Apothecarium: The Renaissance of Evil

Apothecarium: The Renaissance of Evil

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(448.20 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

During the Middle Ages a terrifying, mysterious disease raged across Italy. It killed thousands of people, and whole towns and villages perished together, swallowed whole by this ravaging and perilous plague. Everywhere the disease touched, death followed, and the masses were consumed in hoards. There were legends of a mythical town where the secret to defeating the disease was hidden—a town by the name of Apothecarium, built by Italy's foremost scientists. The brightest minds in the country came here to conduct research and collaborate with other scientists—engineers, mathematicians, artists, sculptors, writers, and even alchemists. Survivors thrived here until a mysterious discovery fell into the wrong hands, and now it’s up to you to free the survivors from the clutches of an insane and cold-blooded lunatic!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1141 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Apothecarium: The Renaissance of Evil

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(448.20 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Apothecarium: The Renaissance of Evil is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 66.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another hidden gem Wow is this game creepy, macabre and just plain great! So unique, even the HOS have a special feature I've not seen before. The graphics are dark,weird, and gothic, I couldn't wait to see the next scene. The hardest mode is truly HARD, no leading, no black boxes, finally a challenging game, The only minor complaints I have are: 1.although there is a control to turn off voices, you still get voices in the cut scenes, and the voiceovers are awful 2. the transistions between scenes are a little slow HIghly recommended, but not for children.
Date published: 2013-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Satisfying Game I really enjoyed playing this game, it had many brain teaser mini games. Plus it w3as a pleasure to play.
Date published: 2013-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deserved to be a First Rate Collector's Edition Instead we can grab it for a song, or even for free! Somehow this game slipped by without my noticing....I am thrilled I didn't miss it altogether as it's one of the best games so far this year. Visually stunning, it's filled with hours of delightful game play; everything from hidden object [and the objects are relevant to the time period, and to the game and some of them morph!], to match 3, to slider puzzles and tetris-type puzzles, and of course we're tasked with goals we need to achieve in order to save the day. It's an innovative, gorgeous game. The developers offer nice surprises to keep us engaged and give us variety in our approach. With coins we collect along the way, we can purchase fun upgrades to the hint button and to the Match 3 option. There's an interactive map, a notebook that collects important information and a task list to keep us on track. Definitely not the same old HO, adventure puzzle; it has all the elements and then some! I was just sad when it ended as I wished I had at least a bonus game left to play. IMO this would have made an excellent CE. Congratulations and thanks to these developers, and, more please.... Sheila
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding!! This is one of the best games in a long time. Love the morphing objects in the HOS, having to defeat monsters, etc. I played the challenge mode and it is just that -- a challenge! Almost broke my own rule of not buying before playing the entire demo! While the graphics are a bit cartoonish (which I generally don't like) everything else more than makes up for it.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous game! I give this game 5 stars all around. Except for a few "buggy" glitches (which probably has more to do w/ my computer), the game is beautifully done. Every scene is a work of art; the story is excellent; visual, sound quality were great. A few times I could not figure out what to do next; but I used the hints (and my brain) to figure things out. I like the idea of morphing objects in the HO scenes themselves. Also, you can switch to Match 3 if you prefer. Surprise boxes, coins to find and spend in the store for upgrades, make it very interesting and different. Excellent job by this developer; game is worth more than 6.99.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A REALLY GOOD GAME! Wow...this is a surprise: an SE that packs a lot of punch! This is so different. The HO scenes, to start with, are great fun. The highlighted items must be located in a different way...not saying how. The mini games are different and fun and are kind of drawn in an HG Wells style, which I love....and you can switch to match 3 to collect coins and to assist with locating really hard to find objects in the HOs. The coins can be used to buy upgrades for M3 and for hints, etc. There are achievements to get and coins to find scattered amongst the scenes. You need to use your brain a bit to figure out what to use where...not very much handholding, also a good thing. The story is entertaining and there is enough of a creepy element to entertain. The hint button refills quickly, the music and VOs are quite good (except for maybe the little girl type voices), and the artwork and graphics are very good....overall, an excellent buy!!
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Unique, Awesome Game The game takes place as Italy is being ravaged by plague, and it is said that there is a cure in the town of Apothecarium that is inhabited by scientists. As the game begins you are ordered by Duke Lorenzo Medici to travel to Apothecarium to find his daughter and granddaughter who have gone missing after his granddaughter was sent there to keep her safe from the plague. Others have done a great job of listing the game’s technical aspects so I won’t go into those except to mention that the graphics are terrific. The thing I did not like about this game is the music that sets a mood of suspense and urgency. I had to turn the music off as it put me a bit on edge and I found that I wasn’t enjoying the game. I almost don’t know where to begin when telling you about this game because it is so different than almost any other game that we have recently seen. There is just so much going on here that I am amazed it was not released as a CE. Apothecarium has all of the components to be a CE (even more than are included in some CEs that have been presented) with the exception of a strategy guide. So many BFG members are always asking for innovations and something new in a game and now they have it. Over the past year or two we have seen the advent of progressive silhouette and interactive objects included in hidden object scenes (HOS) but I have never before seen anything like the HOS presented in this game. I don’t want to spoil your fun so I won’t elaborate on the exact mechanics but will say that they definitely are different. Although there is technically not a timer for the HOS, the faster you complete the scene the more coins you will earn for doing so. Your coins can be spent to purchase “advantages” in the HOS and game. Not only do we innovative HOS we also have some wonderful, challenging and different puzzles. This game just keeps getting better the longer I play. As a general rule, I never use the tutorial but I because there is so much to learn in this game I did use it and found it very helpful. I recommend that you take the extra few minutes and go through the tutorial so that you have a bit more understanding of how the game functions. In the end, Apothecarium is a unique and wonderful game. As I mentioned, I am so surprised that it was not a CE – what a treat it is for us to have a game of this caliber that is released as a standard edition game. I wholeheartedly recommend this game and hope you find it to be as much of a treat as I do. THANK YOU BFG!!!
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHOA.....WAIT A MINUTE, WHAT IS THIS?? I'll tell you what it is, it is a cheaply produced game with so so graphics, BUT, what a fun game! It is only a SE but you get to collect hidden coins, you earn achievements and best of all the HOS are the coolest ever! Items in the hidden object scenes morph and you must wait for the item to morph into the correct object to click on it and there are several morphing objects in each scene I must be dreaming! The mini games are also fun and a few of them are new as well. There is a map for traveling and you have a powerful alchemist glove to help you in battles. Oh there's more...you will come across a surprise box, if you complete the puzzle inside correctly you get an extra hint because they do cost you if you use them. The story is really obsolete and the characters are ugly and cartoonish but who cares? This game is fun, enjoy!
Date published: 2013-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little game This game has a ton of little things to do throughout the whole game. It even has a place where you can replay HO games or puzzles over again to improve your time to earn more coins. Not sure yet what the coins are for because I have only played about 30 min but loved every min that I have played so far. I have never played a game where there is so much going on all the time. Great fun. I agree that this could have easily been a CE.
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FUN game with some new twists! Great game with morphing objects in the hog scenes and a choice of Match 3 - a GOOD match 3! - if you don't want the hog play. Graphics are gorgeous and the play rolls along from one thing to another - always something to do. I have yet to hit a spot where I couldn't find something (unlike some games where i sit there scratching my head wondering what the next move could be). There are hidden treasure chests to find - unlocked by tanagram! - coins for buying items at the store. Yes a store! Useful items to buy such as hint refill speedups or match 3 bombs etc. FUN game! There is a story but it's not overwhelming so you can concentrate on the puzzles and other fun things. Two thumbs up! :)
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Game! How Is This Not a CE! Seriously? How did I almost miss this game and how is this not a CE? Our story takes place during the dark ages when the plague has struck most of Europe, causing great havoc across the land. Scientists, Alchemists and artists along with other great minds decide to come together and build a town which they name Apothecariumand use the premises for research and an exchange of knowledge. You are entrusted with a great task given by the Duke Medici; to find his daughter and granddaughter, last seen on the outskirts of Apothecarium where they mysteriously disappeared. Evil lies inthis town and it is now up to you to save them and fight the battle of your life. Ok so the graphics are not mind blowing but you have voice overs, three game modes and that is just the beginning. You have a journal with a map that will allow you to travel. Still there is more, you have achievements and collectable, coins that you will need to purchase some power-ups. You have fantastic HO scenes that can be switched over to Match 3 game and by the way, you also have morphing objects within the HO scenes to paly. You have intricate puzzles to solve, items to combine and mini-games that are challenging. So my question is, where did these developers come from? Perhaps the game is too short but I really dont care because I am having a blast playing the demo. This is a definite buy and guess what, IT IS A SE GAME! And to think I almost missed it! There must be something wrong but who cares, I have enough free game awards and comapred to today's CE, this game has enough juice to earn a sale. Kudos to the developers!
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a surprise This could easily be a CE, it has it all, even better than a lot of CE's nowadays. It starts out a bit confusing but after 30 min or so I was very much involved and before you know it I was hooked. Yes, graphics are not the best but there is so much to do. Collectables, morphing objects in the HOS, so you better be on your toes to catch the objects, You can switch to match 3 and use the coins to buy upgrades for the match 3 or HOS games. You earn little surprise boxes , how fun You find little newspaper clippings telling you about the town and people. It just blows my mind with everything that is going on here. You have a map, journal, replayable puzzles etc. Outstanding little gem. I can't comment on the length, I'm not done yet. You need to use your magic glove to get by some of the monsters. Some objects found need to be combined before you can use them. I absolutely love games that have a lot going on within a game. This is definitely a little gem and has everything a CE would offer but it is only a SE. Go figure. My compliments to the devs. Very captivating and has so much variety within the game. Never gets boring. Love it.
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost missed this diamond of a game. I didn't see this game yesterday, but I am glad I spotted it. I think it has quite a few differences that makes it interesting. The graphic's are very good, clear HO scenes and the morphing objects fun to watch. It takes a few minutes to understand what is going on as lots of objects change and change again. Some of which you need to complete the HO items. The puzzles got me thinking for a change, and the rewards you receive are given on the time you take to complete, so a bit of extra incentive is added to the fun of solving quickly as possible. All I can add is that this game was a nice surprise and it is a buy for me.
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!!!! A Very Long Game I really did love this game. I was very shocked of the length of this game too. It was like I purchased a C.E Game. This game sure was worth the money & plus. I liked everything about this game as the story line was great. Liked the music & it was surely fun to play. I am not sure of who made this game but I sure do hope they make more like this one or come out with a Part Two of this game. So go ahead & try out the trial version & then buy the game. You will not be disappointed at all of getting it.
Date published: 2013-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MY KIND OF GAME....MY NEW FAVORITE!! I can't say enough great things about this game, and this is my new favorite. This game has LOTS OF PUZZLES, and if that is your thing you will really enjoy this game too. I even enjoyed the HOS, as some of the items, morph and you have to wait until they turn into the item you need before clicking on it. Haven't seen that yet in any new games. The story is ok, and keeps you interested right until the end. The best thing about this game, is the puzzles, and mini games, and it shows the time you took to finish it, and at the end of the game you can replay all the puzzles, mini-game, and HOS, to improve you score. There are also collectable coins for you to buy hints, and stuff to help you out in the game. Some special collection games don't have that many extras. So much has been put into this game, and I'm really glad I found it, as I would have missed this one, but it was mentioned in another gamer's review about how good this game was, so I had to try it out, and am so glad I did. Nice and long, very good value.
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Other developers take note: this is what a CE looks like ... except it isn't. It is a straight up SE from a developer I've not seen before (or not to my knowledge anyway). Apothecarium is a little gem. Tons to do, morphing objects in the HOS (a first for me), interesting story and no obvious hand-holding. Add in achievements, secret boxes, fun puzzles and you have a very entertaining game indeed. Oh yes, I like this one a lot. Review based on demo and very short as off to play the full download. I really hope this isn't the last we see of these developers.
Date published: 2013-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly enjoyable Basically, I am writing this review to boost the overall rating of the game a little, because I feel that currently it is underrated. I did not expect too much from this game either because of a good deal of "meh" reviews. Nevertheless, I was pleasantly surprised almost as soon as I started playing. In spite of quite a few (minor) glitches and obvious (minor) mistakes of the developers, the very first hidden object scene was a clear indication that I would enjoy this game. Hidden object scenes in this game are special! I played the Challenge mode, and it wasn't too hard. Maybe I would have been bored had I played an easier mode with hints and explanations of everything. I wouldn't call the storyline fresh and original, but the classical music and somewhat sinister graphics built up the eerie atmoshpere that I enjoyed. Definitely worth playing.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every bit of 20 bucks, but its 6.99!!!! LOVE IT!! In my opinion, probably the best game of 2013 so far. Story is great, keeps you going for more and before you know it, you've been at it for hours. Love the surprise boxes and the blend of morphing objects in the HOS. Just a well developed all around game with a great story and puzzles. This was a prompt purchase for me. Will be watching for this developer. Thank you for bringing this one home BFG!
Date published: 2013-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different!! Holy scripts! I love this game. I'm partial to the fantasy genre anyway, and I knew right away this is worth buying. Yeah, there're a couple of insignificant flaws but imo, they're overshadowed by all the fun. It's got a ton of unique bells & whistles to enhance game play, and I'm always on a search for any HOG/ADV. game that's different yet still well-done. You have to find little gold coins throughout, you can switch over to match 3 during any HOS, you buy upgrades in the shop like instant hidden object reveal, faster skip time, etc. Good job space monkey, thanks for thinkin' out of the box. Bring us more!
Date published: 2013-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not to be missed Just finished the hour of this remarkable CE at standard game price and am writing this while i'm loading the bought game - it is a fair size at 1 GB so i expect a good length of play. I am playing adventure mode. Morphing objects in HOS, challenging locks, challenging puzzles, collectible mysterious chests, collecting coins for enhancing the alternate match 3 game, adding a hint and cutting the time of skip function. There is a diary with a task list as well as collecting two pieces for a map at the beginning of the game. A glove for further action against the nasties. Find diary pages explaining about the town and people. Some items to be found require combining before use. Continually offers variety so game moves very quickly. This is a game that is not to be missed and kudos to the developers. For those who yearn for a good game please at least try the hour demo - guarantee you won't be sorry. Matouks
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Good Game I am really enjoying this game, and I agree, it has a lot going on and could easily be a CE. I am playing on the most difficult level, which makes it more challenging and fun for me. The artwork could be a bit better, but this game has other pluses, like the morphing HO scenes and having some of puzzles different than the usual variety. And I love the classicaI background music. First time I've ever raised the volume. There are achievements to earn, a match game if you do not want to play the HO's, and coins to earn to purchase faster hint recharging, HO assist, and some other upgrades in the game. I can't comment on the length of the game since I am not finished yet, but so far, I would highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Demo review LOVE THIS GAME!!! I consider myself a beginner but I haven't had as much trouble with this demo as I have others. You have to earn everything you get, i.e., your interactive map. It is a fun game and not to be a spoiler or anything my first trophy labeled me a "do-gooder" which I got a big kick out of. Beautiful entertaining graphics with several of them morphing. Many achievements to obtain. Try it yourself and don't let the idea it is hard scare you. If you have played a few HO games you can figure this out pretty fast.
Date published: 2013-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Demo only I loved this game but for some reason my computer didn't, so I'll review on what I was able to play. The story line takes place towards the middle ages and is about evacuation of the plague. It has a great storyline. The hos were totally fun as they had morphing objects and you had to get the object before it morphed, you also could play match games if you preferred. There were 3 levels casual, adventure and challenge. In the journal there were tasks, replayable puzzles achievements and coin collection so that you can buy upgrades. You have to earn hints, so it made it difficult in the beginning. You also need to watch as you put items together that have landed in your inventory. I found this game to be exciting and fun and definitely would recommend.
Date published: 2013-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from what a different and great game Boy not this one is different some what to the other games and is a real challenge to play. Not hard just lots going on. You also get achievements. Almost looks like a CE but not. The graphics are good and the music is intense. The hint button works good. The HOS are really good and not all that easy, lots to find and some change. Really different but fun. Lots in interaction in this game with the items you find as how to use them. Good directions during the game and has voice over. You need to try this one and see how you like it. Again different than the normal SE that you are used to playing.
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BETTER THAN MANY CE GAMES Played this game with my sister We Both had a Good Time Its a Well Done HOPA Better than a few CE games we have played lately Will Def Play this again in the future
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Plague - AND A Secret City? The town is ravaged by the plague. Your mother has set off to find the hidden town called Apothecarium. It' said it can save the town. An amazing SE that has all the benefits and extras of a CE. Wow - go figure! There are 3 modes of play - from casual to hard. The HOGs have morphing with which to find the highlighted items. You can also switch to a match 3 game instead. Mini Games, items to collect and achievements. Who could ask for more? . The coins are used in the Store to purchase items to help you throughout the game. The hint button refills fairly quickly, the background music and VOs are okay - not great. I don't recall playing it originally - so I only had 20 minutes to play it again. Might be a purchase for me as it's on a $2.99 sale. I encourage everyone to give the free demo a try. Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Challenging I didn't give this game five stars because the gameplay is not intuitive and there were several points where I had absolutely no idea what to do to make the game move forward. What makes this game so great are the gorgeous graphics that kept me intrigued throughout and anxious to view the next location. I felt like I was playing art.
Date published: 2013-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Patience Is A Virtue I had a lot of fun. Was scratching my head a few times. Looked into the walkthrough a few times. Puzzles were fun to do. Like they mentioned morphing objects is within the HO scene (liked that). Collected coins but did not use them to purchase hints. Sometimes hints were given within the extra boxes within each scene. Excellent game for SE glad I purchased this one. Try it it's either a yes or no. But not for everyone.
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Could have been a CE but great SE! I was late getting to play this but still wanted to review it because it is a really good game. The graphics are what draws my attention to most games and to me this one does not disappoint. I really like the animated fantasy type graphics it has. The cut scenes, voice overs and music are all well done. The story line is routine but with new games each day how could you come up with something different?! There are notes and a map - one reviewer stated they never could find the map, it's a tab on the top of the notes. The map will transport you to locations you have been to, notes are as usual and HOS are good - they do have morphing objects. I did find that sometimes I would click on objects, nothing would happen - for example the straweberry in one HOS I clicked several times and it wouldn't take but finally it did - this was a little annoying. Mini games are good but unfortunately the devs decided we didn't need instructions so there were some I wasn't sure what to do so had to skip. Hints don't recharge, you have to win coins through mini games and buy hint recharges from the store - didn't overly care for this either. All in all though a good challenging game with graphics that made it all worthwhile.
Date published: 2013-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just returned.!!! I just finished the trail. I had 37 minutes to play. The fist time, I tried it got stuck. So, just did not care to finish. I was enjoying it a lot. I figured it out. Now I can purchase.
Date published: 2013-08-11
  • y_2022, m_1, d_25, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_18866, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Apothecarium: The Renaissance of Evil

Discover the city of Apothecarium, where inhabitants are caught in a perilous struggle against a powerful alchemist who is taking the lives of innocent!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.