Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless
Exclusive

Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(410.77 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Eighteen years have passed since the last of Bluebeard's wives managed to escape with her life, and the life of their unborn son. As he approaches manhood, the young man now faces nightmares that threaten to drive him mad. His aunt reveals the true tale of his father's past. If he does not destroy the immortal heart that cursed his father, he shall die before his next birthday. Even as he approaches Bluebeard's Castle he can feel his heart slowing. He doesn't have much time. He must find the dark heart... or die trying in Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless, a heart-pounding Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game!

  • Return to Bluebeard's Castle
  • Challenging mini-games
  • Beautifully rendered, traditional art style
  • Try Bluebeard's Castle

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 672 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(410.77 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 75.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Unique Little Game! I've really enjoyed playing this game, the storyline is fun and the puzzles are not just the standard fare. Struggled with some of the puzzles, fortunately found a walkthrough for a couple of puzzles. It really engaged me, and time slipped by. It didn't have a lot of the extras, that people have come to expect, but a solid game and for me, worth the money. I haven't heard of Fanda Games before but I'll start watching out for them.
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from visual pleasure I loved this story and the little games in between that stopped boredom creeping in, the graphics are gorgeous and instead of trying to be as human like as possible i loved the puppet style and cartoon figures. Story is interesting enough but it just looks so lovely that I wanted to see more and more, played with grandchildren who also loved the entire game. Just difficult enough to spend a quiet evening and complete.The drawing style reminded me of Drawn and the Dark Side.
Date published: 2014-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME!! I loved this game. It reminded me a little of the "Drawn" series and they are one of my favs. Great graphics, story line, voice overs and mini games. I wish it was a CE. It's worth the purchase or a free game buy. Happy Gaming! Addy
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Class B game, but an A in most every way! You've heard of B movies; this is a B game or as some other reviewer mentioned, one of the low budget games but I give it an A or 5 stars even with the negatives. It may not have the esthetics of a Blue Team Game or Elephant Game, but it's no slouch, to say the least! I'm almost finished with this SE version and I love the challenges of the puzzles and the unique HOS, some of which have moving critters within the scenes and you had better be fast on the draw with your mouse! Cool! VOS are very good, but there is one actor that speaks soooo slowly that I've opted to read the text rather than wait for him to finish. In this case, I don't mind all the HOS as even though there are quite a bit, but I look forwarding in doing them. The developers knew what they were doing with this one! It's not a difficult game but unique and exciting; the gameplay has momentum which is a plus! Some scenes are dark but the activities and the fun things to do keep you busy and engrossed. I'm playing in advanced mode and having the time of my life. Bravo to the developers on this great game.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't miss this delightful game! I do not often submit reviews but had to share my unexpected enjoyment of this game! Had almost passed on even trying it because of some reviews of tech problems and the fact that there was no walkthrough for it ...:( But.. decided to give a chance... and was quite surprised to be drawn into the game by its delightful art work and its novel and fun gameplay. I'm SO glad I gave it a try and bought it because I have enjoyed quite a few fun filled hours playing in it's charming world! And even look forward to playing it again sometime... which is also quite unusual for me. This game might not be for you but I think many of you would love it as much as I do.... at least give it a try...you, too may be delightfully surprised! Also at the end of the game I was reading the names on the credits and realized that it was made by a very small group of artists/producers.... hope they will be able to continue making many more delightful games like this one!!
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these kind of adventure games this looks a lot like Drawn but the story is very different. fun game, lots of interactive puzzles to play with. my only complaint would be that sometimes the scene would get stuck and not take objects. I would have to exit the game and come back in for them to work. also it was very short. should have had at least 5 portholes instead of just three. but this was definitely worth getting.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Imaginative and fun These devs obviously took some inspiration from the Drawn series. Ten minute demo was enough for me to know that I was going to own it. I did play it on the hardest setting and I was absolutely charmed by every minute, every HO scene and every mini game. This one is not overly hard but really fun. I especially loved the library with the four pop up books. You must interact between these books to complete all the tasks. Each book even had it's own music. The HO scenes are bright and colorful, slightly interactive. The mini games are imaginative and numerous. This one only came in a SE version so it is really worth every penny. I would like to see Fanda games expand and do CE's as well. This game really took me back to all the fun and atmosphere of Drawn (my all time faves), and although it's not as long or epic.. it is a SE after all.. it is just as fun, entertaining and beautiful to look at. Really Really enjoyed this. Give the demo a shot and you'll see what I mean.
Date published: 2014-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love it I came across this game by chance and still wonder why its position in the Top Games rating is so low. Graphics is superb – something between Drawn, The Cave and Corpse Bride. You can actually see how much work and passion was spent on creating of those lovely animations. I love the moment when you use the crown and then appears an hand from the coffin and takes it away. I discerned every single detail in locations and giggled every five minutes. Maybe programming is something that is still worth improving, some navigation spots and areas were a little difficult to find but it doesn’t prevent it from being the best of the newly released games in last few months in my personal list. P.S. I’m not one of its developers, it is rather quite the opposite. But it is a bright example of inspiring work.
Date published: 2014-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHAT AN AWESOME LITTLE GAME! I was hooked within minutes of starting the demo. This game for an SE was excellent. It was not hard, but just challenging enough, and you glided right through it. The HO scenes were not cluttered, but still gave you "pause" from time to time. Just a great game from start to finish. Unique games in every scene, somewhat different from the usual. I am ready for another! Thanks for a great weekend while recouping from surgery!
Date published: 2014-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bluebeard's Castle demo This game reminds me of the Drawn. From the demo i think i might buy this one
Date published: 2014-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional Game!! This is one of those rare gems I find every now and then. It has everything I love, and a bunch of new things too. The graphics are beautiful- clear and colorful. The game play has so much variety I can't begin to describe it all now. One of my favorites was when I was in the library and had to work among different books doing things to get items to use to help solve the problems in each book to ultimately complete the task - that to me was very challenging and fun. I love hidden objects, and this one had some very nice ones. Games within games, great mini games! To me it is not short, but when I love a game like this one, I wish it could go on and on and on. Give it a try... I'm so glad I did!!
Date published: 2014-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! Great game! The graphics are wonderful, similar to Drawn, and nice music, too. Puzzles aren't particularly hard, but fun to play. I enjoyed playing the first Bluebeard, and the sequel hasn't disappointed. And the best part is, they've made a really good game without making you run back and forth over the entire game looking for silly stuff. Very enjoyable to play. It's beautiful to look at, lovely to listen to, and intelligently designed. Well done Fanda Games, and thanks Big Fish!
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this game surprize me! i really enjoy playing this game so much i bought the first game blue beard castle.
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mini Puzzles Make this a Great Game Based on the Demo The soundtrack for this game is great. The music is spooky, haunting, and ethereal. The voice overs are very well done. The visuals are beautiful and intriguing. Some of them are like a one dimensional drawing, others vibrant almost like a movie. The hero is on his way to his father Bluebeard's castle to locate and destroy the Dark Heart. His father had married six young women and murdered them all to fulfill his pact with a demon who saved his life. As the son of Bluebeard the hero, as is the rest of his family, is cursed. So the hero does what a hero does: find a way to save his family and to stop the curse. Along the way you will find an animated skeleton raven and an animated skeleton cat. They are enchanting and amazing, but unfortunately are in your way and you must find a way past them. The hidden object scenes are beautifully drawn, the junkpile and list type, with interactivity. It is the mini games that give this game a 5 star rating. They are phenomenal. They are different than other games: very thought provoking with multi tasks. The ship game is like a game in itself. There is a journal and a map, that you have to put together after you find the pieces, to assist you. It's a great game. It was an immediate buy for me.
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Destroy The Black Heart Curse! I'm really starting to like these low budget hidden object adventures. This is a fantastic stand alone Standard Edition that has everything you need to thoroughly enjoy playing a game. The graphics are cartoonish, but super clear and HD quality. The music is what you would expect from a haunted castle (if I ever enter a haunted castle, there had better be some creepy music playing somewhere!) I was totally hooked from the beginning because they have crammed something to find or do in almost every inch of each scene, not to mention beautiful owls, birds, squirrel's and some very creepy skeleton cats and crows are everywhere! Almost every scene has a HO game and I will admit they are very easy interactive list finds but very well done. As I mentioned before, there are a ton of puzzles or mini games, some of which I haven't seen before such as matching the size of stars on the outside ring of a clock with the much smaller scaled stars on the face of the actual clock so that a beam of light shoots from each star to make a star in the middle. The hint button will show you the scene itself and the inventory action that needs to take place. I have enjoyed the demo so much that I plan on taking advantage of today's sale. You should really consider this game, I know a lot of people will pass this one over but it worth your time to give it a try, I know you're gonna love it too, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Heart Pounding!" First I'ld like to start by saying hi again to my fellow fishies. Been under the weather for quite some time, but am back again to give my 2 cent opinion of what I think is a very good SE game. Our story begins with a dying Count Giles de Brais laying in the woods when a dark spirit approaches him with an evil proposition. Immortality in exchange for the heart of someone he loved. One for every year. In dying desperation the Count agrees and immediately returns to life stronger and sinister as ever. Also his beard grows out blue, hence the name Bluebeard is born. The intro is narrated by his long lost son Jack who has been experiencing terrible nightmares and decides to ask his Aunt about them and that's when he learns that in"the curse" if Bluebeard has not kept his end of "the deal" someone in his family will die a young death. Upon hearing this Jack is told that he needs to get to Bluebeard's Castle and destroy the evil Heart or he will ultimately die soon. So thus our journey begins. We have been given 3 game play modes: Casual, Challenge and Expert. The music is very professional and booming! Symphonic and very dramatic. I had to turn it down a bit. The graphics are very well done and captivating along with some heart pounding sound effects. I love voice overs in a SE and these were very well done. You are given a journal and a separate circled area with your immediate objective. No map, but the hint button just shows you where to go and the area of action. There is quite a bit of back and forth and no transport. So a decent memory is a plus for this game. The HOG's I played were all interactive lists. A lot there- but clear and large enough to not need a magnifying glass! Nothing novel about the mini games (in the demo anyway) but fun none the less. In conclusion, I found my self excited about this SE and truly believe that it is well worth the time to try and then take advantage of the sale price or use a promo code, like me:) Have fun!
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game.... I played this to the end and it took about 4 hours. Chose hard core mode, so quite a long wait for skip and hint refills. If I'd looked at options first, I'd have noticed you can turn the sparkles off in 'other' modes also. This game kept me hooked from start to finish, and I was sad when it came to an end. Cute cartoony graphics, music was pleasant, level of challenge was spot on and the map was very useful and let you jump to scenes with tasks to do. Puzzles were mainly fairly easy (only skipped a few) and nicely done. HOPs were well drawn, interactive, largish objects mainly and there weren't too many crammed into this game. I could play games of this calibre all day. Better than many CEs, and it ran seamlessly on my Mac. Hope there's more to come from these devs, and I shall look out for them. So many awful 'non CEs' lately, that this came as a pleasant surprise! And games were discounted today as well. Would happily have paid full price for this one!
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bluebeard's son I LOVE this game! Quite a bit different then the first Bluebeard; as it was hard for me to get thru. No hints to speak of, & it seemed like all you did was try to open various doors. This game had really good hints, even tho you had to wait a little. Good graphics & I loved the music. It's a buy for me!
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BEAUTIFUL ART WORK! Game is simply Gorgeous Much Artistic Talent Story is interesting Music is Nice Gameplay reminds me of Puppet Show Series Enjoyed playing it once But not really a Replay for me Demo the game if you are on the fence I would say dont miss out on this one Its def a bit under priced for such a nice game
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent HO adventure surrounding Bluebeard legend This is one of the better storylines I have encountered in an HO game. The plot is easy to follow. The characters are well drawn. Unfortunately, the very handsome fellow at the beginning of the game is only seen at the start and end of the game. The game has a very good flow with respect to HO scenes, tasks, and mini puzzles, all of which have just the right amount of challenge without being overly vexing to solve. Although it does not have a BF strategy guide, the Hint button and helpful messages that pop up when you hover over an object provided all the help I needed, and I only had to use the Hint button a few times playing on advanced mode. Note: there is no teleporting through the map icon. This is a thoroughly enjoyable game, and I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked it!!!! There is something special about this game. It doesn't let you off the hook and you have to go hunting but its fun. Yes I got frustrated but I headed back to it to figure it out. I also liked the graphics and the story.
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Same design as DRAWN These are the people who brought you the Drawn series, which I loved. The design, music, colors are very recognizable. That's fine, but I noticed a couple of elements that seemed to be borrowed directly from the Drawn design boards. Why design new scenery when you can just reuse what you've got? There seemed to be less energy and thought put into this story line. It seemed to be "phoned in" as they say. The end of the story seemed abrupt; and some elements confused me. They seemed to come out of nowhere. Still, it was fun to play.
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless I was pleasantly surprised that this was such a fun game. It was different and challenging. The HO's were a bit easy and as were some of the puzzles. However, other puzzles were harder. I love games that don't follow the usual and this game is one that breaks the mold and does it well. If you don't like different then this is not for you. But I recommend trying this game. It's enjoyable and fun!
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Game, But a Bit Short This game was fun to play, but the game is short. You are Bluebeard's son and have to rid the castle and village of the dark heart. Game play is linear, so there is very little back-and-forth. The graphics are nice, the cut scenes and voice overs are really well done, the music is annoying (I muted it), the iHOS are nice and not too dark, the mini games are really fun. You have a journal and map, both are helpful. The game was short. I had one mini game that didn't work properly and I had to use the skip button. I recommend this game.
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FIND THE HEART The special effects were spectacular; voice overs were good; music was appropriate to set the mood; hint system works good (shows you what inventory tool to use in what location); sound effects were apropros to the atmosphere. Good production values. I wasn't particularly taken in by the storyline. When searching the HOS and doing the mini-games, I often wondered what they had to do with the story. Sometimes, I was wondering why I was doing something. I liked the stylistic artwork (and I don't understand why almost everytime a developer chooses to use stylistic artwork, there are some who think it's low-budget instead of determining if the look is what they were after. It takes a special type of artist to make those looks. Everything else like voice overs, effects, et al do NOT point to a low-budget production.) What I didn't like is that the demo only runs to a certain point before it's over. [At least, it was close to the hour trial.] Overall, a good game; it's just not me.
Date published: 2014-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If you liked the Drawn series, you'll love this game This game was nothing like I thought it would be. Because there is no walkthrough yet, I thought I would be stumped because there was no map. But alas! you earned the map pieces early in the game which helped a lot. The music was soothing, the storyline was good, the graphics were great. If you loved the Drawn series as I did, this game was a nice surprise. Usually I play a game and then remove it from my computer to save space, but this game I kept because I will play it again and again. I only had one little glich, but I exited the game and re-entered and everything was fine. The hidden objects were sometimes words, sometimes pictures. The mini games were fun and there is an explanation of what you need to do to accomplish your goal. I liked the voiceovers because they tone was soothing and interesting. I would highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple fun Liked it.Nice graphics rather easy hidden object scenes but overall cute.
Date published: 2014-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very well done! Never played the original, but I will now! What a great twist on the genre - never getting tired or boring. Well worth every penny spent! Hope there is another in the series!
Date published: 2014-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Enjoyable Game ... But A Little Short ... Nice Graphics, Sounds, Effects, Voice & Video Bits ... And Enjoyable Game, But Seemed A Little Short In Game Play... Worth A Deal To Fill A Gap ...
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bluebeard's Castle--excellent but with a few flaws I found Bluebeard's Castle charming and artistic. Really liked the graphics and the music. The mini-games, with some exceptions, were on my level, though a couple of them were incomprehensible to me. I admit I don't like mini-games in which moving one part moves others--no patience wiith these. The problems for me other than some of the mini-games were that the game kept freezing up on me and generally ran rather slow. I had to re-install the game once and, several times, turn it off with Task Manager and restart. Of course, this could be a problem with my computer, which is slipping into old age.
Date published: 2014-02-15
  • y_2017, m_11, d_20, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_75
  • loc_en_US, sid_20557, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless

His mother escaped her murdering husband just before he was born. Now the son of Bluebeard must break his father's curse.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.