The Others

The Others

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(230.98 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A local toymaker and all his factory workers mysteriously vanished on the same night. It's up to you, ace reporter Mary Bingham, to delve into the town's hidden mysteries to discover the truth. But first you'll need to understand the strange inhabitants to solve the riddle of the shuttered toy factory. Is the ominous figure in black trying to help you, or is he leading you into certain peril? What lies beyond the elaborate labyrinth? Uncover a new world of shocking secrets as you hunt for clues in this heart-stopping mystery-adventure!

  • Truly unique and challenging mini-games
  • An exciting out-of-this-world adventure
  • Novel inventory system enriches gameplay

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 525 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Others

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(230.98 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Others is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 76.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different and Fun Review of completed game: -pros hos cluttery but clear story was original :) cinamatics were wonderfully done hint system was very clear and good to have -cons no map no journal so write down what is pertinent ie: coffee clues in the room u need to give it too. you do things for ppl but some you do not get anything from. alot of back and forth. -personal thoughts- i really enjoyed playing the game my real only complaint is the game was a bit too short and the ending was a bit abrupt. alot of just getting one thing from one area then back to another area and so on.... very done all in all i gave it 4 stars because alot of thought went into making it original and not run of the mill ending..kudos for that :) p.s. the pros really out weigh the cons at least give it a try :)
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Others is different from all the others :) I applaud the developer for coming out with an SE that has a great story line and is different than the glut of the usual games we see released here. This is a nicely done game. No, it doesn't have any "bling" included (no map, no journal, nothing), but that is ok. The game ran fine on my computer. You are a reporter who is out to find out what happened to a toy factory that closed down and shut the town down with it. There are many locations to explore, however each location only has one or two things to complete in that area. The hint button is directional if you get lost. There is a lot of back and forth. There are quite a few HOS. Each scene has 3 "mystery" items written in blue. You must click on the blue writing which changes the description of the item to see which item is located in that particular scene. There were jump moments where things popped out of nowhere. I must admit I did jump when she was in the haunted amusement ride. The reporter speaks throughout the entire game. It did not bother me. I'm not sure how long this game is. The demo was fun. Yes, the game has an older feel to it, but I liked it, which surprised me because I usually do NOT like HO heavy games. I suggest you demo and see if it appeals to you. I recommend as long as you do not have technical difficulties with the game.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Others.......fun,fun,fun !! I really enjoyed this game, it was a change from the usual. I only played the demo but it's a buy for me, definitely. The H.O scenes were a bit different in that you had a choice in things to find ( I don't know if all the things were there though...you just had to click on the blue ones in the list and it gave you 3 choices of what to find ) Game play was smooth and the graphics were clear. The story seems good from what I saw.....it's one of those ' take your time ' games....you need to have a good look around as things aren't obvious sometimes. I played on the middle of 3 difficulty levels and HOS sparkled.....but nothing else. No map, no black band clues but the hint was good.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from UNIQUE HOS Mary Bingham has solved the mystery of why all the workers at the toy factory have disappeared. Follow her steps. PROS: 3 modes of difficulty Good voice overs Fairly good hint system outside of HOS HOS are lists and crowded but detailed Click blue names in HOS list to change name of object you're looking for Good sound effects Relatively scary scenes suddenly appear without warning CONS: No journal No map Story is slowly developed Blah music doesn't change to suspenseful when appropriate
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but Ending Disappointing This was a fun game. Puzzles were challenging, HO scenes were difficult but not impossible. Graphics were good. Voice overs were sometimes out of sync. The story was intriguing, but I felt the ending needed some work. I was like, wait what?! Still, it kept my interest to the end and I did enjoy playing.
Date published: 2014-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Odd little gem This was a very fun albeit short game. The HOG's were quite easy, the puzzles were a little challenging. There was one puzzle that was so much fun and done really well even though it was simple. But what drew me in was the unusual story line. There's a few wow moments where I was just not expecting the story to go a certain way which is really cool and hard to do with the glut of adventure games now (not that I am complaining). I also liked the unusual visual style, reminded me of film noir. It's a great game for a lazy afternoon.
Date published: 2014-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good game to play for an afternoon You are a reporter sent to find out what happened in this quiet little town where the toy factory closed down. Everybody left, the town is too quiet but you are determined to find out what happened and you do. This is basically what the intro says and the way it's said is creepy - but it got to me so much I played it over and over and over again. Probably the best intro I've heard on a game - ever. There are a lot of HOGs - not difficult - not hard to find your clues but a little twist on the "colored" items. I found I loved it and wished it were on more games. Hint hint devs. The hint button recharges very quickly. There are only 2 levels of difficulty. This is an easy game that would be great for beginners. Not spooky at all - except in.....well, you'll see. I had such a great time playing this game. Glam-ma definitely recommends it.
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Others....are waiting for you! I loved this game. You will really enjoy the characters you meet and the tasks you have to complete to discover the truth about Jones and the toy store. Shelly Callahan (I think that's her name) does a great job with the voice. I loved the secret entrance you access with a card. The conclusion is worth traveling all around town, searching for clues, ho's, and unique puzzles. I wish it was longer, but I still rate it 5 stars. It's rare to find a cool sci-fi game, so thanks Bigfish!
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different and Fun This was enjoyable with the storyline and type of play. Different from Hidden Object and more like an adventure. This might have sequels to it as the ending made you believe there will be more coming.
Date published: 2014-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too short This is a fun game. Some of the mini games and puzzles are a little too easy. It looks like this is game one of a series. I hope the sequels aren't too long in the making. This is an excellent game for beginners to consider.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Who was that guy in the argyle snuggie? Game seemed rather short, but graphics were good. The ending was a bit of, well, abrupt. Certain elements made little or no sense, such as the dinosaurs. The HOS were nice because of the ability to change certain items. That was a plus. I did get stuck at one point and had to resort to the tips on the forum.
Date published: 2014-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally a Good Ending This was a very solid game. No extras, maps (which would have been nice because at times there is too much back and forth), collectibles, etc. However a very solid and interesting story, a little sci fi action. A nice change of pace from the normal romance, fairy tale, detectives, period pieces, and so on. Other reviewers have provided the game details. I just wanted to say Bravo to the developers for finally providing an ending worth playing for. Much more than the typical "the end" after your final task.
Date published: 2014-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Game - Innovative This is a fun game based on the 1 hour trial. I am impressed with one aspect in particular that I have not seen in other games. I love anything that deviates from the norm (is different.) When you hit the 'Hint' button during an HOS (when only a few items remain), you can click the inventory names and it will toggle to a couple alternatives - So for example 'whale' if clicked can become 'hat' and click again it may be 'can opener' - so sometimes things listed are really not in the scene and are hidden in a different way than usual. Nice game!
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs a Map Initially, this game was fun and held my interest. After excessively having to go back and forth to different areas of the game, it became quite tedious. I didn't even finish the game. With a map, it would have been more fun. Also, the skip puzzle button takes a long time to become available. Some puzzles do not have any instructions, for example, the one requiring you to make coffee. There is no journal or equivalent that gives information you have previously discovered.
Date published: 2016-06-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No map This has a decent storyline and some fairly challenging puzzles with a nice twist on the HO scenes where the object you are hunting for might not be what is written, but you can change the clue. The story is different, not your usual "someone goes missing and I must find them" one. There is only one reason I would not recommend this game and that is that there is no map so in order to go anywhere there is lots and lots of clicking to go back. It makes the game boring and after a while you don't want to play anymore because you know your next move means you have to click the back button 12 times. If the developers are going to have so many different scenes and locations they should include an interactive map.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Well it is well worth playing due to the ending The game is a bit pedantic, but, it is of the old genre. The message however hits with a punch.
Date published: 2015-03-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I have a mixed response. This game had a number of good moments. This is the second time I have played it and have come away with the same response both times. The game is challenging primarily because there is no direction to it at all. It is sort of like playing one of those escape games. Nothing is divulged with the exception of a missing parrot or roses. Some of the puzzles were made up by mathematics majors for the sheer pleasure of watching we mere mortals squirm. They are doable but not enjoyable. Why did the ending feel like some sophomoric religious preaching? Also, The fuzzy graphics are not my favorite style.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not like "the others" Well, I was happy to see a game offered based on a theme that is a little 'different' than most and especially so that it was adventure based [mixed with a sprinkling of H0P]. The graphics were very nicely done for the most part and some of the cutscenes and puzzles were imaginatively done in a way to create excitement and fun. There was appropriate theme SFX, music and voiceovers yet to me, the female voice in "The Others" is incredibly annoying [think repetitious and monotonous done in a determined, confident manner... huh?] and, due to her constant and annoying coaching, there was WAY to much handholding for this gamer to appreciate! So, unfortunately, my happiness faded more and more as I continued into the game.... the voice and overt hint prompts were just too much for me to take and some of the character models were 'iffy' [rather cliché and unappealing to my eye]. Overall, the concept of "The Others" held promise... unfortunately, it ended up on the 'not so good' shelf with some of the "the others" I've been disappointed with. Worth a credit for a day when/if you have NOTHING else to do [are there such days?]; but otherwise thumbs [reluctantly] down on this one.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Ideas, But Far Too Short This is a little game you might otherwise overlook that has a really interesting story going for it. You play a reporter who heads into a small town to search for a missing toy manufacturer but gets roped into a story much bigger (and stranger) than that. While aliens in themselves aren't new to the hidden object genre, the direction this game chooses to take them in is interesting to say the least. The game itself is both relatively easy and pretty short, so experienced gamers will probably blow through it in an hour or two even at the highest difficulty. There are plenty of hidden object scenes, and they are very easy, with the small adjustment being some items that you have to scroll through some options before you can find one. Minigames are also very simple, and there are some repetitions, especially with the tile flipping kind. I would have appreciated a bit more variety in such a short game. There are plenty of characters you'll encounter, which is a bit of a rarity in games such as these, and the voice acting and graphics are not bad. I felt like this game had one of the best introductions I've seen in a while, but the protagonist is not taken aback even in the slightest when things get weird early on. The end of the game is puzzling but hints at something grander, sort of like the developers wanted to make a grand point and used an HO game to do it. Ultimately, it makes you think, which is good, and does have some unique looks going for it. If you're looking for a quick diversion that's distinctly different than what you've seen before (at least in terms of ideas), this will suit you just fine.
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from story line was horrible I am so glad I used my game credit to get this game. The HOS are not hard and not too dark. The mini games however were down right simple. I would think this game is for children and quite safe for them as well. The story line was horrible and predictable. A journalist (what else is new) is hot on the trail of story about a missing "man". Will she find him? Will she discover the truth? Why did he go missing? most horrible of all though was the end of the plot where we find that the human race is just bad. If you really feel the need to download this game then I suggest you play the free trial first.
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun but far too short I love these kinds of games, not all HO but makes you think. Unfortunately, I finished it in about 2 hours. Boooooo!
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for a beginner.. Hello all. Well, another SE today. This one is definitely an old school type of game, with no extras at all. The graphics aren't too bad, but a bit fuzzy. Colors are pretty good. Game play is okay, didn't have any problems at all. Story is nothing new and moves a little slowly. The voice overs aren't bad, but the woman's voice becomes quite grating very quickly. The man...tries to change the voice, but doesn't do well, all sound pretty much the same. There is a lot of running around for one little thing or another. HOGs are extremely easy and items are even easier to find. Hint system fills quickly and isn't really needed in this very simple game. Music is best turned down. This game is no where near challenging for the experienced gamer, but I think a beginner would like it a lot. It is just a very simple, no brainer kind of game and I sometimes like those myself. However, this one just didn't have anything that made me want to buy it. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for today. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If only . . . . This game had so much promise. With just a couple of tweaks I would have rated a 4 or 5. My number one issue is that there is no map included to help you navigate. With this game, as in several others, there is no way to know where to go without using a hint. There are just too many possibilities. And second, the puzzles were just way too hard, period. I do not like to give up on puzzles at all, but for many here I had no choice. One puzzle in particular, the one in the tree with the computer, was incredibly difficult. I did not want to skip it so I spent 15 or more minutes just typing in until I guessed the right answer. I definitely see there is room for a sequel and would love to play it, with those two changes.
Date published: 2014-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, but couldve been longer I was excited to play this after watching the video and seeing all the reviews. After playing the free trial, I was hooked and decided to purchase. However, imagine my dismay when I finished the entire game in less than 4 hours! I was very disappointed. I was certain there was more to the story than that. Perhaps a bonus or extra level would've been nice. I definitely didn't get my money's worth from this one.
Date published: 2014-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Why the Aliens ? Before I discovered Big Fish I played a series of games called Mortimer Beckett on another site which are made by Paprikari, the maker of this game. Whilst I loved the game play the story line, for me, was silly. I'm not a lover of ghosts, aliens and the like and as I am hard of hearing I tend to play most games on silent so was disappointed by the story line. Mortimer Beckett was far gentler and I preferred the story lines. I'm still deciding whether to buy this game or not as the game play is really good but the story line, for me, spoils it.
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Backtracking Galore! Boring! The whole game consists of backtracking with no map.Puzzles are basically the same.Can't wait for it to end.Just wished I hadn't wasted a free coupon on it!
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from hum is in my mind there is a lot of elements missing, a map for 1 to many ho,s simplistic mini-games. so many places! sketchy instructions .tedious hos,every where you go is dark and foggy. most of the time the hint button was my only clue as to where to go next . well little fishies u decide
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from HO Delima If you play this game be aware that you need to click on blue words in item list. Sometimes up to three click to find the right item that will be in the HO scene. It took me a bit to figure it out. The game is very interesting. A little slow. Great for beginners. I would buy it on a rainy day special. Boring music and no map.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Three Reasons Why... BASED ON DEMO I can’t play this game, let alone recommend it. FIRST REASON This game is old. As in not just old-fashioned, as in copyright in 2012 old. And it shows. The style is the HOG-heavy, realistic graphics, rudimentary story, type of older game. There is no widescreen and no aspect correction. The location graphics are flat, and/or fuzzy, the HOP scenes are grainy and static, no animation. Just slightly interactive word lists, and piled up junk. There is no map or journal, and only one puzzle so far. There ARE 3 levels of difficulty though. SECOND REASON The game has great voiceovers. A little overacted, but clear and well done. Unfortunately, every little black bar comment is spoken. And every conversation. It is harrowing after only a few minutes. Especially with that somewhat strident, over-precise tone. Normally I love well done voiceovers, this one, I couldn’t wait to shut off. But of course, you lose the special effects sounds that way. Still, both these reasons are not, on their own, enough to deter me normally. THIRD & ONLY NECESSARY REASON As the game progresses, the cursor gets more and more sticky. I found I could only play about 10 minutes at a time before the cursor would.stop.for.a.rest.after.each.click. Totally unplayable. If you want to exit every 10 minutes, it will reset to no lag, but it takes such a short time to freeze up again! WHY YOU MIGHT LIKE IT ANYWAY Obviously, I don’t like the game. But it is, excepting the above, fairly well done. The story involves some new elements as well as the standard ones. We are investigating the mysterious closure of a toy factory. Don’t remember seeing that before. You must work your way through a labyrinth to find answers – not new, but usually entertaining. What has happened to a whole town of people? And remember, you may be watching on a smaller monitor than me. You CAN mute the voices. And for all I know, you won’t experience any lag at all on your machine. So if you like HOPs, and simplicity in design, and you’re lucky, you may like this game. But I can’t recommend it.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Others.. Though this is an average game in all aspects I might still want to play it. The average games can be really frun very often. But this one is not fun for me because I am always irritated and distracted by the talking of the hero. One of the recently released games allows us to mute the hero's voice and I appreciate it very much. I hope it becomes a common application. Because of the constant voice of the heroine I skip this game.
Date published: 2014-03-12
  • y_2021, m_12, d_5, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_76
  • loc_en_US, sid_20744, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Others

You're a top reporter in search of a missing toymaker – but this isn't child's play. Is something otherworldly responsible?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.