Rush for Gold: California

Rush for Gold: California

PC

Also available on

Time Management

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(192.87 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Travel to the Wild West and feel the legendary Gold Fever in Rush for Gold: California! Striking locations, funny characters, and exciting gameplay are all waiting for you in this sensational time-management adventure. Build your own town from the ground up, help its citizens prosper, and pave your way to fame and fortune. If you're not afraid of a little hard work, this game won't disappoint!

  • Two game modes to challenge or relax you
  • 40 unique and striking locations to discover
  • Play Rush for Gold: Alaska

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 261 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Rush for Gold: California

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(192.87 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Rush for Gold: California is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 34.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very entertaining and well thought out At first I thought this would be one of the typical "Road to Rome"-type games. The basic principle is the same - you run around gathering recources and constructing or repairing buildings, but there are some nice little ideas that give a fresh touch to the genre. You can construct buildings which provide you with resources like wood or food regularly, but the supplies are limited and after a while, the buildings stop producing. So in some levels, there is some planning involved or you might find yourself without resources. The tasks are entertaining and in later levels, completement of tasks might lead to new tasks popping up, so don't be so sure that you have as much time left as you thought. There are some variations in how to reach your goals - do you buy food or wait for it to grow, do you build a production building or not. The game is (on times mode) sufficiently fast-paced, the trial hour went by really quickly. A very enjoyable TM.
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from California Gold! This is a pretty straight forward TM game. The main reason I purchased it is because it has an untimed option. I don't need added stress in my life trying to beat the clock. I still had fun doing all the tasks and completing each scene. I have played the entire game and, while it doesn't get noticeably more difficult, it still cost me a few hours sleep last night! LOL. There were some incongruities - such as a plane supply drop (during the gold rush? I don't think so!) but I let that pass as creative license on the part of the developers. So it wasn't exactly true to the time period...its a game! I had fun, and that's all that really matters, right?
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet Little Game I love TM games and this one is just adorable, the characters are so sweet they are big enough to see and just small moving pieces, the story is simple and flows, the game play and graphics are smooth. Yes it's not a difficult game and yes there are many TM games around but some are just bad but this one deserves a mention as it's easy to play and fab on the eye! Deffo recommend.
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A really good time management game! I was actually not expecting this to be quite as good as it was, though I'm not sure why that is. I was pleasantly surprised as I played it though, and bought the game as soon as my trial was over. It's a cute time management game along the lines of games like Roads of Rome, Northern Tale, My Kingdom for the Princess, etc. I never played Rush for Gold: Alaska (as I don't remember seeing it until now), so I'm not sure how it compares to that one, but if you like the sorts of time management games where you collect resources (in this game, food, wood, gold, and coal) and meet specific goals on each level (which vary - repair the sawmills, build a certain number of gold mines, collect a certain amount of gold, etc.) then you'll most likely enjoy this one. The graphics are nice, though there are a few oddities in things they've included the initial cut scenes when the game starts if you know anything about the California gold rush. I haven't encountered any while playing the actual game yet, though, and they're still well graphically-represented oddities if nothing else. The music doesn't stick much in my mind, which means it's not annoying, but you're unlikely to wander around wishing you had the soundtrack to listen to outside the game. The story is pretty straightforward - help a gentleman get a town started in California during the gold rush by finishing the levels, clearing land, and building structures in the town. The gameplay is very similar to the games I already mentioned, with most of your resources being obtained by using your workers to obtain them from the actual item (such as a tree, or collection of coal) like you might see in Roads of Rome as opposed to the piles you tend to see in My Kingdom for the Princess and Northern Tale. You also get resources from buildings you make by having a worker work at them, similar to the way it's done with some buildings in Royal Envoy. Unlike most of those games, though, you also have your special character (you choose from either a man or a woman at the beginning) who's basically the boss, and does certain tasks such as scaring away coyotes, negotiating with the Native Americans, etc. There's both a timed and an untimed mode to choose from, and as you complete levels you earn stars to clear areas of your town and build buildings. Ultimately, it's fun to play and a very nice addition to the time management genre of games. I'd definitely recommend it!
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent T.M. Game I have only played the demo but that is enough to make me want to buy it. Yes, it's the usual collect food. chop down trees etc. but in this game you also dig for gold, build gold mines, go fishing and as a secondary item, build a town. To build a town you need stars. Stars are obtained based on how quick you complete a section that you are currently on. Maximum is 3 stars. I did find that on the untimed mode, upon completion I got 3 stars.(I don't know if that was because I completed within a set time, or if you get 3 stars no matter how long you take to complete) As the game progresses there is more and more to do, but providing you have sufficient gold, food can be purchased. One of your workers can spend his time fishing and further workers can be obtained again if you have sufficient food and gold. This is a fun game. The graphics are good, the music is not annoying. This game is good for all skill levels.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Join the California Gold rush! Nice little time management game -- not too hard, with a little bit of variety. You get to be a male or female player, who joins forces with a developer to mine for gold and build the town. The best part is, you can play in timed or untimed mode. I LOVE untimed mode! You can win three stars every time, it seems. You use the stars to construct buildings in town -- a hotel, the saloon, housing -- after each level. The levels consist of the regular TM tasks -- get food, chop trees, collect gold, chase away the wolves, build bridges, build a gold mine, etc. Great fun!
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've Got The Fever! First of all this TM game has timed and untimed modes which I know will please a lot of people. You will earn 1-3 gold stars on each level and those stars are used to build the city. Each level has a different set of goals, you need to chop down trees for wood, clear paths, pick berries, fish, trade with the Indians etc. You have to mine gold and build different structures to pan for gold or put up fishing tents for food. You can hire new workers and there is a button to push when fully charged that makes the workers move faster (that button must be corporate) This is a fairly easy game to play, very entertaining, if I'm not mistaken, this game is also available in an Alaskan theme, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't SHOOT the Dogs! I was not expecting such a cute game. First and foremost, there is the ability to play in RELAXED MODE. The graphics were sharply drawn and the music was upbeat, went along with the storyline and it wasn't overly repetitive or irritating. The story was decent - thar's GOLD in them thar woods, so a town needs to be built up and you just join in the fun of helping do that. The game is a combination of Roads of Rome type play in order to gain enough stars to create buildings for your town. In every level they introduce something new to achieve such as level one is wood and food, then wood, food and gold, then wood, food, gold and coal. Eventually you get to build lumber mills and such to provide you with automatic necessities. You even get to trade with Indians. Okay now about those coyotes (dogs)... when there was a coyote blocking your path and your character came out with a gun, I almost shut down the game! I'll let you see what happens.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just as fun as the first one, but lacking a storyline and longevity. This game is almost exactly like the first one, and a few levels gave me a little deja vu, but there was almost no storyline. You get a list of objectives and a time limit. Now don't get me wrong. I loved playing this game, even without a storyline. It did seem to be fairly short as there are 40 levels but levels only last about 3-5 minutes. It seems like I have to wait forever for a strategy or time management game to be released and then the game only takes about 2 hours to complete. I only had to replay two levels in order to achieve a perfect score. The music and graphics are the same from the first game so it's just as cute but the only new thing was a coal shop. No sasquatch, no storms. I just expected something new and exciting from the cover photos.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was expecting a little more I have played gold rush alaska and it was challenging, this game " gold rush california" was way less challenging and I zipped right through it with three stars on all levels. Over all I think it is a good game, I would recommend it. However I hope when another one comes out it is a little more challenging.
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just too easy. I love TM games, and this one runs well, looks and sounds great. A lot of the levels are too short though, there are not enough levels and the whole thing is quite easy. I repeated 2 levels because I didn't get 3 stars the first time. Need to add 'expert' levels or something else if I'm to buy from your line of games.
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute and Addictive. Before I tried this game I didn't think I would probably buy it as I've tried these resource gathering TM games before and am not a big fan. This one however is pleasant to play. I played on timed mode and the level of challenge is just right..not so difficult that it is impossible to achieve and not so easy it becomes boring. The hour trial flew buy and I bought the game. Give it a whirl.
Date published: 2014-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great TM Game If you liked the first "Rush for Gold", you'll probably like this one, as well. Great graphics, fun characters, and good story line. It has timed and untimed modes, which is great also, for people who want different challenge levels. I do have a problem with the cars in the opening scene, since this is the California Gold Rush, and about 40 or 50 years before there were any cars. Overall, a great, fun game!
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good tm game A lot like the first gold rush. I love TM games so this one is good for me
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too easy too short I loved the first one in this series which provided a real challenge straight away. This one had only a couple of challenging scenarios. And it was quite short. It was also quite dull in comparison to the first one.
Date published: 2014-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Much Too Short! I bought this game with no hesitation because I have the Rush for Gold Alaska. However, the game ended after only a few levels. The previous game has at least double the levels. What happened?? Very disappointed.
Date published: 2014-04-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It is cute. This isn't my favorite type of TM game. It is bright and cute. It is a relatively simple game. And it is fine for killing some time, I usually get bored after a bit and never really get around to buying these types of TM games. I do like that you get to pick between a male or female avatar, would be even better if you could tweak how they look. I won't be buying it because it isn't my favorite type TM, not chaotic enough for my tastes and really isn't up to my challenge level. But it is cute and pleasing on the eyes, the music isn't too grating on the ears. However if this is your type of TM I would recommend giving the demo a spin and most likely you will enjoy it enough to buy.
Date published: 2014-03-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Was Having Fun But It Ended Quite Soon I guess my title says it all. This game was ok, I was so glad to see a TM game that I tried the demo for about 30 minutes, liked it & bought. However, I really only was able to play for about 3 days before completing the entire thing. That's actually never happened before with a TM game - with other genres? ALL the time, but not TM. I'm really surprised. My recommendation to the developer would be to either ADD SOMETHING ON!! like with an update or patch - give us more levels!! Or...I don't know. Satisfy me, somehow. I feel like I just didn't get enough out of the game. Noooo sir.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Onward to California This is the second Rush for Gold TM game. The first being Rush for Gold: Alaska. It doesn't appear different at all except for the location. It is a mediocre TM game. There's a lot of things going on at different times You have one person you need to send to the fishing hut, one person to dig coal, one to dig goal, some to chop trees, some to gather fruit, and the main girl/guy who chases away the dogs, bears and also checks out the gold deposits. There is a timed mode and untimed mode. You can use your stars you earn to improve your pseudo-town. It was a discombobulated game IMO. Lots of running here and there without making much sense. This is a pass for me.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from boring keep it same has the first one nothing different wish I was hoping for. BF added a new game why not new ways and different things to d it
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Same 'ol same 'ol Well, once again it's the same game with a different name. Sure would be nice to get something different for a change. If you're into this kind of game, have fun. For me, I've played games like this too many times. No buy for me
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring This type of game is getting old. Same game different title
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just Awful I'm so glad I downloaded the trial before wasting any money on that game. You start the game and you have already completed like 10 levels. No storyline, no suspense just boring!
Date published: 2014-05-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Piece of junk - don't waste your money Timer doesn't work. No fun at all. If you are new to time management games I'd recommend Legends of Atlantis or Royal Envoy series. This game is not well animated or executed. Boring boring boring. Almost no distinction between levels.
Date published: 2014-03-21
  • y_2019, m_6, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_20782, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rush for Gold: California

Make your American Dream come true in California, where the only thing hotter than the sun is the gold fever!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.