Black Rainbow

Black Rainbow

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(438.01 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

For adventurer Helen Stone, the biggest adventure is yet to come.

Help Helen escape the burning village; guide her through the dark and dangerous forests and help the people of Amazonia. The evil behind the curtain is far bigger and dangerous than anyone could have ever imagined. It's up to Helen to restore the balance in this hidden and unexplored world. Can you survive the impossible!?

  • Search dozens of hidden and sacred locations
  • Solve dozens of exciting minigames
  • Help the people of Amazonia stop the impending darkness

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 538 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Black Rainbow

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(438.01 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Black Rainbow is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 77.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Worth A Try I enjoyed the game a lot. Story line was interesting and the characters were easy to understand with no lagging in speech.I had more enjoyment playing this game than I do many of the CE's
Date published: 2015-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puzzles! This is an awesome game, no hidden objects just a neat storyline, terrific graphics, and tantalizing puzzles!
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PURIST ADVENTURE I have not bothered to review any game on BF for months. The games we have been seeing have been mostly the same old thing. Black Rainbow was created by one of my favorite developers. I love their clean scenes. They make you feel like you are THERE. The music is excellent, This creative team does not use melodramatic crescendos to create false urgency. The puzzles are not new and neither are they boring. Which is quite a feat! I also like the way the puzzles are PART of the adventure. They are not all jammed together, they are cohesive to the plot. Which is well written. There is a lot for adventurers to discover in BLACK RAINBOW.
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ADVENTURE GAME LOVERS THANK CATEIA GAMES! Wow! Mark this date in June 2014! Finally a pure adventure game---that can be played by all. Unlike some of the phenomenal classics like Syberia or realMyst that are definitely a challenge, Black Rainbow can be enjoyed by all ages and strict HOG lovers may welcome a change! Game starts out a bit slow to adjust from the seemingly murky mire of endless, boring HOGS, then off to the freedom of roller coaster ride adventure gaming! Whooah! Scrub the scenes and go back again. What you need may be there a second time around. Look around. Click on this 'n that. About mid-way into game, the circle appears over items needing pieces from your inventory. Collect skulls for achievements. Search uncluttered, unique and beautiful scenery. Playing challenge level which is so very easy, however, I'm not complaining one peep as we Adventure game lovers would like to see MORE BFG PURE ADVENTURE GAMES. You're special. You can do this. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good game Exciting story line, good graphics, really enjoyed this one. Missed three skulls so will have to play again. Challenging game.
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from more, please!!! I am truly impressed by Cateia (sp) games; they always seem to offer wonderfully engrossing and LONG adventures. I adore that there are NO HO scenes, and although some of the mini games were HARD I felt like I had really used my brain (and really that is one of the perks of gaming, to keep the brain WORKING!) Oh yes; it isn't a collectors' edition, which I also applaud!! If you like adventure games then this one is for you!
Date published: 2014-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a true Adventure game I was having serious Adventure game withdrawal - I thought the only games they had were the HOG - I am so tired of HOGS!!! More like this marvelous games where you have to think. LESS HOGS. This is a wonderful game a challenge lots and lots of fun, locations, integrations of many mini games. I would give this a 6 stars if they were available. The sound is also awesome!
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CALLING ALL ADVENTURERS! THIS ONE IS FOR YOU! It seems like it's been a long time since we've had a strictly Adventure Puzzle game, and this one is great fun! Don't get me wrong, I like HOPA games, but a steady diet seems disappointing after a while to someone who fell in love with gaming by playing Myst many years ago. Yes, the graphics may perhaps be a tad bit dated here, but some of the first Adventure games cost almost ten times as much as this little jewel! There are three levels of difficulty to play Black Rainbow. If you think you may get frustrated playing without the hidden object puzzles for a break, try playing this game at the easiest level. The backgroiund music is appropriate, and the tutorial is very explanatory. Help is available with the hint button, and there is an interactive map. There is also a very good diary which will elaborate on the story and will give you clues as to what may be your next course of action. There are skulls to collect for an achievement. All in all, I was very happy to find this game today. I have already bought it, and have played one hour with no problems. Highly recommended for Adventure fans!
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helen has her hands full I love games by the Cateia , both because they offer the very few adventure type games we see on BFG and because of the quality of their gameplay, story lines, and puzzles. The hint button is useful if you do not know where to go. You do need to collect items along the way for your adventure, but there are no HOS per se, as this is not a HOG. I don't pay much attention to graphics in a game. I base my likes and dislikes on the gameplay and story line. There are quite a few puzzles in this game. I enjoyed the thinking ones. Didn't care for the ones which required manual dexterity. This is an easier type adventure game, perfect for lovers of these types of games, and those who want to try this genre of game. I do wish BFG could come up with a separate area for adventure only games, as the poor reviews mostly are based on there being no HOS in the game. However, I do recommend.
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome job you guys! :) Do not let the first scene veer you off. It doesn't turn out the way it seems. I played the full version on another site and I totally loved this game and I hope Cateia Games makes a sequel. This is as to date my favorite game. What a fun long adventure you go on. The game itself is not short. No 3 to 4 hours and boom your done. I started the game in the morning, played the CE and finished it and finished this game the next day because I was falling asleep at the keyboard. The main character Helen is such a delightful character. I loved that main character. She is so modest and wanting to do everything right. The VO's are done exceptionally well in this game. Really fits the characters that you will encounter. Story: You play Helen who's village is got invaded by the dark evil warriors so you only have a small amount of time to get your plane fueled and ready to go. Once you gathered everything you need you hop in the plane and take off. During mid flight you run into a thunderstorm and your plane is hit by lightning. You end up on this island with a splitting headache but turn out fine and you run into this warrior who becomes your ally. You become the Chosen One to restore the balance of the world. Poor Helen can't quite comprehend what she is to do at first, but she gets the hang of it. Be prepared for a long adventure full of intrigue and mystery. Graphics: Outstanding. Everything looks so lifelike. Superb job done the art team. Mini Games: I didn't skip any. They weren't overly challenging but not easy. Just down right fun. Truly enjoyed them. Hint System: Awesome! One of the best I have seen in a game. Not only does it tell you where to go, it also transports you to the exact place you need to go. It also shows you what item you need to use in your inventory by show you a picture of it on your cursor. Map: Jump map and extremely well done. Music: Fits the game to a tee. Very well done by the music department. To me this game rocked! I had a lot of fun with this one and I hope you do too. Kudos to the Cateia team for a job very well done.
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Black Rainbow Instead of repeating what has already been said, just wanted to say for this game at least that I totally agree with all the reviewers who gave this game a 5 Star rating. I was sad to see this game end and I also hope that Cateia makes a sequel, it is refreshing to play a game with No HOs for a change. Thanks Cateia and BF for bringing us such great games.
Date published: 2014-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from irishbilly Best pure adventure game I've ever played because of the graphics. Very unique and beautiful. Cleaver puzzles. Simply a one of a kind game.
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it, nice adventure game In my opinion it's just a nice change from some of the cookie cutter games out there. Plus I'd rather play adventure then HOGs any day. Just my preference. So any game that is alittle different gets five stars from me. Thank you.
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hidden Object Game Everyone has got to try this game, it`s awesome!
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exciting Hidden Object Game this was a very excitijng game i recommend it to all my friends
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden Object Game This game was really good. I was sorry to see it end!
Date published: 2014-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kinda reminds me of aura I liked this game...I belive the company also my Legend of the crystal valley....That one is good too.
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a marvellous gem of a game! Super lengthy, so many places to explore and super fun and challenging puzzles. Highly recommend it!
Date published: 2021-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from YOU ARE THE CHOSEN ONE - STOP THE DARK ONES REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME In this game you play Helen and you are off on an adventure of a lifetime. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Casual, Adventure and Challenge modes of play; * Interactive map; * Diary; * 12 Achievements; * Find 7 Bronze, 14 Silver and 21 Golden skulls. The graphics are predominantly okay, but it would have been better it they had been just a bit sharper as they seemed a bit blurry for me. However, I was able to navigate through the game without any problem. Sound is good and the music is orchestral. There are no hidden object games here - this is purely an adventure game - but so much fun. There are a great variety of mini-games to play. Most of them are easy but a couple took me a while to do - where you need speed and precision clicking. I played and enjoyed them all. Find all the Bronze, Silver and Golden skulls and you get an achievement. Keep an eye out for them cause some of well hidden. Make sure you read the diary as there is useful information in there to move forward and you also get an achievement. This is quite a big game with lots of locations, so the interactive map works well and takes you straight there. If you get stuck, just look in the interactive map and it will show you where tasks are to do (this is in Challenge mode as well). Once again, as with 'Tales of Dragon Mountain 2 - The Lair' and 'Myths of Orion - Light from the North', there are portals to go through to undertake tasks. These are a lot of fun and I loved going through these never knowing what to expect next. All up the game took me a good 7 hours to complete, not skipping or hinting anything, so great value for money. Overall, a fun action-packed game with lots to do. Cateia make great games and I look forward to playing their games in the future. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good value Quite a long game, good value & good fun
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game Challenging puzzles - good story line.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice hidden object game enjoyable play .visual quality not too good but does not hinder play quality.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable game to play. This felt like an older game. The graphics and scenes were average. Not a bad game as a free game or 60% off.
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable Overall the game is ok - a few issues with where to put items and unless you use the map to 'jump' to locations it can be the 'run here and back ten times' type of game! I don't pay attention to voice overs so no comment on those. Graphics ok but some hard to see items. As a regular game (versus CE) it was playable and at least worth the game coupon I used!
Date published: 2014-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game Though I am not a fan of this style of grainy graphics the game was a winner for me. I will say that there was way too much dialog for my taste but nevertheless it was a good game. There were plenty of areas to visit and a lot to accomplish. I did not find all of the skulls. A couple of them eluded me. It is always nice to have something good to spend my game coupons on!
Date published: 2014-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4½ stars for this pure adventure game...more, please! Black Rainbow Review based on completed game PREFACE… Finally, a game that requires neurons! Of course, this dev is always good for a quality adventure game, sans HO scenes. Those junk piles do get tiring. Instead, here's an old-fashioned good versus evil with you as the heroine. ONCE UPON A TIME... As adventurer Helen Stone, it's up to you to save Amazonia from an ancient evil threatening to break through from the Dark Ether to Earth. Escape a burning village, free an enslaved people, meet a variety of folks who will offer help, travel through portals...this adventure will change you. PLAY THE GAME... Black Rainbow plays like a traditional adventure game. You'll find and use a wide variety of items, and some will actually be in your inventory for awhile. Imagine that. Puzzles abound, and range from ones you'll need to think through to agility and speed puzzles. SIGHTSEEING… Background graphics represent a wide variety of environments and rooms and are fairly realistic. Close-up graphics are extremely well done, very textural. Characters are posers and neither move nor lip synch. Animation is limited to close-ups like puzzles. SOUND WAVES… The music is wonderfully ambient and really aids in immersion, as do environmental sounds. Good voiceovers, and you can click through the text. (Don't click through too fast, or you'll miss crucial information.) TOOLBOX… The map both indicates active areas and transports. The journal narrates your adventure, tracks your performance achievements, shows game information (like time played) and lists the various cursors (in case you forget). WORKING THINGS THROUGH… (new category about game mechanics) Inventory locks open and zoom boxes close when you're done with them. Navigation can be customized, which is unique. To make navigation easier, click on the footprint icon it will appear on screen wherever you can click to a new location. EXTRA, EXTRA… Yes, I know this is not a CE. Nevertheless, there are extras in the form of 21 collectible skulls and performance achievements. THE LAST WORD… While this game is not as long as many HOPAs, it doesn't suffer from a plethora of easy filler puzzles and junk pile HO scenes either. If you like pure adventure games, definitely give Black Rainbow a try. Other notable adventure games by this dev include Hotel and The Legend of Crystal Valley. Oh, and BFG? Could we have more pure adventure games, please?
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed this SE... Really great to have a game with no' HOPs. Puzzles rather ordinary, and repetitive but skip button did't take long (in adventure mode). And a SE that's not born out of the dark ages. Hint button was excellent, and needed to be as lots of travelling from scene to scene, and age to age. Took about 2 1/2 hrs with quite a few puzzle skips. Rather a lot of chit chat, but could easily skip it. Graphics were nicely done, and music was pleasant. A game of finding useful inventory items in each scene, and the item bar had a button to see what was in the bar, without having to scroll. Really enjoyed it, and played right through to the end. Hope theres a sequel to this game.
Date published: 2014-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from old stylish hidden object game not your standard hidden object game. enjoyed graphics. mini games easy to difficult but enjoyed all. interactive map came in handy
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fun Although this game was not extremely challenging, it was terrific fun. Graphics were good and storyline was interesting. I would recommend this game to intermediate level players.
Date published: 2014-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Abreviated storyline I really enjoyed the game, but if you didn't check the diary, you could get rather confused with the storyline. Overall, this is a great game.
Date published: 2014-06-16
  • y_2021, m_9, d_22, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_77
  • loc_en_US, sid_20861, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Black Rainbow

For adventurer Helen Stone, the biggest adventure is yet to come!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.