Fear For Sale: Nightmare Cinema
Exclusive

Fear For Sale: Nightmare Cinema

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(315.34 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the secrets of a spooky old theater in Fear For Sale: Nightmare Cinema! When the entire audience disappears from a film screening at an old theater downtown, you must go behind the scenes to find out who is responsible for the crime. But things quickly go from weird to worse when you finally realize where the missing audience members went. You’ll need all of your investigatory skills to solve this case and escape the Nightmare Cinema before the screen goes dark forever!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 872 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Fear For Sale: Nightmare Cinema

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(315.34 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Fear For Sale: Nightmare Cinema is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Puzzles! I like the way this series uses puzzles that make sense in actual reality. This chapter continued that with better graphics! The HOPs are still good. Now there are hidden objects that you have to move things to find. Nothing amazing, but good all the same. The other puzzles work well and the graphics are much better. There is a custom playing level in addition to the casual and advanced. I thought the figuring out what to do next part was a little easy, but it was still fun. Good game! Recommended for adults and children, thought it may be a bit creepy for young kids.
Date published: 2015-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great sequel fits in with the series. played casual, low sound. hint/skip charge fairly fast (about 30 seconds). different games. great story. you are helping adam to get out. a creature is feeding off souls and you are trying to rescue them. interactive map and diary.
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from By invitation only, a special premiere by Horrorwood presented at Nightmare Theater where you will lose your soul Your reputation as an investigative reporter for the Fear For Sale Magazine involving McInroy Manor and the town of Sunnyvale has caused a young woman, Lily Thompson, to call you, Emma Roberts, asking for help in finding out what has happened to her fiance, Adam Right, who also works at the magazine. He had received two theater tickets in the mail for a private showing of a new movie, The Gate, at an old cinema, The Nightmare Theater, and the two of them were to attend but Lily had misgivings about the show so Adam went alone and has not been seen since. She has received another ticket to the show but does not want to go and has asked you to go in her place and to look for Adam. When you try to use the ticket, the mysterious ticket taker tells you that this is not your ticket and to leave. He then burns the ticket and closes and locks the doors to the theater. That old 6th sense feeling kicks in and you decide this is not normal and you need to find a way into the theater. Searching the area, you find a CD concerning the man running the theater and discover it is David McInroy, a member of the McInroys involved with McInroy Manor you investigated earlier. He runs the Sunnyvale Art Academy and is a director of horror films. You find Adam's cell phone number and call it. When he answers, he tells you he and others are being held against their will and needs your help to be free. David was a college friend and needed a script writer but now he has made him a prisoner. When you are finally able to enter the theater lobby, David tells you to leave as you can't stop what is happening and seals the seating area. Once you are able to open the sealed door, you enter and see the movie playing and watch as the souls of the audience are slowly pulled from their bodies and enter a portal in the screen. When the last soul enters the portal, it closes. To save all those people and Adam, you need to open the portal to Horrorwood and that can only be done by fixing the projector and finding the film. The projector apparently came from McInroy Manor where the demon Aggel was summoned and the film was created under his direction to obtain souls. You will need to defeat him to save everyone. Par for the series, the graphics provide a noir like feel to the game that is well done and creepy with good animations, voice acting, and music that fits the scenes. There is a diary for the story and a jump map with areas of interest indicated. With some back tracking, this is helpful. There are the usual mixture og inventory puzzles, minigames and hidden object scenes to work through with clear directions and fairly easy but nothing really new. I did enjoy one puzzle involving a typewriter where you had to choose pictures on the keys to match parts of sentences. Hidden object scenes were really nicely done with a lot of interesting interactive objects with zoom-in areas and small puzzles to solve. An option that I had not seen before is you can switch to a jigsaw puzzle to complete if you don't like hidden object scenes. I found the story to be well presented tying in the two previous episodes for those that are fans of the series and yet not requiring you to have played them and the length just about right so you don't wind up wishing this thing would end. Not a bad way to spend a few hours in an evening.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the series but.. I love the Fear for Sale series but my thoughts on this like the others are that they are too short! This one was SUPER creepy which I really enjoyed. I felt it was much more "adult" than the Sunnyvale one. Overall, an enjoyable game that I would recommend.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good! I own McInroy Manor but skip Sunnyvalle, but the good reviews from this made me buy this third game in their series. One thing I like best from this game is that the story is nice, quite original, I might say, and have nice voice overs. The HOG scenes are quite interactive, and easy to find. The puzzles also not that difficult although I can say I skip many. The map is very useful and I almost don't have to use walkthrough because the map tells you where you should go and do next. I can say this one restores back the goodness of the first Fear for Sale and I might try Sunnyvale next.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD, BUT NOT GREAT GAME. Played the SE and found this game to be the usual fare. The demo and first-half graphics and puzzles are better than the second part which becomes a little gray and lacking in detail and the story sort of fizzles out. This player is a consumer with little knowledge of how these games come to be, but it seems that there are two teams developing most games; the 'A' team for the demo and first half of the game and the 'B' team for the completion of the game. This seems to be true for so many games. Recommend if you don't expect too much. As usual, try before you buy. But, we can't always trust the demo to accurately represent the entire game.
Date published: 2013-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game for the day. Game is good. Has voice over and good graphics. Music is fine. Has a good flow to it without to much running all over the place. The HOS have 2 ways to play them which is cool. They are good. The puzzles can really be challenging. Some easy and some not. The hint button works good. Most of the fear for sale games are all alike in the way they are played and the storyline. The game is short. I did not play the CE it may be better. This one is good just not great. A little predictable for me.
Date published: 2013-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Entertainment BASED ON COMPLETED CE GAME I really enjoyed the CE of this one, and after looking at the SE version, I still think it’s the better deal. But that doesn’t make this second rate by any measure. If you can stand to forgo the exciting tidbits (MORPHING OBJECTS, COLLECTIONS & ACHIEVEMENTS), this is an excellent game. You won’t be sorry you bought it. The game is jammed with interactive list HOs and PUZZLES. There’s so much to do in each scene! Everything is relatively easy, so you don’t get slowed down by lengthy puzzles. Stuck on that one last item in the HOs? Switch to JIGSAW to complete it without a hint. The jigsaws are fun, too, scenes from the game cut into all kind of weird shapes. The story’s fun. Viewers at an old cinema are entering, never to be seen again. Now a workmate’s gone too and it’s time for you to find out what’s happening. We run into an old ‘friend’ in the course of our investigation, and that makes it all the more intriguing. One thing I didn’t understand was the grainy GRAPHICS. I mean, they looked high quality, it was not a definition issue (I think). Was that deliberate? Is that what the film noir info was about maybe? You can alter the volume on the SOUND, as well as voice, environment and music. But none of these things actually get very loud. There is not a lot of voiceover, but it is good. Lips aren’t synced though. The ‘Fear For Sale’ series has always provided solid entertainment, and this one is no different.
Date published: 2013-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still an exciting adventure!!!! :) Review is based on playing the complete CE and the demo of this one. As a reporter for the „Fear for Sale“- Magazine, your investigations are leading you to an old cinema, where the whole audience disappeared… Story is very thrilling, graphics are a bit old fashioned, but wellmade, clear and detailed. 4 modes to choose from: casual, normal, hard and custom (love that!). We have an interactive (jump) map, showing you active areas, a direction giving hint and a detailed journal. Inventory can be locked. 31 interesting, some new, not too challenging minigames and 25 slightly interactive hidden object scenes, can be switched into a jigsaw. Playing this game, you will miss the following CE-Extras: Beside the wellknown bonus-chapter and the strategy-guide we can search for: 66 beyond objects (also hidden in the HOS) and all sorts of collectables, such as 5 fortune teller cards, 5 origamis, 5 toy soldiers, 5 runes, 5 snowgazers, 5 butterflies and 5 sweets. AND we can earn lots of achievements!! We have 7 chapters to play. Main game seems to end conclusively after 3,5 hrs - normal mode. Though I won’t miss the CE’s bonus-chapter… If you don’t care of all those mentioned CE-Extras, this game is a superb adventure hidden object game!!! :)
Date published: 2013-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shh! The Movie is Starting! Besides being wonderfully creeptastic, this game has the unique feature of being able to customize game experience. You can choose how fast the hint and skip buttons charge, if suspicious areas should sparkle or not and if you would like to toggle the HO penalty button. You can also switch to puzzle mode during a HOS....but who in the heck would want to do that? :P ~ Instant teleport map featuring green footprints for current location and red exclamation marks for available tasks. ~ Helpful Hint button. ~ Journal Verdict: A pretty decent game that has been added to my wish list.
Date published: 2013-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game Wow, what an good game! I loved most everything about this game. Love the whole thing.
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Game I really enjoyed this game. I would have given it a 5 if it wasn't for the end. As the game progressed it seemed to slow down. I also read the journals and it as out of sequence and I knew how the game was going to end before it ended, which sucked. There was alot of back and forth, which I am not to fond of and there was one puzzle that just didn't make sense to me. Besides that its a solid game with a interesting story line and good mini games and HO scenes.
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quite good but... I had problems with gameplay, a lot of hinting, some not intuitive actions. I played only demo, I need to think if I'm going to buy it.
Date published: 2013-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Creepy At first the game was really jumpy but then it fixed itself. The hos were very creepy as was the story. I found it really fun and i'm not usually a big hog person. The originality of them made it so much more fun and challenging.
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from COMPLETE GAME REVIEW of CE & Bonus Chptr Played both the main game and bonus 'chapter'... The game is quite short for a CE, and has NO MAP but LOTS of back and forth from place to place #go here get this, now go BACK to where you were and use it, then repeat#. This took up LOTS of time/gameplay, rather than actually doing something, which got both boring and repetitive. The graphics were good, the HOS were ok, nothing spectacular. BEST FEATURE to me was the additional things to find/collect as you played. There were 'morphing' objects throughout the game and bonus to be found. PLUS, there were items to collect which changed--5 butterflies, 5 tin soldiers, 5 snow globes; etc. This added a lot to the game, but was almost too much...the morphing objects were enough in my opinion. Overall, it was just ok to me, and certainly NOT WORTH the CE price of $13.99, due to the shortness of the game and the gameplay and lack of map.
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needed hint alot.. Hard to navigate and hard to follow. Needed hint to know what to do next. Not a chick HO.
Date published: 2015-07-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Pleased: Very Drab Game; Very Short I actually purchased the CE version of this game and now wished I hadn't. The game-play was okay; there was quite a bit of buzz about this game when it was first released as a CE due to all of the 'collectibles' and the scattered 'achievements'. To be honest, it didn't add that much to what is a formulaic and rather drab game. The storyline is really weak. I have played the previous games in the series (which I enjoyed) and this one is just terrible. Perhaps it's time for this series to be laid to rest. The graphics are of rather poor quality and the story is just interesting enough that I plodded along to the finish line; however, I played most of this game on auto-pilot and actually felt relieved when I was finished. Very little challenge; very little excitement. Bland storyline. For those that purchased the SE; smart move. I do not recommend the CE version. I completed the main storyline in 4 hours and this includes me taking my time, not skipping anything, reading the journal, hunting down all the collectibles and taking breaks here and there. It is not a long game by any means, with the bonus chapter in the CE version only adding 'maybe' an additional 30-45 minutes. As I spent much time looking for the added collectibles; without those to look for I could have easily finished this game in 2.5 hours tops. I'm assuming the SE version does not include the collectibles so yes, a very short game not up to CE standards and short even for a SE offering. What really made me downgrade this game from 3 stars to 2 stars is the ending of the main story. *This does NOT contain a spoiler*. Those that purchased the SE version are left without much of an ending. The CE bonus game is really an extended ending to the main game; without it, the game doesn't make much sense. In the SE version, it just...ends. No real conclusion to anything. In fact, I was certain I must have skipped a step in the main story because it ended so quickly. It was only when I began the 'Bonus Chapter' that I realized that the CE bonus chapter IS the ending. Despite the fact that I was able to get a decent ending having played the CE version, I do not appreciate developers leaving SE players without an appropriate ending. Every SE version of what was once a CE should include a decent ending for ALL players to enjoy. So be forewarned before you play; you most likely will be disappointed in the very abrupt conclusion. Other than that; the game is sub-par and due to that, the lack of ending, and the shortness of the game, I can only recommend this as a DD or if you have a game coupon about to expire. Otherwise, I recommend a pass. Nothing special here.
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice game, but... I liked this game. The puzzles were a bit different. Graphics were good. HO scenes were interactive. I like that the map shows where there are things to do so I can get a nudge without an outright hint. But the game was waaaaay too short. I got through the demo in 45 minutes. The demo ends 1/3 through the game. So that means that in an hour, you're almost half way (44% of the game). A two hour and a bit game isn't worth the money however good it is.
Date published: 2013-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not recommended at all really gutted. boring 'story', way too many HOS. they have tried to make it look creepy but it just looks dark and cluttered i have forced myself through the first half in the hope that it will improve but i cant do any more. deleted. soooooooo boring
Date published: 2013-06-16
  • y_2020, m_2, d_15, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_18201, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Fear For Sale: Nightmare Cinema

When the entire audience disappears from a film screening at an old theater, you must go behind the scenes to find out who is running the mysterious Nightmare Cinema!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.