Build-a-Lot: Mysteries

Build-a-Lot: Mysteries

PC

Time Management

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(193.66 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Get ready for some spine-tingling fun in Build-a-Lot: Mysteries! Work with eccentric members of the Graves Family to build, buy and flip houses in each of their eerie neighborhoods. Look for cryptic clues and earn fun achievements as you unearth the family's peculiar talents, odd hobbies and questionable pasts. With three campaigns to play, it won't take long for to you discover that some family secrets can't stay buried forever.

  • Play through 65 mysterious levels
  • Eerily entertaining ambiance
  • Unlock fun achievements
  • Get back to basics with Build-a-lot

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 214 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Build-a-Lot: Mysteries

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(193.66 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Build-a-Lot: Mysteries is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 54.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YIPPEEE! So glad they finally made me a new BaL game! Same as all the previous games, with a cute mystery story line.
Date published: 2013-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Build A Lot I tested this game and bought it as soon as I saw it out this morning. If you liked the other Build A Lots, then at least demo this. Its a great one!
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Build-a-Lot Mysteries All I can say is I love it!!! great job on adding a new Build-a-lot to the series!!! Think this might be the best one yet!!! =)
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Please.... It is like the others, not much variation, but that said, I still love it....all of them. I hope they keep coming, I'm thinking something in chocolate....
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from based on demo this is based on demo only which went quite quickly i have all the build a lot they are much the same but i enjoyed this the most will be getting this one as was fun
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from interesting and awesome game i can never ever forget this game. it is my one of the favourite game ever played.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Build-A-Lot games never get old! I just love the BAL series. That's all.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yet another Build-A-Lot hit As the Build-A-Lot series has progressed, they moved into different areas, such as this Mysteries version. This is one of the Build-A-Lot series that I bought. I really liked the darker side of this edition and so did everyone else in my family. I'd highly recommend this one in the Build-A-Lot series. Those that love games with a scary feel to them, this is it - although not too scary so any age can play this one.
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from JUST BUY IT!! Build A Lot Mysteries My Third Favorite in the Build Series Wonderful TM That I play over & over
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging game I love this game and so does my family. It is quite challenging but beat the game. Takes some thinking to figure out many of the levels. When you get a challenging level the next level is usually easier and fun. There is more after you beat it to play in casual mode. Loved it
Date published: 2013-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this game!! This is the first build-a-lot game that I have played, and I am hooked! I usually go for the Hidden Object games, but sometimes there are just too many dark ones. I occ. need a little light. So I try other types of games, and this one is a winner! The story line is good, and the graphics are great. I am addicted to trying to beat the time. I turn on the computer so I can do the necessary life things and find that I am hurrying through my emails (if I read them at all!) just so I can go back and build houses. I will have to get another one of these games so I have a little variety. Thanks Big Fish!
Date published: 2013-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game Fun but needs better storyline
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic Build-A-Lot with a small twist I have always enjoyed the Build-a-lot games and this one doesn't disappoint. The game play is the same as in the other versions of the games with similar goals catered to the specifics of the theme of the game. The Mystery part of the game is the eccentric nature of your people that you are building for. First round goes to a creeping looking Auntie that has a nasty eye and can "talk to spirits" and second round goes to a guy that is scared to come out of his house because of reports of a wolf... hmmm werewolf maybe? I didn't get much farther in the demo to find out however. You are also picking up the occasional item that appears in your landscape and "giving" it to your person. Fans of these games will notice that the graphics have changed a bit and are very clear. The developers have done a nice job on the images on this go around as the landscape almost looks 3D. It would have been nice to see a slight change in game play but I guess under the if it isn't broke don't fix it theory, why change something that a large audience has come to love and look for in this series of games. Overall, Build-A-Lot doesn't disappoint and is consistent with their style of gameplay and made an enjoyable new addition to their series.
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another good Build-A-Lot Following in the same fun factor as the previous "Build-A-Lot" games, this Mysteries edition is just a good as it's predecessors. I think the mystery aspect of the game is a little silly but I realize they needed a new theme for the game. All the time management lovers will want to get this game.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from there is no mystery about this this game This game is just building, remodeling, and selling what you build in the neighborhood. Lots of levels to get to. No voice over which leaves to lots of reading. Did I mention lots of reading. After you get thru the instruction it is pretty much doing the same thing over and over to make money. Renting, building, selling, buying material to build, remodeling homes to make money. Not a bad game just doing the same thing over and over. Not hard to play once you know what to do. Try it out and see what you think.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love these type but... I love these build-a-lot games but instead of freeplay, I wish they had untimed mode where you could still go through the storyline but without it running out of time and screwing up your strategy to try and get better. Otherwise great game as the ones before it and I usually buy them all. I am a time-management freak and really like the building games as well as farm ones and these are also fun!
Date published: 2013-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a few hours of fun Yet another build-a-lot. I enjoyed the game but really, this is no different to the other BAL's. There were a few storylines that didn't really seem to go anywhere. The minimal interaction the storyline seemed to have with the game play was forgettable a best, distracting at worst. Something new to the game was the a negative happiness score, which kept me entertained while I tried to win, but badly! I had to replay about half of the level in the third journal, and the length of game play was average for these sort of games, a few hours. What I liked, and like in most of the BAL series, is the way the game is consistantly paced. Lately I've played a couple of games that seem to lag while you are waiting for something to be collected or made, but in this game I found I was constantly building, upgrading and destroying houses till the very last moment. There was always work to be done.
Date published: 2013-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Awwwwwwww DONT WRECK BUILD A LOT!!! I liked Build A Lot just as it was, Powersource was the best. I dont like all the murder mystery theme that seems to run though the small game industry as it is so for me that was a turnoff to see that Build A Lot were trying to hook onto that theme. Yuck! Hate the music etc on this game - its just random. Wont be buying the full version
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Game ok, but that's it The "build a lot" games have not evolve since the firsts. I loved the first ones, but this one is just an ok game with not very good visuals and storyline uninteresting.
Date published: 2013-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Same Bal Game, Horrible Storyline I know that dark storylines are the "in" thing right now but I don't like them. It was such a stretch and there was no mystery. What was the point? Same old game and nice to revisit the concept but hope the next one has a more interesting storyline.
Date published: 2013-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from That's it? Graphics were great. Story line had amazing potential. It wasn't very long though. when I went into casual play, it was vey limited as well. They could have done so much more with this one! While I don't regret getting it, it was a let down. :(
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another Timed Game Yes , you can play it "casual" but it is far less interesting and I played the demo in both modes. It is okay but you do get tired or bored with building, painting, repair, update for the whole game. I am sure the "mystery" would get more interesting after the demo, but this is a no buy for me.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Missed Opportunity I usually love the Build-a-Lot games but I feel the team has missed an opportunity to produce a top class game here. I played it through to the end but didn't find the story-line or the challenge level as enjoyable as in others from this series.. There is no 'mystery' - simply a few rather obvious characters from traditional horror stories: vampire, werewolf, witch etc. There are clues to find but they don't lead to anything other than a paragraph from one of the characters to read. The houses themselves feature 'creepy' upgrades like secret rooms and blood-stained chest freezers but this is not continued to the end; the final house - the mansion - has fairly ordinary upgrades. The building and selling challenges are very familiar although I enjoyed the new strategy of achieving minus appeal! I wouldn't recommend starting with this one but go for it if you're a die-hard fan.
Date published: 2013-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Deja Lot I was pleased to see a new Build-A-Lot game come out and it implied a spooky theme. I like spooky themes. I own all the previous versions of BAL. I played the 1 hour free and knew this game had all the excitement of playing a game I had played over and over again til the game no longer held any interest. The scenery has changed, they added a spooky story line and I'm one of 5 people on the planet that has no use for story lines. They are just things I have to click on to get rid of so I can play the game. There were no new obstetrical to tackle, for example BAL had a version where one had to balance power supply with housing. I think a lot of people didn't like that one but I did. It's just the same ole build a house per the instructions with a suggestive scary background theme. I'm sorry to say I was bored with the 1 free hour, I purchased it because let's face it, there are not enough TM or strategy games as it is, and I continued to be bored as continued to play. I hope BAL does more scary themes in the future but somehow adds new challenges and obstacles to overcome. Unless this is your first BAL game, I can not recommend this game. Games I liked the most are; Westward series Plants vs Zombies Ranch Rush series Yoda Survivor Tradewinds 2 (and only 2) Build A Lot Chocolatier 1 and 2
Date published: 2013-07-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No Mystery here! This is the 7th Build-a-Lot game, and unfortunately one of the most boring. The others had different architecture to go with the themes, or different buildings to build (windmills in the Power Source one). I really had hoped the "Mystery" in the title would follow through. What you get is a solid Build-a-Lot, with the same buildings as others, and the same workers and painters and construction types. You do get to construct a Fortune Teller, but the demo did not allow you to see how it would be used. Great Aunt Agnes "talks to spirits" and you do find a mysterious map but the demo runs out before you get to see what it means. You do have a Journal that tracks your success. The Relaxed mode is locked in the demo -- not sure if it unlocks before the end of the game. The timer is easy until about the 5th scenario, then gets progressively harder to make a "blue ribbon". I love build-it games, and in particular most of the build-a-lots. However, this one is not a buy for me -- too repetitive.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Great Addition To The Series! Well, I don’t play Time Management games anymore, but when the new Build-a-Lot came out, I had to try it. While this is far from the best Build-a-Lot, I still enjoyed the demo. For once in the game, there’s a proper story. While I welcomed this at first, I soon found the story to be quite boring. There was something to do with “old spirits”, which I thought was pathetic for this type of game. A story like that really isn’t needed for Build-a-Lot and I have a feeling experienced players won’t like it. The gameplay is nothing new and should be a breeze for experienced players of the series. There are still the same controls, goals and style of gameplay, with this game doing nothing different to its predecessors. Anyone hoping for a new style of gameplay will be disappointed, but I was quite happy. The levels are timed and if you meet a certain time goal, you will be rewarded with a blue ribbon, as with other games. Experienced players will also be pleased to hear that this game offers you the chance to skip the tutorial. Speaking of gameplay, there were a couple of things that really annoyed me that I must address in this review: 1. There is no way to undo/cancel any clicks made. One time during level 4, I accidently clicked “demolish” instead of “repair” and was forced to waste time and materials since I could not undo the command. The developers need to listen, this is what Time Management players need! 2. Some of the goals, and ways to achieve them, were pathetic. For example, in Level 5, one of the goals was: “No cabins.” Instead of demolishing all OWNED cabins, like I thought would happen, I had to BUY A CABIN I DID NOT OWN just to demolish it! A sheer waste of time and money that could have been used to complete the level faster! IMPROVEMENTS ON THE LAST GAME/GAMES Since this is a new game in a long lasting series, I thought I should point out the improvements to you: - For the first time in the series, there is a wide-screen. This shows that the developers have upgraded their old game to fit with the new times. - There are achievements, also something I believe to be a first. This is an added fun twist to the game, which will delight many players. - The graphics are also highly improved, with everything much, much clearer than previous games. These developers have really put a lot of effort in this game and they must be praised for their efforts. THINGS THAT HAVEN’T IMPROVED - There is still no variation in the levels, which means this is once again a game that I could play for no longer than 1-2 hours at a time. I hope for the next game, the developers put some fun variations on levels So, while I’m not going to buy this because I’ve gone off Time Management games, I still believe this is a great addition to the series that will be welcomed by fans. I will happily recommend the game.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from O K but everything is so dark I played the demo but didn't like it enough to buy it. I thought it was hard to tell at a glance if you owned a house or not,because everything is kind of dark unless you paint the house. I know you can click on it to see, but that takes extra time.
Date published: 2013-07-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Samo Samo Just like all the other build-a-lots... same goals same game play the only twist is the graphics they are supposed to be scary but no matter how they dress it up it is still the same old game as the first! oh and u get ... achievements big woo... i have the 1st 3 and always got stuck on a level and no matter how i would work them could not pass it... but don't let me put u off if u love the series this will add another replica to your collection. i gave it 3 stars because nothing special about this game just a revamp.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could have been worse I was introduced to the BAL series with the Elizabethan Era, which I enjoyed very much. This one had an interesting premise and I went ahead and spent a coupon on it. I'm not a big fan of the horror genre, so I wasn't sure how I'd like this. Turns out... eh. Pros: The various nods to the genre were fun to identify. The Colonial house looks like the one from the Amityville movies; the character of Joseph is a blatant nod to Psycho, including all the references to his mother and the fact that they have you establish a hotel for him and his mom to run; Uncle Frederick is clearly a werewolf and godfather Sebastian is obviously a vampire. The ambiance and music are appropriate to the game, and there are clues to spot throughout each part of the campaign which hint at what's really going on with each of the characters you're helping. It's challenging and I wanted to see where it went. The in-game animations of the various buildings being constructed and upgraded were very neatly done, and I liked being able to choose the colors of the houses I built. Cons: The story is kind of meh. The premise is great and it had a lot of potential, but the story itself falls flat. The characters are dull; I think they would have been more entertaining if they had been voice acted, but their lines as written text come across rather dry and uninspired. I found Uncle Frederick the most likable of the bunch, as there's something very friendly in the way he was drawn, but that's probably just me. It's not a bad game, on the whole, and I'm not sorry I played it. I just feel like I could have enjoyed it more than I did.
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from There is no clousure Each level you meet a new character but you never find out how there stories end other than that it is a great time management game. The lack of ending drives me nuts.
Date published: 2014-07-08
  • y_2021, m_9, d_22, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_18879, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Build-a-Lot: Mysteries

Get ready for some spine-tingling fun as you work with eccentric members of the Graves Family to build, buy and flip houses.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.