Clockwork Tales: Of Glass and Ink Collector's Edition

Clockwork Tales: Of Glass and Ink Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(288.77 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Earthquakes are causing cities around the world to crumble! Dr. Ambrose Ink, one of the foremost scientific minds, has vowed to stop this unnatural phenomenon. All the clues point to Castle Barber, overlooking the quiet mountain town of Hochwald. Shortly after arriving though, Dr. Ink vanishes. Now it's up to you, Agent Evangeline Glass, to save him. You'll have to think fast to outwit soldiers, golems, and a crafty mechanical genius who always plans one step ahead. Stop the earthquakes before more cities fall in this thrilling Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Collectibles and achievements
  • Downloadable wallpapers and soundtrack
  • A bonus chapter featuring the prequel to the main story!
  • Can you solve the castle's mysteries?

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1082 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Clockwork Tales: Of Glass and Ink Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(288.77 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Clockwork Tales: Of Glass and Ink Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 94.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am loving it It is hard to believe the other reviewer has played the same game as I am playing. This is a great game - I have been playing for 3 hours now - and according to the guide am about half way through, The protagonist is a foreign agent meeting her guardian in an 19th century German steam punk village. Her guardian is then kidnaped by this engineer who is causing earthquakes, building robots and planning bad things. With the help of your guardian's robot bird, you are out to save the day. There are beautiful landscapes to get through, interesting villagers to interact with and mechanical marvels to assemble. There are all types of HOP, fragmented and interactive, as well as list, The map is interactive and allows for jumps. You have achievements to earn and robot bugs to collect. I am having a delightful time, and thus highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally something a little different Nice story, no castles or monsters-little tired of those. Mix of hidden object, fragmented object and puzzles. Level of challenge was about perfect for me. I think I skipped 1 puzzle and didn't use any hints. I played on the medium level since I like the hidden object scenes indicated. It was quite fun and entertaining. I got a chuckle when I clicked on the little girl with the cat in the Inn and she sang "Soft kitty, warm kitty, little ball of fur" from the Big Bang Theory. I like games that have little extras to find-mechanical bugs in this one. Voice acting was very professional for the most part, everything ran smoothly, graphics were very good and clear. Quality game, in my opinion.
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Already one of my favourites!!! :) After their brilliant Nightmares from the Deep: The Siren’s Call, here comes Artifex Mundi’s next highlight… This game definately has it all!! Graphics and cutscenes are tremendously welldone. Loved all those charakters with their german accent, it was a lot of fun to listen to their conversations, made me laugh more than once! 3 modes to choose from, 9 chapters plus bonus-chapter, lockable inventory, strategy guide doesn’t follow your progress, direction giving hint, map shows you available action and takes you there. A mechanical raven, Mathew, is your helping friend! Lots of different hidden object scenes: fragments, silhouettes, find and use items, and slightly interactive from list. Even more minigames, most of them wellknown and good to solve, like slider-puzzles, rotate rings to form a pattern, turn all lights red… Extras: 30 different hidden steambugs, lots of achievements, re-playable minigames and hidden object scenes, concept art, music, posters and bonus-chapter. Truly high recommended!!!! :)
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVELY and RELAXING; BEAUTIFULLY DONE Agree with KushkaW. Very lovely game with lots to do. If you don't like dialogue, you probably won't like it much because you sometimes have to talk to people to find out what needs to be done. Variety types of HOS and puzzles, which aren't too complicated. Like KushkaW, this would be much longer game for me than the 2 1/2 hours someone said the game was. I like to play casual and take in the well-crafted environments. I play to enjoy, not to see how fast I can finish. Game has very good production values and beautifully conceived and executed details. Can't wait for the ending, even though it's probably what I'd expect.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute Little Game with a some Steam Punk After debating a few days, and reading a good many of the reviews, I decided to try this one for myself. I was NOT disappointed. I loved the mix of different HOS and for the adventure, I love interactive maps. I have also grown fond of the little "helpers" in some games, the Steam Punk Crow for this one. The voice overs are fun. Cut scenes are many, but short and not annoying as you progress. Graphics are good! My tired old eyes are not worn out trying to see the scenes or searching for things. There are options for skill levels and even though I have tons of experience in these games, I always prefer the relaxed mode. LOL at my age, hurrying to beat a timer or the need to work harder is not for me. I have only played 3/4 of the free hour so far, but plenty for me to want this game in my collection. I can't wait to see how this mystery is solved!
Date published: 2013-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intrigue, geological upheavals and an adorable "crow" Having played the demo, this is definitely on my "Will Purchase" list. The graphics are utterly gorgeous, the storyline is excellent, the voices are great, the gameplay is smooth, there is an interactive map that shows where tasks are and you get Matthew, an adorable mechanical crow, as a helper. The types of HOS are varied, so there is no boredom there and the mini-games are imaginative and fun. The music is lovely. There are lots of achievements, most of which are not too difficult to get (I love positive reinforcement.) so you don't feet unappreciated. There is nothing creepy or horrifying, just good old underhanded, sneaky intrigue and dirty dealings by a meany. There are 30 steam bugs to collect, but they won't make you wonder if you will lose your eyesight or mind - they do not morph, just skitter across suddenly in plain view. This is great fun and I think people of any age could play and enjoy. My only concern is that I think it might be on the short side. I played on the easiest of the three difficuly levels, but did not skip scenes or dialogue, talked to everyone I saw, skipped no mini-games, took time to enjoy the beautiful graphics, and still finished the demo in 33 minutes. Even if it is on the short side, I do want it.
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Steam bugs anyone? This is a game with a different feel to it. As other have said, there is much chatting with townsfolk, but I found it enjoyable. I liked the many voiceovers and the mini games and HO scenes, and the story line involving an intelligence agent seeking her mentor in the town of Hochwald. I also liked the Extras including achievements, wallpaper, and the collection of interesting Steam Bugs throughout the game. I think the CE is worth getting, particularly on a sale weekend!
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top of the line game Graphics are some of the best I've seen, the voice acting is very good, lots of interactive areas just for fun (like being able to speak with the customers at the inn), very good music, good story, fun puzzles... just an excellent game all around.
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute I liked it! I love HG Well-sian art; Victorian gizmos and mechanical things, so I got a big kick out of the art and the story. I only played the demo, so I cannot say how long this game is, but I figure it's a good buy with the reduced prices going on this weekend for CEs. The voices are well done, the HOs are fun and slightly different, in that you do not seem to complete everything in the scene, so you will be going back to the same set. There are bugs to collect and achievements. The HOs and mini games will be accessible in the extras, as well as a bonus chapter. I thought the graphics were beautiful and the story interesting...can't wait to get back to it and catch that nasty worm thing! Well done.
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Awesome Adventure for Everyone! Our story begins with us taking on the role of Agent Evangeline Glass and our mission is to investigate a series of unatural earthquakes terrorising the mountain town of Hochwald. Dr. Ambrose Ink, a famous scientist is also looking into these disruptions and it seems clues point to the castle of Barber. Shortly after you arrive, Dr. Ink is kidnapped by a giant mechanical Golem and now it's up to you to save him. Your quest will take you deep into the world of a maniacle evil genious and as always, it is up to you to save the day. These game developers have brought us many great games in the past like The Abyss and Nightmare in the Deep; once again they have produced a very entertaining HOPA game with gorgeous graphics, awesome voice-overs that match each character and stunning artwork created by a group of talented artists who have brought to life a humourous- fantasy world filled with interesting characters, mechanical vlllains and attention to details that animates throughout the entire game. An entertaining HOPA that offers three modes of difficulty, a journal that outlines your tasks and holds a map that will allow you to travel. Adventure game has you looking for inventory items and playing HO scenes that are mostly fragmented. Some HO scenes require actions to unlock or solve puzzles and are fun to play. Mini-games are interesting, well conceptualized but lack a certain degree of challenge. There are collectibles thoughout the games, a set of steam bugs and there are achivements as well, very easy to earn and most of them very basic pertaining to actions taken within the game. ALthough not very challenging to play, it certainly makes up with the story along with game mechanics that are both interesting and entertaining. Visually, the game is 5 stars, imersing you into a world that is both thrilling and amusing to play. KUDOs to everyone involved and thank you BFG for a great week of games.
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes! Yes! Yes! A true CE with all the features you could wish for. * Great graphics and music * Good VOs with great lip-synch * Concept art, posters and music * Replayable mini games and HOSs * Bonus (prequel) chapter * 3 levels of challenge (Casual/Advanced/Expert) * Jumpable map showing available actions * Journal containing objectives and map * Collectibles (which are not all easy to find) * Achievements * SG with text and pictures describing 9 chapters + bonus * Matthew, your little helper HOSs are clear and so far only 3 - 1 x find parts and 2 visits to a find and use. Also a doll's house puzzle which involves finding objects to use. Puzzles are fairly straightforward but different. Already bought, downloaded and ready to play. Who wouldn't with the sale on? Try it - you will love it!
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A QUITE LOVELY CHILD-LIKE ADVENTURE! Just because my preference are large file, long and complicated games, does not mean I cannot become totally absorbed in a child-like fantasy--which this is and which I loved playing from the onset. Collecting steam bugs, earning achievements, creative puzzles all make this colorful journey even more special. German is my favorite language and the game characters have one thing many Developers seem to miss--personality! They come alive in the game. There is evil lurking in the town of Hockwald and we all know what we have to do! Enjoy! - Mama Mia -
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Capturing ! After reading the first 2 reviews, I was doubtful this would be worth my time, sigh, I tried it anyway later on. Turns out I LOVE IT! ... It's such an endearing story filled with lots of things to do and some action and lots of adventure. The story is intriguing, the characters are funny at times, well depends on your demeanor at the moment, LOL ... all around, it's worth a try and a buy!
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC excellent art work. great story line. puzzles all doable. very helpful walkthrough.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! WHAT AN AWESOME GAME FULL OF ADVENTURE AND ITS SNOWING! WOW! BF has done it again! Love the graphics and the story has so many twist and turns its a great adventure. The huge robot is such a surprise, it came at me outa no where! HO are easy and I love the upstairs doll house puzzle, there are so many fun things about this game that will make you buy it! Its snowing like you are really there in the flesh, I love winter games anyway, even scary winter games! While the people in the village is telling their stories to me, I can see myself having a cup of hot chocolate! Its such a quaint and cozy town! I gotta go back to playing my last few minutes! I had to write a review on this and I will buy it!
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wanted This Game 5 Minutes into Demo! I'm super picky about the games I buy - especially CE's, but this one had everything I love: - Custom cursor opt-out (custom cursors drag my system) - 3 modes - Loads fast - Fast click through dialogue - Fragmented object HO scenes - gotta love FROGs! - Put items into HOS's to get tools - Full interactive map - To-do locations & jump - Clever, unique puzzles - Fairly quick use of inventory items -I can’t remember what item I needed to complete a task from 20 scenes ago! - Crisp, stunning graphics - Not too many long, drawn out, cut scenes - Built-in strategy guide - Collectables - 30 "steambugs" - Achievements - Objectives list - Clear hints - Inventory lock You even get a little mechanical bird to help! I rarely get CEs, but it took me 5 minutes to know I had to have this game. My overall rating is a 4.8
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must buy I thought this was an excellent game. The mini game are very good, different from the usual minis. Graphics are nice, the sound and voices make it an interesting game. All in all a very good game and I would recommend it to all
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too short I really liked this game. There were not a lot of different places to go to which made it better than running all over the place as with some of the games. I loved Matthew though I did get tired of the girl saying, "Good job, Matthew--we make a great team.!" I did not care for some of the puzzles so I just skipped the ones I didn't like. One thing I didn't like was that you didn't go back to the same place in the strategy guide whenever you log off and I would forget to write down the page number I was on. This is a really relaxing game. Makes you think but still not overly difficult. Recommend.
Date published: 2013-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Steampunk rocks! I loved this game. Storyline was great. Characters believable and collecting the mechanical bugs was added fun. Particularly liked the fragmented HO scenes. Would love to see more games with these characters!
Date published: 2013-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow visual overload I really loved this game. It has collectables, interactive ho scenes things flow logically and it makes sense. I enjoyed playing and could not stop until I was finished. It was not overly challenging where I became frustratred. Has helpful hint button and the journal is very helpful. The graphics, the colors, the vo all add up to a fantastic game experience. To think I almost passed it up due to some negative reviews. Just goes to show that some will love it and some will not. I love it.
Date published: 2013-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kudos to Clockwork Tales and Artifex! This game was a fantastic surprise. I loved the story. The german accent in the VO's were well done. The mechanical millipede in the beginning scared me (laptop fell in the floor) and the screen shaking with the earthquake scenes was insane. These adventures just keep getting better. Beginners will be blown away.
Date published: 2013-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very interesting game I liked this game very much. I was able to follow what to do. I liked the storyline and graphics. I would recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not quite 5 stars I enjoyed this game but it is not quite 5 stars and most of that is the characters. They are mostly depicted as bumbling idiots with very annoying voices. Other than that, the graphics are good but not great and the story line is pretty good. Again, another 'only you can save the world' thing but this one is done with taste. True, it does have a few quirky moments but they don't detract from the main story. HO's are not difficult and, again, you aren't looking for completely useless junk. I like the fact that it is not in some distant, dark, never heard of place and is actually a country everyone knows. Everything is period; the clothes, the buildings, the vehicles and, yes, even the mechanicals. I hate dark games and this one is above that. I recommend this for all you non-dark HO livers out there. Play on and have fun!
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game Good game, different. Interesting storyline. Easy game; too easy for me and I always play 'hardcore'! Good map. When an area is complete, it closes, so you don't have to go back and forth! Journal has objectives.There is a helper to aid you, when necessary. Good puzzles and HOs.
Date published: 2015-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Little Steam Punk Game I played the full game on my Andriod. I like steam punk, this was a fun game. This is an easy game to play when you just want to have a fun afternoon. It is not difficult and you will not be scratching your head like MCF Fate's Carnival, or other games that keep you on your toes. Graphics were good (Artifex Mundi after all). Music good. The storyline familiar, but with a little twist. I wish the game had been a little longer, I played about 3 1/2 to 4 hours including the bonus game so not a very long game and I like to take my time and try not to skip puzzles. HOG's are interactive. I did have to skip a couple puzzles because they became tedious. Overall I recommend this game and always enjoy playing games from this developer, but this is not their best game I have played.
Date published: 2014-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT MAP This is another game that takes you back and forth too much. The only saving grace was the interactive map, which showed where actions needed to be done and allowed you to jump to that location through the map. But opening the map every minute or so in order to get to the next active location was very irritating. Good storyline. There was no bonus chapter. The "extras" included 6 hidden object scenes and 6 minigames to replay, but the hidden object scenes repeated the things that had already been found during the game. I was expecting to be able to "find" all the objects in all the scenes, but that didn't happen. In the 6 scenes, one of them was new, but still that wasn't much of a bonus. I won many achievements during the game and the achievements were part of a stained glass scene, which I thought was new and different and neat. Highlighting different parts of the glass told you what achievement it represented. I expected to see the various parts of the glass light up when I won an achievement, so that at the end the whole scene would be lighten up if I won some or all of the achievements. Didn't happen; none of the glass lighted up at all. Disappointing. The achievements were pretty attainable, not like ones that expect you to never skip a puzzle or never use a hint during the game. I enjoyed the game and the storyline kept me interested.
Date published: 2014-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review of Completed Game... I love steam punk type games and this is definitely in that category. The title confused me a bit going into the game but Glass is a woman who is looking for Dr. Ink who got captured and since Ms. Glass adores him, she goes to look for him and learns she needs to defeat a guy bent on destroying the world with a special machine that creates a series of Earthquakes in a place where there usually aren't any! The game is by Artifex Mundi and for them I felt like this is very sloppily done. Words are spelled wrong. Freund for Friend but my friend said in Poland they do say that sometimes as these developers are polish but there were other things like Forgein instead of Foreign and engineneer instead of engineer. Those are tiny things but to pay double for a game and have it have basic spelling errors isn't too great especially when this developer is usually so detailed and put together. This game felt almost sloppy or rushed. There are interactive hidden object scenes and a good amount of puzzles. I found that the puzzles were all pretty doable but there were none that were original in any way. The game has exceptional voice overs though. The woman Ms. Glass has an accent and I found it to be very well done unlike most games that try to do accents. There are about 38 bugs to collect from Dr. Ink's collection. They are mechanical ones like in Fantastic Creations-House of Brass. In fact this game was very much like House of Brass just better done. The main games ends satisfactorily and there is really no need for the bonus chapter. The main game only took me 2 hours and 45 minutes at most and the bonus game which is the prologue to the story showing how Dr. Ink got himself into trouble in the first place was very short as well. Artifex Mundi releases a lot of games that are just standard editions and Im kind of unsure why they felt the need to make this one a collector's edition based on how short everything was. There are achievements as well but I found the achievement room to be confusing. It was stained glass areas and it was hard to tell if I had gotten the achievement or not since the colors didn't really change after. I really rate this game around a 3.5 but I think it is worth rounding up because what this game lacks, it makes up for in the story, characters and the overall fun I had playing the game. I liked finding the mechanical bugs and I liked using my brain to figure out where to use items. I will say there are some interesting ways to use the items in this game. A kite for electricity among other things. Always kept me guessing. The inventory button locks (big issue for me when it doesn't). Puzzles can be reset if you mess up. The strategy guide is done well and you can zoom into the pictures if you need more help. Also, there is a jump map but since you don't really go back and forth throughout locations, you don't really need a jump map. IF you are getting the bugs, you cannot go back after some parts so make sure you get them all. There is one in every location, even if you can't find it, its there! SG gives you a detailed account of where they are. I recommend this game as a CE if its on sale otherwise I don't think its worth the money as its very short. It took me 3.5 hours counting the bonus game if that. The bonus game is a lot of hidden object scenes and busy work so its not needed in terms of closure. For the standard edition, I probably would have rated it differently. I definitely recommend the standard though as what this game lacks in other areas, it makes up with the fun of it all. I liked playing this game and although it is short, its a game I would play again.
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game! I really enjoyed the hour I played. It really has everything - the storyline is very interesting and the puzzles are great. Love it.
Date published: 2013-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wait for the SE, bonus chapter VERY short. I enjoyed this game. Good graphics, interesting story, and a nice mix of puzzles and HOS (some standard junkpiles, some silhouettes.) The storyline wraps up nicely in the main game. The bonus chapter doesn't really add much, and it's mega short. I seriously finished it in 15 minutes and only skipped one puzzle! I don't really care much about soundtracks, wallpapers, screen savers, etc, I buy CEs for the bonus gameplay, so I'm not happy that it was so short. So I recommend this game, but don't buy the CE. It's not worth paying twice the price.
Date published: 2013-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD GAME BUT..... A PRETTY GOOD GAME BUT A LITTLE SHORT..FINISHED IT WITHIN 2 HOURS & ABOUT AN HOUR ON THE BONUS GAME..BUT ALL IN ALL IT WAS A GOOD ONE..JUST WISH IT WAS LONGER :)
Date published: 2013-08-24
  • y_2019, m_12, d_14, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_94
  • loc_en_US, sid_19013, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Clockwork Tales: Of Glass and Ink Collector's Edition

The quaint mountain town of Hochwald hides a deadly secret. Defeat a mechanical mastermind and save your friend before another earthquake strikes!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.