Mind Snares: Alice's Journey

Mind Snares: Alice's Journey

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(275.90 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Alice Dahl has found herself stuck in an occupation that makes her very unhappy. She knows that her only shot at happiness is to leave her job behind, but past fears are holding her back. After rushing to meet a client, Alice's car careens into a river. She wakes to find herself in what looks like a hospital, but turns out to be a strange shadow world. Her only means of escape is to overcome her fears in Mind Snares: Alice's Journey.

  • Solve mini-games generated by Alice's subconscious
  • Help Alice overcome her fears
  • Explore a strange shadow world

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 735 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mind Snares: Alice's Journey

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(275.90 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mind Snares: Alice's Journey is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 60.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Engrossing Game A wonderful job was done with this game by the developers. You can tell it was well thought out. Very interesting and unique story line, once you get past the obligatory car crash. Alice has been "taken" by a spooky figure in a cape and wakes up in a decrepit hospital with no knowledge of why she's there. There are quite a few HOS in the game, but they are easily identified. Lighting is good. There are many puzzles. I found them medium to difficult, but I am not great at puzzles. You may find them easy. Music, graphics, voice overs are all done very very well. I highly recommend this game. I love games by new developers because usually we get to experience something new and different, which is exactly the case here. Enjoy :)
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprise!!! Wow what a wonderful SE! Kept me occupied for hours, intriguing story and definitely matched my mood about MY job lol Challenging enough not be boring but not convoluted and confusing as some of the stand-alones I've tried. Kudos to the developers and I hope to see more from them! I recommend this
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Story, Fascinating Game I am totally in agreement with JustTheFact, this really is a spectacular game. Yes it is cartoonish, yes the first scenes are familiar; like we haven't had a car accident and woken up in an empty sanatorium or hospital? The story however is really fascinating, a theme most of us can relate too. Conquering one's fear and realizing what a paralyzing effect it has on our lives, inhibiting our actions and keeping us lock in our own prison filled with regrets and discontentment. In Mind Snares, we join Alice in her quest to fight the demon that has her trapped in her own mind which is manifested in an abandoned hospital. Her adventure begins in this classic HOPA game that takes me back to the days when you had to use a bit of your brain cells to decipher puzzles, collect inventory items and solve mini-games without the help of a strategy guide or a pet or a companion. I realized after having played the first hour of the demo that I really do miss the classics. Although visuals are somewhat dated, don’t let the cartoon graphics fool you. The voice-overs are very well acted and background music adds to the intensity of the game. There is enough tension that does build up and enhances the fear factor and makes the game even more interesting. By the end of the demo, I was totally engrossed with Alice and her quest to find the Totems that represent the hindrances in her life and when completed, will return her back to her reality a changed woman. There are three game modes to choose from and Expert mode offers penalty clicks as well. There is a diary that holds your clues and outlines objectives and a map that does indicate areas of interest and allows for travel. At first glance the game appears to be easy, but the challenge lies in the fact that there really isn’t too much hand holding. Although not too strenuous, you do need on occasion to use the little grey cells to decipher where use your inventory item which is what do prefer. The hidden object games are standard, junk-piled with slight interaction, classic and easy to do. I also came across finding silhouettes of items shown. I enjoyed the mini-games, very well conceptualized and some even require a bit more time and effort to solve. There are no Blings in this game but there is a list of achievements to earn which does make for some challenge. Game play is pretty straightforward, driven by a very interesting and thought provoking storyline. I applaud the developers for taking us back to the good old days when HOPA games were interesting and fun to play. A winner in standard game category and a must have on my list. I really think the story is interesting and may no doubt shed some light in our own personal journey in the need to conquer our own fears.
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game, well priced and something for everyone At first I wasn't sure about the game until I got about 30mins. into it and then it took on a different angle of play. There are still lots of hidden object scenes but also different mini puzzles too which is a real delight these days, I would highly recommend this game and feel it's every bit as good as lots of collectors editions that we get these days
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CREEPY AND WONDERFUL while i wish there were a few more unique puzzles and slightly less HOs, this is just one of the most UNIQUE, BEAUTIFUL AND FUN storylines that i have played ... i just LOVE the content and the artwork!!! ... the gameplay KEEPS YOU MOVING thru the locations and the characters are MEMORABLE! ... i just love BABA YAGA!!! ... i'm about half way thru the game ... this one is worth paying for, but i was lucky to use a free game ! ... a DELIGHTFUL SURPRISE! ...
Date published: 2014-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun HOPA Game! Game play has been excellently reviewed by previous posters, so will not waste time. Review of demo. I wasn't sure I would like it at first but it picked up and was great fun with a nice creep factor. Cut scenes are excellently done, as are the voice overs. A strategy guide or walk-through isn't needed in this SE, as an interactive jump map will always keep you on the right path. Puzzles weren't overly difficult but fun. A journal will help you keep track of notes that hold clues and a list of tasks you need to perform. The game is mostly linear. If you need to backtrack, it won't be far. I found this to be a fun game. Try the demo and see for yourself but it's a definite purchase for me. Thanks developers for a great game!
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Psychological Thriller HOPA Based on the Demo. As I have said before, if I get to the end of the demo without getting bored, I usually buy the game. Alice hates her job, but is afraid to follow her dreams, so is given the opportunity to face her fears in this psychological thriller of a HOPA. While similar to some recent games-you are facing your own fears rather than "saving" someone else. There is a journal, with story & objectives & an interactive map, Graphics are creepy & dream-like. HOS & puzzles are reasonably difficult without being frustrating-always a plus for me. A like & a buy for me
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Epic journey through your mind! I love the game! We have thrilling story, plot twists, cool minigames and challenging villians. So many different characters which are more surprising than you can imagine! I really liked our main hero - Alice, who hasn't the same problem as her?
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MOST AWESOME GAME EVER!!!!!!!!! I am only half way through this great game and I must say that I am impressed with every aspect of it!! I love the story line and I am finding the puzzles a little challenging but yet I have only had to skip one of them. I really love hidden object games and this one has great ones!! I thought after the second chapter the game would be coming to the end, but to my surprise it has two more fun filled chapters left!! Buy it, it's worth the money or your free credit, trust me!!
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for a while I really enjoyed this game as it was atmospheric and different from the standard story. In fact quite eerie in parts. My only criticism was that it ended too soon and quite abruptly however for the price - 5 stars!
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great storyline, amazing game!! I loved this game, it was different and kept my interest well into the wee hours of the morning until I finished it. I hope to find more like this one in the future. Keep up the great work developers and all supportive staff, thank you Big Fish for releasing this little gem!
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mind Snares Alice's Journey This is a great game. Chilling story line and great graphics. I usually buy Collector's Editions but this one really got my attention during the free trial.
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from based on the demo this was a buy for me I don't buy games from just the demo to often but this one just hit the spot. interesting story line, great hint button and a map. I want to keep playing and find out what happens so this was a buy for me. don't use sound so can't rate that but game is great.
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW....Another Great Game I bought this game after playing the demo for 10 minutes. Absolutely loved this game. Everything you could ask for.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT JOURNEY!!! VERY INTERESTING,FUN GAME,WILL BUY!!!
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You want to make changes in your life but Fate has other plans. Injured in a crash, you struggle to gain control and start a new life Two years ago, Alice Dahl fulfilled her dream of starting her own business, a bookstore cafe, that became successful and was happy when she was contacted for an interview by a news agency about becoming a business entrepreneur of the year. During the interview, she related to the reporter that things had not always been this way. She used to work for a manager in an office who constantly gave her personal errands to do for him on top of her regular work and was required to work any time he decided that something needed to be done. She was afraid to stand up to him for fear of losing her job. She was about to leave on vacation when he sent her on business to Seattle that canceled her vacation. While driving in a rain storm across a bridge, the wheel suddenly turned causing the car to crash and fall into the water. As if in a dream, she saw an ominous cloaked figure controlling a puppet figure of herself and commenting that he had plans for her. As she became aware of her surroundings and not sure if she was dreaming, she finds her legs strapped to a gurney in a hospital-like room. From her hand, a red lifeline begins to move around the room as if showing her a direction she should travel. Releasing the straps, she follows the red line as if there was some spiritual connection with it and she feels someone is watching her. As she explores, she finds objects from her past and an exit door which she is finally able to open. As she trys to exit, everything around her begins to fall apart leaving her in a dark area with several new doors. Only able to open one of the doors, she finds a swivelled old woman who seems to know her and tells her she needs to defeat her demons to find her way out and back home. She needs to find four totems that will restore the path to the the way back to her life. They are scattered in four remote parts of her memory and each area can be accessed by a portal that opens to each of the four areas that she will need to explore to find the totems. The title page shows a puppet Alice struggling to break free from her controlling wires which suggests a struggle between her desire to make changes to her life and fate who has plans for her. She has to fight her way back to consciousness by fighting against that feeling of helplessness and being afraid to try something new. The graphics depicted a hazy central core of the mind with multiple paths that led to four distinct areas that she had to explore to obtain the totems. Each of those areas were well presented fitting their themes. Music varied with locations and voice acting was good. There is a jump map provided for the first three areas visited but not in the fourth. Inventory puzzles and minigames were the usual seen in these games and presented nothing really new. Hidden object scenes were the usual interactive list type with most objects fairly easy to find. There is a journal for the story and clues with an objectives tab. This one doesn't set any new trends but will provide a few hours of diversion.
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked it! Superb game. Everything was awesome but Fun Factor was OK
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really fun game! Confront your fears, that’s the message in Alice's Journey. A mix of hidden object and point and click adventure. Alice, has to confront her fears in the real world by solving issues in an alternate universe. It starts off well, with the background to Alice’s predicament. She hates her job and wants to make a change but is scared to do anything about it. In a ‘Life on Mars’ style twist, she has an accident on the way to meet a client and finds herself in a shadowy dimension where her fears are realized and she must solve them by completing puzzles. The hand drawn backgrounds are impressive and there's plenty of detail to take in as you tour the strange land and try to find your way back to the real world. This and the interesting story will keep fans of the genre happy, though I found the ending was far too abrupt and it felt as if it had been cut short for some reason. That is the only reason it got 4 stars instead of 5. I highly recommend the game!
Date published: 2015-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No complaints - got it free. I think this is an older game. It seemed rather short in length and it was not much of a challenge.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice surprize! Wow this was a good little game. A SE with achievements. Good graphics, use of color and plenty of locations to explore. It does follow a pretty standard theme of a car crash and then entering different worlds through portals to find "Totems". You then return and place the totem to open the next portal. Hopefully this will allow you to find your way back and change your life. This one was a bit HO heavy but that for me was a good thing. There were plenty of mini games also, that were not overly difficult but fun to complete. All in all I quite liked this one. Had they added collectibles you would not have known it was only a SE. It was a pretty high quality production with good VO's, a nice mix of adventure play, mini games and HO scenes and several different worlds to explore. Best part for me was that no one went missing or was kidnapped. I just can't do that storyline another time. This one was good fun and I liked it.
Date published: 2015-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from mind snares: alice's journey A really good game,an interactive map which is always a must have, game could of been longer though.
Date published: 2015-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One of the better ones I liked this game. It kept my interest and I thought the puzzles were quite good. The hidden objects were not overly difficult but that was OK with me. If I had a criticism I'd say that the last chapter was pretty short, and pretty easy, and I found the ending itself to be a bit "odd," ..... kinda like leaving it a bit up in the air so as to make way for a sequel maybe?? Also the music was a bit annoying .... but overall I'd recommend this game.
Date published: 2015-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mind Snares: Alice's Journey I really enjoyed this game. It is incredible that the "non Collector's Edition" games that I have bought with my free game credits are been so much better. While the story line is unusual, the game play is delightful, The story line is "dark" but it does make you think about your life and what is important.
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unfinished version This is a great game with a good level of challenge and a good balance of puzzles and HOS. It's such a shame that we have only been offered the SE version, as the ending is non existent. Such a disappointment.
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Over so soon? First, let me say this is a buy. I was intrigued with the story which was different than so many others. It took me hours and hours to advance to the next level but once I did the additional levels (there are 4) I completed each one in less than 15 to 30 minutes each.
Date published: 2014-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from JOURNEY TO THE CENTER OF YOUR MIND Wow, this is literally 'mind blowing'. Absolutely brilliant game. You have: * Casual, Advanced and Expert modes of play; * Voiceovers; * Diary; * Interactive map; * Achievements Board [18 of them]. Even though its not a collectors edition, we have all the benefits of one. Well done. The graphics are very vivid but still clear to see everything. The sound is very good. There are four chapters to this tale and each time you get a different piece of music. The HOS are easy to medium. There are plenty of them but not every step you take and they don't take too long to do. Everything was clear and not too junk piled. The mini-games were fun and I'm sure you will find your favourite ones in there. I enjoyed them all. Overall I really enjoyed playing this game and definitely recommend it for everyone. Well worth buying to add to your collection.
Date published: 2014-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Defeat Your Demons! Before Alice was a successful business owner, she was an overworked, and unappreciated employee of a boss who constantly took advantage of her. That all changed one rainy stormy night shortly before what was supposed to be her vacation. Alice wakes up in an old hospital room (now if we only threw in a few zombies...) which is actually all in her mind, quite literally her mind has snared her into a realm between dreams and reality and she has to overcome the fears that have her bound to this realm. She has to defeat her demons. There are achievements to earn, and either there aren't too many of them or I didn't impress the achievement gods because I only earned a couple of them in the demo. The hidden object scenes were well done, interactive list finds of random junk in a pile or thrown about a room. There are a bunch of mini games such as following the blueprints for building a mechanical hand. The clues given on the blueprint were similar to the actual parts so you had to match similar symbols like sun and moon. This is a good game, entertaining, with plenty of activities, and certainly worth the price of a SE, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An very good SE Graphics not bad. Quite a linear game with a bit of backtracking, but not a prob as the map allowed you to move around nicely.HOs were pretty standard but puzzles did require some thinking about. It was the storyline (as others have said) which made the game so compelling to play. It hooked me, so I had to see what came next, and help Alice to save herself of course..lol.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Nice SE... Morning all. Well, a nice SE for a change. This game has the colors and graphics of a cartoon, but they are very well done. Cut scenes and game play are very good as well. I like the music. It has just the right amount of creepy and moves in tune with the actions of the characters and game play. Voice overs are well done and fit the characters. There is a jump map, but I wasn't too kicked out about how it was set up. Something about the color and layout. However, it did work well, but the game flowed so well that I really didn't have to use it much. There isn't a huge amount of running back and forth, but you do return to the same locations numerous times. A lot of items you find in one area are used in that area as soon as you find them, so you aren't running back and forth for only one item at a time. HOGs are very simple, fairly clear and items are easy to find. Puzzles are not difficult, but a couple have made me stop and think a bit in order to complete them. There are a number of achievements and there are actually collectibles in this one as well. You need to find what they call "totems," to put on the 4 boulders. Okay, so maybe they aren't considered collectibles, but they don't just jump off the page at you either. You are traveling between dimensions to find these items, so you don't get bored staying in the same area all the time. There are a lot of things to pick up and do along the way, and everything is useful within the game. Hint system is very helpful and fills very quickly...so does the skip button in the puzzles. This game is not especially challenging, but it is different and fun and a really nice SE. I think all levels of players will find this one to their liking. Definitely worth a game credit today. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent game, good moral! Beautiful artwork, good animation and voice acting. I especially loved the message that you can change your life for the better. Drawbacks were that the story just end abruptly with no epilogue and that in the area with the hag, the English text at the top reflected bad grammar and spelling. I understand that the production team for the game may not be native English speakers, but most of the other text in the game is good. Editing is important!
Date published: 2014-03-16
  • y_2020, m_3, d_29, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_20736, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mind Snares: Alice's Journey

After Alice's car careens into a river, she wakes to find herself in a strange world. To escape, Alice will have to overcome her fears.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.