Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Hope Diamond Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Hope Diamond Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(420.62 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

You’re on a train in the middle of nowhere, and a band of dangerous thieves demand you tell them where to find the Hope Diamond’s shards. As the newest Hidden Expedition recruit, you’ve got to find the shards before they do…
In this exciting continuation of the Hidden Expedition series, your journey takes you from the Smithsonian Institution’s iconic castle to the remotest jungle as you track down the missing shards and learn the Hope Diamond’s secrets.

Check out the Smithsonian's sneak peek of Mystery of the Hope Diamond. This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Play the bonus game to uncover more secrets
  • Hunt for Smithsonian Institution symbols
  • Collect Fact Cards on Smithsonian history
  • Earn Achievements
  • Get soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1002 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Hope Diamond Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(420.62 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Hope Diamond Collector's Edition is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 144.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hidden Object game I really enjoyed this game. Puzzles and hidden objects were fun. It wasn't too challenging for first time play and you can change the difficulty you prefer. After you finish the game you can go back and complete goals to master all the achievements. For me the game flowed well and I was glad there was an extra episode at the end. Good buy in my book.
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! Found this game quite worth the money! Lots of things to do. Symbols to find. Cards to find. Played it twice already, and tempted to play it a 3rd time soon. The only tiny flaw that I would mention is that the Bonus Chapter is a tad lame and very short. Not worth taking a star off for though, since the game more than makes up for it.
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favourite! Absolutely adored this game! Its a lot of fun with so much to do and locate. This is definitely now my current top favourite game. STORYLINE/GAMEPLAY You've just been recruited by H.E.L.P and your mission is to find the hidden Hope Diamond shards, but of course there's trouble along the way. You start on board a train where you've been captured; you play a short time and are then transported back several hours earlier which explains how you got to be captured. After several chapters, you end up back at the train scene and it then continues the story. You encounter a few dodgy characters on the way, and there's your friend, Sam. There's also a tiger, called Baby. There's one scene in particular I like where Baby is in a cage in the corner, and the heroine quotes a famous phrase from Dirty Dancing.......you know which one! Graphics are really nicely done; colourful and detailed. Gameplay is also good; transitions between locations is smooth and quick. The inventory is lockable, and some items you collect can be changed to make different items. Music isn't wonderful, but I turn that off anyway; however if you turn the music off, it does then mute the sound on cut-scenes, so if you don't like music playing, I'd probably recommend turning it down to the lowest so you can just still hear it, and then you should hear the sound in cut-scenes. HOS/PUZZLES Hidden object scenes are well scattered; hate it when there's one every time you move to the next scene. They each have a combination of different ways to collect items, e.g first you need to collect shapes, then 4 of something, then a list of items. There's also morphing objects in each HOS to collect. The good thing is though that if you miss a morphing object, there is the option to go back and play the HOS again from the Extras menu to make sure you pick it up. The morphing objects contributes to an Achievement, so make sure to get them all! Puzzles are fairly easy in my opinion. Usually I can't get through a game without skipping a few puzzles, but I didn't skip any in this one. Having said that, they are still quite fun and it didn't bother me that they were easy. Its always a bit distracting from the game, if you end up spending ages on an impossible puzzle. WHAT DO YOU GET? You have a map and a journal which is in the shape of your H.E.L.P box; this also shows you information you've picked up and you can access the Achievements from here. There's the usually hint and skip buttons too. No fuzzy cute animal helpers though I'm pleased to say! There's 20 Achievements, 49 Smithsonian emblems to collect (1 in each scene), Fact cards to collect, and the morphing objects. In the EXTRAS, you get the bonus game, souvenir room (haven't looked at that, so not sure what that is), re-playable HOPs, re-playable puzzles, movies, pictures and music. LENGTH This game is easily 4-5 hours including the bonus chapter. There's loads more to talk about but I'll let you play and see for yourself! I thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Fun / High Quality HOA Adventure Game The graphics in this game look great and for me, the level of challenge seemed "just right" (although you can choose the level for yourself at the beginning of the game). This game was not so hard that I spent hours scratching my head or constantly running to the users guide but it also wasn't just an obvious "walk through" like some HOA / Puzzle games are. As I said the graphics look great and their are some fun and creative touches, for example in two of the HOAs you are looking through a "stereoscope" and the HOA scene actually moves the way a slide in a stereoscope would. There's a great deal of attention to getting the details right, and the game actually made me want to visit the Smithsonian :) All in all a very fun game that I will play more than once.
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best hidden game of the year After try play this game, I say that best game since ever play. Very fun and good graphic, Thank you.
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I have to agree with others who thought this is the best Hidden Expedition game. My only regret is that I could not play it all in one session.... things like eating and sleeping interfered. Other reviewers have done such a great job that I can't really add anything new, but I didn't want to miss the opportunity to highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Hope Diamond Collector's Edition Love it from beginning to end.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I don't typically write reviews for games, but I enjoyed this game a lot. Highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Game and History lesson This game had a story line that was interesting and it stayed true to the plot throughout the game. There are interesting new puzzle ideas and I especially enjoyed the ultra violet light twist.I also liked the way special detail was used in making sure all the objects were properly programmed to actually respond to the curser. There is nothing worse than sloppy programming that leads to objects that don't respond when you click on them so you spend several minutes looking for something you've clicked on several times. And I really liked the virtual tour through the Smithsonian. I read every single fact card! Well done!
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Hidden Expedition is back! I was uncertain about this game initially - I've played (and loved) all of the HE series, but was not a fan of the last two installments (Devil's Triangle and Uncharted Islands) so a new HE was not an automatic buy for me. I am thrilled to find that HE is back and better than ever! This installment is bright, beautiful, has an air of adventure and takes place in the "real world", as in Everest or Amazon (as opposed to the "fantasy" type genre of the last two games). I LOVE the puzzles and the varied modes of hidden object scenes. This game also succeeds in proving that a game can have a feeling of mystery without including the witches, curses, and demons that are all too common lately. The extras - morphing objects, symbols to locate, and fact cards - just add to an already excellent game. If you were on the fence about series, definitely give this one a try - you'll love it!
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from in a word...WOW I loved everything about this game. The length is great, the scenery is stunning, it has a great story, a variety of very imaginative HO scenes and a ton of extra things to do. 3 different collectibles. Some Smithsonian symbols, info cards and morphing objects in the HOP's. I was a bit perplexed by the golden crowns though. Have just started the bonus chapter and never did find any but never mind ..it'll give it replay value. Great music, great VO's and some interesting info on the institute and it's history. Really enjoyed this one. It has absolutely everything that we look for in games today. Don't miss it.
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Am In Love! This game was awesome! I just got done playing the Collector's Edition and Extra Content and I couldn't be more pleased. For the first time in EVER I can say I'm happy I got the CE of a game. Pros: -Visuals are beautiful and creative. The developers incorporated many visual delights including solving stereoscope and old cinema film hidden object puzzles as well as multiple layered searches through books and furniture. You will also be combining and disassembling items to use on your journey. -Music was great! I actually downloaded it to my computer to listen to later which is an option when you buy the CE and finish the game. -Excitement without stress. The game felt very adventurous but relaxing at the same time. Some of the puzzles are challenging and some are quite easy. You won't break your brain on any of them but I really enjoyed most of them. -Interesting story and an opportunity to learn. The game has many interesting features like collecting cards that tell you the history of the museum and the hope diamond as well as other bits of history trivia, which I loved. They don't force you to read it though so you can take it or leave it which is nice for people who want to speed ahead or if you're playing through again. -Several difficulty settings to choose from. I chose casual because I just wanted to have fun and I did. You'll probably get a longer game experience by choosing a higher difficulty setting -Voice acting was very nice and for the most part not annoying. I only thought one of the characters was obnoxious but you only see him briefly at the beginning and end so I was pleased with it for the most part. -Lots of achievements to get by finding things such as the Smithsonian symbol in each location. There are morphing objects in the Hidden object scenes. -The Hidden Object scenes for the most part are logical and not just junk piles. There are a few items out of place but I appreciate that for the most part the things you're looking for belong together in that location and don't look like someone dropped off a landfill on the screen. Some scenes use a list and others a silhouette hint. -I really enjoyed the travelling aspect. You will not be running around some house/castle/estate the whole time, but instead will be given the opportunity to visit many locations/countries. I really likes this since it made the game feel less claustrophobic and isolated than many HOG's I've recently played. -On the Collectors Edition you can replay the minigames and hidden object scenes in the extras section after you finish the main game plus there is a bonus game to play to finish out another short adventure. Cons: - I wish it had been longer, but then I played on casual difficulty so it's not too surprising that it went fast. The bonus content was decent length and interesting with more bits of trivia and globe trotting so I liked it. Definitely give this one a try, it might just be my favorite game this year and maybe you'll like it too. Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Entertaining! A game......the reason I buy a game....is for entertainment and this game is one of the best I've seen! You can loose yourself in play as time goes by rather quickly! There are objects to collect and if you miss a couple, as I did you have a chance to go back and collect them. Hidden objects and puzzles are different and unique! The hints load very quickly as I had to use that several times as well. Only because I played into the wee hours of the morning, and I was tired! Just didn't want to stop! No stress in this game, it's very flowing and relaxing as well! Outstanding graphics! The duration of the game is very good, not short by any means! Big Fish you out did yourself on this one! Hope we will see more of this type as it's a first class game all the way!
Date published: 2013-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of the Year I have become weary with the similarity of game stories and like every holiday, have been looking forward to the release of something fun, light and/or humorous. I am still waiting for the humor but this game, which doubles as an educational journey, is very fun. I love the layered HO games and the story is very interesting. It actually inspires me to visit Washington, DC in the near future and go to the Smithsonian museums.
Date published: 2013-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost perfect I rarely submit reviews. When I do, it is either because I found the game very good or very poor. In this instance, I give it a 5 star rating because of the story line based on historical facts (the so-called Hope diamond, once part of the French crown jewels and mysteriously reappearing some years later in the Hope legacy collection), but especially good graphics, refreshing mini games and not too many HOPs. My only regret; that it was not longer.
Date published: 2013-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It!!!!! I can't find one thing that I didn't like about this game other than the bonus game was way too short. Loved the story and wish there were more games being made in the Indiana Jones type story lines; this one stayed in his theme of the originals....looking for forbidden treasure. Not too much story telling or conversation, which can make a great game boring; this one was just right so you knew what was going on. Love all of the different variations of HO games, with some having different types in the same puzzle. There were times that you opened a location and I didn't even realize it was a HO until I clicked around trying to find something to pick up..what a dummy, but it was unexpected and a nice change. I highly recommend this game and yes, maybe game of the year. Hurry and bring on more like this as I'm now very spoiled and it will be hard to please this girl any time soon.
Date published: 2013-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You don't have to HOPE to have fun with this Hidden Expedition! *********************IMPORTANT NOTE!!!********************** If you've played any previously released Hidden Expedition games [i.e. Titanic], this game is leaps and bounds better than those older titles! Not that the older Hidden Expedition games were of poor quality - but with this release, the developers have "caught up" with other developers' Collector's Edition games, with all the bells and whistles! And they've done a beautiful job of it! This game has the most intriguing storyline I've seen in any game of the HOPA genre, that I can remember! It draws you in, and despite an "empty" feel [the only, but slight, negative]to some of the scenes, you'll want to follow along with the story just to find out what happens.... Instead of a recap of the storyline - which you can easily read in the game description & others' reviews - I'll just go over the features this game offers... First, the slight negative: the "empty" feel to a number of the scenes: IMO I thought there could be more detail in some. "Detail" may be the wrong word for it, but in some scenes there seems to be only the object with which you need to interact, but not much of anything else to look at. In these scenes, one type of collectible - the Smithsonian Sun symbol -sticks out like a sore thumb ... there just didn't seem to be enough "going on" in the scene to even hide the symbol. However, what was there, was well-drawn; the Hidden Object Scenes [HOS] were beautifully detailed and colorful, as well as the mini-games. The HOS were not all the same, either. The 1st one takes a 3-level solve, only one of the levels is the "list" type, and even that has items that take more than one step to find -- excellent! The sound was excellent, with music that matched what was going on, changing so I never found it boring or any ambience too distracting. The sound Quality, usually lacking in other HOPA games, was the reason I still rated the Visual/Sound Quality 5 stars, but on visuals alone, I would rate 3-1/2 - 4 stars. The game offers a Strategy Guide, Bonus game, extra play on HOS, etc. There are more "extras" but I'm not a note-taker when playing a game in a Demo format, as it takes too much time away from the free hour! So, take my word for what it's worth - there are more [probably]CE-only "extras," I just can't remember all of them! As far as "extras" during gameplay, without comparing to the Standard Edition that's not offered for sale yet, this version has many: Collectibles such as 49 Sun symbols, fact cards, etc.; Morphing Objects [not sure how many, but they seemed of the difficult-to-find type], 20 Achievements, and more. The difficulty-level selection is top-notch: take your pick of 4 levels, the 4th being Custom, so you can set your own timers, glints, etc. For me, Custom is the way to go the 1st time playing through --then go for the most difficult! This game is well-worth the price of a Collector's Edition, and I can see several play-throughs of it in my future, in order to collect everything and gather all the things I'll undoubtedly miss the first couple of times thru! I knew about 30 minutes into the Demo that I would be purchasing, but I kept playing because I just couldn't stop to make the purchase--! A truly GREAT game!!
Date published: 2013-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much MORE than I'd ever have HOPED for :} Based on Demo on most difficult setting: Wow, I can not think of one criticism whatsoever... Kudos x 100,000* (*the amount of $ McLean purchased the Hope diamond for) to Big Fish Games and the Developer on this fantastic adventure/H0G. The graphics are outstanding, storyline interesting, and captivating and puzzles are great!! There is just SO much to do... one of the nicer features is while you or the family are having fun with this great game, there are valuable educational opportunities at hand as well. Lots to collect: Smithsonian Suns (toward hints); fact cards... and many other items along the way in a multitude of fun and often unique games within the game. This is an absolute must buy!! Don't overlook it.
Date published: 2013-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Hope's And Expectation's Have Clearly Been Met! I just returned from a trip to the Smithsonian and the Hope Diamond was one of the first items we visited. It is stunningly beautiful and consists of 45.52 carats, has an Antique cushion cut which was re-cut and reshaped several times. If this diamond is exposed to ultraviolet light it will actually glow red but to the naked eye it appears blue. With that being said this game is centered around that very same diamond valued today at approximately 250 million dollars! This is an action packed game that will have you jumping out of fast moving trains and escaping from thieves! There are 49 Smithsonian "suns" to collect, morphing items and 20 fact cards which tell you very interesting facts about people, places and things. The HOS are very interesting. At first I thought they were going to be too easy because it simply showed gems of different cuts, but after finding those, it went on to finding interactive list finds and more! You will earn achievements such as not using a hint or not skipping a puzzle. This game is well produced, has stunning graphics and nice voice-overs. Each scene has multiple areas of interest and nice mini games. The game I thought was the most fun was placing the correct bobblehead on the body with name labels. You surely can't go wrong with this game, enjoy!
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hidden Expedition ever!! :) Thrilling story around the chase for the shards of the Hope Diamond. Tremedously welldone graphics: a mixture of drawn settings and real characters. This time EIPIX did the developer's job and they’ve done it really good!! Facts: 6 chapters plus bonus-chapter, 3 modes to choose from plus a custom-mode (can be changed during the game), lockable inventory, map shows active areas and allows you to jump, hint shows you the direction or opens a portal for fast travel, strategy guide doesn’t follow your progress, a journal contains objectives, facts and earned achievements, some items have to be combined in the inventory. 15 minigames to solve: some rotation-puzzles, plug wires in the right sockets, place arrows to navigate through a maze, swap bobble heads to their correct body, swap items in their right position… 17 hidden-object-scenes: All just played once and most of them are a combination of find things through silhouettes, find a certain amount of similar items and slightly interactive from list: Three different HOS types in one HOS… That is great! In every HOS is a morphing object to find. In addition, every HOS is replayable in the Extras, right after you finished one, in case you want to improve your search, or missed the morphing object! You also play some small silhouette-HOS. Extras: very funny „making-of“-pictures, movies, music, replayable minigames and hidden-object-scenes, a souvenir-room, 20 achievements, 49 hidden smithonian emblems, 20 fact-cards. I played +/- 4 hours in the 2nd mode, until the main game ended conclusively. Bonus-chapter is another good hour to play. A lot to do and to explore! A lot of fun and not too difficult… Have a try - you won’t regret!! :)
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Game of the YEAR! On several occasions I have voiced my opinion on what I consider to be a five star game and Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Hope Diamond Collector's Edition is a perfect example. Alway a favorite series of mine, today we have a game that not only deserves five star, but also clearly deserves to be awarded the game of the year title. This series not only provides great storylines, but also educates and entertains at the same time. Our story begins on a train where we find our selves held hostage by a bband of notorious theives who are after shards of the great Hope Diamond which, once collected, have immense healing power. Our mission is to collect the shards before they do and our adventure begins. What an adventure, filled with riddles, clues and puzzles. This game offers it all. Excellent graphics, very life-like and voice-overs are very well done along with mouth movements which is a plus for me. I love the sound effects, plenty of ambient sounds that add realism to the overall gaming experience. Our menu offers four modes of gameplay, one which allows you to customize your settings which I prefer. The game looks sharp and sophisticated, KUDOS to the developers for all the intricate details that they have added. Our adventure and once we jump off the train, we find ourselves at the famous Smithsonian museum which by the way I have yet to see. Game features include a H.E.L.P kit that holds your fact cards which you need to collect, your list of objectives and clues. There are hidden symbols that are scattered throughout the game, and you have a map that can also be cutomized to show you areas of interest and allows you to travel. Game play is fun and there is alot to look out for. You will notice that some inventory objects need to be combined and some require use of those dormant brain cells if you play without any assistance whatso ever. There are interactive hidden object scenes with a morphing item in each, so keep those eyes open. Mini-games are plenty and some and very well conceptualized. There are also riddles that need solving and you have a list of achievements to earn as well. What I love most about this game are the facts that I learn. I know it may sound trite, but Hidden Expedition always manages to thrill me with their adventures and information about things we dont spend much of our lives thinking about. A game that will not only thrill the kids, but also those who are explorers at heart. Filled with adventure, hidden secrets and a few challenges,this game puts many CE games to shame. Thank you to the Developers for continuing this wonderful series,
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! WHAT HAVE I JUST PLAYED!? Ladies and Gentlemen, we may have a new contender for best HOPA of 2013! And what a time for it to come, with ten days left of the year! I had so much fun with the game and the demo flew by in a flash. I'll have to wait until next year to play it when the SE comes out, because I don't really care for CE Extras. The story starts off with an absolute bang. It's fast paced and thrilling with a ton of action. Then, much to my confusion at first, we were transported back to three weeks earlier. I didn't understand this at all when it first happened, but when I played along, I found out. After the move back in time, the story becomes mysterious right from the get go. It appears we're being followed by this mysterious man, and we must find out who he is. The demo ends on a cliffhanger and just makes want to click that little green buy button, regardless of the CE Extras. I really enjoyed the story and can't wait to play more! The gameplay is where it really gets good. Like I said, I had heaps of fun with it, which is rare for me these days, because most of the games I like are story driven. The HOS were longer than usual and also quite challenging, because there were a number of different objects to find. Most of the HOS are junkpile, with the occasional silhouette scene. Let's take the first HOS, for example: This was divided in to three parts. The first was silhouette, the second was a small junkpile, and the third was a bigger junkpile. I applaud the developers for going outside the box with this and making the game slightly more challenging. The puzzles were also fairly challenging. I was able to solve one, I think, but the others had to be skipped, which was a bit of a shame, but no surprise. The puzzles had clear instructions and some were fun to play. The game also features a H.E.L.P Box, which stores clues about the investigation. It is not used much, but it's a nice feature. The graphics are great. They're very well drawn and are nice and colourful. Each scene is so wonderful and clear, and the character designs are good. The voice-overs are standard, not over done or under done. I have no comment. FEATURES 4 modes of difficulty: Explorer (easy), Expedition Guide (medium), Journey Master (hard) and Custom. Differences are hint/skip recharge times, sparkles, misclick penalties and the map function. I played Explorer. Map- is interactive in explorer difficulty and very helpful. It tells you where there is something to be done. Hint/Skip- both recharge at a reasonable speed for the difficulty, and the hint is helpful outside HOS. The hint also acts as a portal, and can transport you to the scene where your next task is. H.E.L.P Box- as I said, it's not used much, but it's a nice feature. The H.E.L.P Box stores clues about the investigation, kind of like a Diary. I'm guessing this is used in place of the Diary. CE EXCLUSIVES Built in Strategy Guide. Achievements. Collectible cards (30) Collectibe Smithsonian symbols (unsure how many) Morphing objects- found only in HOS (17) Bonus Chapter- unsure if needed. Concept Art Replay puzzles Replay HOS Something called “Souvenir Room”- unsure what this is, as it is only revealed after completing the game. Music Wallpapers This game has A LOT of CE Extras, so those who are wondering, the CE is worth it! However, as I don't like CE Extras, I will be happy to wait for the SE. This is truly a 5 star game, and I can't wait to see how it ends.
Date published: 2013-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game! The economical crisis has hit us pretty hard here in the Netherlands, so I'm not buying too much games anymore. For Hidden Expedition Smithsonian Hope Diamond however I've made an exception. This is such an excellent game in all aspects! Crisp graphics, interesting story, good level of challenge and nice background music. A 5 star game! I'm playing it right now and have a ball!
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Beautiful, Blue Gem of a Game!! What fun! Eipix and the Smithsonian teaming up in one of my favorite game series, Hidden Expedition! From the opening scenes as a prisoner on a train, to the flashback at the Smithsonian Castle, this game is a real treat. The pace of the game is fast and you won't get bored. The puzzles are clever with new twists and incorporate fun historical aspects. You actually learn things without even trying---if only school could be so much fun. The achievements in this CE are fun, plentiful, and some are quite challenging---Finish an HOP in less than 30 seconds! Not easy to do. Morphing objects, Smithsonian symbols, and cards to collect. Lots to keep your attention and challenge you. Graphics are top notch, sound and music great, VOs well acted. The HOSs are multilevel and fun. There is a Help box that acts as your journal and is a nice update on the traditional journal. Hint button actually transports you to the correct area if you want. And just a note: about two months ago I read a book on the Hope Diamond published by the Smithsonian Institute and authored by Richard Kurin. I suspect the devs met Mr. Kurin during the making of this game. Why? Because the man leaving the Smithsonian, hopping into the cab, and saying he's on his way to Antwerp Belgium at the beginning of the game could be Mr. Kurin! Almost twins! Terrific game. You'll love it!
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game, highly recommended! Really need to give this one a try, and use the entire demo time. I only have two of the previous HE games and really liked them. This one is no exception, with very nice graphics (a little fuzzy in the beginning) and excellent game play. Voice overs were very well done. Music and sound FX were really good, with the music and sounds adjusting to the scene and circumstance. Made you feel like you were there in the action. SG is the usual and customary, although it did not list all the chapters in the demo. There is a lot to do in this game, e.g. collectibles (Smithsonian symbols) are not hard to find; fact cards that give you a lot of info about the Smithsonsian (very interesting stuff); morphing objects (I only saw them in the HOGs, but I could have missed them elsewhere); riddles (I love riddles). Really makes you pay attention to the scene. There is a jump map, which is clearly identified by location. Hint system is very helpful and fill quickly. Locking inventory bar (thank you!). HOGs are very fun and different and not just straight HOGs. Items were clear, but you had to search for some. Puzzles were not extremely difficult, but some did take some time and thought to complete. The only thing I didn't care for, which is not a deal breaker, was the cursor...I much prefer the standard system cursor when I don't want to use the game cursor. I know, it's just me. At first I wasn't sure about it, but as soon as I jumped off the train, I was hooked. It's not just a game, it's a really fun education. Now this is my kind of school. This game has a different and interesting story line, with enough challenge to make me want to buy the CE and see where it goes. I don't give 5 stars easily, but this one deserves them. Gotta have it! This game is very well put together and I think it will appeal to all levels of players. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hidden Expedition to date This game incorporates several of my favourite things - morphing objects, special symbols to find, European locations and then adds a bit more. Most of the HOPS have several layers to them - first you find silhouettes then have a list of objects. You collect fact cards that contain interesting information (which you can read or not as you like). Customizable levels of game play let you choose how challenging to make the game and the achievements are such that I will have to play the game again (perhaps a couple more times) to earn them all. Really enjoyed it.
Date published: 2013-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eipix totally blew my mind with this epic expedition..... I completed this outstanding adventure and I am proud to be a recruit of Hidden Expedition League of Preservation (H.E.L.P) This is a gorgeous and thrilling HOPA which you absolutely must experience. Beautiful exploration, with sinister thieves who decieve you into finding shards of the Hope Diamond. Search inside the Smithsonian for clues to begin your journey. Outstanding Puzzles and HO's which are new to this genre. The bonus play is exciting and challenging as well. The graphics are stunning and the v/o acting was great. BRAVO!!!!
Date published: 2013-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heart Stopping Action! BASED ON DEMO It’s high adventure and thrills in this latest game in the Hidden Expedition series, developed now for the first time by Eipix, a name that is well regarded by just about everyone for their unique ability to keep us entertained. This game will be another feather in their cap, despite a distinctive shift into their own style and away from the series. It is not a major thing, and I believe the game is the better for the change. I love that this game starts with us jumping out of the window of a fast moving train – that definitely IS in keeping with the feel of the series, and is spectacular and different from the old car accident intro! The graphics are a delight, crystal clear, bright and great to look at. The cut scenes are so exciting, the voiceovers great. Music that builds up the tension to intense! Special effects very effective! *grin*. Baby scared the living daylights out of me. So, accept that this game has all the essentials. The emphasis is on HOPs, and they come in many forms – also characteristic of the series. Hidden Expedition Uncharted Islands had, I think, 8 different variations. In the demo for this game I noted: • Standard Interactive List • Silhouettes • Objects outlines • Multiples (Find 12 feathers) And in some cases, combinations of 2 or 3 types. The puzzles are less obvious, although there really is quite a few of them too. I found them a step out of the ordinary, and not particularly difficult. Some inventory items can be combined, added to or changed within the inventory bar. Of adventure there is plenty, and heaps of help with directional hint, a H.E.L.P. kit which includes objectives, journal, and fact cards. There is also an interactive jump map. Custom build your own difficulty settings. And the SG. All this is great – I love the game for this much. But then there are all the extras. • Bonus Chapers and SG • Collectibles: fact cards x 20, morphing objects (in HOPs) x17, Smithsonian Emblems x49 • Achievements also available from the H.E.L.P. kit • 18 replayable mini-games and 22 HOPs • A souvenir room (your guess is as good as mine, but there’s an achievement related to it) • Pictures (of the team), movies, music – with interesting new ways to access these Just for the record, YOU are the cute helper. *evil grin*. Personally, if I hadn’t just blown all my xmas ‘mad money’ on half price games, I’d be playing the full version right now. I think it’s a classic in the making.
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden Expedition is back in the game !! When HOG's were much simpler in style HE delivered a couple of gems with Everest and even more so Amazon. Then the next installment which had much fanfare and hype failed rather miserably. I entered the demo for Hope Diamond with a combination of anticipation for greatness and dread for another dud. Greatness appears to have been achieved. I will preface my further remarks by stating this review is based solely on the demo which I competed in 42 minutes without resorting to any skips. The start of the game was a bit disappointing if for no other reason that the game player meets up with a villain. The disappointment for me was in reducing said villain to a smaller image of him during a voiceover segment. Why the choice by the developer of doing so somewhat baffles me. It is quite amateurish given what occurs from then on. My initial trepidation was almost instantly relieved once gameplay began. Eipix hit the ground running and we HOG/HOPA addicts are the beneficiaries of what should be a terrific experience. The graphics are stunning, the HOG segments and the puzzles are first rate. In the demo alone, puzzles are quite inventive compared with the sameness we are often faced with in games of this ilk. The difficulty level of those in the demo was of the easy variety. I like an approach where a player can ease into a game and then have it get more and more challenging as the game progresses. I hope I get my wish with this game. The cutscenes help develop the storyline with the feel of a movie and the music score fits the game very well. There are collectibles of 2 or 3 varieties. Given the time restraints of a demo I did not check them out for any detail but I get the impression they will be teaching tools as well as clues to game advancement. There have been in recent months a lot more misses than hits in games of this genre. I suspect that this installment of the HE series will be a MONSTER HIT. Hope Diamond might very well be among the great games of 2013. I need to end this review so I can purchase the game now. Give it a whirl and judge for yourself. I give this game my highest recommendation. Happy Holidays to one and all !!
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great game from the "Hidden Expedition Series While I'm not one to normally offer a review about games I've played, on this occasion I thought I would share my thoughts with the BF community about this game. I only played the trial version of this game at the casual level, and found it to be everything I had previously experienced with the other games in this series. For me this game lived up to my expectations, including the storyline, the audio and graphics, the interactive map so making it easy to jump back and forth between scenes, and with just the right amount of HOGS with a variation of actions required within each HOG it kept the game interesting, but also challenging. Definitely worthy of a CE status.
Date published: 2013-12-19
  • y_2021, m_9, d_25, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_144
  • loc_en_US, sid_19934, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Hope Diamond Collector's Edition

You’re on a train in the middle of nowhere, and a band of dangerous thieves demand you tell them where to find the Hope Diamond’s shards. As the newest Hidden Expedition recruit, you’ve got to find the shards before they do…

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.