Secrets of the Dark: Mystery of the Ancestral Estate
Exclusive

Secrets of the Dark: Mystery of the Ancestral Estate

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(299.93 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Travel to a tiny island in Greece, where a series of murders all within the same household has the heir to the family fortune scared to death. As a detective specializing in strange cases, you’ve been called in to investigate and to help protect this innocent woman from becoming the next victim. Is there a ghost haunting these grounds, or is this a case of evil sibling rivalry?

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 539 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Fantasy Violence
  • Mild Blood
  • Use of Tobacco
Reviews at a Glance

Secrets of the Dark: Mystery of the Ancestral Estate

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(299.93 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Secrets of the Dark: Mystery of the Ancestral Estate is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 69.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from loved this game had everything you could ask for in a game--different HOS, challenging games, wonderful graphics, absolutely nothing to complain about--just a great game. And, the game lasted a good while. I had a great time playing it. Don't miss out on a fun time.
Date published: 2013-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding One of the best I've purchased. Kept me engaged from start to finish. The puzzles were tough and I skipped a few. It was challenging and logical with no dead ends. I'll look for more from these designers.
Date published: 2013-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Orneon Winner This is one challenging game! The mini games at times had me beat and I admit to using a Skip on occasions. Graphics are fab. Storyline at least has an end to it and this is one game I will go back and play over again. It took a couple of days to complete it so that's a plus for me, as some games are over in no time at all. Lots of going back and forward to find and use items. A map would have been a boon for my not so good memory! A winner just the same. Would recommend.
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game!! I bought this game the other day when it came out and finished it yesterday. What a great game! I loved every minute of it. Already own the other two Secrets of the Dark and they have just improved on them. This game is basically about good versus evil and you travel between the two by going into a room and clicking on something and it takes you to the "other realm" and things can be found in one realm and used in the other. Really interesting way of doing things. It is a lot of back and forth but well worth it. The story line keeps you interested and you will have to think about where to go. The mini-games are very fun and have a new twist to them and the hidden objects are not too bad at all. Everything is clear and sound is good. I think you will have a real good time playing this, I certainly did. I will be playing this game again and again. Enjoy!!
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a real challenge! if you are looking for something new and making your brain work this is the game for you! An outstanding adventure with an intriguing storyline, great graphics, good soundrack, charming setting on a greek island, genial HOS, varied and interactive, and funny and original puzzles, some of them really challenging! Excellent the idea to change the room's look depending on the light, with different clues to find and tasks to accomplish from the "dark side" to the real one..Many different locations to explore and a lot to do in every one..Something like 4.30 of gameplay in hardest mode (you cannot change it while playing so..be careful...hardcore mode has no hints and no skip option and some puzzles are really difficult...) for a superb game will hook you from the beginning on..try it and you will not be disappointed!
Date published: 2013-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game First, let me say I never listen to audio, so the 5-star rating is for the visuals, not the audio. Also, I played the CE and the extra gameplay was worth the money, which isn't always the case. For me, generally, I prefer adventure and the fewer HOS, the better. That said, I did not mind the HOS in this game. There were not too many of them and they were fun. The rest of the game was fun, fun, fun! I did not miss having a map, barely used the journal and never cracked the included strategy guide. This game has morphing scenes, which I have come to adore. There were many places to go, but even with my less than perfect memory, I never got confused. It was interesting and challenging, but not frustrating. I don't see how anyone would not love, or at least really like, this game.
Date published: 2013-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great HO game - one of the best Good storyline, good graphics, good value for money as it lasted a fair time. Couldn't stop playing it! Recommend to anybody for the price.
Date published: 2013-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Game! Really enjoyed the game, great mini games that were very changeling. Love the graphics and story line. Keep up the good work.
Date published: 2013-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What fun! I thoroughly enjoyed this game. You get to help 3 or 4 brothers and their sister imprison one of the brothers as he was very naughty. I don't really pay too much attention to the story details as I just enjoyed the game play. There are HO's, some are find the object, some are put items where they belong so there is a good mix. Puzzles were very good. One was too hard for me but the others really gave my brain a good workout. You also have to go from past to present, depending on the amount of light, which is controlled with lamps, curtains, etc. If you need a cabinet opened, you can open it in the past & it will remain open in the present. Graphics are very good; loved the music, it was wonderfully creepy & fit the game very well. There was a lot of back & forth in the middle. One of the nice things was that the items collected were usually used right away so you are not carrying around a lot of stuff to sort through when you need something.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A worthwhile and entertaining Standard Edition!! :) Been waiting for this release, because the Collector's Edition offered no extras to me such as collectibles or achievements. After investigating in ancient Thai and Mexico (in the first 2 „Secrets of the Dark“), we are now summoned to Greece to defeat the darkness and rescue the soul of a young woman. Graphics/ cutscenes are superb: Very clear and welldone!! And, as in the first 2 games of this series, I like the fact, that we are able to „jump“ between past and presence through changing the lighting in some of the rooms. Things we change/ collect in the past affects the presence and the other way around… 3 modes to choose from. You may adjust music, sound, fullscreen, aspect ratio and custom cursor in the options. Hint is very useful, also outside the HOS. That’s very useful, as we don’t have a map. And we have a detailed journal. Lots of different HOS!! Personally I love those reverse HOS, where you put things back in the scene. And all kinds of minigames/ puzzles, some new, but most of them quite challenging (or frustrating…) with instructions and the option to skip… Game ending is conclusively after 4,5 hrs in the 2nd mode. Yes, this game is worth a buy!!! :)
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Secrets of the dark: Mystery of the Ancestral Estate Well done , this game is just great, I have only just played for about 20 mins, but I have to say that the ho's are different and very interesting, as well as the norm, there are interactive ones that you have to put things back, which inturn creates a scene that gives you the item you need. You have to go between dark and light scenes to move along, but don't be put off with this it is just genious , you are on an island to help the lady who has found the inherited home to be haunted, she needs your help, the graphics are good , the sound is good, voice over's good, I can find no reason to diss this game, enjoy , I purchased the SE , I think may be a bit hard for Beginners, but you never know give it a go.
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE ECLIPSE IS COMING! You are summoned to the Rossolimo family estate to help the beautiful granddaughter Dayona, the heir to the mansion, who is afraid of the strange and frightening events that are taking place as the eclipse gets closer. When you arrive Dayona points to the room in the basement, which at this point is glowing bright green and shaking, this is where their relative with a bad reputation has been buried for some odd reason. Now the two of you are in the burial room and Daytona thinks this is where the strangeness is coming from as she points to the crypt that has green smoke oozing out and the lid is rocking back and forth! This woman's a genius! At this point the ghostly Stephanos bursts out of the coffin to tell you that you aren't going to interfere with his plans and whisks away the the lovely and smart Dayona. Now for the investigation. Just like the other Eclipse game you will be able to transform the area between the real current way the room is to the dark and eerie olden otherworld, just by changing the light source. When you click on the fireplace screen to open it the room will become light and there are things you can collect on both sides and use in one or the other light source, for instance you have to find a handle in the light room and attach to a cabinet, then you will change lighting and open the cabinet in the dark source. The HOS are a mixture of putting an item back in the right place on the scene to list finds and then some steps lead to an interactive puzzle. The mini games are fun but a few of them are a little frustrating like a chess game where you have to land on every pawn on the board and your knight only moves in the typical two up one over. A great story, beautiful graphics, ghostly characters and lots of things to do and interact with, a must play in either CE or SE. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something Different After playing through the demo I knew that it was a must buy! Rather than the same old HO games that we see daily on here, this offers something different. There are many levels of different puzzles during the demo, that makes you use your brain rather than straining your eyes to find an object hidden. Try the demo, you won't be disappointed. I wasn't and wanted more.
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WINNER WINNER BIG FISH DINNER!!!! Yes yes yes.....................thanks for having a game with updated graphics................
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Value for the money Apart from a bit of going backwards and forwards, it's a great game and it goes on forever. No problems with the game at all, it is quick and responsive, and the hint button charges quickly!
Date published: 2013-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A bit of smething different,but in a good way. i really like that this game has a lot of ways that make you think.it's not just your same old same old. these developers put out a hidden picture game with a few twists that make you think.
Date published: 2013-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A DO BUY!!! I played the demo and wanted more so bought the game immediately! Love the switch ups in the games.....lots of fun and challenging. Played it on advanced level but will be putting it on expert level to finish playing. Love the challenging games....Thank you Big Fish Game's....Enjoy!!!!
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this one! Must have for hog fans ! Thanks for this one big fish.
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth every penny!! This game has it all! Great graphics, mini-games that are enjoyable, great storyline, very well-thought out game that keeps you on your toes!! One great SE!!!
Date published: 2013-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice entertaining game! Just finished playing this game, and I had a wonderful entertaining time! It was terrific. Wonderful graphics and cutscenes. The "switching" between past and present is fantastic. how the same room can change! Loads to do in every scene The help button is very good,shows you exactly what to do and where. The HOS were pure fun, some higly interactive, most of them were visited twice, but changed in type, put things back, or sometimes lists. The puzzles were mostly known, but with new twists, some of them had me puzzled for quite a while! Music was ok, but became repetitive. The story has a really nice flow, it went on quite fast. The game ends conclusively. I really had a ball playing this game, and hope you will to! Enjoy this game!
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!!! I loved the hidden object scenes in this game. They were so fun and unusual. I also loved the switching a room from dark to light too! It made the game so much fun and so much more challenging in a way. It wasn't extremely hard but it wasn't boring either. It made me wish I had bought the CE. It truly was a lot of fun!!
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Fine game from the Secrets of the Dark creators I have yet to be disappointed by this team who has created the "Secrets of the Dark" series. This game was excellent. I love the fact that there are multiple things that have to be accomplished. It really makes you think. Bravo to this team!
Date published: 2013-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Secrets of the Dark: Mystery of the Ancestral Estate I loved this game it had many twist and pulls within the game. Good mini games. Of the Secrets of the Dark series, I think this one is the best.
Date published: 2013-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another good one! I've really enjoyed the Secrets of the Dark games and this one was a great addition to the group. Changing the lighting of a room changes the scene and reveals a totally different room. Finally got rid of disaster prone friend but since you now have a reputation as a dispeller of evil, it finds you! You must put it back in the box - literally and save a young woman from her evil uncle who has already killed off the rest of the family. Backgrounds are good, animation is lacking, which is a shame, the puzzles range from easy to hard so there is something for everyone. The music is a small loop that is a bit irritating but can be turned down. This time I can't complain about inconsistencies in the background but the ancestral home that was supposedly set in Greece has some leanings to and English country home. Much more ignorable. The HO scenes are just enough and though the items are hidden well, you can find them all. There is a twist - you are supposed to put things into an HO scene. They then do something to reveal an item you'll need. There are lots of areas to explore and sometimes I'd forget where something was and have to wander around until I found it. All in all this game is worth hours of fun.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun game! Very challenging and unique. Good game play.
Date published: 2013-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous game Great and inventive graphics, nice mini games, loved the story, too.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game Enjoyed the game. Good graphics and music. A lot of back and forth. Would have been a 5 if there was a map. Boy, can I get lost!
Date published: 2016-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different... This game is different to most others I've played - the story was same-old same-old, but I loved the many different types of HOS scenes - some finding, some replacing, some a bit of both - and the fact that several of the locations had both a good and dark side, which meant two rooms full of stuff to do in the same place... very different. This is the first in this series that I've played and I'm going to go back for the others... There was a lot of going back and forth, so it could have really used an interactive map - I had to use the hint regularly to remember which location new items should be used. Over all, not bad...
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review of Completed Game... The standard edition completely ties things up so there is an actual ending and no need for a bonus chapter. The only reason Id recommend this as a Collector's Edition is if you are a person who needs help with puzzles and would need a strategy guide. There are a lot of them in this game and a lot of them repeat. This is one of the reasons I felt this game did not deserve 5 stars. I love puzzles, Im a huge fan of having to use my brain to solve them however I am not a fan of puzzles that repeat over and over again. Some of them were doable like I felt the last puzzle of the game although it had 3 parts and took me awhile to think it out, was a puzzle that most people could get through if they paid attention to which way they directed the ball each time. However, there were other repeat games that I felt were tedious and I did not want to keep doing them again. The hidden object scenes in this game were fabulous and I wish there had been more. Some of them were the misplaced objects, others regular seek and find and this time there were interactive ones where you had to put things together. They would give you a picture of the first piece but once you found it, you'd have to find the 3 other objects within the scene to create it. An example would be a hot air balloon. You'd be shown the balloon and then a list of 3 items that would go with it. Gas, Basket, String and it would put it together for you. At the end, the scene would move and you would get a useful object. I really liked these and wish there had been more. I really love the "shade effect" in this series. I think the light to dark areas are awesome and I loved the interactions among them. I own all of this series and I hope they keep making more. These developers, Orneon, know how to spread their tasks out smoothly so throughout the entire game, you always have a purpose and know exactly what to do. If you don't know what to do, hit the hint button and it will show you a picture of where to go and what to do and what object to use there. Only thing is, if you try to click it to go there, you can't. You have to walk and there is no map in this game. I left off a star for the repeating puzzles, the fact there is no map which wasn't a deal breaker but it would have been nice especially after receiving the hints. Also, even though I really liked this game, I was hoping for a more original atmosphere. The first two were in locations that were quite interesting especially the 2nd one which was set in Thailand and is my favorite one. This edition took place in a house and although there were tons of nooks and crannies and way more locations than I anticipated, I would have liked a more unique area. But I still enjoyed myself and I definitely recommend it!
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Solid Game This game had great puzzles, a good story line and good design. For once, there were enough locations to visit that I did not feel claustrophobic. The hidden object parts were done fairly well which is a compliment from me as I am not a HOG fan. The only con that I could find was that at times a new HOG would show up and I had to hunt to find the location unless I used the ingame hint system. Well worth buying! Make more like this.
Date published: 2013-06-23
  • y_2021, m_1, d_24, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_69
  • loc_en_US, sid_18063, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Secrets of the Dark: Mystery of the Ancestral Estate

If you have enough courage to challenge the darkness, then you’ll manage to find out the mystery of the Rossolimo family.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.