Dark Canvas: Blood and Stone
Exclusive

Dark Canvas: Blood and Stone

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(340.02 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Who used the encasing device in the grisly murder of the Sculptor and his bride? What loathsome secrets are hiding behind the high walls of elegant, Grecian estates? Explore a beautiful and romantic Greek village by the sea, as you use your investigative reporting skills to track down a desperate, haunted killer – before they kill again!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 724 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Canvas: Blood and Stone

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(340.02 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Canvas: Blood and Stone is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 25.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greed, Love, and Tragedy. Discover the Truth! Honestly, this has to be my favorite game in the series. It starts when your called in by the doctor of a town to discuss the truth about the recent/strange death of a beloved sculptor and his wife. You find the doctor dead and a suspicious individual escapes out the window. From there, you work to uncover the truth. I have to admit that the feeling I had about one of the "suspects" was correct. Though the story didn't end there... learn more about the true culprit and motive behind these murders. Discover what really happened the night of the tragedy. The visuals, the voices/sounds, the story... all of it is amazing. It kept me guessing until the very end. I had a lot of fun playing this game. It's definitely a winner. If you're a fan of mysteries, you may enjoy this game. Give it a try and see what you think.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly good mystery game I was so disappointed to find out that Vast Studios is no longer around because I enjoyed their Nightfall Mysteries series so much. I had bought the first two Dark Canvas games years ago but had not gotten around to playing them until recently. The studio had so much promise! Interestingly, playing these games as a former dedicated HOG fan was going back in time when games were uncomplicated and didn't preoccupy themselves with gimmicks like achievements. The humour in the game reminds me a lot of earlier MCF games and I really feel like Nightfall Mysteries and Dark Canvas are cousins to Return to Ravenhearst era games. The game has gorgeous, engaging scenes, pleasant music for the games (wish I could download it) and a storyline that keeps you guessing. The mini puzzles were also challenging and there were quite a few HOGs. One thing that isn't apparent in this series is that sometimes you need to go back to a previous HOG to collect an object, so keep checking the map for your objectives.
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's not who you think it is This is a whodunnit along the coast of the Greek isles. The characters are drop dead gorgeous. Scenery is bright and cheery. HOPs are the usual junk pile, but some items are really well blended into the scene, sometimes requiring a hint. Most puzzles are easy or manageable. The harder ones have a reset button, which I found very helpful, but some puzzles have NO reset button, which I hate. All puzzles should have a reset button in my opinion. The actions to take are mostly logical, and the guilty party is not who you think it is. I found this game highly enjoyable to play, exercising your logic while rewarding your eyes with beautiful scenery and objects to find.
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Getting plastered can be hazardous to your life! The local doctor in Partha, a beautiful coastal town in Greece, has contacted you, an investigative reporter, because of what he feels is a suspicious double death that is being called an accident. He does not agree. He has asked you to find the truth. Sculptor Elias Kostas and his wife Maria were found in his studio encased in plaster by a plastering machine Elias invented. You arrive at the doctor's office only to find him as a statue. Others are found during your investigation. Your investigation seems to point the finger in every direction, especially at the biggest suspect, Elias's assistant. The big question is why are they being killed? The graphics are very good with vibrant colors and bright scenes that provides a nice coastal Greek village setting. Music was ok and changed with the scenes but was repetitive during each scene. Voiceovers were good and most dialogue could be click through. Ambient sounds were great. There is a diary that is updated frequently and an interactive map that shows where available tasks are and helps in traveling around. Early in the game you find and feed a kitty that becomes a companion for a few scenes and is then left with another kitty after it has been helped. Items needed to complete action areas are relatively simple to find in order to move forward. The game is logical with clear directions to follow most of the time but there were a few times when it was not easy to determine what to do next. Even the map sometimes did not provide an area of action indicator. HOS were of two types, interactive list and silhouette, with each being used twice. The tutorial indicated that green written list items were hidden behind other items and yellow written items required some interaction or combination with other items however they were actually reversed. The silhouette type required the use of items found to find other items. Most items were fairly easy to find but a few were not easily identified such as a trowe as it was at such an angle that it was just something it the scene. Some of the items found in HOS were used to complete action areas but I did find some that stretched logic such as a gold bangle used as a chain link in one scene. A couple nice puzzles that I enjoyed was the dollhouse story that gave some background information and the broken vase puzzle. The ending turned out to be a surprise and answered the question why and did reveal the murderer and the antagonist.
Date published: 2015-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Canvas Whodunit!? This Dark Canvas has taken us to a beautiful coastal town in Greece where several people are plastered, literally turned into human sculptures! As you investigate this murder you realize that the finger is being pointed in every direction, with the biggest suspect being the sculptor's assistant. Whodunit? Why are they being killed? A great story and the graphics are so realistic that I actually paused on the bridge to listen to the tranquil sounds of a babbling brook, birds chirping and crickets cricketing. (I think they chirp as well?) The HOS are a mixture of interactive list finds and progressive finds where you find the first item as shown as a silhouette, and you use that item such as a key into a lock, to uncover the next item and so forth. I will say I was a bit disappointed that all of the HOS were doubled up, but they were still fun. There are lot's of mini games, most are simple such as swapping puzzle pieces or following directions step by step as shown on an illustration. I liked the CE better because of the morphs and collectibles but this is a decent and entertaining game, enjoy!
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the SE price... The following is the review I posted for the CE version, but still stands for the SE as well. The only difference is that I did not feel this was CE worthy, but well worth the SE and will use a punch credit to purchase tomorrow, since credits don't work when you have a special. I really liked the graphics in this one. Color was very vibrant and fairly clear. Game play was nice. Music wasn't too bad...calming actually. Voice overs were good. Sounded tinny in the beginning, but cleared up when the actual game began. You can click through the dialoge everywhere in the game, except during the "story" part of it. It did need a little more of a hint as to what was going on in the beginning. HOGs were nice, clear and clean. Items not difficult to find. Games were fairly simple, but some did take a little thought. SG was nice, but not really necessary. Hint system was helpful and filled quickly. There was no real excitement to this game. Nothing that drew me in from the beginning and make me want to purchase to see what happens next. The coins are easy to find, but not sure what they are for #looked at achievements and still don't know#. The only challenge that I found so far is trying to find the morphing objects. They are extremely difficult to see and major eye strain watching for them. Otherwise, it was not challenging or difficult, but it was a nice game. Yes, I will get this game, but not sure if it is worth the price of a CE or if I'll just wait for the SE version. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the review.
Date published: 2013-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NOT 5 STARS BUT STILL WORTH OWNING I thought I would be so impressed that this game would be an immediate 5-star rating. Although the scenery is pretty, the HOS are typical and the puzzles are quite easy. It's relatively simple to finding pieces to complete objects (such as gate, rope) in order to move forward. Map is helpful in showing you where there are tasks to perform. Liked the kitten - he sure likes to climb. I was positive he would get stuck in some high place. Music is appropriate to whatever scene you are investigating. Voice overs are good. SUMMARY: A very nice game. 4 stars - still worth owning.
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting storyline with abundance of HO games. This game fits in the mid-length category, not too short, not too long. Graphics are excellent and HO games well done with numerous objects that are clear and visible. Mini games are interesting but not a fan of them, but those who are will enjoy them. I even finished a couple. I wonder why the developers use the same repetitious music that eventually becomes annoying in most of these games. Turning it down does the job, but it’s a shame because music could provide so much more atmosphere to all these games. The storyline has logic and moves forward with interesting new scenes and well done scenes. The map is useful and shows you where your current objectives are and where there will be new ones. There is a lot of moving back and forth, but it’s for a good purpose and not overdone like in some games where that is all you do is jump back and forth until it becomes exasperating. A few times I found a linking object in a HO game and when I tried to connect it to its matching object it didn’t work, just keep trying if you know you are right. Sometimes inventory items make you scratch your head and wonder “whatever” but eventually there is a purpose. Sometimes inventory gets a little full, but that takes care of itself pretty fast. I had to laugh in the beginning. You have to find powdered milk to mix with water for a kitty, when was the last time you used powdered milk? Love the critter helpers, keep them coming, they are cute, fun and make me smile! Sardines in a can, if I remember right they are usually packed in like “sardines” but in this case it was just one big old fish. Gives you a moment to think a bit and realize that in some cultures objects might be just a little different from how others see them.
Date published: 2015-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Getting Plastered! (Based on the Hour Trial) I have only played the hour trial, but I thought this game was quite good, and will probably buy it. I took a look at the other game in the series of Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death, and after an hour, still hadn't got off the dock. This one is more sensible, and I was able to figure out what to do next, without constantly referring to the hints button. The graphics are wonderful, and that extends to the Hidden Object games. When I first came across it, I wondered what I was supposed to do with the kitten, but he/she proved extremely useful. I never play the music, and if possible I get rid of the custom cursor, which in my opinion tend to be inaccurate and sluggish. I like the story in this game, and I love the Hidden Object games. I find the puzzles in any Hidden Object game annoying, but they will insist on including them. (If I wanted to play Puzzles, I would look at the Puzzles list) The objects found in the Hidden Object games, make sense, as they lead you through the game, and this makes it pleasant to play, instead of straining my brain. Overall, I enjoyed the hour, and will update this review when I complete the whole game.
Date published: 2013-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Will You Be The Next Victim? As an investigative reporter you have been called to a coastal Greek village to investigate the mysterious circumstances in the death of a sculptor Elias Kostas and his wife Maria who were found encased in plaster in his studio. Seemingly it was a horrific accident but Dr. Alexander, who called you, knows the truth and needs your help to prove that this was murder. As the body count mounts up, will you be able to solve the case or will you be the next victim? The graphics are very good but not always as crisp as I like. The artwork is lovely and does justice to the coastal Greek village setting. There are voiceovers with lip/sync that are generally very good with the exception of one character who speaks so slowly, I wanted to drag the words out of his mouth. The music and ambient sounds are very good and I found the music quite enjoyable. In fact, this is one of the few games where I will enjoy the extra soundtracks that are included with the CE content. You have a diary located on the lower left of your screen that, unfortunately, lights up with streaming sparkles every time you collect a note which I found extremely annoying. I found myself constantly opening the diary just to make the lights go away. The compass located next to your diary is the interactive map that shows where there is a task available. Shorty into the game you will acquire a feline helper who will be able to reach areas that you cannot. I know some of you hate furry little helpers in a game but give this one a chance because it is cute and you won’t find it annoying in the end. There are various types of HOS including the interactive list type and the progressive silhouette type. Most of the HOS were done well but in some of the early HOS I had a difficult time locating the items since the scenes were cluttered and the items seemed to fade into the background. The puzzles in Blood and Sand, although somewhat familiar, are good with many of them being fairly easy; however, there are some that are sticklers and a bit tricky. Dark Canvas Blood and Stone is a very nice game that had the misfortune to be released right after one of the most outstanding games we have seen this year and, as a result, it pales in comparison. The game’s storyline is a bit different than the usual fare and is interesting enough that when the demo ended I wanted more. Blood and Stone is not one of the best games in recent months but it is better than most. I found Blood and Sand to be an entertaining game and recommend that you at least try the demo.
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT FOR ALL LEVELS OF PLAYERS I just finished playing this games and found it to be delightful. I will not go into specific details because others have already done so. This game is a nice one, I believe for beginners and increasing higher skilled players. I am on the intermediate level and thoroughly enjoyed playing it. I suspect those who are below this level will find it fun and, in playing, will increase their overall ability and problem solving skills. The hint button works well as does the transporter map.Games can be skipped if need be, and when playing for the second time, one might prefer to take time to figure out the solutions. Hope this is helpful
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from quite enjoyable! i like the storyline ... gameplay is smooth and i like the puzzles ... hos are doable and not frustrating ... music is there but not annoying ... i like having music ... graphics are good ... this one is worth the discounted price ... and i am just enjoying this one ... not as exciting as some, but it keeps you interested and no technical difficulties ... yeah! ...
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better than just OK, but not quite Four Stars BASED ON FINISHING THE DEMO: This is a straightforward HOPA with a murder mystery setting, but there's nothing that is dark or ominous. There are three levels of difficulty, and a choice of cursors. Some of the HOS are chained objects where one object is needed to obtain the next. The mini-games are the standard ones and appeared to be easy to solve, although I skipped them simply because I always skip puzzles and mini-games. There is a map, which is interactive. However, I discovered the game to be quite linear, and therefore, even though the map may show an area has a task to be performed, it will not open that area until you have performed a task in another area that comes first. Hints are active in and out of the HOS. The artwork is bright and open and quite attractive. The music is pleasant and unobtrusive. Dialogue can be skipped. Good game for someone new to HOPAs, or when you want something relaxing and not too difficult. I liked it, but I probably wouldn't pay full price for it or use up a coupon.
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice change in scenery, but ho-hum This is based on the 2-hr trial only. What I liked the most was a change of scenery. Greece of all places. It was a nice change from the dark and creepy, although I like those games. For that (the location) I wish I could give this game a higher score, but I found it to be pretty easy. The HOG's were nicely done, but again pretty easy. The puzzles that I completed were on the easy side, too. The graphics were just okay, and I am not a huge fan of having to click to continue a conversation. I just want a character in the story to say what they have to say. It might be a nice game for a beginner or someone that doesn't like the darker games and stories.
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could Be Better I purchased the standard version (not the collector's edition) and found the challenge, quality and mechanics of the game mediocre at best. Clicking map locations does not bring you to the scene - a big plus in better designed games that are the same price.
Date published: 2013-12-08
  • y_2020, m_9, d_29, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_20045, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Canvas: Blood and Stone

Unlock the mystery of the Sculptor's tragic fate!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.