Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest
Exclusive

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(Large File: 432.98 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The town of Willow Ridge has long lived under everlasting night. Surrounded by a violent, dark forest, its only protection is the Great Lighthouse, which keeps the nightmarish trees at bay. Your husband Alan has been haunted by dreams of a ghostly woman beckoning him, believing she knows how to save the town. As he goes to investigate, a fire consumes the lighthouse! Was it sabotaged from inside the town - or by some darker force? Your search for answers will uncover the history of your town and the Forest Rite that has been a tradition for countless generations. Hold onto the light in Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest, a fantastic Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 754 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(Large File: 432.98 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 70.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What fun to have a definite storyline AND good games Best so far (hope for more this good) - an excellent variety of mini games and you have to be a bit creative in your thinking - even the HOGs are not all the same. Played the standard game (not CE) and the map was a help having deactivated most other things. Didn't collect all my acorns so going right back in to find them! OK music and nice level of interaction with the characters which can be jumped if you wish. Good variety of locations and clearly drawn with good light level throughout. (Hate unnecessarily gloomy HOGs). It is clear who you are and what you are trying to achieve.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game was amazing!! This game was brilliantly done! There were so many different types of mini games it has become a classification all its own, and it was never boring. Also, there weren't too many HO scenes and that is a definite plus for me. I also liked that the difficulty selections offered one where you can customize what helps you want and what you don't. Although I didn't play the CE, this SE was outstanding in itself. I don't think anyone needs to pay the extra money for the CE. And then to top it off with excellent graphics and a good storyline makes this game an absolute gem. The developers did a great job with this one.
Date published: 2013-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very pleasant game Nothing to reply about this game. I like everything. Nice storyline, very original. Nice sound effects. I stood with bated breath till the end. Especially the HOG were funny to play, the idea of hiding the objects "behind the objects" was a good idea. Not boring at all and nice graphic too. Well, I recommend it, just try it.
Date published: 2013-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do NOT let the file size fool you! There is more activity to this game than most adventures. Players will get their money's worth. The plot is so thick it goes beyond most stories here.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ABSOLUTELY SUPERB! NEW FAVORITE! I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this game. It was very interactive and a joy to play. The story line was cohesive and made sense. The visuals were beautiful. I enjoyed the hidden object games. They weren't overwhelming and they had different styles of HO scenes. The mini black & white movies were fun to look at because they explained the story line in further detail. But not only did you get to "watch" the movie, you had interactive play WITHIN the movie - hidden object, or should I say, "misplaced" object scenes. After you finished with them, you were given a clue that you would need to finish the game. It was wonderful. The mini games were somewhat challenging. The skip button charged rather quickly if you needed to bypass a game. I cannot say enough about this game! Oh, maybe one or two others. At the end of the game, you get to "fight". The story didn't just end "and they lived happily ever after." No, you had to "fight" for that ending. This game is the best one I have played so far and in a long time! You will not regret purchasing this game!
Date published: 2013-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YOU'VE GOT TO TRY THIS GAME !! I don't write many reviews because so many others do such a great job, but I definitely read them. I thought the first Rite of Passage game was ok, but had technical problems with it half way through (suddenly got the black side bars that I never had gotten before or since). So I was a little apprehensive about getting this one. However, I read the reviews and just had to try it. I LOVE THIS GAME !! There are such fun things to do that you don't want to quit playing. I've been playing Hidden Object Puzzle games for several years and was getting a little burned out, but this game has brought me right back in. It is full of new types of HOS and puzzles that are so much fun you don't want to stop playing. The graphics are great and the music is some of the best I've heard in these games. This developer will make the "Big Guys" stand up and take notice. Definitely developers to keep your eye on. Thank you devs for such a great job and thank you Big Fish for presenting it to us to enjoy.
Date published: 2013-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The very best I have never wrote a review, but I had to recommend this one, simply because I buy a lot of these HOPA games (64 this year alone). I bought and played the CE of this game, and have already played it 3 times (I usually wait a year before re-playing), simply because this is the best I have played. One thing that hasn't been mentioned is that they have a custom skill level mapping, so you can have no sparkles, but set the help button for only 15 seconds - or how ever else you want set up things. These guys were really trying, and succeeded, in to coming up with original concepts and improving on the tried and true. And it was a whole lot of fun -
Date published: 2013-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST HAVE Rite of passage: child of the forest Let me just start by saying “BEST GAME EVER” the only regret is that I didn’t buy the CE so wish I could go back and buy the CE instead of the SE. I never give 5 stars for any game with excellent all the way across but this one deserves 10 stars :) This my new favorite game I only wish that they would make more as good as this one cuz after playing this one I don't think any others could be as good. WTG on the great job and effort that went into this game it was EXCELLENT :# The music was really nice. It was kinda Donnie Darko during game and relaxing during the HO’s it all fit the game very well The graphics were very well done I was very pleased with them The game took me just a little over 4 hours which sucked because I didn’t want to stop playing this one I wish it could have been a little longer. I was so involved I didn’t want to put it down and the time just flew by me before I knew it I was to the end. You can choose from 4 different levels to play casual, expert, master or my personal favorite custom where you can customize whether you want the tutorial, where you want and don’t want sparkles, how long you want your hint button to take to recharge #15-90 sec#, how long you want your skip button to charge #15-90 sec) and much more. It was great to have a customize level so you decide your own game factors something I personally have never seen and I’ve played a lot of bigfish games. There were lots of different HO’s throughout the game. You had regular HO’s, find the black objects, find pieces and a few others so it didn’t feel like you were doing the same thing over and over it kept me from getting bored as I often do while playing cuz most the time you are doing the same HO’s all through the game. This game didn’t have a ton of HO’s like most HO games I felt it had a perfect amount, at least that’s my feeling on it. The puzzles were fun and I felt that they were not ripping your hair out hard nor were they so easy you felt that a toddler could do them, lol. I loved the fact that there were so many things done in this game that I have never seen done before and I’ve never played a game that had so many different things all rolled into one it made it so perfect I mean you could never get bored playing this game. There are voiceovers for those of you, myself included, that really enjoy those. There was not a lot of backtracking which I think is great cuz I hate a ton of back tracking. In this game once you move forward you keep moving forward. There is a map that tells you were things that still need to be done are and allows you to travel by clicking on where you want to go. The journal is very useful and you do need to use it every now and then. Throughout the game you will need to interact with certain items in your inventory which gave the game an even bigger fun factor. I don’t want to give up to much of the game but I could talk about it forever lol In summery this game is AMAZING although a little on the short side still well worth the money and if you have it I would spring for the CE, which I have never suggested before, I only wish I would have. You will not be disappointed with this game at all. THIS GAME IS A MUST HAVE Hope ya all enjoy! Have fun and good luck ;)
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lovely game with that extra 'something' I waited to buy the SE version and while I'm sure I would have enjoyed the CE, I was very happy with this one. The developers have done a great job on this game. Artistically the graphics are excellent and the cut scenes work well. The storyline is consistent and makes sense (for a world with moving and evil trees...). I felt the story was new (well ok you're saving someone but it's a new twist on that). The length is good and the places you go to are varied. More, there are some quite different puzzles, and you get a cute hamster (which you name) to help you. There are some puzzles which are really quite hard to solve! One particular thing I liked was the way the story was moved on by a sort of newsreel in cartoon format. You had to complete details on these, which I suppose is a sort of HOS. You only get to these after solving some sort of puzzle. And while we're on the subject of HOS, this game uses different kinds of HOS: silhouette (looking for a number of a certain object), the normal kind and one where you move other objects to find a piece to complete the thing you're going to need. Nice! I'll look out for more by this developer.
Date published: 2013-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best game of 2013...so far!! I purchased the CE version without doing the trial, something I have never done before or since. The buy was based on stellar reviews. It was a wise decision. The storyline is at the same time unique and oh so similar. The baddies here are trees, not some evil person as is usually the case. The cutscenes are among the best I have ever seen and the graphics are crisp and sharp . The only downside and it's a small one is that character lips do not move during the voiceovers. There is a cute little hamster assistant which the player gets to name. The hints recharge quickly and there is a teleporting map in the lower right that some might overlook. The HO areas are a combo of find the objects, find a lot of the same object and some fractured objects areas. Nothing too hard to find overall. The game includes some cutscene/find and place item segments which neatly further the storyline, this is something novel in HO games. The game can be played in various difficulty levels. I said in a CE review that Rite of Passage is ( for me ) a rival to Return to Ravenhearst as best game ever. For those of you who did not get the CE, I wholeheartedly recommend buying the SE. Better yet, trial the SE and then opt for the CE.
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something Really Special BASED ON CE GAME COMPLETED TWICE ALREADY! This game really is something SPECIAL. It marks a whole new standard for HOPA games. The BEST OF GAMES will now have to measure up to its VARIETY in GAMEPLAY, GRAPHICS, even MUSIC, the complexity in STORY & DELIVERY, and the sheer INNOVATION of this game. Along with the expected GORGEOUS & BEAUTIFULLY DRAWN graphics of the bulk of the game and the HOS, there are also “MINI-SHOWS”, which are cartoon-style movie clips that give you BACKSTORY but are also MISPLACED OBJECT scenes! As well, this game offers the BEST SOUND TRACKS I’ve heard. There are 10 MUSIC tracks, UNLIKE anything I’ve heard elsewhere. The AMBIENT SOUNDS, from the thunder crashes to the tweetiest of little bird songs, are DELIGHTFUL & REALISTIC. The VARIETY in the HO SCENES is AMAZING. I stopped counting the different STYLES at about EIGHT. There are LIST styles with DIFFERING levels of INTERACTION, FRAGMENTED OBJECTS, SILHOUETTES, MULTIPLES OF, PAIRS and some I don’t even have names for, because I’ve NEVER SEEN them elsewhere. The intriguing thing about the LISTS is that the item does not disappear when you find it. It MOVES to reveal a piece of a PUZZLE you need to finish off the HOS. The HOS are the bulk of the action, but there are some really fun PUZZLES along the way. Not many, and not hard. Another INNOVATION is the INVENTORY PUZZLES. An item shows in your inventory with a + sign, which means you need to either click it a few more times to get it just right, or you must combine it with something else, or you must solve a mini-puzzle in order to use it. SKIP is quick (on easy), HINT is DIRECTIONAL, and you have an INTERACTIVE JUMP MAP that shows you active zones, and a photo of each location. The STORY starts out fairly slow and a little LOW KEY. A town is surrounded by a DARK FOREST, and their only protection is the LIGHTHOUSE. When that is threatened, the town is in real trouble. Your husband, the lighthouse keeper, enters the forest to investigate, and you follow him. Not for long, though, the TREES attack you and drive you back into town, and your husband disappears. As the game progresses, ANOTHER STORY comes to light, that of a BOY LOST to the forest, whose memorial statue stands in the main square. What really happened to ETHAN? Who is CLARA and what is she up to? And how does any of this CONNECT to your husband? You have a DELIGHTFUL adventure of about 4-5 HOURS in which to find the answers.
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a great game to play they did this good. Fun and exciting game to play. Has good music and graphics. Good voice over and the game play is pretty good. There is running around to do (they all do now) but has pretty good flow. The HOS are good and not that hard. The puzzles are fun. Some are easy ans some not to me. There are tings to find that gives the game a different aspect and makes it fun. Just as good as the other game they made. Good story and a good game to buy. I will say that the bonus is not really part of the story so buy this one and not the CE.
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great SE! Rite of Passage is Still Just Right! Pure entertainment! Played the CE and loved every minute. The demo of this version left me wanting to start the adventure all over again. Join the quest and save the Town of Willow Ridge from an ancient curse. Using a family amulet, you alone can dispel the darkness that holds the town captive! The storyline is compelling and there is a strong sense of urgency. The more you play, the more immersed you become. The dangers of the dark forest and your encounters with haunted trees wreaking havoc everywhere will keep you on your toes. This is no ordinary HOPA. Excellent graphics and sound. A good balance of HOS, puzzles and adventure, with some unique gameplay that requires more than just point and click activity. In some spots, you actually battle the enemy, a real hand-on experience. I usually just plod through the HOS to get back to the adventure but the HOS in this game are a departure from standard fare, with enough variety to please even the heart of an adventurer. There are also interesting puzzles and challenging minigames. Have you ever managed to win a game of tic-tac-toe in a video game? A great SE that provides something for everyone. With a transporter map, task list, directional hint and four levels of difficulty, including the option to customize, the degree of challenge is entirely the choice of the player. For those who like animal companions, you will find help from Felix the cat (no kidding) and a cute little hamster who is yours to name. Finally, to my great delight, the devs have retained the collectible acorns for an added bit of fun. This game is totally engaging! Whether you choose the CE or the SE, don’t miss this one. It’s a keeper!
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOOD YOU JUST LEAF 'EM ALONE! Those horrible evil trees are at it again, only the light keeps them away and the light house is malfunctioning! This game is different than most and even though this is a SE, you still get to collect hidden acorns (without the tree) At the beginning you can choose from 3 levels of difficulty OR you can choose all of your own settings from tutorials, to sparkles on or off and even how fast, if any, the hint and skip meters recharge, it's all up to you. You can even opt the available task glitter on the map. In the beginning you will drop your protective amulet and must replace the broken pieces with new ones you find throughout your journey before you can recharge it. Some of the items you find will need to be examined closer such as a coat hanger that needs straightened out before using it to retrieve a lighter out of reach. There are lot's of inventory items to find and they aren't always used right away and I like that because it makes you think about where to use that item. You will rescue a mischievous hamster to help you and you get the choice to name him so have fun with that name. The HOS are different as well, some are fragmented items to find but most are interactive lists, the twist however is that the items don't disappear they just move out of the way to expose the real item you need such as pieces of a torn note or gears to fix the machine you are working on. There are several mini games and they truly are different, in one puzzle you must guide your ship through treacherous waters and avoid rocks, wind and lightning and you must lure out a sea monster and try to slip past him or start over. Another cool puzzle was trying to match specific flower patterns from your clue in a heap of flowers and if you chose wrong you had to start over. I will say that I liked the CE better because I love morphing objects but this one's a definite winner in my book. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely BRILLIANT! Definitely Not Your Average HOPA! NOTE: Review is based on completed COLLECTOR'S EDITION I've been waiting a while to play this one. It had rave reviews and a ton of CE Extras, so I went ahead and bought the CE, which is something I never do, but I have to say, I'm glad I did! This is a brilliant game, extremely worthy of all the awards it received and will continue to receive. In my opinion, it is not only one of the best games of 2013, but of all time as well. While, in my opinion, the game was gameplay driven, the story isn't that bad either. It's actually quite good once you get in to it, but that takes a while. You don't actually encounter a villain until after the demo, and after the demo is where it gets exciting. Don't get me wrong, there will still some exciting bits at the beginning of the game, but when you get closer and closer to the finish, the action gets more exciting. At first, I thought this was going to be your typical “avert the disaster” type thing, but it was anything but. What I particularly liked about this story was the villain. Their story is so moving, and you begin to understand how desperate they are and why they are doing what they're doing. In the end, I was think “Never mind Alan, I want to help this woman. She's the one who needs help.” It may be just me, but I think it takes something pretty special to make you want to help the villain instead of your husband! Overall, the story is decent and does end conclusively. There aren't many twists and turns, but it's still enjoyable. As I said before, this game is definitely gameplay driven, because the gameplay is so much better than the story. The puzzles and the HOS are both unique and both very enjoyable. The HOS were great fun and very unique. Some of them were normal junkpile, some silhouette and others were junkpile with a small twist. In the different HOS, when you found the object listed, you found a piece of another object that you needed to form to get your inventory item. This was great fun for me. In the other HOS, when you found all the items, you had one last item left to find, and that was your inventory item. The puzzles were great. They were so unique, fun and challenging, and I think their uniqueness was what inspired me to try and finish them. I think I only skipped about 3 in the entire game, which is a first for me, especially since it's my first time playing it. One of the standouts for me was the cinematic puzzles. These were so new and fun, I was overjoyed when I got to play more! In these puzzles, you watch a short little scene giving you more details about the story, and then you must place the items back in the scene in order to progress to the next scene. There are about 4 scenes in each one. In the puzzle there is a hint, so if you get stuck, you can use it. I really enjoyed these puzzles. This is a step in the right direction for HOPA games. Adding to the unique gameplay, in this game, there is a feature that allows you to interact with some items already in the inventory to make it in to a complete item ready for use (e.g. lighting a torch, putting holes in something to make a sail, putting something together). This is a great and really fun addition to this game. This game features all the “regulars” for a HOPA: Diary, Map, hint, etc, so experienced players will not have any trouble with navigation. I wouldn't recommend this for beginners, however. The graphics on this game are outstanding. They are so well drawn and so detailed. You can clearly see the developers have put a lot of time in to it. The character designs are great too. Each scene was clear, nothing was every hazy or fuzzy, it was just great. The only bad thing was that the character's lips didn't move, thus, making it less realistic. The voice-overs were standard, so I really have no comment on them. FEATURES 4 levels of difficulty: Casual, Experienced (Advanced), Masterful (Hard) and Custom. Custom allows you to set the game your way. I played Casual. Hint/Skip- both recharge at a reasonable rate and the hint is helpful outside HOS. Diary- keeps track of events. Is used quite often. Map- the map is interactive and quite useful. It lets you know where there is an objective to be completed and when the scene is completed. Hamster- Early in the game, you find a hamster, which you get to name. This hamster is your helper, but is not used often. I would have liked it more if the hamster had been used more often. Interactive Inventory Items- In this game, there is a feature that allows you to interact with inventory items (indicated by a + sign). This is a really awesome feature that I hope continues to appear in future games. WHAT DO I MISS OUT ON IF I BUY THE SE? There are SO many extras here. MadHead have put a LOT of effort in to their CE! Bonus Chapter- A nice epilogue to the story. You enter the boy's dreams to undo the events of the past and make sure the boy gets home safely, thus, making the events of the main game never occur, meaning there IS no main game, meaning there is no game... (it's a little hard to wrap your mind around the whole concept). All the same, a nice bonus chapter, the second best chapter of them all (behind Chapter 3). Built in Strategy Guide- Very helpful, especially for puzzles. The SG contains a step by step solution for all puzzles. It also tells you where to find all the collectibles. Collectible Acorns (34)- These aren't like your average collectibles, because they actually have a purpose. You need all 34 to unlock one of the other bonus features in the game, Old Lady. Collectible Morphing Objects (11)- Bonus Chapter collectibles. Old Lady- Can only be accessed if all 34 acorns are collected. This is home to the famous 100-object HOS. Achievements Replay HOS (can be used to gain achievements) Replay Puzzles (can be used to gain achievements) Posters- these give character profiles for each character in the game. These have to be earn though. You have to build the posters before you can look at the characters. There are posters for Mysterious Stranger, Ethan, Villain, Alan, Hamster, Tree of Fears, Heart of the Nightmare and Nightmare Creature. Wallpapers Music Concepts- This gives details on how some of the locations in the game were created. There are 6. WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? The CE, by far, is the much better buy. I never buy CE's because I don't see it being worth the extra money, but when someone puts as much effort in to a CE as MadHead have, you really have to buy it. There are so many extras here, much more than the average CE. The CE is definitely value for money, not just achievements and collectibles like most CE's. Overall, this is an outstanding game. It really is. I'm so glad I got the CE. I can guarantee I'll be playing this again and again, and I'll guarantee you'll love it if you haven't played it already!
Date published: 2014-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Havent had this much fun in a game in a long time... This game really is something special. It isn't your typical HOG, I love it when its more of an adventure than so many HO scenes.Along with the expected great graphics of the game there are also “MINI-SHOWS”, which are cartoon-style movie clips that give you BACKSTORY but are also MISPLACED OBJECT scenes! Not only is the game great but the sound is incredible as well. You have a wonderful adventure of about 3-4 HOURS in which to find the answers.
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A brilliantly conceived and executed game! I have the standard, not CE, edition and I still got to collect acorns while playing. The story line was very unusual, the scenes were quite varied in style, tone and color, and the (for me) most impressive part of the game was that it was just that--a game with games within other games. HO scenes were always interactive and many times a mini-game had to be played to unlock another mini-game in order to unlock a 3rd mini-game. Most of the games were not too difficult, some were amusing, all were a bit unusual. And yet the story progressed logically (if one accepts the premise that trees talk and some hate us). IMHO, this is one of the most creative, unusual, and fun games out there.
Date published: 2014-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good game! Excellent game. Storyline is really great. Most times, I will loose story while playing, but not this one. It holds your interest well! Bits and pieces are added, as you progress which makes it very interesting. (I'm still wondering, who the stranger really is?) I'm not a HO fan, but these were very good, great variety and so different. The puzzles were great, makes you use your wits trying to figure out what to do! I worked at this! This was lots of fun and very challenging to me. I really enjoyed it. And it is not short!!! Good length!
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game was really interesting and fantastic! I think this game was really well done because of the five main characters acted serious and had complex puzzles, and hidden objects were easy to find with the "lighthouse hint". The person who created this game should make a second game of this game.
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Bought It! I really enjoyed playing this game. I thought the story premise was creative and found it fun to play.
Date published: 2013-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from congratulations for the work done review based game completed: it is not easy mixing minigame, HO, graphics, plot, a good balance In this game there are successful, I can say that is close to small work of art, I exaggerate? no, even video games you can talk about art work. the narration is done through minishow who are also minigame, that black and white with a touch of poetry, plot is nice (not sure if fairytale already exists) the graphics are well done, my eyes are not tired. some puzzles are complicated than others, positive that there are no pop ups for collecting acorns (I hate pop up in games). the game is long there is much to do, and the bonus chapter is worth new scenes open our eyes with different beautiful colors. and very nice music recommend taking CE worth it.
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun! Visually beautiful game. The hog scenes were original and unique. Puzzles were not all that challenging but still fun.
Date published: 2013-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY something different! I'm always on a search for an adventure game that's just a little bit different than the same old: put this here, find this, move here, repeat. However the storylines differ, gameplay is still always the same. Someone actually put thought into the HOS's and the puzzles to make this game UNIQUE. For that I am grateful.
Date published: 2013-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a Bit Different and SO Much Fun! I have never written a review but I had to for this game. I wish I had seen this as a CE. The story was engaging and the puzzles were not the norm and fun to do. I highly recommend this game! It also has an interactive map.
Date published: 2013-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Purchase I just completed the whole game and it was purchased from having a full punch card. IMO, this game would have been well worth the price. It wasn't that it was too difficult, actually I found it quite easy, however it was that it was different that made it so enjoyable. They put a little twist in the HOS scenes, and the mini games were a little different as well. It kept the storyline running if your like me and read or listen to all content. I played it casually over two days and was impressed with the length. Towards the end it felt as if the game maker lost a bit of zip that it had in the start as HOS scenes, which had varied more in the start, became too easy.
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GO FIGURE bought the CE of the game and decided to buy this with a coupon. go figure that BFG decides what game will be had with a CREDIT (I save these for use with a CE) and not let us use a coupon.. so much for players rights. I would rather choose what I use to purchase a game and not the web site.
Date published: 2013-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning, yet a letdown finale For most of the game, Child of the Forest was a no-brainer 5/5. In every respect, it's a stand-out, exceptionally well done game, from the overall concepts and settings, right down to details like the interface of your journal and map. Starting from a town besieged by possessed trees held at bay only by the shining of a lighthouse, you explore a variety of locations, HO scenes, and puzzles. While it's yet another quest to find a missing husband, the backstory of the town and its traditions is different and interesting. Some of the minigames were increasingly esoteric in the last few scenes, and I was irritated that in order to solve one late puzzle, you have to not only zoom in on a landmark, but somehow intuit that you can click up within the zoom window to look higher on that landmark in order to see what you need to see. Then came the absolutely infuriating final fight. Throughout the game, instructions for puzzles and minigames only appear when you click a question mark. That's fine when the minigame isn't time-sensitive. The final fight? Time-sensitive. By the time I read the instructions to figure out what I was supposed to be doing, I'd already lost a turn, and while the game probably won't let you lose in any real way, I still found it unpleasant to have to sit through a couple of resets because I needed the instructions and they take a few seconds to appear. I've played several dozen HOPAs at this point but I didn't know how to solve the last fight sight-unseen. And the last phase of the final confrontation seemed comically difficult, since it involves uncovering and choosing several hidden symbols that match an unseen glyph, all in about twenty seconds. Sure, you get indefinite tries, but the symbols appear to scramble every time. I exercised the skip button at that point, and since I was already disgruntled from the final fight, I found the ending anticlimactic, since-- spoiler-- you never actually see Ethan open his eyes, so it's not totally clear if he was saved. I'm still giving the game 5/5 overall because the quality is definitely there and most of it is very enjoyable. But I have to say, that annoying final fight doesn't leave me itching to go find more games from this developer.
Date published: 2013-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest This one really pulled at the heart with a touching storyline in helping a young boy and the hero's husband. Stunning graphics and sound/music. Loved the puzzles especially going through the forest. Another great game Thank you Big Fish:)
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Engaging & Unusual This was just a lot of fun to play, and the story line and mini-games were clever and engaging. The graphics are very good and the voice-overs help to bring the player into the story. I'd highly recommend this as a nice switch from the typical HOG games! The only slight disappointment - like some other games this one has you collecting acorns along the way with the goal of collecting X number of them. So after being vigilant and making sure to look for these in each scene - and collecting them all - I kind of expect to get something in return, i.e. access to a bonus chapter, etc. But, there was nothing, so really no point in bothering to collect the acorns.
Date published: 2013-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a really great game. i liked this one better than the first one. played casual, low sound. you have an interactive map and a journal. i had problem getting the journal to open. sometimes, a lot of times, the game went to pause. i don't know if that was me or the way it was designed with the triggers too close. it was a great game anyway. you are looking for your husband that has run from you and written you a note not to follow him. the forest is taking over the town and only lights keeps it back. years ago a little boy went into the woods for the "rite of passage" and never was seen again. there are some very good good cut scenes that you have to put things in their proper places and the scenes give you the background information you need. the hint/skip charge fairly fast. oh yeah, you have a little furry friend!!!!!
Date published: 2013-07-20
  • y_2020, m_4, d_1, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_18609, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest

The lighthouse fails and darkness invades Willow Ridge. Your husband runs into the forest for answers, unaware of the shadow hunting him.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.