Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope Collector's Edition

Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(442.87 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Several years ago you suffered a tragedy. Your sister Margaret died. Margaret lived with her husband, Emmett, in a small little village lost in the mountains. After her death, Emmett, overcome with grief, disappeared from the town.

And now many years later, you have received a mysterious letter in which he invites you meet with your dead sister. You are so intrigued by this unexpected letter that you head to the village of Reagan, where your sister had lived and where she was buried.

Learn whether you will meet your sister and discover what mortal dangers you will face in Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Learn the story of tragedy in the bonus chapter
  • Achievements, zoo and interface shop
  • Re-playable hidden object scenes and mini-games
  • Soundtracks, wallpapers and concept art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1286 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(442.87 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 60.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game! The graphics are great and there are lots of objects to find and use in each scene. The puzzles offer a nice challenge.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Same sort of game, same illogical things I played this game, finished it and was glad I did - I did not even bother to play the bonus game anymore. Why? Because it's tedious really. The story is not original, there are plenty(!) of places to discover and visit several (!!) times, so there is a lot of to and fro. My major complaint is the lack of logic. 1. There are so may places with only one last thing to do there, that if you do find the key to this problem, you just can't remember which place it was again. 2. Some minigames were very vague to me - it was unclear what I had to do and especially: why I had to do that, and after several shots at it which didn't seem to be right but I could not figure out why it was wrong, I started skipping them. 3. AND: I hate it when a game tells me I cannot cut a tight rope with a sharp object that I do have in my inventory - for example, a spur - because it wants me to cut it with a knife or a pair of scissors that I haven't found yet. And that the next scene offers me something else to cut but hey, I used the scissors / knife already, and I seem to need to find another one... Now if the characters were really intriguing, or the graphics were breathtaking, then it might be worth it all. Alas, it really isn't badly done, but just not very new or special. For players who do like this kind of game: it is quite long. But not for me.
Date published: 2016-03-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Started ok but went downhill... I usually don't do reviews unless I finish the entire game but I played almost all of it before deciding it wasn't worth my time to finish it! It started off good, lots to do, interesting storyline although overdone. There are crystals, coins and statues to collect all of which have nothing to do with the game. You have a zoo of "animals" and the crystals help transform them to life and the coins buy you new interfaces. I really wasn't riveted by the bonuses in this game. Achievements are the usual fare but with a lot of story ones that no matter what you will get. I hate those. It ruins the story to see them too! Wish developers would just hide those achievements because we will get them no matter what so why do we need to see them? The hidden object scenes are interactive lists but on the 2nd time around we have to put back the object. All are easy. The mini games were way too easy for me also. I like to relax but I do like to use my brain cells too and this game does not tax the brain at all. There are the usual things like needing keys for doors, bas reliefs to open other doors, a alchemy potion that does something to green objects. Honestly it came out of nowhere and isn't very well done. This is by domini games however if I had not known that I would have thought ERS because its a formula and very linear. In the beginning where the demo would have been, they put out all the stops but a few hours into the game it starts to go nowhere with mundane tasks and a boring overall feel. This game actually helps my insomnia! I am 1/2 chapter away from completing the game BUT I just can't keep playing it. I am bored. Overall the story took too long to develop and I lost interest. The collectibles/achievements are nothing special. The only thing I really liked was you can play a jigsaw puzzle instead of doing the hidden object scenes. If its the interactive lists you get a jigsaw option, if its the put back the object you get a match 3 option. I can never get the 10 objects in 10 seconds achievement but you can get it just by doing the puzzle...not sure how that worked really but it lit up. Cured my insomnia & couldn't finish it nor did I want to finish it. Its not the worst game but its definitely not the best. Save your money. There are far better games out there than this. I don't recommend.
Date published: 2015-09-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rubbish translation ruins yet another game Gobbledegook in the story I can cope with but not poor explanations of games - especially when they are unfamiliar and complex.
Date published: 2015-01-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bonus Game was Better I guess I'm going to go against the crowd. I did not find this game exciting or really worth playing. It just did not grab me as most games do. I actually enjoyed playing the Bonus Game, more than the CE game that I paid for. Just my opinion.
Date published: 2014-02-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ehhh... This game had too much repetitive back and forth between scenes for me.
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Boring! This game is very boring. I could not get into it. It also is very slow in loading the hidden object scenes. The cursor was very hard to control, it kind of floated. I hope the next one is better.
Date published: 2014-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mediocre at best I played the 1-hour trial of the Collector's Edition, and I am surprised by how many 5 and 4-star ratings this game received. This is your basic, run-of-the-mill Hidden Object game ... there is nothing that makes it special or makes it stand out above any others. The storyline put me to sleep ... yet another medieval city plagued by some kind of evil being that is holding the citizens hostage in one way or another while you go around saving them. In comparison to other HO games I've played, this game was very standard. You have the option of completing hidden object scenes or doing a puzzle instead. HO scenes include some objects that require a series of steps to find. I felt like the number of HO scenes was adequately balanced with search and find gameplay. You also are able to find various gems, coins, and animals throughout the game, which enable you to make certain upgrades to your equipment, enlarge your zoo, and transform your animals from stone back to life. I personally felt as though the search and find tasks were a little more complicated than they needed to be ... not because it was difficult to figure out which object to use for each objective, but simply because there were so many objectives you were presented with at once. I felt as though I was constantly moving back and forth between scenes (more-so than usual). I did like that the map helped you to find your current objectives. Side games were somewhat puzzling without being too frustratingly simple or difficult. Overall impression: not a great game, but not horrible either ... just kind of ... meh. If you are bored or are just getting into HO games, this might be suitable.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'M STILL ON THE SIDELINES WITH THIS ONE I've almost finished the game, but got stuck and decided to do a review on it. You have: * Voiceovers; * Casual, Advanced, Hardcore and Custom [make up your own level of challenge]; * Achievements Board [there are 18 of them]; * Zoo in which you find coins and then bring the stone animals back to life which is quite nice; * A shop to buy for your Crucible and Panel; * A Dossier of all the people you meet in the town. I have played in Hardcore all the way so far. You can change your mode of play any time. You use the crucible to bring things to life which are coated green so you know when to use it. The graphics are alright, although a little cluttered. You can see everything clearly though and I had no trouble trying to decipher what things were. The sound is good, with 5 pieces of music done by an orchestra, although one piece of music cuts out quite suddenly. The HOS are interactive and not too hard. However, you have a choice of playing Match 3 or Puzzles if you don't feel like playing HOS all the time. This was good fun. I played half and half because HOS can get a bit boring after a while. The mini-games are very easy and I finished them all quite quickly. There was nothing that we haven't all seen before. There are a lot of items to collect [especially keys] in this game and a lot of running around, but you have the interactive map if you want it. So all in all, not a bad game. I am about to go to the Strategy Guide to get some help cause I have lots of items in my inventory but for the life of me cannot find anywhere to use them!
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just Could Not Get Into This One I love HOGS and Mysteries. That said, try as I might, I could not get into this game. Too many do this and do that. I could not get the jest of where we were going with the story, because of being sidetracked constantly with do this and that. Too many stops and not enough story line, so with 25 mins to spare, I closed out. Sorry, not for me, but, in all fairness, may be for others whos attention to details in a scene is what it is all about, so I will recommend anyway.
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from All Hope is Not Lost I'm taking a chance here: I like this game. I don't think it's great, I think it's OK. So I've given it three stars. I won't be the first review seen, but this is not a five-star game. Period. It's three, maybe four at most. That isn't bad. I've played only the free hourlong trial, as I assume most have done at this point...and as I always suggest that you do. Your take on the game may be very different than mine. But if you opt not, you've got one man's opinion.... This is a first person game, from a male perspective which is unusual and welcome. Fun Factor: It's middle of the road. After playing superior games like Stray Souls, Nevertales, Portal of Evil: Stolen Runes, etc., it's clear this game doesn't belong in the same category. Three stars is what it is, not five. Visual/Sound Quality: The sights and sounds are good. I think the "set design" is adequate. Items are well drawn. Background music is also good, albeit a bit repetitive. The Voice actors are good. While the location of the game is not finally indicated beyond being in the mountains somewhere, it must be in England for British accents abound. Level of Challenge: The HOG's I've played are of average difficulty. Items are not junk piles but they don't have signs "I'm an ACORN" either. I thought the HOGs provided sufficient challenge. As an alternative to the HOG you can play another game: a puzzle. Here's a surprise. It's an actual jigsaw puzzle. I've never seen that before and I got very interested in it and played through one instead of the HOG. It was fun. The Games are familiar, fun and in some cases a little more challenging than others of the same type. The challenge comes from the intricacy of the details in the puzzles. The directions are clear and can be revisited. Storyline: You've received a letter from your Brother in-law asking you to visit the town of Reagan where your sister lived and died. Anxious to find out why and how, you visit your Brother in law (who addresses you as "Dear Friend" in his letter. This just reminds me of a recent game, Silver Arrow? where the developers managed to work my name into the script...even though I was Princess Mark). Something is going on in this town and the easy answer that Emmett, your brother in law, is to blame for the strange happenings and several deaths is just a little too easy. So you go to investigate. This is a Collector's Edition and so there is (as my friend Just the Facts refers to it) CE Bling, as follows: A. A Bonus Chapter B. The Who Cares Assortment of Wall Papers, Concept Art, and Music C. Re-playable HOGs and puzzles. D. Three Collectibles: Mythic Creature Statues which you bring to life (transform) with Crystals; And, lastly, coins which you use to upgrade the scenery. E. 18 unremarkable achievements. F. A Map telling you where you are, where you can go and what you need to do when you get there. I don't think the CE "stuff" is worth the extra cost, so my recommendation is wait for the SE which will be much more reasonably priced. I'm going to press yes for recommend, but it's an asterisked yes because I think you should wait for the better value, the SE.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dull As Dish Water Based on Demo: Here we go again with a rehashed story about a guy who can't let his dead wife stay dead. We have the usual spirit entity. This time it's a green fog. Characters are flat & cartoonish. Graphics are colorful but the scenes are cluttered along with mishmash, hard to distinguish what's what HOGS. The VO's are good & the music is nonintrusive. The story plods along & there is a lot of back & forth. There is a journal & the usual interactive map, which you REALLY need. If you are over the moon about rehashed spirit stories, the usual collection of achievements & icky looking alien zoo creatures this game just might be your cup of tea. As for me I'll wait for a 2 for 1 sale & then consider whether to buy it or not.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kept Hoping it Would get Better I found the game very slow and boring. The graphics although nice were very dark. Lots of HOS and running back and forth. Map was good for transporting. The music was repetitive and did not seem to match the game. There is so much going back and forth and HOS's that the story line gets lost. I played the one hour demo and still had not rescued the mayor or the little girl. It was find one thing and run to another area, find another thing and run to another area, over and over again. Not a game for me.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Typical This game is too busy for me. I know what the storyline is supposed to be but it was so involved that I didn't know anything after the demo was over. Too many games that interfere with getting on with the game. So it's a no for me, but I'm sure people will love it. I'll recommend it, because people just don't seem to want anything different.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Barely got through it I know this game has been out for a year, but I just now finished it after shelving it over and over. Why? Because it is one of the most tedious, back and forth all-over-the-map time and time again games I have ever slogged through. I can't believe I bought the CE version. And that's the main reason I finished it after a year - to get something for my money. But it wasn't very enjoyable. If it weren't for the teleporting map that told you where you had actions available, I would have trashed it and not even bothered. Ugh. Story, voices, music - meh. It was just a very, very tedious game to plow through.
Date published: 2015-01-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What a Disappointment I played the trial game and I had great hopes that this game was going to be entertaining, so I bought the CE. Halfway into the game I started to get bored. The puzzles weren't very challenging. What was also very disappointing was that when you opened a new gate/door you would think it would lead to another area to explore, but they didn't, they were just HO's that didn't lead anywhere. 3/4 into the game I couldn't wait to finish, and as soon as I was done I deleted it from my computer.
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poorly planned gameplay, lack of storyline development, awful translation Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope Developed by DominiGames Collector's Edition Review based on demo IN THE BEGINNING... In Reghin, the town where you grew up, your sister Margaret suffered an untimely and mysterious death. Now, years later, her husband Emmett has contacted you, requested you return to Reghin…and intimating that Margaret is still alive! When you arrive, you learn that Emmett has been accused of the murders of five prominent citizens, and that he is an alchemist. Even more strangely, the citizens of Reghin appear to have gone missing, with the exception of Annie, Emmett's younger sister. If you find all this confusing, you're not alone. And the storyline fails to develop or clear up further during the demo, leaving the player at a loss as to why to continue playing. PLAY THE GAME... Linear adventure that is utterly non-intuitive. For example, you acquire a razor, but may not use it to slice the lining of a purse, only to cut the straps of a valise. Several similar situations occur during the demo, situations where you could use an item in two different places. Also during the demo, I acquired and used (and discarded) several different iterations of chisels, tongs, and knives. Unimaginative. HOs include interactive list and put items back. Unfortunately, the English translation includes so many errors that gameplay is difficult. A wrench is called a screwdriver, for example. Puzzles were ridiculously easy. SIGHTSEEING… The graphics were artistic and colorful, probably the best part of the game. There was great attention to detail and perspective, as well as dimension, in the items and backgrounds. Characters were more cartoonish. Both in-game and cutscene animation were well done. SOUND WAVES… The music did not stand out to me, nor did the environmental or game sounds. Voiceovers were quite well done, including Annie (Emmett's young sister). TOOLBOX… I used neither map nor journal during the demo, but found the hint button non-functional in both HO scene and adventure mode. Inventory was lockable. Black bar tips were badly translated. You acquire an alchemical flask at one point with which you can transmute objects. EXTRA, EXTRA… Extras include the bonus adventure which details the story of the original tragedy of Margaret's death, SG that does not follow your progress, achievements, several different collectibles (mythical animals, crystals, and coins), replayable HO scenes and puzzles, and the usual by-products of game development like concept art and wallpaper. THE LAST WORD… This game felt put together in pieces so that it didn't flow. Gameplay was awkward and frustrating because of the doubled situations where the same item could be used, the poor translations, and the general lack of sense to required actions. The storyline developed far too slowly so that it did not hold the player's attention. For these reasons, I don't recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Barely OK Game I played the demo, and I thought this would be a better game than it turned out to be. I bought the CE and now consider it a waste of money. Production: Average artwork at best. No lip movement with VOs and some poor translations. There is an OK journal. Story: Interesting concept but messed up in the telling with some things that don't make sense. Where did that green goop come from and what is it? Why are some things green and magically transformed by pouring green goop on them? I guess it takes the place of a cute little critter to help you as other game developers are so fond of. Gag me! Game play: Horrible amount of rambling about required. The jump map helps, but why all the back-and-forth? Argh! The HINT button works well, too, in that regard. The HOS are awful with difficult IAs and poorly named objects (a cannon ball is a bullet for example.) Poor and certainly non intuitive use of objects in regular game play, too. Puzzles are average and boring. Extras: You collects coins and zoo animals for - guess what- a zoo. What does that have to do with anything? An absolutely total waste. I know others think all these collectibles are great, but I don't. Double the price to add some in-game hidden objects? Give me a break. Oh, yeah, there are the wonderful achievements, too, clap, clap. As I wrote above, I was very disappointed in this game. It is poorly designed and produced. I certainly don't recommend the CE. Maybe, just maybe, the SE if you have some money to through away.
Date published: 2014-02-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from BORING Another game that has evil person making potions to bring his dead wife back.you collect coins crystals and creatures .too many puzzles.they are getting overrun is these games.you can play hos or puzzle.I didn't like this game but I'm sure the "expert"s will.Theses games are getting to big not cause of the game but big cinema every 5 mins. which I skip.Try it
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from slow going I found the running back and forth boring. Other options of this type kept my interest.
Date published: 2014-02-10
  • y_2019, m_11, d_17, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_20291, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope Collector's Edition

Free Emmett from an evil spell and save the townspeople from murderous demons.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.