Dark Cases: The Blood Ruby Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Cases: The Blood Ruby Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(344.26 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Your worst fears came true the night your father never arrived home. Someone killed him during his latest investigation. As you sort through his remaining possessions you discover his diary recording his last moments - and a strange amulet that sends you hurtling back through time to the day before his murder. Time is running out as you race to not only prevent his murder but also to catch the mastermind behind it all.

Unravel the trail of clues to locate a deadly ruby before its gruesome powers are unleashed in Dark Cases: The Blood Ruby, a heart-pounding Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus Chapter
  • Concept Art & Wallpapers
  • Soundtrack
  • Re-playable Mini-games
  • Cinematic Collection

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 815 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Cases: The Blood Ruby Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(344.26 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Cases: The Blood Ruby Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 51.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Blood Ruby my new Favorite This was such a good game I played the 60min then bought it and could not stop till I played the bonus game also. I love when a game keeps me into it all the way till the end. I am sure you guys will like it also. Happy gaming all....
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game If you're like me and a bit over the doom and gloom of HOG's then this is a lovely surprise. The graphics are life like and crystal clear, there is an interactive map, great mini games and story line. I brought the CE based on the Trial which I don't usually buy CE's but had to have this one.
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game This is the best game I have played in a long while. Normaly I just play them and then move on to the next one but with this game I just had to put in a review. Everything about it is top quality . It's the first game I have played all the way thourgh without any breaks. Only thing is now I am finished I want to just start all over again.. Well done Big Fish.
Date published: 2013-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dark cases The Blood Ruby I have only played a short part of this game, so far have found it to be very good. Graphics can be a bit grainy In places, but not distracting, the music I like, the hidden object areas are interactive, the puzzles are very good different ones here. You are transported back in time to try to save your father, he was murdered whilst investigating a crime. The scenes in the places you visit are good. Hint refills quickly, there is the skip button for some of the puzzles, but they are to me interesting puzzles and worth some time to work them out, of course if stress takes over SKIP them. I think this game would be an interesting challenge for a beginner as well as the seasoned player's give it a go . enjoy
Date published: 2013-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific Adventure A great buy with great fun! Devs did a great job!
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Who Done It! Love these kinds of HO's where there is not too many to find the objects, not too much running around to figure out where objects go..just right!..Interactive HO's, mini games are not too hard/not too easy..Exceptional graphics and a wonderful storyline!...Music just right..Can't wait to purchase!..
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very interesting story very interesting story, and well done graphics
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kept me fascinated the whole time! I've just finished playing this game, including the bonus chapter. Took me about 5 hours, but I'm a slow player. I did it in one sitting though, could not get away from it, had to know what was going to happen next! The game is creepy, but not scary or dark. The music really adds to the atmosphere. The storyline is really great, the dev's obviouslyt thought long and hard about this one. Not a second I got bored or wanted the game to be over. The graphics are very beautiful, handdrawn. Sometimes I even stopped playing just to gaze at the fantastic scenes and get the 'feel' of the landscape. Cutscenes are sometimes spectacular with great VO's and sound-effects. The maingame has a very good ending and wraps things up perfectly. The BC is a prequel and not necessary for the story, although it's been done really well and actually is scarier then the maingame, and has some fantastic effects in it! There is a very good interactive jump-map, and once you get out of the mansion, you really need it, or otherwise you will be wearing out a lot of shoeleather! Hint is fantastic too, really helps out when you get stuck. Puzzles are really fun, some very new ones, and range from easy to fairly difficult; HOS are easy and clear, and interactive in a very fun way. There are no special extra's, no achievements, no collectables, no morphing objects, just the "normal" CE-extra''s. You can replay the puzzles and HOS afterwards. Not really worth the CE-price, but with the sale today at 8.99 it was a great deal!! I really had a fantastic time in a beautiful, but slighly grim world and hope you will enjoy it too. Have fun!
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Very Great Game!!! I bought this the day it came onto Bigfish, and it just happened to be a sale day for collectors editions! Which I took total advantage of, and grabbed this one up! I have to admit, the game did not look too appealing from the screen shots. But to my great surprise...It was awesome. The graphics were wonderful, as was the storyline. The HOS were few and far between, which I love! And their is a map, that allows you to travel and shows available actions. The puzzles are fun, and creative, and as the length goes it wasn't disappointing, especially with the bonus chapter! Love this game, and hope more publishers take a cue from this one. Great graphics, storyline, and less HOS that are interactive, ad a lock for inventory, is what we look for!!!!! It isn't too much to ask, is it? Apparently not! Get this game! Happy gaming gamers!!
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the way I love it. The graphics are top notch. Some time hidden objects are, short and sweet. I can't stress enough for, games like this. You find one object, and another appears. The price is so welcome. Some games are expensive and just to short, for the money.Some games are so stupid and childish.
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's Great, but not a CE Based on the demo. The game is great. The visuals are wonderful, voiceovers very well done, H O scenes a little on the easy side, minigames challenging, fun, and original. The storyline is excellent. It has the creep factor that I like in a dark HOG. I'm not buying it because there aren't any extras beside the bonus play, whatever that is going to be. I'll wait for the SE, I'm sure it will be just as good.
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Atmosphere Review I figure everyone else was going to give you the mechanics of the game, I'd give you the "feel". The story throws you into a mystery revolving a red ruby, and you get thrown back a month in time to prevent the death of your father. I liked the storyline very much. The voiceovers were well done, there were lots and lots of puzzles, which I prefer, and when you did come across a HOG, it was occasionally and the drawings were so well done it didn't aggravate me at all. I found myself actually trying to find the objects rather than trying to get the HOG over with - adventure gamers will understand. No, nothing was hard, I never had need of the hints or strategy guide so hardcore gamers may take issue with that. The music was delightful, atmospheric, and actually relaxing. The map was interactive so you always knew when an area was needing attention or totally complete. For those who have large screens, I had no issues with it filling the screen completely and maybe one or two items total were in a darkened area. When my hour was up, I felt relaxed and longing for just a few more minutes to finish the puzzle I was on. I do believe I will take advantage of the sale today and get this game.
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WILL THERE BE MORE DARK CASES? QUIET UNIQUE IN GOOD WAY ! I ENJOYED THIS GAME VERY MUCH.IT IS MORE LIKE THE HIDDEN OBECT GAMES I FIRST PLAYED,WITH JUST A BIT MORE DAZZLE GAMES HAVE CAME A LONG WAY SINCE THEN . THANKS BIG FISH.
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Lots of fun - Beautiful scenes
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!!! I rarely am able to click excellent on all accounts, What can I say this is a GREAT game! The story line is unique, the puzzles are actually challenging, and you actually have to think about where to go and what to do next. I am definitely going to get the CE because I feel the bonus game will be worth it and that the story is no where near done with just this game. I look forward to sequels of this one.
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not bad The game is exceptional in many ways, the graphics are beautiful and clear.
Date published: 2013-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Amazing Murder Mystery! This Went Straight On To My Purchase List! Note: Review based On DEMO. Full Rating: 4 1/2 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ I was saying yesterday how badly I wanted a murder mystery and here it is. The story is amazing, just as a murder mystery should be. I was so amazed, I'm going to buy the game. However, I'll wait for the SE. The story is just as a murder mystery should be. Shocking, lots of twists and scary. It actually made me jump at one point, which is a first! The story begins with the death of your father, and, after being given an amulet, you travel back in time to try and prevent it. Also, there is a special gem involved, which promises to be exciting. Like I said, there is a shocking twist halfway through the demo that made me jump. This is one of the best stories of the year, and I can't wait to play the conclusion! I would have given this game a five had it not been for some small issues I had with the gameplay. Firstly, the game did not start with the hint charged up, which I found extremely odd. Secondly, the hint took quite a while to recharge, even on the first mode. Thirdly, I did find myself constantly having to use the Strategy Guide, because I'd get stuck. That being said, I did enjoy the HOS and puzzles, and the uniqueness of the gameplay. The HOS featured quite a few extra step objects, and were a joy to play. The puzzles were also very different from ones I had played before, and thus, gave me a big challenge, one that I had not had in a long time. The gameplay is simple, but different. You are able to combine two objects from your inventory to make one needed object (the game lets you know when you can do this by placing little + signs above the objects), which is something I have rarely seen in a HOPA. A+ for originality. The game features a diary, interactive map and the other usual stuff you will find in a game. The graphics were good, but not outstanding. They were clear, but they did not have as much detail as I would have liked. A bit more detail would have been nice, but they certainly are better than some other graphics I've seen. The voice-overs were standard too. Nothing new, not outstanding, not bad either. FEATURES Diary to keep track of events. Interactive map. Very helpful. Keeps track of completed locations and locations where there is a task to be done. 3 modes of play: Casual, Advanced and Hard. I played Casual. Hint and Skip- took longer than usual to recharge on Casual mode, but the hint is very helpful outside HOS. CE Exclusives Bonus chapter Strategy Guide- extremely useful for puzzles as it gives you the step by step solution. Concept art Music Replay HOS and Puzzles Due to the lack of CE extras, I will not buy the CE. I loved this game, but my advice would be to wait for the SE. It will give you a much better experience. I hadn't even finished the demo and this was already on my purchase list- a brilliant murder mystery!
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Challenge, Not CE Material The game presents some new/different challenges. Interesting HO scenes with a little twist. Painting the puzzle was rather tame, though. Lots of back and forth, so I was really glad there was a jump map with indicators showing where available actions were. I would have been lost as the hint system doesn't give much help. The music was very fitting and the graphics nicely drawn. I also experienced the insistent tutorial. I never use them and really dislike them quite a lot. And I get really frustrated when you say no and it does it anyway! I can't comment on the strategy guide since I rarely use them, either. This game has good potential for becoming a series. I hope it does. But without any of the "bling" extras, it only rates being SE worthy.
Date published: 2013-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The year's best storyline! This is a really great game. As previous reviewers have said, not a lot of bells and whistles that many CE games have. I actually found that refreshing as I could get really involved in the storyline and challenge myself to figure things out without distractions. The storyline grabs you right away and while there are a few spots where you are so busy accomplishing tasks that that wears a bit thin, it picks right back up. I liked the characters and wanted to know what happened. There is a map for the going back and forth so it's not tedious. The music score is one of the best. Adds ambience without being annoying or distracting. My only reason to give it 4 stars is that the HOS were pretty easy.
Date published: 2013-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great game but will wait for the SE I was beginning to wonder where the really good Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure games were. This is the first one that has caught my attention in quite a while, meaning something I really think I want to buy. The visuals, voiceovers and music were very good. I didn't find it super challenging but it engaged me enough to play the full demo. I was rather surprised and disappointed that there are no real extras other than the usual CE in-game strategy guide (which I didn't once use) and also a bonus chapter, but that's about it. That's why I will just wait for the SE. But then, a buy for me! Very enjoyable.
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Nice Enjoyable Game ... Great Graphics, Sound, Voice & Video Bits ... Not A Huge Attraction For Me, But A Very Enjoyable Game. No Frilly Bits As You Find In Many Of Today's CE Games ... But Very Playable ... The Bonus Chapter Is A Prequel, And I Would Prefer To Play It First And Then The Main Game ... I Got Mine On Special ... But The SE Would Do Just Fine ...
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bloody Good!!!! This game is very good but falls short of excellence. But why? Fun Factor: What makes a game fun for me is everything below...the sound and visual quality, the challenge, the storyline. What makes a game great is when all these factors are greater than the sum of their parts. I find this to be the case with Dark Cases: The Blood Ruby CE. I didn't want to stop playing. It's 2am now and I'm tired, but I've kept going, I've only stopped so I can write this review before turning off the computer. If a game motivates me like this it isn't because it's a big bore! I think the sound quality if very good; The voice overs are understandable, with use of good English and they tell the story as you progress through the mystery of your dear father's disappearance. There's a bit of a "fairy tale" feel to this edition which means a combo of a flight of fantasy and a bit of mystery. Background music is very important to me. I think it rounds out the experience, at a minimum. When it's great it improves the story and evokes emotional highs and lows, suspense, thrill, nervousness, peace, etc. Because the music is so repetitive, I can't give it an excellent rating, but only good. I think it communicates a certain "feel" but that feeling is monotony. While the music doesn't hurt this game, it doesn't take it to the next, higher level. Visually the colors are rich and deep and warm. Characters are well drawn and individual items look almost photograph-like rather than just illustrative. Level of Challenge: The puzzles were retreads but were well done. So, they were good, not great. The hidden object scenes offered no great challenge but were clear, well-identified and fun. There is a little but of interactivity as two items are combined to make one for quick use. Also, there's a bit of bonus feature: the silhouettes of an item or two are shown and the items must be found for immediate use. They complete the HOS and help move the story forward. The storyline is good: as I mentioned, your father is a policeman who's disappeared. Though not exactly clear how, you travel through time to before your father death and have an opportunity to save him. This is not a spoiler. You'll experience it in the first couple of minutes of play. One common feature of these HOG/Adventure/Puzzle games is the "feminine" personality of the "star." Seldom is it a male persona. So your dear policeman father who's missing, is the father of young lady. This is annoying (as I am a man) but it's not big enough problem to ruin it for me. I have completed a couple hours of this game and am enjoying it immensely. As is the norm for me, I opted to use the instruction. It's very minimal and unobtrusive, unlike the teaching portion of some other games which goes on for hours and is simply annoying. It would be terrible to miss the fun of this game because you don't like the teaching mode...it's clear and concise and the game rises above it, even if you are REPULSED by the extra help at the beginning. Just a note: the reason I always do the instruction mode isn't because I'm a dumb dumb, but because good games have unique characteristics and I'd rather know from the beginning what they are in terms of navigating the experience. Some hate this. Others, like me, prefer it. It's not a moral dilemma. Opt out of it. And if there's a little instruction despite opting out, don't let it ruin the whole game for you. It's a fun game! I'm not sure if there's an SE yet, and I don't care because of the great sale going on for CEs. If it were full price, I'd be unhappy with the expenditure (Not the game, just the $ for a CE) because there's nothing really CE about this. There is a strategy guide included and there is an interactive map which will hurry you along from one place to another if you choose. But I really like the other things: morphing objects, collectibles, achievements, etc. There is none of that. I guess the CE distinction is because there's wallpaper and music and re-playable mini-games and HOGs. Does anyone ever really use the wallpaper? Really? There is a bonus chapter...which I haven't gotten to yet. Hopefully it's excellent and not just a 10 minute gratuitous addition to justify the CE designation. So, as I said, a great game is better than the sum of its parts. This game is that. I love it. As an SE it would be 5 stars easily. Only because it's a CE and there are none of the extra fun things that I like in a CE it's gotta be a 4 out of 5 stars... but again, this is punitive because of the weak CE features. I heartily recommend this game. If you need a game NOW, buy it. If you can wait for an SE (or if you can find one for Mac right now) get the SE and save the money. Whatever you do, get this game at some point.
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Atmospheric - Thrilling - Engrossing - Review Of Completed Game Story: Your father, a police office has been murdered. You receive a package of his remaining possessions. . As you sort through his remaining possessions you discover his diary recording his last moments - and a strange amulet that takes you back in time one month before his murder to Easthaven to try and prevent his death along with solve the mystery behind The Blood Ruby. 6 Chapters (bonus review/extras at bottom) 3 Play Modes: You can change at any time. I played Expert mode the hardest mode. There are some black bar tips but for this game I didn't find them too intrusive. I didn't come across any sparkles. You may or may not. Hint I can't comment on its helpfulness outside of HOS cause I didn't use it but did notice the charge up and it's very slow along with the skip. Several minutes. Diary: Notes and some puzzle clues. MAP: I didn't use it but checked it out during the demo. This is transporter. In the easier modes shows where you are, things to do and areas that have been completed. Expert mode only shows where you are. HOS: These were for me few and far between. Found by word list. There are 3 off to the side that are find by silhouette and when you find those you fit them back into the scene. I had no problem here. These were very well done and fun for me. No hints here. INVENTORY: You do have to combine some items to be able to use them. The easier modes shows you which ones with a green plus sign next to them. In expert mode doesn't "highlight" them for you. Puzzles: The usual run of the mill however some had a different "style" to them. Most of these I found pretty easy and even fun. I did have to skip a couple of them. Main game came to a satisfactory conclusion for me. Bonus Chapter. This is a prequel and seemed to be a little on the short side but I thought it was very well done and is relevant to the main game. All new locations. None from the main game and the HOS are still the same as main game that is find the silhouettes and fit back into the scenes. There's puzzles of course. CE Extras: Bonus Chapter Strategy Guide 17 Concept Art 12 Wallpapers 12 Music 24 Mini games 30 videos MY PLAY TIME: Main game: 7 1/2 hrs. Bonus: 45 minutes. No hints. 2 skips. OVER IMPRESSION: I'll start by saying if you are sensitive to guns you may not like some of the scenes in this game however nothing gory. For me this game was... Wow! What an atmospheric, thrilling and engrossing game. I was hooked to this right from the get go and didn't stop playing until I got to the end. I was so into this game. I loved the story line. I thought the graphics and especially the long cut scenes at the beginning just excellent. I also really liked the characters and voice acting great. This to me seemed to be more on the adventure/task side than HOS and puzzles for me. It did start out where I was using things pretty much right away or didn't have to travel far but more into the game there was some back tracking (several scenes). I did get a little hung up where to go/do next but didn't take long to figure out and this game was definitely long enough for me. I thought this was great length. So why 4 stars? Well there was one thing that REALLY annoyed me about this game. It asks me if I want to do the tutorial and I say no but had to take it anyway. Why bother asking if I have to take it anyway? And it was a good 5 minutes long! LOL! Oh and of course for a CE the achievements and collectibles should be there. Yes I know some don't care and that's fine. To each their own but I do care. I love the achievements and collectibles. Thanks Big Fish for the sale getting it for $8.99 the reason I bought this to begin with and developer for an overall excellent game but do stop the madness with the tutorial and please include achievements/collectibles in your next CE offering. As always, give it a whirl and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cursed gem and time travel! Original and very good! Based on demo. The game starts out with the death of your police officer father. When you receive his amulet, you are transported back in time to before his death. A chance to change fate! But will the cursed ruby thwart your efforts?! The graphics are very good. Clean, crisp, and artistic. The VOs and cut scenes do not disappoint. The HOSs are mildly interactive and the puzzles of medium to hard difficulty. The music is fine---not too overwhelming. There is a journal to help you keep track of your progress and to record hints. The map lets you jump quickly from one scene to another and there is a task list to keep you focused. Now for the "However." However, this is a CE that has no collectibles, morphing objects, or achievements. These are the perks that make a CE a CE in my opinion. The extra game play, which is included, is never enough to warrant the extra money without collectibles, morphing objects, or achievements. Thus four stars and not five. I will definitely buy the SE when it arrives, but see no reason to pay twice as much for the CE without the perks.
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairly nice game... Wasn't it yesterday that I mentioned blood, guts and gore? Yep, and here we have it in today's game, although I haven't actually seen any blood. That said....nice graphics and game play. The game sounds dark and dreary, but it isn't really, although I didn't care much for watching people get shot. Combination of voice overs and written dialoge, which can be skipped, or clicked through quickly. Locking inventory bar, which I really like. SG button is at the top and out of the way of everything else, so you don't "accidentally" hit the wrong button, which can be very maddening! SG is very clear and easy to follow. Jump map has all of the locations identified. It looks like someone was listening, so you don't have to rack your brain trying to remember which room is which...huge time saver. Music is nice. Games are simple, but some do take a little thought to complete. HOGs are a little different, but items are not difficult to find and are useful within the game. So far, the only sparkles I saw were in the HOGs. Hint system is quite helpful and fills quickly. Not a lot of sound FX, but well done and realistic. There are no extras, so I'm not quite sure what makes this CE worthy. Looking at the jump map, it looks to be fairly long. I had 11 minutes left when the demo ran out in chapter 3. Naturally, the SG does not list all the chapters. This is not a real challenging game, but I am enjoying it and I will purchase. I'm just not sure if I will get it now during the special, or wait for the SE. I'm trying to cut way back on my CE purchases...I have 11 punch credits and no SE game worth getting. Tired of losing my credits. BF can track your outstanding and used punch credits, why can't they figure out how we can use them to purchase CE games? As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from JUST MISSED Even though the story was extremely interesting and unique, the game just didn't excite me as much as I had hoped. The voice overs were done rather nicely, especially the main character; the HOS were detailed and large enough that you weren't pixel hunting; the puzzles were moderately challenging; the gameplay was pretty straightforward; and the visuals were beautifully done. The cutscenes were well done - perhaps it was their frequency that was the undoing. It seemed you were playing just fine when you got another cutscene. It made the gameplay feel a little choppy. Whatever the reason, it is still has good production values and was well thought out and conceived. As others have said, the CE doesn't have quite enough to compel its purchase in lieu of the SE, so I'll just wait. Overall, it just doesn't feel like a 5-star to me (a 5-star to me is purchase within the next day or two).
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A CURSED RED RUBY! First of all I want to point out that the daughter of a police detective has a vivid dream about her fathers death, and it turns out to be true. Dad was wearing a protective amulet that was returned to his daughter after his death, she cries on it and it put's her smack dab into the past with a murderer! Her dad shows up to investigate the murder and the daughter explains that he is going to die and she shows him the amulet and he says "The stories are true it does protect our family" What? he was wearing it he dies, she was wearing it she gets trapped with a murderer! Now lets move on, Dad decides to leave her in the house alone with the uncaught murderer while he goes back to the station for backup! I'm thinking Father of the Year award! Anyway this is still a pretty good story and I always have to give a thumbs up to developers who think outside the box, in this case it's with the HOS. I liked the fact that in the left side of the HOS items list you will see some silhouetted items and after you find those items you use those items in the scene such as you find the silhouetted scissors then use those scissors to cut a ribbon on a package. There are a ton of mini games because of all the locks around the house that the owner had installed to keep her blood ruby safe. They are really fun puzzles and not too difficult. I was hoping to see achievements or collectables, anything to make this CE a little more worthwhile, otherwise I would have given it 5 stars, enjoy!
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not great I won't repeat what others have said. I agree with it all. I love this game, but, without the achievements and collectables/morphing items, it's just not up to snuff as a Collector's Edition. For the first time, I'm passing on this CE and will wait for the SE.
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from worth buying A really lovely game with a good length of game play ,visually great ,hidden object sequences quite easy but that does not spoil this game .Once again a game i have bought after playing the demo and was not disappointed. )
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Blood Ruby is cursed! It is hard to tell how long this is, as the Strategy Guide for the demo only has 3 Chapters. The game itself is fun and interesting, but without the bells and whistles found in most CE's. You play the daughter of a detective who has been killed by the evil man possessing the Blood Ruby. A family heirloom lets you travel back in time to a month before your father is killed, hopefully to save him. You arrive the home of Lady Campbell, who owns the ruby after discovering it at the Temple of Blood. Her jeweler warns her to get rid of it, as it has evil powers. You see Lady Campbell die, and the murderer steals the ruby. The murderer is just a minion, and is shortly killed by the true villain (who is maybe Lady Campbell's son Kay, who was made into a body from a doll using the ruby.# Whew! Great storyline! You get a hint button, an interactive map with available actions clearly marked, a bonus chapter, and a strategy guide which is useful in the very beginning. Once the map takes effect, it is sufficient to use as a guide. There are the normal 3 modes of play, but no achievements or collectibles as in most CEs. The HOS are all lists with a few silhouettes within the list to find and use to complete the HOS. None of these are hard. Also, the mini-games, mostly unique, are also fairly easy -- only used the SKIP button once! Inventory items are combined to make new items #and marked which ones to combine.) All in all, this is a very good game -- but not sure if it is worth the price of a CE.
Date published: 2013-09-14
  • y_2019, m_4, d_24, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_19355, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Cases: The Blood Ruby Collector's Edition

Your father was murdered while he was investigating a crime. Travel back through time to save him!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.