Clockwork Tales: Of Glass and Ink

Clockwork Tales: Of Glass and Ink

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(273.41 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Earthquakes are causing cities around the world to crumble! Dr. Ambrose Ink, one of the foremost scientific minds, has vowed to stop this unnatural phenomenon. All the clues point to Castle Barber, overlooking the quiet mountain town of Hochwald. Shortly after arriving though, Dr. Ink vanishes. Now it's up to you, Agent Evangeline Glass, to save him. You'll have to think fast to outwit soldiers, golems, and a crafty mechanical genius who always plans one step ahead. Stop the earthquakes before more cities fall in this thrilling Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 887 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Clockwork Tales: Of Glass and Ink

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(273.41 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Clockwork Tales: Of Glass and Ink is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 22.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Short but fun After I played the demo and read the reviews to see if anything was not to my liking in the rest of the game, I finally used a game credit because of the reports of the short game. I was not disappointed in this game although I was a little surprised at the ending. I thought there would be more to it, but it was still good. The game was fun and I loved the characters especially the professor. Matthew was an added feature I also loved. It seems many of the games are now using a helpful creature to do our bidding. As for the challenge the game was pretty easy, although a few of the puzzles where a little tricky but fun. Some were a little different than the norm. I liked story line. The German accent gives the game a feel of reality.
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from That Earthquake Ain't Natural! Evangilina Glass and Professor Ink are investigating strange and frequent earthquakes which they believe are man made and coming from the castle. You will quickly notice that this game is full of mechanical gadgets with steam technology and centered around the uncertainty of a war era. Although the CE has steambugs hidden throughout I feel this game is the better value. The HOS are a mix of fragmented objects to put together and progressive finds where you find one item and use that item in the scene to uncover the next item. Puzzles are very simple such as making a drink by mixing red, blue and yellow liquids in specific amounts and the only measuring vials available are a 5oz and 3 oz. It's not a bad game but there were part's that were a little too slow moving. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game with good HOGs Enjoyed talking to characters, with their interaction. The HOGs were a challenge. Use to just finding objects, was a little more difficult to find pieces of objects and then figure out what to do with the object.
Date published: 2013-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Steam Punk Lite! BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS This game is definitely about the fun. Pure fantasy and light hearted in even the most dire of circumstances, it’s a game to bring a smile to your face one way or another. Mind you, if you’ve got a thing against bugs, you might want to give it a miss. This appealing combination of steam punk and spy game is beset with robots and zeppelins and a great mix of appealing characters. Including the ever-present cat, who isn’t interested in helping you, because, well, “it’s a cat”. And that light touch of humour sets the tone for the whole game. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The game looks excellent. Graphics are top quality, in the locations we have a nicely ‘hand drawn’ snowy landscape with a touch of the cartoon about it. The “HO” scenes are more precise and realistic and are beautifully lit. Music is light, and there’s a lot of earthshaking ambient noise. Voiceovers are a total blast, I love all of them. WHAT’S HAPPENING You (Evangeline Glass) are a spy – hey, cool! Nice change from the usual detective work. Our mentor is a befuddled professor type called Prof. Ink. He is investigating distressing events (unnatural earthquakes) in a remote village, and we get there just in time to see him carried off to a fortress castle by a giant robot. Our investigations start with the local villagers, and how nice it is to see a populated town! Every person in the inn has his own story to tell, and his own contribution to make in your investigations. MAKING PROGRESS This is not strictly an HOP really, but there are puzzles that are basically a HOP. We have progressive (find & use) silhouettes, and fragmented objects, and a puzzle board that has you searching for specific items in a dollhouse. Other puzzles are for the most part familiar, but there isn’t a lot of them. Adventure tasks are straightforward, although not always obvious. The hint is directional and there is an interactive jump map. The emphasis is on light hearted fun, not challenge. BLING! We have an offsider, now don’t leave yet – he’s not overly cute! He’s a robot crow who can replay videos the prof has made, as well as fetching things. The CE has a bunch of good stuff – achievements, as well as the usual gallery items, replayable puzzles and really cool collectibles. They are mechanical bugs that move around on the screen, so you have to catch them. FAMOUS LAST WORDS If you’re into the bling! the CE is probably the better buy, but for me, this time around I’m sticking with this SE.
Date published: 2013-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok but dull It's ok. Rather clicky and too back and forth for my taste. Slow moving story line. Really didn't grab me.
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Much too short BASED ON COMPLETED CE AND ONE HOUR SE DEMO I found this to be a good game, but was very disappointed with the length. I would recommend the SE version. There are voiceovers throughout the game. There are 3 modes of play: Casual, Advanced and Expert. You can change modes mid-game. There is a transporter map. Current location and areas of interest are circled in casual and advanced mode. Only current location is circled in expert mode. HOGs: There are 3 types of hidden object puzzles. The hidden object scenes are clear and I found the objects easy to locate. I would have preferred more hidden object scenes. There were only 8 scenes in the main game, and most were revisited. 1. There are 2 "Find and Use" Silhouette HOGs. There is only one scene, which is re-visited. Silhouettes of the objects are shown, and once you've located the object, it is added to your inventory to be used in order to progress in the scene. I enjoy these, and was disappointed that there were no more in the SE game once you get past the demo. 2. There are 4 fragmented pictorial HOGs. 3. There are 8 "find items on the list" HOGs. Hint: The hint refills very quickly and does work outside of HOS. It refills in 10 secs in casual mode, 30 secs in advanced mode and 1 min in expert mode. Puzzles: There are 25 puzzles, which can be skipped in 1 min in casual mode, 90 secs in advanced mode, and 2 mins in expert mode. There were 2 puzzles that I would consider "different from/ variation of typical puzzles". I am not a puzzle expert, but still I found 20 of the puzzles to be extremely easy, and the rest were of medium difficulty/time consuming. Puzzles experts looking for a challenge will probably be disappointed. Possible Spoiler - Several of the puzzles would be just considered simple interactions in other games, e.g. entering a code, or moving objects around in a suitcase to find an inventory item. Overall, this was a decent game, with beautiful graphics and cut scenes. However, it is extremely short. I played most of the game in expert mode and did not skip any puzzles, dialogue or cut scenes, and I completed the SE in 3 hours 45 mins. The story began well, but faded as the game progressed. The ending is abrupt and unsatisfactory for me. The bonus chapter does not clarify any loose ends. I would strongly recommend the SE as a DD, COTW or BOGO sale.
Date published: 2013-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SHORT My only complaint about this game was the length. It was so short. I played in expert mode, looked at everything and talked to everyone. Didn't need one single hint. Only draw back is that I don't feel I got my monies worth and for that I give it a 3 star rating. ('13)
Date published: 2013-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I Wish I Could Rate It Higher... This is probably the poorest Artifex Mundi game I have played. Time and time again, we have seen masterpieces from this developer, but this just didn't cut it. For starters the story was boring. Nothing happened in the demo that shocked or excited me, and the demo did not end well. I usually love a good spy game, but this just didn't cut it. The main story involves the disappearance of Ambrose Ink, who called you, Evangeline Glass, to help him investigate them. However, there was an evil general, which seemed interesting. What killed it for me was the setting. I didn't get the setting, and I hated the accents. They were so poor it kind of put me off the game. Overall, not a very interesting story. I had some issues with the gameplay too. It's the Artifex gameplay we've come to love, and I enjoyed that and had some level of fun in the game, but I didn't really like the HOS as much as I should have. Instead of the usual junkpile, we instead have Fragmented Object Scenes (FOS) and Silhouette Scenes. I did not find a junkpile scene throughout the whole demo, much to my disappointment. The puzzles were okay, though, and I thought they were better than the HOS (which is something that's never happened before). The puzzles were fun and challenging at the same time. Although I had to skip one, I still liked them. The graphics, as always, were outstanding from Artifex. There was so much detail and the character design was outstanding. Everything was clear, and was a visual delight. However, I did have a problem with the voice-overs. The accents were awful and just drove me up the wall. This took out some of the fun for me, as voice-overs were a key part of the game. FEATURES 3 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced and Hard. Only differences: Hint and Skip Recharge and sparkles. I played Casual, as always. Hint and Skip- both recharge fast on Casual and the hint is very helpful outside HOS. Diary. Diary keeps track of events and contains an objectives tab. No map from what I could recall. To conclude, I'd have to say this is one of the worst Artifex Mundi game I have played. The game was just downright boring. Not at all like the reviews said. The demo was an extremely short 22 minutes. This, from experience, indicates a very short game. Most players will be turned away by this, however, I do not judge on length, I judge on quality, and the quality of this game was way below par.
Date published: 2013-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Excellent game, but short This game is everything I want. Great story line and good graphics. HOS were easy, but liked the interactive ones a lot. A lot of steam punk elements. The only problem I had was the length. I finished the demo in 30 minutes. So according to the walkthrough, I would be 35% finished in an hour, so less than a 3 hour game. Might buy anyway due to the other qualities.
Date published: 2013-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beter than the CE but better games out there I did not like the CE for this game so wanted to see the how the SE was. To me it was an average game. Gets boring real soon and you get tired of playing it. The music gets under my skin after awhile and needs to be turned off. Graphic are not great either. Most of the puzzles I have seen before. The HOS are easy and does have some interactive to them. All in all not a great game. Too many good ones out there now.
Date published: 2013-09-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Started off very interesting... Is that it?? It started off so well, then it was reduced to only a couple of rooms to move around in and all of a sudden it was over... not sure how it happened. The hos are a good mix of finding random junk and finding pieces of one single item, and the puzzles are a mix of really hard and really easy. I played the demo and is looked so good (except that my 60 minute trial ended after exactly 30 minutes). But sadly it seemed to go downhill from there... Ok for a beginner, maybe.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring and Tedious Steam Punk Adventure Had I realized this game would involve so much steam punk and mechanical engineering I would not have bought it, but it wasn't that which made it so boring for me... it was a combination of the story (which started out well but deteriorated following the demo), the silhouette and fragmented object HOGs, plus the heroine's constant praise of the mechanical crow helper -- the same phrases over and over and over again, which might not seem like a big deal, but after a while, I wanted a padlock for her mouth. The hints and skips do refill quickly, however, much of the time the map was more helpful than the hints. If you do get this game, I suggest using the map instead of following the directional hints. Thankfully, I got the game on a 50% off sale. I would not recommend getting it except as a DD, COTW or BOGO sale.
Date published: 2014-04-17
  • y_2019, m_9, d_20, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_19422, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Clockwork Tales: Of Glass and Ink

The quaint mountain town of Hochwald hides a deadly secret. Defeat a mechanical mastermind and save your friend before another earthquake strikes!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.