select the written dialogue to some extent. Although not an outstanding game, you should have a pleasant afternoon of play.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok Game...Will Test Your Game Playing Skills I played the entire demo. I would encourage everyone to give it a try. As another reviewer indicated, not all games are for everyone. My Likes -- The game really test your game play knowledge. Why? Because it does not give you a lot of directions. So you have to rely on your knowledge of game play to figure the game out. The hidden object scenes were OK. You will play the scenes more than once. This can be tricky because not all the objects are played at the same time. There are interactions in the hidden scenes and you have to guess them by trail and error. The map lets you jump to areas where you have task to perform. My Not Like So Much -- In the hidden object scenes, there are a errors. For example an object says "crab in a can" when in fact, it was "crab in a jar." You also have to do a lot of clicking to figure out if something is hidden or not. I recommend this game as a "try it for yourself." It's in my "maybe" bucket for a rainy day.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not great...but it is okay I read the other reviews and am grateful for their impute. However, even though the game is not on a par with better games, it is entertaining. I didn't find the trial that troublesome, and do think that it is a good rainy day game. As I've said before, not everyone will like a game that's put out by BF, but there are those who do enjoy a little light excursion into simplicity. The game wasn't as easy as I thought. I did like the graphics, but as stated, they are stale. Since it was the end of the month, and there was a discount, I did purchase the game. I probably would not have if I had to pay the full price. So please, try a game before you blindly accept the review of an "expert."
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from CAN'T FIND THE PADDLE THE GAME IS FUN BUT ONCE YOU GET TO THE ONE LEVEL I SEEM TO BE STUCK CAN'T FIND THE PING PONK PADDLE
Date published: 2013-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Zombie alert!!!! :) Eerie atmosphere. Disgusting Zombies… You need to like this, otherwise it’s a waste of time and money. No difficulties to choose. But in my opinion this is a casual mode: We have a lot of handholding through the game, like glitter and glimmer where action is available. We have a map, which shows you open tasks and allows you to transport. Hint is direction giving and refills quite fast. No voice-overs. Lots of hidden object scenes (from list), slightly interactive and played more than once. We also have some very good to solve minigames, nothing special. But what really annoyed me was the fact, that this game seems to be not ready developed yet. There is a lot of clicking around, as you couldn’t rely on the cursor to change into a magnifying glass. Some important areas/ items where glimmering, some not. No, could be better. This time I finished after the trial… :)
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Simple Easy Game This is a very easy game to play. There are no voice overs, but other sounds were fine. Graphics are pretty good. Level of challenge is just not there. I played all the demo and the only thing I found frustrating was in the HOS. There was no indication of where to combine two objects. It also was the same when going to a new location, it was click, click, click. So as a result, one had to keep clicking on every object or continually use the hint button, which I do not like to do. Except for all the clicking, it was kind of enjoyable. Would I buy the game? Only if I get bored and have no other game to play.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's ok but... I am so glad that I have an hour to decide if I want to buy a game. This game does not have a walk through. There are to many hidden object scenes and not enough other things in this game for me to use my brain on and I got bored easily.
Date published: 2013-05-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sloppy Game Crafting I picked this one up to burn a "free game" code before it expired, so I can't honestly say that this was a waste of money, but there are major draw backs with this game. For me, the worst part was sheer sloppiness by the game designers. After page 22 or 23, the journal notes were written in cyrillic script instead of English- not terribly helpful for me. Numerous items in the HO scenes were mistranslated or mislabeled. In one scene alone what was listed as a "Hunter" was actually the number 2 and "cup" was an umbrella. I'm not kidding about that. It annoyed me enough to jot a note down on it. Clicking on objects often brings up scripting or an error code in the text box at the top of the screen. It doesn't prevent the game from moving along, but it's just another example of the sloppiness.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Way Too Much Hand Holding! It has been a while since we came across Zombies and our story is filled with these blood thirsty creatures. An island has been infected with a mysterious virus that turns humans into Zombies. You and your team are sent to investigate but soon you find yourself alone and your first mission is to help and save each member of your team as well as uncover the mystery behind this epidemic. At first glance the graphics looked old, at times worn out with 2D graphics annimation scenes. No voice-overs makes this game out dated and an irritating music over-powered by ambient sounds does cause annoyance after a while. Game features no choice of game modes which means that the game will give you sparkles and indicators as well as skips for puzzles. There is a journal along with a map that does help you navigate between scenes and will indicate if action is required. A helpful tool for those who get lost. You also have a relic that I soon discovered meant finding 10 runes which will give you a coin that opens certain passages. Each rune comes with a revelation of the story that involves an ancient civilization. Hidden Object scenes are crowded with some interaction. Graphics are suprisingly sharper but still some objects were ridiculously obscured and I had to resort to pressing the hint button. The bonus object glows so no great challenge there. Adventure gameplay made the game more interesting as did some of the mini-games. Although instruction were a bit vague, some puzzles were midly interesting and some I just could not be bothered and skipped. I found myself rapidly moving from one scene to another, at times exchanging written dialogues with my team members and having my hand held way too much to give me a sense of accomplishment. Within the demo time, I had already collected 4 of the 10 runes which does indicate for a rather short game. For hard core gamers, there is no challenge to be had here, too many sparkles and way to much hand holding. Nevertheless, the story may appeal to fans of the Zombie genre. I could recommend this for beginners who enjoy Adventure with interactive HO scenes, but to be honest, there a better SE games out their worth the price. I myself will pass and wait when it returns as a DD.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Magical mystery Tour !!! Gives whole new meaning to "Lost in Translation".
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from HORRIBLE THIS GAME IS AS FUN TO PLAY AS TRYING TO EAT PIZZA WITH MITTENS ON. LESS THAN THIRD CLASS. SAVE YOUR MONEY.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Thank You I'm not one for the undead (tiresome - overdone) but, do to not having anything New of my taste I downloaded it. I fell for the graphic + 40 areas. Yet the game is half is plain for kid's hidden objects aren't always what it is . The areas of use have NO actions as to what is what or if, you can merge two things together. I spent more time getting tennis elbow from clicking and clicking everywhere to see what was or wasn't a useful area or hope to find an item. After 1/2 hr just gave up all i got out of that game was a SORE WRIST from all the clicking. P.S. I'm not big on the constant music that these games have so I turn it down to 1 without that it was mostly silent and dull, No voice's to even try to add some sort of interest. Sorry i purchased it though i'm sure kids would likely enjoy it.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOT Tried the demo and uninstalled within minutes. Dull, flat, uninspired.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth the time I think I played it for 3 minutes. That was enough to uninstall it. The graphics were ok, but the actual game play is not exciting.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No Mystery To This Game Boring, boring, boring! Poor story line with too much hand holding. Hidden objects frequently mislabeled. Don't waste your money.
Date published: 2014-03-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Oh My Goodness Basic game OK but tedious. Translations from whatever into English totally ruined the game for me. I bought this as a fill in for my punch card and just decided to play it tonight. Lasted for about 40 minutes. Sorry but I am trashing.
Date published: 2014-02-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Game mechanics undo this one... This could be a decent game. However, it's one of those where often you can't click on the item you need, even when you're right on top of it; items don't match descriptions in HOS (accordion = harmonica, and that's one of the NOT bad ones) which leaves you clicking around on everything in the scene or using a hint (which thankfully fills quickly). The map is actually helpful and will allow you to jump to scenes with actions but that's the ONLY good thing about this game. AND it locked up at the credits after finishing just to put icing on the cake - CTL/ALT/DEL this one for sure.
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mysteries of the Undead Unless you are actually one of the 'Undead', you have absolutely no idea what is going on, where to go, what direction to go in, what to do next. Even the best gamer would have to GUESS at the next step in this game. Think the person who designed this must have stepped out of the room, missed something and started up again. Hated, hated it. Very frustrating.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from SO confused! Despite all of the horrible reviews, I opted to go ahead and buy this game. I love Zombie story lines, and the demo was decent. However, I am now REALLY frustrated. I'm stuck on a ship with one item in my inventory that does not work ANYWHERE, and my journal has randomly switched from English to a language I do not understand. I have tried using the hint button, but in every single room, it says there is nothing to do here. I'm really irritated I spent money on this game since it looks like I will never be able to finish it. Grr.
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Glitch after Glitch Glitch after Glitch. Finally I had no inventory and no place to go. I finally had to just uninstall the game. There isn't even a walkthrough available so one MIGHT just be able to cheat their way through the game. DON'T BUY THIS GAME
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Confused! I read the reviews and tried it anyways because to each his (or hers)own. I thought it wasn't so bad so I bought it (with a free game coupon thank goodness#. About one quarter through the game #spoiler alert ) the diary is in Russian. And for the HOS in one scene looking for a "cup" turned out to be an umbrella! Something got lost in translation in most of the HOS. So it could have been a good game. Try it first.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pass! I brought this game cause the demo looked cool but try as I might I have not found this game enjoyable at all. The hint button doesn't help you out at all. There's no walkthrough, which I find annoying. The diary changes into Russian halfway through the game. What the heck? The storyline seems kind of off.. Who in their right mind would decide that killing babies was the way to go? The sound, music and voice-overs, I couldn't stand and turned them off. I didn't like it when you exit the game and boot it up later all the settings return to the factory settings, having to change this every time you played, was stupid. I got almost all the done when the game returned me to the beginning. I can't even go back to where I was.. Try as I might, I can't. I am really sorry I brought this game because its something I will never play again. I'm glad its was free but I still wish I passed on it. If you are looking for a game to pass the time, pass on this. It is so not worth a free credit even.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Come on... Is This A Serious Game??? Usually, I try and play the full demo before submitting a review, but this was so horrible that I could only play 20 minutes of the demo. I can’t believe that a game from 2013 could be so low in quality. What a terrible start to the month. Firstly, the story is rather boring to begin with, and with no voice-overs, is even more boring. The main story of the game is that your rescue team is sent to an island to investigate a mysterious disease- already done, so this really needed to wow me if it was going to be impressive- and it did not. The game is very confusing, and without a strategy guide to help, I was left wandering back and forth, back and forth, until the hint charged up, and the hint took a long time to recharge. There are quite a few locations to explore, but also quite a bit of backtracking. The game really should have been worked on more to be better quality. The 20 minutes I wasted on this game was a sheer bore. The HOS were average. There were quite a lot of “extra step objects” plus one item you needed to find at the end that would be added to your inventory. The Hidden Objects were very hard to find, and I ended up having to use the hints a lot. Apart from that, there was nothing special. The one puzzle I played was also a little hard. The graphics were alright though. The artwork was of good standard, and everything was clear. I did not have to tilt my screen back or squint once. FEATURES - Diary to keep track of events - Interactive map to save time on backtracking - Hint and Skip- Hint took too long to recharge, but skip was quicker. There isn’t much that I can write, but it’s fair to say that this was a horrible game. I’m glad to uninstall it, and would not recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2013-05-01
  • y_2019, m_11, d_17, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_18163, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mysteries of the Undead

Explore the zombie island and break an ancient curse! What caused the disaster? Was it a virus or magic?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.