True Fear: Forsaken Souls

True Fear: Forsaken Souls

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(399.98 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Warning: True Fear: Forsaken Souls is an intense psychological thriller intended for mature audiences.


What if everything you knew about your life, everything your family ever told you, turned out to be a lie? A strange midnight visitor could change your life forever... Find out the truth about your past in True Fear: Forsaken Souls, a chillingly exciting Hidden Object Puzzle game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1549 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

True Fear: Forsaken Souls

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(399.98 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
True Fear: Forsaken Souls is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 116.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome, Dark, and Mature Game Out of all the HO games I've ever played, this one is definitely the most intense, and interesting game I've seen. The story is really, really good, and the atmosphere is just amazing. I tried to drag this one out for as long as I could, but the whole thing was just so much fun, and so compelling that I just couldn't stop. ^_^ Plus, the fact that it's SOOO much darker than anything else I've played for this sort of genre, was the icing on the cake for me. I can't wait for the sequel!!! :D
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A definite thriller! I don't normally review games but this one was so much fun, I felt like I should! The storyline is great with just the right amount of creepiness. It even made me jump at least 3 times which rarely happens to me during these types of games. Totally looking forward to the sequel!
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game is #1 This is the game that should've taken home the trophy for creepiest game. The story line, the psychological thrill from the scares and the surprises around every corner kept me wanting more from this game. NAME THIS ONE THE #1 GUYS IT DESERVES IT!!!
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great creepy factor I loved this game, from the graphics to the voiceovers. I really got into the creepy story and jumped a few times. I wish all games were of this calibre, they are a joy to play and watch.
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Game ! My regret is - I bought the regular game instead of the CC version. What a game. Excellent. Teaser at the end for another chapter. Yea !
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliantly scary! At last a game that actually makes you jump! As a lover of horror this game definitely ticks all the boxes for my perfect horror hidden object game. The fundamental elements such as suspense, quality, effort, graphics and most importantly atmosphere that make a fantastic game are all there. I would absolutely love to see a sequel or more games of equal horror. Big fish needs more jumpy, horror games like this. I love the amount of effort the developers put into this! A job well done.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this game!!!!!! Please make the sequel! This game was awesome! I really wish that they would produce more like it. Most of the games are more family oriented I think, but I prefer the darker/spookier stuff.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BRILLIANT!... A TRUE PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER!! This game is not for the faint hearted so the warning is not only appropriate but a true public service. With that said... I LOVE psychological thrillers and this game had me on the edge of my seat, jumping at noises and afraid of what would come next. In other words, it hit EXACTLY the right notes. The plot is classic horror (nothing like an abandoned mental institution on top of an ancient graveyard to give you the warm fuzzies). The "feel" of the game is created by the haunting graphics, chilling voice overs, amazing sound and music that heightens the ambiance of horror, and some of the most spectacularly terrifying cut scenes I've ever seen. While I'm sure that this is not going to be an adjective frequently used to describe this game, I actually found it to be unbelievably refreshing. There is simply nothing else out there like this. But perhaps the popularity of the game suggests that there is a definite market for true psychological thrillers in the adventure game repertoire. My one regret was not purchasing the CE of True Fear as the ending of the game sets up many questions that I hear may be answered within the bonus content but then learned that this is actually part one of a trilogy. Yay! But I think I'm getting the CE anyway, because this folks has the makings of a True Classic. My sincere thanks and congratulations to the developers and producers of True Fear for this fantastic release and recognizing that there is an true audience for psych thrillers in the adventure game market. Highly, Highly recommend this game if you enjoy a good scare!! (although I confess I had to play with all the lights on at a certain point in the game... jump much? You will, I promise you).
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SparkleHooves? Really? That one, of all names in the universe, wasn't taken. Eesh. I had a lot of fun with this game. Many times I found myself cringing before turning a corner, preparing myself not to screech like a banshee. The game itself is not particularly difficult - just follow along and enjoy the atmosphere. HOPs and mini games are simple. Interactive map - thank goodness - many times you will find yourself with an inventory item that has to be used way on the other side of creepyville. Labeled inventory - always a plus Soundtrack is wonky....in between transitions in scenes sometimes the music will overlap and you've got 2 modes of creep sound making a calamitous mess. Game ends on a massive cliffhanger!! But I enjoyed the game so much, the cliffhanger almost fits perfectly with the games theme. I guess I'm off to go clop around in another game
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I love games that have to do with psychology and especially mental Hospitals. Unfortunately there re not many games out there that are like this. This games had everything that I love in it. That is a amazing feat alone.
Date published: 2014-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horror Game Do Not Play In The Dark! I recommend this game I played it when a friend bought it I do recommend that you read the warning because they are not lying to you. This game well we tried playing it during night time with the lights off and well yep didn't last too long before we were sure scared! If your a person that loves horror movies things that scare you then this game is your game! Although you have to wait for the second part continious part in august which I'm looking forward too. I do hope they continue to make more games such as this one because an actual challenge and a game for an adult this was so much fun to play. This game actually reminded me of some japanese horror movies I've seen I enjoyed being scared but story goes you get this letter at your door late within the night so you go and look for your sister because that is who the letter is from. When you get there the building that looks like a house go inside it no matter what you just saw outside! You end up following clues from your sister and find some stuff left over by your mother. Either way this game was scary and I would recomment to read the reviews to it before buying the game it depends if you can handle being scared. ^_~
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOSE BUMPS AND SHIVERS! For all you adults out there who are looking for an intelligent, well thought out game, here it is. Finally. This developer is not afraid to pull out the stops when it comes to piling on one scary, unnerving screen after another. The story draws you in immediately and flows like a tsunami to the very satisfying conclusion. Technically, this is a beautiful game. Gorgeously drawn, incredibly detailed, fantastic continuity throughout the entire game. Great voice overs; chilling, creepy, unsettling. HOS's are unique and challenging. Mini puzzles hardly seem such as they are such an integral part of the story. I especially enjoyed the fact that I was able to collect dozens of items long before they were needed and actually had to THINK about what to do with what item. Am going to be waiting very impatiently for the sequel to this wonderful game and hoping there are more like it soon.
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a must play if you DARE!! i completely loved this game. story was great the fear factor was great. was very challenging visual effect where awsom. it is a must play if you like to get scared. play in the dark i did.
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally and adult HOP! What can i say, i like to get sucked into a good creepy story. Cant wait for the second installment of this game!!
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I agree with the positive reviews The gameplay of this game is very well done, the minigames are not hard and HO are ok. the real problem of this game are written too small. increase the corps font
Date published: 2014-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Atmospheric Game This one is a little different than many of the other games out there, and a bit eerier too. Plus, you are left hanging at the end, inviting a sequel apparently due out later this year. The cut scenes are excellent and what little dialogue there is is very good, the only negative was that during several of the cut scenes the game crashed. It didn't affect the playing of the game but was a little annoying. The puzzles were perhaps a little too easy for my liking but for overall quality of the graphics and game play, I'm willing to overlook that. The hidden object scenes were reasonably challenging but were pretty basic as far as that goes. One thing that amused me was the way some things happened after you completed a puzzle, almost without your knowing. There were certainly a few glitches in this game but hopefully they will be ironed out in the sequel. It was a long game and the look and feel of it make it worth the money.
Date published: 2014-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it!! The game was super scary. I liked how you were able to revisit the different locations in the game to accomplish a task. I can't wait for the second installment.
Date published: 2014-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Wow Factor! Absolutely loved this game! The animated cut scenes were very well done, and I could really see the emotions in the character's face. Very well drawn. The voice overs were very good, as well. Whoever did them really put some effort into conveying the fear and anxiety she was feeling. If the graphics are just a little murky, this only adds to the atmosphere of the game. Lots of scenes, good HOS's and a few puzzles that were maybe a little too easy, but the game kept me going and kept me interested. At the end, there's the promise of a sequel coming this year, and I'll be sure and get it to find out what happens.
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gotcha! Dang, this game scared me and I'm no kid! I appreciate the attention to story telling. The character development draws one deeper into the game and makes for a real page turner. Excellent ending leaves one wanting more. Sometimes the games were more frustrating than challenging but it's the storyline and creep factor that save the day. I look forward to the sequel and hope the designers tidy up a few of the glitches in the meantime, i.e. sound/music drops out completely at times. Nevertheless, tell me a good story and give me goose bumps and I can overlooks the small stuff!
Date published: 2014-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scary And Well Done This is definitely for mature audiences as they said. It's a very well done game and it is scary, I found myself jumping several times while playing this game. The story is interesting and the atmosphere did feel quite spooky. I wish it hadn't ended on a cliffhanger, but that just shows how much fun it was for me to play and that I really got into the story. I look forward to playing the sequel when it comes out!
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This designer has not FORSAKEN us... it is a 'new' pscych horror classic.... ...and a keeper! The initial screens in the game may take one aback at first as they are sketchy at best and there is little of interest to really get excited about when you first come onto the scene. Yet, HOLD ON... you are about to embark on a slowly evolving, insidiously excitingly creepy and inexplicable journey through some frightening and questionable areas of your characters life as she reaches out in an attempt to find her long lost sister. Nothing is as it should be [or is it?].... people have reached out to help [but did they?]. Your sister must have died [yet did she]... how or why were your parents involved with all of this??.... True Fear Forsaken Souls begins in this game with the first of at least two sequels and in this episode the further you venture forward, the more you become enmeshed in the webs of potential deceit from those who were supposed to be the most trusted to you and yours. For me, I appreciated that the game warmed up little by little before it really took a hold of me [honestly, I didn't think I cared for it at first try] and by the end? I truly wanted MORE. Well, again, evidently there WILL be more [slated for a Fall reveal] and this is one little fishy that will definitely be purchasing [hopefully they do not venture off into any hands- on- occult or anything of that nature [I find it much scarier when things are implied and not straight up action driven]. So for the next sequel, I'm hoping the developers will keep us guessing and give us something very unique and powerful to round out what began as an incredible game that just kept getting better right up to the end as did this one [though it ended quite abruptly, it felt rather 'ok' and actually 'right' the way it did so. So, if you enjoy psychological thrillers, True Fear: Forsaken Souls is the one we've all hoped for IMHO and been waiting for after wading through so many not so good games of late... yay! this did not disappoint! The only criticism I may have had with the game were the little extras thrown in to an otherwise perfectly playable w/o story... [yet it was fine and ie. the character statuettes/dolls were rather interesting on their own] It's just that IMHO, it appeared to me that the developers may have felt a need to add some of the 'extras' to please those gamers expecting them to justify CE prices.... those additions [only] seemed to me as though they were rather an after thought, yet nonetheless they serve the purpose. So, now we have the SE.... definitely check out the demo and realize that there is a lot more depth to the game than is presented in the short demo playing time. This game simply gets better and better as you can't help becoming immersed in the quest of mystery and horror in the search for your sis. Have patience and try items with items as you explore areas to find clues that will give you answers and lead you to places that will assist you in discovering what happened [or what IS happening] surrounding the lives of your sister and family in general. Thanks BFG and SUPER HIGH FIVE Kudos to the developer [I remember Beta-ing this game quite a while ago and wasn't as impressed with it at that time [very short snippet] ....now having finished the entire CE game... WOW....it's FANTASTIC! Enjoy!
Date published: 2014-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not for the faint of heart! Just finished the game, and I must admit that I have stayed up late to finish it! It is THAT engrossing! I'm not going to go over the ins and outs of the story, as that has already been addressed. Let me just say that I am a long time Sci-Fi, Horror, Fantasy fan (I'm 62, and have read those types of stories since I was a kid#, and there were times throughout this game when I narrowed my eyes, prepared to shut them, when the music indicated that something scary was about to happen! I have NEVER been that involved in any game! I loved the game play, the graphics, the music #which I normally turn very low) and was happy to have a teleporting map to save the running from room to room to try to find your next step. The hint button, as mentioned by someone else, reminded me of Linda Blair in the Exorcist. The hints "vomited" out of the doll's mouth, which was pretty creepy in itself. But waiting for the hint to recharge was creepy, too, in that the doll would jerk just a little each step of the way. I am looking forward to the next installment with bated breath!
Date published: 2014-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepy Fun I, too, really do love this game. I've played the first two "acts." The end of each left me salivating for more! I can't wait to find out what the third act will bring. This is quite a long game. There is a transporting map and a journal, both of which are helpful, especially the map, as there are many locations to visit. The artwork is average, but the cut scenes are wonderful and add to the overall atmosphere. Did I jump at some of them? Yes, I did. There is more adventure than either HOS or mini games. Parts of each HOS are interactive, but not progressive. The mini games seem to be the usual things you find in a lot of games, and they are easy enough. There are skip buttons available for both HOS and games, and don't take too long to fill. The creep factor is 100 percent. If you are prone to nightmares brought on by scary movies, ghost stories and the like, my advice would be to skip this one. Mwahahaha! If this game were a novel, I would definitely want to read it.
Date published: 2014-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I wish there was a way to rate the "Creepiness Factor." If there was, I would give that 5 stars also. Excellent game and a word to my fellow rat-phobic players: NO RATS! Yet it was creepier than any game that is filled with rats, spiders and snakes. Thanks, developers! Can't wait for the sequel!
Date published: 2014-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Aren't You Afraid? You Should Be! Lies! Everything you knew as a child lies! You keep having haunting recurring nightmares, you are in the Dark Falls Asylum, blood is everywhere! Bodies being drug by something or someone horrible, something made of pure evil! But this night is different, this is the night a messenger delivers an urgent letter, a letter from your sister Heather. You haven't heard from Heather since your mother passed away, but how does she know about Dark Falls, it's only a dream, right? I beta tested this game and it leaves me hungry for more! Dare I say I love the edgy attempt of fear, I want more, more games like this, and don't hold back! I have never played a game like this, I have never felt so involved playing a game. For the first time I felt a connection with the main character Holly, not just a generic feeling, a genuine feeling. Surely the developers of this game know they are bridging a wide gap that is standard in most games of this genre. Sure you are a detective or paranormal investigator wandering around an abandoned town, but you aren't connected with that character, you are just moving that character along. There is just something about the rustic graphics of a long abandoned asylum, subtle music that has been choreographed to surprise you, scare you, and plain and simply make you edgy, and a main character (excellent lifelike graphics) that almost anyone can relate to. I'm not even going to go into details about hidden object scene or mini games, they are excellent as well trust me. This folks is a game with backbone, and it's not going to be for everyone, please keep in mind that this game pushes the boundaries, blurred lines so to speak. If you don't like the horror genre then pass this one up, but if you are a fan like me, bring it on! Enjoy!
Date published: 2014-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyed 100% This game made me sit down and write my first review ever. It´s like watching a movie! I really enjoyed it 100%. No senseless hogs, no minigames which usually make me ask, "so why is this actually here?" Everything just in perfect amount and length, nice soundtrack, too. Can´t wait until Fall 2014 when there shall be part two of this game. As we say in my language: I just swallowed it like a raspberry ;-)
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY SCARY AND CREEPY – CLEVERLY PUT TOGETHER Scariest game I’ve played on BFG! The atmosphere builds up on you. I really started to feel “oh my goodness what am I going to find now?” Not gory except for the beginning cut scene and you do see corpses once or twice, plus scary faces. Although it’s a different story line, it reminded me of the movie “The Ring,” but not as an R. I found myself squeezing my eyelids almost shut on several occasions towards the last third of the game, in anticipation of what I might NOT want to discover! However, I rarely watch anything horror these days, if ever, so my tolerance is probably pretty low. Roam around a couple of places, one of which is your old home childhood home that never sold. It’s now decaying, dusty, old and worn cracking, peeling and boarded up in many places. You are trying to find clues about what happened to your sister. GRAPHICS: Clear. Mainly browns and grays and neutral colors. Represents the feel of the game well. Fills the whole screen. HOPS: 12-15 Wordlists with some items hidden. PUZZLES: Mixed bag SOUNDS: Music and Sound. The music is more like eerie effects as opposed to actual music. In the beginning environmental sounds are plenty, but as the game progresses, they lessen apart from your mouse-click sounds and actions that proceed from that. It totally suits the game. HINT: Recharges at 30 seconds on Casual DIFFICULTY LEVELS: 3 - interchangeable MAP: Travel with useful indicators. INVENTORY: Lockable. Gets pretty loaded, sometimes 10-12 items. JOURNAL: A “facts” notebook/journal is present on the start page, and in the game itself. I really like journals, because if you have a significant break from the game, the notes are an instant reminder of what this particular game is about. Replayable CUTSCENES also present at the start page. CHARACTERS: Rare interaction. Notes and letters give you insight into your family's thoughts.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Captivating Storyline and Overall Fun! I just finished True Fear: Forsaken Souls. I have played many HO games, but never one that captivated me as much as this one. The storyline keeps you interested and wanting more. As other reviewers have said, it is definitely creepy. This game, however, is not for those who do not like a horror-type genre. I played the SE and it was a long game for that version. The HOS were somewhat challenging at first, but got fairly easy toward the end. Enough said - there will be no spoilers in this review!
Date published: 2014-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I t was an amazing game.Can barely wait for second part.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game First game review ever... have to say this is one of the best HOG/Puzzle games I have ever played. There are a couple of glitches in game play.... I was kind of lost on the last puzzle of the game. Followed the walkthrough for that one only. Would like to see more of a challenge on the puzzles as I was able to breeze right through them. Overall the story was great! I am ready for the sequel and wish it would be released before Fall - I am anxious to find out what the whole story is. Well done! And this game is definitely not for children!
Date published: 2014-04-20
  • y_2019, m_10, d_16, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_116
  • loc_en_US, sid_20844, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

True Fear: Forsaken Souls

What if everything you knew about your life, everything your family ever told you, turned out to be a lie?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.