Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope Collector's Edition

Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(442.87 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Several years ago you suffered a tragedy. Your sister Margaret died. Margaret lived with her husband, Emmett, in a small little village lost in the mountains. After her death, Emmett, overcome with grief, disappeared from the town.

And now many years later, you have received a mysterious letter in which he invites you meet with your dead sister. You are so intrigued by this unexpected letter that you head to the village of Reagan, where your sister had lived and where she was buried.

Learn whether you will meet your sister and discover what mortal dangers you will face in Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Learn the story of tragedy in the bonus chapter
  • Achievements, zoo and interface shop
  • Re-playable hidden object scenes and mini-games
  • Soundtracks, wallpapers and concept art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1286 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(442.87 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 60.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Outstanding HOP Game I loved every detail of the game - the sound and visual quality, the attention to details, the story line, the games puzzles and HOS, the characters... An outstanding game!
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope Collector's Edition I liked playing this game and there wasn't much horror in it and that makes a change for me
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutly amazing game The graphics are fantastic. Everything is detailed and wonderfully done. The level of challenge is very good. The puzzles are not easy and not very difficult. They are just right. You can choose between three playing modes or custom your own difficulty more. The HOS are well done and there are two types of HOS in the game. Usual one and insert the item. You can substitute this HOS with jigsaw puzzle and match3 game. You can collect crystals, coins, animals while you are playing. And also you can decorate your UI and make animals alive in the zoo. I really like the last! The developers made a great job and I can't wait to see other their games!
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Based on demo. Good idea switch to Jigsaw puzzles in HO scenes! Graphic, music and total quality was really great! Try it, I think the game worth your attention!
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope Collector's Edition Money well Spent!!! There is so much I want to say about the game and none of this is negative. For start I love the fact that you can decide whether you want to play the HOS or a puzzle to get the item you need! The length of the game was very good. I've lost track of time because I was so involved in the game. But I think it took something about 6 hours. There were 4 levels of difficulty to play. The puzzles were not too difficult but enough to give you a little challenge. The music was good and the story line good also. The graphics was outstanding one! There is a map that lets you jump from area to area so not to back track to much a good thing to have in a game like this. Altogether the game was great. A must buy in my opinion and well worth the money spent.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game this year I loved this game! Great storyline, lots of scenes, excellent arts and sound quality. I'm glad that this year starts with such games!
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 stars game!!! I've enjoyed this game very much. The storyline was great, the graphics extremly good and the music was nice. HOS were fun and you can switch to puzzle or match3 and I like it!!! The mini games were challenging and some of them unique. I hope to see more of these games.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hope for the best & you got it!!! Not much more I can say that hasn't already been said. I only played the demo but I knew it was a winner. The story line had a different twist than most games, graphics were superb, characters had a charm even though a lot of them ended up in dossier! That also was a creative additive. Just too much fun, lots of collectibles, changing your zoo creatures by collecting crystals...on and on. Simply try this game and I' m sure you will have a great time, I did and it was only the trial. Three guesses, a buy, yes??? Enjoy!
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What fun! I just finished this game and loved every minute. I think it is well worth the money. I played on the casual level. Even though the games were not highly challenging, they were just plain fun. The map is excellent and I always appreciate when it allows you to be teleported to your next area of interest. Of course, you might decide not to use it or the hint button. The length was long or, at least seemed so. I played off and on today in between running errands Looking for collectables and being able to use them in a couple of ways, added to the enjoyment. Also, it had a good story line and I loved the way information was provided for each character as the game progressed. The HO's were varied in that at times you had to look for objects, place objects in the scene, etc. The graphics I thought to be excellent. I have to admit that, on occasion, I could not find or place that one last object. Don't you hate that? Strickly my fault and I found myself switching to the alternative play (match 3, or place pieces into a puzzle). I had promised myself I would not resort to that. <g>. I have not, yet, played the bonus chapter but am looking forward to doing so. A higher level of challenge was given because you are allowed to change this level during the game and can adjust this at will. I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! The graphics were so outstanding in this game that I caught myself just gazing at the scenes to appreciate such details and color. Everything seemed to be well developed. I liked having the option of HO or puzzle. Mini games were pretty easy but ok. A lot to do with picking up different animals for the zoo and then picking up crystals to animate the animals. You get coins also to buy upgrades and you earn some simple achievements. All to make it more CE worthy!
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game and puzzels! what more can I ask for I enjoyed this game and particularly loved that I could switch to solving puzzels rather than finding things. when I am not playing big fish games I am working on puzzels so what more can I ask for. the story line is interesting, great map and hint button this will be a buy but probably when the regular version comes out. unless I need a collectors for a free game I don't care about extras so don't buy collectors too often. when the regular version comes out this will be a buy for me.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Game Totally Enthralled me Your brother-in-law sends you a letter asking you to come to your childhood home where you met your now-deceased wife, promising to meet with you and your deceased wife. Hmmm. So off you venture in your horse and buggy and arrive in town to find mostly everyone gone and a green creature wreaking havoc. The people who are still alive tell you your brother-in-law (Emmett) is behind the murders. Score one in my book for the creepy storyline. HOS are list and interactive. If you choose, you may play a puzzle instead. I really enjoyed that touch. Puzzles were interesting, some very new. Most not difficult, but fun to do, and I am not a big puzzle fan. You get 4 modes of play including custom which I love. There are collectables such as coins to upgrade your panel (which upgrades the alchemist box Emmett gives you, your inventory and other things). You can also collect crystals to spend at the zoo (this one perplexed me... a zoo??). These crystals will bring your animals to life. I found the game to be challenging. More out of the box than the usual games we see and I applaud the developers for that. I love non-linear thinking. The graphics were perfect for me. Painted, bright. There are no voice overs with the characters. Short dialogue to read instead. I saw in some spots that English did not appear to be the native tongue of the writers, but I can overlook that. This is one of the best games I've played in quite a long time. I definitely recommend.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Green skeletons, zoo animals, a chained up Annie! I played the beta of this game and it is sooooo much improved from then. There are so many things to do you can't get bored! You receive a letter from your brother-in-law Emmet, 5 years after your sister's death who implies she is alive. So you drop everything and go to the town of Reghin, where all the people seemed to be zoned out and controlled by some green skeleton heads. You also discover Emmett is known as the Alchemist, and is suspected of murdering 5 people including the mayor and the doctor. You find Emmett's little sister Annie chained up in a tavern, and eventually you run into Emmett who says he has some unfinished business to attend to, but gives you his alchemist's crucible for help with the enchanted "green" items. Whew! There are 18 achievements to earn, 10 zoo animals to find and transform (like Pegasus, Phoenix, and Cerberus), coins to find and spend on decorating your crucible and inventory panel. plus a bonus chapter, strategy guide and the other CE goodies. The HOS are either lists, for which you can substitute a jigsaw puzzle , or "insert the item", which you can substitute a Match 3 game for. The mini-games are fun -- some are a bit hard. You get a journal, a dossier of the key players as you find them, and an interactive jump map which shows where active areas are. The four modes of play, including custom, show satisfy all. This is a great game from a new developer. Try it -- it's fun!
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super! I loved that there were, not only one, but several alternatives to the HOGs! Graphic was great, quality was great. More of this, please. Loved the Jigsaw puzzles!
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I played the Beta test for this and am so glad I did not have to wait long for it to be released. I like the graphics and ease of playing. I do not write reviews but had to share how much I like this game!
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious! You know how much I appreciate out of the box thinking, so thank you devs for all the extras on this game! There are zoo creatures to find throughout the game, nothing special right? Wrong, find hidden crystals and use those crystals to "transform" your creatures and bring them to life. There are also coins to find and there is a shop that allows you to upgrade your panel, something I have never see done before. You can upgrade the inventory panel, the journal and even the alchemist crucible you receive from Emmett. There are plenty of achievements, some achievements unlock wallpapers. That's just the beginning folks, there are a ton of mini games and a lot of them are either brand spanking new or twists on older games. I liked the bridge puzzle where you had to flip over boards with 6 different levers until you completed the picture. The HOS were interactive list finds and you could opt for a jigsaw puzzle instead. The story is good, you are summoned to your childhood town of Reahin by your best friend Emmett who claims that his wife is no longer dead! Green demons are wreaking havoc on the town and the few citizens you find are blaming your friend Emmett. Hope is not lost, is it?
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous and Fun Hidden Object CE Based on the demo. This game has everything. The Voiceovers are well done. The soundtrack is extraordinary, beautifully orchestrated, professionally done. The visuals are beautiful and detailed, using brilliant colors where appropriate and muted colors when needed. The game begins with the brother in law asking the player to visit him and the player's sister, Margaret, who just happens to be dead. The hidden object scenes are moderately easy, as are the fun and entertaining mini puzzles. The player can opt to do a regular puzzle instead of a hidden object scene. There is a map, a journal, and a strategy guide. Achievements include completing a mini game in less than one minute, completing 3 mini games in a row without skipping, completing a hidden object scene without a hint, and completing 3 hidden object games without a hint. This hidden object adventure is the real deal: entertaining, fast paced and a lot of fun.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 stars! I gave it 4 out of 5 stars due to its excellent story and good visuals.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from STRAIGHTFORWARD GAMEPLAY Lots to do in this adventure. Good balance of HOS and puzzles, but it is mainly an adventure game, so don't expect a ton of HOS or puzzles. Collect coins to spend in the shop and crystals for the zoo. Voice overs are very, very good. HOS are list-based and mildly crowded, but very detailed. Puzzles can be substituted for the HOS (like picture puzzles). Mini-game puzzles are widely varied and relatively easy to figure out. You can customize the difficulty or choose one of the 3 preset difficulty levels. Well-developed story. Gameplay is straightforward and the developers put a lot of thought into how the game should progress. Graphics look hand-drawn. Nice game.
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from enjoyed mystery tales:the lost hope This game but seemed very slow when changing from one place to another. Other than that the story line and collectables were very interesting I enjoyed the game and recommend it to other players.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Game It's rare that I can't make it through a demo with at least 10 minutes to spare, but this is one of those even rarer occasions...I didn't even finish the demo. The puzzles were good and fairly challenging, sort of odd ball, which makes them more fun and I especially liked the idea of trading off to either a jig saw puzzle or match three game if I ran into trouble with the hidden object. I don't understand the object of finding the gems to re-animate creatures...that seems sort of redundant. They don't help you, they're not part of the story, so why are they there? Who knows, I guess it's just something else to do. The story, well that's it's downfall, or at least as far I as I was able to get into it...it's weak, and a wee bit silly. But overall I'd buy this game when it comes on the market.
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Enjoyable Game ... Nice Graphics, Good Sound, Nice Effects & Visuals, OK Voice Overs ... Overall An Enjoyable Game. The Extra Chapter Was A Nice Additional Closure, But Not Essential To The Game. I Got Mine On Special, So The Tiny Bit More Spent Was Good Value For Money As It's Often The Case That The Extra Chapter Seems Too Short For Double The Price.
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely a good game You have received a letter from your brother in law to go back to the town where your sister Margaret died. People are saying that Emmett is getting revenge for the death of his wife, but you can't imagine that Emmett would do anything like that. It's up to you to find Emmett and get to the bottom of the mystery of this town. There is so much to do. There are achievements both for hos and mini puzzles, but also items related to the story itself. You can collect crystals to transform the 10 mystical animals that you must locate, find coins to buy decorations and panels for the crucible. There is the interactive map, a non interactive strategy guide, lists of dossiers of the people you meet along your way and the journal that gives you the notes that you collect. There are 4 levels of difficulty; casual. advanced, hardcore and custom. On the hos you can also switch to puzzles instead of using a hint. It also had your normal extras. The game was visually beautifully done. The music was not bad, I enjoyed the game and will probably purchase this weekend due to the sale. It seems that it might be a little short due to only having 5 chapters,but there is also the bonus chapter. Need to play to decide if you will like.
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delightfully wonderfurl The scenery in this game was beautiful. I liked the collectable zoo. This game had a little bit of everything. Plenty to do in this game. Great puzzles and switchable HO's if you want to do a puzzle instead. Has a interactive map and a little help from a critter and magic and monster. A little bit of everything.
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun HOGs and puzzles! Again, I ran the demo in the casual mode to get the feel of the game and game play. I'm not familiar with this dev, but that doesn't mean much. The graphics weren't bad, a bit monochrome in color, which is tiring on the eyes. Cut scenes were a bit fuzzy, but that seems to be the norm these days. Otherwise, the graphics were quite clear and nice. Game play was good, but a little slow when moving from one scene to another. Music got old very quickly, so I turned it down. Locking inventory bar, so you don't constantly have it jumping up and down. Voice overs were nice, but few and far between. Not much in the way of sound FX either, very disappointing. The "whip" sound you hear each time you find something gets very annoying as well. SG is the usual. Hint system is helpful and fills at the normal rate as any other game. Jump map is useful and locations are well identified. HOGs were a bit messy, but fun in that you can switch between straight HOG to a jigsaw puzzle #I'm a major jigsaw puzzle person, so I loved this part#, then the HOGs switch to "place me where I belong" and a match 3 jewels. This is nice...you don't get bored with the same old stuff throughout the game. Yes, you do repeat the same HOGs, but they switch out how they are played. Puzzles are not difficult, but a few take some time and thought to complete and are fun. I liked that there were multiple things to do and look for in each scene, rather than run around for one here and one there. You do repeat the same area multiple times, but your time is better used when you do. There are a lot of achievements, so you are on your toes throughout the game. There isn't really much instruction as to what you are to do with the coins, jewels or animals once you get them, but you can figure it out. Coins are well hidden, jewels are fairly easy to find, as are the animals. The only thing I really didn't care for was that I read faster than they speak, so when I click on the "click to continue" button, I expect the next phrase to come up, not skip the entire dialog, which happens most of the time. Other than that, I did find this game interesting. Nothing new in the story department, but the HOGs and puzzles were fun. Not sure this is CE worthy at this point, so for now, it goes in my puddle for a second thought. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I don't get it.... Yesterday, I got this game to beta test...and today it is released? What was the point? Clearly they were not trying to elicit feed back...possibly looking for rave reviews that could be used on the site? But, I will tell you what I told the devs....I liked it, with some reservations. The extras are very nice and there are a lot of them. The graphics are beautiful, some ambient sounds and VOs good, and the game play flows smoothly along. It's just that some things really bugged me...I thought some of the story was really silly; some of it was window dressing to stretch out the game. (Why does the guy tell us to meet him in the cemetery, then plant a big green monster in our path?) I also failed to understand the green jug of chemicals, as it never seemed to do the same thing twice...what the? Parts of the background noise I found especially irksome. Every time you run you cursor over a door, it makes a loud opening and closing sound. Some of the mini-games also have really irritating sounds (the oven, in particular). I liked the switch to jigsaw option, but the M3 game was horrible...really slow. Overall, I would recommend this game just for the extras, but I can't see it making a good SE. 3.5 stars
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Artwork with Lots to Do! If you like to keep busy, this is the game for you. Reminds me of the Puppet Show games. Artwork is very detailed and amazing. Wallpapers are interesting in black/white. No morphing objects but you collect coins/gems to purchase items in your shop. You also search for exotic creatures for your zoo--like the minotaur. Gamer can choose to work the hidden object scenes or switch to a puzzle. Game can be customized to fit your level which I would like to see in every game. Puzzles - 22; HOS - 26. There's puzzles, hidden objects, searching for other times mentioned above in every scene so the game will keep you busy with lots of variety. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game! The graphics are great and there are lots of objects to find and use in each scene. The puzzles offer a nice challenge.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Save Your Home Town and Restore Your Hope! Based on demo. You receive a message from your brother-in-law asking you to return to your home town. The same home town that you feel is responsible for your sister's death! Despite the sad memories, your help is needed and you go back home. But the town is different...and not in a good way! What is going on here? General Info: This is a true CE. There are achievements to earn and some of them are quite challenging! I like it when I have to earn my kudos. There is also a zoo to populate. You find animal statues throughout the game and magical crystals. When you have enough crystals you get to bring the statues back to life! This is a great, new idea. The graphics are quite good. The style is pleasant to look at and clear. The HOSs are list type with some interaction, but you can switch to a puzzle instead if you want. The VOs are just okay. The characters mouths do not move and the dialogue is choppy. There is a journal and map to help you solve the game. Positives: The zoo! Love this feature. Challenging achievements. Negatives: The fractured English and disjointed, choppy story. No mouth movement in the VOs. Pretty good game that is appropriate for the whole family. I recommend it.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting Twists** BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS Looks interesting from the start, even though it is not a wildly exciting beginning. The graphics of the cut scene are very nice, easy on the eyes and good quality, and the voiceover is excellent. The story is a familiar one, with an interesting twist. Although you are once again going back to a town of sorrowful memories to aid a friend, he also wants you to come so you can see your (dead) sister!! SIGHTS & SOUNDS The graphics are a tad busy at times, but you certainly can’t fault the detail in this game. The art is hand painted style, with plenty of colours, but running to browns, and sometimes a little dark. The HOP objects are easy to see. The voiceover of the narrator is excellent, I was very impressed. Then came a young girl, always it seems the hardest voice to get right, and she was excellent as well. Lip synch is not attempted, but the faces are keen and lively and focussed on you, so I felt it quite real. WHAT’S HAPPENING? Well, who would not answer an invitation to visit your dead sister! Certainly not intrepid adventurers like us. When you arrive at the village, however, there are some immediately disturbing signs. There are people dead and missing, your brother-in-law’s been blamed for the crimes, and everywhere seems deserted. There are strange things happening to the townspeople, which has something to do with a strange and evil green light. You didn’t think it would be easy, did you? GAMEPLAY Gameplay is quite refreshing. Both the puzzles and the HOPs I encountered were a notch above the usual level of difficulty, and some of the puzzles were very original (and more difficult) twists on games we know. The HOPs so far have been interactive lists, but you’ll notice how many of the items on the list are things that are out of place in the scene. A pot lid, for example. I believe we will return to these scenes at some point to replace them in the correct spots. I love this combination of HOP tasks. Or you can switch to an easy but enjoyable jigsaw alternative to the HOP, where placing 4 pieces removes 1 item. I don’t think anybody will find the adventure side of things too difficult, but it is a bit tricky on occasions too. But the flow is logical and well-paced. There is an interactive jump map for directions if you need it, and a directional hint. There are 3 mode of difficulty plus a custom level. There is also a journal, which keeps track of the story, and a Dossier which gives details on the characters you meet. CE BLING! Another twist in the gallery. The wallpapers are in sepia and locked until you play that scene, at which point it turns to colour. Nice. There is also a fair bit of Concept Art, and Music. There are replayable HOPs and Puzzles. A Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter. Additionally, there are Achievements (both types, story and performance, in a list) and Collectibles. The collectibles are 10 exotic animals, their statues can found in the locations. In your zoo, accessed from journal, you can use crystals you’ve collected to transform them to life. The other collectibles are the crystals, and coins which can be used to buy decorations for your Crucible, an alchemical gadget that acts on objects that are glowing green. There are also decorations for the Inventory Panel. Cool! COMBINED IMPACT Apart from the story being a little slow, and a little brown, I have no criticism of this game. While not overwhelmingly exciting, I think it is building to a pleasant stroll through a game that adds its own twists on familiar concepts.
Date published: 2014-01-25
  • y_2019, m_4, d_18, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_20291, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope Collector's Edition

Free Emmett from an evil spell and save the townspeople from murderous demons.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.