Grimville: The Gift of Darkness

Grimville: The Gift of Darkness

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(458.79 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Darkness has engulfed the quiet town of Grimville! Use all your cunning and wits to unravel the evil intrigues and save Grimville from the invasion of Darkness in this exciting hidden-object puzzle adventure game! Interact with characters to find more details in your investigation, uncover the old legend of the Magic Tower and the Gift of Darkness, and solve the mystery of the missing mayor. Your choices determine the ending. What will you choose: the path of justice or selfishness?

  • You decide: your choices lead to 2 different endings!
  • Fantastic, chilling storyline with unexpected twists
  • Mind-blowing mini-games and hidden-object scenes

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 758 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Grimville: The Gift of Darkness

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(458.79 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Grimville: The Gift of Darkness is rated 2.9 out of 5 by 58.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a great friendly game this is something very different, so nice and such a great wallpaper. A played a lot but this you must have.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grimville; wonderful! I loved this game! I've been waiting for a cartoonlike game to come along & Big Fish came thru as usual. There isn't anything I didn't like about this game except maybe the music. It was a little same old, same old,but that was easily remedied. I wish there were more HO's like this one.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good adventure, but not light and funny... The graphics are what got my attention in the first place. I thought the cartoony style would reflect a comic feel in the game but it was your basic dark and gloomy "must defeat the demon" type of game. The graphics are, as another reviewer noted, similar to the Drawn series, which I liked very much. The story was interesting enough and there was a lot of adventure game feel throughout, with enough hidden object scenes to satisfy those who really enjoy them. This is a good game and ran fine for me, but if you're looking for something funny, like Tiny Bang Story or the like, this isn't it. If you're after an adventurish game that looks and plays a little differently from the rest, this is a good choice.
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Hidden Gem! This game is today's daily deal and I played it dispite the "average" rating. I'm glad I did! This is not your average HOPA. The characters give you tasks to do to further your investagation into a wearwolf murder. Their attitudes and humor further my enjoyment of the game. Sometimes you have to make decisions, other reviews get into this so I won't. The visuals have a comical quality to them and I like it, for a change. I turn the music off so I can't comment. If you like to take your time and read what the characters have to say, like me, you will enjoy the game as I did. If not, then you won't understand the story as it unfolds. If you'e looking for something different that doesn't strain your brain then you should give Grimville:The Gift of Darkness a try!
Date published: 2014-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Give it a chance! I downloaded the demo for this before it was rated and after I played it, I was really surprised to see the bad reviews, so I thought I'd chip in on the positive side. I thought this game would be very dark right at the beginning, but I soon found myself hauling luggage around a train station instead of fighting the forces of evil. Now, that sounds like a bad thing, and if it was done badly, it would have been, but this story was so charming, I was totally hooked! There are no voice overs and the map is pretty, but useless. And being able to jump from location to location would have been handy. There are way more HO scenes than I normally like, but all of the items are clear and easy to find and you know why you are doing them. I rattled through them without pause and had fun with them. Unlike many games, you don't need to explore every tiny bit of the scene to check that you've got everything. This was more of a 'wave your cursor around and take a quick look'. Throughout the town there are people and places to interactive with, but they aren't available unless it's time for them to do so. So, although you might not be able to get into the smithy sometimes, you'll get in there when you need to. I found the story really good and, although the art was in a cartoon-ish style, it was well done and fitted into the atmosphere. The thing that makes this game different, is the choices you make. Throughout the game you are given decisions to make and your choice has consequences. All in all, I really liked this game. It was quirky and different and I suggest you give it a try. You might just be surprised.
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's funny I liked this game, it's rather humorous, funny and reminds me of City of Fools. Even though this is a childlike/cartoon game, the language is definitely NOT for kids. When talking with one of the townspeople the word Bull-**** was included... lol. Not for kids, I wonder who tested the game and deemed it worthy for the public? (HINT:SPOILER) So it's a lot of back and forth, I had to use hints to find out the next location and what to do. There is a fork in the road and it's beyond the circus. The game itself is very well drawn, cartoonish and cute. You can talk to everyone, but they may not have much to say until you need to perform a task. Then they listen and respond. And there are plenty of tasks. There are also decisions to be made for prosecuting criminals... do you let them go or do you have them arrested and make them pay for the crime? The story is good, I've yet to finish the game. It's intriguing and pretty well written. The game play is twisty, though logical. I have a really fast computer that I bought to play games, and there is a lag in loading, I thought my computer had locked up, so it will take some patience waiting for the scenes to change. And even with this, I like the game and it's a buy for me.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Test of Your Morality? It took me about 20 minutes to appreciate this game, which is just kind of odd and slow moving. When the name of the town is Grimville you can't expect happiness and and cheerfulness! This is an adventure game with a cartoon theme and several scenarios which you choose the outcome. For example, a man approaches you and asks you to distract the Doctor while he robs the man. He promises to give you some money which you need for the ride into town. You are given the choice to inform the Doctor that he will be robbed, or take the route of distraction and split the loot, thus a game to test your morals. That's an awesome concept but the game itself tends to be a bit confusing, often wondering what you are supposed to do next. There are only two modes of difficulty, easy (with easy puzzles) and hard (with more difficult puzzles) You click on characters and they make a weird grunting noise and unless you are supposed to get valid information from that character you get a vague response, all of which you need to read due to lack of voice overs. You are given a task of helping a character in exchange for money or information for example you may have to earn money from one character in order to buy candy from a vendor in order to give that candy to yet another character in exchange for information on a person you are investigating. There aren't really a lot of inventory items laying around to collect, most items you receive are from the characters or are in a hidden object game. The HOS are slightly interactive such as opening a drawer to reveal an item, and they are actually done pretty well, although they do double up on the hidden object scenes. I choose the setting with the harder mini games but they didn't seem too difficult in my opinion and you can always skip them. The mini game I liked the best was where you had to start a conveyor belt full of different sized suitcases and packages, and place 20 packages into the correct opening according to the size of the package and it may sound easy but the conveyor belt wasn't exactly going that slow and if you chose the wrong slot it would return to the belt and packages would fall off the belt leaving you having to start all over! There were plenty of mini games, and I would like to have seen more HOS, I loved the fact that you could choose which scenario you wanted but in my opinion, something was lacking in this game. Perhaps the lack of voice overs, the lack of activities or just the weird noises the characters made were the things that keep me from giving kudos to this game. It wasn't a bad game, it just doesn't have any wow factors for me.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different Hidden Object I always enjoy a HO game that gives you different challenges. This game is different and fun because there is always a question as to what you need to do next. It isn't the same repetition over and over. A little challenge along the way. Thanks BF.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'VE SEEN THE LIGHT! This is based on the demo. This game is FUN! Two modes of play, casual and expert. You can skip tutorial. Cartoon characters with written words. You can choose to be a good person or a bad one. You are given things to do and find in order to progress. Not a lot of HOS and what there are appear interesting. No junk piles - a bit interactive. It's a different game than the usual.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quirky Fun, But Not For Everyone **Based on the demo, but I like it enough to purchase!** I know that some people are going to dislike this game, but I think it's fun in an offbeat and quirky way. It requires the use of brainpower. Nothing is completely laid out for you. You must use the little gray cells to figure out who to talk to and what to do next. The hint button refills within a moderate amount of time and gives just enough info to keep you going in the right direction, but does not 'play' the game for you. The artwork is simplistic. I liked it, as I'm weary of sensory bombardment, but I am sure there will be many who won't. The music is a bit boring, but lower the volume or use your mute button if it bothers you. There are no VOs, so you won't miss anything without the sound. The puzzles are not too hard and are different from the norm: crank the well by keeping a bouncing bucket within the circle, arrange suitcases from a moving conveyor to the appropriate cubbies, etc. They keep to the story, which is always a good thing, and are not just random puzzles thrown here and there. A few too many for my taste, but they are skippable. There are plenty of HOs for those of us who love them and they correspond to the task: finding a rope or lantern at the blacksmith, for example. My only gripe- there are times when you have many of the listed objects in a scene and only a few of them are clickable. For example: 3 stars were listed for you to find, yet there was a ceiling full of stars that were not part of the action. Another time, you are looking for a brick, but the furnace is made of bricks. You have to find the one single brick. Not a game killer, but certainly an annoyance. By the way, you return to various sites again and again, so if backtracking is a game ender for you, then you may not like this one. For some reason, it didn't bother me this time. Grimville is a fun game for those times when you want something relaxing that requires you to think a little but not a lot. I recommend that you try before you buy, since it most certainly will not be for everyone. It will require too much thinking for some and too little for others.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Grimville is too grim for children At first glance (and in the trial period), this seemed like a game for children. I liked the cartoony characters and the bright colors. The story-telling episodes were quite attractive in that they looked like wood block prints. However, the graphic illustrations of stabbing or chopping people were too much, especially if children would be playing this game. Also, I can't say I liked the map. There was no jump feature that I could find, and the game had so much backtracking that it got to be tedious. I did like the option of choosing which outcome should occur for certain situations (and I did not choose wisely on a couple of occasions). All in all, this game was okay, but not outstanding. I still think everyone should try it before making a decision.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OKAY HOG NOT SUITABLE FOR YOUNG CHILDREN This game is much more of a HOG than it is a HOPA in the sense that it is basically HOS .. in my book it barely qualifies as a HOPA there are many mini games but i skipped a good number of them.. Because they were arcade type games which i dislike i would have given this game 4 stars but the lack of appealing mini games results in this game being one i will not replay nor can i replay it with younger members of the family as the story line has one scene where there is violence and blood spatter and the story itself deals with a possessed FATHER of a girl child who apparently murders.. this is in No way a suitable idea to put in a small childs mind and perhaps frighten them i can actually recommend this game If you enjoy HOGS and if the arcade type mini games dont bother you The art work is lovely and so is the atmosphere of the game...
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Old Fashion H.O. I like H.O.s so this was really fun. Love how they set up the atmosphere with background. Making it old timey and cartoonish and grainy. Great family and beginners game.
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Much Reading, Not Enough Fun If you liked City of Fools you would like this game. Not enough fun parts of the game. A lot of moving through the town, talking to people (not audible, you have to read the conversations), intermittent HO games . Game is "okay" at best.
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disapointed The title is better than the game. The artwork is half good and half bad. The murder is never shown and the characters are rather boring.
Date published: 2013-11-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tried It isn't my usual game a little kiddy but looked like a laugh. I assumed the characters would talk not the pop up window text that is annoying to me. Also the fact that u have to go back and forth back and forth to get info from a character.You never know how many times u have to try a character before it is actually going to answer. Just tried wouldn't purchase but maybe kid's would.The opinion is for me not u.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3.5 star rating full demo -pros visual graphics are clear good hint system non-interactive map u receive interesting cinamatics hos were clear and not hard to find not tiny or junkpiled like so many hos games easy interface and gameplay -cons opening the picture moves around thought it might be that way later but it was not. no vo's alot of back and forth -personal thoughts- i was disappointed that there were no vos cannot comment on the music since i muted it...actually you don't need any sound to play this game...over all i thought it was a bit old fashioned and dated...but a nice game to play on a rainy day will get it with a gbp i do not think it is worth 6.99 tho. not sure of the length since i have not bought it yet...i do give it a 3.5 stars because of the unique game play
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Im very confused :) I stuck through the entire demo, although after 5 minutes, I had had enough. The loose story here is that you are a hunter of darkness and need to investigate... well... dark happenings? I think lol. You need to interact with many characters and make choices on what to do. Your choices will affect the play of the game. The visuals were cartoons. The music was just piped in noise. You had to read everything... no voiceovers. I disliked the game from the beginning and disliked it at the end. Try for yourself, you may like this type of game. Happy gaming !!!
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Are you kidding!!! By the time I got into it it was over. Very bad charters. Hidden objects are my kind. Very child like charters as well. I have a free game so happy to see a SE maybe to use. No way. You just needed a little more time maybe to change my mind.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Step too Slow The game has some very promising qualities. The tutorial is good but not intrusive, the objects are clearly drawn. But the downers overcame the pluses for me. The cartoonish graphics, the constant minor tasks (gathering luggage?) which delay the actual story's beginning. Before you get to town, at least six tasks (probably more I didn't get to# have to be done just to get four coins for the taxi! Ouch! The dialogue is stilted #no VO's) and although the help button is actually helpful, it's recharge time is slooow! In all, this game had potential but the devs got mired in task fulfillment and lost the storyline. See if it takes you the same way. For me, this is not a buy as the level of annoyance and boredom is way too high.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not My Cup of TeaVille I am very glad I got this game for free! I did not complete the game, but I did allow a full hour of playing before I stopped. I thought that I had found something that looked different and I did. It proved to not be a good kind of different though. The graphics were very cartoon like, which is okay for me as this game is supposed to be silly and funny, and at times it is. There are HOS and they are clear and enjoyable. There is a map which is useless as it is not interactive. There is a hint button that tells you exactly what to do. You walk through scene after scene and cannot really interact with anything until it is time to do so. You must go through all of the motions as the game dictates. That is the killer for me. There is no challenge because you are just following along doing things in order. So I quit this one and do not recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME While there is much to be commended about this game, there is equally much that goes against it. It is my guess that BF have afforded a couple of very young newbies a shot at flexing their wings. They are to be praised for this. The graphics are good and there is wide screen. The navigation is top of the line excellent, which is a huge plus these days. There are no, repeat no, glitches whatsoever and everything plays like clockwork. Kudos for that too. I also liked the style of the cut scenes, ie the noir aspect and the, although some might say, rather crude style of graphics in the characters. The hint button is very helpful, sometimes telling where to to go, sometimes indicating it only with arrows. Cannot say I understand the use of both, but it was definitely necessary either way. The music is well done. I appreciated the added concept of being able to chose which scenario one wished to go with via the story line. The iHOS were well done and there were not too many of them. However, on the minus side, there are far too many gratuitous locations, with nothing to do, which must simply be passed through. There is a standard map, which I only found by accident as it is not marked and is hidden way down on the right next to the inventory. This map is not very helpful I am afraid. It does not indicate the names of the locations, nor where action is required. There are no voice overs. The story is nondescript, done many many times before. There is very little to do in each location and more often than not it is just a case of being told what is required and then having to foot slog back and forward to find the required item, not all of which are in iHOS. The puzzles did not appeal to me and I was grateful for the fast skip function. It is a decent length but the content is lacking and it became rather lacklustre and tedious about half way through due to it's lack of integration. I would say to these devs that they need to incorporate more game play into their locations as I became quickly tired of knowing that each new scene would only entail me having to backtrack to numerous locations to find required items. These items are visible but not accessible until they are needed and I do not like that in a game. If something is there to be found, I like to pick it up and keep it until needed. A valiant effort but by todays standards, short of the mark. Having said that, I think these guys have the potential to do much better since they certainly get what this genre is all about. Keep trying and thanks, good try.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kinda Nutty, But... BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS This not a game I would normally find interesting. The graphics are very cartoony, the story is slow and a bit hokey, and there is way too much dialogue. However, it is unique and warrants special attention because of it. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The graphics remind me of the better concept art we get in CE. Roughed out images, thickly applied colours and textures, very dark and noticeable outline. But as that type of art goes, it is pretty good. And the HOPs are more detailed and realistic, with objects clearly defined. The soundtrack is not good. No voiceovers, and there’s lots of dialogue, the music is very repetitive, and ambient sounds are mostly unnoticeable. WHAT’S HAPPENING This story is told in the opening scenes, which are too long and too many for most of us impatient to get to the action. We are a member of a society dedicated to curbing misbehaving magical beings. It is our job to track down and identify these individuals wherever suspicions may suggest their existence. When we confirm it, we call in the big guns. MAKING PROGRESS Our investigation begins in the train station of Grimville, where a suspicious murder has taken place. In order to move ahead, we must talk to many characters, real conversations, and they give us a quest to do before they will give us what we need. They also help with information and tips. At the beginning, the quests seem so inane I thought I’d wouldn’t be able to hang in for the hour, but it improves somewhat. It is definitely a game of the more adventure-style gaming than HOPs or puzzles. In the hour I came across 2 HOP scenes, each visited 3 times, and 2 (easy) puzzles. The HOPs are interactive word lists, very basic. There are also very few items just ‘lying around’ as we go from location to location. There is a map, but it is vague and cannot be used for help on the next move or as a jump map. There is a goodish journal. Its notes section is pretty well useless, but the task lists are detailed and very helpful. The hint is interesting. It gives us a suggestion of who we should speak to, and directional arrows to take us to where they are. One thing that was very difficult to adjust to was the directions we moved in. Going ahead is never as easy as just point up, or back. Most of the moves from one location to another are sideways and at different angles. The unique factor that may make all the difference in this game is that, throughout the game we must make choices that affect the ending of the story and what other characters do. Combine this feature with comic book graphics, lots of dialogue with lots of characters, and the quest-driven nature of the gameplay, I think it is best to view this as a mini-adventure game. FAMOUS LAST WORDS I found the whole game a little childish and I suspect there is an attempt at sending up these characters, but I didn’t find the game actually funny. Not a game for HOP fans, but perhaps for those who enjoy adventures, with a little tongue in cheek? In the end, though, it is not a game I’d recommend.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Okay I found the repetition in this game to be very boring. It's a lot of back and forth without much imagination. Someone equated this game to City of Fools. It is nothing like City of Fools, except for the cartoon like characters. The grammar and spelling, which is 90% of the game, is incorrect. The music begins to wear on your after a while and you'll end up turning it off. The graphics are very cute. This game failed to hold my interest.
Date published: 2013-11-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worst game in a long time How did this game even make it to the game offerings of BF? I can't say anything good except that the HO was OK, but the puzzles were horrid with limited instruction that made no sense. This game may have been acceptable a number of years ago when they were starting to develop these HO/Adventure types, but totally unacceptable in today's fantastic available games. I forced myself to play for about 15 minutes and was so bored and frustrated, I exited and uninstalled. What a waste of time and wouldn't recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2013-11-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from wasnt my cup of tea this wasn't my type of game, too much going back and forth and not getting enough conversation for me, once I tried the expert level, couldn't switch back.
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Strange This is a very strange game. Not one I can recommend. Sorry...
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't quite work for me... I usually like a new challenge in game play but this just fell short. I couldn't really get a feel for the storyline or the next step. It all just sort of dragged. I played for about 15 minutes and then got bored...
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Blech Got out of game after 2 minutes....Looked better on screenshots than it actually plays...Graphics look like early '90's, "helps" you too much...Do not know IF there were any HO scenes or mini-games..Maybe an ok game for kids 11 and under but NOT for enthusiasts of HO games..
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very slow, Very Boring I just could not bring my self to finish all the demo. Lots and lots of reading. I will say the graphics were good. But that's about it. I think it would be ok for beginners. Could have been more clear on the tasks to do and have more tasks in one area. Lots of running back and forth. The mini games and HOS were easy. Sorry, I found the game irritating
Date published: 2013-11-18
  • y_2019, m_7, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_19993, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grimville: The Gift of Darkness

Darkness has engulfed Grimville! Use your cunning and wits to unravel the evil intrigues and save the town!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.