Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(276.27 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Justice is in your hands in Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe’s The Masque of the Red Death! A mysterious figure in a red mask has been stalking the streets of a small French town, murdering city officials. The mayor calls you in to help track him down and stop him. But when you arrive, you discover that the townspeople all seem to be cheering for the Red Masque. So who is the real criminal? It’s up to you to decide in this thrilling Hidden Object Adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 562 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(276.27 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 36.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Tales series is another great hit! Great game! I love to play this type of game. It keeps you interested throughout the whole game. It had tons of places to explore and many different types of games. It even throws-in some familiar games which makes it fun. The music was relaxing and went along with the story perfectly. The game length was good. I loved everything about this game. I look forward to playing the next one.
Date published: 2013-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best ERS game ever !!!! Wow. This was a beautiful and fun game. For any of you older players...The graphics were just right for older eyes, including the hidden object scenes. The game ran VERY smoothly, no glitches or dragging cursors. I did switch to system cursor, but I do that with most games. I was addicted to the storyline from start to finish, just couldn't stop playing! And tons of locations to explore, all pleasant, not creepy or gloomy. (As far as I can remember, and I just finished playing.) Highly recommend !!
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have already played Sorry "big fish" fans, I have already played this game last April. Its in my Edgar Allen Poe collections. Good game, not a hard core player.
Date published: 2013-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YOU BE THE JUDGE! Another fantastic Poe game the difference in the CE vs. SE is mostly the fact that there are no achievements and you don't get to interact with the cute kitten. Detective Dupin has asked for your assistance again, someone in a red masque has been killing the corrupt people of the Mayors office. In this game you literally get to weigh out the evidence with the scales of justice. You will collect evidence in your virtual office against the corrupt Mayor and against the Red Masque killer. You then decide who the guilty party is by putting the evidence on one side or the other, you can change this any time. You also have a camera to take snapshots of each scene that will be in you map as well as in a photo book in your virtual office. The only thing I don't like about this game is the fact that the HOS double up on the same scenes, but they are interactive such as finding a honey dipper to use in the honey jar. The mini games are pretty simple like following the correct cup with a marble in it after the clown tries to shuffle them around, and you must do this correctly 5 times. There are plenty of things to do in each scene and it is pretty easy to figure out what to do with the inventory items but the hint system will show you where to go next in casual mode. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from just fun to play and has good flow I have played all the dark tales and this one is also good. Seems like ERS is putting out lots of games lately and I have notice that they are getting to be the same. Saying that it is still good game. Graphics and voice over is good along with the music. They seem to be getting less of a challenge for me. Maybe I'm betting better. Just seems like you need less help. The HOS are good and they are also changing into interactive ones now. Hint button works good. Good game and worth the money. Good flow to the game.
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exciting & New. Choose Your Own Ending! BASED ON CE GAME COMPLETED I am a sucker for kittens, so I had to buy the CE of this game, with all its cute extras, but always, it’s the game that counts. And this game IN ANY VERSION, is top notch. The most recent of the Dark Tales series, it has all the characteristics that make this my all-time favourite series. Even more BEAUTIFUL GRAPHICS than usual, a nice CHANGE in both the MUSIC and the VOICEOVERS, M. DUPIN as urbane and charming as ever... though not as talkative, perhaps the circumstances of this case depressed him. And the CASE is DIFFERENT from our usual investigations. We are called in by the MAYOR to deal with the rash of murders of council officials perpetrated by a mysterious villain known as the RED MASQUE. What we find is a town on the point of OPEN REBELLION, falling apart around our ears. Starving people waylay us in the street, buildings disintegrate before our eyes. Everyone is living in terror of someone. It will take more than just identifying the villain to bring about JUSTICE. And this new angle is reflected in the GAMEPLAY. Before the game is finished we will have to collect ‘justice orbs’ which summarise different crimes, then weigh them up in our lady of justice’s scales. Only then can we decide who to arrest. In other words, we CHOOSE THE ENDING. We have several types of HO SCENE to work with. There is the conventional INTERACTIVE LIST, some MULTIPLES, at least one PROGRESSIVE SILHOUETTE (find one to use on the next and so on til you get your inventory item), and some INTERACTIVE SILHOUETTES. In this last, more than half the items require a further step, and being only silhouettes, you are given no indication to tell which needs interaction. I found the PUZZLES QUITE EASY, but that may be me finally getting the hang of some of the standard ones. Though these were mostly ORIGINAL, they were based on similar logical processes. To me, the game seemed LONGER than the others in this series. There was an added COMPLEXITY to the ADVENTURE ASPECT in this one that had me scratching my head several times as to how to move forward. There were also MORE LOCATIONS. While I am by no means sorry that I bought the CE, I believe the SE to be an excellent game, and a MUST HAVE for most players.
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely Hidden Object Game I love this series of games, truly. There's always an interesting storyline, this game in particular, and Dupin is great as always. To go into detail, this storyline is intriguing and will keep you on your toes-- who's a greater threat, the mayor or the Red Masque? Is he really the criminal? The gameplay is smooth, just how it should be. Great visuals, perfected lip-sync, all that good stuff. Overall I think this game really is a great game to play if you're looking for a mysterious detective game.
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Fun Game A fun game based on the Edgar Allan Poe story.
Date published: 2014-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The guilt ball is in your court, Detective! After playing all of the Dark Tales games, I do rate this one as probably one of my top favorites. Again, you are Detective Dupin uncovering the truth, but this game allows the player to make the moral decisions, using 'guilt balls' that are given to you throughout the game. The graphics were very nice; I really liked meeting so many different people in this game as opposed to other games, and there was a nice mixture of HO with mini puzzles, like finding ingredients to bake bread, that used the surroundings instead of continually staring at a row of marbles or untangling strings. Good music. My only pet peeve was the hint button in the mini games that would show you an object but not how to move forward in the puzzle...frustrating at times. Worth the SE price with a satisfying, albeit quick ending!
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great series of games I enjoy playing this series. Although not my favorite Dark Tales, this is still a good game to play. Not a lot of bells and whistles, but the game play is smooth, and the HOS/puzzles/adventure are well balanced. HOS is silhouette. Mini-games can be skipped. Ambience and mood are great. The player has to make choices towards the end on how the story ends. Nicely done, but not the best one.
Date published: 2013-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from like premature burial The Collector's Edition Bonus Chapter takes this adventure to the max. It mirrors Premature, and thus gets the highest score! I will give this standard edition one score below because of lack of a bonus chapter.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This one is good! I have purchased most of Edgar Allan Poe games. I have even given them a bad review once for going HO crazy. I like HOGs but dislike HOG's with HO scenes at every turn. This game gives enough HO scenes, lots of challenging mini games, a great story that the game follows right through to the end, great voice overs and wonderful eye candy graphics. A well balanced game. I never use tutorials and avoid hints. Long enough to enjoy all the fun with a good ending. So what more can one ask for but immersion. I never stopped playing until I hit the end. I most definitely recommend this game. I gave it a four, one has to leave room for more outstanding efforts.
Date published: 2013-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly a good ride I started playing in advanced mode but quickly felt "lonely" without the monologue that appears when you click on an object of interest. Also, to remove all of those comments made it appear that some items were important that were not. To me, it's fine to omit the comments that are clues, but not those that are innocuous commentary, like "I hope he's OK." My big issue is with the storyline. Not the narrative, but the way you play through. The game was enjoyable and logical up until I got to the mayor's mansion. At that point, I started picking up objects because they were clickable, but I had not yet encountered the puzzle that they were to solve. I would rather encounter a problem and *then* go looking for the things needed to solve it. Then I got to a spot where the comment was, "This would be a great place to <spoiler-avoidance>do a specific, completely un-obvious project.</spoiler-avoidance>" Wait, what? Nothing leading up to that point indicated that that's what needed to be done or why or how. It's like someone wanting to take you somewhere but insisting you walk in front, even though you don't know where to go. Very frustrating and irritating. After working through that area, progress became logical again, but by then much of the enjoyment was lost and I just wanted to finish. Random observations: The visuals are clear and attractive. I like the understated music. The puzzles are fun and not too hard (or too easy). The weighing of guilt is arbitrary. I wanted a particular outcome, so I distributed the marbles to get it. I figure, real laws don't apply and it's my game world, so I can do what I want! ;-) Although I really enjoyed many aspects of the game, I didn't feel satisfied when I finished. It was more of a "thank goodness that's over." Unfortunately, it's because of a brief part of the game.
Date published: 2013-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nothing to do with Poe I would have given this a higher rating if it didn't claim to be related to the Edgar Allen Poe story. Outside of a red mask, that's it. One of the creepiest of his stories for me, so this mild good guy vs bad fell flat. It had a few different bits, the weighing good vs bad, but it wasn't very long. Still a good game, just sailing under false colors.
Date published: 2013-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from VERY GOOD PRODUCTION VALUES I bought the CE, but the SE looks almost as good. NOT SO GOOD First, the artwork (especially of Dupin) doesn't seem to be up to par with prior games of the series. Second, the bottom of the screen is too crowded - on my 27 inch screen, there is over an inch of unused space on each side - makes the inventory tray rather small in comparison. VERY GOOD Production values are what you'd expect from ERS - an interactive map, artistic graphics, diary, interesting story (true to Poe), logical game play, various achievements and well-detailed interactive uncrowded HOS. You can take pictures with your camera as often as you want and they will be saved to a book in your office. A delight to play. I love all the Edgar Allan Poe games.
Date published: 2013-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good-looking game from ERS. Good-looking game--nothing new. Beautiful artwork, as expected from ERS. But, the story, game play, somewhat interactive silhouette HOs and puzzles are more of the same. Glad I waited for the SE as can't see that this simple, but attractive game could have been made better with CE features.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good but a bit disturbing game I have to say for the most part this is a good game. hint button is great, games are good, story line is good, in general a great game and I do recommend it. the only reason I gave 4 stars instead of five is mixed feelings about deciding the ending. while I went along with it it was a bit disturbing that I had to decide who was right and who was wrong. it is different and unique however. I don't use sound so can't rate that but over all a unique, different game. just don't get freaked out about finding someone guilty.
Date published: 2013-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still a great adventure!!! (Differences to the Collector’s Edition) :) Played the Collector’s Edition and tried this one to find any differences: Find out the truth, who is more guilty: The mayor of the town or the red-masked man who is murdering city officials… Graphics are as expected from ERS: drawn very clear and detailed! Marvellous cutscenes with very good voice-overs. As always 3 modes to choose from, 6 chapters (took me at least 4 hrs. in the 2nd mode), direction giving hint, a very useful journal with an interactive map (allowing you to jump), you may lock the inventory, so that it won’t disappear at the bottom. And we still have a camera next to the inventory and you may take a photo of every scene for your photo-album, but in the CE you are able to earn an achievement for this. Lots of HOS (list) and those silhouette-HOS, where you must find one item, before getting another, until 1 last item remains for your inventory. Minigames are good to manage. You can choose between 2 different endings, depending on who do you think is more guilty… Important Collector’s Editions extras: 11 achievements to earn and 5 hidden items to find for your cat. Bonus-chapter is an additional story with some new areas to explore and took me another hour to play. Yes, this time, I would prefer the Dark Tales Collector’s Edition!!!! :)
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Review based on completed SE game You know it was ok. There were bits I enjoyed quite a bit, and other parts that were ok. However, compared to Edgar Allen Poe, The Black Cat, or The House of Usher, it just wasn’t in the same league. Graphics were nice, not excellent. I enjoyed the outdoor scenes more than the indoor ones. Didn’t really feel that compelled by it. Puzzles were ok. Some HO scenes were interactive with find the silhouette and then there was find 15 of these and 15 of those. For a freebie, it was good. If you google the walkthrough for this by Bigfishgames, you’ll find it. For some reason it doesn’t come up as a walkthrough if you’re on site and you go to “community.”
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Egads! I admit, I didn't get very far in the demo but, too many "gadgets" for me. Some may like these additions, I do not. You have a camera to take photos. Not sure how you decide exactly when. You have a scale to determine justice, who's the guilty party. Really? You have a link to your office to see your photos and you have the option of deleting them there. That link I might add, is sometimes in the way. You have to be careful to avoid when you're searching HO scenes. I do like the artwork and the story, it might have been interesting. I'll never know will I?
Date published: 2014-05-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not impressed After all the hype, I was expecting great things from this game. I was disappointed. The graphics were excellent, but frequently the puzzles required lots of random clicking to move forward (Do you need a tool? Randomly click all the otherwise static lamps to find it!) In a couple of places the hidden objects were too dark or only partly visible. In one HOS, the candle I needed to light the lantern, was floating in the air and unreachable. Through trial and error I eventually randomly clicked my way into the solution. I was also unimpressed with the "weighing of guilt" feature. I like the idea, but in my opinion trying to decide between a town official (who taxes people to the point of starvation so he can decorate his shrubs with diamonds) and a revenge-seeking, murderous masked individual (beloved by the town folk) is really not a difficult choice.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I Thought this Would Be Better I bought this on Discount weekend....I though the game would be okay...but I wasn't impressed with the graphics, too many HO that don't even look like the item, and too much hiding them in odd ways....the HOs like the "rings' were so camafloged that you would never find them probably without a guide.....I hate that tactic...they are forcing you to either get CE or wait for SE and hints in Forums..... NO, not impressed at all !!!!
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT IMPRESSED This game is pretty much ho hum for me. The story line did not make me want to engage with the puzzles to keep moving, but I did just to get it over with. It's not a bad game, not a good game, just lukewarm entertainment. Pros: You get to decide the ending The puzzles are easy Voice overs are adequate Music is alright Cons The story is dull, unoriginal Character movement is jerky Too much going backwards to use items Nothing to challenge the mind Kind of short I think if you're new to this genre, you'll find this game interesting. However, if you're like me and have played a lot of games, this one will seem a little stale and familiar.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I'm Sorry I Bought It. I thought this game would NEVER end, and then when it finally did, you had to pick which party was guilty, which meant that one of the villains would go free. It is obvious the developers thought the idea of scales would be a clever device. I didn't agree. I played on the easiest mode, and I thought the hints and skips filled quickly enough. However, the game would have been much improved with not just a transporting map but one that indicated where things needed to be done.
Date published: 2019-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ERS is the guilty one... could've been a great game. This review is based on a complete playthrough. ERS is a top studio that has proven they can put out some first rate games. They didn't with this one. THE GOOD: The visuals were top-notch. ERS delivered like they always do in that department. Sound was nice for a while but got very repetitive. The idea of "picking the ending" sounds good on paper, but it didn't play out well - it had absolutely zero impact on game play: you just get to pick which of two closing cutscenes you watch before the credits roll. Map was interactive, diary kept track of all the information you found. THE BAD: The game was disjointed. You had this plot going on with the Red Masque, and then you had all these puzzles to solve. Unfortunately, for the most part one seemed to have very little to do with the other. A lot of what you did made no sense even in a game. One of the worst uses of a loaded gun I've seen, being stymied in your quest for justice by a bullfrog, and the whole 'animal' thing just left me shaking my head. The 'scales of justice' was a nice visual, but again served no real mechanical purpose, which made them a confusing element of the ending. THE UGLY: HOS repeated - one back to back [15 of this, then 15 of that]. Things impossible to spot (no click penalty at least). BOTTOM LINE: If I could describe this game in one word it would be "boring". You'll decide for yourself very early in the game who you want to be 'guilty', and then the game just goes on and on and on... Neither of the two 'culprits' is presented in any sympathetic way - both are killers, why can we only arrest one? It's a very old concept, but every hero needs a tragic flaw and every villian needs a redeeming quality. Neither had those here.
Date published: 2014-03-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Save your money! Choose another game, better ones out there This is my second time writing this review, game fish must not have liked my disappointment in the game. Either way I wrote a long review last time and will not repeat again. Just save your money the game has a lot of glitches in the game play and puzzles. I would save my money for another game to come out that will have tied up the story line better than this game did. Pass on this one you won't regret it!
Date published: 2013-06-18
  • y_2019, m_6, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_18391, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death

A murderous figure in a red mask haunts the streets of a small French town, and the mayor needs your help to track him down. But you soon discover that the mysterious Red Masque might not be the real criminal…

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.