Love Alchemy: A Heart In Winter

Love Alchemy: A Heart In Winter

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(450.13 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

When a new romance blossoms, the door to mystery opens in Love Alchemy: A Heart in Winter. Follow a young woman as she's caught in the tightening web of intrigue surrounding her charming but mysterious lover. To do so, you'll have to search for hidden objects, solve puzzles, and win mini-games, even as the game romances you with its astonishing beauty. From opulent castle halls, to creepy dungeons, to exotic faraway lands, you'll want to stop and soak in the visual splendor. But you won't because each discovery will lure you closer to an ending you won't expect. If you enjoy adventures that hold your heart in their grip like a budding romance, then play Love Alchemy. As the door to mystery opens, you'll be helpless against it!

  • A magical love story
  • Amazing worlds inside paintings
  • A shocking alternate ending
  • Captivating characters
  • Challenging puzzles

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 497 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Love Alchemy: A Heart In Winter

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(450.13 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Love Alchemy: A Heart In Winter is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 47.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Story Line I did enjoy this game. It does have a few issues for me. The list of HO's is written in very small, light print thus hard to see for players with visual issues. Also, this game is really in need of a map!! Lots of back and forth. I felt the story line was interesting with a lady to save the day!! I most likely will wait for this game to be on sale prior to purchasing it. Not that I did not like it, but for the reasons stated above.
Date published: 2014-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Feel So Confused!? I hope you are a speed reader, you're going to have to be to read the introduction of this game at lightning speed! There are no voiceovers, no collectibles, no frills, but oddly enough this game is entertaining. The confusion comes into play first of all because I was only vaguely aware of the plot (one of my superpowers are not speed reading) and I fell for the ole...internet love connection, yes of course I'll come to your castle and promise not to be nosy schemes. Then I'm on my own in the castle of love and the next thing I know I'm snooping every corner of the castle, opening safes and finding hidden dungeons, and tip toeing past the giant black widow spider. Then I find paintings of different women around the world that my dear Charles, allegedly imprisoned after breaking their hearts, and I travel through these paintings to help these damsels in distress. The HOS are list finds but they did a nice job with them and the mini games tend to be on the easy side, but some were creative and new. One puzzle required you to turn all the discs red only in the diamond shaped center by clicking different directional arrows. It's really not a bad game, try it.
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game but very short I found this game interesting and quite good. However, I took away one star for two reasons. One was the extremely small size and lightness of the font in the HOS parts. Like someone else mentioned, I have a 21" screen and it was hard to see even with that. The other was that I found the game way too short. I finished it in an hour. Fortunately I got it on a 1/2 price deal.
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Travel Through Portraits - Review of Completed Game STORY: You take on the role of Ellie where an internet romance with Charles, an artist, turns into an actual meeting with a candle lit dinner and then he takes you to his castle in France where he leaves you for some mysterious business in the valley. While he is awhile you are going through the castle and you discover that Charles isn't as charming as he appeared. You end up having to save 7 women lovers of the artist here that are trapped in portraits. WIDESCREEN: There is a "keep proportions" option within the options. I had to deselect that for the game to go into widescreen otherwise I would of had black bars. 2 PLAY MODES: I played the hardest of the two. Sparkles came up for me for the HOS and there were also black bar tips telling me at times what needed to be done. The hint I didn't use it so no comment there. GRAPHICS: May be "too dated" for some but I really like these kind of graphics. Some of the scenes also "cartoon" style type drawn. These were nice and clear for me. No problem. VOICE OVERS: NO JOURNAL: YES. Holds story/notes. MAP: YES but I didn't use it. Checked it out though. It's transporter but doesn't indicate if there is anything to do or not at least in the hardest of the 2 modes. HOS: At first didn't seemed to be few and far between but did pick up as they appeared more frequent. All found by word list and are not interactive. These were nice, crisp, and clear for me. I had no problem here. PUZZLES: I am not a fan. The less amount of puzzles the better for me. I enjoy games more on the adventure/HOS side. Having said this these for me were all on the easy side so I didn't need to skip them though I will say I didn't see a skip button. Just a help and quit buttons at the top and a hint button at the bottom. Not too many in this game. MY PLAY TIME: This was 3 hours for me. I was just fine with the game length. Well worth the use of my punch card coupon code. OVERALL IMPRESSION: I'm gonna start by saying this does start off as a "Christmas" type setting game but then went to the demonic/occult side so some may really be offended by this game. It didn't bother me at all though. I was definitely intrigued by the story and was drawn in immediately. I just had to see where this ended up going and I must say it was kinda "out there" and "off the wall" but I really enjoyed the story. It held my interest from beginning to end. I also enjoyed the game play which seemed to be more on the lite adventure side as there is some back/forth to this game that is if you don't use the map. I do have some criticisms about this game. The first being: No true widescreen as I had to deselect the "keep proportions" options so the graphics did appear stretched for me. Second: I thought the dialogue at the beginning of the game went by just a bit too fast unless of course you are a speed reader which I'm not but then thank goodness slowed down and I also prefer the characters in the game to talk. My last criticism with this game the sparkles and black bar tips. Just provide me with a hint and skip button and I'll decide when I need help or skip any of the puzzles. Overall 4 stars from me. I rated this on the higher side due to the story as it was so "out there." I was taken in by it and intrigued. Thanks Big Fish and developer. As always give it a whirl and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good eyesight required! The story here is more intriguing than you would get from the intro. You are invited to the overseas castle of an artist you met online. You find yourself alone when he leaves on business and you go exploring. And soon you find yourself opening hidden safes, exploring secret passages and dungeons, and rescuing enchanted maidens left entrapped by, most possibly, your beloved. There are two difficulty levels, not overly annoying music, basic HOS, a variety of mini-games, good artwork, and an interactive map that lets you travel around more quickly. The hint is sometimes helpful outside of the HOS, but not always. You'll do a lot of reading in the intro and of notes you find. There is a lot of potential here. The story is interesting and there is not an excessive amount of hand holding. BUT the HOS items and even the list of items to search for are VERY tiny. I have a huge oversized monitor and the printed items list had letters an eighth of an inch high on that. I am sure this is not a game I'd even try on my laptop. But for a story with potential and a new and beautiful castle to explore, I'll invest in a good magnifying glass!
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice SE! Travel through portraits to save trapped souls. Based on demo. Your beloved Charles leaves you alone in his castle while he is away on a mysterious errand. As you explore the castle you find locked portraits of women that are actually portals to other worlds. Has your beloved trapped these women through false love? Or is he blameless? This is an SE game, so no bells and whistles. There is a journal and interactive map to help. No wide screen or VOs. However, the cut scenes are quite good and so is the music. The graphics are good and the different worlds are well imagined. HOSs are standard type and puzzles are of medium difficulty. This is an enjoyable, easy to play game that is fine for all ages. I think it is easily as good as some recent games that are masquerading as CEs, but really aren't. Recommended!
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Artist Did It So you fall in love with Charles via the Internet and agree to meet him at his castle in Europe at Christmas. Charles is an artist and the castle and town seem to be out of the 18th century or so, including the soft music playing in the background. After a lovely, romantic evening, Charles leaves on business and says to explore the castle. So what you find is several incarnations of Charles, including a painting of what seems to be his great-grandfather, but looks just like him. You find a loveletter to Mary from Charles during the war. You find several paintings of various women all locked in some misfortunate trap, all of whom loved Charles at some point and place in time. You go through the paintings to rescue the women, and receive the Tears of Love they each shed for Charles. Each set of tears adds to the love story of the French Charles de Ras and Ariel, his wife. Of course there is a demon............... So it is an excellent story line wrapped in a game that is not so excellent. There are only two levels of play. The inventory doesn't lock open. The introductory tutorial tips can't be clicked away, although you can skip the tutorial. The HOS are all lists, and sometimes the last item on the list cannot be clicked on -- you need to use a hint to actually remove it from the HOS. The Hint button only works randomly - or else takes a very long time to refill! There is jump map - no activities marked, however. Almost no puzzles included. If you can put up with these idiosyncrasie, you have a decent story line to follow, and 8 women - including yourself - to rescue. Plus Charles. Try before you buy!
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game Based on the Demo An internet romance blossoms into a meeting, a candlelit dinner, romance, and love. The love of the main character's life (that she just met for the first time today) takes her to his castle, then leaves her there for some mysterious urgent business he must attend to. She goes through the castle, picking up objects, playing mini puzzles and hidden object games along the way. The graphics and soundtrack are beautifully done. There is a journal, an interactive map, and all the bells and whistles of a good hidden object adventure game.
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't see that coming I will say I enjoyed the game. I liked the story line, graphics, etc. I didn't like the way it ended. Be careful how you answer questions when asked.
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun without major frustration This was a very fun game. Not long, but a good storyline and for those of us who like to relax while playing, not frustrating! I enjoyed the whole thing and recommend it to anyone who enjoys games with a story that actually end up with a conclusion!
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE ALCHEMY A HEART IN WINTER IT IS A FUN HIDDEN OBJECT GAME
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was not more than I expected. I liked this game. There were no voiceovers which was odd, since there was enough talking to warrant them. It might have boost the appeal. The game started off well enough but with each successive painting it got easier until there was no challenge at all. I used a free game coupon and since there was not much of a selection of SE's for me, this is what I chose. It was o.k. for free!
Date published: 2014-06-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I Don't Know How to Rate This. . . Based on the "completed" game. The game is not long - for slow players like me maybe 2-3 hours, which is fine with me. Easy game play, flows right along. Lots of easy HOS and mostly easy puzzles. The settings are beautiful and well drawn and the storyline was suitably creepy. While the heroine essentially repeats her rescue of others seven times, each rescue has a slightly different premise and contributes to the story. Each rescue opens a piece of the puzzle of why things are happening. I like this. Here's the problem. This game has an alternate ending. I chose unwisely. Partly because I didn't really have a clue that this was the ending! I have chosen unwisely in the past, but at least I knew what I was doing. NOW, I have to go back and play the whole game AGAIN! Not happy. So you can choose for yourselves.
Date published: 2014-06-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from short game All I have to say is this game is very short. I finished the game completely in less than the 1 hour trial with several minutes left. It is not a bad game just a little easy, and short.
Date published: 2014-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Simple fun game Based on the demo, I'd saved half the girls before quitting so think it would only take another hour to complete. The first girl took the longest to save while the others took only a few minutes. Really needed to be more challenging to free each one. As a result, although I was actually enjoying this game, I wouldn't buy it unless I used a game club code. While there were no voice overs, pets, or awards, it still was an easy, fun game. The heroine did go from "in love" to "out of love" very quickly and believed the girls way too easily. I did find there were several misnamed items in the HOs (wap = 8 ball, sheet of paper = leaf) and one item that was in Russian (ended up being a dart) plus the hint didn't work half the time. I'd get the hint "sound" but no actual directional indication or found object in HOs. I thought it might be because of my memory even though I have 12GB but exiting the game and re-entering it did not help.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't get past the demo The game has a good storyline, nice graphics and smooth gameplay. It starts with black bars down the sides, which annoyed me, but once I'd figured out how to make it widescreen, it was much better. The music was a bit annoying, but you cannot turn it off without turning off the ambient noises too. Grrrr! Unlockable inventory, another Grrrr! However, the game was enjoyable and I liked playing it, but..... ....after reading the other reviews, it looks really short. I finished the demo and have saved four girls, so if the reviews are correct, I only have one more to get and then I'm finished! Won't be buying I'm afraid if I've only got one more task to do!
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2 hours flew by! I haven't felt so entertained by one of these games in a long time. Once you accept the silliness of the premise, this game is really a lot of fun. However I was glad I didn't pay full price. The game is, for one thing, pretty short. For another, it's pretty simple compared to a lot of the newer games. No achievements, no voice overs (that I recall), in other words, no bells and whistles - but right about now that actually feels refreshing. I recommend this game with a caution. For old shcool HOA lovers this is a find, some may not like it.
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Maybe good for a freebie I really like the premise but this is a VERY short game. I went through about 5 of the paintings during the demo. The artwork is beautiful, there are no voice overs (which for me is a plus) and the dialogue moves quickly. There is no interaction in the HOs but the scenes are lovely...however, towards the end of the demo I came to several HO scenes which did not have the English word for the item, so you have to click around a lot to find things. (For instance a "Wap" turns out to be an 8 ball) The map is of no use at all and the hint button is directional only. The few puzzles I came across were very simple. This game is for people who like the artwork and possibly the storyline.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Twisted Romance on Christmas! OOOh What a Fun Christmas Game....NOT! The first thing that popped into my head when I saw the developers' name was great; the A-Team always comes up with interesting games. Unfortunately either they took a step back or this particular game came out of their archives, because it is a classic, another kind way of saying that the game is old-school. What we have here is a trip to 2008, when the first standard HOPA games came out: There are no voice-overs, no cell phones, no computer or I-pads, no list of objectives, no cute companion or animal to help you out and NO SG. Game features include two play modes to choose from and a rudimentary map that will only allow for travel. Graphics are cartoonish, but the resolution was sharp, art work was mediocre. Our story is an interesting love story, girl meets boy, girl falls in love with boy and girl goes away with boy to spend Christmas at his castle. Why not? After all, he is an artist and has a castle, who would say no? Girl soon discovers that boy is not as charming as he appeared and there seems to be some black magic and occult involved in his life. As she begins to roam about, she slips into portals, meets up with other unfortunate girls and spends her Christmas morning trying to save them, or so I think as I only met the first unfortunate victim being choked to death by some gigantic snake. Talk about a boy who has issues. Despite the lack of extras, the game does have a certain appeal to those who enjoy classic adventure gameplay. There are many clues and inventory items to collect, a lot of tedious back-tracking to do, many straightforward Hidden Object scenes to play without any interaction and unfortunately the hint system doesn’t seem to work with them. Items are small or well hidden and it was actually a challenge to find them all. There are mini-games to play and so far they were very easy to solve. Yes the game looks old but gameplay is surprisingly challenging when you have no directions to aid you in your search. The hint button only highlights an area of interest and that is about it. You really need to use those grey cells while playing and a walkthrough will be most welcomed. I give this a three star but as the storyline did intrigue me and I do have a free game to spare, I think I will go for this one, only because I did enjoy the challenge of roamingaround totally lost as to what I needed to do. Not exactly a game to end the year off with but then we had some really great games this year. Thanks to BFG and all the developers and everyone in the pond, I do wish everyone a very Happy New Year.
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a bad SE... Hello, Pond Pals! Was expecting something a little different for the last day of the year, but got this game instead. Not quite the usual for this dev. Graphics were clean and clear, with bright colors. Game play was not bad, but game froze up once and lagged a bit here and there. The music was very annoying! There is a jump map, but it is an SE, so unless you know exactly where you are going, you won't use it, and there is a lot of back tracking in this game. No voice overs, not much in the way of sound FX. No locking inventory bar, so it jumps up and down. Hint system is very helpful, fortunately, and fills quickly. Yes, Virginia, there is a click penalty in the HOGs...can you believe that! It has been a very long time since we have seen that. This game makes me think it was pulled out of storage somewhere and tossed back into the pot, meaning it is a very old game (or at least looks and plays that way#. HOGs are quite simple, items easy to find. Haven't seen much in the way of puzzles yet, only saw three extremely easy puzzles so far #musical notes, match rocks, jigsaw puzzle#. The story was drawn out too long, so you really don't know what is happening when you start. Hard to get drawn into a story like that...at least need a hint. A lot of dialoge and you can't skip through it if you read faster than they do #didn't like that). Can't tell how long the story may be. I "saved" 3 people in 45 minutes and am still confused. Yes, I get the gist of the story line, that's easy, but it doesn't flow very well at all. Each "save" is a very short and simple game, so no challenge here. All that being said, I would like to see what Charles' story is and what his master plan may be. This is a no brainer game and that's where I'm at today. I have a credit that needs to be used or lost, so I will get this game...I may be sorry, but I may be surprised. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have differen tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews. Here's to a Happy and better New Year!
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but not worth the money I enjoyed it just it was very very very short not worth the money great story but way to easy it reminded me of a child's game with the level of challenge.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Short and Not so Sweet This game I believe came out of the closet somewhere. Just to let everyone know this game only took me an hour and a half to finish so is definitely not worth the price. Maybe on a daily deal but I don't think so. There is 7 girls to save which took little time to do. The puzzles were few. The HO scenes were repeated. The graphics were just ok. No map and lots of back and forth. I can't believe BF put this out as the last game of the year.
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth downloading Based on demo It really starts with an interesting storyline, but then it turns out strange. The hint is not working, so you have to run down to every room and try things out. There are no logical clues whatsoever to be followed. The map is not offering hins ether. Didn't like it at all!
Date published: 2014-01-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Decent, but not earth-shattering with flaws, both design and technical The artwork and story were decent, but the game itself didn't grab me really. Ended up finishing the whole thing in a few hours. The puzzles seemed to get easier as it went along, indicating a probable rushed design process. Had some issues with the Hint button not working consistently and it actually locked up my system a few times as well (I am a engineer with a pretty well manicured system), both inexcusable for a genre as polished as HO usually is.
Date published: 2014-01-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So Annoying Do not get this game if you want to use the hint button frequently. It often stop working. When that happens you have to quit the entire game and come back to restore it to working order.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just not good... I rarely write very negative reviews, but I feel this game deserves one. Sorry to the developers, as I have liked many of their games very much, but this one leaves a lot to be desired. First, it's VERY short--like 2-3 hours, and I am not a speedy player. Second, the list words in the HOS's are extremely tiny, written in a thin font you can barely see. Also, several items were not translated into English or even into our alphabet. No clue what those were without using hints. Third, the story was just okay, but the writing was horrible. I'm sure part of it was translation difficulties, which I can forgive, but honestly, the character you play has to be about the stupidest woman I've ever seen. The dialog is simply awful. Sorry, Ala... team, but this is not your best work. I can't recommend this game to anyone with the possible exception of an individual who looks for cornball dialog just to laugh at.
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from WHAT IT IS OVER ALREADY??!!! I played the demo and liked the storyline and frankly was running out of games to play as I have been stuck in bed 24/7 all summer, so I bought it... well besides from a good storyline with an alternate ending the game was over 20 minutes after purchasing it. so as you might be as well, I am angry...anyways its a very easy game I played it a second time in less than an hour just to see what the other ending was..i sadly don't recommend this game unless you don't mind using a coupon code..i rated this game 2 stars not because I disliked it but because of the length
Date published: 2015-09-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing 15 minutes into this and I was bored and so done with it. The story could have been great, but it's cheesy and when I saw the woman trapped in the clutches of the snake, I thought "oh brother, I'm outta here". Wish there were some intelligent games coming out without so much death, cemeteries, monsters and nonsense. Ho-hum!
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Find, fix, repeat This game just seems like an endless loop of collect three things enter a scene add the three things together and receive a key to the next scene. There is no real challenge once you complete the second one and figure out that that is all there is to it. I finished the game in the trial with 14 minutes to spare! I wouldn't waste my time or a free credit on this one.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This game needed voice overs in my opinion I love the storyline, graphics, but will not buy it without voice overs. Voices add another dimension in games for me, and I always purchase them when included. I don't want to hear myself read. I will either wait to get it free, or special deal price but for me no voices no buy. I am playing other games now far more interesting that includes voices.
Date published: 2013-12-31
  • y_2021, m_1, d_21, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_20287, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Love Alchemy: A Heart In Winter

When a new romance blossoms, the door to mystery opens in Love Alchemy!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.