Night Mysteries: The Amphora Prisoner

Night Mysteries: The Amphora Prisoner

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(358.58 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Natalie Cole, a young writer, is late to board the ship that was to take her home to America. Already depressed by a chain of misfortunes, Natalie becomes absolutely despondent. Just when she is about to give up hope of getting home, she meets a captain at the port who is sailing a cargo ship to her very same destination, and he invites her to sail along with him and his crew. Natalie, relieved at her good fortune, agrees. Little does she know, this random stroke of good luck hasn't come without a price. Natalie has unwittingly embarked on a dangerous and exciting journey where she must prevent ancient evil from awakening inside a mysterious antique collection on board the cargo ship! Can Natalie save the crew and its captain from evil spirits and still return home?

  • Enjoy puzzles and mini games!
  • Captivating and outstanding storyline
  • Fascinating quests

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 838 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Night Mysteries: The Amphora Prisoner

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(358.58 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Night Mysteries: The Amphora Prisoner is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 68.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard to be different from other Yes, this game is not like the other games. It has a different face, a different character. It is always hard to be different. I really know this... I tried to play this game and at first I did not like. I even wanted to delete it. But then I realized, I feel something in this game. Natalie. I'm about the same age. I too have seizures. And I too lonely. Ok, now about the game. This game is a little sad, and sometimes scary. But I like it. I am not an expert in graphics and other niceties, I'm just playing. I decided to buy it.
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice game in the old school style If you like the adventure in the style of the old school, you'll like it. The only minus is the lack of voiceovers. The bottom line: - Fun: 5 - Graphics: 5 - Story line - 5 - Challenge - 3 (in my opinion) - Music - 5 - Voiceovers - n/a - 0 Except for the voiceovers, I have nothing bad to say about this game. although someone may seem itt too easy.
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Sometimes it is better to wait for the next voyage, than to find a fellow traveler." (C) I'm If you like adventure with an interesting story line, this game is for you. If you like fascinating quests and puzzles, this game is for you. If you are tired of HOPA with cloned storylines, this game is for you. If you are a woman and you're looking for a companion for traveling on a ship, this game is definitely for you! :) To begin with, the game is pretty stable running on my old computer and has a pretty good graphics. In my spare time I like to draw and I liked the intro painted by hand. Besides intro reveals the storyline pretty well. Although the intro could have been shorter. STORYLINE: 5 of 5 The graphics in the game is clear and clean. In some places it is grim, but the storyline requires it. GRAPHICS: 4 of 5 All HOS in the game are done very well. They are interactive and all items are well positioned. All HO scenes are not too hard and bright enough. They have some unexpected ideas. I especially liked the idea with dragonfly :) You have to try it! HOS: 5 of 5 About the puzzle I have to be discussed separately. They fit well with the gameplay. Puzzles are very logical. In general in this game there are NO stupid and illogical quests and puzzles. Personally, I was always annoyed illogical quests. For example, in one game, in order to open the suitcase, I spent an hour looking for the key, even though I had a hammer in your inventory. In real life, I would broke a suitcase with a hammer! In this game there is no such nonsense, and I'm glad. All puzzles in the game have an average level of complexity. Although someone may seem puzzles too hard, and someone - too simple. PUZZLES: 5 of 5 (even 6 of 5!) The music in this game is very beautiful. I'm not a musician, but it seemed to me that the music is done very well. MUSIC: 5 of 5 The game has two difficulty levels. You can switch the difficulty of the game in the options. This is very encouraging. Several times I switched the difficulty and noticed that this changes the messages in the game! In casual mode, the player gets more information on passing game. For example, in the engine room (casual mode), you can find out what needs gumboots... Oops, I think it's already too much :)
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Could have been worse... With the negative reviews, I was not sure what was awaiting me. Well, it's not that bad. The whole action takes place on a ship. There is a map, but it's not interactive. You will have to walk a lot, even if there are not that many rooms. Ok, the graphics are not the best, but everything is clear. The HOS can be challenging, since some of the objects are really small. The mini-games are quite interesting, from easy to challenging. You have to find 33 pearls on the ship. They are small! Look everywhere! The ending is rather abrupt. The game is not very long; for me about 2 1/2 hours. I wouldn't recommend the game to somebody who doesn't like small objects...
Date published: 2013-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Nice Enjoyable Game ... Great Graphics, Sounds And Story ... A Great All Round Bit Of Entertainment ... The Graphics Style Is A Bit Of A Throwback To The Older 3D Adventure Games; Without All The Scrolling Around And Looking Up And Down ... The Swaying Gave A Nice Sensation Of Being At Sea ... I Got My Game On A Deal So Only A Small Price Paid For A Very Good Game ...
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Solid Adventure Game; Negative Reviews Center Around Infrequent & VERY MILD Swearing I love a good adventure game with a a few HOS thrown in and puzzles. Great graphics, great game mechanics, excellent storyline, an all around great game. I noticed immediately that almost all of the negative reviews about this game are centered around the use of some very infrequent and VERY MILD swearing (the words used are really not even considered swear words in this day and age), so if that isn't something that bothers you, make sure you read through the negative reviews to see that most aren't focused on anything wrong with the actual game-play, but rather the small bits of mild swearing some found offensive. I find this unfortunate and rather unfair for the game developers. I like all around family fun but I also like to have my "adult" fun too. Even a teen can play this with no problem. Again,it's mild and it's not anything they haven't heard before. I would love to have some adult fun without it being offensive to someone in some way. But I digress; to each their own; I just wish the reviewers had reviewed the actual game itself and not given it one star for a curse word or two. Personally, as an adult, I'm enjoying this game. It feels real, it plays logically and naturally, and it's holding my interest. Yes, there are some loading screens but on my PC they are quick and I am more than willing to ignore the loading screens if it means smoother game-play and more detailed graphics. So that didn't bother me. It sounds like, from some of the reviews, that older computers are experiencing longer load screens; however, I also noticed that most players didn't deduct many stars for that, if any; they just mentioned it as a bit of an irritant. Therefore, I think that loading screen times will differ from computer to computer. Based on all the criteria that make a great game; this one meets (and even at times exceeds) all those criteria. I am enjoying these new types of games that aren't HOS heavy and have more of an adventure aspect to them without all the fluff and illogical game flow. If you are nodding your head in agreement, then this is that game. I highly recommend this game to everyone; however, for those bothered by even mild swearing, best to pass this one by so this game gets some fair reviews based on the actual game itself. Happy Gaming Fishies! And developers: Keep them coming. There are MANY more excellent 4-5 star reviews than there are negative so keep up the good work! I appreciate the work that went into this game-it shows. Well done.
Date published: 2013-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game I really liked this game. I'm glad I purchased it. It was never boring to me. I'm looking forward to playing it again. The hints were great.
Date published: 2013-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 6 hours adventure I am always disappointed when an interesting game is too short. But here I have been playing around 6 hours. Very good! And I think it's not for beginners, the game is tricky. ? lot of negative reviews for this reason. You have to use your brain here as opposed to other HOPA.
Date published: 2013-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Little Bit Different HOPA {Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure} game The usuals 'Options'. I unchecked 'Screen Correction' and got Widescreen. Add another Profile after initial name has been entered by clicking 'Welcome' No Voiceovers, Cartoony type cut scenes, map inly shows layout of the ship 'Camera Rolling' option can be turned off but it does add to the sensation that you're on a ship, but made me dizzy after awhile Storyline : Young girl misses ship to America and gets passage on a cargo ship, but soon the crew disappear and it's up to her to find out what the weird noise is and find the crew HOS {Hidden Object Scenes} were unusual for today's games were you have to really look and not just hit the hint button too quickly, kudos Developers Puzzles were unique and a lot of fun as was the gameplay Collectibles : 33 Pearls, try and get them all first time around as you'll have to backtrack otherwise Puzzles and HOS can be replayed after the game is finished, if you happened to skip that frustrating puzzle first time around, love this addition No cute pets or princesses just a good game, like they use to make a few years ago where you have to use more than one brain cell. I had a lot of fun; game was about 5 hours for me, but I hate to skip anything
Date published: 2013-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid 4 stars HOPA without handholding! The graphics and storyline are good.The ideas are fresh. It's challenging, but not over the top. Fun game without handholding! Just finished this game and its great! I recommend to buy.
Date published: 2013-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Good Game! This game does not have outstanding graphics, but it is still fun to play. A great sea adventure with a good storyline and quests. Helpful hint #1: if you don't know what to do, try to change the difficulty to casual mode. Maybe you'll find more tips in the game. Helpful hint #2: pay attention to the notes scattered in some locations. carefully read them. NOT BAD!
Date published: 2013-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Grim story Good graphics + good story + good quests = good adventure game. I think the game would have been better if it had no HOS at all. I don't like to look for hidden items. Solve quests is more interesting for me.
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great adventure with a few warts... I really, really like this game except for a couple of things which annoyed me. First of all, though it is a HOPA, the HOS are not too frequent, and they are not terribly junkpiley. They are fairly challenging. The minigames are not mindbendingly hard as far as I've gotten, but some of them require a bit of "arcade" type skill - i.e. timing and coordination. The skip activates in a minute or two on hard. The soundtrack is excellent, and fitting. What makes me love this game are two things: the story, and the atmosphere. The play takes place on an old steam freighter, and the scenes are kind of gritty and grainy - much like the scenes in old classic adventures like Riven and Rhem. The crew has disappeared, so you are on your own in this rather creepy place to find your way around and look for what you need to proceed. The story is obliquely revealed in bits and pieces. I have not used either the map or hints, so can't comment on them. I rarely use either in any game, though I like hints available if there are too many HOS, which bore me. I have not used the diary/journal, either, as I have been able to put 2+2 together so far. There are some things that kept me from giving it 5 stars - mostly the black screen every time you changed scenes. The load time between scenes was really annoying - but, then, it might be my computer. The other mechanical issue was that there was no option to change the cursor. The game cursor was a little "floaty", and normally I would change to the system cursor. This is an issue in the minigames that require fast action. There are also some anachronisms, like the story being set in 1972, but the dress of the characters in the opening "story slideshow" seemed more like 1872. Some of the names for things in the HOS, like the now infamous "tube" for "smoking pipe". Granted, a pipe can be translated as a tube, but that's where doing closed betas of a whole game get you input (for free) from players who speak the language. Some kind of - to me - illogical things, like (slight spoiler) seeing a fire extinguisher prominently displayed, but when you have to put out a fire, you have to find a bucket and a rope and fetch sea water. All in all, though, this is a fine ADVENTURE game with a few HOS. And I liked the motion of the ship, and also the mechanism for adjusting brightness. And the "collectibles" are actually used for something! The game is far better than some of the CEs lately, IMHO, at least if you have a soft spot for retro adventure games! ;o)
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Calm, sometimes relaxing, sometimes scary game. I like the quiet games, so I play in NM:TAP. This game contains a few HO scenes. It's good. The HO scenes in HOPA games is starting to annoy me. Graphics is clean and mini-games are pretty good. The storyline is quite good, but the intro and cutscenes a bit long. The music is very beautiful in this game. Unfortunately there is no voiceovers.
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from try, maybe you'll like it Not bad game. The gameplay in this game is slow and leisurely. If you like such games, you will like Night Mysteries. I would note the interesting feature: at different levels of difficulty the player gets different information. That is, in casual mode, more tips in the text than in advanced mode. I only need to carefully read the diary and messages. It's cool!
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game. I recommend. A well-made adventure game. I agree with the statement that, the budget of the game is not great, but the developers have done a good game that will appeal to many players. I recommend.
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Alone women at night on board the ship on the high seas. Really creepy! I don't know how to play other players, but I was playing at night and I was really scared (especially if you play with headphones). Especially when Natalie had a seizure (I mean ghosts). Definitely, this game is different from other HOPA. In this game the player is fully immersed in the game, and lives together with the main character. And I think it is due to a wonderful story line and 3D-cutscenes. The graphics is clear. Perhaps the graphics are a bit outdated, but when you play this game, you have stopped paying attention to it. HO scenes look good enough and have some interactivity. No problem with finding items. One of the strengths of this game is puzzles. All puzzles are made with love and the developers have worked very well here. Clean fun. In general, the game is a lot of attention paid to detail. HOS and puzzles can be played repeatedly. You'll find them in the main menu. The game is not difficult, I think it is perfect for beginners. Although advanced players, this game should be like. I recommend.
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The good old adventure ... Many people write about the fact that the game is often use the name of the Lord. But in a lot of movies you can hear the such phrases! I think the developers did not want to offend anyone. I think this is just a small inconsistency in the text. Although, personally it does not bother me and I play and have fun. Pro: - Good graphics and music - Excellent story - Nice puzzles - Originality, otherness Cons: - too long intro - some ?rrors in the text - I can't find all pearls My opinion, despite the negative reviews, this game is very good.
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good stuff Really keeps my attention and isn't all H & O
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If You Like the Old School Games... ...you might like this one. This game reminds me of games I played years ago. My main gripe is the map. It doesn't indicate where there are actions to perform. I was running around from room to room so much I almost got dizzy. I liked the fact that the hidden items were difficult to find. It takes a good eye, and I think I've got one because I found everything without using hints. There are quite a few puzzles, and some were really different and fun. If you like the old-style games and have a lot of patience you may want to try this one. It was quite challenging in spots, which is what I desire in a game. I'm only giving it three stars because of the poor map and the outdated graphics. I did have some fun with it.
Date published: 2015-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Amphora Prisoner The characters are still life - not that impressive. There are some good puzzles, but found the HO to be standard.
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very unusual creepy game The game with a very original storyline – not the usual stuff we see in 100+ other games. Honestly, I was not expecting such a captivating adventure from a low budget game. And now a pinch of salt. I would prefer to see better English translation/localization. I experienced some problems in HOS because of it. One more point: the intro was too long to keep my attention span. All in all a good game to spend credits on.
Date published: 2013-08-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unusual, challenging This game's got a few unique aspects to it - the scenes constantly rock from side to side as if you actually are on a ship. You can either tolerate the mild sea-sickness, or turn that function off :# The map isn't interactive, that would have helped because the time lag moving from scene to scene is longer than usual. There are some good challenges, where you have to use an inventory item to solve a fast-moving problem, but you have to work out which item to use. The hidden object scenes are very challenging, too. The plot was okay, but the time lags between scenes made the overall game drag out too long. Also, #as a lapsed Catholic, not particularly religious) I found the main character's blasphemy in the script a little odd. Some people might be offended by it.
Date published: 2013-08-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Creepy adventure Is it time of old-school games on BigFish? Joking apart, I enjoyed every minute of this ‘dinosaur’ game. Yes – the graphics are too old. Yes – there are no vos. Yes – the game needs to be polished in technical terms. But still this is adventure worth of playing and spending your time.
Date published: 2013-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Different, but a little slow This review is based on the demo. This game is okay, but it feels a bit draggy...long cut scenes, lag switching from area to area. Scenes are nicely styled but not overly interesting. I liked it somewhat, but not enough to buy it. I would suggest people try it, as others may like it more than I did!
Date published: 2013-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from IT HAS IT'S MOMENTS! This is definitely a low budget game, BUT, it also contains some really good features. You will start out adjusting your resolution by sliding a bar until the top section is invisible. the middle section is barley visible and the bottom is clearly visible. When you board the ship you have the option of stopping the camera rolling effect (a must if you get queasy) There are some really annoying parts as well such as the HOS have really tiny unrecognizable items and names for common items such as a smoking pipe is called a captains tube! There are a ton of doors and it becomes difficult to know which way to go with no map and when you click on the hint button it takes a while to recharge even when showing you which way to go. Puzzles are typical swap pieces to complete a picture and it allows you to replay the puzzles after completing the game. You also collect 33 hidden pearls are they are super tiny as well. This is a game that could have been great with a bigger budget.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Night Mysteries The Amphora Prisoner I agree with the previous reviewer in most things. The graphics are clear and story interesting. It is a bit dated when you compare it to the newest games. The Ho scenes are clear but still a bit challenging when the item you are looking for isn't what you thought, example - Plaster in a medicine chest was really a bandage. Items you need do fit the story as in some games they don't. The Hint button does help in direction to go but then it needs to charge. It's not instant click on. I play Casual to relax and found this game right for me after a stressful day. You do need to collect some 38 pearls that you will need later. No character animation or voice overs, you need to read what the character is thinking. There is some animation and what I would expect in this format of an older style game. I have a Free Credit and will use it to get this game. I am interested enough to play it through for the relaxing fun of it and the story line.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Idea for a Game This game has some nice options for controlling difficulty, brightness and screen movement. The music is unobtrusive and I left it on throughout the demo. Many of the graphics are lower resolution, reminiscent of older games, but not unpleasant. The hidden object scenes are cluttery but they seem to be placed in appropriate places where a lot of clutter might be. The story idea is good and hoping to find out more kept me playing. The problems really came down to language and story writing. I felt that the dialogue was thin and the narration kept switching tenses. There were gaps in scenes that left me wondering what I had missed. When the full plot was revealed, suddenly and in a few seconds, I was disappointed. I wanted to find out slowly and maybe in a more tension generating fashion. I knew the rest of the game would be gathering stuff needed for the showdown and I wanted more plot. Finally, mislabeling of objects in hidden object scenes put me on edge - pomade on the list was lipstick, and captain's tube turned out to be a pipe for smoking tobacco.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from night mysteries The Amphora Prisoner Well sorry but all I can say about this game is, I think it is an old game revived, the whole thing is just boring slow and when you use the hint, for direction, it does show which way to go , then you have to wait for it to recharge, usually in other games it does not need to recharge when only direction needed. The graphics are cartoon like, when you try to use an item in a scene , it seems you have to be directly on the spot for it to activate , I am very disappointed with this game , would only recommend for beginners, for others that are more seasoned gamer's , it will prove frustrating. Only my opinion but I have played the best and the worst, I would put this only just above bearable. note I recommend only for a slow day waiting for something better SORRY.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Patience Required Our cut scene opens up with cartoon drawings that recounts our story: Following the death of her father, a young novelist is trying to get home to America but misses her boat. Her luck changes when she is invited to board a cargo ship and gladly accepts as it is her only way home. Little does she know that onboard is an ancient relic that holds an evil presence and to her dismay, everybody seems to have gone missing. It is up to her to retrieve the souls of the crew and imprision the evil back into the amphora. With graphics that are totally out-dated but nevertheless sharp. Unfortunately there are no voice-overs but some sound effects and soft music instead. You have two modes of difficulty which you can adjust during gameplay and game features include a map that really is of no help whatsoever and a journal. Thakfully the hint system does fill up quickly and it looks some gamers will be put off by the lack of direction in the game. The Amphora Prisoner is a HOPA that actually is more adventure and does offer a certain amount of challenge. It reminds me of the early Escape the Room games where you end up clicking all over the place to retireve an item. Suprisingly I found myself enjoying the demo as I started entering one room after another, playing the odd HO scenes, the mini-games and collecting pearls along the way. Although the graphics are sharp, HO scenes are quite challenging as some items are very well hidden. Mini-games are relatively easy but a certain patience is required for some and I actually enjoyed that. The entire game moves slowly reminding me of adventure games and as the map is of no help, there were times that I found myself walk around aimlessly and resorting to usingthe hint which merely points to a direction. For fans of adventure games, this may please you but be warned, it does move rather slow and does not offer much excitement at first. Unfotunately due to the dated graphics and no voice-overs, the story seems to lose its impact on the game and you cant seem to get emotionally invested in an empty boat and cartoon characters. My recomendation is not to spend your money on this but rather spend a free game award if you have any sitting around. It is not a bad game, it runs slowly and at times can be a bit frustrating what with all the backtracking. However I do enjoy a mystery and finding those little pearls along the way was challenging. Some of the puzzles were interesting and I am a fan of adventure games. It does not look to be a long game but as I do have some time to spare, I will splurge a credit myself and see if I can save the day. I expect many may pass but do play the demo and see if you have the patience to do the full run. Regardless of my own personal taste for the odd adventure game and the fact that I do have club credits piling up, I will not recommend this game for those who are looking for a fast paced HOPA with some of the more up-to-date features. In my opinion, this is really not worth an SE price tag.
Date published: 2013-07-31
  • y_2019, m_8, d_18, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_19019, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Night Mysteries: The Amphora Prisoner

Natalie has unwittingly embarked on a dangerous and exciting journey! Can she prevent ancient evil spirits from awakening?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.