True Fear: Forsaken Souls

True Fear: Forsaken Souls

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(399.98 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Warning: True Fear: Forsaken Souls is an intense psychological thriller intended for mature audiences.


What if everything you knew about your life, everything your family ever told you, turned out to be a lie? A strange midnight visitor could change your life forever... Find out the truth about your past in True Fear: Forsaken Souls, a chillingly exciting Hidden Object Puzzle game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1549 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

True Fear: Forsaken Souls

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(399.98 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
True Fear: Forsaken Souls is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 113.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO. DANG. GOOD. I've bought soo many mystery/thriller HO and adventure games from Big Fish over the years and this is the only one that I've felt compelled to write a review for. I'll admit, when it comes to my games, I'm a horror buff. I always look for the creepiest - which is why I LOVE this game so much. Reviews often say a game is "creepy" or "spooky" just because it is set in a graveyard or something of that nature. This game is actually - dare I say it - almost scary. It reminded me a lot of The Grudge! In comparison to almost any other game you'll find on this site, this one will give you the heebie jeebies and make you keep the lights on. The game itself was extremely enjoyable and didn't get frustrating or hard to follow. I thought the puzzles were fun without being over complicated. Also a plus, this game was quite a bit longer than the average HO or adventure game you'll get off of Big Fish. At the end of the game I immediately began to furiously Google when the sequel is coming out! (P.S. - looks like Fall of this year) I would HIGHLY recommend that if you are a horror buff like myself, buy this game.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from True Fear : Forsaken Souls Loved this game, even though I was on the edge of my seat most of the time. Definitely not for kids. I had to play the game until I finished it. Good amount of Hos and well done. I usually hate the games, but really didn't mind these. I tried to find the sequel to play next, but can't find it.
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Storyline That Will Keep You Guessing! This was an excellent game! It was cut into 3 acts, so it actually felt more like 2 games in one. It was scary, but not TOO scary (my 12 year old daughter played it and was fine). The cut-scenes were the creepiest, they really did a great job of building up the suspense. I enjoyed the music as well...very eerie. The end will leave you dangling, so I definitely am looking forward to True Fear 2, which is set to be released this year.
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Where's the sequel?? First and foremost is that this game is absolutely creepy. Embarrassingly I couldn't play before bed or I'd have nightmares. Hours of gameplay, good HOPs, awesome storyline which was very creative. A lot of back and forth but I don't mind that. I'm dying for part 2. Highly recommend it and worth the purchase as it kept me entertained for days. If you value a good story that alone would be the reason to play unless you do not like scary content then you should definitely steer clear. The girl that would pop up haunted my dreams.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CREEPY with an excellent storyline I would love to see a LOT more games like this. I actually felt suspense while playing this game.
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible! Cannot wait for the sequel! This is what every scary type of game on BigFish should be like.
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scariest Game I've played on Big Fish Great story line. Very clear hidden object puzzles.The game actually gave me the heebie jeebies a few times it was so scary.
Date published: 2015-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TRUE FEAR: FORSAKEN SOULS This is one of the best hidden object/adventure games I have ever played. It is well done, but what makes it different from the many other games I have played is the story line. It is fascinating and intense at times. I found myself "jumping" at some of the creepy scenes.
Date published: 2015-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm not really sure I want to go in the cellar... I completed the SE version on 'advanced' in over 5 hours. Three difficulty settings are available, no custom settings. You get an interactive map and a journal. If you've read other reviews you'll probably already know that Forsaken Souls is only the first part of a two part story. I tried to find out when the second part will be published but I could only find a Facebook page for the game which was last active in November 2014. So, be aware if you play this that you will probably never know the ending. But enough of that and on to what you'll actually get if you purchase the game. The storyline: You get a letter from your sister who disappeared from your life 10 years ago. She hints at some family secret and wants to meet. So, you drive over to the provided address just to find the house abandoned, probably for years, so you start to investigate. Everything is very mysterious, definitely creepy, and you can't know whether what you see is real or just your imagination. The game does a good job of keeping up a suspenseful atmosphere both through the sparsely used music and the sounds you constantly hear. When I got to a boarded-up door to the cellar, my first thought was that I don't particularly want to go down there. That being said, it is still a HO game where you wander through a series of static locations, so don't expect to actually be freaked out. Still, for this type of game they did an impressive job. The HOGs in this game are for the most part list-based, but they were done very well, difficult, but not unfair. Although some objects are on the small side which might be a problem on smaller screens or if your eyesight isn't that good. Most HOGs are revisisted once. Minigames were nothing new for the most part, but sometimes with added difficulty, which I liked. But honestly, this game is more of a true adventure game than a HOG, anyway. Most of the time you'll have a full inventory and you have to find out how to use it to progress. This game is not strictly linear, either, so there'll be a number of things you can do or try, there is no spoon-feeding of solutions here. If you don't like running around and trying to figure things out than this is probably not the game for you (even though you could use the map to see locations with active tasks). A lot of work and thought went into this game so it is really a shame that there is no second part out yet. The game just stops. There is a logical break at that point since you are planning to continue your investigation at a different location, but story-wise you just get the feeling that everything starts coming together, so you will be disappointed that you can't continue even if you know it's coming. But what is there is well worth your time.
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Every Mystery game should use this game... ... as a blueprint. Uniquely creepy and well made. The graphics are perfection and truly bring the gameplay and story to life. This game is and has been on my Top 3 Games list since I played it for the first time last year. Thinking of replaying again on a different system this time. Do yourself a favor and download the trial.... all these reviewers couldn't be wrong!
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST HIDDEN OBJECT ADVENTURE GAME EVER MADE. Okay so i'll start like this, my sister bought me this game and she made a perfect choice! I don't usually play horror hidden object games.This one made me interested in horror games. From visual effects to story-line everything was perfect to me and the game was very spooky too. I enjoyed every bit of this game. I have played more than 500+ HOG but this one is the best! Basically what i look for in a game is great story-line and visual effects. The story-line is so captivating that after playing this game none other games can captivate my mind. I was surprised that i didn't leave my PC until i finished this game (Whereas i can't sit on PC playing games for more than a hour). I REALLY BADLY WANNA PLAY PART 2 & 3. HOPE GOBLINZ WILL RELEASE IT VERY SOON. I'VE BEEN WAITING FOR THE SECOND & THIRD PART LIKE FOREVER.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really LOVE this one! Creepy yet not predictable! I love this one because I honestly couldn't predict what was going to come next! It was creepy and eerie as well, another plus for me! I don't know about give me nightmares, but a really interesting story line!! I really took my time when picking this game and I'm glad I did, because this game rocks! At first by the demo I wasn't sure, but as you go along the story just keeps progressing and taking different turns.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from True Fear is a very apt title! This game is definitely for a mature audience (as it says on he tin) and had me jumping an even looking away at a couple of junctures. The story line is thick and well rounded making for a more enjoyable experience. With a few HO games, I often feel like I'm just going through the motions but this had me enthralled from the very beginning. The graphics are nice and smooth, I didn't come across any glitches and I cannot wait for the sequel to come out! I cannot recommend this game enough, easily one of the best I have played on BFG. Happy gaming!!
Date published: 2015-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intensity at its best True Fear: Forsaken Souls had me captivated from the start. It was more fun than watching a suspense-thriller movie. I jumped more than once. But now that I've played it, I feel lost. I can't wait for the second installment, said to be out fall of 2014 (it's now nearly spring 2015). Definitely a game worth the playtime.
Date published: 2015-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beware of Dark Falls Asylum Wow!! What a thoroughly creepy entertaining game. Can't wait for the sequel. I won't give the story away but it's certainly not for the faint hearted or the younger big fish gamers. "True Fear: Forsaken Souls" is not littered with Hidden Object Scenes but with finding and using objects and solving puzzles which for my personal preference, I enjoy the most. Although I have given 5 stars for the fun factor, in real life, I wouldn't think it would be much fun in Dark Falls Asylum. Now, where did I put that torch? I'm not going to bed without it tonight !!!
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blew me away and has stuck with me months after playing Seriously, I'm a huge horror fan. And I enjoy scary HOG's. But none have 'scared' me or made me jump or have to look behind me. None have ever really stuck in my mind, either - until this game. Everything about it was just mind blowing, kept me on the edge of my seat. When the trial expired I don't think I have ever paid for a game to continue on as fast as I did for this one. The graphics are amazing, they suck you in; the story is just soul grabbing and doesn't let go for anything. The music and ambient sounds just WORK, and man, if they don't make the sequel soon, I'm going to cry. I haven't played this in TOO long, but it still has stuck with me. The puzzles are perfect, the scenes are perfect..... I'm too in love with this game. Best HOG I have ever had the honor and privilege to play from BFG.
Date published: 2015-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! Greepy fun! My new favorite game.
Date published: 2015-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Game Excellent game. Do another such game.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grown Up Fright Fest The cut scenes really made the story come to life. I would have enjoyed more voice-overs instead of reading. Interactive map kept things moving. Spoiler Alert: the end was such a fantastic teaser for True Fear II. It appears the sequel isn't going to happen?
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very creepy! I LOVED this game..very good storyline!
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome, Dark, and Mature Game Out of all the HO games I've ever played, this one is definitely the most intense, and interesting game I've seen. The story is really, really good, and the atmosphere is just amazing. I tried to drag this one out for as long as I could, but the whole thing was just so much fun, and so compelling that I just couldn't stop. ^_^ Plus, the fact that it's SOOO much darker than anything else I've played for this sort of genre, was the icing on the cake for me. I can't wait for the sequel!!! :D
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A definite thriller! I don't normally review games but this one was so much fun, I felt like I should! The storyline is great with just the right amount of creepiness. It even made me jump at least 3 times which rarely happens to me during these types of games. Totally looking forward to the sequel!
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game is #1 This is the game that should've taken home the trophy for creepiest game. The story line, the psychological thrill from the scares and the surprises around every corner kept me wanting more from this game. NAME THIS ONE THE #1 GUYS IT DESERVES IT!!!
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great creepy factor I loved this game, from the graphics to the voiceovers. I really got into the creepy story and jumped a few times. I wish all games were of this calibre, they are a joy to play and watch.
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Game ! My regret is - I bought the regular game instead of the CC version. What a game. Excellent. Teaser at the end for another chapter. Yea !
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliantly scary! At last a game that actually makes you jump! As a lover of horror this game definitely ticks all the boxes for my perfect horror hidden object game. The fundamental elements such as suspense, quality, effort, graphics and most importantly atmosphere that make a fantastic game are all there. I would absolutely love to see a sequel or more games of equal horror. Big fish needs more jumpy, horror games like this. I love the amount of effort the developers put into this! A job well done.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this game!!!!!! Please make the sequel! This game was awesome! I really wish that they would produce more like it. Most of the games are more family oriented I think, but I prefer the darker/spookier stuff.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BRILLIANT!... A TRUE PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER!! This game is not for the faint hearted so the warning is not only appropriate but a true public service. With that said... I LOVE psychological thrillers and this game had me on the edge of my seat, jumping at noises and afraid of what would come next. In other words, it hit EXACTLY the right notes. The plot is classic horror (nothing like an abandoned mental institution on top of an ancient graveyard to give you the warm fuzzies). The "feel" of the game is created by the haunting graphics, chilling voice overs, amazing sound and music that heightens the ambiance of horror, and some of the most spectacularly terrifying cut scenes I've ever seen. While I'm sure that this is not going to be an adjective frequently used to describe this game, I actually found it to be unbelievably refreshing. There is simply nothing else out there like this. But perhaps the popularity of the game suggests that there is a definite market for true psychological thrillers in the adventure game repertoire. My one regret was not purchasing the CE of True Fear as the ending of the game sets up many questions that I hear may be answered within the bonus content but then learned that this is actually part one of a trilogy. Yay! But I think I'm getting the CE anyway, because this folks has the makings of a True Classic. My sincere thanks and congratulations to the developers and producers of True Fear for this fantastic release and recognizing that there is an true audience for psych thrillers in the adventure game market. Highly, Highly recommend this game if you enjoy a good scare!! (although I confess I had to play with all the lights on at a certain point in the game... jump much? You will, I promise you).
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SparkleHooves? Really? That one, of all names in the universe, wasn't taken. Eesh. I had a lot of fun with this game. Many times I found myself cringing before turning a corner, preparing myself not to screech like a banshee. The game itself is not particularly difficult - just follow along and enjoy the atmosphere. HOPs and mini games are simple. Interactive map - thank goodness - many times you will find yourself with an inventory item that has to be used way on the other side of creepyville. Labeled inventory - always a plus Soundtrack is wonky....in between transitions in scenes sometimes the music will overlap and you've got 2 modes of creep sound making a calamitous mess. Game ends on a massive cliffhanger!! But I enjoyed the game so much, the cliffhanger almost fits perfectly with the games theme. I guess I'm off to go clop around in another game
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I love games that have to do with psychology and especially mental Hospitals. Unfortunately there re not many games out there that are like this. This games had everything that I love in it. That is a amazing feat alone.
Date published: 2014-07-20
  • y_2018, m_8, d_19, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_113
  • loc_en_US, sid_20844, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

True Fear: Forsaken Souls

What if everything you knew about your life, everything your family ever told you, turned out to be a lie?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.