Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless
Exclusive

Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(410.77 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Eighteen years have passed since the last of Bluebeard's wives managed to escape with her life, and the life of their unborn son. As he approaches manhood, the young man now faces nightmares that threaten to drive him mad. His aunt reveals the true tale of his father's past. If he does not destroy the immortal heart that cursed his father, he shall die before his next birthday. Even as he approaches Bluebeard's Castle he can feel his heart slowing. He doesn't have much time. He must find the dark heart... or die trying in Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless, a heart-pounding Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game!

  • Return to Bluebeard's Castle
  • Challenging mini-games
  • Beautifully rendered, traditional art style
  • Try Bluebeard's Castle

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 672 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(410.77 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 76.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! Great game! The graphics are wonderful, similar to Drawn, and nice music, too. Puzzles aren't particularly hard, but fun to play. I enjoyed playing the first Bluebeard, and the sequel hasn't disappointed. And the best part is, they've made a really good game without making you run back and forth over the entire game looking for silly stuff. Very enjoyable to play. It's beautiful to look at, lovely to listen to, and intelligently designed. Well done Fanda Games, and thanks Big Fish!
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Heart Pounding!" First I'ld like to start by saying hi again to my fellow fishies. Been under the weather for quite some time, but am back again to give my 2 cent opinion of what I think is a very good SE game. Our story begins with a dying Count Giles de Brais laying in the woods when a dark spirit approaches him with an evil proposition. Immortality in exchange for the heart of someone he loved. One for every year. In dying desperation the Count agrees and immediately returns to life stronger and sinister as ever. Also his beard grows out blue, hence the name Bluebeard is born. The intro is narrated by his long lost son Jack who has been experiencing terrible nightmares and decides to ask his Aunt about them and that's when he learns that in"the curse" if Bluebeard has not kept his end of "the deal" someone in his family will die a young death. Upon hearing this Jack is told that he needs to get to Bluebeard's Castle and destroy the evil Heart or he will ultimately die soon. So thus our journey begins. We have been given 3 game play modes: Casual, Challenge and Expert. The music is very professional and booming! Symphonic and very dramatic. I had to turn it down a bit. The graphics are very well done and captivating along with some heart pounding sound effects. I love voice overs in a SE and these were very well done. You are given a journal and a separate circled area with your immediate objective. No map, but the hint button just shows you where to go and the area of action. There is quite a bit of back and forth and no transport. So a decent memory is a plus for this game. The HOG's I played were all interactive lists. A lot there- but clear and large enough to not need a magnifying glass! Nothing novel about the mini games (in the demo anyway) but fun none the less. In conclusion, I found my self excited about this SE and truly believe that it is well worth the time to try and then take advantage of the sale price or use a promo code, like me:) Have fun!
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mini Puzzles Make this a Great Game Based on the Demo The soundtrack for this game is great. The music is spooky, haunting, and ethereal. The voice overs are very well done. The visuals are beautiful and intriguing. Some of them are like a one dimensional drawing, others vibrant almost like a movie. The hero is on his way to his father Bluebeard's castle to locate and destroy the Dark Heart. His father had married six young women and murdered them all to fulfill his pact with a demon who saved his life. As the son of Bluebeard the hero, as is the rest of his family, is cursed. So the hero does what a hero does: find a way to save his family and to stop the curse. Along the way you will find an animated skeleton raven and an animated skeleton cat. They are enchanting and amazing, but unfortunately are in your way and you must find a way past them. The hidden object scenes are beautifully drawn, the junkpile and list type, with interactivity. It is the mini games that give this game a 5 star rating. They are phenomenal. They are different than other games: very thought provoking with multi tasks. The ship game is like a game in itself. There is a journal and a map, that you have to put together after you find the pieces, to assist you. It's a great game. It was an immediate buy for me.
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant, charming...a real delight! This is the second game in a series, the first being "Bluebeard's Castle" by Fanda Games. Both games are stand alone, although I rather liked playing them in order. Other reviewers have already commented on the graphics and music, as well as the story line. I wanted to add how original the puzzles were. Both games are a delight from start to finish. In Googling "Fanda Games" I could only find these two, but I will certainly purchase any and all other games these developers release, they are that delightful!
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden Gem I have given this five stars but would have given it more if I could. I got this game on a special offer and what a bargain that was. So much better than all the new games with lots of bells and whistles. I thought the storyline was excellent and the visual display was gorgeous. I never listen to the music so can't really comment on that. The HO games were just about the right level for me and generally I found everything after a good look. I enjoyed all the games and was able to complete most of them apart from a few that I skipped because I just couldn't see the way forward but they were in the minority. For me this game is a keeper that I will play again in the future.
Date published: 2016-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lke it I know some have called this a low budget game and it isn't the best on graphics but I really enjoyed the story and it has tons of puzzles, at least try it and then decide if you want to buy it
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning The quality of the art, music and writing is completely wonderful. It looks like it was produced by the same team as the Drawn series. I only wish it was a little more challenging, and a little longer.
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exquisite game Little jewels everywhere, loved it . Found I was a bit confused at times. This is my second go at this game bought it ages ago and would recommend it as a first rate adventure game
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't miss this delightful game! I do not often submit reviews but had to share my unexpected enjoyment of this game! Had almost passed on even trying it because of some reviews of tech problems and the fact that there was no walkthrough for it ...:( But.. decided to give a chance... and was quite surprised to be drawn into the game by its delightful art work and its novel and fun gameplay. I'm SO glad I gave it a try and bought it because I have enjoyed quite a few fun filled hours playing in it's charming world! And even look forward to playing it again sometime... which is also quite unusual for me. This game might not be for you but I think many of you would love it as much as I do.... at least give it a try...you, too may be delightfully surprised! Also at the end of the game I was reading the names on the credits and realized that it was made by a very small group of artists/producers.... hope they will be able to continue making many more delightful games like this one!!
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bluebeard's son I LOVE this game! Quite a bit different then the first Bluebeard; as it was hard for me to get thru. No hints to speak of, & it seemed like all you did was try to open various doors. This game had really good hints, even tho you had to wait a little. Good graphics & I loved the music. It's a buy for me!
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from visual pleasure I loved this story and the little games in between that stopped boredom creeping in, the graphics are gorgeous and instead of trying to be as human like as possible i loved the puppet style and cartoon figures. Story is interesting enough but it just looks so lovely that I wanted to see more and more, played with grandchildren who also loved the entire game. Just difficult enough to spend a quiet evening and complete.The drawing style reminded me of Drawn and the Dark Side.
Date published: 2014-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME!! I loved this game. It reminded me a little of the "Drawn" series and they are one of my favs. Great graphics, story line, voice overs and mini games. I wish it was a CE. It's worth the purchase or a free game buy. Happy Gaming! Addy
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Class B game, but an A in most every way! You've heard of B movies; this is a B game or as some other reviewer mentioned, one of the low budget games but I give it an A or 5 stars even with the negatives. It may not have the esthetics of a Blue Team Game or Elephant Game, but it's no slouch, to say the least! I'm almost finished with this SE version and I love the challenges of the puzzles and the unique HOS, some of which have moving critters within the scenes and you had better be fast on the draw with your mouse! Cool! VOS are very good, but there is one actor that speaks soooo slowly that I've opted to read the text rather than wait for him to finish. In this case, I don't mind all the HOS as even though there are quite a bit, but I look forwarding in doing them. The developers knew what they were doing with this one! It's not a difficult game but unique and exciting; the gameplay has momentum which is a plus! Some scenes are dark but the activities and the fun things to do keep you busy and engrossed. I'm playing in advanced mode and having the time of my life. Bravo to the developers on this great game.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these kind of adventure games this looks a lot like Drawn but the story is very different. fun game, lots of interactive puzzles to play with. my only complaint would be that sometimes the scene would get stuck and not take objects. I would have to exit the game and come back in for them to work. also it was very short. should have had at least 5 portholes instead of just three. but this was definitely worth getting.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Imaginative and fun These devs obviously took some inspiration from the Drawn series. Ten minute demo was enough for me to know that I was going to own it. I did play it on the hardest setting and I was absolutely charmed by every minute, every HO scene and every mini game. This one is not overly hard but really fun. I especially loved the library with the four pop up books. You must interact between these books to complete all the tasks. Each book even had it's own music. The HO scenes are bright and colorful, slightly interactive. The mini games are imaginative and numerous. This one only came in a SE version so it is really worth every penny. I would like to see Fanda games expand and do CE's as well. This game really took me back to all the fun and atmosphere of Drawn (my all time faves), and although it's not as long or epic.. it is a SE after all.. it is just as fun, entertaining and beautiful to look at. Really Really enjoyed this. Give the demo a shot and you'll see what I mean.
Date published: 2014-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love it I came across this game by chance and still wonder why its position in the Top Games rating is so low. Graphics is superb – something between Drawn, The Cave and Corpse Bride. You can actually see how much work and passion was spent on creating of those lovely animations. I love the moment when you use the crown and then appears an hand from the coffin and takes it away. I discerned every single detail in locations and giggled every five minutes. Maybe programming is something that is still worth improving, some navigation spots and areas were a little difficult to find but it doesn’t prevent it from being the best of the newly released games in last few months in my personal list. P.S. I’m not one of its developers, it is rather quite the opposite. But it is a bright example of inspiring work.
Date published: 2014-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bluebeard's Castle demo This game reminds me of the Drawn. From the demo i think i might buy this one
Date published: 2014-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this game surprize me! i really enjoy playing this game so much i bought the first game blue beard castle.
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful art, fun puzzles, enjoyable gameplay! I liked the first Bluebeard's Castle game, but this one blows it out of the water in terms of artistic quality. There are references to the first game in the visuals and story, which is a nice throwback. The graphics overall are right up my alley - I'm a fan of hand-drawn art and cell-shading; each area that you investigate has its own unique feel, while the entire game is still cohesive in style. The HOPs were well-rendered and clear, so that the challenge was in finding the items rather than figuring out what the heck you're looking at. The music is perfect for setting the scene and the sound and voice acting were a good fit for the story. For the most part, the puzzles were self-explanatory and mildly challenging. There were a couple in particular that made me hit "reset" several times until I got the answer, though. Overall, it's a good game to play if you want to do a bit of thinking but don't want to be frustrated with time- and thought-intensive puzzles. I enjoyed the story tie-in to the previous game, but I wish the relationships between the main character and his mother, father, and aunt had been elaborated on a bit. The ending was a lovely pay-off for finishing the game; there are entirely too many HOP games that, after the final "confrontation," immediately cut to the credits with no true ending cinematic or story finale. This game, however, includes a lovely ending sequence that makes the most of the beautiful graphics and made me feel like the entire story had been wrapped up nicely. I can't recommend this game highly enough, and I'm disappointed that the small studio who produced this game and its predecessor haven't produced any other games (that I know of).
Date published: 2020-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BEAUTIFUL ART WORK! Game is simply Gorgeous Much Artistic Talent Story is interesting Music is Nice Gameplay reminds me of Puppet Show Series Enjoyed playing it once But not really a Replay for me Demo the game if you are on the fence I would say dont miss out on this one Its def a bit under priced for such a nice game
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent HO adventure surrounding Bluebeard legend This is one of the better storylines I have encountered in an HO game. The plot is easy to follow. The characters are well drawn. Unfortunately, the very handsome fellow at the beginning of the game is only seen at the start and end of the game. The game has a very good flow with respect to HO scenes, tasks, and mini puzzles, all of which have just the right amount of challenge without being overly vexing to solve. Although it does not have a BF strategy guide, the Hint button and helpful messages that pop up when you hover over an object provided all the help I needed, and I only had to use the Hint button a few times playing on advanced mode. Note: there is no teleporting through the map icon. This is a thoroughly enjoyable game, and I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked it!!!! There is something special about this game. It doesn't let you off the hook and you have to go hunting but its fun. Yes I got frustrated but I headed back to it to figure it out. I also liked the graphics and the story.
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Same design as DRAWN These are the people who brought you the Drawn series, which I loved. The design, music, colors are very recognizable. That's fine, but I noticed a couple of elements that seemed to be borrowed directly from the Drawn design boards. Why design new scenery when you can just reuse what you've got? There seemed to be less energy and thought put into this story line. It seemed to be "phoned in" as they say. The end of the story seemed abrupt; and some elements confused me. They seemed to come out of nowhere. Still, it was fun to play.
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless I was pleasantly surprised that this was such a fun game. It was different and challenging. The HO's were a bit easy and as were some of the puzzles. However, other puzzles were harder. I love games that don't follow the usual and this game is one that breaks the mold and does it well. If you don't like different then this is not for you. But I recommend trying this game. It's enjoyable and fun!
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Game, But a Bit Short This game was fun to play, but the game is short. You are Bluebeard's son and have to rid the castle and village of the dark heart. Game play is linear, so there is very little back-and-forth. The graphics are nice, the cut scenes and voice overs are really well done, the music is annoying (I muted it), the iHOS are nice and not too dark, the mini games are really fun. You have a journal and map, both are helpful. The game was short. I had one mini game that didn't work properly and I had to use the skip button. I recommend this game.
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FIND THE HEART The special effects were spectacular; voice overs were good; music was appropriate to set the mood; hint system works good (shows you what inventory tool to use in what location); sound effects were apropros to the atmosphere. Good production values. I wasn't particularly taken in by the storyline. When searching the HOS and doing the mini-games, I often wondered what they had to do with the story. Sometimes, I was wondering why I was doing something. I liked the stylistic artwork (and I don't understand why almost everytime a developer chooses to use stylistic artwork, there are some who think it's low-budget instead of determining if the look is what they were after. It takes a special type of artist to make those looks. Everything else like voice overs, effects, et al do NOT point to a low-budget production.) What I didn't like is that the demo only runs to a certain point before it's over. [At least, it was close to the hour trial.] Overall, a good game; it's just not me.
Date published: 2014-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delightful If Unexpected Sequel BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS I remember having a lot of fun with the first Bluebeard’s Castle, but I don’t think it was ever a big hit and I certainly didn’t expect a sequel. But then, who would have guessed Bluebeard would keep a bride alive long enough to have an heir? SIGHTS & SOUNDS This game is somewhat different in looks, but it is still clearly Bluebeard’s Castle that we arrive at, even if it is totally dilapidated. The intro shows us a marvellously clear image of ourselves, the unfortunate son of Bluebeard. This is followed by the complete backstory of Bluebeard and his curse, told in an almost graphic novel style. The graphics for the rest of the game are fantasy graphics – bold and colourful, surreal and a bit cartoony. It is not a bad choice, though I suppose many will criticise. But to me it was similar to the fantasy graphics in Nightmare Realm. In any case, they are clear and very high quality, whatever you think of the style. The music in the intro is dramatic and arresting, but in the rest of the game so far, is eerie and non-intrusive, and in keeping with the first game, there are no voiceovers. One thing I do miss from the original is the rhyming hints. They added a little something different. WHAT’S HAPPENING? You are having nightmares in which you are a monster, stealing the lives of innocent women. Your aunt is forced to tell you the truth about your father, and how she defeated him and saved your mother’s soul. (This is the character we played last time.) This has brought a curse down on the castle and on the heirs, who are all doomed to dying young. You must find the “dark heart”, which is the demon force of the curse, to save not only yourself, but also the castle inhabitants and the town below. GAMEPLAY There are more puzzles than HOPs so far in the demo. The puzzles are easy, with the exception of a couple with unhelpful instructions. The HOPs are interactive lists, with a fair amount of interaction. You can click on an item in the list and see a silhouette of it on the side. The scenes are not animated, except for a specific item on the list which must be caught on the move. This fun and not hard. There are a lot of fun animated graphics outside the scenes to make up for their absence here. Adventure gameplay is not too difficult, the journal is useful. The hint shows you what item you need next and where it is, but you must go to the map if you want to jump. And the map does not indicate active tasks, so the two must be used in tandem. The game moves a little slowly at this point, but the exploration of the old castle holds many little quests. There is a game timer, and achievements based on the statistics collected. These are all based on the time it takes to complete puzzles, including HOPs. Each achievement is awarded on a different time range, so you get awards of one sort for doing a puzzle under 1 min, and another for under 3 mins. Etc. COMBINED IMPACT I really enjoyed myself, despite the somewhat old-fashioned style of the game, and it’s slightly cartoony feel. I played the beta for this game ages ago, and am glad to say that specifics have been changed, obviously as a result of the survey. I love a developer that listens to its players! Extra brownie points for this entertaining surprise package!
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If you liked the Drawn series, you'll love this game This game was nothing like I thought it would be. Because there is no walkthrough yet, I thought I would be stumped because there was no map. But alas! you earned the map pieces early in the game which helped a lot. The music was soothing, the storyline was good, the graphics were great. If you loved the Drawn series as I did, this game was a nice surprise. Usually I play a game and then remove it from my computer to save space, but this game I kept because I will play it again and again. I only had one little glich, but I exited the game and re-entered and everything was fine. The hidden objects were sometimes words, sometimes pictures. The mini games were fun and there is an explanation of what you need to do to accomplish your goal. I liked the voiceovers because they tone was soothing and interesting. I would highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Creepy Castle Worth a Closer Look When I saw the dark, eerie but cartoon-like graphics I nearly deleted it right then. The weird, distorted figures and scenery faintly reminded me of "The Old Mill" sequence in Disney's Phantasia. But I decided to stick with it a bit and I'm glad because there are some very good things about this odd "good vs. evil" romp. The game is more adventure than HO although the HO scenes are plentiful. You've got lots of small well hidden objects to find and use outside those scenes and a slooooly recharging hint button which when usable, is actually very helpful. Hints are images of a location with the objective circled and all you need do is go there and try to relate what you saw to the actual scene. The shadowy inventory is lockable and the objects within it are labeled so can easily be found. HO's are mildly interactive with hints as to what to do to find 2 or 3 step items. Puzzles have many missing parts you've gotta find to solve them. Skipping is an option on the "easy" level, with no penalty for misclicks in HO's. All this assembly slows the story but makes for suspense and a desire to find out what the heck's gonna happen next. So my advice is to give it a fair trial and not be "put off" by graphics or darkness #It's a cursed castle after all!# and you may find it a creepy pleasure.
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A surprisingly good game I played the original game and enjoyed it but I was a bit doubtful about a sequel. I was so wrong it is better . The style is similar to Drawn and possibly Princess Isabella But the game play is definately in the relms of Drawn. If you are not familiar the artwork has a cartoonish feel not too many HO's more like an adventure game but if you get stuck a map indicating where there are things to do and a hint button which gives a screen shot of what you need to do ! Ok, the story involves the son of the only Bride to escape the castle who now returns to break the curse of his father . The opening segment of the game is dark and creepy But as the game moves on this changes to vibrant and colourful locations So if you were put off at the castle stick with it for a SE this really does have a lot to offer
Date published: 2014-02-13
  • y_2020, m_4, d_7, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_76
  • loc_en_US, sid_20557, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless

His mother escaped her murdering husband just before he was born. Now the son of Bluebeard must break his father's curse.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.